Home Insurance Reviews

Square One Insurance Home Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(81 reviews)
Square One Insurance
3.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Stolen Bike Claim

by Austin Porter on Aug 17, 2021
1.7 out of 5 stars

The short of it. The bike was stolen and a claim was made through house insurance. The adjuster called and gave details on the steps required. Needed to provide quotes to them for a bicycle of the same kind and quality, there were no bikes in the city to purchase in August due to COVID. Received a quote for the same bike model, from two stores, both could not get the bike in as it was sold out internationally. I believed this was a fair thing to do on my end, as the value of the quote would not be inflated. After receiving the quote the adjuster would not negotiate their offer of either a cash settlement with a 30% depreciation placed on the bike. The replacement option was contingent on replacement within 180 days, I tried to communicate that I may not be able to acquire a bike within 180 days as globally there is a shortage. The adjuster would not increase this date window, allowing me to acquire a bike in the near future. I am currently waiting to be contacted by his manager.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Great customer service

by Rob G on Jun 10, 2021
5 out of 5 stars

The agent Lawrence W made the process easy and understandable. He was very knowledgeable and made sure we got what we needed. The first experience with Square One and I’m impressed!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Kayla. Thank you!

by Mayrenis on May 7, 2021
5 out of 5 stars

All my questions were answered, she was very helpful and super nice. First time I need insurance and it went very well. Thank you. I do recommend Square One Insurance.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.

Privacy concerns

by manvet on Oct 15, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

Hi There, I wanted to reach you in regards to Square One Insurance. About a month ago I had something strange happen to me that never in my life thought an insurance company would do. My wife and I received an email from Square One with my policy number and account information to my gmail account, they notified my wife that her payment did not go through and that they would take the payment again on September 4th. We had no idea that the payment did not go through as we do not use email to discuss insurance matters, I have auto insurance with another provider and if a payment did not go through they would call and either leave a message or speak to someone. The issue I have with Square One is that they are sending an email about my insurance policy via unsecured email, which I never requested. After Square One sent this message to me instead of calling or leaving a message the very next day they tried to take payment again and then they sent me another email saying to me personally that your policy will be cancelled by September 4th for failed payment, and within this 2- week period they also sent my entire policy and personal information about my property through my annual renewal not once but twice to my wife and me to the same unsecured gmail account. So I decided to call them to better understand why they would send my information about my policy number and payment information via public email. The response I received from the billing support team is: "It is an internal policy and our system automatically sends out emails to notify customers". So, then I asked them about what the email stated that the payment failed and that they were going to take payment again September 4th, he told me that the message is just an automated message and we do not follow that information because we have our own internal policy. Finally, I spoke to them about the emails that they have been sending me on the renewal email and the fact that I did not sign up for auto-renew, he told me that their internal systems automatically renew and that they can only take it off manually and they would need to send another unsecured email with this confirmation. So then I asked him what happens if we do not respond to the renewal and let it go or pay for the renewal by the anniversary date. He then said that they would cancel the policy and then negatively impact my credit rating for nonpayment. Here is the list of concerns I have. The one that really angers me is the fact that Square One is creating their own internal policies on when they collect money and total disregard to their customer and then telling me that the information in the email is false because they do not follow it as a policy. So you are basically telling me that Square One is a gangster that threatens their customers by sending automated messages about their policy through unsecured email and we don't care because internally we decided that this is what we want to do. My next point around Privacy and Security of my personal information at no point did your team try to help me understand how they were going to address my issue with it, instead, they used their gangster policies that they created internally to tell me that it is their internal systems and basically telling me to myself. After I emailed the help team that we have moved our policy and to remove us from your email system and all files, I asked them not to contact us via email and we did not want any courteous call. Again the team lead in their customer service ignored the email that I sent her to stop all communication via email. Again they sent two more emails with my policy number telling me that my policy will be cancelled as per my request, and then they called us again and I told them we are not renewing our policy please do not call or email us again we have paid our invoice on September 4th as the emails have stated any future communications to be sent via registered mail like every insurance company in Canada does. The public needs to know and I am on Social media to warn other Canadians about choosing the right insurance company and demand that they explain how their customer privacy is being handled. I am posting online about how online companies like Square One are high risk to deal with as they do not handle your personal information with care or have respect for your privacy. I demanded a response from Square One on how they are going to correct this problem and the response I received from Ombudsmen from the Mutual Fire insurance the parent company of Square One was - "We take privacy very seriously", which is not the case and given the fact that I filed the complaint on September 6th, she responded a month later blowing me off on October 9th goes to show you that Insurance companies like this are really not serious about you as a customer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Rates at renewal

by Vladimir on May 12, 2020
3 out of 5 stars

I bought an insurance policy with them for one year due to the allure of buying only what I need for coverage. After one year passing by, my rate skyrocketed by 2-3x the original price. No claim history on my policy. Square One’s tactic is to get new customers in with cheap monthly pricing. When it’s renewal time, they hike up the price... with the price being way more expensive. I do not buy insurance from them anymore.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Insurance with a soul...

by EB on May 2, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

In this time of financial hardship for many during the global COVID-19 pandemic, isn't it nice to see so many company's showing genuine support and solidarity? Now I know it is often remarked that insurance companies have no moral compass, and Square One is no different. Changing my account from manageable monthly payments to suddenly taking my whole year's payment upfront. Thanks for helping screw up people's personal cashflow during this difficult time...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.

High Permiums/Low Value

by Josh on Apr 21, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I never had any claims but each year my premium goes up 10-15%. Don't get fooled by easy setup and an initially lower price! Add horror stories from their claim center and their own fake reviews on Google and you get the picture of the value you'd be getting.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Quick application process

by Leung on Apr 18, 2020
5 out of 5 stars

Very streamlined quotes and easy to startup. My old policy was 2500 which crept up even though I didn't have any claims, and this one one is 900.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Unethical

by Tempest on Nov 21, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

After giving all of my personal information, including that we sell eggs to friends and family, we were told that we aren't eligible for insurance at all because we have "commercial farm activity". I asked to have the information I submitted removed from their database and they refused. Waste of time. Don't give them your info!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.

You get what you pay for...

by Madashell on Oct 31, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Blacklisted and permanently denied insurance with them because we had too many questions. Beware of too many questions. Their agents are extremely rude and we are permanently flagged for asking too many questions. We were literally told they can not insure us because we called more than 3 times to ask questions. I would love to see in an emergency what they would do if we asked too many questions, NOT. No point in having cheap insurance if you have no peace of mind.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics