Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

(210 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
182,246
consumers
(1.6 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Difficult to Deal With

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TG Oct 09, 2020
In my career, I've dealt with several insurance companies and never had a complaint, but in the three years I've been with Manulife, it's been almost non-stop. Everything is a battle with this company, and when you manage to get a representative to look at your case, they give you a short window of time to mail (yes, physically mail) or fax your documents to them. Their goal seems to be to wear you down so you give up on your claim, or getting your spouse added to your plan, which was arbitrarily rejected. Most recently, they stopped covering my son's medication in full. When I inquired, it was because I wasn't getting a generic version. I asked the pharmacist about this and he stated there is no generic version of this medication. I got in touch with Manulife about this again, and they gave me two days to fax them the receipt (which the pharmacist sent them electronically...). I have no access to a fax, so here's hoping an email will work. At this point, I'm not optimistic. I've tried to straight-up cancel this insurance but there's only one week every two years I'm allowed to make changes to my plan. Time to check with HR and see if it's coming up soon.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Terrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by A student Sep 24, 2020
Had our school trip cancelled due to Covid, and submitted the letter of cancellation from the school board 6 months ago. I am now a university student and am currently missing $5k for a trip that I never got to go on. This is upsetting as there has been no feedback from Manulife until a week ago when the teacher in charge of our trip emailed their complaint liaison. They have withheld our money for 6 months. At least get back to us on where it stands.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Manulife dragging out claim.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ausmo Sep 12, 2020
Manulife insured a school trip well before COVID-19. The trip was cancelled just before departure. A claim was submitted with the exact required paperwork. The families were told it will take time to process. 6 months have passed. Parents getting extremely frustrated. Repeatedly Manulife said it was only delayed due to claim. They even told us the settlement would be in early September. Now they say they are waiting on additional request paperwork. This is the first anyone had heard of this. They are stalling. Some parents are going to the major media. Others are prepping to sue. The school districts should refrain from using Manulife moving forward.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Life claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Doe Aug 25, 2020
My documents show that it was “on file “ that “ I am the beneficiary” for my spouse's basic life. Manulife is refusing to give the sum to me as the beneficiary due to them apparently not being able to find all their necessary signed paperwork. When did someone apparently not doing their job become my responsibility and problem? If when my spouse would go online and print out their benefit plan and everything shows that they have on file the correct designated beneficiary and so forth how is it fair that when it comes down to having an issue that money accordingly that they deny the stated beneficiary the amount as the beneficiary because they can’t find their ‘signed’ paperwork. Our documents are our confirmation that all is in order. And then they suggest for the beneficiary to open an estate account that seems unnecessary and odd. Finally, after months of back and forth, they issue the cheque but not the full amount of my spouse's pay and in accordance to what they stated I was entitled to in a letter sent to me. Therefore, once again leaving me to wait for management to figure out the problem and more time goes by without receiving money that I am entitled to and not in the way that I feel it states I should receive it. In my experience, there seem to be a lot of discrepancies and I feel that during a very difficult time in my life Manulife made it more difficult mentally, emotionally and financially for myself. Based on my experience, I do not recommend Manulife to any company, person or family.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Travel Insurance nonsense

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dennis B Aug 17, 2020
My daughter purchased travel insurance from Manulife and now because all travel globally has been cancelled, they have denied her claim! 1. Purchased a trip south early this year prior to any knowledge of Covid-19 was in the media. Was pushed to purchase the "Premium" Travel insurance by the tour operator... more expensive. 2. COVID-19 hit and Canada along with every other country globally shut down borders. 3. Her airline along with every other airline cancelled all flights. 4. Submitted a claim to Manulife and waited months without any feedback. Months later go a basic email say claim denied! 5. She took it up with the dispute and they said she didn't submit all the data needed for the claim. She submitted EXACTLY everything they asked for. Then they told her she needs a trip cancellation invoice from the tour operator (that was not asked for prior). 6. Submitted again and still waiting a month later. So the end result, don't get any travel insurance through Manulife!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Added fees, no notification

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by M.N. Jul 28, 2020
I noticed on a recent statement that they started charging me fees for my holdings. When I initially opened an account with them in 2018 I was told there are no fees. The fees began in May 2019. I hadn't been checking statements closely because I had set up the account as a passive investment vehicle. When I called to find out what the fees were and they said "we started charging fees in 2019 and you were notified" even though I never received any explicit mail or email stating such. When I asked for a fair solution to these usurious fees I met with dispassion and excuses on why nothing could be done. This is why I don't go with "big bank" like companies, they all charge fees and treat their own clients unfairly.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

BUNCH OF CROOKS

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Diane Jul 06, 2020
CROOKS. THAT IS WHAT THIS COMPANY IS! My Father paid into Manulife for over 50 years. He took ill and was in the hospital for a couple of months. He was put on life support at one point. Meantime his bill came in from Manulife, saying his policy was cancelled because he missed two payments. He lived by himself, the family lived outside the province, I contacted Manulife, and explained to them of Dad's illness, and asked them if I can make the payments when Dad comes home from the hospital? That I am very concerned about my Father's poor health, at this time they told me straight out that his insurance was cancelled and they could not wait for payments! Where did 50 years of my Father's hard-earned money go? That is how they treated my Father! I will never recommend this company to anyone, not even my worst enemy!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Designated benificiary

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Designated benificiary Jun 12, 2020
My wife passed away five years ago. She had purchased a life insurance policy from Standard life (bought out by Manulife) for $25000 and named me as the designated beneficiary. In the legal fun and games, the lawyer for her estate filed a "statement of claim against her pension from Alberta Health Services. Just to confuse things and create havoc, he sent the document to Manulife, even though Manulife or the life insurance policy is not even mentioned. Apparently Manulifes lawyers don't know the meaning of "designated". If I designate a beneficiary, then I want that person to receive that benefit. I would strongly caution others against investing in a company (Manulife in this case) that does not honor the wishes of their clients.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by zpa Apr 07, 2020
Terrible service, no customer value, no details in an email or online account, the poor app on android...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Deceitful company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by AD Apr 04, 2020
My wife and I took out a policy 2 years ago. She asked some very specific questions and was told that it does cover certain dental work she needed when she got the work done and filed for coverage as we were told to we got denied. Manulife said it's not covered despite the paperwork we signed saying it was. They refused to cover anything, so we cancelled the policy. She called in to find out how to cancel it and went through the process on the phone with them. They kept taking money from our account for 6 months after it was cancelled. Do not go near this company. They are dishonest and don't care about you one bit.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Not Worth it.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by E Apr 02, 2020
I paid $250 for my doctor to fill out paperwork describing why I cannot work. I was declined benefits and lost the money from the paperwork. Mental health is a real issue and this contributes to it negatively. If your doctor says you need time off, then you need time off.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

TERRIBLE SERVICE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mary Mar 20, 2020
My extended medical changed to Manulife this year and it’s been errors, frustration and miscalculations ever since. How does a big company like Manulife not know how to add simple math folks. They even cut us off with no notice! This is serious because we pay out about $600 month to prescription.... many phone conversations trying to figure out why with a person on the other end of the phone I couldn’t understand because of her accent... Philippine maybe? They do not reimburse us at the percentage we’re supposed to be reimbursed at. We lose money every month. Still emailing and phoning.. they ignoring me. This is unacceptable! I think they think people will just get so frustrated and just give up. Rip off!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

critical care

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by spy Mar 07, 2020
Don't bother with this useless company! They only want money and try to figure out how not to pay out when an illness occurs...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

This company is a SCAM

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by angrycustomer Feb 25, 2020
If they calculated your benefit wrongly, you will never see the money back. Stay away!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

This company is a SCAM

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by angrycustomer Feb 25, 2020
As others have mentioned, it is very difficult to submit a claim and get your benefit paid. The benefit paid does not reflect the amount eligible. Especially if they have calculated wrongly, you will never receive your money back. If you try to call, they will tell you that they will do further investigation and will provide you with an update. When they email you, you will not be able to reply back. If you send a note, they will not reply as well. Stay away from this company!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Easy to deal with

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ben Feb 22, 2020
As both a client (my family and) and as a broker who can sell ANY Health and Dental, I am found having my benefits accepted at the pharmacy and using the online claim process for my eyewear (many places accept Manulife in the store but where I bought my glasses, they didn't accept any insurance claims). The ease to use the services is a good a can be.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Change coverage without notice

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PM Feb 16, 2020
Signed up post-retirement insurance. Increased premiums every year then don't cover after 2+ years, saying it was a mistake. They hide information too.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Never get a claim submitted

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by hate manulife Jan 29, 2020
Absolutely horrible online platform. So infrequent to submit a claim. Despite writing down all their numbers they require you get kicked out and then locked out after 2 tries - all so they don't have to pay you because it is such a nightmare to submit a dental cleaning. NEVER USE THIS COMPANY!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Pregnant wife denied

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by justsaynotomanulife Jan 28, 2020
Denied my wife's claim for 6 months. 3 appeals later and the final appeal was denied as well. This was for work (manufacturing). She claimed she was more than capable of her regular duties at work despite multiple letters from her OB. This might be the WORST insurance company. I would not recommend for any kind of service. I wouldn't let them insure a bicycle let alone anything to do with my family.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Online Enrollment

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Phil Jan 17, 2020
I wasn't done with my online enrolment then it just saved right away. I tried to log in again and it just showing dental benefits. Manulife online is very poor.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dissatisfied Jan 15, 2020
When submitting an extended medical claim, unless your service provider is on their teeny tiny list of pre-approved providers, expect to wait 2-3 weeks for reimbursement of your claim, not the 5 days they advertise. Their reimbursement amounts also do not change with inflation meaning coverage is poor. Oddly enough, they also have some items (ex: massage) that have an annual maximum AND a visit maximum (far below the service cost). This makes no sense. It should be one or the other. Also, don't bother sending a message using their messaging system. A representative will reply with something generic that completely ignores your question/concern. They email you from a "no-reply" email address so you can't even respond. This insurance company is a joke. AVOID
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Worst company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed customer Jan 13, 2020
Terrible terrible terrible... I don't know how these guys still exist! Only employers who want to pay the cheapest premium choose these guys because their service is the worst. I really hope my employer will move to somewere else. Does Manulife determine what medicine I should take? Are you my family doctor or insurance provider?
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Screwed out

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kristy C Dec 19, 2019
Screwed out of LTD, transferred to many people over many days who know nothing of my case or investigate inquiry (I have CPP) selling me a plan that wasn’t correct (told me no conversion to personal when leaving the group plan). I have a lawyer if I need one, reading all this it sounds like they get away with fraud, poor customer service, rudeness... I have never had a conversation yet that didn’t end in me crying, they don’t listen, talk over you when trying to answer their questions then get aggressive because I am told my story a billion times but no one knows where my file is! They should have it! After paying into LTD forever they screw me over when I need it for real! NEVER deal with them because they won’t deal with you once they have your money good luck! If there is a doctor shortage you’ll get dropped before you get a diagnosis! You didn’t see me through the hard times! You kicked me while I was down and then blamed me for not getting a disability according to the chart of “how to do disability according to Manulife”. I am now broke and homeless thanks a lot! I have worked full time since 15 in the same career, plus ran for provincial elections in my field, a college instructor and worked for a governing body, all at the same time as running a business with 9 staff! Then my world crashed and everything I build went along with my income and my abilities.. anyway...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

do not cast the claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by unflinching1 Dec 17, 2019
I am shocked to read similar experiences from other reviewers and it just helps me understand the extent of their excuses to evade their obligation to work with affected employees and arsenal of gimmicks to shut down a valid case - after of course - taking their sweet time - is astonishing... Although I have 5 year+ of direct experience as frontline CS representative - my current job with up to 100 calls per shift with mostly unhappy folk you try to work with - will curb your enthusiasm even if you are tenured professional with accolades for exceptional service. After six months with my present company, I have developed tinnitus in my left ear - which according to my employer could at best be a case for a work accommodation claim... However, pressures of a toxic work environment that come from poor systems and indifferent and incompetent management led me to a meltdown by the end of the first year. It took me another 6 months of this abusive situation to finally understand I am developing full-blown anxiety and depression... Upon submitting a claim with Manulife - getting my attending physician to share his findings, and extend the initial 2-week absence by another 2 weeks - I get to talk to 3rd Case Manager - who flatly during our phone call ( I encourage anyone to decline the "all calls are recorded" disclosure and insist to meet in person with someone from Manulife so they cannot twist your input around ) - advised me that unfortunately, Manulife cannot support my claim - due to my symptoms being directly worked place related (!?!) - which is outside of their scope... The person half my age with no medical training whatsoever and zero empathy - made me feel insignificant for a brief instant - while I was processing the shock. This was an expensive way for me to learn what a pathetic scam this is... If you value your time - steer clear of Manulife. There are plenty of better alternatives out there.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Manulife is the worst company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Aaaaa Dec 16, 2019
Manulife insurance is the absolute worst. It’s just one big ping pong game to them. I went to go make a claim back in September and was informed I have to wait 60 days before I can make a claim (that was their first lie of many). I phone back 60 days later and they tell me off for not making the claim sooner. I then get all my forms filled out and send them in. I weekly call them for an update and they said they have everything just waiting for medical info from my doctor so I ask them to fax the form to my doctor again. Long story short they wasted a month of my time just to tell me they haven’t received any of my forms. So I asked them then why would you tell me you have received everything. It has been over three months since my accident and they have put me back at square one telling me they have no information on my claim what’s so ever. Manulife is the worst insurance company and the fact it’s come to the point of needing a lawyer is ridiculous. The emotional trauma and stress they put on you are out of this world. Not to mention my mom passed in March and her work went through Manulife and whenever I call Manulife for an update on my mortgage protection claim...for some reason every time I have to tell them my mom is gone. I have yet to figure out why they do this cruel thing but again the emotional stress they put on you. All I have to say is any other insurance company would be better then Manulife
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Short Term Disability

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by RG Nov 21, 2019
Worst company to deal with- if you’ve got 4 months to spare with no income coming in, waiting for Manulife to sort out your case manager that ends up on his own leave of absence and they decide it’s not important to get back to his case files— this is the company for you! I got the pleasure of being transferred to a case manager after 1.5 months of being off to representative who was constantly on vacation and now 4 months later to get a response saying because I’ve chosen to take a holistic approach to my health and not pump my body with pharmaceutical drugs, as they want me to- I am now declined for short term disability. This company is a joke, quick to take their money but when you need to rely on what YOU pay for, they take their sweet time just to decline you. Your website states you’ve stream lined the process to have quicker responses - that’s another lie. News flash, there’s other ways of healing your body other than drugs- oddly enough my own doctor won’t prescribe me anything because he also doesn’t believe everything needs a drug! Get with the times you joke of a company!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by gonzy11 Nov 12, 2019
I was inquiring about why I was declined and how I can change it to approval and was transferred over 8 times and people transferred me without letting me know and also without giving the next person any information about my situation! Then, when I finally get a response it was to send a letter! ARE YOU SERIOUS?! It is 2019 and I need a quick response and a letter is the only solution. I can't call or email?! This entire company is a joke and seems to be stuck in the 1800s! Wouldn't surprise me if they asked me to send my concerns via carrier pigeon!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Terrible customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by michael1123 Nov 05, 2019
For many years, when I needed to call customer support, I had to wait half an hour, at least, and sometimes not get an answer at all. At every medical facility I have been in, staff members complain that Manulife is the worst they have to deal with.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Complete Joke

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Run Oct 29, 2019
It would be better to go with any other company. They are only in the business of taking your money and giving you nothing in return. Horrible. Don't waste your time or your money. Example with their health insurance. We pay to have 100% coverage for massages and chiropractor services. If they don't feel the cost of the service if low enough, they do not reimburse the 100% cost. Rather an amount they feel is suitable for the service. It has happened to us twice now. We went for massages with a registered massage therapist, summited our receipts with all the information required, and were given a portion of the amount back. It's an absolute joke. If I could give lower than one star, I would.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Unreasonable Process

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by annoyed Oct 26, 2019
In response to a question on the application form for a group benefits plan, I mentioned I saw a therapist for depression five years ago. I included a month and year, and length of time. They freaked out and sent me a letter saying the information was incomplete. There was a three-page form I had to fill out which included questions like "list every date you have ever had any indication of stress or anxiety," as if everyone walks around with notepads jotting down the date of every moment they have ever been stressed. Not to mention the insinuation that I was withholding information, and the incredibly personal questions that weren't really medical in nature. It didn't help that I couldn't even log into their website because they want my banking information.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?