Independent Home Insurance Reviews

Wawanesa Home Insurance Reviews

(65 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
59,413
consumers
(1.9 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Wawanesa is evil!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Quick somebody get a lawyer Aug 15, 2019
You will feel like you have been lied to and cheated. This company does not care about you or your family safety. And you probably will be homeless unless you have a very high credit card if something bad actually happens and can wait a very long time for your money and if they tell you the truth about what you are entitled to. If you are looking at using this insurance company please understand that if something actually happens you will be on more pills and homeless and worse off then you start it off. Once again I can’t tell you how bad of a decision it was. So please choose wisely! I will not be using this company in future!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Worst Customer Service Ever!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jimmy Aug 15, 2019
They will come up with every possible excuse to deny your claim if they get back to you at all. You will end up wasting your time suing them and if the claim is small, it may not even be worth pursuing. This is their way of getting away with not paying the claims as they are aware that the customers are unlikely to pursue small claims. Switching policy to another insurance company that has good ratings and record of providing great customer service. Word of advice: You are better off paying a little higher premiums and choosing a company that will provide you with prompt customer service and would actually honour your claim when the time comes. Would strongly suggest against choosing Wawanesa.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Insurance Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Heids Aug 05, 2019
Never have we been treated in such a disgusting manner by any company and Wawanesa is by far one of the most dishonest insurance agencies to date. They tried to raise our Car & Home Insurance by almost 50% in 2 years. Being a long-time client, we never received a phone call to discuss our contract or even to find out if we are satisfied. They have added extra service fees that we never agreed to and are attempting to charge additional fees on top of that for cancelling 17 days into our renewal which is appalling. After I politely told them this is unacceptable and kindly asked them to remove the fees, we have not heard back in almost 2 weeks. Beware of Wawanesa, they are sneaky and dishonest so check your invoices and go with another agency if you can. They are all cheaper now than Wawanesa who you likely won't speak with since they merged with Fort, so you will be bounced back and forth between them.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

home policy means nothing

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Abused by wawanesa May 10, 2019
Wawanesa has kept us waiting over 2 years to settle our claim. We were never told what would be covered and what would not. We are not getting the single limit replacement cost on the damage. Refusing to cover lots and reinstalling things damaged. Amazing contractor trying to work for us. Terrible customer service from adjuster and Wawanesa. We are not getting the coverage that we should be getting. Our home will never be worth what it was before the loss. I do not recommend Wawanesa or Coast Claims adjuster. Very sad. I recommend purchase home insurance with a different company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Still waiting for resolution May 06, 2019
We are still fighting over a sewer backup claim after 2 years. We were a customer for over 4o years with this company, and we are treated like we wanted this to happen. We were out of town when it happened, when we got home our basement was destroyed by the restoration company, many items unaccounted for with no explanation from the cleaning company where these items are, yet we have had to sue them and are still in the process of trying to settle this fiasco. They would rather pay their lawyers than do the right thing for a client. They are worth millions in assets and they want to keep it that way. Stay away from Wawanesa, read your policy carefully every year and be careful who your broker is. In our case, we had a broker who did not review our policy with us on renewal and did not advise that because of the flood in High River, all our coverage would change without them advising us of these changes. They want high premiums every year but when it comes to paying out any money for a claim that is a different story. We have had to spend thousands in trying to restore our basement out of our own pocket, as well as legal fees to fight these terrible companies.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Overcharged

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by p.a.weiss Oct 30, 2018
I had been overcharged for home insurance coverage for two years. I had been paying insurance for a single-family home and I have a semi-detached home. I had supplied my current home information for a new policy and Wawanesa was not professional in correcting my policy with the new updated information.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by wawa_sucks Oct 22, 2018
The company allows monthly payments, but to pull out on a certain date... that is fine, but if you can't make those payments and do a stop payment (because you can't call and delay), they make you pay your premium in full. I want to say exactly how I feel about them-but the review would be deleted I am sure!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

home insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by sonyon Aug 24, 2018
Dealt with these guys for years, better off having no insurance than paying these guys for nothing. Cheaper insurance but you get what you pay for - absolutely nothing. They have their own adjusters who get paid extra if they rule in their favour. Hired my own adjuster but still ignored his claim, said "we have our own", of course.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

I had to sue to get paid

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tony Jul 31, 2018
Long story short. My Neighbour had a flood and damaged my property (condo). Wawanesa adjustor (Christina M) gave my neighbour and me all kind of nonsense and refused to pay. I had to spend a year and hundreds $ to sue my neighbour. In the end, Wawanesa had to follow the order to pay me and honour their policy. So much had for me because the company and adjuster would not do the right thing at the beginning.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

2 Claims, Both Positive

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Satisfied Claimer Jul 11, 2018
I had the misfortune of needing to make a tenant insurance claim for theft twice. Given the reviews here, the first time around I thought I was in for an interrogation and being fought tooth and nail over every item, but that couldn't have been further from the truth. They were friendly, understanding, and did not give me a hard time about the claim. Certainly I had to provide all the information and documents they requested, but it was all reasonable. The second time around I was wincing at the thought of making the report thinking that I would be treated like a criminal myself, even though I had a police report and proof of the thieves breaking in, but again I was pleasantly surprised by how helpful and understanding they were. Maybe they are trying to improve their online reputation, or maybe tenant insurance is where they shine, I don't know. All I know is that I have absolutely no reason to consider any other provider and I don't know how my 2 claims could've gone any better.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Read your policies!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by LessonLearned Jun 05, 2018
Ever wonder why Wawanesa is less than other comparable insurers? You cannot compare their offering to others as their limits are lower and coverage is not near as comprehensive. On my small claim, they nickel and dimed me and did not explain the options openly. I chose to switch insurers after 5 years and feel way more secure now. It may be costing a bit more but the old adage of "you get what = you pay for" is certainly pertinent. Do your research. Buying insurance is something I should have spent more time on rather than just picking the most affordable. Lesson learned.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Very unhelpful

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by rs May 22, 2018
My basement suddenly flooded one day. I called them and they just kept saying "We can't do anything for you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Phantom Insurance Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DD Mcall Apr 12, 2018
Do not use this company.Their only interest is taking your money.I have filed a claim with this company when my roof caved in, in my daughter's room, luckily she did not get injured.When I called to report this and told them what had happened, they told me to throw a tarp over the damaged roof area and they would be by within 2 weeks to estimate damages. Unfortunately, I am in a wheelchair, so my roof climbing days are over.Well, it's been over 2 months, still no word from them.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Where to begin...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by unsatisfied Feb 26, 2018
Slow response to initial claim... then IF you persevere long enough you'll get the same muskrat builders aka "start to finish" without another choice... then it's the pleasure of the "dog and pony" show....you forward a >$10000 check to these guys and don't see them for 3 months... lose keys to house... should I go on? Total cheap-out restoration. You have been warned!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Claim/Home Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Company Feb 10, 2018
They never get their responsibilities or pay for a claim, they just drag everything and doing nothing, They are so useless. I would never recommend it. Their customer service is the poorest, most unprofessional, unskilled, rude, disrespectful, and uneducated group of people that you would ever have to deal with.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

RIP OFF company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by not happy Feb 02, 2018
I had what seems obvious to me a valid claim. They changed their story and reason for denial and it makes no sense. Do not trust them. They send a slimy guy over that works for them and pretends to work for you and he tricks you into corners. SUBMIT YOUR OWN CLAIM, do not talk to their adjuster guys. Switch Insurance if you can ASAP.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

FAKE INSURANCE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dirk Jan 31, 2018
I had suffered a property loss,this company tried very quickly to jump to conclusions.They ended up putting a PI team on me. Everytime the PI team were doing there at best dollar store surveillance I see them. Lets not forget I was the one who suffered the loss, but they had decided to try and change it around.. I would never use them again or recommend to anyone for any type of insurance.. They take your money but when it comes down to it,they have a problem sticking to policy rules. This company is a scam,scam,scam!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Nightmare

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ksinghj Nov 27, 2017
These people are crooks. They have adjuster who will deny your claims for anything and everything to make bigger cut for themselves. Will never get insurance from them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Unsatisfactory treatment

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by AngryClient Sep 08, 2017
I had my house damaged by a hit and run driver. I had to deal with my insurance which is wawanesa canada. It is now just over 3 months and my house is still not repaired. They also stated that they won't be able to match the siding as it is outdated. So they said they will repair it with new siding, but it won't match the rest of the house. In cases like this, they should redo the entire house. I have spoken with other home owners who's insurance (not wawanesa) did just that. They made everything match. This is also what i was told by contractors should happen . But wawanesa refuses.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Changed my view of wawanesa

 
(3.5 out of 5 stars)
by River Aug 24, 2017
All I did was change my bank acct information. I closed the acct my personal property insurance was with and I called the company and gave all my new banking information a month in advance. I receive a registered letter stating my policy is cancelled because one payment was missed. That totally changed my mind about staying with wawanesa when my policy is up for renewal.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Incompetent, lazy, overpriced

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Executor of Estate Aug 22, 2017
I tried to get insurance on a home that I am the executor of the estate. I was hoping for a quote so I could compare it to other companies. It took more than two and a half months for them to send a policy. It was not a quote but a policy. The price was twice as much as what I expected. The next day I got another piece of mail stating that they have not received payment. None of the mail was sent to the correct address. It was forwarded by Canada Post. A final note was sent by registered mail to the wrong address. My travel time was more than two hours to find out that they had canceled the policy for non payment.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Wawanesa home and car

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Steven D Aug 14, 2017
I have been covered by Wawanesa home and car insurance for 12 years without filing any claims. The only reason I stayed for so long is that I was working two jobs and taking care of sick parents. Let me start by saying, they have the habit of cheating you on your annual rates by jacking up prices every year if you stay with them for a long time. They play a interesting game of offering an initial low rate then keep increasing the rates without your knowledge or any reason. Their customer service is the poorest, most unprofessional, unskilled, rude, disrespectful, and uneducated group of people that you would ever have to deal with. I tried to cancel the home policy and I had to waited an hour and 45 minutes just to be yet get transferred again to another extension that rang for another 15 minutes without answer and I finally hung up. I suggest you go with any other insurance they are plenty of options and stay away from this insurance company. Regards,
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

widfire

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Marshall Aug 03, 2017
Our town was evacuated due to a forest fire, the town was almost surrounded in fact. We were forced to flee to another city and the various insurance companies were set up but Wawanesa was the only one who was actually writing cheques to support its customers with an absolute minimum of hassle and no deductible. They made a very difficult and stressful situation much easier to bear.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

sewer back up

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by julio Jul 25, 2017
Did not have contractors to do the job in a timely manner, misled us through wrong information. I replaced over 1/2 of my dinning room ceiling and they paid only $240. Not reliable.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Skyrocketing Rates!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dee Jun 28, 2017
My policy almost doubled this year. I was able to get a comparable policy from a competitor for a little over half of what they quoted me. In addition to this it took the broker I was dealing with several weeks to find out why.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Continued from mold in house

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by moldy house May 12, 2017
So, since I wrote about my claim being denied by Wawanesa regarding the mold in my home, I received a letter in the mail yesterday, May 11, that they were cancelling my house insurance effective 12am May 12 with no reason (mold i am sure). I only received the letter on the 11 but it was dated for April 28? I had no time to find new insurance to cover me till we move to our rental, but now due to the cancellation of my policy I may have a hard time getting tenant insurance even though the cancellation was not my fault at all. This company is a fraud as far as I am concerned and I guess when you have a pillow full of money your conscious doesn't keep you awake at night.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The worst home insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Moe Ferdowsi Apr 18, 2017
The worst insurance home insurance company with a bunch of lazy adjusters not knowing anything when it comes to find cause of damages, just looking for an exclusion clause in insurance policy not to pay. Stay away from this company even if you have to pay more for your home insurance. There is nothing good about this company to rate it even one star, I wish there was negative star rating.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Mold not covered

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mom of three Mar 31, 2017
I am an single mom of three working 12 hour shifts to provide for my family. I have a older home with no concrete foundation..Just dirt under floor boards. The house was insured by wawanesa by the previous owners and now by myself and was insured with the house having h dirt foundation. I put 35000 into the house after purchasing. We repaired some floor joices that had sunk. I have never had the need to look under the the home again till a few weeks ago when I found the floor was bowing. I have found yellow mold fungi all over the floor boards and joices under the house. I took a sample with a kit and found it verified as "the house eating mold" There is no crawl space..Only about a foot between dirt and boards...I was told would be very expensive to fix. My 19 month old son has been to the er numerous times for lung infection symptoms or croup since he was born and him and I slept in the room directly above the mold fungi. I contacted McLean insurance who sent my claim to wawanesa after many arguments back and forth. I was told from the start that it likely wouldn't be covered as they don't cover water seepage and since water seepes through dirt that caused moisture hense making the wood damp and causing the mold fungi to grow. The adjuster came and took photos. Then a week went by. He returned with a contractor for his opinion. He stated it would be a lot of money to fix an take up to 6 months to complete. Another week went by and I heard nothing. I contacted he insurance reminding them that I have three small children in this house an we will need to make other living arrangements as I won't keep the kids in this house. Few more days went by then I get a call from the adjuster.... There are not covering my claim as they don't cover water seepage. I can not control how much water seepes through dirt. There has never been a flood up to the house. They insured the dirt the way it was under the floor an had no problem taking my payments for 6 years. Now that the same thing the insured has failed they will not cover it. I can't afford to fix the problem as it is extensive. It is looking as I will have to give our home back to the bank and look to rent...Which from what I have seen so far is around 1200 plus..That's a big difference from my small mortgage payment. I just can't believe there is nothing they are offering to help myself and my children with. I would not recommend his company especially​ if you have an older style home. They can give away free pizza an iPads but won't help there customers.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Rotting rats, flies: Insurance repair disaster causes 'mega destruction' of dream home

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rosa Marchitelli, CBC News Feb 21, 2017
CBC NEWS A tree crashing through the roof of a B.C. couple's house set off a chain of events that left their dream home falling apart, infested with rodents, and the family and its pets living in a trailer parked on the driveway.

Sharon and Paul Gough, from Mission, B.C., are now locked in a battle with their insurance company after a routine claim ballooned into an all-out repair disaster.

They say contractors recommended by Wawanesa Mutual Insurance caused almost a million dollars worth of damage to their home, which they believe it is no longer safe to live in.

Paul Gough Paul Gough says he's had to take time off work to act as a contractor to make his home livable again. (CBC)

For the past eight months, the Goughs have been living in a 300-square-foot trailer with their teenage son, a 120-pound mastiff and two chihuahuas. It's a big adjustment from living in an 8,000-square-foot home with seven bedrooms and nine bathrooms they scrimped and saved for decades to own.

In order to enter part of their home, the Goughs say they have to don hazmat suits and masks.

"It went from a tree that fell on our home to mega-destruction," Sharon Gough told Go Public.

"How can anybody ever anticipate the nightmare that went on in our home?" Read more at cbc.ca
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Prepare to sue

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by AlbertaStrong Nov 27, 2016
Wawanesa is hands down the worst insurance company I have ever had the displeasure to deal with. I have had them for my home and auto for over 15yrs. I have had to sue them twice now to get them to follow-through on their obligations. I should have learned the first time, i know. First experience was a damaged window from a hail storm. It took them a year (no exaggeration) to send their adjuster back to look at it - then denied the claim. We sued, they settled in mediation. This time around, there isn't enough room to tell the whole story. House fire in my neighbors townhouse spread to my unit, which was just the start to the fun. After 2 months of no communication from my adjuster at all, and being thousands of dollars in debt paying for a hotel, while I waited in limbo, they finally started talking to me, but would take a 1 month or more between contacts. I was in debt $15K before they cut me my first cheque. Then the terrible contractor they hired flooded the entire house after 4 months of waiting for them to do any repairs, by freezing a pipe. Contractor wouldn't do anything until the insurnace company stepped in, so it took them 3 days to finally do anything while the basement basted in water and freezing temperatures. They opened a NEW claim and charged me another deductible. Took them nearly a year to fix all the mess. I finally sign off on what I think is a fully repaired house, to find flooding and seepage in the basement within a month, where I had never had it before. INSANE. So I call, and they tell me its unrelated and it will be a new claim, and probably won't be covered. They send a contractor to look and says the same thing. I hear nothing from them for more than a month and I'm forced to now have my lawyer send them a threatening letter. They finally respond and tell me they are denying the claim. So I get my own contractor in to fix the mess and low and behold, we find the dirty secrets. The insurance companies contractor had taken no permits out. They left all of the original lumber in the wall. They must have known there was an additional water issue, but rather than disclosing it or fixing it, they used electrical tape and taped a piece of poly over a crack in the foundation, i suppose hoping it would solve the problem. Completely disgusting. They continue to deny the claim, and in fact refuse to release a cheque for my missing and damaged contents until I'm willing to sign their proof-of-loss form, that clearly states that I will have no further claim to damages. Suit #2 now filed. I wouldn't wish these clowns on my worst enemy.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?