Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

(135 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
94,111
consumers
(1.7 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

no refund

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by janders Jun 08, 2018
They messed up my coverage and overcharged me by 420. I'm not a millionaire and that hurt. Each weekly pay they promise to pay it back. They never do. Total fraud. Would never deal again with them
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Manulife is a fraude

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DURAN.S Jun 01, 2018
Manulife charges you for absolutely nothing. They will provide you with a bunch of nonsense excuses to avoid paying you when the time comes to get advantage of your insurance. Manulife is not an insurance company, rather, it is a fraudulent organization that trains its' employees to steal your money right out of your pocket.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Beyond BAD!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Hopeless Annie May 24, 2018
I expect a company to be diligent in regard to processing claims. But the downright mismanagement of claims is beyond horrible. Good luck finding the "Person" handling your claim, they don't even know who it is. I have been waiting for over three weeks for a mysterious person who has made my decision. Reading these reviews I now know that the person who reviewed my medical on my claims was last employed at Tim Horton's. Not that long ago I happen to be driving by the Manu-death building in Waterloo, yes I have the misfortune of looking at this Crap of a company building, frequently. Right across the street this gentleman was living in his van with a nice big sign, thanking the heartless, moral-less, brainless, people at Manu-Death for ruining his life. That, in a nutshell, describes this company. Just spent that last few hours reading these reviews and am very disappointed in the fact that we have no choice in what company our benefits are from.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

think before you get manulife

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by allarakir May 22, 2018
Manulife, the only thing they care about is your money and nothing else...they want to get profits with no payments to you and they will do anything it takes to profit on you. Please do yourself a favour and never go with Manulife... learn from my mistakes
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible coverage

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Chris May 17, 2018
We went from one group plan that was fine to Manulife. It was supposed to be the exact same plan, but I found out it's not. They only cover psychologists, not clinical counsellors. I've been seeing the same counsellor for years (that my previous benefits supplied to me as an authorized provider) and now I can't get covered at all. And the dollar value coverage is so low that you'll use your entire coverage on one of the approved psychologists after one visit. In addition, two different eye care places I've been to have both complained to me about how frustrating Manulife is to work with. I often have to pay out of pocket and submit my claim because of their submission rules. They also have one of the most frustrating websites to navigate if you're trying to find information.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

GROUP INSURANCE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by billyd May 05, 2018
Been on LTD for 2 years now, decided to seek out another doctor and support them for better management of my health. Manulife decided to stop payments of my benefits, employees are accountable to the shareholder and really do not care about your health, it's all about numbers, just like banking employees, I am considering legal action, anyone interested?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Out of luck Apr 29, 2018
No contact from my case worker with Manulife. When there was contact, she told me I was not a priority. Told me she was sick and couldn’t deal with my claim. Told me not-enough proof from my specialist to deem me unfit for work. Now there is just 0 contact. This Friday, May 4 will be 5 weeks and no benefits. Companies need to steer well away from this very sketchy company. In short order, my case worker Yana V is petty and unfeeling to the wellbeing of her clients. God help you if u depend on Manulife to help you when you need it most.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

worst online experience ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jnicholas Apr 14, 2018
Seems like whenever you want to submit a claim, their site is down. Tells you to call a number, you call it and, oh, looks like they aren't open...their site is always down. Zero customer service, digital experience is terrible and they're expensive. For company benefits please choose someone else, your employees will thank you
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

3 Women, zero results.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by OverIt Mar 30, 2018
It’s been 218 days. No progress has been made at all. The second agent that my case got transferred to say on my file for 63 days and did nothing. Then when I asked what was going on, she told me I had to recollect all records and I had less than a month or she would close the case. Sleep on it for 216 days and then invent a date for me to do their work, and if I don’t finish the impossible task, I lose my claim. The woman working on my file look barely over 18. The lack of life experience... no, the lack of any experience on any level is completely obvious as are all of their completely useless employees. No answer why my file hadn’t been worked on, just flipped around an office with not one person doing anything remotely close to their job.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Group benefits fail

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sore groin Mar 01, 2018
This was forced on me by my employer. First time I have ever had any sort of health coverage in my life. Thought my 3-night stay at a hospital for hernia surgery would be covered. Not. Guess I'm flushing money down the toilet on every payday. Now that I read the booklet I see many less important things covered but not hospital charges and it was only $765. The customer service guy was ok but the product itself is utter garbage.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Good supplemental insurance

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by leedou Feb 25, 2018
I too don't understand the negative reviews on here,I am a BC resident and have had no problems contacting or getting reimbursed for my claims. I have found the process for applying very transparent and the information and book answers any questions I might have. My feeling is that a person should do their due diligence before committing to any policy and if it is too difficult to comprehend then perhaps have a legal analyst go through it with them - it is worth the cost IMO and will avoid unpleasant surprises/misunderstandings that generate bad reviews.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

WOW!

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Baaad Back Feb 21, 2018
2016 I was off for 4 months for a bad back, Manulife's favourite trick when you called in was "we didn't receive your claim" even though you faxed in. All the paperwork I faxed to them I had to do it three times, I was even faxing the transmission sheet in to show the days and times I had faxed in the paperwork. Of course, I didn't receive one cent from Manulife. I was back to work in a month, never heard from Patty S, so I called her, she says "Oh I guess we can make a decision now". So I said to her, is this call being recorded? Yes, can you delete the recording? "No", I said:"perfect". Have you ever googled Manulife complaints? It's not pretty what's on there. Two weeks later I get my cheque. Aug 2017 I'm back off work again, for my back, I send in the paperwork, no word... a month passes and I get a call... wish I could remember this lady's name at Manulife, she said "the size of your file, it's obvious you have a problem, I'm going to do a direct deposit once we hang up". WOW, I check my account on Friday, no money, so I called on Monday and talked to the same lady, she said, the way our account is set up she cannot do direct deposit, so she express-posted my cheque, I had it on Monday. They needed updated paperwork a month later I faxed it in, no problem... I'm covered. Then they needed more paperwork for the end of Oct, I called and said my Dr is on vac ' until mid-Nov... no prob, we will cover you... Now since Dec 2017, I have been dealing with Magdalena... she is wonderful. I told her about last year and what Patty S had done. I also said it obvious Manulife has done a shuffle. They are wonderful to deal with and have been very helpful in trying to get me further down the road with my back problems. So I'm giving Manulife a thank you. I realize Manulife has to weed out the phoneys.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Disappointed

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Working mom Feb 13, 2018
Horrible customer service, makes you feel like your not entitled to anything. Have had good experience in past with them. But lately Horrible....
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Nonsense policy

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pissed off Feb 12, 2018
I have suffered for more than 20 years with poor leg circulation which requires me to wear compression socks at a cost of $110 a pair. When I submitted my first claim(They only cover $40 per year) to Manulife I was told in order to process my claim I would need to submit a doctors note which explained my condition (Which is a chronic condition with little to no chance of improving). Second time I submit another claim for same thing and again another doctor note is required which I again submit. Third claim same response. Does anyone not know what chronic means over there! Do they not keep these notes on file! For god sake, they are only paying out $40 on a $110 claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Got horrible in 2018

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Scott Feb 10, 2018
First of all their hours of operation are terrible if you live on the west side of Canada since their hours are EST and they are never open on weekends so you can barely get a hold of them. Also, they made a bunch of changes to my plan in 2018 that made my coverage garbage without telling me anything. They lessened my coverage amounts and percentages, and even changed basic dental checkups from 6 months to 9 months! I found this out when I took my son in for his 6 month check up and had to pay the whole amount! Manulife is garbage and I only use them because it's my works insurance but I'm going to cancel the whole plan and just buy my own for me and my family.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Special auth drugs

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by disabled Feb 02, 2018
Manulife tried to make decision on behalf of my doctor. They denied much needed medication that doctor prescribed and tried to push completely different medication on me. Few different reps try to deny it when I called them on it. Have to quote their rejection letter back to them for them to stop saying it is not true. Also Nobody gave me answer to my question what kind of responsibility Manulife willing to take if I started on wrong medication or have no medication at all. However after I keep asking that question I got my case reviewed and right medication has being approved. If anybody wonders this was special medication that needed special authorisation form (two for Manulife). Medical text book from 1970 said that people with my disability would not live longer than 5 years. Now statistics show people live 20 to 30 years after they being diagnosed and having treatment. Also medication that Manulife pushed me to take was costing them $24,000 a month and the one my doctor prescribed $3,000. Cannot find logic in their decision.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Unethical, fraudulent, etc.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ManuFILTH Jan 19, 2018
In reading the other reviews on here (I'm not a person who ever writes reviews or complains) I feel validated that I'm not alone in my horrible and degrading experience with this unethical joke of a company. What the disgusting parasites I've had to deal with there, after nearly every claim need to remember is that it is my employer's money they're playing with. They seem to forget they're just administering the benefits and it's not their money to withhold as much as they'd love to. They will make you jump through hoops for everything, arbitrarily blacklist providers without explanation which results in claims from those places being rejected, send statements that are intentionally opaque, and as many other victims have pointed out they will absolutely lie to you. I work for a very high-end and professional employer and I'm appalled that they would do business with these slimeballs. I've been with other benefit/insurance providers and have never come close to anything like the frustration and mistreatment I've endured. Of note, these aren't complicated claims, either. They will literally play games, especially with co-pay agreements, and drag out paying you back for an eye exam or simple teeth cleaning. Their hope, as little more than just another greedy investment company at the end of the day, is that you get too fatigued to keep fighting them for the benefits to which you and your family are entitled and just roll over. I would encourage anyone reading this who is in a unionized workplace to make this a bargaining issue - employers who knowingly stay with Manulife should be held to account for the way their employees retreated and harassed by these people.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Never Ever!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by RSH Jan 17, 2018
I want to share my experience. Maybe somebody was more lucky than I was, so they have an opportunity to correct me. The majority in this forum as I can see by the feedback have similar experience as I had. In a nutshell I learned by experience that Manual Life and their brokers in Canada Protection plan (CPP) provided the worst imaginable customer service I have ever experienced so far. I contacted Manual Life customer service with a simple question regarding my policy. Instead of giving me a professional answer I was given a run around for 4 weeks between Customer Service in Manual life and CPP. The only reason I was eventually contacted by somebody was my intention to engage the National Media . Nobody cares about the customer after the policy sold by the brokers. Staff is not qualified to answer any questions. The policy has a lot of gray areas and hidden strings attached. I beg everybody - to stay away from Manual Life as far as you can and never ever deal with this so-called Insurance Company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Short term disability benefits

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mona B Jan 16, 2018
I was sent a letter indicating I was approved for STD benefits and would be mailed a cheque. It has been 2 months and I still have not received the cheque. My injury was due to a motor vehicle accident which only qualifies for 7 days pay at the rate of 60%. Long-term benefits are not an option for the same reason although I pay a mandatory fee of $50 monthly for these benefits through the Corporation I'm employed. I'm expecting a 3-6 month recovery, so thanks for nothing Manulife. When, not if, I'm in the position to decide who our Corporation uses for a benefit provider, I will make sure it's not Manulife.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Frustrating to Submit Claims

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Okin Jan 05, 2018
I would never recommend Manulife! 1. They throw many obstacles in the way of submitting claims. Chiropractic and physiotherapy were included in my group benefits. The website said my group claims can be submitted directly once I verify my account. I followed all the steps and it still took more than 15 times and 7 months to be able to process direct claims. I needed to send a screenshot to a Manulife representative to prove I had verified my account and each clinic had to call Manulife multiple times to argue on my behalf. When I went to the dentist and the front desk verified what was covered by my group benefits before I had dental work done. Manulife rejected the claim from the dentist’s office. I had to suddenly pay over $800 on the spot and then submit online at home and wait a month. The receptionist at the dentist’s office had never seen a claim rejected before, except by Manulife. I can’t think of any reason why these normal claims have so many barriers! Maybe they’re hoping people won’t jump through all the hoops and it’ll save the company money? 2. When I switched to the individual plan I expected to pay more. That’s normal. What I did not expect was for common prescription medications not being covered at all. Now I need to pay $300 more every month for meds that would be covered by every other insurance company. There are many more issues I could talk about, including my Long Term Disability Claim, purposefully confusing and misdirecting letters from the company and more. But, I’ll stop here. You get the point. Never pick Manulife for your insurance!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Manulife Travel Cancellation

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sheri Z Dec 28, 2017
Do not get travel insurance with Manulife! We were going on a trip to Mexico. My father in law died before we left so we cancelled our trip. We had insurance with Manulife and they won't give our money back. My father in law died very quickly. When we paid for the insurance they said that we could cancel anytime and for any reason. What is the point of getting insurance cancellation if you can't use it? They told me that is because my father in law had an existing illness which is stated in their policy brochure, the one you get after you have paid. The brochure that no one reads.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Bad compay

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Another one ripped off Dec 14, 2017
No point in really reviewing this company. They surprise me they are still in business. Must be a very good contributor too, so political party does not have an investigation into their non-ability to pay claims.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Complete ripoff

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ScamVictim Dec 06, 2017
Manulife has the highest premiums and then try to use every excuse to get out of paying claims. I was blatantly lied to by multiple Manulife employees and am still waiting to get my issue resolved. Do yourselves a favor and avoid Manulife like the plague.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Medical Questions

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Medical Inquiries Nov 30, 2017
They have non-medical trained people asking medical questions and do not understand the answers they are given. They miscategorize autoimmune diseases and think type 1 and type 2 diabetes are the same. I cannot trust their reps to make properly informed decisions and will be switching companies as soon as I can.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

GROUP BENEFITS A DISASTER

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ManulifeSucks Oct 24, 2017
Put in a claim for the first time. Despite the 80% co-insurance, I was only given 50% of what was paid due to a "reasonable and customary charge" caveat that was not disclosed in the manual or online. I was basically told that it was my fault for not knowing. When the manual you've been given and the information on their website co-incides, how is one to know that there are other limitations that we should be aware of??? First few times I called, i kept on being connected to some call centre in the Philippines whereby it sounds like they read off some script. They don't listen to you, they just talk like robots. Finally was transferred to a supervisor in Ontario and same thing. They don't care about their customers whatsoever. Hate dealing with this company!!!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Horrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Max Oct 16, 2017
I needed insurance coverage for out of country. I already called 4 times and asked where is my coverage, I was promised would be send to me by email the day I called, 24 hours passed nothing, 48 hours passed nothing. I called them today again and was told that a person is working (3 full days) on my out of country coverage and I should get it tomorrow. I'm thinking how many more excuses, I will hear tomorrow.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Service is extremely poor

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by MC Sep 08, 2017
My review speaks to my experience applying for CoverMe critical illness insurance. It has been almost impossible to find out the status of my application. The website provides a phone number but there is no option in the phone menu for critical illness. Consequently, I was transferred six times to various departments, none of which could help me find out the status (even though I provided a tracking number). Emailing has been similarly frustrating. I have not been able to get a response. It surprises me that an insurance provider would not be interested in helping a customer purchase one of its products. Is this the level of service a claimant should expect? I have to assume so.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Never ending site issues !!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Angry customer Sep 06, 2017
Annoying !!!! Good luck sending a claim or checking status. Typical message: "This information is temporarily unavailable – we apologize for the inconvenience. Please check back during the following times: Monday to Friday, 5:30 a.m. to 12:30 a.m. ET Saturday, 5:30 a.m. to 8 p.m. ET Sunday, 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET" HA-HA-HA-HA!!! So apparently people living in BC, CA should be checking/using their site either late night or early mornings!!! Yeah right - well done!!! Like people getting up at 6AM (PT) to get to work would have nothing else better to do than getting up an additional hour earlier just because Manulife's website has working hours!!! Hello people - which century is it ??? Well done, Manulife, well done !!!! Could not imagine anything better ! Lol
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Frustrated

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frustrated Aug 25, 2017
I am under my husband's benefit plan and we have had non stop issues dealing with them. Every time I call them to ask them questions or try to get answers they have said your husband needs to call and we will discuss with him the plan. Even to change a password they said that I need my husband to call. Also, they originally said that our plan started on the 10th so I went in to get my eyes checked. When I went to pay it was denied from Manulife. My husband called and they said the plan didn't start till the 20th!! What??? We were told that it started the 10th. All the guy said on the other line was "I apologize." He didn't do anything about it!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

avoid for group benefits

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by notmychoice Aug 22, 2017
My employer uses them for group benefits.. Everytime a claim is put in I have to jump through hoops to get coverage. One time no problem next time the same claim is an issue. They are the WORST company I have ever dealt with.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?