Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(54 reviews)
Manulife
2.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Refused to refund

by Steve Vanderstelt on Oct 14, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

After signing up through a representative over the phone I noticed I had been charged twice for 2 months on my credit card and after calling them I was told to forward my statement to their customer service email.
After doing so they just told me they don't issue refunds, so I have been paying for 2 policies totalling $600 a month.
After the first reply email telling me they don't issue refunds I have received no responses since despite my continued emails.
It's infuriating that they would take money from unsuspecting like this and just hide behind their policies to justify theft.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Bad customer service

by izy on Feb 24, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

I was trying to change the payment method to annually from monthly as it will be slightly cheaper. The customer rep told me there is not such a thing. I just need to pay 12 X what I pay monthly. I explained that I have a quote and it shows cheaper and also other insurance companies always give me a better rate. But she kept saying no and I asked her to ask someone else she ignored me a few times. Now I am again to talk with another rep.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Added fees, no notification

by M.N. on Jul 28, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I noticed on a recent statement that they started charging me fees for my holdings. When I initially opened an account with them in 2018 I was told there are no fees. The fees began in May 2019. I hadn't been checking statements closely because I had set up the account as a passive investment vehicle. When I called to find out what the fees were and they said "we started charging fees in 2019 and you were notified" even though I never received any explicit mail or email stating such. When I asked for a fair solution to these usurious fees I met with dispassion and excuses on why nothing could be done. This is why I don't go with "big bank" like companies, they all charge fees and treat their own clients unfairly.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

BUNCH OF CROOKS

by diane on Jul 6, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

CROOKS. THAT IS WHAT THIS COMPANY IS! My Father paid into Manulife for over 50 years. He took ill and was in the hospital for a couple of months. He was put on life support at one point. Meantime his bill came in from Manulife, saying his policy was cancelled because he missed two payments. He lived by himself, the family lived outside the province, I contacted Manulife, and explained to them of Dad's illness, and asked them if I can make the payments when Dad comes home from the hospital? That I am very concerned about my Father's poor health, at this time they told me straight out that his insurance was cancelled and they could not wait for payments! Where did 50 years of my Father's hard-earned money go? That is how they treated my Father! I will never recommend this company to anyone, not even my worst enemy!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Avoid them!

by Scott on Sep 28, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

I owned policy and paid 6 months in advance. They never tell you that when you redeem your policy early (person passed away) you do NOT get your money back if you pay in advance! Don't pay in advance! Pay monthly! They are horrible.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Excellent service and value

by eagleye on Mar 12, 2017
5 out of 5 stars

I've had three experiences on the claims side with Manulife. Two were of their life insurance policies and one was with their group employer short-term and long term disability coverage. In all three cases, I was not the claimant as such. With the two life insurance claims, I was the executor and administrator of two separate estates where the deceased was life insured by Manulife.

In both life insurance death benefits claims cases, Manulife's claims dept representatives were helpful, efficient and professional in their work. In both cases the death benefits were paid in full, expeditiously and without any delays or obstacles.

In the case of the short and long term disability case, it involved one of our company's employees. There again, Manulife's service was exemplary.

In a sense, am surprised by some of the negative reviews; however, it is more likely that one would be more motivated to place a negative review when feeling to be short-changed than a positive review for just receiving the expected. Thinking back I did have a terrible experience with one of the bank-owned insurance companies who did everything to deny a valid and fully documented travel medical emergency claim to the point that they eventually succeeded in frustrating the claim.

That case, not with Manulife but one of the bank-owned insurance companies, involved a medical emergency during a Carribean cruise. Despite having all the documentation, diagnosis, treatment, etc. they insisted on interviewing that attending physician whose personal contact information was unavailable due to privacy rules of the cruise liner. Apparently, they knew about that privacy rule of the cruise liner and used that knowledge to zap the customer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).

Rip-off company

by Brit on Jun 21, 2016
1 out of 5 stars

Look elsewhere if you are interested in obtaining life insurance.
They will "double" your premium with two weeks notice if not less.
If you ask questions they will give you "sugar-coated" answers.
This company has absolutely no regard for its customers.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

cannot be trusted

by krtdussome on Feb 28, 2016
1 out of 5 stars

My father purchased several Manufacturer Life policies in the 1950s, forgot about them after the 1970s more or less and did not know they demutualized in 1999 which means even a simple policy for $1,000 back in the day realized 160,000 shares by 2007 when he passed away. A few years later I discovered evidence of yet another two policies. Manulife refuses to provide any information about one of the policies - as though it conveniently never existed and in regards to the other they have told me my father purchased it in the US rather than Canada like the other ones he had when he was not even able to cross the border into the USA in the early 50s let alone qualify to purchase life insurance there. The experience has been a real eye opener for me. If anyone has had a similar experience or can recommend help with the situation, I would most appreciate it. So much for consumer protection. I don't see anyone doing anything about the old, unclaimed policies.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

insurance cancelation

by Ron on Aug 5, 2014
1 out of 5 stars

Everyone be aware that when your policy expires they will automatically renew it at a much much higher rate. My agent phoned me to ask if I wanted to renew my policy as it was coming to its end....10 years. I asked him what the new rate will be, he said he did not know but its much higher. I said I would not likely renew. He did not remind me the contract stated its an automatic renewal unless you contact Manulife. As a result I did not notice for several months they were with drawing from my acct. a 600% increase in rates, which they will not refund.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
3 out of 5 stars

Agent did not warn me that premiums would increase after 10 years while signing on. This being my first insurance in Canada. Did not continue with this company after that. Moved to RBC

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo