Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(90 reviews)
Manulife
1.9 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Putting people’s health at risk

by C. Hubble on Dec 7, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Recently, our family doctor sent a prescription for my husband. The pharmacy advised they were unable to fill the prescription due to a shortage of the medicine. A temporary substitute medication was prescribed only to be rejected by Manulife. I contacted Manulife Nov 17/23 as directed by the pharmacy. The representative advised we would have to have our doctor complete another form for Manulife that would be reviewed to determine if the medication was necessary. I fail to understand why Manulife deems it necessary to invade our medical privacy. A medical professional has determined it is a necessary treatment, that should be all that is required. Manulife also felt it necessary to ensure we were informed of side-effects. The doctor and pharmacist fully discuss the medication and side-effects, so this should not be a concern of Manulife. This harassment is nothing short of discrimination, an invasion of privacy, completely unprofessional and creating an unnecessary delay in treatment that is putting my husband’s well-being at risk.
I waited on hold for over 15 minutes to speak to a Manulife supervisor. The representative came back advising me I would need to continue to wait. I requested to be put on the callback list as I could not wait any longer. The representative advised me there was no way to guarantee a representative would call me back, I would need to wait. A supervisor would not call me back? As of this date (Dec 7, 2023) I have not received a call back. One week after submission of the required documents we received a rejection and request for more information from the Dr. More time wasted and patient put at unnecessary risk! If I could give Manulife less than 1 I would. The saga continues.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Ripped Off

by Corey M on Oct 13, 2023
3 out of 5 stars

Part of the Manulife extended health involves mental health services. Professional services: Registered Counsellor and Master Social Worker.
I went and saw a REGISTERED COUNSELLOR because, allegedly, it is covered. I saw a previous counsellor for this reason, and it was covered without issue. Great. But because the counsellor this time also had "MMFT" in his designation, Manulife saw a convenient out and willingly chose to not reimburse me $300 for two separate sessions even though the invoice explicitly stated it was for personal reasons and not family or marriage related purposes.
I called their support to complain about this obvious crony behavior. I asked to speak to the manager directly, they refused. Their support agent filed a case, gave me a number, and said billing would correct this misunderstanding. THREE WEEKS LATER I had not heard back from them despite the claim email received stating they would get back to me. I call Manulife support again, and they have absolutely zero proof this claim was ever filed on their back end. They have no idea what I am talking about. Presumably, the support agent fabricated this claims email and claims number just to get me off the phone.
After further argument, they simply refused me on the basis of the counsellor having 'MMFT' designation in his name and NOT the explicit purpose stated in the submitted invoice for the reason why I saw this counsellor.
Manulife is like any other insurance agency and will rip you off the second they see the opportunity to.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Kept me waiting 2 months just to tell me I don’t qualify.

by Jo on Dec 20, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

Very disappointed in their efforts to contact me.... Leaving me in financial distress. I’m also not able to return to work due to medical reasons atm.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

Worst insurance provider

by OntarioUser on Jul 13, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Claims made towards the end of the insurance period, before transitioning to another provider are NEVER paid. It is very hard to get any response from them. They decline the claims for unrelated responses.

Worst insurance provider since ever. In the end, the employee will be forced to lose interest in tracking with them and let the claim unpaid.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Very bad company

by Mike on Jan 19, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

They try not to pay you for any reason. After submitting the dental claim, they didn't give me any response until I called them. Then, they need EOB. The thing is they should ask this early and let us know.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

BUNCH OF CROOKS

by diane on Jul 6, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

CROOKS. THAT IS WHAT THIS COMPANY IS! My Father paid into Manulife for over 50 years. He took ill and was in the hospital for a couple of months. He was put on life support at one point. Meantime his bill came in from Manulife, saying his policy was cancelled because he missed two payments. He lived by himself, the family lived outside the province, I contacted Manulife, and explained to them of Dad's illness, and asked them if I can make the payments when Dad comes home from the hospital? That I am very concerned about my Father's poor health, at this time they told me straight out that his insurance was cancelled and they could not wait for payments! Where did 50 years of my Father's hard-earned money go? That is how they treated my Father! I will never recommend this company to anyone, not even my worst enemy!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

Designated benificiary

by Designated benificiary. on Jun 12, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

My wife passed away five years ago. She had purchased a life insurance policy from Standard life (bought out by Manulife) for $25000 and named me as the designated beneficiary. In the legal fun and games, the lawyer for her estate filed a "statement of claim" against her pension from Alberta Health Services. Just to confuse things and create havoc, he sent the document to Manulife, even though Manulife or the life insurance policy is not even mentioned. Apparently, Manulife's lawyers don't know the meaning of "designated". If I designate a beneficiary, then I want that person to receive that benefit. I would strongly caution others against investing in a company (Manulife in this case) that does not honor the wishes of their clients.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo