Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(93 reviews)
Manulife
1.9 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

worst insurance company

by Harold on Apr 8, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I took a mortgage protection plan from this company. They put an exclusion clause to my coverage which prompted me to cancel it. When i tried to cancel it, twice my call after waiting for 20 minutes each just "dropped" on my third attempt i was able to connect to a very rude rep which gave me the run around. I would never recommend this company to my worst enemy. Run away if you see this company. Worst policies and worst customer support.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't Waste Your Time

by DANIELLE on Jan 15, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Called to request a quote for Life Insurance. Was put through to an agent who stated she did not have the time to complete my quote at that time after waiting on hold for over 10 minutes.
She booked an appointment with me for the following day and advised of all the information I would need. I got all the info she asked for and she didn't even bother to call me during our appointment time.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.

Don't go with Manulife

by Jason Huang on Dec 4, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I swear I've lost 10 years of my life dealing with Manulife...
They never process the claims correctly and it takes them 2 weeks to process any of my claims. I can never let them process my claims and automatically claim the remaining unpaid portion through HCSA because they never process the claim correctly and end up spending way more money on the HCSA which you would have to spend even more time to get them to re-process and make the changes. That would be fine if they process at a reasonable speed but that's not even the issue... They would NEVER DO IT!!!! If their claim is not processed right, I would have to contact them for over a month straight to get a response and actually get things done right.
Questions are never answered, I have all my customer service conversation transcripts and they always say they forwarded my questions to their teams and they would contact me with the answers but I literally never hear from them again after that.
I would seriously pull my teeth out than to willingly choose them as a provider. I literally have no choice but to use them because my employer chose them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Ripped Off

by Corey M on Oct 13, 2023
3 out of 5 stars

Part of the Manulife extended health involves mental health services. Professional services: Registered Counsellor and Master Social Worker.
I went and saw a REGISTERED COUNSELLOR because, allegedly, it is covered. I saw a previous counsellor for this reason, and it was covered without issue. Great. But because the counsellor this time also had "MMFT" in his designation, Manulife saw a convenient out and willingly chose to not reimburse me $300 for two separate sessions even though the invoice explicitly stated it was for personal reasons and not family or marriage related purposes.
I called their support to complain about this obvious crony behavior. I asked to speak to the manager directly, they refused. Their support agent filed a case, gave me a number, and said billing would correct this misunderstanding. THREE WEEKS LATER I had not heard back from them despite the claim email received stating they would get back to me. I call Manulife support again, and they have absolutely zero proof this claim was ever filed on their back end. They have no idea what I am talking about. Presumably, the support agent fabricated this claims email and claims number just to get me off the phone.
After further argument, they simply refused me on the basis of the counsellor having 'MMFT' designation in his name and NOT the explicit purpose stated in the submitted invoice for the reason why I saw this counsellor.
Manulife is like any other insurance agency and will rip you off the second they see the opportunity to.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

Hard to Access Claim Money

by Loo777 on May 20, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I got sick in Mexico and needed to stay in the hospital for a day. Two months ago, my wife and I submitted a claim to be reimbursed for our medical expenses as we purchased medical insurance from Manulife.
It seems Manulife makes it as hard as possible to access claims. They ask for one round of information, then when they have all the information, they ask for another round. We are on our third round of information giving, and 75% of the information asked was given in the first round. It's as if they make it as hard as possible for us, so we would give up on the claim.
They recently made us translate all our documents which cost us $250, and gave us a 30-day deadline to do so, or we would not receive any of our money. How does an insurance company give us a 30-day deadline when they are the ones who owe us money? Should they not be the ones that have a deadline?
We are now holding $5000 on our visa and still have not been paid back. There is a long wait time on their helpline, and we feel like the service we have received is on the verge of crooked.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poor service all around

by Nadine Barnert on Mar 2, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I have had nothing but bad experiences with Manulife in every way. They do not directly bill for anything and will always have to pay first and hope that their poor customer service will get to you eventually. They may send a reply stating you will hear from them within 7 to 10 business days, which is ridiculous, to begin with, but I am now on day 11, 3 emails in and have not heard from anyone as of yet. If I call I am waiting a ridiculous amount of time as well. Do they only have 1 customer service representative? I will never deal with Manulife again and will be sharing my experiences with anyone that will listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poor Customer Service

by Jeff Trynchy on Jan 28, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

Not only do claims reimbursements typically take longer than 7 days, but the customer service is also terrible. That is if you can even get through to an agent on their customer support line.
What absolutely floors me is that insurance companies like Manulife make millions if not billions of dollars a year and yet they can't properly fund a call support centre.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.

VERY BAD

by Dawn on Jan 18, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Our company has Manulife and if I could change them I would in a heartbeat. Every time I need a question answered it takes a week or more just o get through they care about money and not about the companies or people.
This time around I have been trying since 2021 to get in touch with them and they put you on hold for more than 2 hours and then hang u on you.
This is a really bad company

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics