Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(69 reviews)
Manulife
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Worst company in the universe

by lemeshev on Feb 3, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

My deceased dad took out an annuity for my mom from Manulife sometime before his death in 2012... My mom's accountant flagged in 2021 that my mother was being taxed on an amount from this Manulife annuity that was not in her bank account. THE UPSHOT IS THAT MANULIFE HAD BY LAW BEEN REQUIRED TO MAKE A PAYOUT TO MY MOTHER EVERY YEAR BUT NEGLECTED TO DO SO FROM 2012 TO 2021. Yet they reported to the government that they sent the money to my mother so she had to pay tax on it. I called in April of 2021 and was unable to get past the guard of twenty-somethings whose sole job is to keep customers from getting the information they need. We talked to Rose, James, Ron etc etc etc - no last names of course. "We will provide you with that information in seven business days" No information was forthcoming. We called again. "We will provide you with that information before the end of the day" No call - no information. This went on through May. I said at one point that I would like to talk to Rose's manager "No, you can't" was Rose's response. Finally, in June one of them said that they didn't know who I was and I needed to provide them with my dad's death certificate and fill out a lengthy form as to why I should have this information. (They already had the POA I sent them stating that I was authorized to act for my mother) My father died in 2012 and a death certificate was sent to them in 2012. Another was sent in 2014 and yet another in 2017. I also had to provide my POA. This document was sent to them in 2012. "Just go to the file and pull the documents - you already have them," I said. "We won't do that" Was the reply. I resisted the impulse to say that "yes - my father is just as dead now as he was in 2012" That was definitely a low point having to prove that he was still dead repeatedly. Was satire required? "Yes, he faked his own death at the age of 92 in order to defraud Manulife out of a lousy $21,000 policy." We ran into a brick wall so I sent the package of notes that I had been keeping of every phone call to the Ombudsman. Lo and behold! We get a call from 'James'. "I am a TEAM LEADER," he said "I am here to help you" "You could start by paying my mother the interest that you earned by keeping her money for the last 8 years" "We don't do that" was the reply. After weeks of dealing with 'James', the money was eventually restored but we never did find out why the money was withheld for 8 years. Manulife is impossible to deal with. The action was only forthcoming because we notified the Ombudsman. Another low point - I was told that I needed to get my 96-year-old mother suffering from dementia to sign a form authorizing me to act on her behalf. I told them that, due to her dementia, she was incapable of doing so and YOU ALREADY HAVE THE POA THAT SPECIFIES THAT I ACT FOR HER. Avoid Manulife if you possibly can. They are terrible people. If you can't avoid them I would advise going directly to the Ombudsman so as not to waste the three months we did dealing with people on the phone. On an end note - we never did find out why they didn't make payments to my mother for 8 years.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poor Customer Service

by Jeff Trynchy on Jan 28, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

Not only do claims reimbursements typically take longer than 7 days, but the customer service is also terrible. That is if you can even get through to an agent on their customer support line.
What absolutely floors me is that insurance companies like Manulife make millions if not billions of dollars a year and yet they can't properly fund a call support centre.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Manulife is so bad

by jk on Jan 18, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

So the company I am with uses Manulife for the insurance. I have had nothing but issues with Manulife. I attached and sent all support documents for a claim but they always come back with some document that they need to approve the claim which my doctors say they don't provide. Manulife customer service representatives are constantly telling me wrong information and then I get countless emails about different guidelines that seem to change every claim. They truly make it very hard for you to even get a claim approved even with so much support, signed by the doctor documents.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).

Worst help

by Dhwani Patel on Jan 12, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

They don't help in claims. My money has been stuck with them for 5 months and they don't respond at all! Neither through phone nor email. I hate their service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Crazy

by Harroon on Jul 7, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

A simple dental claim takes them months to do an inquiry! Crazy company! I would not prefer this company.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Manulife dragging out claim.

by Ausmo on Sep 12, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

Manulife insured a school trip well before COVID-19. The trip was cancelled just before departure. A claim was submitted with the exact required paperwork. The families were told it will take time to process. 6 months have passed. Parents getting extremely frustrated. Repeatedly Manulife said it was only delayed due to claim. They even told us the settlement would be in early September. Now they say they are waiting on additional request paperwork. This is the first anyone had heard of this. They are stalling. Some parents are going to the major media. Others are prepping to sue. The school districts should refrain from using Manulife moving forward.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

Life claim

by Doe on Aug 25, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

My documents show that it was “on file “ that “ I am the beneficiary” for my spouse's basic life. Manulife is refusing to give the sum to me as the beneficiary due to them apparently not being able to find all their necessary signed paperwork. When did someone apparently not doing their job become my responsibility and problem? If when my spouse would go online and print out their benefit plan and everything shows that they have on file the correct designated beneficiary and so forth how is it fair that when it comes down to having an issue that money accordingly that they deny the stated beneficiary the amount as the beneficiary because they can’t find their ‘signed’ paperwork. Our documents are our confirmation that all is in order. And then they suggest for the beneficiary to open an estate account that seems unnecessary and odd. Finally, after months of back and forth, they issue the cheque but not the full amount of my spouse's pay and in accordance to what they stated I was entitled to in a letter sent to me. Therefore, once again leaving me to wait for management to figure out the problem and more time goes by without receiving money that I am entitled to and not in the way that I feel it states I should receive it. In my experience, there seem to be a lot of discrepancies and I feel that during a very difficult time in my life Manulife made it more difficult mentally, emotionally and financially for myself. Based on my experience, I do not recommend Manulife to any company, person or family.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible

by Andrea on Mar 7, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

You pay for your benefits yet they ask for a doctor's note every time you want to go for a massage or chiropractor even through what you pay for. This company is a scam.
For someone that has a back problem, it is incredibly time-consuming for me to go to the doctor to get the diagnosis every time I want to use my benefits. DONT waste your time with Manulife.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics