Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(93 reviews)
Manulife
1.9 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Poor treatment, cheap service

by Victoria on Jun 6, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Called before ordering an orthotics to ensure it would be covered. They said yes. I ordered the piece, which was 600 and it was never reimbursed.
I've called twice, they just give excuses, saying they will call back and never did so.
Cheap company with untrained people.
Highly suggest the company start investing in training so they can have people with correct information answering our questions.
Such a waste of time.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

I have been waiting for over 22 days…

by amter1 on Jun 4, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I have been waiting for over 22 days for Manulife to process my claims. They are still pending. I called the company 2 times and messaged them on their app as well but they keep telling me that the wait times are longer than usual. Waiting for 22 days for your claims to be processed is not acceptable! I remember before it was 4-5 days maximum but now it's over 22 days...

First I called them they said the wait times are 10 business days, after a week they said it's 15 business days and now they say it's 20 business days. They are just lying every time I call them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Payments

by Pissedoff on Jan 24, 2024
2.5 out of 5 stars

Wtf is up with this company!!! Is corporate dividends more important than paying your obligations to your clients. Major delays paying directly to dentists etc. They do the claim within a day or two but to the dentist it can be months.
Are they becoming corporate America.
Disgusting, please avoid anything to do with this company, life, retirement .

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance, you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.

Horrible customer service, useless

by yt on Dec 21, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Dad passed away 4 months ago, made a claim and heard nothing back. Called and was given the round about for an hour and a half with dumbnutts not knowing where to send me to. Then them telling me that they can't fullfill the claims.

USELESS and WASTE of TIME.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Putting people’s health at risk

by C. Hubble on Dec 7, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Recently, our family doctor sent a prescription for my husband. The pharmacy advised they were unable to fill the prescription due to a shortage of the medicine. A temporary substitute medication was prescribed only to be rejected by Manulife. I contacted Manulife Nov 17/23 as directed by the pharmacy. The representative advised we would have to have our doctor complete another form for Manulife that would be reviewed to determine if the medication was necessary. I fail to understand why Manulife deems it necessary to invade our medical privacy. A medical professional has determined it is a necessary treatment, that should be all that is required. Manulife also felt it necessary to ensure we were informed of side-effects. The doctor and pharmacist fully discuss the medication and side-effects, so this should not be a concern of Manulife. This harassment is nothing short of discrimination, an invasion of privacy, completely unprofessional and creating an unnecessary delay in treatment that is putting my husband’s well-being at risk.
I waited on hold for over 15 minutes to speak to a Manulife supervisor. The representative came back advising me I would need to continue to wait. I requested to be put on the callback list as I could not wait any longer. The representative advised me there was no way to guarantee a representative would call me back, I would need to wait. A supervisor would not call me back? As of this date (Dec 7, 2023) I have not received a call back. One week after submission of the required documents we received a rejection and request for more information from the Dr. More time wasted and patient put at unnecessary risk! If I could give Manulife less than 1 I would. The saga continues.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't go with Manulife

by Jason Huang on Dec 4, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I swear I've lost 10 years of my life dealing with Manulife...
They never process the claims correctly and it takes them 2 weeks to process any of my claims. I can never let them process my claims and automatically claim the remaining unpaid portion through HCSA because they never process the claim correctly and end up spending way more money on the HCSA which you would have to spend even more time to get them to re-process and make the changes. That would be fine if they process at a reasonable speed but that's not even the issue... They would NEVER DO IT!!!! If their claim is not processed right, I would have to contact them for over a month straight to get a response and actually get things done right.
Questions are never answered, I have all my customer service conversation transcripts and they always say they forwarded my questions to their teams and they would contact me with the answers but I literally never hear from them again after that.
I would seriously pull my teeth out than to willingly choose them as a provider. I literally have no choice but to use them because my employer chose them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

Worst insurance

by Victimized on Oct 4, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

0% value customer service, specially during the pandemic. Financial advisors does not know anything. Cannot approach in time of need. And ridiculously funny because you will have to loan out the money you paid for with another high interest that you will be charge for the benefit that you should have. If i were you consider others this is a type of insurance with no value and no benefit at all in time when you need it. Even your agent will just be there when it is pay time. When it is claim time wow! Will make it difficult for you. Liars!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Mickey Mouse company

by Chris on Feb 8, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

My dad passed 2 months ago. We called in to make the claim and were told 19 business days for policy funds to be deposited. Nothing was deposited after that time, so we called back twice and were told a rush would be put on it. Still nothing. Called the broker and he talked with them. They told him it would be 5-7 business days. Still nothing. It's now 2 months and Manulife says an adjuster will call us back.
Manulife is a joke. Never use them.
There are policies with 2 other companies, both of which have come through immediately.
Don't waste your time with an unprofessional company like Manulife.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Hard to Access Claim Money

by Loo777 on May 20, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I got sick in Mexico and needed to stay in the hospital for a day. Two months ago, my wife and I submitted a claim to be reimbursed for our medical expenses as we purchased medical insurance from Manulife.
It seems Manulife makes it as hard as possible to access claims. They ask for one round of information, then when they have all the information, they ask for another round. We are on our third round of information giving, and 75% of the information asked was given in the first round. It's as if they make it as hard as possible for us, so we would give up on the claim.
They recently made us translate all our documents which cost us $250, and gave us a 30-day deadline to do so, or we would not receive any of our money. How does an insurance company give us a 30-day deadline when they are the ones who owe us money? Should they not be the ones that have a deadline?
We are now holding $5000 on our visa and still have not been paid back. There is a long wait time on their helpline, and we feel like the service we have received is on the verge of crooked.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.

Horrible

by Andrea on Mar 7, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

You pay for your benefits yet they ask for a doctor's note every time you want to go for a massage or chiropractor even through what you pay for. This company is a scam.
For someone that has a back problem, it is incredibly time-consuming for me to go to the doctor to get the diagnosis every time I want to use my benefits. DONT waste your time with Manulife.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics