Home Insurance Reviews

Intact Insurance Home Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(120 reviews)
Intact Insurance
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Denied!

by Loneduckling on May 2, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I had Intact insurance on my cottage on Lake Huron for decades without ever having a claim. I had coverage that included wind, rain, hail, storm and an additional overland water policy. My cottage was damaged in a storm in November of 2020. I was denied any compensation because according to Intact the waves (that were caused by the wind) caused the water to wash up on shore during that storm (past the 100 year high water mark) and eroded the ground and erosion is not covered in my policy. The irony is they raised my rates for 2021 (the year insurance companies were raking in billions) which will now cost me almost $500 more a year!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrible and overpriced

by William D. on Mar 15, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Terrible service from Intact while filing a claim. Agent preferred to send 4 inspectors and one engineer just to proof they were not responsible for wind damages to the my roof. Ridicules. In addition very disrespectful, she would not listen to my side like talking to a machine. She would just repeat one sentence over and over. Clearly she was not there to help a customer but rather to just proof her point. Bad CS. Needless to say I replaced the insurer for a trust worthy one.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

by Terence k Mah on Mar 8, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! I got a quote for $120 and they started to take out $250+, once I cancelled they took out another $200 "while it was cancelled". I was told I'd get a refund for the $200 and a refund for the months they over withdrawal, went back and forth for 6 months and got nowhere I had to call my bank and have them get my $200 back, as for the $250? Well, there was no refund I OWED THEM THEY SAID!!! Stay away from Intact and KTX broker, all they did was place blame on each other... No accountability at all!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.

Worst Experience EVER

by RDouglas on Feb 26, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I've called on three separate occasions and on every occasion, the CSRs are unable to locate my file and states that there is no profile created for me. I've gone through the process of providing all of the details, taking over an hour of my time in order to obtain a quote. The CSRs advised that I had to wait for the underwriters to get back to them and then they will send me an e-mail or call me. I never received a phone call or an e-mail. I called them back and again, my profile is not in the system. I did not want to start over again with another CSR. Obviously, my money is not good here at Intact Insurance and my business will never be with Intact Insurance. I would advise my family and friends to stay away from Intact Insurance. If obtaining a quote/estimate is this difficult, I could only imagine the claims process. I've never dealt with an insurance company that is this incapable.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Less than impressed

by Prejudiced on Oct 2, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I was with Intact for home & car insurance for 6 years in Ontario. Never missed a payment never had a claim. I move to Quebec an am refused insurance based on a 35-year-old criminal record from young and stupid days. Has no bearing on my current life situation. This question was never asked in Ontario and had no correlation to getting insurance. Prejudice at its finest.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Charged me for not renewing

by walkiebob on Sep 2, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I paid for a year on my home insurance and decided not to renew another year with Intact based on all the terrible reviews. So I just ignored their renewal contract and then they sent me a legal letter stating that I owed them $100.00 for not renewing. Spoke to my legal team about this and they basically said to ignore them and throw the letter out. I actually should charge them for attempted fraud, I cannot imagine how they would treat me if I had a claim to make. Actually, I do! Based on all the horrible experiences people had with Intact. I was one of the luckier ones I guess. Be safe and stay away!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.

AWFUL

by Anita Buda on Aug 13, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

We are still fighting a claim that began March 3, 2020!! It is now August, at every turn, they have negatively dealt with us causing me mental stress that I couldn’t do it on my own anymore and needed help. Our first “representative” should be fired I’m positive we are not the only ones he’s dealt with in such an unprofessional manner! We needed to escalate it to his boss in 1 conversation to my husband took on an unprofessional approach as well as swearing and telling him he should pick up a book and learn to read. Once again we escalated to his boss or above him, who originally we thought we would finally see progress and she proved unprofessional and unable to do her job, she has been ignorant, didn't hasn’t resolved any matter after all this time they’ve left us with mouldy clothes/my 15-year-old daughter without a bedroom set because they claimed it was in the pod which we have a receipt for $7500 when they actually threw it out which I was 100% on as I saw them put in the truck they towed away as “garbage” (careful I think their staff gets first dibs as I would be surprised with their proven practices we’ve been exposed to. My basement is in shambles, my daughter has no bedroom at 15, you can’t move in my main floor because things we could save are shoved on my main floor, I have no laundry facilities as they were flooded and shorted out, and the clothes we could salvage my daughter is living out of a garbage bag and other clothes and items from the basement were thrown out or have been given back to us mouldy. My garage is completely full of boxes that are crumbling at the bottom due to whatever is in them. I COULD GO ON FOREVER! We have been able to eat a meal together at the table even 1 of us at the table there is too much stuff everywhere. We eat in our laps. With COVID we haven’t even been able to go out to dinner together. My daughter and son missed birthday celebrations at home as we couldn’t have anyone at our house. The most hurtful thing their negligence killed my 5-year-old dog. And I have been sick since April (tested for COVID 3 times all negative, so it’s something in my house perhaps mould being there was mould on everything else). More tests for me, long road ahead with this house I loved, all we wanted which is rightfully ours is to be made whole as we had it before. They acknowledged my dog but said they would not be paying her vet bill when we had to put her down. I’m heartbroken and just want what I had before. At this rate, I can’t even see us getting a Christmas tree up and having a nice Christmas my favourite holiday and even being able to enjoy it differently on a holiday due to COVID. Thank you Intact for your lack of customer service and what appears to be a lack of human decency to really go the extra mile for your customers.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Using Covid-19 to charge more

by Nextech on Apr 14, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I pay my home insurance by cheque every 6 months. Normally we drop it at the office before the due date. The Intact agent said due to COVID-19 they are not accepting cheques. We asked about doing an electronic bank transfer. They said no - they don't accept those. How do we pay? They said credit card. Ok - here is my card number. The agent then says there will be an additional fee of $42.79 for a $1440.00 insurance payment for using a credit card! I asked them how can they be doing that - they will not accept any other form of payment at this time and force you to use a credit card and then rip you for additional fees. Company policy they said. That's the way to step up in the time of a national pandemic Intact! Charge more!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Effective and Hassle Free

by KL3989 on Apr 7, 2020
5 out of 5 stars

My condo unit was seriously damaged by a visitor of my tenant. A sprinkler was broken which resulted in a flood damaging a lot of other suites in the building. INTACT communicated seamlessly with the insurer and me. I’m very satisfied with their service. I’m in Vancouver BC.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.

Claim settlement

by Russ T. on Jan 27, 2020
5 out of 5 stars

Our house was broken in and robbed. The adjusters and other Intact team members were responsive, understanding, caring, and very helpful. The claim was resolved professionally and in a timely manner. We're very thankful to the Intact team.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo