Independent Home Insurance Reviews

Meloche Monnex (TD Insurance) Home Insurance Reviews

(113 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
49,689
consumers
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Terrible customer service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by joe Aug 12, 2019
I've been a customer for many years, and until recently, service has been pretty good for the value. In the last year, I sold a house, then purchased a house, should be a simple process to make changes to the policy. In the 3 calls, I've made, the wait times to reach someone to make this simple change averaged 1.5 hours!!!! Who has wait times of 1.5 hours to wait for an agent? I will be cancelling and searching for a new insurance company as soon as I can get through to an agent to cancel! Plus, I didn't like their 20% increase this year. Terrible way to cheap out TD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Wait times are ridiculous

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dave Aug 10, 2019
I cannot reach anyone after many attempts. They do not value their customers at all. This is the worst service I have had. I will look for another company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

4 hours wait!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TD Customer Aug 07, 2019
I have been waiting 4 hours to talk to someone I get through at over 4 hours and they transferred me right away to someone “who can do that”. It is literally editing a name on my document they sent so I can close my house sale! This is the worst experience I have ever had! I will be switching companies! So mad!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Still on hold..

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ASal Aug 07, 2019
I currently have home and car insurance with TD Meloche Monnex. When I first tried to cancel my home insurance and switch to tenant insurance (due to selling my home), I was told they couldn't cancel my home insurance until the day of sale. After 2 hours on hold, I was not impressed, but if that's their policy, fine. I then received my paperwork for the tenant insurance only to find that they essentially mixed up all the information on my home insurance vs tenant insurance. Fine. Now have been on hold another 1.5 hours in order to finally cancel. This service is unacceptable. Not to mention the 'deal' I was getting for being part of an affiliate institution costs more monthly than many other places for the same coverage. I recommend finding ANY other insurance company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

5 STAR TOP RATE SERVICE!!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by BarbaraB Aug 04, 2019
5-star service from start to finish! I’ve been a long-time TD Meloxeh Monnex customer for over 10 years. In July 2018, I had major flooding in my house due to a blockage in the main drain. Water was flooding my main floor and basement during the night. I called TD and was immediately reassured that I was covered and that help was in the way. Première Generàl Laval was quickly sent to clean up and demolish in my basement. They worked tirelessly and efficiently to clean up major damage quickly. My adjuster was excellent and went way above and beyond to make sure that I was well taken care of and comfortable. He was always calling me to let me know that he was sending claim payments. I never had to be concerned about receiving the payments, nor did I have to wait. I had to move out of my house for two weeks and he provided me with top-notch apartment accommodations. TD Meloche Monnex is a reliable and trustworthy company!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Terrible customer service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by melody smith Jul 30, 2019
I have tried for 2 days to get through on the phone to cancel my home insurance policy. When the timer gets to 45 min, the phone is disconnected. I have been very patient but very frustrated at the unacceptable length of time spent on the phone trying to speak with an agent.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The worst experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rm Jul 23, 2019
They lie to benefit themselves and try to force unwanted policies. I honestly wouldn’t recommend!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Years of life wasted on phone

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by RK1 Jul 20, 2019
You call to ask a simple question. You are told that they are experiencing longer than normal call volumes (there is no such thing as normal call volumes). You sit on hold for a minimum of one hour. Or two or three. The hold music slowly drives you to madness and despair. The quality of service, cost, everything else is irrelevant when you simply can not reach anyone ever. Use any other company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stay away from TD insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Daniel Jul 11, 2019
45 min wait times, 3 days and finally got through. Cancelled hone insurance due to high rates, terrible customer service and ambiguity in services and coverages. Through family, friends and customer reviews, found the better insurer and I know now I made the right choice to switch. TD insurance continued to withdraw payments from my account and I only found out after 3 months as I was away. They also neglected to put a refund into my account (timing credit for cancellation). Called again, on hold 35 minutes, bad service, rude manners, uncooperative, unprofessional. To give you an idea on the home insurance premium, it was $100 a month coverage with TD compared to $60 on the exact coverage from my new insurer. It’s worth to call around 2-3 companies and go with the one that is respectful and cooperative. Big chances are they will offer better premiums than TD and you will have an easier time dealing with them if you have a claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Terrible service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Neil Jul 05, 2019
Once again rates go up. Trying to get to speak to someone for last 3 days. On hold for over 1 hour before giving up
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cannot get ahold of them.

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Joy Jun 01, 2019
They say they are experiencing higher than normal call volumes every time I call. I would guess this is code for understaffed? The first call I waited 25 minutes on hold to speak to someone but had to hang up. I am now settled in for the long haul on my second call attempt. 1hour 24 minutes and counting. This in itself is enough to make me change companies, sure it’s a good price but if you can’t speak to them when you need to then what’s the point?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Phone calls

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by R. May 31, 2019
I have consistently called TD Insurance. Each time it has been 40 - 60 minutes waiting with the stupid hold music and promises to answer shorty. How long you should wait for couple questions. It is like they only have one person there answering all the calls. Are they still existing? What kind of service is that?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horribly long wait times.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Danny F May 25, 2019
I have consistently tried 3 or 4 times now to call TD Insurance to update my home policy as I purchased a new home. Each time it has been 30 - 40 mins waiting with that stupid hold music. I gave up each time! I don't have time to wait. It is like they only have one person there answering all the calls.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Overland Water basement flood

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brian Mar 19, 2019
Waited 4.5 hours on hold. In 30 seconds over the phone, they tried to deny my claim. I am not a contractor and do not have the expertise to provide technical construction answers. Nonetheless, they tried to deny. Called back, next person said it was definitely a claim. Adjuster to call in 24 hours. They called in 4 days. Again, denial attempts. Still, no one set foot on my property. 2 restoration companies through said definitely a legit claim. At no time was I ever offered overland water coverage. The insurance company is part of a near $100 Billion organization and they simply do NOT care. Avoid TD Meloche Monnex at all costs. You’ll regret it if you don’t.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

BRUTAL CUSTOMER SERVICE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sick of Holding Mar 01, 2019
Waited on the phone for over an hour trying to speak to someone when our furnace quit in a rental home we had insured and the house froze up. Unbelievable that any business cannot answer the phone within 5-10 minutes. Hire more people, or allow the insured to make a claim online that doesn't require filling out a long form and then sending it off to? Maybe get a call back in a week or 2? Go elsewhere this is unacceptable.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Absolutely terrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kenbeeyyc Feb 19, 2019
Just calling them to make a simple payment for my home insurance, something I do once a year since you can't make a one-time annual payment from their website. Seriously, what kind of a company doesn't allow you to pay bills from their website. Anyways, they advised me the wait time could be up to 15 minutes, and of course, they don't offer a call-back service. It is now up to 53 minutes, and my cellphone is almost dead. I can't wait for their representative to come online and ask me how my day is going. Maybe they'll waste a few more minutes asking me to rank their service today, meanwhile, hundreds of people are waiting on hold, while they pat themselves on the back. This used to be such an easy company to deal with, I can barely contain my disgust with what has become of them. I would highly recommend people look elsewhere before signing up with them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

House Insurance Claim rejected

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Feb 19, 2019
I bought the house 2 years ago in 2016. I am first time home buyer and don't know much about these insurances. I went on vacation for 3 weeks for when I came back and entered my house, it was all ice because of flood due to the water pipes burst in the house (second floor under washroom). I called insurance and told the complete story and they sent the appraiser the next day but didn't arrange any other accommodation for me. I had to pay all that expense from my pocket. In the end, they put it on me that it was my mistake that I didn't hand over keys to someone to take care of the house or I should have put surveillance cameras to check the house or I should have closed the water tab and drained all the water. I didn't know these things because this was the first time I was going on vacation. So finally I got a call this Friday that they declined my insurance claim, so now I am in debt of almost $15k to $20K.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Ignore your cancellation

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PeterL Jan 12, 2019
Thank you for reading my story. I would like to share my bad customer experience with TD house insurance. I bought TD insurance from Sept 2016 to 2017. In Sept 2017, I switched to Wawanesa because they offered me a better coverage. When I switched over, my Wawanesa broker put down my TD policy number on the application form, and Wawanesa sent TD a cancellation letter to end my insurance with TD. So legally, I have informed I ended my insurance policy with TD. However, in Nov, 2018, I received a call from an agent from DA Group Services saying that I need to pay a past due balance to TD insurance. Over the phone, I find it very uncomfortable because the agent asked me for my personal information before he began the conversation. Only telephone fraud would run the business in this frightening manner nowadays. After dealing with the collection agent, me and my brother gave TD Insurance a call spending more than an hour on the waiting line and finally got through. However, the agent spoke with an ignorant attitude because she never answered any of my questions. I asked if the Insurance policy is self-renewing, why TD do not inform their customers about it when they make the sale over the phone!? How can TD ignore my cancellation letter!? How can TD not give customers an email or a phone call when the customer is missing a payment!? etc...None of my questions has been answered. But she kept repeating that I had to pay. After spending 3 hours with the agent and her manager, they eventually asked me to send them the cancellation letter again, and they promised me to send me a letter confirming to cancel the charges. So I sent TD the cancellation letter, but I have no response at all. Now the Collection agent from DA Group Services keeps sending me an email on daily basis saying that I need to pay the overdue before the deadline of Jan 15, 2019. Giving me tremendous pressure! They didn't inform you what type of insurance they are selling initially, which is self-reocurring. They ignore your policy cancellation letter in order to keep taking money out of your pocket. Their customer service team never listens to you. How can TD run the business in this awful manner?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Does not cover water damage

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ASW Oct 18, 2018
Confirmed with their agent over the phone that even the most expensive package (platinum) does not cover water damage from flooding, and the only water damage they cover is from sewer backup. I was very surprised to hear this and will not be renewing my policy.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Worst ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Engineer Sep 11, 2018
I bought the car and home insurance as a "group insurance deal" that my PEO offered 18 years ago. During this time I never had a claim. A few months ago we had a water leak in our house that did some substantial damage to the walls and hardwood floor. After calling them many times and waiting for a long time finally (talked to 5 diff people) my claim was refused. These guys have terrible and inefficient customer service. Switch to another company, never ever do insurance with them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Overpriced

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by TD Factoid Jun 30, 2018
Had my Home and Auto Insurance up for renewal and I called TD to let them know I needed a competitive quote. They asked me several questions and then raised my rates. No Kidding! Turns out my unused line of credit on my free and clear home is a liability. I always thought I was paying too much with TD, so I went online to get some quotes. I am now saving $1330 by leaving the overpriced TD Meloche Monnex.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Rates just keep going up...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Don Jun 19, 2018
Never had a claim with Meloche Monnex...been with the company for 15 years... rates keep going up...the customer service representatives get ruder even the management laugh in your face while on the telephone...just an awful company...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Do Not Use

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Caveman May 18, 2018
I had a very bad experience with this company. Awful customer service. Called them May 6 to start a claim. They promised a callback within 1-5 days. Never called back. Called them May 10, they again promised a callback 100% within 1-5 days by adjuster. Never called back. Now again May 18 called them to complain. No one has called me. Meanwhile, my roof is getting more and more damaged with every rainfall. This company just takes your money but never follows through with any claims. Be aware, and use another insurance provider.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

No satisfaction, TD insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by No Satisfaction May 04, 2018
I got insurance for my home which was rented by someone plus an apartment which I rented from someone last year. (house +apartment). TD Meloche Monnex calculated $142/month for the two properties. Few months later, I called TD and asked them to cancel the apartment insurance because my landlord had already got insurance for it. So I was expecting my monthly payment to come down by $28(the apartment portion), but TD told me if you cancel that(the apartment insurance), your monthly payment will increase to $172/month! So I asked them to cancel both, I don't want to get insurance from you, then they answered: "We will charge you for early cancellation". So I paid insurance for the whole year for an apartment insurance which I didn't want. That's why I hate TD insurance. On top of that, the last old woman(from TD Meloche Monnex) who was talking to me about this matter had very poor customer service quality.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Can not trust them

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nothappy Mar 23, 2018
Inquired about a change in insurance and was told we had a business at home and they wouldn’t insure us. Given 2 days to get a new insurer. Never had a claim with them and never missed a payment. Unbelievable. Also, have auto insurance with them. Looking for insurance for both home and car. Brutal service - couldn’t understand the people we were talking to, English was terrible.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Charged after cancelling plan

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by aethoreau Mar 17, 2018
I bought this insurance as a "deal" that my university offered. But I found their customer service to be unresponsive whenever I had questions and their business practices very outdated (I had to, for example, mail them a personal cheque to pay for coverage). So when I moved, I decided to switch companies. I had paid out what was due, submitted a request to cancel my next year of insurance, and took out coverage with a new company. The new company, despite the lack of a university "discount," was much cheaper for the same coverage. And they allowed you to use a magical new contraption called a credit card to pay automatically on a monthly basis. TD then proceeded to send me letter after letter saying I owed them for two months of coverage at the property I no longer lived at. I told them I had cancelled and had not renewed. They told me they did not receive the cancellation and that it was their policy to assume people want to renew even if they hadn't sent a new cheque. After I ignored more letters, they eventually sent a vaguely threatening registered letter that I had to sign for. The amount I "owed" was about 40$, so I eventually paid so that they'd stop harassing me. But again, it was totally worthless coverage that I had cancelled to cover a property I didn't live at. As a petty act of retribution, after paying the 40$ I also closed my TD bank accounts. Both because they are associated with this insurance and because they must have been giving them my new address. I'll take my SEVERAL DOLLARS in savings elsewhere. In short, do not use this company. There are so many out there that do this way better, for cheaper.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst customer service ever.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by dave Feb 22, 2018
I had a flood in my Basement February 20th. I called and submitted a claim and was told an adjuster would reach out in 1 business day. Two days have passed and no call. Everytime i call they are surprised my adjuster hasnt called and promise he will reach out to me shortly, but no luck. The agent I spoke to yesterday said i was most likely covered and had been lumped under a catasprophe group. Today they informed me (i had to call again) that uless there is a burst pipe that none of their policies (i have platinum) cover a rainstorm coming in your home through walls, doors or windows. 54 hours to find out they wont even come look at it. In tje meantime the extent of tje damage is worse and is going to cost me more. I will not be renewing my home or auto policies next month when they renew.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Poor Service

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Wayne K. Jan 07, 2018
Recently I had need to insure my home and a second property. Called them twice and both times a promise to get right back to me. Crazy part is they were familiar with my property as they had insured it over the last many years with the exception of 2017. Plus I have vehicle insurance with them. That was early Dec. the first time and mid Dec. the second time. No response to date!!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very poor service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ANEU Dec 11, 2017
This is a warning for anyone who is presently using Meloche Mennox (TD Financial) for their house insurance. We requested that our insurance was cancelled over a year ago and they continued to debit our account. September of this year we realized the mistake and requested a refund. They did not comply. We just realized that for the past two months we have continued to be charged for their insurance. This company has not served us well and we are very disappointed. If you are using them for insurance and cancel it, make sure they don’t keep charging you!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

AVOID TD HOME INSURANCE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DonewithTD Dec 06, 2017
I just had my first claim experience after being with TD for 6 years with insurance coverage on two homes. Good luck speaking directly with the adjuster, contacting any management or getting a straight response. Since November 20th when a flood occurred in my house after a rain storm I have received no clear answers until now as to whether I was to receive coverage. Each time I prodded for a response over email, TD would pull out a new exclusion and indicate that this was likely going to be used to deny coverage. Ultimately I've now been denied coverage and will need to take it up with legal. Go anywhere else but here! As noted in my final email to the adjuster, it isn't so much the rejection of my claim that bother me. Rather, it is the immense waste of my time trying to communicate with the adjuster and the nonsensical responses received.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?