Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(53 reviews)
Manulife
2.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Refused to refund

by Steve Vanderstelt on Oct 14, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

After signing up through a representative over the phone I noticed I had been charged twice for 2 months on my credit card and after calling them I was told to forward my statement to their customer service email.
After doing so they just told me they don't issue refunds, so I have been paying for 2 policies totalling $600 a month.
After the first reply email telling me they don't issue refunds I have received no responses since despite my continued emails.
It's infuriating that they would take money from unsuspecting like this and just hide behind their policies to justify theft.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Worst customer experience

by ES on Oct 12, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Try to change my policy address and bank account to my US address and customer service doesn't know how to enter a US address. Kept me 70 min on the phone and then tells me there is a system problem.
Cannot understand a US postal code format.
Still on the phone

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst customer service ever!

by Fed up in Montreal on Aug 13, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Everything is hard to do or find on their site. You can't contact them directly because their call centre is impossible to get through to and if you send them an email they say two business days to respond but it's more like two weeks, if then. Even the simplest things like changing your language preference which should be super simple are hard. On top of that, they cover less than previouse insurer and it's hard to find out how to submit estimates or find out why they disallowed charges.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).

Worst insurance provider

by OntarioUser on Jul 13, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Claims made towards the end of the insurance period, before transitioning to another provider are NEVER paid. It is very hard to get any response from them. They decline the claims for unrelated responses.

Worst insurance provider since ever. In the end, the employee will be forced to lose interest in tracking with them and let the claim unpaid.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Crazy

by Harroon on Jul 7, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

A simple dental claim takes them months to do an inquiry! Crazy company! I would not prefer this company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Cancellation

by biagio on Jun 17, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Very difficult to stop payments after sending in stop payment by email yet they remove the following month's payment the only option go to a bank and stop auto withdraws. No one seems to know what to do. No help by phone, waiting long periods of time on hold to try to speak with anyone with knowledge but yet no help. On the phone for 1 hour and 15 min... No one cares only get monies for customers. I have been with them for over 20 years yet they do not care will never use them again for personal insurance better off without shamefull and uncaring.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.

Won't cover adhd

by Camille Salter on Mar 5, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

Funny, they've got a big web page all about how they're helping they're insured with mental health etc etc., and then exclude ADHD treatment from my coverage plan.

Misleading copy. Smacks of disreputable behaviour. I will be going elsewhere.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Unprofessional

by DentalRecep on Feb 25, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Called Manulife from a dental office spent 37 mins on hold. Spoke to Jed put me on hold for another 15 mins for a breakdown to only disconnect the phone call once he answered and not calling the office back. The worst customer service and wait times.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Bad customer service

by izy on Feb 24, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

I was trying to change the payment method to annually from monthly as it will be slightly cheaper. The customer rep told me there is not such a thing. I just need to pay 12 X what I pay monthly. I explained that I have a quote and it shows cheaper and also other insurance companies always give me a better rate. But she kept saying no and I asked her to ask someone else she ignored me a few times. Now I am again to talk with another rep.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.

Very bad company

by Mike on Jan 19, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

They try not to pay you for any reason. After submitting the dental claim, they didn't give me any response until I called them. Then, they need EOB. The thing is they should ask this early and let us know.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo