Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(61 reviews)
Manulife
2.2 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Won't cover adhd

by Camille Salter on Mar 5, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

Funny, they've got a big web page all about how they're helping they're insured with mental health etc etc., and then exclude ADHD treatment from my coverage plan.

Misleading copy. Smacks of disreputable behaviour. I will be going elsewhere.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

CROOKS!

by Dani on Oct 26, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I have had to deal with Manulife for years as they are the provider for my employer's group benefits. I've had the same employer for about 7 years, so I've had multiple interactions with Manulife. They are ALWAYS hard to deal with, representatives are incompetent, and after the experience I just had I am absolutely convinced they are crooks who are likely scamming thousands of people out of money they are entitled to. Through my work benefits, I am covered 100% up to $3000 for Mental Health Services (in my case, I was submitting a claim for a marriage clinical counselling session which as per the fine print in my coverage statement falls under an eligible practitioner). Get this... a 50-minute session at the clinic I attend is $130. That is a set flat rate and does not change depending on how many people attend. So if I do a session on my own - $130 - if I do a session with my husband - also $130. True to form, Manulife only reimbursed me half of the cost of the appointment because my husband isn't covered under my plan. This should not matter! If a marriage counselling session was say $200 instead of the normal $130 I would completely understand why Manulife wouldn't cover the additional cost for someone who isn't covered under the plan...BUT THERE IS LITERALLY NOT ONE PENNY MORE COMING OUT OF MANULIFE'S BUDGET TO PAY ME OUT!!!! It's gut-wrenching that amidst global crisis all I'm trying to do is seek mental health services and a company that nets billions of dollars each year is trying to scam me out of $65 because "that is just how it's processed". I sincerely hope someone starts investigating this company because they are horrible.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Whole life policy

by Mike on Sep 29, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

I was sold a whole life policy and promised all these great numbers in my cash value. As I looked more into it and did my third party research I found out quickly how they kept my savings for the first 3 years. Also, I only got the death benefit or cash value when I died. So to explain it simply I was paying for two things and only get one in return. Stay away from this company. Horrible customer service, my agent was only after a Commission.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

Excellent service and value

by eagleye on Mar 12, 2017
5 out of 5 stars

I've had three experiences on the claims side with Manulife. Two were of their life insurance policies and one was with their group employer short-term and long term disability coverage. In all three cases, I was not the claimant as such. With the two life insurance claims, I was the executor and administrator of two separate estates where the deceased was life insured by Manulife.

In both life insurance death benefits claims cases, Manulife's claims dept representatives were helpful, efficient and professional in their work. In both cases the death benefits were paid in full, expeditiously and without any delays or obstacles.

In the case of the short and long term disability case, it involved one of our company's employees. There again, Manulife's service was exemplary.

In a sense, am surprised by some of the negative reviews; however, it is more likely that one would be more motivated to place a negative review when feeling to be short-changed than a positive review for just receiving the expected. Thinking back I did have a terrible experience with one of the bank-owned insurance companies who did everything to deny a valid and fully documented travel medical emergency claim to the point that they eventually succeeded in frustrating the claim.

That case, not with Manulife but one of the bank-owned insurance companies, involved a medical emergency during a Carribean cruise. Despite having all the documentation, diagnosis, treatment, etc. they insisted on interviewing that attending physician whose personal contact information was unavailable due to privacy rules of the cruise liner. Apparently, they knew about that privacy rule of the cruise liner and used that knowledge to zap the customer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

cannot be trusted

by krtdussome on Feb 28, 2016
1 out of 5 stars

My father purchased several Manufacturer Life policies in the 1950s, forgot about them after the 1970s more or less and did not know they demutualized in 1999 which means even a simple policy for $1,000 back in the day realized 160,000 shares by 2007 when he passed away. A few years later I discovered evidence of yet another two policies. Manulife refuses to provide any information about one of the policies - as though it conveniently never existed and in regards to the other they have told me my father purchased it in the US rather than Canada like the other ones he had when he was not even able to cross the border into the USA in the early 50s let alone qualify to purchase life insurance there. The experience has been a real eye opener for me. If anyone has had a similar experience or can recommend help with the situation, I would most appreciate it. So much for consumer protection. I don't see anyone doing anything about the old, unclaimed policies.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

insurance cancelation

by Ron on Aug 5, 2014
1 out of 5 stars

Everyone be aware that when your policy expires they will automatically renew it at a much much higher rate. My agent phoned me to ask if I wanted to renew my policy as it was coming to its end....10 years. I asked him what the new rate will be, he said he did not know but its much higher. I said I would not likely renew. He did not remind me the contract stated its an automatic renewal unless you contact Manulife. As a result I did not notice for several months they were with drawing from my acct. a 600% increase in rates, which they will not refund.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
5 out of 5 stars

Our agent is very thorough in explaining the coverages with us. He's professional, always returns calls promptly if we have questions. The coverage was by far the most economical when I shopped around for coverages. They offer an extensive list of types of insurance that can be truly geared to our specific needs.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
3 out of 5 stars

Agent did not warn me that premiums would increase after 10 years while signing on. This being my first insurance in Canada. Did not continue with this company after that. Moved to RBC

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
4 out of 5 stars

They supplied a good policy at the lowest rates I could find

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
2.5 out of 5 stars

Hard to get real answers from them in regards to what a policy means. It is a very difficult to understand area.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo