Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(69 reviews)
Manulife
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Disappointing Service

by Phil Leonard on Apr 27, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I have been contributing to a life insurance policy with Manulife for 20 plus years, $175 per month for a $100K policy. Yes, I know, a ridiculously high premium!
I quit smoking 8 or 9 years ago and thought I would now qualify for a reduced premium so contacted Manulife to discuss, yes, we'll send you a form to complete. The form I received was a questionnaire approximately 50 pages long!
I was then subject to an extensive medical examination by a nurse appointed by Manulife and I have just received the results of this examination which, considering my age and health background, were excellent on all counts, (I had a heart attack seven years ago and required stents), great news I thought!
My insurance agent contacted me several days ago and informed me Manulife will not adjust my premium down due to my having a heart attack, but if I am now in excellent health and live a clean active lifestyle why would my request be denied?
Needless to say, I am extremely disappointed with this response and would advise anyone looking for insurance to use due diligence.
I think it's time to remove Manulife from my investment portfolio.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Great experience

by Rachel Coburn on Mar 26, 2022
4 out of 5 stars

Yes, the phone wait times are long but they’re very helpful and we got our refund within 60 days of making the claim which is great for COVID times.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Horrible

by Andrea on Mar 7, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

You pay for your benefits yet they ask for a doctor's note every time you want to go for a massage or chiropractor even through what you pay for. This company is a scam.
For someone that has a back problem, it is incredibly time-consuming for me to go to the doctor to get the diagnosis every time I want to use my benefits. DONT waste your time with Manulife.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

Poor service all around

by Nadine Barnert on Mar 2, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I have had nothing but bad experiences with Manulife in every way. They do not directly bill for anything and will always have to pay first and hope that their poor customer service will get to you eventually. They may send a reply stating you will hear from them within 7 to 10 business days, which is ridiculous, to begin with, but I am now on day 11, 3 emails in and have not heard from anyone as of yet. If I call I am waiting a ridiculous amount of time as well. Do they only have 1 customer service representative? I will never deal with Manulife again and will be sharing my experiences with anyone that will listen.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Customer center need to know their products

by Roe on Feb 18, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Company change policy without customer knowledge denied me from my son medication, hospital bills and eyeglass for strabismus. Customer service is not helpful better go to another company 150.00 x 12 but basically, I don’t get benefits.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Difficult to deal with

by Lauren on Feb 18, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

I have found the customer support to be unhelpful, lacking either the competency or will to help clarify claims statements or process-related questions. They are much pickier than my other insurance company or past companies I have dealt with. For example, they do not allow claims for psychotherapists still under the supervision of a registered psychologist (while they get the experience required to join the professional association) or other practitioners whom they don't have in their database (e.g. masseurs) even if they are fully certified. The process to get certain expensive, medically necessary prescriptions approved is lengthy and convoluted and the coverage overall is less generous than any other plan I have taken part in.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

Worst company in the universe

by lemeshev on Feb 3, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

My deceased dad took out an annuity for my mom from Manulife sometime before his death in 2012... My mom's accountant flagged in 2021 that my mother was being taxed on an amount from this Manulife annuity that was not in her bank account. THE UPSHOT IS THAT MANULIFE HAD BY LAW BEEN REQUIRED TO MAKE A PAYOUT TO MY MOTHER EVERY YEAR BUT NEGLECTED TO DO SO FROM 2012 TO 2021. Yet they reported to the government that they sent the money to my mother so she had to pay tax on it. I called in April of 2021 and was unable to get past the guard of twenty-somethings whose sole job is to keep customers from getting the information they need. We talked to Rose, James, Ron etc etc etc - no last names of course. "We will provide you with that information in seven business days" No information was forthcoming. We called again. "We will provide you with that information before the end of the day" No call - no information. This went on through May. I said at one point that I would like to talk to Rose's manager "No, you can't" was Rose's response. Finally, in June one of them said that they didn't know who I was and I needed to provide them with my dad's death certificate and fill out a lengthy form as to why I should have this information. (They already had the POA I sent them stating that I was authorized to act for my mother) My father died in 2012 and a death certificate was sent to them in 2012. Another was sent in 2014 and yet another in 2017. I also had to provide my POA. This document was sent to them in 2012. "Just go to the file and pull the documents - you already have them," I said. "We won't do that" Was the reply. I resisted the impulse to say that "yes - my father is just as dead now as he was in 2012" That was definitely a low point having to prove that he was still dead repeatedly. Was satire required? "Yes, he faked his own death at the age of 92 in order to defraud Manulife out of a lousy $21,000 policy." We ran into a brick wall so I sent the package of notes that I had been keeping of every phone call to the Ombudsman. Lo and behold! We get a call from 'James'. "I am a TEAM LEADER," he said "I am here to help you" "You could start by paying my mother the interest that you earned by keeping her money for the last 8 years" "We don't do that" was the reply. After weeks of dealing with 'James', the money was eventually restored but we never did find out why the money was withheld for 8 years. Manulife is impossible to deal with. The action was only forthcoming because we notified the Ombudsman. Another low point - I was told that I needed to get my 96-year-old mother suffering from dementia to sign a form authorizing me to act on her behalf. I told them that, due to her dementia, she was incapable of doing so and YOU ALREADY HAVE THE POA THAT SPECIFIES THAT I ACT FOR HER. Avoid Manulife if you possibly can. They are terrible people. If you can't avoid them I would advise going directly to the Ombudsman so as not to waste the three months we did dealing with people on the phone. On an end note - we never did find out why they didn't make payments to my mother for 8 years.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poor Customer Service

by Jeff Trynchy on Jan 28, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

Not only do claims reimbursements typically take longer than 7 days, but the customer service is also terrible. That is if you can even get through to an agent on their customer support line.
What absolutely floors me is that insurance companies like Manulife make millions if not billions of dollars a year and yet they can't properly fund a call support centre.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Manulife is so bad

by jk on Jan 18, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

So the company I am with uses Manulife for the insurance. I have had nothing but issues with Manulife. I attached and sent all support documents for a claim but they always come back with some document that they need to approve the claim which my doctors say they don't provide. Manulife customer service representatives are constantly telling me wrong information and then I get countless emails about different guidelines that seem to change every claim. They truly make it very hard for you to even get a claim approved even with so much support, signed by the doctor documents.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.

VERY BAD

by Dawn on Jan 18, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Our company has Manulife and if I could change them I would in a heartbeat. Every time I need a question answered it takes a week or more just o get through they care about money and not about the companies or people.
This time around I have been trying since 2021 to get in touch with them and they put you on hold for more than 2 hours and then hang u on you.
This is a really bad company

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics