Home Insurance Reviews

State Farm Home Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(40 reviews)
State Farm
3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Homeless for almost 3 years

by peteganong@outlook.com on Mar 17, 2015
1 out of 5 stars

This is way too involved for 1000 words.
I will try to state facts. Paraphrase.
March 2003 .Had a full, 7 year old , 200 gallon oil barrel rupture outside my stone basement walls and pour into my clay basement.
Called SF and they brought in an environmental engineering company to remediate
Started digging before I left for my federal government job in the arctic.
When I returned home after my 4 month tour I was devastated to find that the house still smelled and that they had free poured cement into the basement to cover over the oil to "lessen the likelihood to human exposure".
This cement was poured with an 8 inch difference in grade from one corner to the opposite far corner of the basement. With thicknesses between .02m to .3m and hollow spots. The water heater was cemented around!!! With no drain tiles, drainage or headroom .
Got a lawyer, got a settlement for damages devaluing my house with a a clause that if the sight, smell etc of oil reappeared within 6 years,they would be responsible to address it.
2006, 3 years later while I was out west working the smell got so bad the wife had to go to her mothers. Had a young friend , who needed a place to stay, there to protect belongings and keep an eye on the dog tethered outside. He had to spray the basement daily with a hose to send the oil to the pump so that it seemed bearable..
called SF and they sent the very same people that covered over the "1st" 200 gallon spill to investigate. They say they cleaned everything up the 1st time.
There was black weathered oil in the basement and sump but that was ignored. It was said To be a completely new spill that may or may not have happened when a frozen pipe burst, or a release from my mismanagement ,or something released an unknown amount of oil. A new spill, a new claim.
I new better. I argued that they were responsible by agreement to clean up the oil that had resurfaced during the spring rainy season from under the free poured cement basement.
They would not consider it and I had to move to our family hunting cabin in the woods with no running water or electricity.
Even after I relented and opened a new claim they provided no support.
I tell the bank I would not pay for a house I could not live in. (they never foreclosed even after 888 days of non payment, why would they, the house was useless to them too).
They, SF, hire a different environmental engineering company to remediate the "2nd" spill . I would not allow the 1st crew on my property.
Long story short. They had to tare down my house and garage to get at the "weathered oil" left behind from the 1st 200 gallon spill that was covered over with cement in my absence back in 2003.
This is 2009 and they dig down something like 6m all over the double lot property to get at the old oil.
meanwhile I am in the woods in a 24x24 shell of a cabin with no support.
I finally get paid for the house and some additional living expenses.
It has been proven the house was uninhabitable back in 2006.
They should not have done that to my wife and I so I personally start legal action on them. On going to this day March 17th 2015.
I have caught there representatives lying under oath at discovery, have there log notes proving they new of the cover up, etc etc.

All of the costs for the house, garage, mortgage, additional expenses etc was covered from the 1st claim. They said they reopened the first claim to ensure I had enough coverage, kindness of there heart sort of thing.
So the "1st" spill of 200 gallons cost $38,000 and as far as the "2nd" a drip in the line, it was over $300,000 as far as I can tell because they will not release the actual numbers to me although they say I hired these people.
The suit goes on. It could happen to you.
The agent that sold me the policy did not even know what the $10000 land allowance was for or represented on that same policy he sold me. He denied knowing I was homeless yet I have many emails directly to him stating so.
The adjuster that over saw the 2003 remediation stated at discovery that he thought the house should still have been liveable even with 200 gallons of fuel in the basement. He could not read charts well enough to say what way was north even with a picture of an arrow with a capital N in the middle of it.
He didn't even know what weathered oil means although it is written in many reports supplied to him. Lied about not knowing an engineer when there are many emails between himself and that engineer.
The adjuster assigned to the "2nd" spill new even less. How to read charts, what weathered oil is (actually after hours of cross examination I got him to say he understood what it was), absolutely devious.

I truly could go on and on and I have the proof and will write a book when this court nightmare is over in lord knows how many years.
I have lost everything. My land in town is not fit to rebuild on and I now have made a home in the old camp, have electricity and will carry on.
Beware of your good neighbour, they are truly a wolf in sheeps' clothing.
There contracts are not worth the paper they are written on, Shame shame shame.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Dodgy State Farm

by willspace3@gmail.com on Oct 22, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

State Farm is not "like a good neighbor...". It denied my claim for very extensive water damage caused by a shut-off ball valve leak. SF claimed the valve was old, failed because it probably was turned on and off too much and that it probably was installed incorrectly. All of these assumptions are inaccurate. Also, SF denied the claim because, according to their agents, in the fine print of its policy, it states SF does not cover most plumbing failure damages unless caused by freezing. It would cover, however, damage from a leaking old water heater, which is a case of inconsistent logic. Certainly many houses have plumbing that fails and causes damage, and obviously, owners buy insurance to cover such losses. Yet, when expected by trusting, naive clients -- this is not covered by SF. The agents refused the claim based on an analysis of the valve that SF had done by another company it hired. This was not exactly an independent analysis since State Farm hired and paid the company. And, not surprisingly, it received a report that benefited SF. The heavy duty brass ball shutoff valve in question was installed in the insulated attic of a house where it was protected from disturbances. The valve probably had never been turned off and on since installation about 10-13 years ago. It was not a particularly old valve; ball valves are very reliable and last a long time. It was installed correctly and did not leak at all. The leak probably began during the freezing cold winter when the valve froze enough to cause the valve seam to separate. Close examination of the valve reveals an uneven separation of part of the valve seal in the main body of the valve, below the handle system, that was probably caused by freezing water. The resulting very slow, drop by drop leak was not evident until a small portion of the ceiling drywall below the leak finally separated. By then, water had spread into walls. Nonetheless, State Farm did not seem to consider the uneven split valve seal seam at all and conveniently ignored this evidence to deny the claim. Bottom line, do not buy State Farm house insurance if you expect to be covered for common plumbing leak damages. There is clearly no point in buying expensive insurance if the insurer denies claims based on a policy that fine print excludes coverage of issues that consumers reasonably expect are covered. I plan to cancel my State Farm policies in the near future. I only wish I had done more research on the company and seen the numerous, well-deserved, one-star reviews. If I had, I never would have given them my money.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

They are outrageous!

by Awful on Oct 6, 2018
1.5 out of 5 stars

We are 2 disabled seniors who rented a home from their insured. The house had a defective roof, mold & rodents. It is now 4 years since my husband was rushed to the hospital due to mold exposure. We paid out of pocket for temporary housing and mold testing. We cooperated with their adjusters to remediate the problem. We used our retirement account to pay for all this. They used our mold tests, stored the mold & rat infested furnishings that took their pack of attorneys (at least 5 at a time...they run in a posse), their salvage co(9), but no $ for a claim. They give you reckless rhetoric why you should not get paid. They should not be responsible for medications because you are out of the environment. So what you inhaled toxic molds! Clean your rodent stained furniture and retire. We tried. They like you on your knees begging them for a few dollars. How do they sleep at night? We lost everything we owned...not one dime from them. 4 years later...We lost our income from our retirement fund. They wrote us (only because we filed a complaint with the Dept of Ins) that there are significant differences.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.

Search Elsewhere for coverage

by Doctor on Sep 6, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

They changed underwriters and everything I had covered was no longer covered...and they increased the rate. When I contacted them to cancel, they told me there would be financial penalties. If they had changed underwriters and the coverage had remained the same, it would not have been horrible. It was deplorable behaviour from a company I had been a loyal customer to for 20 years. I strongly advise people to search elsewhere for coverage.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

House Fire

by QM on Oct 20, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

Delay upon Delay upon Delay, no speaking, no follow-through, no explanation of the process. Anything verbally said is just that all talk promises, roses & sunshine, on paper if there is a response, the "talk" never existed, or maybe they were talking to someone else. Our House is collapsing, now NOTHING was done, their "preferred" contractors do as State Farm says, so they won't lose their business. HORRENDOUS, been with State Farm for over 30 years, we lost everything... Their compliance officer passes the buck, to someone who sends form letters that state it is their final position if you don't agree to go through the FSCO process... We have not received ANY specific position, only doublespeak. Their staff are people with no real-life experience, they take the same training course on what to say to clients, they have no moral consciousness, How do they sleep at night, we certainly aren't sleeping. House is collapsing as I write this, no mitigation by contractor nor State Farm, not for the lack of pleading to mitigate any more damage, there is a huge hole in roof, house has been flooded, by fire suppression efforts, rain snow, wind, damage, "preferred" engineer previously worked for State Farm, never told us, the engineer couldn't get into basement to report as it was flooded for several months so much flooding the water was gushing up into the first floor, they say that is not a direct result of the fire... WOW it's coming up to a year, and they are still delaying and playing games, out of pocket expenses are behind 4 months, "the cheque is in the mail" yeah right.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't trust StateFarm

by AngryCustomer on Sep 23, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

Terrible customer service! They tried to raise our premium saying that we called in to make a claim when we never filed one (only called to enquire about claim process), on top of that we were never reimbursed for any claim whatsoever, so no idea how they could even come up with that statement! Disgusting company, deceiving policies, and awful customer service. Please don't give these scammers your business.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.

Dissatisfied.

by Vilma on Aug 2, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

I'd give no star if there's an option for that. They don't care about their customers. They're only good at taking money from your pocket, if there's a problem, they don't deal with it right away. It's been 2 months now, & they aren't making any moves yet... we kept calling them but they kept passing us into another agent. & some agents are rude & don't have any patience, slow & worst service ever! & they actually don't know what they're doing... our neighbours' gazebo lifted off & then it hit our window... they're supposed to speak for us 'cause we are paying them... all they said was "neighbours don't want to pay"... It's their responsibility to speak for us 'cause we are their clients.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

57 mins to file a claim stress

by Disappointed on Jul 24, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

Very stressful interrogation. Asked over and over to give a statement. In order to make a claim, I had to give them consent to collect and share my personal info...to relevant people and including to offer us general services and product. Basement flooded, very stressful and they are using the call as a marketing tool. We have been with state Farm for over 30 years for all insurance. After today, I am shopping around. They can let me know in 1 business day...Thank God this didn't happen on Friday if we are covered. State Farm ...like a bad neighbour

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

STATE FARM ARE CRIMINALS

by Used and Abused by State Farm on May 9, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

Thanks State Farm for taking my money my 20 years and turning your back the one time i needed you!
I've been a client of State Farm for all of my insurance needs for 19 years. Life, auto, home insurance, never made a claim until recently. My sump pump stopped working over night and flooded my basement. We called in the morning and they sent someone right away. We signed the paperwork to get the basement dried out and our ruined items sorted and organized to properly file the claim. It was a wonderful experience....EXCEPT 5 days after the flood State Farm called us and said we had no coverage. A sump pump needs a special plan for coverage. Interesting that my insurance agent never asked any questions about us having a sump pump when we got our insurance so I had no coverage. I was also stuck with the bill for thousands of dollars to the emergency clean up company. Only after 4 weeks and many many calls later did I get them to pay the emergency bill for the people they sent to my house. But I am now responsible to replace the thousands of dollars of my personal belongings the were destroyed in the flood. Thanks for nothing criminals!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.

Horrible company

by Horribleinsurance on Jan 4, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

Customer service sucks. They don't explain anything to you. I called to cancel and not once did anyone mention how much money I apparently owed. There rude people who talk to you like your dumb Go with td insurance. Much better

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo