Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(107 reviews)
Sun Life
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Excruciatingly slow service

by GRCW on Feb 22, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I got a retirement plan with these people and initially, it seemed to go well. However, I recently left my employer and am in the process of moving to another investment provider.

Expect to be waiting weeks to move money out of the fund. They typically take days to respond to any enquiry. They will randomly phone up and ask "security questions" - you may want to call them back but good luck with that it is almost impossible to figure out how to contact your advisor. Oh right, you *don't have* an advisor.

My fund went from making a healthy profit to drastically dropping in value and I'm left hanging waiting to get the money transferred out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Unauthorized withdrawals by Sunlife

by Kate Czentye on Jun 2, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I had Sunlife insurance for awhile. I decided to cancel it. I called them and canceled as per instruction I was given. They took 2 more partial payments anyway. I had to call my bank and cancel any further payments with my bank. I called again to head office, but they don't know anything apparently. They directed me to the local office. We exchanged emails and nothing. It's been 3 weeks. I was asking for a refund, but I don't think I will get it. So, if you want to cancel Sunlife insurance, don't even bother calling them, just call your bank and stop payments. Otherwise, they will be stealing your money.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poorest customer service

by Cust on Apr 27, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Poorest customer services. And they virtually don't care about customers. I tried to talk with their advisors for a couple of times, but they ignored to have conversation. Not only that, their offering is most expensive among the market in Canada. Furthermore, their advisors will never share any key details. After trying to reach more than 10 times when finally I got to reach them 11th time and when I asked them to share the investment options over email, they never shared it. And don't seem to be interested in sharing it. So as an individual if you genuinely care about your savings, investment, insurance I think Sun life is the one to go for. Because they are only interested to have your money and that is what their team of advisors do. They won't be interested in having a further conversation if you're indecisive during the conversation.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance, you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.

If I could rate them lower than 1 on customer service, I would

by Annoyed on Mar 28, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

I had an issue with my plan. Each time I'd call I'd be put on hold for 20 minutes, then transferred to someone else for another 20 minutes, at which point the call would go to voicemail. I did have someone call me back, only to tell me they weren't the right department and give me a "different" number to call... it was the same number. I got through to someone who was again no help, and he literally told me the calls (one of which I'd just finished 15 minutes earlier) didn't happen. Despite me having my phone with me and being able to check that yes, I had called multiple times and gotten a call back. He proceeded to insist if it wasn't in his system it didn't happen. So apparently my phone (not to mention my own memory of the hours I spent on hold) did not happen... it's still not fixed. He didn't fix it. I'm just going to *hopefully* start uploading all bills online. If it wasn't a group plan I'd fully demand to switch providers at this point because the people at Sunlife are truely something else. I've never had customer service not only be disinterested in issues before, but then actively deny they happened... are people at Sunlife trained to be as bad at their jobs as possible? If you have a choice, choose something else.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible customer service

by CanadianGipsy on Feb 24, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

This has got to be the worst insurance I have ever dealt with. Customer service is only responding if you are the owner of the company. As an employee you only pay.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

Ghosting me on my claim

by Christine R on Jan 10, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

Called 3 times to file a claim on my policy and no one will call me back, it has been a month since I first called to file. Insurance companies are notorious for making a claim difficult to pay out but I did not expect this from Sunlife.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Agent not available/ Insurance won't work

by Jeel Patel on Jan 3, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

This is tlotrally the worst company you can go with. Honestly, had to wait on call just to talk to a customer support and still no answer. A normal guy living and working a normal life just can't afford to wait and hold on the line for 1.5 hour.
The insurance wouldn't work and there is no reply on the email.
Just do me a favor, don't go with this company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

If it were possible to give negative stars I'd do -10.

by Tony on Sep 29, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Dropped calls, dropped chat, and costumer service reps that are completely useless.

Save yourself the time of calling / chatting with them and just punch yourself in the head. The result will be the same, you'll end up frustrated and with a headache, but with the punching option you'll have a couple extra hours to do something you enjoy.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo