Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

(146 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
109,645
consumers
(1.7 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Group life insurance.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by John T Oct 29, 2018
Worst customer experience in my life. They have zero common sense and you have no avenue to talk directly to the people assigned to your complaint. No direct call back number. To say they are clueless is an understatement. They patch you through to the Philippines and those on that end are abhorrent in the ability to be of assistance. Constantly give opposing answers depending on who you talk to at that time. Just shy of calling it a scam. Never again!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Dental coverage

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Here we go again! Oct 22, 2018
I don't understand how 2 insurance companies can disagree on dental work. My primary coverage is with Blue Cross, the secondary is Manulife. My dentist sent me to a specialist (periodontist) due to the poor condition of my teeth. He provided x-rays, report and Blue Cross approved. MANULIFE NOW SAYS NOT ENOUGH DECAY as per their so-called dental consultant. How could 2 other dental providers agree that my teeth require treatment? I am sure Blue Cross also has a dental consultant who REVIEWED. Manulife only wants your money but when you need treatment recommended by a professional, they say they need more information. How many more x-rays do they need, when the initial sent was approved. Wonder what school Manulife's dental consultant graduated from or even if they have the education to assess?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Sneaky insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Smiley1 Sep 27, 2018
After being on Long Term Disability by Manulife for 2 years, I was cut off abruptly. I appealed and won. They immediately told me I had to apply to CPP disability. I did and won. I thought they would thank me for doing such a great job on providing medical evidence, and paperwork etc. since now their payments to me would decrease substantially. But...no. They went after me with a vengeance to get rid of me for good. They said I had to take a retraining course, and they also listed some jobs I will be able to do after the training. The jobs they listed would not be jobs I could medically do, training or not. I tried to explain to my claims adjustor my concerns, and was told this is not Manulife's concern. I have subsequently been told that I am non-compliant, and my case is closed on a contractual basis, therefore I have no appeal rights. Just like that. Their decision never took into consideration any of my medical history, and my doctor never had a say. Be very cautious with this insurance company. Even if you have a severe, prolonged disability that CPP agrees with, Manulife doesn't care. They will use whatever provision in their policy to get rid of you quickly. As far as I can tell, I have no recourse. Feeling totally helpless in Vancouver.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Terrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Aug 21, 2018
My wife was put on bed rest for the last 8 weeks of her pregnancy. Manulife instantly denied her claim and told her to get back to work, because they believed she wasn't in a position to take off work. Even with documentation from two doctors and her employer they still denied her. Her doctor filed for review and was told she would have an answer in 2 weeks . 2 weeks passed and my wife received another call from Manulife saying the review would take 2 more weeks because they had more questions for the doctor. My wife is about to give birth! Well played, Manulife, you sneaky low life company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Rude and poor service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Not impressed Aug 02, 2018
Tammy E, LTD Case Manager, Wellness, Disability & Life - Why is she working there when her attitude stinks... She called with an attitude and emailed the wrong information then has more attitude when I call and request what I initially asked for... Mind you Great-West Life was perfect until my company changed to this cheap low-grade attitude system.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Worth every cent!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Michael Jul 28, 2018
As mentioned by a previous post, it seems rather unlikely that everyone posting negative reviews here is a saint and Manulife the devil incarnate. My wife and I recently had to make a claim while out of Canada and were extremely pleased with the service and response that we received from Manulife. The representative was quick to act and put our mind at ease regarding the necessary treatment my wife needed. Filing the claim upon return was rather straightforward and so long as you’re candid and forthcoming from the beginning I don’t believe that they would turn down a legitimate claim. They kindly took the time to help us file all the appropriate documentation and the next time I heard from them was by mail with a cheque enclosed. I might add that we disclosed my wife’s prior cancer and all related treatments right from the start and truthfully had reservations doing so as we weren’t even certain they would approve our coverage let alone payout on a claim... Lo and behold, we were approved for their policy and were in fact reimbursed for every penny of our claim. Manulife and their products have, without a doubt, earned our trust and loyalty!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Why the negative reviews!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by lori Jul 25, 2018
I've been reading the negative reviews on here and it's funny because all of them have all of the info stating how the person did everything right and Manulife did everything wrong. I'm pretty sure if we were to look into each of these claims, we would find fault on the client's side too. I was on short-term, now long-term. I was off for a headache and Manulife supported me because my case worker was really smart enough to find something is not right - just a headache? I couldn't understand either, why was my headache so bad. But I knew this wasn't enough, so I said I'm going back to work. Manulife caseworker said no, let's wait until after the test results. 3.5 weeks later, I find out after testing that I have a brain tumour. I have 2 kids, one with special needs. I don't have long, the tumour is terminal and my wife is freaking out. My caseworker called me after getting my medical and she was sobbing talking to me and I felt she really felt for me. Two weeks later, she called and my wife answered and caseworker asked my wife how SHE and the kids were doing. My wife never talked to her before but was so grateful she asked. See? The caseworker didn't know I had a tumour but based on what she had, she had a feeling something was not right and was thoughtful and caring. Let me tell you, before this, I never had a claim. My coworker was on a claim and we thought he was very sick, we sent him baskets and cards. Found out he was working at another job (VERY SIMILAR JOB) the whole time, went to vacation in Costa Rica and was para-sailing and what not. Oh, I thought you couldn't do "anything" because you were sick like you told us. I had to do extra work because of him for 3 months WITH MY HEADACHE before going on claim myself. The whole time I had a tumour, working extra for someone scamming the system. You think the companies are stupid? Of course, they are going to look at all of the information - especially because of people who scam. Look at your coworkers and people who take advantage too. All of you who think you cannot work because of something minor, or because you have a problem with your coworker, think again - you can work, you choose not to. You are no disabled, you are trying to take advantage then blaming oh the big insurance company. What insurance company has mostly positive reviews? How many people would post a positive review more than negative? For those of you who have a real claim, but got declined, don't get frustrated. Try to figure out what is going on and work with your doctor. You tell your doctor something then he writes it down - that is not medical. That is your journal. Think about that.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

LONG TERM DISABILITY

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tim Jul 18, 2018
I have now been on LTD for over 2 years via my employer group program, during which Manulife have been supportive and efficient. My case manager (Michelle G.) is easily accessible, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. I have been careful to ensure that I cooperate and comply with my Doctors, employers and Manulife's requirements, and maintain good communications with all, to try and avoid any problems. So far, so good - Manulife have helped me through a very difficult time.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Almost nothing is paid

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Hansen S Jul 01, 2018
I moved to Canada a year ago from Germany and it is unbelievable how much I had to deal with Manulife so far. Any treatment sent to Manulife is first rejected. We have to chase it, make many calls until they start paying it, and then they found a clause somewhere that says something like: "We can only pay 25% for this treatment". It's really like a third world insurance company. Terrible!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Group Benefits

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Purselady Jun 28, 2018
Manulife is great! Obviously, the other reviewers do not realize that your employer chooses what to cover and at what percentage. I found them very helpful when I call or email. The website and app need work though.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible!!!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by monicamimura@hotmail.com Jun 27, 2018
Terrible experience! The Manulife company doesn't care about the customer! They always decline a claim!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

no refund

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by janders Jun 08, 2018
They messed up my coverage and overcharged me by 420. I'm not a millionaire and that hurt. Each weekly pay they promise to pay it back. They never do. Total fraud. Would never deal again with them
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Manulife is a fraude

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DURAN.S Jun 01, 2018
Manulife charges you for absolutely nothing. They will provide you with a bunch of nonsense excuses to avoid paying you when the time comes to get advantage of your insurance. Manulife is not an insurance company, rather, it is a fraudulent organization that trains its' employees to steal your money right out of your pocket.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Beyond BAD!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Hopeless Annie May 24, 2018
I expect a company to be diligent in regard to processing claims. But the downright mismanagement of claims is beyond horrible. Good luck finding the "Person" handling your claim, they don't even know who it is. I have been waiting for over three weeks for a mysterious person who has made my decision. Reading these reviews I now know that the person who reviewed my medical on my claims was last employed at Tim Horton's. Not that long ago I happen to be driving by the Manu-death building in Waterloo, yes I have the misfortune of looking at this Crap of a company building, frequently. Right across the street this gentleman was living in his van with a nice big sign, thanking the heartless, moral-less, brainless, people at Manu-Death for ruining his life. That, in a nutshell, describes this company. Just spent that last few hours reading these reviews and am very disappointed in the fact that we have no choice in what company our benefits are from.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

think before you get manulife

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by allarakir May 22, 2018
Manulife, the only thing they care about is your money and nothing else...they want to get profits with no payments to you and they will do anything it takes to profit on you. Please do yourself a favour and never go with Manulife... learn from my mistakes
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Terrible coverage

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Chris May 17, 2018
We went from one group plan that was fine to Manulife. It was supposed to be the exact same plan, but I found out it's not. They only cover psychologists, not clinical counsellors. I've been seeing the same counsellor for years (that my previous benefits supplied to me as an authorized provider) and now I can't get covered at all. And the dollar value coverage is so low that you'll use your entire coverage on one of the approved psychologists after one visit. In addition, two different eye care places I've been to have both complained to me about how frustrating Manulife is to work with. I often have to pay out of pocket and submit my claim because of their submission rules. They also have one of the most frustrating websites to navigate if you're trying to find information.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

GROUP INSURANCE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by billyd May 05, 2018
Been on LTD for 2 years now, decided to seek out another doctor and support them for better management of my health. Manulife decided to stop payments of my benefits, employees are accountable to the shareholder and really do not care about your health, it's all about numbers, just like banking employees, I am considering legal action, anyone interested?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Out of luck Apr 29, 2018
No contact from my case worker with Manulife. When there was contact, she told me I was not a priority. Told me she was sick and couldn’t deal with my claim. Told me not-enough proof from my specialist to deem me unfit for work. Now there is just 0 contact. This Friday, May 4 will be 5 weeks and no benefits. Companies need to steer well away from this very sketchy company. In short order, my case worker Yana V is petty and unfeeling to the wellbeing of her clients. God help you if u depend on Manulife to help you when you need it most.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

worst online experience ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jnicholas Apr 14, 2018
Seems like whenever you want to submit a claim, their site is down. Tells you to call a number, you call it and, oh, looks like they aren't open...their site is always down. Zero customer service, digital experience is terrible and they're expensive. For company benefits please choose someone else, your employees will thank you
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

3 Women, zero results.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by OverIt Mar 30, 2018
It’s been 218 days. No progress has been made at all. The second agent that my case got transferred to say on my file for 63 days and did nothing. Then when I asked what was going on, she told me I had to recollect all records and I had less than a month or she would close the case. Sleep on it for 216 days and then invent a date for me to do their work, and if I don’t finish the impossible task, I lose my claim. The woman working on my file look barely over 18. The lack of life experience... no, the lack of any experience on any level is completely obvious as are all of their completely useless employees. No answer why my file hadn’t been worked on, just flipped around an office with not one person doing anything remotely close to their job.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Group benefits fail

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sore groin Mar 01, 2018
This was forced on me by my employer. First time I have ever had any sort of health coverage in my life. Thought my 3-night stay at a hospital for hernia surgery would be covered. Not. Guess I'm flushing money down the toilet on every payday. Now that I read the booklet I see many less important things covered but not hospital charges and it was only $765. The customer service guy was ok but the product itself is utter garbage.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Good supplemental insurance

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by leedou Feb 25, 2018
I too don't understand the negative reviews on here,I am a BC resident and have had no problems contacting or getting reimbursed for my claims. I have found the process for applying very transparent and the information and book answers any questions I might have. My feeling is that a person should do their due diligence before committing to any policy and if it is too difficult to comprehend then perhaps have a legal analyst go through it with them - it is worth the cost IMO and will avoid unpleasant surprises/misunderstandings that generate bad reviews.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

WOW!

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Baaad Back Feb 21, 2018
2016 I was off for 4 months for a bad back, Manulife's favourite trick when you called in was "we didn't receive your claim" even though you faxed in. All the paperwork I faxed to them I had to do it three times, I was even faxing the transmission sheet in to show the days and times I had faxed in the paperwork. Of course, I didn't receive one cent from Manulife. I was back to work in a month, never heard from Patty S, so I called her, she says "Oh I guess we can make a decision now". So I said to her, is this call being recorded? Yes, can you delete the recording? "No", I said:"perfect". Have you ever googled Manulife complaints? It's not pretty what's on there. Two weeks later I get my cheque. Aug 2017 I'm back off work again, for my back, I send in the paperwork, no word... a month passes and I get a call... wish I could remember this lady's name at Manulife, she said "the size of your file, it's obvious you have a problem, I'm going to do a direct deposit once we hang up". WOW, I check my account on Friday, no money, so I called on Monday and talked to the same lady, she said, the way our account is set up she cannot do direct deposit, so she express-posted my cheque, I had it on Monday. They needed updated paperwork a month later I faxed it in, no problem... I'm covered. Then they needed more paperwork for the end of Oct, I called and said my Dr is on vac ' until mid-Nov... no prob, we will cover you... Now since Dec 2017, I have been dealing with Magdalena... she is wonderful. I told her about last year and what Patty S had done. I also said it obvious Manulife has done a shuffle. They are wonderful to deal with and have been very helpful in trying to get me further down the road with my back problems. So I'm giving Manulife a thank you. I realize Manulife has to weed out the phoneys.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Disappointed

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Working mom Feb 13, 2018
Horrible customer service, makes you feel like your not entitled to anything. Have had good experience in past with them. But lately Horrible....
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Nonsense policy

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pissed off Feb 12, 2018
I have suffered for more than 20 years with poor leg circulation which requires me to wear compression socks at a cost of $110 a pair. When I submitted my first claim(They only cover $40 per year) to Manulife I was told in order to process my claim I would need to submit a doctors note which explained my condition (Which is a chronic condition with little to no chance of improving). Second time I submit another claim for same thing and again another doctor note is required which I again submit. Third claim same response. Does anyone not know what chronic means over there! Do they not keep these notes on file! For god sake, they are only paying out $40 on a $110 claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Got horrible in 2018

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Scott Feb 10, 2018
First of all their hours of operation are terrible if you live on the west side of Canada since their hours are EST and they are never open on weekends so you can barely get a hold of them. Also, they made a bunch of changes to my plan in 2018 that made my coverage garbage without telling me anything. They lessened my coverage amounts and percentages, and even changed basic dental checkups from 6 months to 9 months! I found this out when I took my son in for his 6 month check up and had to pay the whole amount! Manulife is garbage and I only use them because it's my works insurance but I'm going to cancel the whole plan and just buy my own for me and my family.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Special auth drugs

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by disabled Feb 02, 2018
Manulife tried to make decision on behalf of my doctor. They denied much needed medication that doctor prescribed and tried to push completely different medication on me. Few different reps try to deny it when I called them on it. Have to quote their rejection letter back to them for them to stop saying it is not true. Also Nobody gave me answer to my question what kind of responsibility Manulife willing to take if I started on wrong medication or have no medication at all. However after I keep asking that question I got my case reviewed and right medication has being approved. If anybody wonders this was special medication that needed special authorisation form (two for Manulife). Medical text book from 1970 said that people with my disability would not live longer than 5 years. Now statistics show people live 20 to 30 years after they being diagnosed and having treatment. Also medication that Manulife pushed me to take was costing them $24,000 a month and the one my doctor prescribed $3,000. Cannot find logic in their decision.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Unethical, fraudulent, etc.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ManuFILTH Jan 19, 2018
In reading the other reviews on here (I'm not a person who ever writes reviews or complains) I feel validated that I'm not alone in my horrible and degrading experience with this unethical joke of a company. What the disgusting parasites I've had to deal with there, after nearly every claim need to remember is that it is my employer's money they're playing with. They seem to forget they're just administering the benefits and it's not their money to withhold as much as they'd love to. They will make you jump through hoops for everything, arbitrarily blacklist providers without explanation which results in claims from those places being rejected, send statements that are intentionally opaque, and as many other victims have pointed out they will absolutely lie to you. I work for a very high-end and professional employer and I'm appalled that they would do business with these slimeballs. I've been with other benefit/insurance providers and have never come close to anything like the frustration and mistreatment I've endured. Of note, these aren't complicated claims, either. They will literally play games, especially with co-pay agreements, and drag out paying you back for an eye exam or simple teeth cleaning. Their hope, as little more than just another greedy investment company at the end of the day, is that you get too fatigued to keep fighting them for the benefits to which you and your family are entitled and just roll over. I would encourage anyone reading this who is in a unionized workplace to make this a bargaining issue - employers who knowingly stay with Manulife should be held to account for the way their employees retreated and harassed by these people.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Never Ever!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by RSH Jan 17, 2018
I want to share my experience. Maybe somebody was more lucky than I was, so they have an opportunity to correct me. The majority in this forum as I can see by the feedback have similar experience as I had. In a nutshell I learned by experience that Manual Life and their brokers in Canada Protection plan (CPP) provided the worst imaginable customer service I have ever experienced so far. I contacted Manual Life customer service with a simple question regarding my policy. Instead of giving me a professional answer I was given a run around for 4 weeks between Customer Service in Manual life and CPP. The only reason I was eventually contacted by somebody was my intention to engage the National Media . Nobody cares about the customer after the policy sold by the brokers. Staff is not qualified to answer any questions. The policy has a lot of gray areas and hidden strings attached. I beg everybody - to stay away from Manual Life as far as you can and never ever deal with this so-called Insurance Company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Short term disability benefits

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mona B Jan 16, 2018
I was sent a letter indicating I was approved for STD benefits and would be mailed a cheque. It has been 2 months and I still have not received the cheque. My injury was due to a motor vehicle accident which only qualifies for 7 days pay at the rate of 60%. Long-term benefits are not an option for the same reason although I pay a mandatory fee of $50 monthly for these benefits through the Corporation I'm employed. I'm expecting a 3-6 month recovery, so thanks for nothing Manulife. When, not if, I'm in the position to decide who our Corporation uses for a benefit provider, I will make sure it's not Manulife.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?