Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(90 reviews)
Manulife
1.9 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

worst insurance company

by Harold on Apr 8, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I took a mortgage protection plan from this company. They put an exclusion clause to my coverage which prompted me to cancel it. When i tried to cancel it, twice my call after waiting for 20 minutes each just "dropped" on my third attempt i was able to connect to a very rude rep which gave me the run around. I would never recommend this company to my worst enemy. Run away if you see this company. Worst policies and worst customer support.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Telephone menus are unbelievably complex

by Angry caller on Apr 4, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Gave up after pressing "1" numerous times. Cannot find a real human to explain the call and inquiry.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't Waste Your Time

by DANIELLE on Jan 15, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Called to request a quote for Life Insurance. Was put through to an agent who stated she did not have the time to complete my quote at that time after waiting on hold for over 10 minutes.
She booked an appointment with me for the following day and advised of all the information I would need. I got all the info she asked for and she didn't even bother to call me during our appointment time.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

Horrible customer service, useless

by yt on Dec 21, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Dad passed away 4 months ago, made a claim and heard nothing back. Called and was given the round about for an hour and a half with dumbnutts not knowing where to send me to. Then them telling me that they can't fullfill the claims.

USELESS and WASTE of TIME.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't go with Manulife

by Jason Huang on Dec 4, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I swear I've lost 10 years of my life dealing with Manulife...
They never process the claims correctly and it takes them 2 weeks to process any of my claims. I can never let them process my claims and automatically claim the remaining unpaid portion through HCSA because they never process the claim correctly and end up spending way more money on the HCSA which you would have to spend even more time to get them to re-process and make the changes. That would be fine if they process at a reasonable speed but that's not even the issue... They would NEVER DO IT!!!! If their claim is not processed right, I would have to contact them for over a month straight to get a response and actually get things done right.
Questions are never answered, I have all my customer service conversation transcripts and they always say they forwarded my questions to their teams and they would contact me with the answers but I literally never hear from them again after that.
I would seriously pull my teeth out than to willingly choose them as a provider. I literally have no choice but to use them because my employer chose them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.

Horrible customer service and no follow through on promises

by Ticked Off on Oct 17, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

They have have been recognized as a best employer but they have the worst customer service. My father recently passed away and he had a whole life policy for both my brother and I. I called as co-executor of his estate to inform them of my fathers passing and to have our policies transferred to us. I sent the will and documentation in as requested and was informed we should each receive a package in 4-5 weeks. 6 weeks later I called back to ask if the policy transfer had been acted on. I was told they could not give me information for privacy reasons without the persons written consent. Is the will and appointment of executors not consent? I was told the matter would have to be dealt with by the Titles Division. I asked to be transferred and was told they don’t speak directly to clients they would have to call me. I asked they call me back in 3 business days which have now passed. Manulife has horrible customer service! You have options for life insurance, go elsewhere as they will not be there for you when you need them!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Ripped Off

by Corey M on Oct 13, 2023
3 out of 5 stars

Part of the Manulife extended health involves mental health services. Professional services: Registered Counsellor and Master Social Worker.
I went and saw a REGISTERED COUNSELLOR because, allegedly, it is covered. I saw a previous counsellor for this reason, and it was covered without issue. Great. But because the counsellor this time also had "MMFT" in his designation, Manulife saw a convenient out and willingly chose to not reimburse me $300 for two separate sessions even though the invoice explicitly stated it was for personal reasons and not family or marriage related purposes.
I called their support to complain about this obvious crony behavior. I asked to speak to the manager directly, they refused. Their support agent filed a case, gave me a number, and said billing would correct this misunderstanding. THREE WEEKS LATER I had not heard back from them despite the claim email received stating they would get back to me. I call Manulife support again, and they have absolutely zero proof this claim was ever filed on their back end. They have no idea what I am talking about. Presumably, the support agent fabricated this claims email and claims number just to get me off the phone.
After further argument, they simply refused me on the basis of the counsellor having 'MMFT' designation in his name and NOT the explicit purpose stated in the submitted invoice for the reason why I saw this counsellor.
Manulife is like any other insurance agency and will rip you off the second they see the opportunity to.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst insurance

by Victimized on Oct 4, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

0% value customer service, specially during the pandemic. Financial advisors does not know anything. Cannot approach in time of need. And ridiculously funny because you will have to loan out the money you paid for with another high interest that you will be charge for the benefit that you should have. If i were you consider others this is a type of insurance with no value and no benefit at all in time when you need it. Even your agent will just be there when it is pay time. When it is claim time wow! Will make it difficult for you. Liars!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo