Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(108 reviews)
Sun Life
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Problem with Sun Life team

by 1Mullers on Nov 18, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

If you have a problem with Sun Life all you get is the run-around, Dealing with the Sun Life team so far for our family, my experience, really bad service. Really bad. If you have a problem and ask to have it dealt with, many steps to go through, to get to the next step oh you need the final position letter, oh and how do we get that, oh you have to ask the last person that you complained to that did nothing for us but drag their feet, for as long as they could and did nothing. Delay - that's the Sun Life game. Try to avoid Sun Life the worst in the industry, wish we never bought insurance from them. Need final position letter for Ombudsman's office. Scum!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrible, buyer be aware!

by Johan on Aug 31, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

It took me 6 months of back and forth to finally be approved on a disability mortgage... A week after I was told I was approved they had told me more information required! They don’t have the public as their best interest but they are very good at collecting your money!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poor Customer Service

by N/A on May 19, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I have been paying my children's life insurance since 1993. Now I cannot afford to pay it any further, I've been calling Sun Life for about a month now and no one seems to be able to help me with the cancellation. I've spoken to three different employees at Sun Life and they have repeatedly said they will email me the cancellation form. After a week of waiting, they said my email doesn't work but I've had the same email for several years and had no issue like this before. I even gave them an alternate email and still no help. After receiving the form and emailing it back to Sun Life one of the employees called and said she didn't receive it and there was something wrong with both emails apparently and giving me attitude over the phone as well as hung up on me. I think they don't want me to cancel my insurance so they are making it very complicated for me to cancel it and won't allow me to go further with the cancellation. I do NOT recommend Sun Life to anyone! Please help me and not make things so complicated for me! I have been a Sun Life customer for 27 years!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

Incomplete information

by Priyanka Sharma on Jul 12, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I've been paying this insurance for last 5 years. On their app, it's written medical, blood supplies is 100% covered. My doctor referred me blood tests. I underwent them and send them the receipt with doctor's prescription. They replied me back that they don' t cover one particular test. I called their customer service, and they said they don't cover this test. They called that test 'Harmony Test.' No information was provided on the app. I even took the screenshots. I told them there was no information was given. Shamelessly, they said we can call them. I replied them back, they could write there, 'Call us before going for tests.' Ridiculous. I paid $600 per month for 5 years to get the benefit. When there's a time, this is what I'm hearing. On the app, it's written 100% covered. No type of test is mentioned. I'm sure many people like me stuck with them. I'm going to cancel their insurance and going to consumer court too. I'm not going to spare them for this.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poorest customer service

by Cust on Apr 27, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Poorest customer services. And they virtually don't care about customers. I tried to talk with their advisors for a couple of times, but they ignored to have conversation. Not only that, their offering is most expensive among the market in Canada. Furthermore, their advisors will never share any key details. After trying to reach more than 10 times when finally I got to reach them 11th time and when I asked them to share the investment options over email, they never shared it. And don't seem to be interested in sharing it. So as an individual if you genuinely care about your savings, investment, insurance I think Sun life is the one to go for. Because they are only interested to have your money and that is what their team of advisors do. They won't be interested in having a further conversation if you're indecisive during the conversation.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

They’re bullies and will harass you if you try to make a claim

by Kushaldeep Thind on Apr 23, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Sunlife is the WORST insurance possible. My mom has cancer and is on disability I’m not kidding when I say they will harass and bully you over and over again for the same doctor note (we already gave them like 4, but they want one monthly) like SHE HAS CANCER, but they want to try and save money so they will bully you. They don’t care if you’re sick, it’s literally just about them making money. As a company owner, please don’t get this insurance for your employees.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).

Outstanding

by Happy Chappie on Apr 23, 2024
5 out of 5 stars

We've already got policies with sun life.
So we increased our coverage today.
Rep was polite, straight forward to talk to & we're now sorted.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrible customer service, unclear terms and conditions, multiple loopholes

by Insuredincanada on Apr 5, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

I can't explain how painful it is having switched to Sun Life from my previous provider. Their submission process and customer service is abysmal. They have an excuse or loophole for pretty much anything.

I would stay away unless you plan to never have any issues or a need for support.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

If I could rate them lower than 1 on customer service, I would

by Annoyed on Mar 28, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

I had an issue with my plan. Each time I'd call I'd be put on hold for 20 minutes, then transferred to someone else for another 20 minutes, at which point the call would go to voicemail. I did have someone call me back, only to tell me they weren't the right department and give me a "different" number to call... it was the same number. I got through to someone who was again no help, and he literally told me the calls (one of which I'd just finished 15 minutes earlier) didn't happen. Despite me having my phone with me and being able to check that yes, I had called multiple times and gotten a call back. He proceeded to insist if it wasn't in his system it didn't happen. So apparently my phone (not to mention my own memory of the hours I spent on hold) did not happen... it's still not fixed. He didn't fix it. I'm just going to *hopefully* start uploading all bills online. If it wasn't a group plan I'd fully demand to switch providers at this point because the people at Sunlife are truely something else. I've never had customer service not only be disinterested in issues before, but then actively deny they happened... are people at Sunlife trained to be as bad at their jobs as possible? If you have a choice, choose something else.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

Horrible customer service

by CanadianGipsy on Feb 24, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

This has got to be the worst insurance I have ever dealt with. Customer service is only responding if you are the owner of the company. As an employee you only pay.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo