Independent Home Insurance Reviews

Cooperators Home Insurance Reviews

(101 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
73,328
consumers
(2.3 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Expensive

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Milky Jun 03, 2020
Cooperators is expensive, but never had an issue with them, guess it's because I never needed to make a claim. But I did test them once, and called in and said my basement was flooded to see how they would handle the situation. They were prepared to send over someone to drain the water and dry the carpets and assess the damage. Then I told them it's ok, I'll do it myself .. so they passed the test, but not sure if they would have been if I pushed it all the way. The amount of insurance I paid in my lifetime for car and home is gotta be over 100,000. Put that money in compounding medium-risk funds over 30 years, and that would come out to around 450,000.00.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Terrible Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by John Jun 01, 2020
I've been a customer for 20+ years and had both auto and home insurance with them. I called from my home phone to see what they could do for pricing as I have found better elsewhere. I was on the phone for 3+ hours waiting, took a shot and decided to call from my cell phone got an agent 15 minutes later whilst still waiting on my home phone. They were unable or unwilling to give me better pricing. Therefore I kindly cancelled and then told them about my phone debacle so that they would know. The only answer I got was "maybe because your home phone was in our system". Anyway, better options out there for CHEAPER and with RELIABLE service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

I can't beat the price

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Gerry B May 26, 2020
I have never made a claim and hope to God don't have to, however, rates went up and I shopped around, I was able to find a couple of companies a bit lower but I dare not go with them as they have the worst reviews on here. I will stay with Cooperators as they are reachable and well priced for my budget.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Gouged us

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Patsreviews Feb 25, 2020
After being with the Cooperators for 30 years, we discovered we could get the same insurance coverage for 1/3 what we were paying them. Thanks for nothing guys.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Total scammers and admitted it

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ad Feb 17, 2020
We had been with them for years eventually with two houses and two cars. Insurance kept going up by 500 each house each year. Yearly renewals stopped being sent by mail, instead, you had to create an account sign up which didn't seem to work. We also got a quote on a second home we bought with 2 weeks left in our yearly term and then two weeks later it was suddenly $450 more than they quoted us two weeks before. Once we realized this was going on, we called to cancel and now have to pay $550 to cancel our insurance and when I asked about why it wasn't more clear that the policies had increased by 25% the lady said it would be bad business to let people know that the policies were going up! So she admitted that they tried to do it without people noticing! We are now paying $3000 less with another company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Fast Efficient Service

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Renny Feb 12, 2020
I had a flood this year and from start, to finish I had a good experience. My contact at the Cobourg office has left but the new guy gave me the 'major incident' number and from that person who first opened the file to the Major Events Claims Representative. I was treated with concern and care. I had people coming to the house to start with the cleanup and restoration the very day I called. The representative was extremely responsive - always returning my call or emails quickly to explain the next steps and where things stood. I can't say enough good things about the team.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Invasion of privacy

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by J Dec 24, 2019
We recently renewed our policy with no problems but then out of the blue, Co-operators contacts us and says then require photos of my home including the interior. This was not disclosed when we renewed our contract. Now they are demanding photos. I don't mind providing exterior photos, nor do I mind allowing them into my home for the inspection, (as per my insurance contract) but I draw the line as to my family's privacy. This is what I got from Co-operators as a response to not allowing them to take photo's inside my home: When I previously referred you to the section in your policy wordings regarding The Co-operators right to request a home inspection at any reasonable time (please see email sent on Dec 18th, 2019), it is within our company’s internal guidelines that home inspections include photographs (both interior and exterior). It is your choice to not allow us to take photographs of the interior of your home; that is why we also give you the opportunity to take the photographs yourself and have them uploaded to your policy file. If you decide you don’t want to take the photographs yourself, then you are putting your home policy at an underwriting risk. I have spoken to an underwriter this morning about your case and was informed that photographs of the interior and exterior are mandatory aspects of any home inspection and that if the photographs are refused then, according to internal guidelines, The Co-operators will have no choice but to proceed with the cancellation of your home insurance policy. Unlike auto insurance, which is regulated by the government, home insurance can be cancelled at any time for any reason, as long as the reason is clearly indicated in an official letter sent to our clients. A cancellation letter for your home insurance policy will be sent out to you by mail, stipulating the same reasons for cancellation as indicated to you in this email. If you change your mind and allow photographs of the interior to be taken (by you or someone from our office), please let me know and we can rescind the policy cancellation. The letter is being sent out today and you have up to 15 days (plus 5 days of mailing time) from today until your policy is officially cancelled (unless you notify us of a change of your decision). At no time where we informed that photos of the interior were required until after the paperwork was a sign. It's not on their website nor our contract. They can terminate the contract and they also lost all my business including the rental properties I own.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Terrible Company!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by peter Oct 07, 2019
They make it sound like they would take care of you but all they want is your money. The salesman makes it sound like Co-operators is the best in the world but do not be deceived. My townhouse was flooded twice in the same year by the people upstairs. Even though it was the tenants who lived upstair's fault, they will push the payments on you and make up a story that you have to pay first and that they don't go after the other tenant's insurance even though it was their fault. Then on top of that, they said when you renew your insurance, your insurance might just go up a bit. When it was time for renewing insurance, they dropped me and said they could no longer cover my insurance and told me to go look somewhere else. Poor customer service with a lot of attitudes. Never have I been angrier in my life. Was cheated by these joke. You will regret going with these fools.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by John Aug 15, 2019
I called to inquire 3x times now about home insurance quote. Customer service was garbage, was not provided with a quote at all...insurance itself is a scam...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Passive/aggressive attitude

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mark99 Aug 06, 2019
I am going through a claim for damages incurred in a rental property. This is the first claim ever after 15+ years of having all my insurance needs done through Cooperators. I am sorry to say that this has been a very poor experience, with an aggressive adjuster making every bit difficult for me. Having been caught to enforce an eviction notice, Cooperators has added to my anxiety and difficulty of dealing with this situation. I will be switching my cars, home and rental properties away from them even if I have to pay more at my renewal.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great service

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by leila Aug 01, 2019
I am a newcomer in BC and have been very pleased with their service. I was provided with the best possible offer of Cooperators tenant insurance, they are excellent and very helpful. I would recommend to others.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Claim Paid Out in 3 weeks

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by EdmNic Jul 31, 2019
I switched to Co-operators and 3 months later our cars and house were broken into. We had an adjuster within 48 hours and were paid out our claim for everything withing 3 weeks - depending on how fast I got the information back. The process was easy fast, and because of the claims forgiveness, our rates didn't go up. Super happy with the service and claim experience
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Premiums doubled

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MG Jun 20, 2019
After 25 years using Co-Operators as our home insurer, our premiums doubled because they decided to add mandatory coverage that we did not need. When we called to ask why and indicated that we were thinking of cancelling, we were not told that we would be charged a cancellation premium if we didn't cancel by a certain date. It took about 4 phone calls, always with different people, to finally get a complete explanation for why we were being charged a penalty to cancel. I expect better service after 25 claims free years. We've moved on to a new insurer that does not lump all home owners into the same risk category, even when it is not appropriate.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

I don’t recommend Cooperators

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jeff c Jun 02, 2019
We had a basement flood caused by a blocked drain in our walkout. Cooperators sent their contracted investigator out. He assured us the damage would be covered. Talked to someone near Ottawa who denied our claim and became rude and argumentative when I questioned him on his decision. Extremely poor customer service. It took him almost 4 days to deny our claim. If I hadn’t done the tear out of all my carpet, under padding, trim and 1 ft of drywall myself it would have sat their collecting mould for those 4 days. After being denied I found out it still counts as a claim because I notified them and they sent out an investigator to do a report. So frustrating. Cooperators is awful.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very very high premiums

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Gordon C May 30, 2019
Very very high premium with very minimal coverage. The cost went from $1350.00 in 2018 to $2020.00 in 2019 with no claims, I dropped them, and they had no problem with that, I was with them for 46 years. I had to fight with them every year over the last 5 years, enough is enough!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Terrible coverage

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by balog May 21, 2019
Very pleasant folks, but I was very disappointed with the coverage. (or lack of) on water damage in my basement. The entire policy is rigged in their favour with a lot of covering disclaimers so that they don't have to pay. I have been a loyal customer with Aaron Cronk in Oakville for many years but will not be dealing with them again.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Overall pretty good

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by BLS Apr 16, 2019
Unfortunately, I have had several claims with the Cooperators. I have a condo and have had three very unfortunate water accidents in 13 yrs. The first two claims I had with the Cooperators, I would give them 6 stars out of 5 if I could. The adjusters were very polite and kind, very respectful and professional. Returned calls and emails promptly. Amazing... an A+. This time around, I have a claim still in the works, the original adjuster I spoke with was very polite and professional. Wonderful! However, the adjuster that was assigned to my case gets a C-. He doesn't return emails and seems mediocre and uninterested. Of course, my premiums and deductibles have increased, but that is the way of insurance... If it wasn't for the mediocre experience with them this time I would have to give the Cooperators a 5-star rating and would encourage others to give them a try. Thank you
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

IGNORANT AGENT

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PISSED Mar 12, 2019
Went in to get a quote on a house I inherited. It was previously insured by this company for 40 years and has a current policy. Wanted to get a quote to change insurance to my name... sales rep refused to give me a quote. She said I was not going to be living there... WHO IS SHE TO TELL ME WHERE I WILL BE LIVING ...WHAT DOES SHE KNOW THAT I DON'T?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

high rates, low coverage

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy Feb 12, 2019
Horrible, overpriced, less coverage, no responsibility to clients and they have zero accountability. According to the women I talked to at Co-operators head office, she is the only one you can speak to, I caught her in numerous lies and she was rude.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Worst Insurance CO-OPERATORS

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Client from Ottawa Dec 06, 2018
We were customers of Co-operators for over 10 yrs. Recently, we cancelled our home and auto insurance with them. Even though they sent an email that they cancelled the policy, they kept on automatic deduction from our account. When we try to deal with it, the people there were very rude and would not admit that they have made a mistake. The Insurance Agent hung up the call when I tried to explain the error. They are nasty and just a bunch of thieves. Please think twice before dealing with the CO-OPERATORS. Don't waste your hard-earned money.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Scarborough office

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Single mother of 3 Oct 15, 2018
Scarborough Cooperators - worst experience with a company ever. The original broker was a lovely man. The new broker took over, who does not return calls and ignores clients even when issues are urgent. He does not have any idea what policies I held with his office and actually told me I didn’t have any when there are 2 life insurance policies, medical insurance and a home owner’s policy in addition to there being a renter’s policy - at least there was supposed to be one. He actually cancelled my renter’s insurance without any notification and I didn’t find out until 10 months later when I contacted him about a claim. This despite the fact that his office was also covering a vacant home insurance policy and they had been in communication with me more than a dozen times about it and were aware the house was still undergoing repairs/renovations. Initially, he said he would take care of the problem as I had never cancelled the policy myself - but then he never responded and would not return phone calls. Absolutely horrible experience during a very stressful time. Do not go with this broker.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Whitby cooperators disappoints

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MiAjaxRes Oct 05, 2018
We have been with Cooperators for 20 years. Earlier this year the agent left the office and no notifications were sent out. We only found out when we called to make a change in our home insurance. We left a message to be contacted with the new agent's name. One month later no contact nor call back. Was told that the office was "understaffed" and a replacing agent not been found yet. Needless to say, I will be taking my business somewhere else.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Disappointed

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Niagara Aug 24, 2018
Had Co-Operators insurance for my house and 2 vehicles. Then the agent went out of business and left me scrambling to get the house and car insurance. My work started advertising that they could get us a group discount on Co-Operators insurance, I decided to give them a try again. The first year their price was fair for a house and the 2 vehicles. But that was short-lived following a year it increased. No claims on any vehicles or house and no bounce payments. Then called to ask for a price on tenant insurance. Reason wanted to move out first and renovate the house. Never moved out of house nor renovated. Co-Operator without calling instead sent a registered letter stating my house insurance has been cancelled. But my vehicles are still insured. Called another insurance company, got a better price, better customer service and no issues. Called to cancel my vehicle insurance and they had the nerve to hold back some money as I cancelled. Said that's funny you cancelled my house insurance all because I phoned up to get a price on tenant insurance. Horrible insurance company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Brock S Co-operators

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SPECIALISTDR Aug 02, 2018
This branch of Co-operators is horrible. They do not return phone calls - even when urgent (despite the fact that their answering machines say they will get back to you by the end of the business day) - they do not communicate effectively. In fact, they did not answer when they were expecting my call until I blocked my number! When I did call, they said my agent was not in that day and yet I could hear his voice in the background!!! They cancel policies without warning (they claim to have sent a registered letter but when I asked them to show that it had been delivered they could not). Just to put this review into perspective, I decided to go with Co-operators because my sister-in-law's father was the president of the company at the time, so I was a loyal customer for over 20 years. I was absolutely shocked at the way I was treated/ignored. I am a professional in an advanced area that understands customer service. The lack of compassion and empathy displayed by everyone at this office was disgusting!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cooperators is very expensive

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jethro C May 24, 2018
I recently got quotes May 2018, from 4 insurance firms for a home in Edmonton. Each was in the 800.00 range but Cooperators was 1725.00, I insisted that the quote must have been calculated wrong by agent but she insisted that this was the rates they charge and that most of the Cooperators clients pay in the range quoted. This means anyone dealing with Cooperators is being ripped off. Avoid them and if currently with them, get other quotes, you will save a lot.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Making a claim

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Phyllis May 16, 2018
We have house insurance with Cooperators. We had very bad weather one day. Wind and rain in Windsor, ON. We woke up to our main floor family room with the floor flooded. We had never experienced this. We purchased the house 6 years ago. It ended up being a leak in the roof. We had no visible way of knowing this until the floor flooded and we exposed the wall. We made the claim and it was denied because of a seeping water clause. You pay so much money every month on time. You get insurance thinking they have our back. There always seems that they can deny you with the fine print. It's very upsetting. Why do you have insurance I wonder sometimes.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Home insurance

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Fort mac May 13, 2018
Had a claim for smoke and appliance damage in the Fort McMurray fire and they said my insurance wouldn't go up much but it nearly doubled from 3000 to 5700, what a joke of a company
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Completely Incompetent!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Still fighting for my repairs Apr 17, 2018
I have been insured with the Co-operators for 5 years now and in 2017 I had to claim twice for water damage due to negligence from another unit in my building. Everything is fine when all you do is pay your yearly fee, but as soon as you need to make a claim, nobody will return a call or email, you essentially don't exist. Excuses upon excuses, lies, lack of communication, and "preferred vendors" are a complete joke! My repairs should have been limited to new bathroom and bedroom flooring, a small amount of drywall, and paint... I am now heading into the 1-year mark and I'm still fighting tooth and nail to have my repairs completed. Something so simple as using COMPETENT tradespeople seems foreign to them. I am on my 6th adjuster as all the ones before were unable to meet the requirement of DOING THEIR JOB, so I would be given a new adjuster when I complained up the ladder. Even trying to speak to a supervisor or manager is next to impossible. Word to the wise, stay FAR FAR AWAY from using this company. You and your home mean nothing to them but a paycheque, and once you require their services, they will try to deny everything, if you can even get a response back from them at all. The worst customer service I have experienced in my entire life, and I have been forced to re-insure with them as no other company will touch me with two open claims. Thanks for nothing Co-operators, you have been less than stellar and definitely do not live up to your name!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst experience hands down!

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Grumpy Mar 01, 2018
The local office in Clarenville NL is just plain incompetent! I have reached out the office for over a month now to renew home insurance that was due on February 15, 2018. Now it's March 1st and they still haven't got their act together. Just today received registered mail stating my policy would be cancelled in 15 days. I have already made the first monthly payment but somehow they seem to have misplaced it... Trying to reach anyone at the Clarenville office is near impossible and when you do, they never have any answers... keep putting you off. I am at my wit's end. Never again will I get insurance with the Cooperators!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Robbed then dumped..

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shocked Feb 06, 2018
STAY FAR AWAY FROM CO-OPERATORS INSURANCE! We paid our insurance to Co-operators for at least 10 years, they were happy to take our money. When inquired into fixing our deck that was damaged by weather they sent us a notice that our insurance will be cancelled in 15 days. Why are we paying for insurance if a company can give us the boot come claim time? Their reasoning, we phoned twice asking for coverage which means the condition of our premises is a risk. The house is in perfect condition and it's a DECK! How can the number of phone calls we make to them determine the condition of our home?! What we paid them FAR EXCEEDS the cost of replacing a deck. Save yourself the heartache and money....go with another provider!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?