Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(77 reviews)
Sun Life
2.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Don't touch this company

by Un happy customer on Aug 5, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

Trying to claim a life insurance policy taken out by the bereaved, the family continues to struggle to get the payout. With numerous calls to the company telling us to get all signatures completed when only one executive dealing with all the finances. Also asked to provide bank details on two occasions only to be told 4 weeks later that they don't pay into your bank account but direct to the funeral directors. The way we've been treated is absolutely disgusting. None of their call operators read from the same script obviously making it up as they go along. Furthermore, what you actually contribute in payments you only get about a third back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Great service

by Chuch on Jun 1, 2018
5 out of 5 stars

Sun Life has always been very easy to work with. I love my advisor. I have been dealing with them for over 15 years now and my investments are making money and I feel secure that my loved ones will be taken care of if anything happens to me.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

DO NOT USE SUN LIFE.

by Steve on Mar 20, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

#1 SUN LIFE FINANCIAL INVESTMENTS; Pay attention to your investments! I learned the hard way. Sun Life has illegally been charging me a FRONT END FEE and a BACK end fee on my investments for over three years. They pull money in and out of investments just to increase their own fees they can collect. Then, when you attempt to move your funds to a different investment firm to conduct your own investments, they use DELAY TACTICS. All while your investment dwindles away to nothing. Highly frustrating and unprofessional. I requested my funds be moved over to my own financial institution that I deal with. It has been FOUR MONTHS. My bank has been fighting to get my money out of the greedy claws of Sun Life. I have been on the phone with them daily. It's supposed to take up to three weeks. Not four months. What a joke! #2 SUN LIFE INSURANCE; We asked Sun Life a simple question about their life insurance policies available at a local trade show. The lady at the trade show seemed nice enough... So we gave her our phone number. She said she would call us to answer our question later. She called us EVERY DAY for SIX MONTHS straight. Not exaggerating! We were ready to charge Sun Life with harassment as we asked them OVER and OVER again to stop calling. We even went into the office and told them we were not interested in their life insurance. There are better options out there for life insurance. They continued to harass us, attempting to use scare tactics to talk us into buying their insurance. #3 WORK-BASED BENEFITS PACKAGE; What an over-priced pile of garbage. Every company seems to make the switch over to Sun Life because they APPEAR to have lower rates. Then later find out that Sun Life actually doesn't have good coverage at all. Most of the claims that employees submit get declined or audited. Sun Life is extremely difficult to get ahold of and, if you do manage to get through to sometime, good luck understanding what they are mumbling over the phone... Other benefits packages (EG Great-West Life) offer much better packages and a painless online claim process that pays you within 72 hours. Even care suppliers will refuse to use "Direct Pay" if you have Sun Life because they are so terrible to deal with.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

poor service

by Donna gill on Feb 26, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

This company treated us terrible when my mom died. The person on phone was rude and not helpful, even put phone down on my brother because she didn't know how to do her job. Took them months to sort out money and we had to keep ringing them up, not the other way round, and still not sorted after 12mths. I will never recommend them and wish we never went with them either. The whole process was upsetting and made our grieving more painful.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Pick the right advisor

by mwong on Feb 21, 2018
5 out of 5 stars

I've had the same advisor for approximately 6 years now and I cannot begin to tell you how quickly he has handled everything. Sam Pakbaz was there for me when my wife passed away in 2016 and when I called him, he went from his usual cheeriness to immediate shock and worry. He came over 2 hours later and was really sympathetic and let me vent how I felt. From the time that Sam came over that day to him returning with my cheque from Sun Life, it took 8 days. I had put in a couple of claims from other companies and I was shocked when he called and said he would be by later that day with the cheque. My wife passing away was one of the hardest things for me to handle. I'm happy I did not need to handle the paperwork. Thank you Sam and keep up your hard work.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

No good for grieving..

by lmwalters on Feb 17, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

My daughter's father passed away in May of 2017. We have been going through the run around since then. She still hasn't received her money he has left for her. I am also on there and because I am the "EX-WIFE" they won't give me my part either. I have to get my divorce paperwork and prove that the divorce decree doesn't say that it doesn't go to me for life insurance. I have sent my divorce paperwork and still nothing. I have emailed them and called them and I am getting absolutely NO RESPONSE! It is so frustrating! I think this place is a dang JOKE!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

Disgusted

by Molly - 24 on Feb 16, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

This company is absolutely appalling. We were told it would take 2-3 weeks for us to receive our money after cancelling a life insurance policy my father had, on my brother and myself, as he was gravely ill and we needed the money to care for him. After 3 weeks I called, and the money hadn’t been sent. They said it would be one more week. After that, I called. Again it hadn’t been sent. Repeat for 5 more weeks. Every day I told my father not to worry, we would have the money soon. I get a phone call, as we are sitting by my father in the hospital, and they asked for the address for where it should be sent. Over 2 months later they still didn’t even write the cheque. The money came 1 day before my father died, he was in a coma and didn’t know we received it. I’m disgusted by how many times I was lied to and disgusted he spent 25 years paying a company like this.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

We Regret Our SL Investments

by Jonathan Sevy on Feb 9, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

We bought insurance and financial products from Sun Life in 2010. Their subsequent communications are an ongoing Gong Show. Thousands of words, very few numbers, no transparency at all. Another example just came in: a letter informing us that “the monthly cost of insurance of $140.62 exceeded the fund value in your policy on Nov. 18, 2017, and a minimum payment of $75.27 is required.” We called our very experienced agent (again) to ask about it and got back 2 long emails full of details about our various accounts without clarifying anything at all. Some of the details were flat wrong. We called him again this morning and had to rein his complicated, jargon-loaded, often erroneous explanations in several times before he finally realized what the “fund value in your policy” meant and that the $75 payment was going to disappear anyway when we make our regular annual payment. Our agent pointed out that people commonly lose track of the complexities of their Sun Life policies and other accounts. Well, duh. I asked why, since the company is obviously aware of that fact, their communications are ALL so obtuse as to make their customers feel too stupid to follow what is happening with their investments? No answer. He also had no answer for why his calculations about this matter do not match those of the letter. Sun Life is a Gong Show as far as customer communications and transparency are concerned. The only reason we have not closed our accounts with Sun Life is because none of the 3 tiers of customer service we have contacted can tell us what it will cost us to do so. As far as they have been able to show us, our investments with them have paid less than 5% returns during one of the most profitable markets in the history of the world. We would not trust Sun Life to carry our lunch around the corner, and are chipping away at an escape hatch.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Disgusting company.

by 123fedup. on Feb 2, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

My dad died 2 months ago, claim for funeral cover was made 2 days after. We are still waiting for the funeral money to be paid. This company uses delay tactics to avoid paying out - asking for death certificate to be sent twice, then stating executor of will needs to be changed 8 weeks after original claim. We now have to re apply for money. Disgusting service to grieving family. Luckily our funeral director is understanding otherwise we would have problems. AVOID - I could scream when I see those cringey adverts. Not a good company.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.

Customer Service is appalling

by CMS on Dec 30, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

I had 2 life insurance policies (one company provided and an additional supplemental policy). I decided I no longer needed the supplemental policy and called mid-November to cancel it. I'd already had numerous problems with this company with billing issues on the company provided policy and had experienced months of run-around. I found the same problems in trying to cancel a policy. First of all, you have to wait forever to get thru to them on the phone. Then you are told you need to email your request, complaint, question, etc. to a generic email address. The emails go unanswered. Follow up phone calls get you nowhere. After 3 emails and a threat to complain to my state insurance board, I got a response that my request to cancel my policy was "under review!" I had prepaid for the quarter and called to cancel about 6 weeks into the quarter so expected a pro-rated refund but since they have to "review" my request, they have now dragged this out thru the quarter. Ridiculous! If I want to stop doing business with your company, what is there to "review"...it's not even a claim! And now I am getting the runaround again on the remaining policy I hold with them because I want to go from quarterly payments to monthly so that when I find another policy thru another company and cancel with Sun Life I dont' lose 2 months worth of payments! There is no way to change your policy payment schedule on their website, and a call, when I finally reached a representative resulted in being told to email my request. I flat-out told the rep I refuse to go thru the email run-around again and mailed them 1 months payment with a 7 page complaint letter, including all of my unanswered email threads from previous problems. Avoid this company. I realize from the poor way they treat customers that if my family had to file a claim on my life insurance, they would be treated the same way and face months of stone-walling and being ignored!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo