Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

RBC Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

(168 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
65,328
consumers
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Avoid RBC save your sanity

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dori Oct 04, 2019
We have been a loyal customer for years. They like to make a lot of mistakes. I made an inquiry for my brother in law for an auto quote. It was clear to the agent that the phone call was an inquiry. She put my brother in law on our insurance policy. After fighting and going back and forth they realize the agent was WRONG for putting him there. We had to prove he did not resign with us and he found another company to go with. We were blamed and told we purposely put him on our policy which we DID NOT and it was an inquiry quote. We still had to pay $100 extra on our monthly insurance. They gave us a $13 discount for the “in convince”. Now this recent incident got me furious. We were charged double payments. Now we cancelled our insurance thinking of switching but changed our minds about the new company we wanted to be with. We were uninsured for 2 weeks. Now our renewal is for August/September. Took off the insurance aug 14, reinstated it August 25. Upon being reinstated the representative told us that THEY will be collecting payment in 2 days (August 28) and be prepared to make a payment. We agreed and we were prepared for the payment. 3 days went by after the payment was “supposed” to come out of the account. THEY PAYMENT DID NOT COME OUT. We called back RBC and the representative said they payment is due September 30 of $338. (Nothing more nothing less) Shortly after we got out new renewal papers. On the payment schedule, I’ve notice June had 2 payments. (June 1 and June 30) We went away to Orlando last week of September/October. As of September, 30 RBC insurance took our $676 out of our account! While on vacation. Do you know the frustration they just caused us! And they claimed we owed them?!? Are you serious? Went back and forth numerous representatives that day. Representatives did not want us to talk to the supervisor. Kept giving us the runaround. Finally got a callback today. And clearly, nothing was resolved. The supervisor did not want to do anything. Did not want to investigate the situation nor wanted to hear the recording of what was conversed with us. We told the supervisor that’s false information they were giving us. And all she said was “oh well they will be retrained or they will lose their job” - how the fuck does that help? No representative told us double payment was coming out at all! Was not told anything. RBC told us that it “was too close” to take out payment. So why were we not aware of this? They just assumed. The money was in the account. No email, no letter no phone call. NOTHING just take take take money. DO NOT GO WITH RBC!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

worst insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy Sep 23, 2019
So disappointed. Have been a loyal customer for years. Not one claim or missed payment. Now I have to reapply and submit my full yearly premium. Disappointed royal bank is not stopping this. So not cool to loyal customers. Looking for insurance today that treats their customer with value.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Charlatans and con artists

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Coyote Sep 21, 2019
They want everyone on higher upfront premiums and will lie and cheat to get you there. I had RBC Auto Insurance for five years. This year they sent me a letter requesting updated information. I phoned them and went through every section of the paperwork with one of their representatives to make sure it was completed to their satisfaction, then scanned and emailed it to them. They cancelled my auto insurance without notifying me, so when I found out, I phoned them and they claimed the paperwork had been incomplete. They never bothered to notify me of this despite having email, phone, and home addresses for me. I tried to renew with them, whereupon their operator informed me that they would no longer be accepting monthly payments on new applications. They refused to make any sort of accommodation for me despite their blatant mishandling of my information.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Not good stay away.

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by LJ Sep 11, 2019
Short and simple. This is all the negative stereotype of an insurance company rolled into one. They have no empathy towards customers. They make a lot of decision that negatively impacts the customer. Then penalizes them for wanting to cancel midterm. So on top of a premium increase for no reason. They also charge a cancellation fee for moving to a cheaper company. Just laughable!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Laura E Aug 30, 2019
Absolutely the worst company ever. They take more than two months to insure you. It shouldn’t take that so long. Please, do not Insure your car with Rbc! It one of the worst companies out there! They take as long as they please. The customer service is terrible. No one is there to help you, you wait 2 hours to speak to an agent!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

EXPERIENCE MADE ME CRAZY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by commonproblem Aug 29, 2019
I feel I have to advise of an unacceptable situation with RBC insurance agents who were representing AVIVA.. It all started with the documents sent by AVIVA requesting a totally new application for auto insurance on our three vehicles. We felt the information was already on file with RBC and seemed redundant to redo the form. We did fill out the pages that were relevant to us and scanned them to AVIVA. To our surprise we get a letter by Royal Mail stating that some info was missing; items were highlighted for our convenience. The letter arrived on FRIDAY, August 2nd, of the long weekend. To our surprise, it stated that we will have no coverage if the form is not returned prior to Aug 5th, which was a start holiday by the way. Why not a phone call or an email since the matter was time-sensitive? We immediately phoned the RBC number and were advised we could fix and scan the corrected pages back to AVIVA. Also to check on Saturday to ensure they received it. Please note at no time were we told to send all five pages. Called Saturday morning and were advised the forms were received but one box was not correct so please redo and scan THE PAGE; again no mention of sending five. He said since they received it before Aug 5th, we would get 14 days coverage while our forms were processed. Tuesday we phoned just to make sure all was okay but due to call volumes we chose not to wait for hours and to call Wednesday. Imagine our surprise when we were told there was no coverage and we would have to start from scratch; as if we had not been customers for almost twenty years. The supposed licensed agent said we did not send in the five pages so it had become a legal issue. Nothing could be done and we would have to wait for 30 days for our application to be processed. We were treated terribly and I felt the agents were very condescending in their tone and the fact they kept repeating the same phrases; probably reading from a script. We were lucky that we found another company that was more than willing to help us out and they did it with professionalism and speed. They also gave us a better price even though RBC brags they offer the best deals.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible people

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Amer Bo Aug 09, 2019
My insurance recently went from 167 to 262. I called to check why the rates went up by 60% and was told all the rates nationwide went up. When I pushed for more answers they said the discounts I had no longer applied. They wouldn’t drop my rate down a dollar to keep me on. I don’t know how they’re still an insurance company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Absolutely Horrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brian Aug 02, 2019
Do not deal with RBC Insurance / Aviva Insurance. Ownership and/or structural changes of Aviva has changed and have made this a terrible insurance company. This year, all clients were forced to fill out paperwork by hand to renew their auto insurance. Terms on the paperwork were confusing and to make sure everything was completed correctly, I had to go to into office location to fill out. The receptionist at the office was complaining about how there were too many phone calls and how that was annoying. It takes a long time for agents to meet with you. Calling the company, I have been on hold for a very long time. After going through the hassle of all the paperwork, Aviva sent me changes to policy upon renewal with $0 for collision and comprehensive. Absolutely ridiculous and unacceptable.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

RBC wake up

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nicmac Jul 30, 2019
RBC Insurance is underwritten by AVIVA. Been with Royal bank and Insurance for 20+ years. I received a letter today from AVIVA saying I needed to apply for my renewal and had to pay the premium in full in 45 days!!! Who has $5000 plus sitting around? Since it is RBC I deal with and they are not helping... I will be moving ALL my business from RBC and I have a lot of business with them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Disgusting Rates

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Annoyed2019 Jul 22, 2019
I've just received my new Policy for September 2019 to September 2020 and my insurance increased through Aviva by $43 a month from $121 to $164. I have not had an accident, a speeding ticket, not even a cracked windshield in over 7 years. I asked the rep on the phone how my insurance can jump $43 a month for not costing the company a cent and they dared to tell me my policy rates are not just based on my driving, but the drivers located in my area where I reside. If Aviva has paid out a lot of money in claims in the Oshawa area, it impacts my rates also.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

RBC Aviva Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by gofung Jul 15, 2019
Been with RBC insurance since 2009, my family and I had no complaints during the time before they were sold to Aviva. They cancelled my father's insurance saying that the car was out of date, they weren't able to insurance the car. For my own claim happened 2018, I got hit by a cube-van and took me a while for them to process my claim, I ended up forcing myself to go back to work before I fully recover from the injury. Finally, I just called in for cancelling my auto policy because I sold my car and going on vacation, the person who answered my call had no idea what he's talking about. I knew I have to pay a cancellation fee on that but I asked him how to calculate the fees, and he got out of words by telling me there was no way he can tell me, it generates on the computer. That's totally non-sense human program the damn software to allow the computer to calculate the math. The last thing the guy on the phone with was totally unprofessional, he confuses himself when I asked him if I need my policy cancel on the specific date. From this point, I will not come back with the insurance company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Big theaft company in Canada

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Augustino Jul 10, 2019
After 2-year finish agreement calls me and asks to make the payment! Now RBC sold to Aviva sure after the bad history with clients ... They do that with 3 from my friend they try to rob them after a couple of years. This is disgusting. RBC Aviva your are in the blacklist for all my live & friends & relative.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

RBC agent hung up phone

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by RBC customer screwed. Jul 02, 2019
I have been with RBC insurance for home and auto for about 3 a year. Each year without any reason they raised my rates despite no claims. Last year they made some dumb excuse that there was a fire in Alberta, so my Montreal rates had to go up. Today, when I asked when is the excuse now they hung up! After arguing that they gave me a 2 $ /YEAR DISCOUNT! AVIVA / RBC insurance is finished for me!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

50% rate hike for no reason

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by rowbear Jul 01, 2019
Been with RBC for a long while. Aviva comes in and suddenly crap is happening. Out of nowhere a rate hike of 50%. Nothing, I mean nothing has changed. No explanation that made sense was given. I have a Ram 1500 and the agent said that the underwriters viewed my area and because there are so many Rams with claims in my area that my rate would increase. I'm supposed to just accept that? Obviously, there is something behind the scenes going on. I'm shopping around now, but what a letdown. Just when you're comfortable, someone has to come along and disrupt your comfort. Taking away discounts is another issue altogether. They don't care about customers. Guaranteed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst ever customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by wku Jun 27, 2019
This has to be the worst ever customer service department I've ever had to deal with or even imagined existed. My insurance was abruptly cancelled because of "material change risk" I was told because of some phantom "two at fault accidents in the past six years". Now consider this .. I've gone to every length to prove to there people after days of waiting half hour to one and a half hour on the phone to speak to someone. After all of that and their so-called escalation, absolutely nothing has budged even though I have all the proof that I have no at fault claims in my history of driving. Now I'm left with no insurance and cancellation on my record that will take forever to go away. Moving to RBC insurance has to be one of my worst mistakes and it's very regrettable indeed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

RBC Insurance terrible now

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Mike J Jun 25, 2019
I've been an RBC Insurance customer for over twenty years. Everything was great until a few years ago when RBC got Aviva to operate this part of RBC's business. 1) Out of the blue in April, I got a letter saying I had to re-apply for my auto insurance or they'd cancel my policy. This was done under the pretense of "updated customer information". Of course, nothing had changed and it made no sense as to why they were making us re-apply. 2) This requirement included a bloated application form, including stuff that really needed an insurance professional to fill out, but there was no guidance provided. I've done online forms for other agencies when checking prices, and none of them were remotely this indecipherable (yet they were just as comprehensive for the information they asked). We re-applied and got our insurance on our second try, with no notes on what we did wrong to offend the insurance gods the first time. 3) Now we must pay an annual lump sum for our insurance, not monthly payments. Why? Ask those insurance gods again, because I have no clue. 4) If annual payments aren't bad enough, they didn't inform us that they stopped the automatic billing from our bank account, so we got a letter in the mail telling us we were late. There's no option I can see to go back to automatic billing. In short, if you're a new customer, avoid RBC Auto Insurance. If you're an existing customer, consider leaving (I can't even begin to imagine what it would be like to have to file a claim with them).
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Run as fast as you can!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by M.K. Jun 20, 2019
Since RBC Insurance merged with Aviva the customer service has been none existent. Like others, I had to reapply for my car insurance, the letter they sent with it was not very pleasant! My home insurance went up by 50%. I was with Aviva before and didn’t like them so I was extremely disappointed when RBC aligned with them. I had to wait on hold for 1 hour to tell them I was not renewing my policies. Don’t waste your time, look elsewhere!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Cancellation Fees-Rising Rates

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by rolton Jun 20, 2019
Was raising my auto insurance rates every year, even though my vehicle was getting older, and I hadn't made any claims or received any speeding tickets. Was frustrating because they arbitrarily took away discounts applied previously for no reason. Renewal time was up and I told them that I only wanted a temporary policy for a couple months, as I was selling my vehicle. (In the meantime, I had purchased a new vehicle and insured it with someone else for cheaper). After I sold the older vehicle, which took longer than expected, I called to cancel that policy. I was surprised to find out that they were charging me a cancellation fee! I explained that I told their rep right from the beginning that I only needed the policy for a couple months as I was selling the vehicle. I was surprised to learn that they don't even offer a temporary policy, which they should have told me from the beginning. Thirteen years with home and auto insurance without any claims and they wouldn't budge on dinging me with a $48 fee. And I had to wait 1hr and 21 minutes to get this news! Disgusting!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Renewal of Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by RBC Insurance Sucks Jun 14, 2019
I had the worst experience with RBC Insurance. Without sending me a renewal notice, they hiked up my insurance by $100 and, when I called them to get it cancelled since I moved to another insurance company, they charged me a policy cancellation fee even though it was their fault. I do not recommend RBC to anyone.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

RBC - Aviva Insurance STEAL

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by natacha Jun 04, 2019
I have been dealing with RBC for 8 years. I have never had so many issues with them then in the last week. I have escalated my call and nobody has contacted me yet. Although I have been a customer for the past 8 years and added a 2016 vehicle, they're charging me over $3,000. They are telling me that there is nothing they can do. While I look up other quotes by the internet and calling other companies, there quote is below $2,500. With all the issues going on over this week, we decided to update my policy, (before I added the new vehicle) and now can't cancel my policy even though they're stealing my hard earned cash. I will be escalating up to the ombudsman if I have too.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Richard May 30, 2019
Did you know it is impossible to complain about the lack of service that you receive from Customer Service? There is no way ... really. I called customer service and asked for a manager. I had to fight for half an hours to escalate. Then I heard they will call me back in 24 hours. Nobody did. Called again ... same story. 45 min waiting in the queue, 30 min arguing to get it escalated... somebody was to call... NOTHING. Asked for a manager - refused. Asked for callback ... nothing. The best is the agent, actually, closed the case noting... customer could not decide what to do... Finally, I found general website with complaints section. Filled what was needed and again ... no callback. They don't care...simple.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Can't get a hold of anyone

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by P_bauer May 30, 2019
I'm trying to take a car off insurance and nobody is there to pick up. I have been waiting for over an hour.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Ridiculous wait time

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by NothanksRBC May 30, 2019
After waiting on hold for an hour and a half (supposedly was going to be a 20-40 minute wait) to change the car on my policy to the new car I just purchased, and after correctly answering all the name, address, phone number on file, date of birth, number of cars on policy questions. I was then asked how much my monthly premium was and how I paid - information I was not sure of off the top of my head. My rate just changed and I couldn't remember if I paid with my credit card or bank withdrawal. Because I could not answer 2 of the 7 questions correctly I was advised the customer service rep could not assist me with my call. This is the fourth time I have had to call RBC recently due to a move so had to update my auto and home policies. Each time I have had to wait at least 45 minutes. I requested the call-back one time and it never happened so now I wait. When policy renewal time comes around next year you can be sure I will NOT, no way, never again, be renewing with RBC.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Completely unresponsive

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Brian H May 30, 2019
I get a letter two months ago that says I need to completely resubmit all my application documents for my auto insurance. And that now my premiums need to be paid in full up front, lump sum. No monthly payments? I've been trying to reach them over the phone all week. I have been on hold for multiple hours, with NO CALL BACK OPTION? I simply can't get through. It feels like they are intentionally trying to lose my business. Weird, and so annoying.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jus4ngels May 24, 2019
It's so hard to get hold of real person there. It takes like 2 hours minimum to get hold of someone on the phone. Absolutely horrible company. Will not renew.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Do not go with RBC Aviva!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by FrustratedInCalgary May 24, 2019
They are causing the co. to go bankrupt on purpose I was told by an RBC rep that RBC couldn’t make money on their auto portfolio so they made a deal for Aviva to try, they couldn’t either. So now the plan is to drive it into the ground, presumably for some kind of Corp tax break or declared loss benefit. Meanwhile, the loyal people get fed up by ‘application renewals’, payment in full surprises, and much higher premiums - in essence to drive folks away. BRUTAL RBC!!! Oh yeah - and try to get through to ANYONE on their customer line... good luck - IVE BEEN TRYING ALL MORNING
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Run from them!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by pjm May 17, 2019
I have 44 years of driving without any accidents, no tickets and never late with a payment, a client for approximately 15 years (RBC/Aviva) and just read what they did. It was our renewal time and the booklet Aviva ask us to fill out was completed and mailed back to them 1-2 weeks in advance (as per THEIR instructions.) Without a phone call, registered letter or ANY form of communication the policy was allowed to expire “lapse” without us knowing! I was doing my banking and noticed my monthly payment was not automatically taken last week. I called immediately and they said the mailed booklet (they told us to mail) was received a day late (even though it was mailed in plenty of time) and the policy automatically lapsed. That is how I learned that for the last week we were driving uninsured!!! The agent actually told me we were uninsured! She said that “usually” they send a letter but she could see there wasn’t one sent and asked if I would like her to send one right then!!! WHAT IS WRONG WITH THEM? Of all the people that should understand the importance of not driving without insurance is them. (I am so thankful we were not in an accident.) Nevertheless, she said she would like to open a new file and of course... with a new price that DOUBLED and a new rule of no more monthly payments (in Alberta) but annual payments with the new policy!!! FYI. Belair Direct took my driving information and after the application process offered me insurance a few dollars cheaper than our “old” policy with better coverage (which is almost half the price of the new file Aviva just quoted me today) A few more words to summarize RBC/Aviva: Unfair business practices; likely illegal practices; definitely unethical practices; down right dangerous practices; and most irresponsible company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Absolute Garbage!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by BogP May 13, 2019
They tried to renew my auto insurance for more than double after I had a minor traffic ticket with no demerit points, customer service is atrocious!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Look elsewhere!

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by GoneForever May 09, 2019
I was a client of theirs for 9 years. Last year I was rear-ended and I have to send emails each week requesting an update but my broker refuses to call me back to answer my questions and explain to me the process in supplying my medical bills... Horrible customer service. Then this year my insurance was up for renewal on March 9 (Saturday), I mailed it over March 3 - I realized it was tight but was optimistic that it would arrive on time. I hadn't heard anything or got any mail regarding the application, so I figured it was sitting on someone's desk awaiting approval. A month goes by and I decide to call. Turns out it arrived March 11 (Monday) and they internally marked it as "too late" and threw it out, they didn't issue out a mail informing me... they didn't send me an email..they didn't call me - NOTHING. So I started up a new application with that guy and he told me if I don't hear anything in 2 weeks then call back... I waited the 2 weeks and this time they say it was thrown out because I didn't put "n/a" in the appropriate boxes and that now because I was a *brand new client* I could only purchase full coverage as opposed to the comprehensive/liability that I wanted - with no reasoning. They informed they only communicate via MAIL which even if it was true, I would have received a letter from them the week previous saying my application didn't go through, but I didn't get anything. So to sum it all up their customer service skills are non-existent. They require hand-holding and harassment for them to take your money. It's not worth your time... I called up another insurance company and got everything finalized over the phone and email within 30 minutes. How easy the other company made the process almost brought me to tears because of how long I put up with RBC's crap.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Wait times horrible

 
(2.2 out of 5 stars)
by Wait too Long Apr 30, 2019
Anytime I call it says you'll wait about 5 - 7 minutes to talk to an advisor, more like 60-80 minutes. Absolutely ridiculous!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?