Home Insurance Reviews

Cooperators Home Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(118 reviews)
Cooperators
2.2 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Cheap Home Insurance?

  • Rates from 20+ insurers
  • Stop overpaying today
  • Save over $300 annually

Get an instant quote

Filter

Most helpfull reviews

Terrible Experience

by Formercustomer1 on Aug 28, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

They just pulled my insurance because I’ve started a small home business. 29+ years with them, not a single claim and I get terminated. Avoid them… used to be a good caring company… terrible service and no return for loyalty these days.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Terrible Company

by yes on Aug 13, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Employees have poor etiquette and a lack of patience. Payout isn't within a reasonable time. Would not recommend at all.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

NOT a Fan of Cooperators!

by Unhappy on Aug 11, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

When Cooperators wanted to "inspect" one of our homes they "sent" a "professional" to do that. But that "professional" merely called to ask questions then requested photos & did not actually go to the premises. We duly sent photos and she forwarded a report to the Cooperators who then gave us a list of what they wanted "repaired," including a roof replacement. At the time we had serious issues taking precedence: a dying parent, upcoming surgery, and Covid. They gave us a year to comply but Covid continues and now they've sent a letter to say they're not renewing the coverage. We're claim and mortgage-free and have had 4 policies with Cooperators for 2 decades OMG...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.

Claim for home - water damage

by Reanne D. on Aug 10, 2021
5 out of 5 stars

Hello, I recently had fairly extensive water damage to my place. My experience with Cooperators was fantastic. They were great at getting the job done and restoring. They were very fair regarding getting the quotes approved and any compensation to me. The agent I dealt with was excellent, professional, supportive and attentive. Overall, very good experience with them and very highly recommended from my experience. It's so nice when you have a good insurance policy that is there for you when you need them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

CLAIM FOR HOME FLOOD

by SEVERELY DISAPPOINTED on Apr 5, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I had a flood in my home on March 14th. Called in was told this is a Sun so no one can help me until Monday. Was never asked about my family nor myself having anywhere to go. Monday phone again was told to send in pics and file out claims sheets. Did as I was told. Still not no concern. Had no stove. All appliances were damaged, asked about meals was told they cover 75% of meals and I would have had to buy grocery anyways and not to go overboard with ordering food (nice eh). When I finally got a settlement, I was given not even half of what my claims was for and told they are not just going to give me money as I may not replace all the things. So they will give me this money and if I spend more they may see about giving me the difference. This is my second claim in 22 years. If I could financially afford to pull my policy with these people I would in a heart beat. The flood was disheartening enough without this bull. If I could give them any lower rating, trust me I would.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

12 years, 0 claims, ripped off

by UnCooperator on Mar 27, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

After 12 years with Cooperators with 0 claims, I got a renewal policy with a 40% increase on my home policy and a 30% increase in my auto policy. Attempts to negotiate reasonable rates with them did not work and of course, other insurance companies did offer more competitive rates.
Called to cancel 1 day late and they are charging me an obscene termination fee of $510 dollars.
After spending 45 minutes on the phone they couldn't provide me with the information of how the cancellation fee is calculated and it is not stated in the policy document either under the cancellation section so very very shady practice to put it in mild words.
I honestly would have expected a bit more sympathy after 12 years with zero claims.
From my perspective, they really don't care about you as a customer and will rip you off at the smallest chance available.
I cannot imagine what would have happened if I had had a claim.
I would stay away from this company.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.

Farm policy 20% rate increase

by Robert on Mar 1, 2021
3.5 out of 5 stars

I don't know what to think. I have had a farm policy with Co-Operators for years with no claims, or changes. I renewed my policy for 2021 and noticed it had a 20% increase with no explanation. I can find nothing online to support this, most sites suggest 2-3% as to be expected. I wonder if the rate increase was supposed to be calculated at 1.02 % and the girl made an error of 1.20 %. Easy mistake, but her dad owns the brokerage and, well, I'm at a loss as to find the answer. Yes, I will be looking around. If I find what I expect to, I will be taking multiple policies with me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Overbills + Hostile Service

by RM on Oct 22, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

The payment didn't go through on my credit card. Cooperators proceeded to bill me 4x over for the single month. When I called to tell them they've billed me 4x over, they got one of their attack dog employees who probably doubles as a loan shark to start yelling at me about paying insurance. Dropped this company immediately afterwards.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

3 hours on hold.

by AMW on Oct 17, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

3 hours on hold, 1/2 hour talking to customer service, the issue not solved, have to call back. Not going to happen my time is more important. Sent a request via email, promised a response within 24 hours, NOTHING.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.

Unjust penalty $288

by honestjohn on Oct 15, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

My home insurance was automatically renewed without notice. I called to inquire about my home insurance a week after it had already been renewed. I informed the representative that for a better policy another insurance company had offered $800 less than what the Cooperators had renewed my Policy for. He told me that the Cooperators had many claims the previous year and so as a community insurance company prices increase for all their customers. It is important to note that I had made no claims ever. So I told him seeing that I had not notified of the renewal and since it had only been a week since the policy renewed that I wanted to cancel it because an $800 difference was way too much for me to absorb. I was then told that I would have to pay a penalty of $288. I found this amount unjust. I would have understood a nominal fee but not $288 for 1 week of insurance. I am happy to say that I left the Cooperators for another insurer and I am not looking back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo