Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(71 reviews)
Manulife
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Do not care about individual customers

by Kelly Fan on Jun 22, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

I see a clinical therapist for years and was covered by Manulife under my previous employee. Now that I changed job, Manulife is still covering but on different terms and turns out they do not cover clinical therapists.
For anyone who knows, it takes a lot of time to onboard a new therapist, and clinical therapists charge less i.e. saves Manulife the money to cover higher costs. BUT Manulife just would not do it!
Even when I specify all the benefits for THEM: 1. I don't need them to pay the $200 sessions just to onboard me again to a new psychologies 2. They will only need to pay 5 sessions/year that I need with my old therapist at $175/session. They were just like "nope not your policy".
I feel like I am the only one trying here when there are clear benefits on both sides. I don't think that in all the communications and responses I received, Manulife cares a bit about mental health, because they are creating problems for my mental health when I am here as an open book to solve things with them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Hard to Access Claim Money

by Loo777 on May 20, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I got sick in Mexico and needed to stay in the hospital for a day. Two months ago, my wife and I submitted a claim to be reimbursed for our medical expenses as we purchased medical insurance from Manulife.
It seems Manulife makes it as hard as possible to access claims. They ask for one round of information, then when they have all the information, they ask for another round. We are on our third round of information giving, and 75% of the information asked was given in the first round. It's as if they make it as hard as possible for us, so we would give up on the claim.
They recently made us translate all our documents which cost us $250, and gave us a 30-day deadline to do so, or we would not receive any of our money. How does an insurance company give us a 30-day deadline when they are the ones who owe us money? Should they not be the ones that have a deadline?
We are now holding $5000 on our visa and still have not been paid back. There is a long wait time on their helpline, and we feel like the service we have received is on the verge of crooked.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Disappointing Service

by Phil Leonard on Apr 27, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I have been contributing to a life insurance policy with Manulife for 20 plus years, $175 per month for a $100K policy. Yes, I know, a ridiculously high premium!
I quit smoking 8 or 9 years ago and thought I would now qualify for a reduced premium so contacted Manulife to discuss, yes, we'll send you a form to complete. The form I received was a questionnaire approximately 50 pages long!
I was then subject to an extensive medical examination by a nurse appointed by Manulife and I have just received the results of this examination which, considering my age and health background, were excellent on all counts, (I had a heart attack seven years ago and required stents), great news I thought!
My insurance agent contacted me several days ago and informed me Manulife will not adjust my premium down due to my having a heart attack, but if I am now in excellent health and live a clean active lifestyle why would my request be denied?
Needless to say, I am extremely disappointed with this response and would advise anyone looking for insurance to use due diligence.
I think it's time to remove Manulife from my investment portfolio.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.

Great experience

by Rachel Coburn on Mar 26, 2022
4 out of 5 stars

Yes, the phone wait times are long but they’re very helpful and we got our refund within 60 days of making the claim which is great for COVID times.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Horrible

by Andrea on Mar 7, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

You pay for your benefits yet they ask for a doctor's note every time you want to go for a massage or chiropractor even through what you pay for. This company is a scam.
For someone that has a back problem, it is incredibly time-consuming for me to go to the doctor to get the diagnosis every time I want to use my benefits. DONT waste your time with Manulife.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Poor service all around

by Nadine Barnert on Mar 2, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I have had nothing but bad experiences with Manulife in every way. They do not directly bill for anything and will always have to pay first and hope that their poor customer service will get to you eventually. They may send a reply stating you will hear from them within 7 to 10 business days, which is ridiculous, to begin with, but I am now on day 11, 3 emails in and have not heard from anyone as of yet. If I call I am waiting a ridiculous amount of time as well. Do they only have 1 customer service representative? I will never deal with Manulife again and will be sharing my experiences with anyone that will listen.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

Customer center need to know their products

by Roe on Feb 18, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Company change policy without customer knowledge denied me from my son medication, hospital bills and eyeglass for strabismus. Customer service is not helpful better go to another company 150.00 x 12 but basically, I don’t get benefits.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Difficult to deal with

by Lauren on Feb 18, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

I have found the customer support to be unhelpful, lacking either the competency or will to help clarify claims statements or process-related questions. They are much pickier than my other insurance company or past companies I have dealt with. For example, they do not allow claims for psychotherapists still under the supervision of a registered psychologist (while they get the experience required to join the professional association) or other practitioners whom they don't have in their database (e.g. masseurs) even if they are fully certified. The process to get certain expensive, medically necessary prescriptions approved is lengthy and convoluted and the coverage overall is less generous than any other plan I have taken part in.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Worst company in the universe

by lemeshev on Feb 3, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

My deceased dad took out an annuity for my mom from Manulife sometime before his death in 2012... My mom's accountant flagged in 2021 that my mother was being taxed on an amount from this Manulife annuity that was not in her bank account. THE UPSHOT IS THAT MANULIFE HAD BY LAW BEEN REQUIRED TO MAKE A PAYOUT TO MY MOTHER EVERY YEAR BUT NEGLECTED TO DO SO FROM 2012 TO 2021. Yet they reported to the government that they sent the money to my mother so she had to pay tax on it. I called in April of 2021 and was unable to get past the guard of twenty-somethings whose sole job is to keep customers from getting the information they need. We talked to Rose, James, Ron etc etc etc - no last names of course. "We will provide you with that information in seven business days" No information was forthcoming. We called again. "We will provide you with that information before the end of the day" No call - no information. This went on through May. I said at one point that I would like to talk to Rose's manager "No, you can't" was Rose's response. Finally, in June one of them said that they didn't know who I was and I needed to provide them with my dad's death certificate and fill out a lengthy form as to why I should have this information. (They already had the POA I sent them stating that I was authorized to act for my mother) My father died in 2012 and a death certificate was sent to them in 2012. Another was sent in 2014 and yet another in 2017. I also had to provide my POA. This document was sent to them in 2012. "Just go to the file and pull the documents - you already have them," I said. "We won't do that" Was the reply. I resisted the impulse to say that "yes - my father is just as dead now as he was in 2012" That was definitely a low point having to prove that he was still dead repeatedly. Was satire required? "Yes, he faked his own death at the age of 92 in order to defraud Manulife out of a lousy $21,000 policy." We ran into a brick wall so I sent the package of notes that I had been keeping of every phone call to the Ombudsman. Lo and behold! We get a call from 'James'. "I am a TEAM LEADER," he said "I am here to help you" "You could start by paying my mother the interest that you earned by keeping her money for the last 8 years" "We don't do that" was the reply. After weeks of dealing with 'James', the money was eventually restored but we never did find out why the money was withheld for 8 years. Manulife is impossible to deal with. The action was only forthcoming because we notified the Ombudsman. Another low point - I was told that I needed to get my 96-year-old mother suffering from dementia to sign a form authorizing me to act on her behalf. I told them that, due to her dementia, she was incapable of doing so and YOU ALREADY HAVE THE POA THAT SPECIFIES THAT I ACT FOR HER. Avoid Manulife if you possibly can. They are terrible people. If you can't avoid them I would advise going directly to the Ombudsman so as not to waste the three months we did dealing with people on the phone. On an end note - we never did find out why they didn't make payments to my mother for 8 years.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance, you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.

Poor Customer Service

by Jeff Trynchy on Jan 28, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

Not only do claims reimbursements typically take longer than 7 days, but the customer service is also terrible. That is if you can even get through to an agent on their customer support line.
What absolutely floors me is that insurance companies like Manulife make millions if not billions of dollars a year and yet they can't properly fund a call support centre.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo