Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(108 reviews)
Sun Life
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Terrible

by Stevrme on Aug 18, 2016
1 out of 5 stars

Tried to change my address three different times and it never went through, lets see if it actually works this time but so far customer service has been wholly disappointing. would never suggest anyone buy a plan from these people, your beneficiaries will be tearing their hair out trying to work with these people, as if dealing with the loss of a family member isn't hard enough, they'll make you jump through hoops to have any access to funds other than their checks, which take to weeks to get there even if they send them to the right place.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

An awful experience

by dkhoob on Aug 8, 2016
1 out of 5 stars

The worst experience one may have in obtaining a life insurance claim. Company's strategy is to create every reason for not paying your life insurance claim. Staff are very incompetent, lacking knowledge of the process and no respect for their customers.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

unbelievable OPUS 2 insurance!

by it's painful for OPUS 2 life insurance policy on Jun 17, 2016
1 out of 5 stars

I don't how many people to buy OPUS 2 life insurance policy from Sun Life?!
I bought it in 1992 and finished payment already, but starting 3 years before, Sun Life sent me a letter to ask paying few hundreds again, say the company isn't running well so ask more money to keep this policy. I called to them, but no body can answer me questions about why? for how long for this payment? etc. Today I got another letter from them to ask me to pay full amount of money which isn't few hundreds, it's over a thousand dollar which was my original policy payment as 1992!! Unbelievable!! Sun Life is one of a big company in Canada, compare with other insurance's companies, why the performance has a huge difference? when the time they asked me to buy their life insurance, all they told me how strougn they are! but results to make me so dispointed! Lucky, I am only one bought Sun Life insurance! So becareful, when you buy any insurances from Sun Life!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.

Life Insurance Denial!!!

by Kansas12 on May 20, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

It's been 10 months since I submitted a request for life insurance payment from Sun Life. After 3 months of calling writing letters etc. I have finally been denied. I filed again and was denied again, I then filed again and was denied. The reason for denial was that Sun Life states that my deceased wife didn't submit a document called "EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY". This document was never requested nor has any mention of it been made by her employer. I have hired a lawyer that specializes in this area but have still even denied. I am not satisfied with this lawyer either but that's another story. This EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY document states that you have no disease that would cause death within 3 years of the start date of the policy. She got cancer 4 years after start date. I contend why worry about the document since it's been 4 years. Of course Sun just sees a chance for denial. Today is May 20th 2017 she passed Aug 16 2016 and I'm still fighting. My next course of action is to sue in federal court, which I plan to do. I will not give up until I have collected

5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't touch this company

by Un happy customer on Aug 5, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

Trying to claim a life insurance policy taken out by the bereaved, the family continues to struggle to get the payout. With numerous calls to the company telling us to get all signatures completed when only one executive dealing with all the finances. Also asked to provide bank details on two occasions only to be told 4 weeks later that they don't pay into your bank account but direct to the funeral directors. The way we've been treated is absolutely disgusting. None of their call operators read from the same script obviously making it up as they go along. Furthermore, what you actually contribute in payments you only get about a third back.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

poor service

by Donna gill on Feb 26, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

This company treated us terrible when my mom died. The person on phone was rude and not helpful, even put phone down on my brother because she didn't know how to do her job. Took them months to sort out money and we had to keep ringing them up, not the other way round, and still not sorted after 12mths. I will never recommend them and wish we never went with them either. The whole process was upsetting and made our grieving more painful.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).

No good for grieving..

by lmwalters on Feb 17, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

My daughter's father passed away in May of 2017. We have been going through the run around since then. She still hasn't received her money he has left for her. I am also on there and because I am the "EX-WIFE" they won't give me my part either. I have to get my divorce paperwork and prove that the divorce decree doesn't say that it doesn't go to me for life insurance. I have sent my divorce paperwork and still nothing. I have emailed them and called them and I am getting absolutely NO RESPONSE! It is so frustrating! I think this place is a dang JOKE!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Disgusted

by Molly - 24 on Feb 16, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

This company is absolutely appalling. We were told it would take 2-3 weeks for us to receive our money after cancelling a life insurance policy my father had, on my brother and myself, as he was gravely ill and we needed the money to care for him. After 3 weeks I called, and the money hadn’t been sent. They said it would be one more week. After that, I called. Again it hadn’t been sent. Repeat for 5 more weeks. Every day I told my father not to worry, we would have the money soon. I get a phone call, as we are sitting by my father in the hospital, and they asked for the address for where it should be sent. Over 2 months later they still didn’t even write the cheque. The money came 1 day before my father died, he was in a coma and didn’t know we received it. I’m disgusted by how many times I was lied to and disgusted he spent 25 years paying a company like this.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Disgusting company.

by 123fedup. on Feb 2, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

My dad died 2 months ago, claim for funeral cover was made 2 days after. We are still waiting for the funeral money to be paid. This company uses delay tactics to avoid paying out - asking for death certificate to be sent twice, then stating executor of will needs to be changed 8 weeks after original claim. We now have to re apply for money. Disgusting service to grieving family. Luckily our funeral director is understanding otherwise we would have problems. AVOID - I could scream when I see those cringey adverts. Not a good company.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

Stress for your loved ones!

by Debbie on Jun 19, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

Appalling service don't waste your money with this load of cowboys. My father passed away 7 weeks ago and started the claim process the following day to pay for his funeral still waiting for the money he's paid on time for over 5 years. Service is slow, delay tactics are used . Complaints team respond with assurance it will be dealt with promptly and still nothing. So the bit about taking the stress away from your loved one is complete rubbish! They've caused additional stress for the last 7 weeks. Put the money under your floor boards for your funeral as looking at reviews watch dog say it's likely you won't even get as much as you have paid in over the years!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics