Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(71 reviews)
Manulife
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Hard to Access Claim Money

by Loo777 on May 20, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I got sick in Mexico and needed to stay in the hospital for a day. Two months ago, my wife and I submitted a claim to be reimbursed for our medical expenses as we purchased medical insurance from Manulife.
It seems Manulife makes it as hard as possible to access claims. They ask for one round of information, then when they have all the information, they ask for another round. We are on our third round of information giving, and 75% of the information asked was given in the first round. It's as if they make it as hard as possible for us, so we would give up on the claim.
They recently made us translate all our documents which cost us $250, and gave us a 30-day deadline to do so, or we would not receive any of our money. How does an insurance company give us a 30-day deadline when they are the ones who owe us money? Should they not be the ones that have a deadline?
We are now holding $5000 on our visa and still have not been paid back. There is a long wait time on their helpline, and we feel like the service we have received is on the verge of crooked.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poor service all around

by Nadine Barnert on Mar 2, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I have had nothing but bad experiences with Manulife in every way. They do not directly bill for anything and will always have to pay first and hope that their poor customer service will get to you eventually. They may send a reply stating you will hear from them within 7 to 10 business days, which is ridiculous, to begin with, but I am now on day 11, 3 emails in and have not heard from anyone as of yet. If I call I am waiting a ridiculous amount of time as well. Do they only have 1 customer service representative? I will never deal with Manulife again and will be sharing my experiences with anyone that will listen.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poor Customer Service

by Jeff Trynchy on Jan 28, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

Not only do claims reimbursements typically take longer than 7 days, but the customer service is also terrible. That is if you can even get through to an agent on their customer support line.
What absolutely floors me is that insurance companies like Manulife make millions if not billions of dollars a year and yet they can't properly fund a call support centre.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.

VERY BAD

by Dawn on Jan 18, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Our company has Manulife and if I could change them I would in a heartbeat. Every time I need a question answered it takes a week or more just o get through they care about money and not about the companies or people.
This time around I have been trying since 2021 to get in touch with them and they put you on hold for more than 2 hours and then hang u on you.
This is a really bad company

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Never get hold on someone if you need to assist

by Shah1geo on Jan 18, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Hello,
I tried to call to assist me because I forgot my plan contract number and wait for 3 hours but still no luck to talk to someone. Very frustrated and upset because Manulife is a big name and if this is their customer service then where to go.
Thank you

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Terrible customer service

by Demetrios Papas on Jan 17, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

They put me on hold for an hour just to go back to the main menu, I only wanted help to set up my account. This is completely ridiculous!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

Extremely Poor Company

by Lydia on Dec 21, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Never in my life have I had such poor service from a company.
Phone wait time is 1 1/5 and never got answered. Had to hang up!
Updating my banking info was such a headache for lack of HUMAN ENGLISH!
Decided to get the app..... got locked out of my account.
I am so angry and just bitter over this. Still on hold now for another hour AND STILL NOT ANSWERING OMG!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst customer service ever!

by Fed up in Montreal on Aug 13, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Everything is hard to do or find on their site. You can't contact them directly because their call centre is impossible to get through to and if you send them an email they say two business days to respond but it's more like two weeks, if then. Even the simplest things like changing your language preference which should be super simple are hard. On top of that, they cover less than previouse insurer and it's hard to find out how to submit estimates or find out why they disallowed charges.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Cancellation

by biagio on Jun 17, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Very difficult to stop payments after sending in stop payment by email yet they remove the following month's payment the only option go to a bank and stop auto withdraws. No one seems to know what to do. No help by phone, waiting long periods of time on hold to try to speak with anyone with knowledge but yet no help. On the phone for 1 hour and 15 min... No one cares only get monies for customers. I have been with them for over 20 years yet they do not care will never use them again for personal insurance better off without shamefull and uncaring.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance, you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.

Unprofessional

by DentalRecep on Feb 25, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Called Manulife from a dental office spent 37 mins on hold. Spoke to Jed put me on hold for another 15 mins for a breakdown to only disconnect the phone call once he answered and not calling the office back. The worst customer service and wait times.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics