Home Insurance Reviews

State Farm Home Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(40 reviews)
State Farm
3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Dodgy State Farm

by willspace3@gmail.com on Oct 22, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

State Farm is not "like a good neighbor...". It denied my claim for very extensive water damage caused by a shut-off ball valve leak. SF claimed the valve was old, failed because it probably was turned on and off too much and that it probably was installed incorrectly. All of these assumptions are inaccurate. Also, SF denied the claim because, according to their agents, in the fine print of its policy, it states SF does not cover most plumbing failure damages unless caused by freezing. It would cover, however, damage from a leaking old water heater, which is a case of inconsistent logic. Certainly many houses have plumbing that fails and causes damage, and obviously, owners buy insurance to cover such losses. Yet, when expected by trusting, naive clients -- this is not covered by SF. The agents refused the claim based on an analysis of the valve that SF had done by another company it hired. This was not exactly an independent analysis since State Farm hired and paid the company. And, not surprisingly, it received a report that benefited SF. The heavy duty brass ball shutoff valve in question was installed in the insulated attic of a house where it was protected from disturbances. The valve probably had never been turned off and on since installation about 10-13 years ago. It was not a particularly old valve; ball valves are very reliable and last a long time. It was installed correctly and did not leak at all. The leak probably began during the freezing cold winter when the valve froze enough to cause the valve seam to separate. Close examination of the valve reveals an uneven separation of part of the valve seal in the main body of the valve, below the handle system, that was probably caused by freezing water. The resulting very slow, drop by drop leak was not evident until a small portion of the ceiling drywall below the leak finally separated. By then, water had spread into walls. Nonetheless, State Farm did not seem to consider the uneven split valve seal seam at all and conveniently ignored this evidence to deny the claim. Bottom line, do not buy State Farm house insurance if you expect to be covered for common plumbing leak damages. There is clearly no point in buying expensive insurance if the insurer denies claims based on a policy that fine print excludes coverage of issues that consumers reasonably expect are covered. I plan to cancel my State Farm policies in the near future. I only wish I had done more research on the company and seen the numerous, well-deserved, one-star reviews. If I had, I never would have given them my money.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

They are outrageous!

by Awful on Oct 6, 2018
1.5 out of 5 stars

We are 2 disabled seniors who rented a home from their insured. The house had a defective roof, mold & rodents. It is now 4 years since my husband was rushed to the hospital due to mold exposure. We paid out of pocket for temporary housing and mold testing. We cooperated with their adjusters to remediate the problem. We used our retirement account to pay for all this. They used our mold tests, stored the mold & rat infested furnishings that took their pack of attorneys (at least 5 at a time...they run in a posse), their salvage co(9), but no $ for a claim. They give you reckless rhetoric why you should not get paid. They should not be responsible for medications because you are out of the environment. So what you inhaled toxic molds! Clean your rodent stained furniture and retire. We tried. They like you on your knees begging them for a few dollars. How do they sleep at night? We lost everything we owned...not one dime from them. 4 years later...We lost our income from our retirement fund. They wrote us (only because we filed a complaint with the Dept of Ins) that there are significant differences.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Search Elsewhere for coverage

by Doctor on Sep 6, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

They changed underwriters and everything I had covered was no longer covered...and they increased the rate. When I contacted them to cancel, they told me there would be financial penalties. If they had changed underwriters and the coverage had remained the same, it would not have been horrible. It was deplorable behaviour from a company I had been a loyal customer to for 20 years. I strongly advise people to search elsewhere for coverage.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.

House Fire

by QM on Oct 20, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

Delay upon Delay upon Delay, no speaking, no follow-through, no explanation of the process. Anything verbally said is just that all talk promises, roses & sunshine, on paper if there is a response, the "talk" never existed, or maybe they were talking to someone else. Our House is collapsing, now NOTHING was done, their "preferred" contractors do as State Farm says, so they won't lose their business. HORRENDOUS, been with State Farm for over 30 years, we lost everything... Their compliance officer passes the buck, to someone who sends form letters that state it is their final position if you don't agree to go through the FSCO process... We have not received ANY specific position, only doublespeak. Their staff are people with no real-life experience, they take the same training course on what to say to clients, they have no moral consciousness, How do they sleep at night, we certainly aren't sleeping. House is collapsing as I write this, no mitigation by contractor nor State Farm, not for the lack of pleading to mitigate any more damage, there is a huge hole in roof, house has been flooded, by fire suppression efforts, rain snow, wind, damage, "preferred" engineer previously worked for State Farm, never told us, the engineer couldn't get into basement to report as it was flooded for several months so much flooding the water was gushing up into the first floor, they say that is not a direct result of the fire... WOW it's coming up to a year, and they are still delaying and playing games, out of pocket expenses are behind 4 months, "the cheque is in the mail" yeah right.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't trust StateFarm

by AngryCustomer on Sep 23, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

Terrible customer service! They tried to raise our premium saying that we called in to make a claim when we never filed one (only called to enquire about claim process), on top of that we were never reimbursed for any claim whatsoever, so no idea how they could even come up with that statement! Disgusting company, deceiving policies, and awful customer service. Please don't give these scammers your business.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Dissatisfied.

by Vilma on Aug 2, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

I'd give no star if there's an option for that. They don't care about their customers. They're only good at taking money from your pocket, if there's a problem, they don't deal with it right away. It's been 2 months now, & they aren't making any moves yet... we kept calling them but they kept passing us into another agent. & some agents are rude & don't have any patience, slow & worst service ever! & they actually don't know what they're doing... our neighbours' gazebo lifted off & then it hit our window... they're supposed to speak for us 'cause we are paying them... all they said was "neighbours don't want to pay"... It's their responsibility to speak for us 'cause we are their clients.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.

57 mins to file a claim stress

by Disappointed on Jul 24, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

Very stressful interrogation. Asked over and over to give a statement. In order to make a claim, I had to give them consent to collect and share my personal info...to relevant people and including to offer us general services and product. Basement flooded, very stressful and they are using the call as a marketing tool. We have been with state Farm for over 30 years for all insurance. After today, I am shopping around. They can let me know in 1 business day...Thank God this didn't happen on Friday if we are covered. State Farm ...like a bad neighbour

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

STATE FARM ARE CRIMINALS

by Used and Abused by State Farm on May 9, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

Thanks State Farm for taking my money my 20 years and turning your back the one time i needed you!
I've been a client of State Farm for all of my insurance needs for 19 years. Life, auto, home insurance, never made a claim until recently. My sump pump stopped working over night and flooded my basement. We called in the morning and they sent someone right away. We signed the paperwork to get the basement dried out and our ruined items sorted and organized to properly file the claim. It was a wonderful experience....EXCEPT 5 days after the flood State Farm called us and said we had no coverage. A sump pump needs a special plan for coverage. Interesting that my insurance agent never asked any questions about us having a sump pump when we got our insurance so I had no coverage. I was also stuck with the bill for thousands of dollars to the emergency clean up company. Only after 4 weeks and many many calls later did I get them to pay the emergency bill for the people they sent to my house. But I am now responsible to replace the thousands of dollars of my personal belongings the were destroyed in the flood. Thanks for nothing criminals!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible company

by Horribleinsurance on Jan 4, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

Customer service sucks. They don't explain anything to you. I called to cancel and not once did anyone mention how much money I apparently owed. There rude people who talk to you like your dumb Go with td insurance. Much better

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.

Worst Insurance Company!

by Joshua on Jan 27, 2016
1 out of 5 stars

Jan 2015 my home had a water line break in our main floor bathroom toilet which flooded the partial main floor and leaked down the ceiling of the basement and walls and floor etc you can imagine and we had just finished a two year project of updating the main floor and basement. We called our State Farm insurance broker George R. and he called in the claim to State Farm and then the service master people came and removed the water, contents and did a remediation. We had to call State Farm back several times to have them send a adjuster to estimate the damage. We tried to communicate with the adjuster many times by phone and email but had no reply and then we waited approx 2-3 months before we heard from our adjuster and when we heard back she told us to go and find a contractor and submit some quotes to State Farm and they would review them. I must admit I was expecting State Farm to take care of the claim and not put these responsibilities on me since this was out of my ability but State Farm was adiment that they would do nothing to assist with contractors but would only see if the quotes were cheap enough to proceed eventually we found a contractor and this pissed service master off because they were expecting the work to be given to them. The work started in may due to these delays and the amount of work put on us to find a contractor and pick out replacement parts we had to do everything to get things started. The original estimate from State Farm came in around $20,000.00 which I knew was not correct so each time we moved into the project I had to spend several hours going over the quote from State Farm to make sure the amounts covered the cost, this went on until the job was completed, I was responsible for overseeing the entire project from start to finish as well as begging State Farm for money to pay the contractors I even tried to get help from our insurance broker George R. and he was of no help at all. Another problem we had was that the mortgage company held back 10% of every cheque that was sent to me and I had to carry the cost on my own. We submitted a bill to State Farm for my time and my families time for the past year and they did not care that we had done all this work as a general contractor to oversee, scrutinize, source out contractors for various parts of the work to be done, communicate with State Farm which they were very slow to respond, book and arrange the work schedules and to recheck and make sure the work was done with the money allowed. The total cost in the end has come to around 75,000.00 plus other cost for other items and personal effects and now we are being told our time and management was worthless by our claims people Brendon S. and his manager Allison. Please keep in mind with State Farm you must be ready to do all of this work and oversee every detail rite to the end and then wait and hope you did not miss anything because it is all on your shoulders right to the end. Reviews of this type do not contain the arrogance and ongoing abuse that was put on me and my family and expressed to me during many calls for help as a consumer and policy holder I hope this will help you be careful when looking towards State Farm for coverage and help. As the cost to you will be in the tens of thousands of dollars out of your pocket for time and money while trying to keep your own job and manage the rest. State Farm is a horrible insurance company to deal with and will not recommend them or work with them in the future.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo