Independent Home Insurance Reviews

Meloche Monnex (TD Insurance) Home Insurance Reviews

(125 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
54,568
consumers
(1.9 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

TD is bad faith insurance

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed Dec 12, 2019
We, unfortunately, had our home broken into. An unprofessional adjuster who doesn’t understand anything. They sent a letter with another client's name on it refusing the claim to SIU. The SIU investigator is a far retired cop that should of staid retired. Now lawyers are dealing with TD. Stay away
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Assured claim later denied

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Assurance given, claim denied. Oct 19, 2019
We had a premium insurance package with TD that was represented to us as full coverage. We had endorsement packages added to cover any gaps - it was sold to us as peace of mind, worry-free insurance. We had a water supply issue with our home, which was a leak on our side of the demarcation point with the city. It looked like we would have to have the entire water supply line replaced and inspected. This involved tearing up our concrete driveway and walkway. After the tear up and line repair, there would be a waiting period of several months before the driveway could be repaired. We got quotes on the work and contacted TD who said they would cover the tear-out, and the repairs to the driveway, but not the plumbing. The TD representative said we would have no trouble reopening the claim at a later date to have the driveway repairs covered. At the time of the tear-out, we convinced the contractor to just do the tear-out at the curb stop valve, because we thought the leak might be there and this would greatly reduce the scope of the work. The leak was there and the full waterline did not need to be replaced, so only a small portion of our driveway was impacted. This reduced both the tear-out cost and the future driveway repair costs. The cost for both portions of the work was now about half of the original estimate. The driveway repair was scheduled at the end of the season, but the final scheduling was done quickly to accommodate the contractors' year-end commitments. We contacted TD insurance, but the preparation work was being done as we were reopening the claim. In view of this, we compromised on the repair to control the costs for the insurance company. To minimize costs, we repaired a smaller portion of the driveway than we would have done if paying ourselves, although this would result in a colour matching issue. We tried to reopen our claim but the representative who had done the initial work had left the company. We exchanged emails with the new representative, but he didn't understand the history of the claim or the technical aspects of the nature of the work. They didn't seem to have notes in our file about what had been agreed to and placed the onus on us to provide supporting emails. We provided what we had, but much of the agreement with the original representative was over the phone. The new representative said our claim was now denied, even though the final cost was about half of the original estimate. His emails had false assumptions that supported not paying the claim. When we responded to correct these errors, he would send back another email with more excuses about why they would not honour their original agreement. He denied that the prior representative had assured coverage of the work, despite the fact he had done this on multiple occasions. We tried to contact the new representative by phone to engage in a richer dialogue than had been afforded through emails, but he wouldn't take our calls. His voicemail message indicated he would return our call that business day, but this did not happen. We finally gave up and paid for the repairs ourselves to avoid further stress and loss of sleep. We believe they broke the law by making an assurance to us that affected our course of action and position, potentially impacting our property value, only to later deny the claim. They also misrepresented their policy, since we obviously didn't have worry-free coverage. They do have recourse for denied claims, but this multi-tiered process seems principally designed to frustrate the customer to the point of capitulation. We would not be upset with TD Insurance if they had been honest with us from the outset of our claim so that we could have had the work done the way we wanted. They basically lied to us on multiple occasions and provided markedly inferior customer service. We will be engaging another provider for all of our future insurance needs. We were customers for 20 years but didn't have a lot of experience with how TD handles claims. After witnessing this aspect of their service, we strongly recommend not choosing TD Insurance as your provider.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DEAT2017 Oct 17, 2019
Good Day, My wife and I have been with TD insurance since 2006 and we are thinking its time to switch to another company. I got a service dog in 2014 and every year we have made sure that the service dog was included if something were to happen, well sure as heck I had to put him down as he had a cancer tumour and now I need to get another service dog. My wife ensured that he was covered for $80K for these circumstances and now TD isn't coming through. Pretty sad when you have to get a lawyer involved to take them to court to get the claim we have been paying for since 2014. We paid the premium for this coverage on top of our home and auto policies and never again will we deal with these heartless people A service dog is not what I want, it is an essential part of my survival daily!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Terrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chelsea Oct 01, 2019
This is the worst company ever, doesn't deserve even one star. Long wait times up to an hour or more. No one knows answers to questions. Overpriced over $900 more a year compared to other insurer quotes. Been trying to cancel my policies with them and keep getting the run around that they can't do anything as the system not working and no explanation as to why just to try again later!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Waiting...

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Teach Sep 11, 2019
I have not been able to get through to customer service for a simple insurance addition. I have been on hold for 30min, 40 min and 53 min. I tried the callback system but they just put you in a different queue so you still have to wait. Never experienced anything like this before. I may have to move all my policies to a different insurer as I need this particular policy to get a mortgage.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Never pick the phone call

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by FAntasy Sep 09, 2019
I'm currently moving out my old place and want to switch and cancel the old policy, last Friday I called them and waited for 2 hours on phone and got no answered, today I tried again and waited for 1.5 hours and you know what? Nobody picks the phone call again!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible wait times

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by bstreet Sep 06, 2019
I have been with TD insurance for over 20 years and I am now considering dropping them due to unreasonable wait times. It seems to be getting worse every year. Every year my premiums go up and customer service goes down.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Ridiculous wait times

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lana S Sep 05, 2019
For the past week, I've been trying to get a hold of an agent to update the status of my home roof. Meloche and Monnex limited insurance coverage on the roof because I couldn't provide them with an exact date they were last replaced (new-to-me home). The wait times are beyond ridiculous. For three days I've been on hold for minimum 2 hours before giving up. Yesterday I got lucky after an hour and a half... and then the guy I spoke with said he needed to find an agent licensed in my province... and then before I could respond I was back on hold for another hour before giving up. That said, when I do speak to someone they are fantastic. I'm pretty happy with the value for money, but I've never had to make a claim before. Please fix this Meloche and Monnex. I've been a loyal customer for 15 years and only recently has this become an issue. I'm starting to look around for a new provider.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

picked up after 4:10

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by daddah Aug 30, 2019
It is unprofessional, but this takes it to a whole new level. Called around 1:40pm...around 6 pm someone picked up claiming to be from "switch service" (and claimed they've been having problems with their phone equipment) and directed me to the wrong place. It was just their way of getting rid of people. How else can you cancel? Am I doomed to have this insurance for life? Maybe get the bank to stop payments?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Horrible service, rip off!

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Ryan Aug 30, 2019
You can't get a hold of anyone, multiple times I've called and it's always 1-2 hour wait! I just always give up and hang up, it's a joke, absolutely no excuse for those wait times. And when I've finally got a hold of someone they always say "Oh we're just having higher than normal call volumes", it's not their fault it's upper management being greedy and forcing them to always use that excuse. There one chat is always offline. Also, I had no claims and just got my house and car renewals, both jumped around 25%, what rip off! TAKE YOUR BUSINESS ELSEWHERE, DON'T USE TD Meloche Monnex Insurance!!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

ON HOLD 2 HOURS AND MORE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dismayed policyholder Aug 29, 2019
I’ve attempted to call their multiple 188, 1800 and even their 416, I’ve been on hold for more than 2 hours. Forget this one - avoid it at all cost. Waste of your money and most of all, your precious time!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

On hold for 4+ hours!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy Aug 25, 2019
Literally on hold for 4+ hours (I have screenshots to prove it) - then was promptly hung upon. When I phoned back I was sent to the wrong department and was transferred waiting for another hour+. Cannot get any questions answered or get service - you can only phone in. Ridiculous.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible customer service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by joe Aug 12, 2019
I've been a customer for many years, and until recently, service has been pretty good for the value. In the last year, I sold a house, then purchased a house, should be a simple process to make changes to the policy. In the 3 calls, I've made, the wait times to reach someone to make this simple change averaged 1.5 hours!!!! Who has wait times of 1.5 hours to wait for an agent? I will be cancelling and searching for a new insurance company as soon as I can get through to an agent to cancel! Plus, I didn't like their 20% increase this year. Terrible way to cheap out TD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Wait times are ridiculous

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dave Aug 10, 2019
I cannot reach anyone after many attempts. They do not value their customers at all. This is the worst service I have had. I will look for another company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

4 hours wait!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TD Customer Aug 07, 2019
I have been waiting 4 hours to talk to someone I get through at over 4 hours and they transferred me right away to someone “who can do that”. It is literally editing a name on my document they sent so I can close my house sale! This is the worst experience I have ever had! I will be switching companies! So mad!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Still on hold..

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ASal Aug 07, 2019
I currently have home and car insurance with TD Meloche Monnex. When I first tried to cancel my home insurance and switch to tenant insurance (due to selling my home), I was told they couldn't cancel my home insurance until the day of sale. After 2 hours on hold, I was not impressed, but if that's their policy, fine. I then received my paperwork for the tenant insurance only to find that they essentially mixed up all the information on my home insurance vs tenant insurance. Fine. Now have been on hold another 1.5 hours in order to finally cancel. This service is unacceptable. Not to mention the 'deal' I was getting for being part of an affiliate institution costs more monthly than many other places for the same coverage. I recommend finding ANY other insurance company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

5 STAR TOP RATE SERVICE!!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by BarbaraB Aug 04, 2019
5-star service from start to finish! I’ve been a long-time TD Meloxeh Monnex customer for over 10 years. In July 2018, I had major flooding in my house due to a blockage in the main drain. Water was flooding my main floor and basement during the night. I called TD and was immediately reassured that I was covered and that help was in the way. Première Generàl Laval was quickly sent to clean up and demolish in my basement. They worked tirelessly and efficiently to clean up major damage quickly. My adjuster was excellent and went way above and beyond to make sure that I was well taken care of and comfortable. He was always calling me to let me know that he was sending claim payments. I never had to be concerned about receiving the payments, nor did I have to wait. I had to move out of my house for two weeks and he provided me with top-notch apartment accommodations. TD Meloche Monnex is a reliable and trustworthy company!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Terrible customer service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by melody smith Jul 30, 2019
I have tried for 2 days to get through on the phone to cancel my home insurance policy. When the timer gets to 45 min, the phone is disconnected. I have been very patient but very frustrated at the unacceptable length of time spent on the phone trying to speak with an agent.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The worst experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rm Jul 23, 2019
They lie to benefit themselves and try to force unwanted policies. I honestly wouldn’t recommend!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Years of life wasted on phone

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by RK1 Jul 20, 2019
You call to ask a simple question. You are told that they are experiencing longer than normal call volumes (there is no such thing as normal call volumes). You sit on hold for a minimum of one hour. Or two or three. The hold music slowly drives you to madness and despair. The quality of service, cost, everything else is irrelevant when you simply can not reach anyone ever. Use any other company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stay away from TD insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Daniel Jul 11, 2019
45 min wait times, 3 days and finally got through. Cancelled hone insurance due to high rates, terrible customer service and ambiguity in services and coverages. Through family, friends and customer reviews, found the better insurer and I know now I made the right choice to switch. TD insurance continued to withdraw payments from my account and I only found out after 3 months as I was away. They also neglected to put a refund into my account (timing credit for cancellation). Called again, on hold 35 minutes, bad service, rude manners, uncooperative, unprofessional. To give you an idea on the home insurance premium, it was $100 a month coverage with TD compared to $60 on the exact coverage from my new insurer. It’s worth to call around 2-3 companies and go with the one that is respectful and cooperative. Big chances are they will offer better premiums than TD and you will have an easier time dealing with them if you have a claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Terrible service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Neil Jul 05, 2019
Once again rates go up. Trying to get to speak to someone for last 3 days. On hold for over 1 hour before giving up
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cannot get ahold of them.

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Joy Jun 01, 2019
They say they are experiencing higher than normal call volumes every time I call. I would guess this is code for understaffed? The first call I waited 25 minutes on hold to speak to someone but had to hang up. I am now settled in for the long haul on my second call attempt. 1hour 24 minutes and counting. This in itself is enough to make me change companies, sure it’s a good price but if you can’t speak to them when you need to then what’s the point?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Phone calls

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by R. May 31, 2019
I have consistently called TD Insurance. Each time it has been 40 - 60 minutes waiting with the stupid hold music and promises to answer shorty. How long you should wait for couple questions. It is like they only have one person there answering all the calls. Are they still existing? What kind of service is that?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horribly long wait times.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Danny F May 25, 2019
I have consistently tried 3 or 4 times now to call TD Insurance to update my home policy as I purchased a new home. Each time it has been 30 - 40 mins waiting with that stupid hold music. I gave up each time! I don't have time to wait. It is like they only have one person there answering all the calls.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Overland Water basement flood

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brian Mar 19, 2019
Waited 4.5 hours on hold. In 30 seconds over the phone, they tried to deny my claim. I am not a contractor and do not have the expertise to provide technical construction answers. Nonetheless, they tried to deny. Called back, next person said it was definitely a claim. Adjuster to call in 24 hours. They called in 4 days. Again, denial attempts. Still, no one set foot on my property. 2 restoration companies through said definitely a legit claim. At no time was I ever offered overland water coverage. The insurance company is part of a near $100 Billion organization and they simply do NOT care. Avoid TD Meloche Monnex at all costs. You’ll regret it if you don’t.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

BRUTAL CUSTOMER SERVICE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sick of Holding Mar 01, 2019
Waited on the phone for over an hour trying to speak to someone when our furnace quit in a rental home we had insured and the house froze up. Unbelievable that any business cannot answer the phone within 5-10 minutes. Hire more people, or allow the insured to make a claim online that doesn't require filling out a long form and then sending it off to? Maybe get a call back in a week or 2? Go elsewhere this is unacceptable.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Absolutely terrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kenbeeyyc Feb 19, 2019
Just calling them to make a simple payment for my home insurance, something I do once a year since you can't make a one-time annual payment from their website. Seriously, what kind of a company doesn't allow you to pay bills from their website. Anyways, they advised me the wait time could be up to 15 minutes, and of course, they don't offer a call-back service. It is now up to 53 minutes, and my cellphone is almost dead. I can't wait for their representative to come online and ask me how my day is going. Maybe they'll waste a few more minutes asking me to rank their service today, meanwhile, hundreds of people are waiting on hold, while they pat themselves on the back. This used to be such an easy company to deal with, I can barely contain my disgust with what has become of them. I would highly recommend people look elsewhere before signing up with them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

House Insurance Claim rejected

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Feb 19, 2019
I bought the house 2 years ago in 2016. I am first time home buyer and don't know much about these insurances. I went on vacation for 3 weeks for when I came back and entered my house, it was all ice because of flood due to the water pipes burst in the house (second floor under washroom). I called insurance and told the complete story and they sent the appraiser the next day but didn't arrange any other accommodation for me. I had to pay all that expense from my pocket. In the end, they put it on me that it was my mistake that I didn't hand over keys to someone to take care of the house or I should have put surveillance cameras to check the house or I should have closed the water tab and drained all the water. I didn't know these things because this was the first time I was going on vacation. So finally I got a call this Friday that they declined my insurance claim, so now I am in debt of almost $15k to $20K.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Ignore your cancellation

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PeterL Jan 12, 2019
Thank you for reading my story. I would like to share my bad customer experience with TD house insurance. I bought TD insurance from Sept 2016 to 2017. In Sept 2017, I switched to Wawanesa because they offered me a better coverage. When I switched over, my Wawanesa broker put down my TD policy number on the application form, and Wawanesa sent TD a cancellation letter to end my insurance with TD. So legally, I have informed I ended my insurance policy with TD. However, in Nov, 2018, I received a call from an agent from DA Group Services saying that I need to pay a past due balance to TD insurance. Over the phone, I find it very uncomfortable because the agent asked me for my personal information before he began the conversation. Only telephone fraud would run the business in this frightening manner nowadays. After dealing with the collection agent, me and my brother gave TD Insurance a call spending more than an hour on the waiting line and finally got through. However, the agent spoke with an ignorant attitude because she never answered any of my questions. I asked if the Insurance policy is self-renewing, why TD do not inform their customers about it when they make the sale over the phone!? How can TD ignore my cancellation letter!? How can TD not give customers an email or a phone call when the customer is missing a payment!? etc...None of my questions has been answered. But she kept repeating that I had to pay. After spending 3 hours with the agent and her manager, they eventually asked me to send them the cancellation letter again, and they promised me to send me a letter confirming to cancel the charges. So I sent TD the cancellation letter, but I have no response at all. Now the Collection agent from DA Group Services keeps sending me an email on daily basis saying that I need to pay the overdue before the deadline of Jan 15, 2019. Giving me tremendous pressure! They didn't inform you what type of insurance they are selling initially, which is self-reocurring. They ignore your policy cancellation letter in order to keep taking money out of your pocket. Their customer service team never listens to you. How can TD run the business in this awful manner?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?