Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(92 reviews)
Manulife
1.9 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Poor treatment, cheap service

by Victoria on Jun 6, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Called before ordering an orthotics to ensure it would be covered. They said yes. I ordered the piece, which was 600 and it was never reimbursed.
I've called twice, they just give excuses, saying they will call back and never did so.
Cheap company with untrained people.
Highly suggest the company start investing in training so they can have people with correct information answering our questions.
Such a waste of time.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

I have been waiting for over 22 days…

by amter1 on Jun 4, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I have been waiting for over 22 days for Manulife to process my claims. They are still pending. I called the company 2 times and messaged them on their app as well but they keep telling me that the wait times are longer than usual. Waiting for 22 days for your claims to be processed is not acceptable! I remember before it was 4-5 days maximum but now it's over 22 days...

First I called them they said the wait times are 10 business days, after a week they said it's 15 business days and now they say it's 20 business days. They are just lying every time I call them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

worst insurance company

by Harold on Apr 8, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I took a mortgage protection plan from this company. They put an exclusion clause to my coverage which prompted me to cancel it. When i tried to cancel it, twice my call after waiting for 20 minutes each just "dropped" on my third attempt i was able to connect to a very rude rep which gave me the run around. I would never recommend this company to my worst enemy. Run away if you see this company. Worst policies and worst customer support.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance, you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.

Telephone menus are unbelievably complex

by Angry caller on Apr 4, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Gave up after pressing "1" numerous times. Cannot find a real human to explain the call and inquiry.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't Waste Your Time

by DANIELLE on Jan 15, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Called to request a quote for Life Insurance. Was put through to an agent who stated she did not have the time to complete my quote at that time after waiting on hold for over 10 minutes.
She booked an appointment with me for the following day and advised of all the information I would need. I got all the info she asked for and she didn't even bother to call me during our appointment time.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

Horrible customer service, useless

by yt on Dec 21, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Dad passed away 4 months ago, made a claim and heard nothing back. Called and was given the round about for an hour and a half with dumbnutts not knowing where to send me to. Then them telling me that they can't fullfill the claims.

USELESS and WASTE of TIME.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't go with Manulife

by Jason Huang on Dec 4, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I swear I've lost 10 years of my life dealing with Manulife...
They never process the claims correctly and it takes them 2 weeks to process any of my claims. I can never let them process my claims and automatically claim the remaining unpaid portion through HCSA because they never process the claim correctly and end up spending way more money on the HCSA which you would have to spend even more time to get them to re-process and make the changes. That would be fine if they process at a reasonable speed but that's not even the issue... They would NEVER DO IT!!!! If their claim is not processed right, I would have to contact them for over a month straight to get a response and actually get things done right.
Questions are never answered, I have all my customer service conversation transcripts and they always say they forwarded my questions to their teams and they would contact me with the answers but I literally never hear from them again after that.
I would seriously pull my teeth out than to willingly choose them as a provider. I literally have no choice but to use them because my employer chose them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible customer service and no follow through on promises

by Ticked Off on Oct 17, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

They have have been recognized as a best employer but they have the worst customer service. My father recently passed away and he had a whole life policy for both my brother and I. I called as co-executor of his estate to inform them of my fathers passing and to have our policies transferred to us. I sent the will and documentation in as requested and was informed we should each receive a package in 4-5 weeks. 6 weeks later I called back to ask if the policy transfer had been acted on. I was told they could not give me information for privacy reasons without the persons written consent. Is the will and appointment of executors not consent? I was told the matter would have to be dealt with by the Titles Division. I asked to be transferred and was told they don’t speak directly to clients they would have to call me. I asked they call me back in 3 business days which have now passed. Manulife has horrible customer service! You have options for life insurance, go elsewhere as they will not be there for you when you need them!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

Worst insurance

by Victimized on Oct 4, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

0% value customer service, specially during the pandemic. Financial advisors does not know anything. Cannot approach in time of need. And ridiculously funny because you will have to loan out the money you paid for with another high interest that you will be charge for the benefit that you should have. If i were you consider others this is a type of insurance with no value and no benefit at all in time when you need it. Even your agent will just be there when it is pay time. When it is claim time wow! Will make it difficult for you. Liars!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo