Independent Home Insurance Reviews

Intact Insurance Home Insurance Reviews

(93 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
59,152
consumers
(2.1 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

leak in condo

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by HO Apr 16, 2019
We had a leak in the condo more than 4 weeks ago, the insurance showed up once to see and since then nothing happened, they don't even take our calls. This leak is affecting 4 apartments. Now we're on our 5th week still waiting. Worst experience ever.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

The WORST!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mar 22, 2019
Quite probably the worst insurance company I have ever dealt with. Terrible customer service. They make TD look good.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Claim closed w/out my knowledg

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unk Feb 20, 2019
I am so pissed and frustrated with this company. They freaking closed my claim without my approval, I was shocked. I called them and asked for an explanation but the only explanation they had was that's what it shows on the system. I said I want to talk with a person who is handling my claim. He called me and said: oh, since we didn't hear anything from you we thought you don't want to go through with the claim, therefore we closed the claim at the end of December. I was like, seriously, you guys close my claim during the holiday season, it was only month and a half since I made a claim. He asked for more information, which I emailed him after 2 weeks since I had to find all info he asked me to get, I waited for a week for him to respond but there was no response. I called him directly and left a message yet no call from him. A week later emailed him again, still no response... called again 2 more times but he never answers his phone. I called the claim department and the lady who answered said that in their system the person who is handling my claim asked for more info. I said I have already emailed him like 25 days ago and he has not yet responded me back yet, I wanted to ask him what is happening with my claim. Upon that she said: oh, here it says your claim is closed. I was freaking mad, but I calmly said: listen, I already said this before that I never closed my claim. Then she said she will put my claim on alert and put on the system to reopen the claim. Now I don't know when will I get a call from them, but one thing is for sure I am not going to stay with them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

What happened to integrity

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ripped Dec 10, 2018
The only ones who benefit from your claims are the insurance companies including Intact. Our insurance will increase 200.00/year for 5 yrs for a vandalism claim. Most insurance executives live like kings.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Contacting Intack

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by paulr Jul 25, 2018
I have been trying to get a claim finalized for a flood that happened in October 2017. The claim representative stopped communicating with me in April 2018. Now 9 months later I reported the problems I've been having to the rep's manager who apologized for the long delay and promised to get back to me the next day. That was the last I heard from her. My broker has not been any help. Have you had any success in going up the chain of command? How did you do it?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Horrible experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by wa May 31, 2018
Horrible experience. Had major flood on main floor, insurer was Intact/Belairdirect. Got Platinum Pro-Claim Restoration as part of their Rely Network® to do the work. Clean up crew was great and did a good job drying up and removing damaged materials. Reconstruction crew was horrible. Did not put insulation on exterior walls back properly (basic building code requirement). Did not seal vapor barrier on exterior walls (basic building code requirement). Drywalled over open furnace air returns. Tile installer installed and grouted tiles on same day causing uneven tiles (basic knowledge you need to let tiles set first before grouting). Tiler used my lumber on side of my house for cutting on and then hid it by, put it onto my neighbour’s property. Tiler emptied unused mortar and grout into boxes and left it on my wood floors to get wet. Clean up crew decided to use our laundry dryer to dry their shirt (Wife found the shirt the next day in dryer). Clean up crew did not do a good job cleaning, did not clean interior of reinstalled storage cabinetry, floor properly, and did not remove all flooring protection. Wallpaper order, gave Proclaim our selection for wallpaper soon after flood and found out that they waited a month before ordering from supplier causing at least a 2-week delay in completing our powder room. Having a child potty training is not fun without a powder room. Wallpaper installer did not protect the floor, spent one hour scraping floor as I would not allow their cleaners back in my house after finding the shirt. The list goes on and on…have pictures and emails detailing everything. The painters were great, good job and cleaned up after themselves. Everything was finally done and did receive some compensation for my time but nothing can compensate for the lack of management and poor workmanship.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible company to deal with

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Appalled Customer May 24, 2018
Never had an insurance claim ever. Determined a water leak at a lower wall behind a dresser. Called Intact insurance, girl who answered was unpleasant, unhelpful and stated that we needed to hire someone at our expense to determine the water leak. Company assigned Todd D as the adjuster. Let me just say that this individual lacks customer service to the extreme. He never visited the house to inspect, he assigned someone he knew Onside restoration just as terrible a company who sent a third party to inspect the house water leak. This was not systematic, I had to continuously call and message to put things in action. Todd D lacked communication from the start (extremely hands-off), never provided a status at each stage, I had to continuously call. He should NOT be an estimator. I not only question the company but their hiring practices as well. Not one person could determine the water leak and with inconclusive data denied the claim which coincidently would have cost me a 1000 dollars for the deductible to begin with. Unfortunately, I was talked into trying Intact insurance, however, I would STRONGLY suggest that you carefully choose another insurance company. Read other reviews, you will notice a common theme. You are better off leaving your house uninsured than to choose Intact insurance. I wish there were negative stars to rate this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Home Claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Peter M May 20, 2018
Terrible. Terrible. Terrible. Stay away from this company. Ongoing home insurance claim and they are giving ZERO support. A battle all the way.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Want to feel like a criminal?

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Reuben Apr 30, 2018
I had a claim a few years back. I had a small house fire that turned into a nightmare. Their adjuster accused me of wanting to stay in a hotel because it had a water slide. He also kept suggesting that I was trying to get more back than I lost. At the time I had a newborn child and a toddler, a fire was stressful enough without the stress that Intact added. They immediately raised my insurance premium to try and recuperate their loss. Needless to say, I've switched providers and cut Intact's premium in half with better coverage.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

They are NOT on your side!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Thetruth Apr 22, 2018
We had a cottage fire. Intact did everything they could to lowball us...delay...not answer emails or calls for months...cause traumatic stress...and engaged in bad faith. We found a lawyer and won. Do NOT speak with them on the phone or at one of their 'meetings'...get EVERYTHING in writing. I would give them 0 stars if I could. Their commercials are complete lies.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Get a lawyer

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lawyersneeded Apr 16, 2018
If your place suffered a great deal of damage, get a lawyer to deal with these guys. I had to tell the contractors and/or their helpers that Intact had hired what needed to be done and how to do it, otherwise, nothing would have been done. I am not an expert on major house repairs, I should not have been in charge of the workers. Nightmare for months.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Avoid this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dawna Mar 05, 2018
Horrible, horrible company! I was a faithful customer for over 25 years and never even made one claim (not even during the dreaded ice storm). Had to cancel my insurance because I was moving to another province. Intact continued my policy regardless and is now charging me for 3 more months, even though I did not live there. Have tried over and over to explain this to their broker, but it fell on deaf ears and they have now put the case into collections, without addressing my correspondence. I have no choice except to pay for a service I did not want. Their commercial about caring about people is laughable, to say the least. Find a better company that treats their clients properly.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

I had water damage at home.

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Joshp Jan 29, 2018
Intact helped me alot during my hard time. I had water damage at home and right after my call insurance guys came. They fixed my house and also pay for my accomodation. Its worth to get that insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Very difficult to deal with.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by IntactScrewedUs Jan 18, 2018
We had tenants insurance through Intact. Our basement suite flooded, and Intact was very quick to respond at first. They walked us through every process and packed up our things in a timely matter. HOWEVER, they lost some of our valuables and broke our 55” Samsung smart television upon moving back in. They offered us $500 compensation for the TV which we declined as we just wanted them to replace it. Once we refused to accept the $500, they stopped answering our calls and refused to negotiate. We haven’t heard anything back about our lost and damaged items and every time we try, the person on the other end says “They can’t do anything.” Save yourself the stress and worry and go with an insurance company that actually helps its' customers in times of need.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Hope you never have a claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by caredss Jan 12, 2018
I have had two dealings with the claims department, first was our whole neighbourhood was flooded, all my neighbours got paid by their insurance but Intact denied my claim. I went to change insurance companies but was denied because I had a recent claim. Even though I did not receive a payout. 7 months ago I had a break in while on holidays. Did my due diligence and made the police report, the list of loss, got all the prices, then they made me do it a second time and have it notarized. In 7 month I have talked to the adjuster twice, she fails to return phone calls or emails. Called and asked for her supervision, left a message for him to no avail. He never returned my call. Sent an email that I was going to make a formal complaint if I did not get a response, a month later still nothing. Called the complaints officer and was told I could not make a formal complaint until I tried to deal with her manager, proved I did that already and then the story changed so I couldn't make a formal complaint until they did an investigation. I have now had to hire a lawyer and still can't get anywhere with these crooks. The law states you have to have insurance but it appears the insurance company doesn't have to follow the laws or pay you for your losses. I have gone as far as sending them a copy of the insurance laws and highlighted the multiple ones they are breaking or bending, they do not care.They hope you will run out of money to fight them and just go away
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Claim Experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Hashik K. Sep 06, 2017
I had my home insurance with Intact for number of years. Premium was reasonable and didn't have a claim until April 2017. We had a minor leak from the roof following the wind storm and I lodged a claim for the first time. The so called Claim Adjuster who was assigned to us was just terrible and after months of processing the claim, we received a notification that our claim was not covered and hence eligible. Our roof was about 7 years old, made of fiberglass shingles and in good shape. We were told by the one who repaired that it was the wind storm that caused leak through the vent. We are okay with the reason our claim was denied but we were disappointed by the unprofessional manner our claim was handled by Intact. Our policy was due for renewal in August 2017 and we did not accept the renewal offer from Intact although their offer was less than the one we accepted. You cannot do business with a company you don't trust.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Tenant insurance

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by JoshP Aug 14, 2017
No slight on the customer service side as they were great. However, when i purchased tenant insurance for 40$ a month throughout this past year and had a few tools and a bike stolen from the garage, I was informed there would be a $500 deductible due on $630. It's a good idea if you are prone to starting fires or live in a flood plain, but don't expect it to cover your run of the day item theft. If the deductible had been discussed at the time of purchasing the policy I never would have went for it.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Intact price increases

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by John V.O. Aug 09, 2017
I am headed to my broker's office shortly. Just got our home insurance renewal. They want $3614.00 per year for a home that is worth only $350,000.00. We have never had a claim with them, or anyone else for over 30 years. We have bundled coverage with them, (they have our car insurance), which supposedly will make the package cheaper. Our car insurance is another 1500 bucks per year for 3 cars, 2 drivers with totally clean records. We have had our insurance with this broker since they were Robinson Agencies, many years ago, they are now Western Financial Group. We have never had any water or sewer backup in our home, and have owned it as our primary residence for 18 years at this location. So much for customer loyalty on their behalf. I would not recommend Intact insurance for anyone at this point in time. I am skeptical as to whether they will reduce our costs to comparable companies, so I am definitely shopping for another insurance company. I have heard in the past that it is prudent to change insurance companies every few years, as they become complacent with established customers and your rates just keep going up. I am going to ask them when I go in this morning, to give me a quote as though I am a brand new customer. My brother in law in Calgary has a 2 year old house that is worth a lot more than mine pays 1900 per year for his home insurance. Thanks for reading, and I hope it helps someone.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

There when I needed them

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by DutchDekkers Jul 23, 2017
Excellent experience. One insures to be insured when you truly need it. I had my first home claim in 37 years, and Intact's Accessor was outstanding, and Intact coverage was prompt and covered all in accordance with my claim. Very positive experience.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Never again!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disgruntled Jul 13, 2017
I had trees come down on my cottage property.....Intact Insurance did everything possible to give me the least amount of $ and made a promise of not charging me the $1000. deductable because I have never had a claim in 30 years. Then refused. Worst experience ever. I quickly changed companies and saved $300.00.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

They don't care!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Truthful Jun 07, 2017
Don't bother making a complaint. They don't care. Intact insurance is only available through brokers and when the broker isn't available or doesn't call back when you need them... Intact doesn't care! You can complain until you are spitless. In Québec you have access to a level 1 customer support person who will just take notes and call back...guess who??? Your broker! Perhaps in Ontario where you have access to an Ombudsman when level one is not satisfactory... it might be better. In Québec service is pathetic. I can't even imagine if I was making a claim...I was just trying to give them more business and they don't seem to care whether they get it or not. What a waste of my time!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Poor excuse for Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy Jun 06, 2017
April 3 2017 we had a water leak. Intact had a contractor at my house the day after to look at damage. Day 3 we had emergency work done. TWO months later and we have had no resolution what so ever. Not one person is in communication with the other. The contractor says one thing the insurance company says the exact opposite. We are still stuck with this insurance company. Customer service has been awful and are not helpful at all. This company passes the buck from one to another. I feel this will be an all summer fight for what we pay for. Avoid at all costs. Go elsewhere for insurance it is not worth the hassle and stress this company puts its paying customers through. They make no extra effort into helping.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor CS

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jagger36 May 23, 2017
I had home insurance with them and they cancelled me so fast when it was time to renew.. i was at one of their offices to pay a claim from them on my deceased mother's file and they never told me about my home insurance being due.. so i missed the deadline.. i received a letter in the mail that they were cancelling my insurance and we had a water issue here in Gatineau where my insurer is located and roads had to be blocked off and i couldn't go to pay my insurance on time so i got penalized for that and now received a registered letter saying they have started to cancel my home insurance.. i find that to be poor customer service at it worst.. The insurance companies claim they have your best interest and they screw you over once they have your money.. CROOKS
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Intacts lacks ethics & Morals

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Angry beyond belief May 18, 2017
If I could give Intact a - rating, I would. After the loss of our home, garage and all contents in a wildfire event, Intact opened a claim immediately. If not for the fact that it was a nationally recognized catastrophic event well within the public's, I feel that this would have been a nightmare to deal with as well. How bad are they? Where do I start? Our first encounter with an Intact representative was our adjuster. She explained that it was Intact policy that items such as fridge, stove, dishwasher, custom blinds etc, pretty much "what ever you would normally leave in a house when you sold it would be covered under house rebuild. The adjuster gave us a nice glossy phamplet stating as much. After submitting our schedule of loss for our contents, which showed an $80,000 loss on our part, our adjuster told us that due to the fact that "people in our particular region had "upscale appliances, intact would now be submitting our appliances and custom blinds in to our contents coverage which would have resulted in an addition $20,000 loss on our part. This decision was only made by Intact after they were provided our contents list. Apperntly, changing the "rules mid game is alright if you are an insurance firm". Second major issue arose when I analyzed our policy and noticed that we had been charged for a provision that allowed for a cash settlement. When I inquired about this provision , it was stated that I was not eligible for this provision. I then argued as to why we weee being charged for it then. Third major issue arose when we provided economic evidence of a specific type of inflation that results only after catastrophic events. Based on the standard provision of "inflation protection", our limits of insurance were subject to charge based on the "inflation rate" at play. After repeated shady responses for Intact representatives, basically, they did not acknowledge our concerns or questions what so ever and just pressed forward with out explaination or cause, I researched and read the intro to insurance law and the first principal of insurance law states, "if any provision in a policy is ambiguous by nature, the definition that is in the best interest of the policy holder is used as the contract/policy is written by the insurance firm and it is their due diligence to explicit in their meanings. This became an issue as rebuilding costs increased over 100% due to the magnitude of the catastrophic event, the already hyperinflated economy in this particular region, the remoteness of the affected region and the fact that the house building industry has been flatlined due to the current economic recession. Intact instead offered 1% inflation as this was "national average" but we were not experiencing "national average" inflation but rather demand surge inflation. Forth and most aggravating issue we have encountered was after filing our proof of loss and commencing legal proceedings, a year in to this process, after receiving delayed and overdue by sometimes 5-6 months ALE payments the entire time, resulting in immense financial pressure, Intact stated that they would cease all ALE payments from this point onward and withhold any and all other coverages due to the fact that we would be going to court to argue the amounts. Even though this is a clear breach of contract, Intact is well aware of the fact that it will take close to 8-9 months to seek an intermediate court date to get a ruling on the ALE payments that we would most likely never get to as we will have been bankrupted by that time. How this can be considered "negotiating in good faith" is beyond me. If this is how they treat customers who have lost everything in the world, I can not imagine how they would treat those who sustained smaller losses. Horrible firm and STAY AWAY!!!!!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

House insurance renewal

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by YIZ May 02, 2017
Have dealt with my broker for many years. I had house & car insurance with Intact for a few. Rates kept going up and Aug 2016 had a flat roof drain blocked with debris and heavy rain caused a back-up of water with fell into my kitchen ceiling & dining room wall. Intact was quick to open the claim but no-one came for several days. They, through the evaluator, sent the worst contractor possible. The painting had to be done 3 times in a couple areas but the final repair was only a passable quality- not what Intact claims. The job which would normally be 2-3 weeks maximum was done in 11-12 weeks - wow. Now my renewal is up and my house insurance cost was $1362 last year and has skyrocketed to $1822 this year - increase of 34%. The total damage to the house was $9123, but because there was hardwood floor water damage also and there was no room in the house to store the furniture, so I accepted a cheque of over $2200 and the contractor was paid the balance. I did not have the subcontractor re-do the floor & refinish. Thank God I didn't have the incompetent sub complete the floor refinish. Intact hires the cheapest worst contractors to save money for themselves but jacks the renewal price after. Intact never again - do not go with them either for a house or car insurance. They "seem" okay until there is a claim but then - pow
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Intact to the Rescue

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Sharron M. Apr 28, 2017
We had water damage in our basement and with all the bad publicity many insurance companies get weren't sure if we could get it satisfactorily resolved. We found to our delight Intact was more than fair. Way to go Matthew who showed up at our door within 1 hour of our call and had our claim resolved within 24 hours! Please note that our original contact was with another agent who went on vacation but handed the file to Matthew who did a great job for us!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible and dysfunctional

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sunny Apr 10, 2017
If I could give them zero stars I would. They're absolutely horrible and unprofessional! I have home insurance with them and opened a claim. An adjuster named Kathy K got in touch with me and came over, along with an engineer and a contractor to look at the damage. After that I visit, 4 months go by and I didn't hear anything from them. So I decided to call Kathy and left her a voice message, waited a day or two for a response but she didn't call back. Then I wrote her an email asking to be updated on the status of the claim and again, no reply. A month later I call the general customer service number and was told that the case was assigned to another adjuster. Her name was Laurie M. So I call Laurie and leave a message with her, she calls me back and I ask her about my claim and she basically has no info. She tells me Kathy is no longer working with them and that she has very minimal notes on the claim. She asks me who the contractor was, and I said shouldn't you have that info? She says ya we should but we don't. Like what the...?! This upset me, because it had been 6 months since they opened the claim and it had gotten nowhere! What does it tell you about an insurance company when they have no idea which contractor they're using? When I asked her why she doesn't have this info, she asks me, "weren't you there when they came to look?" I said yes, she says, "well you should have their info," I said WHAT? This infuriated me! I said YOU'RE supposed to have all this info, not me! The only info I have is the adjuster's name and the claim number. She tells me "well we might have to start over on this claim again," I said no, that is unacceptable! 6 months have gone by and now you're telling me we have to start over again? What a joke of a company! She tells me she'll try her best, and I said what does that mean? She literally said nothing! I was appalled! Like who hired this person?! I ask about her superior's info and she only gives me the name, not the contact info. When I ask for the boss's email or phone she tells me to call the 1-800. I said can you just give me her phone number, I don't wanna call the general number and be put on hold and she flat out refused! She talked to me in a very rude and condescending tone, as if all this was my fault! And to top it all of, she hung up on me. Safe to say, I won't be renewing my policy with them, and I would suggest others not to do so as well! This company is both dysfunctional and incompetent
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

liars stay away

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by hooped Mar 19, 2017
After 44 years we had this one claim in 2015. A tree fell and damaged our roof, backwall, deck window. Intact hired Barclays, otherwise, they said – there will be no warranty. They hired someone else to do the work and these people all did a crappy work. We had to check ourselves and saw that it wasn't done right. The guys had to come 3, 4 and even 7 time . Barclays claimed the work is all done and we were to sign off so they can get paid, even when we told them the work was not completed. The gutter guys screwed up – now, after the snow storm, our living room got water from the gutters flowing inside the damaged window damaging walls, floor rug, and the paint inside and outside, The adjuster is saying, the case is closed - they are very rude and not helpful - not like they advertise on TV. 2 years later we are still stuck and the work still has not been done. I say, people stay away from Intact. They want your money but run the other way when its claim time for them to pay. They get the cheapest and crappiest workers to do the work. Abdul & Nancy, Surrey, BC
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst customer service EVER!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sandy Aumonier Nov 30, 2016
We had a break in and several items were stolen. What should have been a VERY straight forward claim that could have been completed in less than a week, has turned into a brutal nightmare! The adjustor assigned to our file isn't even located in the same city we live in! Phone calls went unanswered, e-mails were not read and obviously not responded to. I set up a time/day to talk to the adjustor - she was supposed to ring me and didn't so I rang her and she told me that she didn't have time to deal with my claim and that break and enters took months to deal with! I asked for the name of her manager as I wanted another adjustor who did have time to work on my claim. I was told that "they" don't change adjustors...I have filled in a customer satisfaction survey and in the comments I requested a call to talk to someone about my concerns - that was over a month ago and I still haven't received a call. We are being "nickeled and dimed" to death on this claim. The break in occurred 4 and a half months ago and the claim is still outstanding...this company is a joke!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Could not be worse

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rob Nov 17, 2016
Intact hired engineers to determine the extent of water damage to a family home. Their staff adjuster promised to send us copies of the reports then reneged when we didn't do exactly what they wanted. Eventually we got them, and found Intact's engineers made a bunch of bad assumptions to the huge benefit of their client. We pointed the problems out right away, provided them all kinds of evidence that they were wrong, hired another engineering company that did additional testing that proved they were wrong, and got an independent review that confirmed Intact's findings weren't proven.... It's been over two years since the incident and we've gotten practically nothing but deny, delay and defend tactics from Intact despite having already been out of pocket thousands of dollars to prove our claim. I can't imagine that there could possibly be a worse insurance company than Intact. Noticed that their overall rating seems to be skewed by multiple short, generic, positive reviews posted very quickly over the first couple months, with almost exclusively detailed, one star reviews in the years since. Something smells fishy to me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?