Independent Home Insurance Reviews

Cooperators Home Insurance Reviews

(89 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
60,392
consumers
(2.3 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Premiums doubled

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MG Jun 20, 2019
After 25 years using Co-Operators as our home insurer, our premiums doubled because they decided to add mandatory coverage that we did not need. When we called to ask why and indicated that we were thinking of cancelling, we were not told that we would be charged a cancellation premium if we didn't cancel by a certain date. It took about 4 phone calls, always with different people, to finally get a complete explanation for why we were being charged a penalty to cancel. I expect better service after 25 claims free years. We've moved on to a new insurer that does not lump all home owners into the same risk category, even when it is not appropriate.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

I don’t recommend Cooperators

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jeff c Jun 02, 2019
We had a basement flood caused by a blocked drain in our walkout. Cooperators sent their contracted investigator out. He assured us the damage would be covered. Talked to someone near Ottawa who denied our claim and became rude and argumentative when I questioned him on his decision. Extremely poor customer service. It took him almost 4 days to deny our claim. If I hadn’t done the tear out of all my carpet, under padding, trim and 1 ft of drywall myself it would have sat their collecting mould for those 4 days. After being denied I found out it still counts as a claim because I notified them and they sent out an investigator to do a report. So frustrating. Cooperators is awful.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very very high premiums

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Gordon C May 30, 2019
Very very high premium with very minimal coverage. The cost went from $1350.00 in 2018 to $2020.00 in 2019 with no claims, I dropped them, and they had no problem with that, I was with them for 46 years. I had to fight with them every year over the last 5 years, enough is enough!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Terrible coverage

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by balog May 21, 2019
Very pleasant folks, but I was very disappointed with the coverage. (or lack of) on water damage in my basement. The entire policy is rigged in their favour with a lot of covering disclaimers so that they don't have to pay. I have been a loyal customer with Aaron Cronk in Oakville for many years but will not be dealing with them again.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Overall pretty good

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by BLS Apr 16, 2019
Unfortunately, I have had several claims with the Cooperators. I have a condo and have had three very unfortunate water accidents in 13 yrs. The first two claims I had with the Cooperators, I would give them 6 stars out of 5 if I could. The adjusters were very polite and kind, very respectful and professional. Returned calls and emails promptly. Amazing... an A+. This time around, I have a claim still in the works, the original adjuster I spoke with was very polite and professional. Wonderful! However, the adjuster that was assigned to my case gets a C-. He doesn't return emails and seems mediocre and uninterested. Of course, my premiums and deductibles have increased, but that is the way of insurance... If it wasn't for the mediocre experience with them this time I would have to give the Cooperators a 5-star rating and would encourage others to give them a try. Thank you
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

IGNORANT AGENT

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PISSED Mar 12, 2019
Went in to get a quote on a house I inherited. It was previously insured by this company for 40 years and has a current policy. Wanted to get a quote to change insurance to my name... sales rep refused to give me a quote. She said I was not going to be living there... WHO IS SHE TO TELL ME WHERE I WILL BE LIVING ...WHAT DOES SHE KNOW THAT I DON'T?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

high rates, low coverage

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy Feb 12, 2019
Horrible, overpriced, less coverage, no responsibility to clients and they have zero accountability. According to the women I talked to at Co-operators head office, she is the only one you can speak to, I caught her in numerous lies and she was rude.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Worst Insurance CO-OPERATORS

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Client from Ottawa Dec 06, 2018
We were customers of Co-operators for over 10 yrs. Recently, we cancelled our home and auto insurance with them. Even though they sent an email that they cancelled the policy, they kept on automatic deduction from our account. When we try to deal with it, the people there were very rude and would not admit that they have made a mistake. The Insurance Agent hung up the call when I tried to explain the error. They are nasty and just a bunch of thieves. Please think twice before dealing with the CO-OPERATORS. Don't waste your hard-earned money.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Scarborough office

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Single mother of 3 Oct 15, 2018
Scarborough Cooperators - worst experience with a company ever. The original broker was a lovely man. The new broker took over, who does not return calls and ignores clients even when issues are urgent. He does not have any idea what policies I held with his office and actually told me I didn’t have any when there are 2 life insurance policies, medical insurance and a home owner’s policy in addition to there being a renter’s policy - at least there was supposed to be one. He actually cancelled my renter’s insurance without any notification and I didn’t find out until 10 months later when I contacted him about a claim. This despite the fact that his office was also covering a vacant home insurance policy and they had been in communication with me more than a dozen times about it and were aware the house was still undergoing repairs/renovations. Initially, he said he would take care of the problem as I had never cancelled the policy myself - but then he never responded and would not return phone calls. Absolutely horrible experience during a very stressful time. Do not go with this broker.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Whitby cooperators disappoints

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MiAjaxRes Oct 05, 2018
We have been with Cooperators for 20 years. Earlier this year the agent left the office and no notifications were sent out. We only found out when we called to make a change in our home insurance. We left a message to be contacted with the new agent's name. One month later no contact nor call back. Was told that the office was "understaffed" and a replacing agent not been found yet. Needless to say, I will be taking my business somewhere else.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Disappointed

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Niagara Aug 24, 2018
Had Co-Operators insurance for my house and 2 vehicles. Then the agent went out of business and left me scrambling to get the house and car insurance. My work started advertising that they could get us a group discount on Co-Operators insurance, I decided to give them a try again. The first year their price was fair for a house and the 2 vehicles. But that was short-lived following a year it increased. No claims on any vehicles or house and no bounce payments. Then called to ask for a price on tenant insurance. Reason wanted to move out first and renovate the house. Never moved out of house nor renovated. Co-Operator without calling instead sent a registered letter stating my house insurance has been cancelled. But my vehicles are still insured. Called another insurance company, got a better price, better customer service and no issues. Called to cancel my vehicle insurance and they had the nerve to hold back some money as I cancelled. Said that's funny you cancelled my house insurance all because I phoned up to get a price on tenant insurance. Horrible insurance company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Brock S Co-operators

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SPECIALISTDR Aug 02, 2018
This branch of Co-operators is horrible. They do not return phone calls - even when urgent (despite the fact that their answering machines say they will get back to you by the end of the business day) - they do not communicate effectively. In fact, they did not answer when they were expecting my call until I blocked my number! When I did call, they said my agent was not in that day and yet I could hear his voice in the background!!! They cancel policies without warning (they claim to have sent a registered letter but when I asked them to show that it had been delivered they could not). Just to put this review into perspective, I decided to go with Co-operators because my sister-in-law's father was the president of the company at the time, so I was a loyal customer for over 20 years. I was absolutely shocked at the way I was treated/ignored. I am a professional in an advanced area that understands customer service. The lack of compassion and empathy displayed by everyone at this office was disgusting!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cooperators is very expensive

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jethro C May 24, 2018
I recently got quotes May 2018, from 4 insurance firms for a home in Edmonton. Each was in the 800.00 range but Cooperators was 1725.00, I insisted that the quote must have been calculated wrong by agent but she insisted that this was the rates they charge and that most of the Cooperators clients pay in the range quoted. This means anyone dealing with Cooperators is being ripped off. Avoid them and if currently with them, get other quotes, you will save a lot.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Making a claim

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Phyllis May 16, 2018
We have house insurance with Cooperators. We had very bad weather one day. Wind and rain in Windsor, ON. We woke up to our main floor family room with the floor flooded. We had never experienced this. We purchased the house 6 years ago. It ended up being a leak in the roof. We had no visible way of knowing this until the floor flooded and we exposed the wall. We made the claim and it was denied because of a seeping water clause. You pay so much money every month on time. You get insurance thinking they have our back. There always seems that they can deny you with the fine print. It's very upsetting. Why do you have insurance I wonder sometimes.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Home insurance

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Fort mac May 13, 2018
Had a claim for smoke and appliance damage in the Fort McMurray fire and they said my insurance wouldn't go up much but it nearly doubled from 3000 to 5700, what a joke of a company
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Completely Incompetent!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Still fighting for my repairs Apr 17, 2018
I have been insured with the Co-operators for 5 years now and in 2017 I had to claim twice for water damage due to negligence from another unit in my building. Everything is fine when all you do is pay your yearly fee, but as soon as you need to make a claim, nobody will return a call or email, you essentially don't exist. Excuses upon excuses, lies, lack of communication, and "preferred vendors" are a complete joke! My repairs should have been limited to new bathroom and bedroom flooring, a small amount of drywall, and paint... I am now heading into the 1-year mark and I'm still fighting tooth and nail to have my repairs completed. Something so simple as using COMPETENT tradespeople seems foreign to them. I am on my 6th adjuster as all the ones before were unable to meet the requirement of DOING THEIR JOB, so I would be given a new adjuster when I complained up the ladder. Even trying to speak to a supervisor or manager is next to impossible. Word to the wise, stay FAR FAR AWAY from using this company. You and your home mean nothing to them but a paycheque, and once you require their services, they will try to deny everything, if you can even get a response back from them at all. The worst customer service I have experienced in my entire life, and I have been forced to re-insure with them as no other company will touch me with two open claims. Thanks for nothing Co-operators, you have been less than stellar and definitely do not live up to your name!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst experience hands down!

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Grumpy Mar 01, 2018
The local office in Clarenville NL is just plain incompetent! I have reached out the office for over a month now to renew home insurance that was due on February 15, 2018. Now it's March 1st and they still haven't got their act together. Just today received registered mail stating my policy would be cancelled in 15 days. I have already made the first monthly payment but somehow they seem to have misplaced it... Trying to reach anyone at the Clarenville office is near impossible and when you do, they never have any answers... keep putting you off. I am at my wit's end. Never again will I get insurance with the Cooperators!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Robbed then dumped..

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shocked Feb 06, 2018
STAY FAR AWAY FROM CO-OPERATORS INSURANCE! We paid our insurance to Co-operators for at least 10 years, they were happy to take our money. When inquired into fixing our deck that was damaged by weather they sent us a notice that our insurance will be cancelled in 15 days. Why are we paying for insurance if a company can give us the boot come claim time? Their reasoning, we phoned twice asking for coverage which means the condition of our premises is a risk. The house is in perfect condition and it's a DECK! How can the number of phone calls we make to them determine the condition of our home?! What we paid them FAR EXCEEDS the cost of replacing a deck. Save yourself the heartache and money....go with another provider!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Water leak

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Playdough Jan 25, 2018
I have my home,car and motorcycle insurance with cooperator for many year now. I when with this company because I'm offered a discount with them through my work. Witch I don't think is much of a discount in my apinion. I had a leak around my chimney and water leaked on to my tv witch I purchased for $1500. I only got to enjoy it for eleven day and by the time I notice the leak it was to late. I decided to make a claim. I figured why not that's why I pay for home insurance. After speaking to them and sending them picture. It didn't take them long to deny my claim I was told this kind of leak is not covered. I was disappointed with them. I've never made a claim before and aways paid on time. Its real amazing to me how insurance company's can do this to hard working people. I will be looking for a different company as soon as my policy is up. I will not be loyal to any of these companies anymore. I will shop around every few years to get the best rates possible.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Too hard to deal with

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Leithann Jan 02, 2018
Had a break-in up north in the early spring. We had theft coverage but it took three phone calls for someone to actually discover that. When they finally did admit we had theft insurance their excuse for not checking with the other calls was that most clients don't have on cottage property and the customer service agent I spoke to was new. We have never made a claim in 40 plus years but when we tried we were discouraged from making the claim. The reasoning: do we know what it will do to our premiums and how much they will increase and for how long?... We ended up NOT making a claim. After the cottage was sold I wanted to cancel the coverage on it and our home as I did not like the way I was treated. Even that was a problem, cancelling the cottage insurance was easy as we were selling but cancelling the house insurance... I told them the date I wanted it cancelled and the sales rep was trying to convince me to keep it until I had set up the new insurance. When I assured her I would not be without house insurance between her policy and the new one starting she still tried to keep me. It was like she did not trust me with my own insurance needs.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by yacuchaj Nov 07, 2017
I spoke with them over the phone to cancel our insurance, 2 months later they send us a letter saying we owe them a $50 cancellation fee, saying my phone conversation with one of their reps, wasn't on file. Definitely would not recommend going with them, there are better rates out there with other insurance companies who won't gouge you when you cancel your plan.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Client for years

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by James W. Nov 04, 2017
30 plus years with the company. Had a few bumps in the road. Last 3 years have been amazing at the Whitby ON agency. The agent who took over has provided us with the most amazing service year after year. Always calls back when he says he will. Thoroughly explains everything about our policy renewals, even how the increases were calculated. I honestly know more about insurance since he became our agent. I can’t speak for all the other locations but if you’re in Ontario, you want Chazz Okparanta to be your agent. This young man is the best they got.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cooperators = Crooks

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Robert J. Sep 20, 2017
I insured my home with Cooperators for 13 years because I had my auto insurance with them. Twice I had damage to my home that was caused by extreme weather, it should have been covered by my policy, but both times an adjuster was sent, my premises evaluated and photographed and then my claims denied. I then had to pay out of pocket for serious repairs, not knowing where to go I asked the Cooperators adjuster for a recommendation. I contacted the recommended contractor and ended up with poor workmanship, unresolved problem and a large bill. If you enjoy paying inflated rates and receiving no claims support, this is the company for you! Just be aware that when you find a better price elsewhere that gives better coverage, Cooperators will penalize you heavily financially for leaving anytime that is not in your renewal month. I recommend you go anywhere else.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Think twice

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Helen L. Sep 04, 2017
Please do your homework before signing the contract. Carefully. Buyer beware. Look at all your options prior to purchasing
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cooperators has been awful.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by papayapearls Aug 31, 2017
Dealing with this company has become the absolute worst experience of our lives. They have stonewalled my parents on a home insurance claim for over a year now. And now, the damage to the home has gotten so bad that an engineer, we had to hire, because co-operators refused to do so, has determined the home is too dangerous to live in. And co-operators is even refusing to pay for my 88 and 86 year-old parents to relocate. They are being forced to re-locate without even knowing how long they have to relocate and at great expense, while trying to cope with the fact their insurance company has totally abandoned them, their home is cracking apart, and their health is failing. The lack of empathy or care from cooperators is exponentially unforgivable. Save yourselves from this kind of horrific treatment. Do not purchase any insurance product from this company!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Huge Rate Increases!

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nick Aug 01, 2017
After only 1 year of being with Cooperators, they increased my premium by 15%! Did my home increase in value? No. Did I add features or reduce my deductible? No. I did lose my 5% "new signing discount" so that leaves 10% less. After calling Cooperators they claim it's because of "all these new features that you're getting." More likely, it's because you brought me in at a low rate and will continue to increase my annual premium by 10%. Could you imagine if public insurance/utilities did this?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The do not cooperate at all

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Mike C Jul 26, 2017
Instead of being there for me and providing insurance after a storm, they denied any coverage and threatened to cancel my insurance afterwards. I had a legitimate claim that should have been covered. It was bad enough they denied me, then they had the audacity to tell me if it wasn't fixed within a month, my insurance would be cancelled. I've been fighting with 5 different contractors to get this fixed and resolve and they will not empathize with my situation. Even though they know the process takes more than a month, they will continue to push you out the door. Do not sign up with these guys, they do anything but cooperate with you. Just another insurance company out to take advantage of you and care less when you need it the most.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Great service

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by The Buffer Apr 08, 2017
Have been with Co-operators for many years and in different provinces and have been very pleased with the service. Had a 3 year review of policy and they have saved me some money. The Dartmouth office staff are excellent and very helpful. Last year had a home claim and could not say enough about the service and assistance. Excellent all around in time of stress. Would recommend to others.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

NO LOYALTY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cotte Apr 07, 2017
I had a flood in my basement, luckily I could fix it by hitting the sump pump and it started again, so I prevented further damages. I only called insurance because I noticed puddles and I stressed it's under my floorboards. I've been waiting 4 hours for someone to come without even telling them I've fixed it from further damage... My house could be completely flooded right now and I still would have had to wait 4 hours. I have been with this company for 17 years and this is my first claim. So disappointed. NO LOYALTY!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

WORST INSURANCE COMPANY EVER

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Volk Apr 07, 2017
first of all i had my home insured as vacant for about a year. I was repetedly harrased by their staff over the phone and email, I was told me that they can cancel my policy because it was a high risk. Later when i changed my policy and moved in to my place shortly i had major flood. Without any investigation i was told I'm not cover because i didn't have alot of things in my apartment according to the plumbing company that came over. In conclusion i had to hire a lawer and spend tons of money and repair the place myself. Eventhough i ended up winning in courts it took almost two and half years to get any money back.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?