Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(90 reviews)
Manulife
1.9 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Affordable Life Insurance?

  • Rates from 20+ life insurers
  • Premiums start at $12/month
  • Standard & Guaranteed plans
  • Can be purchased remotely

Get a tailored quote

Filter

Most helpfull reviews

Terrible customer service

by Riley on May 7, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

The app is bad, the web portal is bad, customer support can't help over the phone, even their online agent is bad. This company is completely useless in every way.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

worst insurance company

by Harold on Apr 8, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I took a mortgage protection plan from this company. They put an exclusion clause to my coverage which prompted me to cancel it. When i tried to cancel it, twice my call after waiting for 20 minutes each just "dropped" on my third attempt i was able to connect to a very rude rep which gave me the run around. I would never recommend this company to my worst enemy. Run away if you see this company. Worst policies and worst customer support.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Telephone menus are unbelievably complex

by Angry caller on Apr 4, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Gave up after pressing "1" numerous times. Cannot find a real human to explain the call and inquiry.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

Payments

by Pissedoff on Jan 24, 2024
2.5 out of 5 stars

Wtf is up with this company!!! Is corporate dividends more important than paying your obligations to your clients. Major delays paying directly to dentists etc. They do the claim within a day or two but to the dentist it can be months.
Are they becoming corporate America.
Disgusting, please avoid anything to do with this company, life, retirement .

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Dishonest scammers

by Furious on Jan 19, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

My wife and I are first time home buyers and were referred to manulife by our mortgage broker. I spoke to a representative on the phone, who outlined their options, which were quite expensive. I asked that the quotes be emailed to me and that I need to speak with my wife.

We wake up this morning to a series of confirmation emails stating that both of us have enrolled in the program for almost $600 per month. Absolutely outrageous. We phoned in and canceled immediately but I'm not 100% confident that they will actually do it. Simply shameful, and they have lost any potential business from us for sure!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't Waste Your Time

by DANIELLE on Jan 15, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Called to request a quote for Life Insurance. Was put through to an agent who stated she did not have the time to complete my quote at that time after waiting on hold for over 10 minutes.
She booked an appointment with me for the following day and advised of all the information I would need. I got all the info she asked for and she didn't even bother to call me during our appointment time.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

Horrible customer service, useless

by yt on Dec 21, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Dad passed away 4 months ago, made a claim and heard nothing back. Called and was given the round about for an hour and a half with dumbnutts not knowing where to send me to. Then them telling me that they can't fullfill the claims.

USELESS and WASTE of TIME.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Putting people’s health at risk

by C. Hubble on Dec 7, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Recently, our family doctor sent a prescription for my husband. The pharmacy advised they were unable to fill the prescription due to a shortage of the medicine. A temporary substitute medication was prescribed only to be rejected by Manulife. I contacted Manulife Nov 17/23 as directed by the pharmacy. The representative advised we would have to have our doctor complete another form for Manulife that would be reviewed to determine if the medication was necessary. I fail to understand why Manulife deems it necessary to invade our medical privacy. A medical professional has determined it is a necessary treatment, that should be all that is required. Manulife also felt it necessary to ensure we were informed of side-effects. The doctor and pharmacist fully discuss the medication and side-effects, so this should not be a concern of Manulife. This harassment is nothing short of discrimination, an invasion of privacy, completely unprofessional and creating an unnecessary delay in treatment that is putting my husband’s well-being at risk.
I waited on hold for over 15 minutes to speak to a Manulife supervisor. The representative came back advising me I would need to continue to wait. I requested to be put on the callback list as I could not wait any longer. The representative advised me there was no way to guarantee a representative would call me back, I would need to wait. A supervisor would not call me back? As of this date (Dec 7, 2023) I have not received a call back. One week after submission of the required documents we received a rejection and request for more information from the Dr. More time wasted and patient put at unnecessary risk! If I could give Manulife less than 1 I would. The saga continues.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.

Don't go with Manulife

by Jason Huang on Dec 4, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I swear I've lost 10 years of my life dealing with Manulife...
They never process the claims correctly and it takes them 2 weeks to process any of my claims. I can never let them process my claims and automatically claim the remaining unpaid portion through HCSA because they never process the claim correctly and end up spending way more money on the HCSA which you would have to spend even more time to get them to re-process and make the changes. That would be fine if they process at a reasonable speed but that's not even the issue... They would NEVER DO IT!!!! If their claim is not processed right, I would have to contact them for over a month straight to get a response and actually get things done right.
Questions are never answered, I have all my customer service conversation transcripts and they always say they forwarded my questions to their teams and they would contact me with the answers but I literally never hear from them again after that.
I would seriously pull my teeth out than to willingly choose them as a provider. I literally have no choice but to use them because my employer chose them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo