Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(61 reviews)
Manulife
2.2 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Manulife is so bad

by jk on Jan 18, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

So the company I am with uses Manulife for the insurance. I have had nothing but issues with Manulife. I attached and sent all support documents for a claim but they always come back with some document that they need to approve the claim which my doctors say they don't provide. Manulife customer service representatives are constantly telling me wrong information and then I get countless emails about different guidelines that seem to change every claim. They truly make it very hard for you to even get a claim approved even with so much support, signed by the doctor documents.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

VERY BAD

by Dawn on Jan 18, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Our company has Manulife and if I could change them I would in a heartbeat. Every time I need a question answered it takes a week or more just o get through they care about money and not about the companies or people.
This time around I have been trying since 2021 to get in touch with them and they put you on hold for more than 2 hours and then hang u on you.
This is a really bad company

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Never get hold on someone if you need to assist

by Shah1geo on Jan 18, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Hello,
I tried to call to assist me because I forgot my plan contract number and wait for 3 hours but still no luck to talk to someone. Very frustrated and upset because Manulife is a big name and if this is their customer service then where to go.
Thank you

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.

Terrible customer service

by Demetrios Papas on Jan 17, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

They put me on hold for an hour just to go back to the main menu, I only wanted help to set up my account. This is completely ridiculous!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Worst help

by Dhwani Patel on Jan 12, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

They don't help in claims. My money has been stuck with them for 5 months and they don't respond at all! Neither through phone nor email. I hate their service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Extremely Poor Company

by Lydia on Dec 21, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Never in my life have I had such poor service from a company.
Phone wait time is 1 1/5 and never got answered. Had to hang up!
Updating my banking info was such a headache for lack of HUMAN ENGLISH!
Decided to get the app..... got locked out of my account.
I am so angry and just bitter over this. Still on hold now for another hour AND STILL NOT ANSWERING OMG!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

Kept me waiting 2 months just to tell me I don’t qualify.

by Jo on Dec 20, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

Very disappointed in their efforts to contact me.... Leaving me in financial distress. I’m also not able to return to work due to medical reasons atm.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Dissatisfied Seniors

by Dissatisfied seniors on Oct 16, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

We are seniors and have paid into life insurance with Manulife since 2001. In the month of October 2021, we noted a payment of over $900 was taken out of our bank account on Sept 28, 2021, without authorization or permission from Manulife. There was nothing in writing notifying us that the monthly renewal premium would increase from $322.74 to $911.70 per month. It was shocking that this was 40 percent of our pension money that month which threw all our monthly budget out of whack!
When contacting Manulife we were tossed about 4 different people over several days and hours on the phone. They refused to put our money back into our account for 15 business days! We cancelled both our policies.
Money was put back on October 15, 2021. The money was removed from our account on September 28, 2021, which was 18 days after.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Refused to refund

by Steve Vanderstelt on Oct 14, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

After signing up through a representative over the phone I noticed I had been charged twice for 2 months on my credit card and after calling them I was told to forward my statement to their customer service email.
After doing so they just told me they don't issue refunds, so I have been paying for 2 policies totalling $600 a month.
After the first reply email telling me they don't issue refunds I have received no responses since despite my continued emails.
It's infuriating that they would take money from unsuspecting like this and just hide behind their policies to justify theft.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance, you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.

Worst customer experience

by ES on Oct 12, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Try to change my policy address and bank account to my US address and customer service doesn't know how to enter a US address. Kept me 70 min on the phone and then tells me there is a system problem.
Cannot understand a US postal code format.
Still on the phone

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo