Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Economical Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

(89 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
58,362
consumers
(1.6 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Extortion by Billing

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Never Again Jun 07, 2019
I cancelled my auto policy dated three months prior to receiving a final statement saying that I still owed money for which I was charged additional late fees. Even after asking repeatedly for a statement as there is no way to request one or see your account online. My bank statements proved I was current and they charged me for an additional four months and sent the statement after it was due. I was charged late fees even though I only received the billing the week after it was due and dated the week prior. They play with the dates. The next day I received a letter saying it was going to collections even though the original letter was dated the day before the collections letter. They send paper statements after the due date is due and I have been hit three times with overdraft and late fees. The answer you get from them is your payment billing cycle is off or they don't pick up the phone. They have no integrity and the customer service is one of the worst in my 30 plus years of buying insurance. They rip people off period. I guess they are keeping true to there good values statements with hypocrisy for the bottom line. Avoid them at all costs the worst experience and over 4 months just to cancel my insurance which I still had to pay because they put you in collections.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Professional service

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Stacey Jun 04, 2019
Claims manager was extremely professional and knowledgeable. Great communication skills and made things easy to get my car fixed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance company ever!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by EdmondTRT May 11, 2019
In December 2018, I had a trip to Montreal with my friends. On the way back, an 82-year old man changed his lane without checking the blind point and hit my car. We reported this case to the Montreal Police. And contacted Economical Insurance. This company tried everything not to solve this problem, and simply pay money to the old man, put all the responsibility on me. Due to this case, I repaired my car by myself and my insurance rate went high. February 2019, I cancelled the policy with them. Now is May 2019, they had $390 payment on my credit card. I was so shocked, if I didn't check my credit card transactions, I won't find out it. I tried to contact them, the thing is that they won't take your call forever. Friends, simply suggestion, just don't be a customer of them. They are a horrible company!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Absolute awful experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anon11 May 10, 2019
As far as I am concerned, this company is an absolute scam. My car has been hit almost a month ago at no fault of my own and we have gotten absolutely nowhere. They don’t even have the common decency to answer my calls, emails or even letters. They wrote my $12,000 car off as a “total loss” due to $1,500 worth of damage and have offered me less than half for my car. I have gotten the car appraised by another appraiser as well as multiple quotes from autobody shops and they all have said that the damages do not exceed $1,500 and that in no way is it a write-off. However, their appraiser claims the damages are higher than $5,800. In the beginning, they assured me a rental until my car was fixed (which was originally supposed to be middle of the month) but once they wrote it off two weeks before my rental was due to go back, they insisted that I had one day to return my rental. Despite all of that they even tried to tow my car off of the autobody lot before they even told me that it was wrote off. I so frustrated with this company and have no hope that this whole process will be settled soon based on their behaviour. This company does not care about their client's wellbeing. Insurance is supposed to be there as a “just in case” to assure the client's protection in situations such as accidents. I can’t even fathom the way I have been treated throughout this whole process, especially from the representative in the total loss department.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very disappointing

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Andy Apr 30, 2019
You would think that being with a company for 3 years and being diligent each month making payments would make a difference, but they literally don’t care at all. Firstly, good luck calling these people. You’ll be waiting at least a half an hour for someone to pick up, which is absolutely pathetic. Secondly, I called to see if I can have an extension of ONE DAY for my car insurance, as I know it’ll come out tomorrow and due to having to fix my car, I won’t have the funds in my account. Trying to avoid an unnecessary NSF fee, I called to see if I could have a one-day extension as I get paid in one day and will have the money! Told me there was nothing they could do for me, and that the payment will be coming out and I will likely get an NSF. Sad that there’s literally nothing you can do about it, even when you try to reason with people for something that seems pretty reasonable. Will be looking at other insurance companies, this one is pathetic.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Only if you are High Risk

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by cmaxner Mar 19, 2019
I found that they accommodated me when I was a high-risk driver, but after I was conviction-free for five years, not shortly after I had an accident. Seeing as the accident was between hours I had to call the "after hours" line. I called that morning for a claim and one was started with no issues. Problem was, I didn't have all the information at the time due to the accident being on a highway. I was told that she would send off my information and I would receive a call from an auditor to get the rest of the info. I waited two weeks, because it was xmas time, still no call. I called every week for 10 weeks following an hour on hold, each time. Wasted 10 hours of my life on hold with these folks. I was 15 mins away on this final call before I was actually going to head to the main office and demand someone help me. Finally got a hold them a couple of weeks ago, only to be told that the tow yards usually charge $60 / DAY for storage fees. So to aid my now +$2000 bill with the tow yards, the CSR sells them MY car to pay for it. I then had to pay the Tow bill, which was another $600 because I wasn't covered for weather. Now that I have a new car, and new coverage (for the time being), they are still charging me $250 a month for my OLD car on top of the payments I am making for my NEW car! Sneaky people, with next to none customer service skills. I hope you miss my money
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Unprofessional, unethical

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Wronged Mar 12, 2019
I have been waiting almost a year for my truck to be returned to me in pre-accident condition. Economical's preferred shop returned my truck to me with a repair that was incomplete and then proceeded to argue with me when I voiced my concerns. After months of repeatedly ignored emails from me, they finally agreed to have a reputable repair shop inspect my truck. Now that their appraiser has seen it for the 3rd time, and been made aware of discrepancies in the original repair, Economical has not responded in writing as required. The accident was almost a year ago. Their Ombudsperson has not assisted. Their claims manager has regularly ignored written requests from myself and my broker, the president has not responded at all. Both FSCO and GIO have been aware of this claim since last year and have advised me of my rights, which I have reminded Economical of several times. Economical has taken what should have been a straight forward, simple claim and turned it into an added source of stress and trauma.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Auto claim - Excellent service

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Aun Mar 07, 2019
I recently had an accident and had to go through the auto claim process. Though a painful experience in itself, I was very pleasantly surprised by the assistance and excellent service I received throughout the claim process. Right from the initial call to register the claim, the claims adjuster and the final customer service rep. were all very helpful throughout the process. Kudos to the team and keep up the good work. Thank you.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Company Ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by rdm Mar 05, 2019
I recently had my truck stolen. I was offered a third of the price that I had paid for it just 6 months prior. It was stolen over three months ago and I'm still working with the claims department. I have had FOUR claims adjusters to deal with, absolutely pathetic. After purchasing my own appraisal package, they still offered just over half of the truck's full value. We're beyond sick of dealing with this company and will be taking all of our business away from them. Absolutely pathetic company, love to waste your time, and shows much disrespect by switching adjusters constantly.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Mistreated client

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Let down client Mar 04, 2019
I was shorted rental vehicle time that I had plenty of in my policy and as a result, ended up having to pay the remainder rental cost. Almost 2 weeks out of pocket. I'm so bothered!! Then I was forced to wait for my cheque because of a mix-up between the body shop and the adjuster leaving me to take on a loan when the cheque amount would have covered the down payment on my new vehicle. The first months payment of my new vehicle could have been paid with the money I will now need to pay for the rental. So please understand my frustration!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance company!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anthony T Feb 28, 2019
The worst insurance company I've ever dealt with in my life. I had an ongoing theft claim with them where my vehicle was stolen and damaged. They decided to put more in the car than the value of the vehicle. On top of all the troubles of having a vehicle stolen, they left me for no vehicle after the 3-week rental term was up and the claims been going on for 3 months and more than half the time claim adjustor has been “out of town”.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Awful service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ben Feb 26, 2019
Dealt with a woman in a total loss. Very arrogant and not helpful. It took two months for them to even start my claim process and during that time I've been driving a very broken car around.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

TERRIBLE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by disappointed Feb 21, 2019
I recently moved to Ontario from Australia, where I have been driving for 5 years and consider myself to be a well-experienced driver, and began a policy with Economical. At first, it seemed like a great policy and everything was fine. About a week ago, I received a letter in the mail that explained that my insurance policy was being cancelled due to a failure of payment. The letter was dated the same day that the payment was due. I immediately contacted the company to clear things up and make sure I could pay my "failed" payment and continue my policy. However, when I called and was connected to one of the customer service agents, I explained my situation and asked why it wasn't possible for the company to contact me in regards to my failed payment in any other manner than a letter in the mail, keeping in mind that they had both a phone number and email on file too. The representative informed me that I had been sent three letters about the payment, which was false as I never received any other form of communication, and would not explain to me the process or what I could do to fix it. After trying to reason with her and get my policy back on track, she very rudely told me that there wasn't anything that could happen. I never received a policy package from the company, which is vital for every insurance company, and was never informed that something like this could happen. I am extremely disappointed at the level of customer service behind the company and am appalled that they would treat any "valued customer" in this manner. I was under the impression that companies like this would try and do whatever in their means to keep customers instead of pushing them away. If you are looking for a well-communicated insurance company, I would recommend looking absolutely anywhere else, even if the premium cost is higher!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

DO NOT USE ECONOMICAL!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Crooks! Feb 20, 2019
I only wish there was an option to leave a 0-star review. This insurance company is a bunch of crooks! They are only decent if you never have to contact them or make a claim. BUT, the purpose of insurance is just-in-case, right? So you want a company that answers the phone or email and provides the service that you are paying for... I filed a claim for a fairly minor accident that I was not at fault for. It took 2 weeks to get a claim number and begin the process. They required I get an estimate at their partnered shop that is not even qualified or set up to fix my car. In the meantime, I got an estimate at a qualified shop and provided it to Economical for approval (still not approved). 8 weeks later after trying to contact them countless times, they reach out claiming the other insurance company wants me to admit fault. I referenced them back to the police report, detailed witness statements and the other drivers statement all admitting the other driver at fault. They backed off. 2 Weeks after that Economical called and said my car was a write-off (sight unseen). I asked how a car worth $36,000 with $6000 worth of damage could be a write-off and they replied, "it's just easier this way." I asked how much the settlement would be and they said it needed to be evaluated but probably around $4000-$6000. I said: absolutely not! It's now 6 months later and I haven't been able to get in contact with them since. What a joke of a company! I have read my contract in detail. A lawyer has reviewed my case and what they are doing is in fact illegal. Read other reviews, you won't find a single positive one.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Claim Nightmare

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by alex Feb 13, 2019
I had a claim and it was total disaster, the certified shop they recommend had the worst customer service, not to mention that first week they could not locate my car, next week the tires on my car where stolen, took them almost 4 weeks to appraise the car, when at simple look everyone knew it was a total. The Economical never contacted me about this issue nor call or email to get updates in the repair, the only email I received was threatening me about the rental car (expires next week). The settlement was a ripoff. Do not take this crappy insurance, I would take the hit if the price was lower than others in the market, but it was the same as many others that offer the same service. In the end, any insurance is just a ripoff. They are in business to make money not to serve. BIGGEST THIEVES BESIDE BANKS OF COURSE.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Terrible insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by mancao Jan 26, 2019
Cheap payment, they paid about 8000 to fix my car and when they renewed my policy, they rose from $3700 premium to $18000 premium. I want all people do not buy this insurance with this company!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Absolute garbage.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by angry_mob Jan 24, 2019
After a total loss, they are pressing, PRESSING me to leave my registration in the car before they tow it to their facility, basically giving them the right of ownership to the vehicle. The claims agent is trying to bully me into doing so BEFORE settlement, but I have him complained to the FSCO and see how this goes. DO NOT GO TO THIS INSURER.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Payment change

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by The Mad Hatter Dec 28, 2018
I changed bank, so I changed my info with Economical and they kept charging my old bank, so now they are going to cancel my policy due to their error on not changing the bank info and charging me two $50 fees and my old bank two $48 fees. It has taken over a month to get a response from them and all I get is that I called to change my bank info in November.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Bad Experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by poor insurance Dec 23, 2018
Never speak to the same person twice. The amount of things that were written down in their notes and was not said to be was horrendous. This lack of communication ended up costing me almost another $1000 out of my own pocket. Don't trust what they say, fact-check everything. Also, realize that your insurance broker is probably paid through commission, so it makes sense for himself to maximize your claim. Take heed, these people are the scum of the earth.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

no action taken, NOT 24/7

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by AutoClaimFailed Dec 16, 2018
I had an auto claim to report on 14dec2018 (Fri). After giving all the details of the claim, I was told by the agent that a claims agent would call me back with 24/7 service. I did not get a call to proceed with the claim and they are not available 24/7 as the agent indicated, instead they close at 6 pm Pacific time. Cancelling my policy as soon as I can. Don't recommend to anyone for auto insurance, even if it may cost a few dollars less
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Long long wait times.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Darrell Dec 14, 2018
I have been waiting for 48 minutes on a call where they said over 10 minute wait time. They were right! So far 40 minutes and still no answer...the service expectation is less than desirable.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Unreachable

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frustrated Dec 10, 2018
Made 2 payments using a touchtone phone but received confirmation for 3 payments via text. So I called them to cancel the extra payment. I have yet to speak to someone. Over 2 hours on hold and still waiting. If I would have seen this site I would have not have renewed with them. I can only imagine the nightmare in dealing with a claim when you can not speak to someone.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Impoosible to speak to a rep.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by bplancke Dec 09, 2018
Waited 55 minutes and gave up. Several tries - the same. Must only have one person on their call center. We made the mistake of paying in full on our credit card then cancelled before the policy took effect. Cannot get it reversed, instead, they will mail a check in 30 days. Got a 40% better rate from CAA for both home and auto. Even our broker said they were useless to communicate and deal with.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Claim still unresolved

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by NotEconomical Dec 05, 2018
I had an accident 8 months ago. My vehicle is still sitting in the driveway not drivable. The insurance company's preferred shop did not repair properly and Economical has not followed up. Rather, they have ignored emails and calls. They are the worst company I have dealt with for insurance in over 20 years.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Regretting My Economical Ins.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Not Impressed 12/04/18 Dec 04, 2018
Came to this site after waiting on hold for 1hr and 36 min with NO RESPONSE OR ANSWER... to find that I am not alone when having horrible service. I was in an accident 2 weeks ago and still have no response as to what they will be doing with my vehicle. Two (2) weeks after the accident and NO IDEA whether they will be repairing or writing off the vehicle. I pay you ... on a monthly basis for this kind of service?!? HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE... I'd rather pay a little more on insurance and know that I can rely on them when they are needed than have a cheap rate with cheap service and BAD customer service.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Claim service horrendous

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cjboyer Nov 29, 2018
Had an accident over 2 weeks ago. Claims adjuster has not called me yet! I called, left messages, no one returning my calls. I have been on hold with insurance claims for over 3 hours! This is my 3rd attempt with them to escalate my claim. As for the company they are using for claims adjusting - never returns my calls or emails. So my car has not even been looked at. Absolutely disgusting customer service
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Excessive Hold Time

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Hold Music Nov 27, 2018
I have been on hold for over 2 hours waiting on the Economical Mutual accounts department to answer the phone. This level of service shows how unprofessional this company is. Called at 9:30 am on Tuesday. This company offers great insurance rates, but just hope you never have a claim or have to contact the accounts department.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

I do not recommend Economical

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Angry Widow Nov 26, 2018
It's very difficult dealing with this company. Sure their premiums are lower than other insurance companies' but they cannot be trusted. They do not even respond to registered mail!!!~ If they cannot handle registered mail or payment information, I have serious doubts about them handling a claim on my behalf... I have an excellent driving record.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Liars&Poor Customer Experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Erin Nov 09, 2018
After my accident, I was told by two individuals that because I've been paying car rental insurance that if I chose not to take a rental card, I would be compensated a daily rate. I jumped through hoops to borrow a car so I could use the rental car payment to help cover the insane deductible. On my last call to them, I asked how I would receive payment and was told via cheque. It's now been 5 months, so I called to check-in and have now been told I won't be getting a cheque and that it's not even an offer. I don't appreciate being lied to or misled. I do not recommend using this organization for your insurance needs. Go elsewhere.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Literally the worst

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by thisisaterriblecompany Nov 03, 2018
I wish I could rate 0 stars for how horrible this company is... I had one accident that I was not at fault for and getting my claim was a nightmare. Then the day I got my car back from the shop I got pulled over and received a ticket for no insurance because they gave me an insurance card with no policy number and didn't send me a new one until 2 weeks later. Then they blackballed me. After fighting and fighting, finally, they gave me a bit of a break and my insurance was over $300 (again a bit of a break) then this year, instead of my insurance going down, it went up... to almost $600! Which is ridiculous. I found a new company that charges less than I was paying in the first place, so I dropped Economical. Okay, now here's the kicker, they proceeded to take out the monthly payment after they were cancelled and then charged me a cancellation fee on top of it. Long story short, Economical stole almost $1000 from me and refused to refund me even a portion. This company is crooked. Highly do not recommend.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Want to save on auto insurance?
10+ Insurers compared
Get a free, instant quote
Customize your policy
Economical Insurance Auto Insurance
89 reviews
5 Darkstar
(6)
4 Darkstar
(3)
3 Darkstar
(7)
2 Darkstar
(6)
1 Darkstar
(67)
Most helpfull reviews