Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(108 reviews)
Sun Life
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Affordable Life Insurance?

  • Rates from 20+ life insurers
  • Premiums start at $12/month
  • Standard & Guaranteed plans
  • Can be purchased remotely

Get a tailored quote

Filter

Most helpfull reviews Clear all

Terrible customer service, unclear terms and conditions, multiple loopholes

by Insuredincanada on Apr 5, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

I can't explain how painful it is having switched to Sun Life from my previous provider. Their submission process and customer service is abysmal. They have an excuse or loophole for pretty much anything.

I would stay away unless you plan to never have any issues or a need for support.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrrible

by Kristen on Feb 8, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

So you pay for the insurance but every time you go to the dentist or eye clinic, you do not show up on the website as active. So you call Sunlife they say they fix the problem, then go back to the clinic and still not active. This has been happening for a year. What a scam!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Ghosting me on my claim

by Christine R on Jan 10, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

Called 3 times to file a claim on my policy and no one will call me back, it has been a month since I first called to file. Insurance companies are notorious for making a claim difficult to pay out but I did not expect this from Sunlife.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

Shocking incompetent and uncaring

by Enas Satir on Nov 28, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I don’t know where to begin..
I pay $90 per month and I still pay all my medications out of pocket.. been reaching out to sunlife over and over to fix the issue and they keep referring me to ‘advisors’ who are disinterested.. keeping blaming each other for whatever is wrong..
very disappointing!
I’m shocked this is the best insurance service available in Canada!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Overpayment refund

by Disappointed costomer on Oct 12, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

It's very difficult to claim refund from overpayment even after complying all the pertinent docs they need the waiting period should only 10 working days of processing as they said but it takes days and even weeks and worse is months from them to give refunds....

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Runarounds and claim denials

by jmcinwpg on Apr 14, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

My place of employment changed health benefits provider 5 months ago. Nothing but problems every time I try to have my prescriptions filled. From their customer service people who are a waste of time (not being able to access anything on my account to wrong information provided).
If it has a lesser cost than other plans, there is a reason! Just remember, you get what you pay for.
If you have a choice, please do not waste your time with Sun Life.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.

Terrible service

by Elisabelle Cossette-Plamondon on Mar 17, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Spent 3 hours on various phone calls to just get my account "finalized" to submit a claim. My online claim submission option is still not available after 2 weeks. It takes 45 minutes to get someone on the support line, and even then, they try to hang up on you before answering half your questions.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

My father died 3 years ago. Still waiting?

by Another victim on Jan 31, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Do not buy life insurance from Sun Life. My mother has been waiting for 3 years to collect my father's small life insurance policy. The paperwork and legal fees they charge are robbery. They should be ashamed of themselves.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

THERE ARE OTHER INSURANCES THAT ARE BETTER THAN SUNLIFE!

by Francheska on Jan 20, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

When using the online chat sometimes it is frustrating because there are "temporarily unavailable". Had to wait more than a year to get covered for the dental coverage. Agents don't explain this, only want commissions! There is other better insurance than Sun Life. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo