Independent Home Insurance Reviews

Cooperators Home Insurance Reviews

(79 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
45,678
consumers
(2.4 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Disappointed

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Niagara Aug 24, 2018
Had Co-Operators insurance for my house and 2 vehicles. Then the agent went out of business and left me scrambling to get the house and car insurance. My work started advertising that they could get us a group discount on Co-Operators insurance, I decided to give them a try again. The first year their price was fair for a house and the 2 vehicles. But that was short-lived following a year it increased. No claims on any vehicles or house and no bounce payments. Then called to ask for a price on tenant insurance. Reason wanted to move out first and renovate the house. Never moved out of house nor renovated. Co-Operator without calling instead sent a registered letter stating my house insurance has been cancelled. But my vehicles are still insured. Called another insurance company, got a better price, better customer service and no issues. Called to cancel my vehicle insurance and they had the nerve to hold back some money as I cancelled. Said that's funny you cancelled my house insurance all because I phoned up to get a price on tenant insurance. Horrible insurance company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Brock S Co-operators

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SPECIALISTDR Aug 02, 2018
This branch of Co-operators is horrible. They do not return phone calls - even when urgent (despite the fact that their answering machines say they will get back to you by the end of the business day) - they do not communicate effectively. In fact, they did not answer when they were expecting my call until I blocked my number! When I did call, they said my agent was not in that day and yet I could hear his voice in the background!!! They cancel policies without warning (they claim to have sent a registered letter but when I asked them to show that it had been delivered they could not). Just to put this review into perspective, I decided to go with Co-operators because my sister-in-law's father was the president of the company at the time, so I was a loyal customer for over 20 years. I was absolutely shocked at the way I was treated/ignored. I am a professional in an advanced area that understands customer service. The lack of compassion and empathy displayed by everyone at this office was disgusting!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cooperators is very expensive

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jethro C May 24, 2018
I recently got quotes May 2018, from 4 insurance firms for a home in Edmonton. Each was in the 800.00 range but Cooperators was 1725.00, I insisted that the quote must have been calculated wrong by agent but she insisted that this was the rates they charge and that most of the Cooperators clients pay in the range quoted. This means anyone dealing with Cooperators is being ripped off. Avoid them and if currently with them, get other quotes, you will save a lot.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Making a claim

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Phyllis May 16, 2018
We have house insurance with Cooperators. We had very bad weather one day. Wind and rain in Windsor, ON. We woke up to our main floor family room with the floor flooded. We had never experienced this. We purchased the house 6 years ago. It ended up being a leak in the roof. We had no visible way of knowing this until the floor flooded and we exposed the wall. We made the claim and it was denied because of a seeping water clause. You pay so much money every month on time. You get insurance thinking they have our back. There always seems that they can deny you with the fine print. It's very upsetting. Why do you have insurance I wonder sometimes.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Home insurance

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Fort mac May 13, 2018
Had a claim for smoke and appliance damage in the Fort McMurray fire and they said my insurance wouldn't go up much but it nearly doubled from 3000 to 5700, what a joke of a company
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Completely Incompetent!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Still fighting for my repairs Apr 17, 2018
I have been insured with the Co-operators for 5 years now and in 2017 I had to claim twice for water damage due to negligence from another unit in my building. Everything is fine when all you do is pay your yearly fee, but as soon as you need to make a claim, nobody will return a call or email, you essentially don't exist. Excuses upon excuses, lies, lack of communication, and "preferred vendors" are a complete joke! My repairs should have been limited to new bathroom and bedroom flooring, a small amount of drywall, and paint... I am now heading into the 1-year mark and I'm still fighting tooth and nail to have my repairs completed. Something so simple as using COMPETENT tradespeople seems foreign to them. I am on my 6th adjuster as all the ones before were unable to meet the requirement of DOING THEIR JOB, so I would be given a new adjuster when I complained up the ladder. Even trying to speak to a supervisor or manager is next to impossible. Word to the wise, stay FAR FAR AWAY from using this company. You and your home mean nothing to them but a paycheque, and once you require their services, they will try to deny everything, if you can even get a response back from them at all. The worst customer service I have experienced in my entire life, and I have been forced to re-insure with them as no other company will touch me with two open claims. Thanks for nothing Co-operators, you have been less than stellar and definitely do not live up to your name!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst experience hands down!

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Grumpy Mar 01, 2018
The local office in Clarenville NL is just plain incompetent! I have reached out the office for over a month now to renew home insurance that was due on February 15, 2018. Now it's March 1st and they still haven't got their act together. Just today received registered mail stating my policy would be cancelled in 15 days. I have already made the first monthly payment but somehow they seem to have misplaced it... Trying to reach anyone at the Clarenville office is near impossible and when you do, they never have any answers... keep putting you off. I am at my wit's end. Never again will I get insurance with the Cooperators!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Robbed then dumped..

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shocked Feb 06, 2018
STAY FAR AWAY FROM CO-OPERATORS INSURANCE! We paid our insurance to Co-operators for at least 10 years, they were happy to take our money. When inquired into fixing our deck that was damaged by weather they sent us a notice that our insurance will be cancelled in 15 days. Why are we paying for insurance if a company can give us the boot come claim time? Their reasoning, we phoned twice asking for coverage which means the condition of our premises is a risk. The house is in perfect condition and it's a DECK! How can the number of phone calls we make to them determine the condition of our home?! What we paid them FAR EXCEEDS the cost of replacing a deck. Save yourself the heartache and money....go with another provider!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Water leak

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Playdough Jan 25, 2018
I have my home,car and motorcycle insurance with cooperator for many year now. I when with this company because I'm offered a discount with them through my work. Witch I don't think is much of a discount in my apinion. I had a leak around my chimney and water leaked on to my tv witch I purchased for $1500. I only got to enjoy it for eleven day and by the time I notice the leak it was to late. I decided to make a claim. I figured why not that's why I pay for home insurance. After speaking to them and sending them picture. It didn't take them long to deny my claim I was told this kind of leak is not covered. I was disappointed with them. I've never made a claim before and aways paid on time. Its real amazing to me how insurance company's can do this to hard working people. I will be looking for a different company as soon as my policy is up. I will not be loyal to any of these companies anymore. I will shop around every few years to get the best rates possible.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Too hard to deal with

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Leithann Jan 02, 2018
Had a break-in up north in the early spring. We had theft coverage but it took three phone calls for someone to actually discover that. When they finally did admit we had theft insurance their excuse for not checking with the other calls was that most clients don't have on cottage property and the customer service agent I spoke to was new. We have never made a claim in 40 plus years but when we tried we were discouraged from making the claim. The reasoning: do we know what it will do to our premiums and how much they will increase and for how long?... We ended up NOT making a claim. After the cottage was sold I wanted to cancel the coverage on it and our home as I did not like the way I was treated. Even that was a problem, cancelling the cottage insurance was easy as we were selling but cancelling the house insurance... I told them the date I wanted it cancelled and the sales rep was trying to convince me to keep it until I had set up the new insurance. When I assured her I would not be without house insurance between her policy and the new one starting she still tried to keep me. It was like she did not trust me with my own insurance needs.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by yacuchaj Nov 07, 2017
I spoke with them over the phone to cancel our insurance, 2 months later they send us a letter saying we owe them a $50 cancellation fee, saying my phone conversation with one of their reps, wasn't on file. Definitely would not recommend going with them, there are better rates out there with other insurance companies who won't gouge you when you cancel your plan.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Client for years

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by James W. Nov 04, 2017
30 plus years with the company. Had a few bumps in the road. Last 3 years have been amazing at the Whitby ON agency. The agent who took over has provided us with the most amazing service year after year. Always calls back when he says he will. Thoroughly explains everything about our policy renewals, even how the increases were calculated. I honestly know more about insurance since he became our agent. I can’t speak for all the other locations but if you’re in Ontario, you want Chazz Okparanta to be your agent. This young man is the best they got.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cooperators = Crooks

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Robert J. Sep 20, 2017
I insured my home with Cooperators for 13 years because I had my auto insurance with them. Twice I had damage to my home that was caused by extreme weather, it should have been covered by my policy, but both times an adjuster was sent, my premises evaluated and photographed and then my claims denied. I then had to pay out of pocket for serious repairs, not knowing where to go I asked the Cooperators adjuster for a recommendation. I contacted the recommended contractor and ended up with poor workmanship, unresolved problem and a large bill. If you enjoy paying inflated rates and receiving no claims support, this is the company for you! Just be aware that when you find a better price elsewhere that gives better coverage, Cooperators will penalize you heavily financially for leaving anytime that is not in your renewal month. I recommend you go anywhere else.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Think twice

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Helen L. Sep 04, 2017
Please do your homework before signing the contract. Carefully. Buyer beware. Look at all your options prior to purchasing
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cooperators has been awful.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by papayapearls Aug 31, 2017
Dealing with this company has become the absolute worst experience of our lives. They have stonewalled my parents on a home insurance claim for over a year now. And now, the damage to the home has gotten so bad that an engineer, we had to hire, because co-operators refused to do so, has determined the home is too dangerous to live in. And co-operators is even refusing to pay for my 88 and 86 year-old parents to relocate. They are being forced to re-locate without even knowing how long they have to relocate and at great expense, while trying to cope with the fact their insurance company has totally abandoned them, their home is cracking apart, and their health is failing. The lack of empathy or care from cooperators is exponentially unforgivable. Save yourselves from this kind of horrific treatment. Do not purchase any insurance product from this company!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Huge Rate Increases!

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nick Aug 01, 2017
After only 1 year of being with Cooperators, they increased my premium by 15%! Did my home increase in value? No. Did I add features or reduce my deductible? No. I did lose my 5% "new signing discount" so that leaves 10% less. After calling Cooperators they claim it's because of "all these new features that you're getting." More likely, it's because you brought me in at a low rate and will continue to increase my annual premium by 10%. Could you imagine if public insurance/utilities did this?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The do not cooperate at all

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Mike C Jul 26, 2017
Instead of being there for me and providing insurance after a storm, they denied any coverage and threatened to cancel my insurance afterwards. I had a legitimate claim that should have been covered. It was bad enough they denied me, then they had the audacity to tell me if it wasn't fixed within a month, my insurance would be cancelled. I've been fighting with 5 different contractors to get this fixed and resolve and they will not empathize with my situation. Even though they know the process takes more than a month, they will continue to push you out the door. Do not sign up with these guys, they do anything but cooperate with you. Just another insurance company out to take advantage of you and care less when you need it the most.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Great service

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by The Buffer Apr 08, 2017
Have been with Co-operators for many years and in different provinces and have been very pleased with the service. Had a 3 year review of policy and they have saved me some money. The Dartmouth office staff are excellent and very helpful. Last year had a home claim and could not say enough about the service and assistance. Excellent all around in time of stress. Would recommend to others.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

NO LOYALTY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cotte Apr 07, 2017
I had a flood in my basement, luckily I could fix it by hitting the sump pump and it started again, so I prevented further damages. I only called insurance because I noticed puddles and I stressed it's under my floorboards. I've been waiting 4 hours for someone to come without even telling them I've fixed it from further damage... My house could be completely flooded right now and I still would have had to wait 4 hours. I have been with this company for 17 years and this is my first claim. So disappointed. NO LOYALTY!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

WORST INSURANCE COMPANY EVER

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Volk Apr 07, 2017
first of all i had my home insured as vacant for about a year. I was repetedly harrased by their staff over the phone and email, I was told me that they can cancel my policy because it was a high risk. Later when i changed my policy and moved in to my place shortly i had major flood. Without any investigation i was told I'm not cover because i didn't have alot of things in my apartment according to the plumbing company that came over. In conclusion i had to hire a lawer and spend tons of money and repair the place myself. Eventhough i ended up winning in courts it took almost two and half years to get any money back.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Spy pictures of our house...

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Spy pictures Mar 31, 2017
After a fierce windstorm damaged our roof in St. John's, it took three site visits and three reports for Cooperator's "preferred company" to do their job, they had to keep returning because their reports fell short, missing photos and measurements. Cooperators took underlay out of one of the many reports and told me it was not covered. I checked my policy, called the City and told them it was. Finally, I got a respectable roofer to do a quote and assessment.After 18 days of calls and e-mails, the adjuster sent me a nine-page report with six pictures of our house from many angles and measurement diagrams, then announced that the area of our roof was much smaller than that quoted by the roofer. It also was much smaller than that quoted by their preferred company. Turns out on page 9 of the report that the drone measurements are just the area, but substantial allowances of extra shingles should be made for risers, wastage, caps, valleys and so forth to actually do the job. I escalated to a claims manager and got the whole thing settled the same day. All this over a $5,000 roofing job.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

No customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Burned Jan 10, 2017
My house burned down a year ago. Have a clear cause that is not my fault and has been confirmed by the fire department, an electrician and insurance adjuster. Cannot get the cooperators to answer phone calls or return messages. The fire was a total loss. We could salvage nothing. Haven't received a single penny nor any form of communication. I will never use them again and will urge anyone else to rethink using them as well. If I could give them zero stars for a review I would.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Awful service, just atrocious

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by makeintosh Dec 27, 2016
We had all our home and auto insurance with the co-operators for 35 years and have never had a claim on our home policy. We paid them $1,750 each year as premiums. Recently, a seal in our dishwasher ("water container") failed and caused a flood in our condo. Fortunately, I was able to contain the damage to hardwood flooring in an adjacent room and one sink cabinet. Total damage under $3,000 but they denied the claim. This was the first time, we needed this insurance company but they ran away - said it was a "slow leak" and therefore not covered. Too bad so sad. This was based on findings of mould under the cabinets. On investigation as we did the repairs, the "mould" was stains that are more than 15 years old, dating back to a water leak the previous owner had in the kitchen. I wasn't even sure that for the small cost of the repairs that I would even file a claim. However, correspondence from the adjuster on this claim bordered on rude and threatening if we considered pursuing this. Even if they believed there was an old leak, one would have thought they might have the common sense to consider the discretion of covering it anyway, given the small cost and the fact that the cause of "mould" could be uncertain. But common sense and discretion are absent with this company. Even a bit of politeness in correspondence might have gone a long way to retaining business. With this experience, I can never trust this company ever to be present if needed and have move all my business to another company. For the cost of less than 2 years of premiums, the co-operators has lost my business forever.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Greedy Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PIT Nov 16, 2016
Payment approved but on the desk on a person on sick leave. They have not kept my standard of living but systematically break me down every chance they get. Tragic situation made 100x worse by insurance company... These companies and the people they work for have no compation no morals just evil compay mandates to uphold SHAME ON THE ENTIRE INDUSRTY!!!!! T
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

my claim was not paid

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by deanna Oct 05, 2016
I had a water damage claim that was not even looked at by adjuster, instead we got a contractor who took a lot of pictures and measured walls, cupboards, floor and even the stairs going to the second floor. The damage was outside on the back wall. The contractors said it wasn't covered which apparently they had decided before they came into our home. My question is why did they come?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

VICTIMIZING THE DISABLED

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by VICTIMIZED BY CO -OP Aug 12, 2016
Being a disabled mute really don't know where to turn my insurer paid for hail damage to the sliding , gutters and down pouts that the hail hammered. I had two hail damage Haag certified inspectors say there is hail damage to roof but yet the guy refusing my claim is only a 5 min drive away, less than 3 miles, who has never even came to inspect my roof is refusing my claim. I feel as i'm being victimized by Co-operators insurance, i got another Haag certified hail inspector coming by tomorrow. As of yet my insurer have refused to meet with any of the hail damage certified contractors I really do believe this Mr Unger character should meet with Jon S. since its only a 5 min drive. Mr Unger appears to be playing God just for the sake of making my life hell and forcing me to shell out nearly 10 thousand dollars out of pocket for damages that 2 inspectors that are hail damage certified have clearly stated. My contractor has offered to meet with Mr Unger, the other one rather not get involved since he worked closely with Co-operators in the past. However I got another coming tomorrow as I stated Mr Unger has not even viewed. I met him afternoon and he appears to think he can pick and chose what qualifies for repair. May I also note I have been a Co-operators insurance customer for nearly 40 years and that several homes on my street have had their roofs covered by insurance ... We will see if Mr Unger agrees to meet with my contractor which, I think, is within reason.. Perhaps, a news story about how the disabled are victimized over and over by the insurance industry is long overdue... I will keep you all updated of this process.. You would think the honorable time for Co-operators would be to at least have their adjuster meet with my contractor on site would you think so.. but, no, he rather sit 3 miles and denied my claim rather than take time to travel the whole 5 mins to inspect the damage his self with my contractor... Regards, William Berry
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Nice people who rip you off

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ms Jul 14, 2016
I have had insurance with co-operators for 22 years with no claims. When a tree branch fell onto my garage roof and damaged it, they sent many people to check it out the same day. After assessing that the repair would cost $2000.00, I only had to to agree to pay a $1000 deductible and agree to a 20% increase to my rates for 5 years, because i am now a bad risk. Wow- what a good deal--NOT!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Working over Fort McMurray

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by FeelingUsed Jul 09, 2016
As if we haven't been through enough cooperators is putting Fort McMurrians through round two by being unfair to their clients to save money. Yes I know, hose the client and you save money. Thats how insurers do it. One good thing that has come out of the natural disaster is we get to see what insurance companies shine when it comes to claims. Unfortunately my "premium" home insurance with cooperators doesn't even come close to what other insurers are doing for their clients with basic coverage. First off, don't call us we'll call you. Terrible service. You can leave voice mail after voice mail and get no response. For 3 weeks. I know their busy but thats not my problem. They make me pay my premiums on time so they should be there for you. When they did get back to me I was nickle and dimed so bad I feelt used and taken advantage of. Loss of Use: I did not have $150 a night to front for a hotel so I had milk off of family and sleep on a sofa for 8 weeks. My policy will pay up to $78,000 for loss of use but since I could not afford to pay for the hotel out of my pocket I'm getting reimbursed $7 a night....yes thats right $7 a night since I stayed with family. I cant even buy them dinner as a thankyou Smoke damage to contents: Upon returning home my house has severe smoke damage. They offered me 3,900% less than TD's standard no negotiating rate. I feel used, abused and taken advantage of. Long story short, with 50,000 people making a claim at the same time for the same loss people talk and the truth come out about who is the best and who treats their clients like scum comes out. TD: comes out on top. They have been more than fair with their customers. If you don't want their cleaners they will pay $82.50/hr which is the going rate for a cleaner. They were also pre-paying for hotel rooms for their clients. Emergency evacuation cheques of $3000-6000 depending on family size were handed out ASAP or as direct deposit. Smoke damaged clothing and bedding is paid out at the drycleaners rate of $400 per bag AMA: middle of the pack. From what I hear their payouts for loss has been a bit of a struggle but if you put up a few stern fights you will get an ok settlement and have to accept some loss to damaged goods. They wont see my business from what I've heard. Cooperators: After fighting for 5 weeks they are willing to pay you $15/hr to clean your home (I wish I had TD right about now). Emergency Evacuation cheques were $5000 for a family and it took 7 weeks and a lot of phone calls to get us the money. Apparently they dont have the technology to wire you the money like other insurers. Little late now, I could have used a place to sleep and maybe some food... Smoke damaged clothing and plush toys being paid out at $10 a bag to get drycleaned....good luck with that one. (I wish I had TD) AVIVA: Well...... If I had aviva I would be crying myself to sleep at night. I thought Cooperators was bad....Yikes. The company is telling people to save receipts and they will decide if they will pay. There is no point in paying for insurance if when you go to make a claim the company has no money to pay. Where did their clients yearly premiums go? A message to cooperators: I have been a client for 40 years. I pay you $8000 a year in premiums. In the 40 years I have never once made a claim. Now when I need you the most after being evacuated for 5 weeks with the clothes on my back, no shoes, no wallet, no ID, no food, $8 dollars in my pocket and this is how you treat me? Thank you..... really... thank you.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

So very disappointed!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Vancouver Jul 01, 2016
I have been with Cooperators for many years, both with contents and strata policies. The level of service I have experience resulting from a burglary last year has left me looking for another insurance company! Not returning calls/emails, insisting I use both policies and pay both deductibles for the burglary, expecting me to live upstairs in my house while they remove my kitchen and replace the damaged floors (from broken glass) and providing NO process I can follow for this claim have left me frustrated and angry. Never mind the fact that the premiums have gone up 60% in the last four years! Really Cooperators, you can do much better than that!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Trying to get an answer

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Joe Strathroy Jun 22, 2016
8 Jun asked local office in Strathroy why premium for home insurance had increased by 22 %, they would look into and contact head office. 21 Jun, they had not contacted anybody and gave lame excuses citing cut in "discount" for new policy of 5% plus increase in premiums, however when asked for figures did not know. Then promised they would contact "underwriter" and call me. Received call now ts a 30 dollar discount loss and increase in premium and I can actually talk to an agent on 24 Jun! My original premium for dwelling was 357 now increased to 411 dollars or 54 dollar increase. All I want to know is why and why does it take so long to get an answer? When I asked for tel no of district office I was refused and told company policy I must speak to agent first, pathetic service avoid Co-operators if you can, they seem to think your at their beck and call instead of remembering about customer service!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?