Car Insurance Reviews

Economical Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(227 reviews)
Economical Insurance
1.4 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Worst insurance company!!!

by Kait on Sep 11, 2023
1.3 out of 5 stars

My car was written off 2 months ago. I have yet to see my settlement and the representative I have been dealing with is very unhelpful, doesn't seem to know what's going on, and has such poor grammar and English skills I cannot understand half of her emails. When asking questions she ignores the ones she doesn't want to answer. Will never use them again even if they are the best price.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

The worst insurance company ever...

by Kakwa on Jul 7, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

They do not return calls or emails, took them a month to let me know that my car was a write-off. No fault to my wife who was driving, only had 1400km on it (two weeks old) and they want to pay me 10,000 less than what we paid for. We even have a depredation policy on cars. Took two more weeks (with me calling and emailing after a week) before they would pay the full loss of the car. Will not pay for car rental until we get a new car to replace the one we lost. Or any other cost, interest on a loan, registration cost to transfer to a new car. So if there are like that with you at no fault, what are they going to be like if it was your fault? They sent out a letter to pay another 250 bucks right after the accident. So I paid it, but once my year is up, I will never deal with them ever. I would like to cancel my insurance, but only for two months now with an insurance policy, so they would screw me hard if I canceled now. But I might just be the point of it all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Worst underwriter ever

by Trish on May 18, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Had a total loss and had a rental for almost 3 months. My insurance is through Sonnet but Economical deals with all the claims. Been going back and forth and my adjuster will not call me back. When I did get a call back it was more delayed. Finally came to a settlement and the adjuster said they would issue a check and that it would arrive on May 16, 2023. It is now May 18 and when I called they said no check has been issued. Horrible adjuster!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

Unethical company

by No longer a customer on Jun 30, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Long-time customer for 15+ years. Stayed with the company even when other rates were lower based on the mistaken belief that this was a company that could be counted on if an accident occurred. Just had my first claim ever. The adjuster claims the vehicle was a total write-off and worthless even though the resale value on used vehicles has jumped in price. The company was unwilling to even listen to logic and tried to strong-arm into agreeing to a below-market value for the vehicle. Very disappointing experience, zero concern or loyalty to a long-term customer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Economical Insurance - There for You

by RUSS BENNER on Apr 21, 2022
5 out of 5 stars

We recently had a collision with our vehicle. We contacted the insurance company immediately (Economical) and they walked us through the process and what we needed to do. The claims person we talked to (not the adjuster) was sympathetic and understanding and provided clear and accurate steps for us to take and what would happen next. After they had done their due diligence, the adjuster contacted us, advised the car was a "total loss" and provided us with the amount they offered as settlement. The amount offered was in line with current pricing for the car being written-off, off and even included the sales tax on that price. We were more than happy and satisfied with the way the adjuster and others handled this claim, and the amount paid out on our behalf. We strongly recommend this company as they have proven to stand behind the insurance provided and offered fair compensation in a most difficult time.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

by SOL Client on Sep 9, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

It took 5 weeks after our accident to get an answer on what they were doing with our car. They offered us no rental, and when they did, it was through a substandard company that failed to mention it was closed on weekends, so our week-long rental, factored in with the holiday, was only for a few days. Apparently, for five weeks they can't get an adjuster and then an appraiser to give an amount on what is now a total loss, but they expect us to buy a new car in 3 days, without having even finalized their offer to us?! This company is absolutely the worst. The woman who was our claims representative allegedly has an MBA, and this is what she chose to do with her life, screw people over and with a smile? Please, save yourself the grief and go elsewhere. If you have a policy with them, don't renew. It is not worth the grief because when you do need them, they literally strand you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.

Overall Great Experience

by Marcus514 on Apr 22, 2020
5 out of 5 stars

At first, I wasn't sure because I have never submitted a claim with any insurance company. In this case, it was for a total loss. They asked a handful of questions at the beginning which made me somewhat concerned that this would be a lengthy and annoying process. Turns out it was the exact opposite. I had a great experience and my representative was amazing. Thanks for making this experience a good one. I'll definitely put my future insurance policies with them and recommend them to family & friends.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo