Independent Home Insurance Reviews

Intact Insurance Home Insurance Reviews

(102 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
65,704
consumers
(2.1 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Not impressed

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by 123456789 Aug 17, 2019
My experience with Intact was less than 1 star can represent. I would rather drive with no insurance than deal with these money-hungry highway thieves. Now that I've moved on to a better company I can fully recognize how bad Intact is. Have a nice day.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

2 Claims, 0 Problems

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rock Star Gar Aug 05, 2019
I have had two claims with Intact. First was when my car was broken into and all of my music gear was stolen. The cost was substantial with a $3200 guitar, $2200 amplifier, $1000 microphone and a lot more for accessories. My auto insurance (comprehensive) had to take care of the smashed rear window, but minus the deductible, Intact cut a check for the rest, asking only for quotes for replacement. For most, I was able to provide receipts and those values were covered. For my guitar, I showed online prices in Canada from music shops and that was covered as well, all with the amount for sales tax and GST. The adjuster was polite, stayed in contact and the whole process was over with very quickly. The 2nd was a water damage claim. When replacing my carpets, I was installing new carpet rack strips where the old ones were but had to put the nails in the concrete sun-floor about an inch from the holes left by the old ones. On the LAST strip, the nail hit a water line, sending a stream of water up like a fountain. In my condo, the water shut off valve was hard to get to, with my hand too big to reach between the wall stud and another pipe between the opening and the valve. By the time I forced my hand through by dislocating three fingers at the top knuckle, my hall was under inches of water and the two suites below me were just disaster areas. I have done everything from building condos from the foundation up to roofing, flooring/tiling, carpentry, drywall, electrical and owner's side plumbing. What I found when the subflooring was chipped away to repair the water line was that it was left free-floating when the sun floor was poured and was only less than a 1/4 of an inch under the floor. The nails for carpet tack strips are 5/16" long, with just the tip puncturing the line. How the original installers never hit the line is beyond me, but at that exact spot, it crossed the line where the strips are and was raised just enough in that spot to create that flukey situation. I described this scenario because Intact could have been total assholes, looking for negligence to skirt their involvement. Instead, they went to bat for me. They sent crews and an adjuster immediately, said they would cover the costs of food, hotel, pay me for any work I did, cut me a $1000 check for the condo's $10k deductible I had to pay a thousand of, reimbursed me for the ruined carpet and underlay I just installed and compensated me and my son for each hour we had to move things around and get the house back to normal. They even calculated an amount for my inconvenience that covered my $1000 deductible. All funds were paid quickly and they kept my file open until everything was settled just in case there were any further out of pocket costs. The crews and plumber were paid directly as well. So, in both experiences, I have very little to complain about. One minor disagreement on value, but a far cry from getting ripped off by them. Remember, out of millions of consumers, only a few with bad experiences are usually motivated to post their experiences, usually out of spite. If everyone with good experiences posted, the few with complaints would be lost in the shuffle. My previous insurance company was terrible and their lack of value to me led to the switch to Intact, where I have been very pleased by their rates (in comparison of course), customer service and their follow-through during both claims. My second claim adjuster was brand new to the business and offering her a little patience didn't hurt while she consulted her way through the job and in the end, she did fantastically. The first was just pro all the way through.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Just Awful

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nate Jul 20, 2019
Wow, these guys are snakes. Even charged a fee when I decided I did not want to renew my insurance with them. I'd rate less than one star if it were possible.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Excellent Service

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Susan Jul 03, 2019
In May 2017 a car went through our fence and we tried to go through Autopac which was a nightmare. We were told to go through our home insurance. We had been with Wawanesa Insurance for 15 years never had a claim then we had hail damage and someone came out to check the roof. He said Wawanesa will not cover it. I told him that both neighbors either side had new roofs from their insurance and he said: "well, they probably didn't have Wawanesa because their criteria are high". They did not, they both had Intact Insurance. So I changed immediately. Two years later a car goes through my fence and I contacted my Intact adjuster and he had someone come out and look at the fence, got 3 quotes and gave us the price of the middle quote. They replaced my whole fence 145 feet. They were fast, efficient and professional. I am very surprised at all these negative reviews. But my experience was excellent and I would highly recommend them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very poor insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy Jun 23, 2019
They totally took advantage of an immigrant family with poor language skills. They would not cover a claim even though the roofer sent a report with pictures. Our broker gave very poor customer service and I rate her terrible. I will be cancelling my own policy with Intact insurance because of this experience. They may cost less for insurance but if they don't pay valid claims it's like you don't have insurance at all.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

one way relationship

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Raptor Jun 13, 2019
Customers pay premiums for years, one time for a small claim, the insurance company does everything in their power to run you down... Makes you call them, again and again, they make you tired. Intact is the worst company of all. Their rates were a bit lower, but if you have claim you will not recover anything. Shame on them, and shame on me for using them in the past. NEVER AGAIN!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

No Response for Quote

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by pankjangra May 15, 2019
I was looking for home insurance and I provided all information to the Intact agent. He said he will get back to me soon. After one week and two follow-ups still no update. If they are not able to provide the quote on time, how they will process your claim in emergency. I don't want to do any business with Intact
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Quick to cancel policy

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Vic B May 03, 2019
While I would have rated Intact higher on customer service for the people who I actually worked with while processing a claim, their follow-up dismissal of me as a client after only one processed claim and refusal to work with me to maintain my status as their client is ridiculous. As new homeowners, we called our insurance provider, at the time Intact, to ask for advice on our policy after finding water in the basement. After speaking with the Intact personnel, and discovering that the claim was not eligible we did not process one. Due to their system of automatically opening a claim we officially "withdrew the claim" within 1 hour of opening it. We then fixed the water issue out of pocket to avoid future issues. One year later we received a letter that Intact was cancelling our policy for multiple claims within a three year period, even though they acknowledged that we only actually processed one claim. When we tried to work with the company by informing them that we had fixed the issue out of pocket within one month of getting their dismissal letter (and hadn't had time yet to inform them of the upgrade) they still refused to keep us as clients. Due to the dismissal of an insurance company against us, we are now paying for alternative insurance at a higher rate as a penalty. Intact never reached out to us and wouldn't work with us on how to maintain our client status and although we paid much more for their service than we ever received in the one claim, they removed us with very little notice. Would never recommend Intact insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

leak in condo

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by HO Apr 16, 2019
We had a leak in the condo more than 4 weeks ago, the insurance showed up once to see and since then nothing happened, they don't even take our calls. This leak is affecting 4 apartments. Now we're on our 5th week still waiting. Worst experience ever.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

The WORST!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mar 22, 2019
Quite probably the worst insurance company I have ever dealt with. Terrible customer service. They make TD look good.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Will never make a claim again

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JBD Feb 28, 2019
We had a pipe burst in our bathroom and called Intact immediately. This was on a Saturday. They said they would send an emergency team that evening to assess damage and help with cleanup. No one came Saturday, Sunday, or Monday. On Tuesday a contractor finally showed up to take measurements and then no one came back until Thursday. They still didn't start work for several days and even then, only put on some heaters and took down half of the drywall and floor (leaving me to do the rest). When Intact got back to me about the contractor's estimate, they basically gave me the option of paying $2000 out of pocket to have the room put back by the contractor, or I could take a $2200 cheque to do the job myself. This was based on an estimate of over $9000 for the work. I went over and over with the adjuster that I shouldn't have to be out of pocket to simply put my bathroom back to how it was, but I received no help and terse answers to every question I had. No flexibility was shown, nor any sort of empathy or concern. When I said that no one could redo an entire bathroom (including buying a new shower and vanity, and all drywall, insulation, flooring etc.) I was told, "You're right, but you still have to pay."
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Claim closed w/out my knowledg

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unk Feb 20, 2019
I am so pissed and frustrated with this company. They freaking closed my claim without my approval, I was shocked. I called them and asked for an explanation but the only explanation they had was that's what it shows on the system. I said I want to talk with a person who is handling my claim. He called me and said: oh, since we didn't hear anything from you we thought you don't want to go through with the claim, therefore we closed the claim at the end of December. I was like, seriously, you guys close my claim during the holiday season, it was only month and a half since I made a claim. He asked for more information, which I emailed him after 2 weeks since I had to find all info he asked me to get, I waited for a week for him to respond but there was no response. I called him directly and left a message yet no call from him. A week later emailed him again, still no response... called again 2 more times but he never answers his phone. I called the claim department and the lady who answered said that in their system the person who is handling my claim asked for more info. I said I have already emailed him like 25 days ago and he has not yet responded me back yet, I wanted to ask him what is happening with my claim. Upon that she said: oh, here it says your claim is closed. I was freaking mad, but I calmly said: listen, I already said this before that I never closed my claim. Then she said she will put my claim on alert and put on the system to reopen the claim. Now I don't know when will I get a call from them, but one thing is for sure I am not going to stay with them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

What happened to integrity

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ripped Dec 10, 2018
The only ones who benefit from your claims are the insurance companies including Intact. Our insurance will increase 200.00/year for 5 yrs for a vandalism claim. Most insurance executives live like kings.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Contacting Intack

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by paulr Jul 25, 2018
I have been trying to get a claim finalized for a flood that happened in October 2017. The claim representative stopped communicating with me in April 2018. Now 9 months later I reported the problems I've been having to the rep's manager who apologized for the long delay and promised to get back to me the next day. That was the last I heard from her. My broker has not been any help. Have you had any success in going up the chain of command? How did you do it?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by wa May 31, 2018
Horrible experience. Had major flood on main floor, insurer was Intact/Belairdirect. Got Platinum Pro-Claim Restoration as part of their Rely Network® to do the work. Clean up crew was great and did a good job drying up and removing damaged materials. Reconstruction crew was horrible. Did not put insulation on exterior walls back properly (basic building code requirement). Did not seal vapor barrier on exterior walls (basic building code requirement). Drywalled over open furnace air returns. Tile installer installed and grouted tiles on same day causing uneven tiles (basic knowledge you need to let tiles set first before grouting). Tiler used my lumber on side of my house for cutting on and then hid it by, put it onto my neighbour’s property. Tiler emptied unused mortar and grout into boxes and left it on my wood floors to get wet. Clean up crew decided to use our laundry dryer to dry their shirt (Wife found the shirt the next day in dryer). Clean up crew did not do a good job cleaning, did not clean interior of reinstalled storage cabinetry, floor properly, and did not remove all flooring protection. Wallpaper order, gave Proclaim our selection for wallpaper soon after flood and found out that they waited a month before ordering from supplier causing at least a 2-week delay in completing our powder room. Having a child potty training is not fun without a powder room. Wallpaper installer did not protect the floor, spent one hour scraping floor as I would not allow their cleaners back in my house after finding the shirt. The list goes on and on…have pictures and emails detailing everything. The painters were great, good job and cleaned up after themselves. Everything was finally done and did receive some compensation for my time but nothing can compensate for the lack of management and poor workmanship.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Horrible company to deal with

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Appalled Customer May 24, 2018
Never had an insurance claim ever. Determined a water leak at a lower wall behind a dresser. Called Intact insurance, girl who answered was unpleasant, unhelpful and stated that we needed to hire someone at our expense to determine the water leak. Company assigned Todd D as the adjuster. Let me just say that this individual lacks customer service to the extreme. He never visited the house to inspect, he assigned someone he knew Onside restoration just as terrible a company who sent a third party to inspect the house water leak. This was not systematic, I had to continuously call and message to put things in action. Todd D lacked communication from the start (extremely hands-off), never provided a status at each stage, I had to continuously call. He should NOT be an estimator. I not only question the company but their hiring practices as well. Not one person could determine the water leak and with inconclusive data denied the claim which coincidently would have cost me a 1000 dollars for the deductible to begin with. Unfortunately, I was talked into trying Intact insurance, however, I would STRONGLY suggest that you carefully choose another insurance company. Read other reviews, you will notice a common theme. You are better off leaving your house uninsured than to choose Intact insurance. I wish there were negative stars to rate this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Home Claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Peter M May 20, 2018
Terrible. Terrible. Terrible. Stay away from this company. Ongoing home insurance claim and they are giving ZERO support. A battle all the way.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Want to feel like a criminal?

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Reuben Apr 30, 2018
I had a claim a few years back. I had a small house fire that turned into a nightmare. Their adjuster accused me of wanting to stay in a hotel because it had a water slide. He also kept suggesting that I was trying to get more back than I lost. At the time I had a newborn child and a toddler, a fire was stressful enough without the stress that Intact added. They immediately raised my insurance premium to try and recuperate their loss. Needless to say, I've switched providers and cut Intact's premium in half with better coverage.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

They are NOT on your side!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Thetruth Apr 22, 2018
We had a cottage fire. Intact did everything they could to lowball us...delay...not answer emails or calls for months...cause traumatic stress...and engaged in bad faith. We found a lawyer and won. Do NOT speak with them on the phone or at one of their 'meetings'...get EVERYTHING in writing. I would give them 0 stars if I could. Their commercials are complete lies.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Get a lawyer

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lawyersneeded Apr 16, 2018
If your place suffered a great deal of damage, get a lawyer to deal with these guys. I had to tell the contractors and/or their helpers that Intact had hired what needed to be done and how to do it, otherwise, nothing would have been done. I am not an expert on major house repairs, I should not have been in charge of the workers. Nightmare for months.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Avoid this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dawna Mar 05, 2018
Horrible, horrible company! I was a faithful customer for over 25 years and never even made one claim (not even during the dreaded ice storm). Had to cancel my insurance because I was moving to another province. Intact continued my policy regardless and is now charging me for 3 more months, even though I did not live there. Have tried over and over to explain this to their broker, but it fell on deaf ears and they have now put the case into collections, without addressing my correspondence. I have no choice except to pay for a service I did not want. Their commercial about caring about people is laughable, to say the least. Find a better company that treats their clients properly.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

I had water damage at home.

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Joshp Jan 29, 2018
Intact helped me alot during my hard time. I had water damage at home and right after my call insurance guys came. They fixed my house and also pay for my accomodation. Its worth to get that insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very difficult to deal with.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by IntactScrewedUs Jan 18, 2018
We had tenants insurance through Intact. Our basement suite flooded, and Intact was very quick to respond at first. They walked us through every process and packed up our things in a timely matter. HOWEVER, they lost some of our valuables and broke our 55” Samsung smart television upon moving back in. They offered us $500 compensation for the TV which we declined as we just wanted them to replace it. Once we refused to accept the $500, they stopped answering our calls and refused to negotiate. We haven’t heard anything back about our lost and damaged items and every time we try, the person on the other end says “They can’t do anything.” Save yourself the stress and worry and go with an insurance company that actually helps its' customers in times of need.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Hope you never have a claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by caredss Jan 12, 2018
I have had two dealings with the claims department, first was our whole neighbourhood was flooded, all my neighbours got paid by their insurance but Intact denied my claim. I went to change insurance companies but was denied because I had a recent claim. Even though I did not receive a payout. 7 months ago I had a break in while on holidays. Did my due diligence and made the police report, the list of loss, got all the prices, then they made me do it a second time and have it notarized. In 7 month I have talked to the adjuster twice, she fails to return phone calls or emails. Called and asked for her supervision, left a message for him to no avail. He never returned my call. Sent an email that I was going to make a formal complaint if I did not get a response, a month later still nothing. Called the complaints officer and was told I could not make a formal complaint until I tried to deal with her manager, proved I did that already and then the story changed so I couldn't make a formal complaint until they did an investigation. I have now had to hire a lawyer and still can't get anywhere with these crooks. The law states you have to have insurance but it appears the insurance company doesn't have to follow the laws or pay you for your losses. I have gone as far as sending them a copy of the insurance laws and highlighted the multiple ones they are breaking or bending, they do not care.They hope you will run out of money to fight them and just go away
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Claim Experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Hashik K. Sep 06, 2017
I had my home insurance with Intact for number of years. Premium was reasonable and didn't have a claim until April 2017. We had a minor leak from the roof following the wind storm and I lodged a claim for the first time. The so called Claim Adjuster who was assigned to us was just terrible and after months of processing the claim, we received a notification that our claim was not covered and hence eligible. Our roof was about 7 years old, made of fiberglass shingles and in good shape. We were told by the one who repaired that it was the wind storm that caused leak through the vent. We are okay with the reason our claim was denied but we were disappointed by the unprofessional manner our claim was handled by Intact. Our policy was due for renewal in August 2017 and we did not accept the renewal offer from Intact although their offer was less than the one we accepted. You cannot do business with a company you don't trust.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Tenant insurance

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by JoshP Aug 14, 2017
No slight on the customer service side as they were great. However, when i purchased tenant insurance for 40$ a month throughout this past year and had a few tools and a bike stolen from the garage, I was informed there would be a $500 deductible due on $630. It's a good idea if you are prone to starting fires or live in a flood plain, but don't expect it to cover your run of the day item theft. If the deductible had been discussed at the time of purchasing the policy I never would have went for it.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Intact price increases

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by John V.O. Aug 09, 2017
I am headed to my broker's office shortly. Just got our home insurance renewal. They want $3614.00 per year for a home that is worth only $350,000.00. We have never had a claim with them, or anyone else for over 30 years. We have bundled coverage with them, (they have our car insurance), which supposedly will make the package cheaper. Our car insurance is another 1500 bucks per year for 3 cars, 2 drivers with totally clean records. We have had our insurance with this broker since they were Robinson Agencies, many years ago, they are now Western Financial Group. We have never had any water or sewer backup in our home, and have owned it as our primary residence for 18 years at this location. So much for customer loyalty on their behalf. I would not recommend Intact insurance for anyone at this point in time. I am skeptical as to whether they will reduce our costs to comparable companies, so I am definitely shopping for another insurance company. I have heard in the past that it is prudent to change insurance companies every few years, as they become complacent with established customers and your rates just keep going up. I am going to ask them when I go in this morning, to give me a quote as though I am a brand new customer. My brother in law in Calgary has a 2 year old house that is worth a lot more than mine pays 1900 per year for his home insurance. Thanks for reading, and I hope it helps someone.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

There when I needed them

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by DutchDekkers Jul 23, 2017
Excellent experience. One insures to be insured when you truly need it. I had my first home claim in 37 years, and Intact's Accessor was outstanding, and Intact coverage was prompt and covered all in accordance with my claim. Very positive experience.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Never again!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disgruntled Jul 13, 2017
I had trees come down on my cottage property.....Intact Insurance did everything possible to give me the least amount of $ and made a promise of not charging me the $1000. deductable because I have never had a claim in 30 years. Then refused. Worst experience ever. I quickly changed companies and saved $300.00.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

They don't care!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Truthful Jun 07, 2017
Don't bother making a complaint. They don't care. Intact insurance is only available through brokers and when the broker isn't available or doesn't call back when you need them... Intact doesn't care! You can complain until you are spitless. In Québec you have access to a level 1 customer support person who will just take notes and call back...guess who??? Your broker! Perhaps in Ontario where you have access to an Ombudsman when level one is not satisfactory... it might be better. In Québec service is pathetic. I can't even imagine if I was making a claim...I was just trying to give them more business and they don't seem to care whether they get it or not. What a waste of my time!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?