Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

RBC Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

(189 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
74,094
consumers
(1.4 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

NO CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by AngryAF Jul 07, 2020
I've been hung up on 4 times out of 5 times I've contacted this horrible company. Not hung up because of me... I never even got to speak to an agent. Just waited on hold or waited for a callback and when it rang to an agent, I was hung up on. So that wasn't the beginning of my HORRIBLE experience. At first, they upped my truck insurance $30/month. I called a bunch of times with the hang-ups, fuming mad, finally got them to reduce my rate as I was working from home. Set up an online account so I didn't have to deal with them... NOPE....they put my spouse's car under my account and today I tried to contact them back to fix it.....same hang-up issue. Waiting for the second callback... Will see if that one works. But now I'm done so I'm going to research other companies.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Garbage

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Thivi Jun 26, 2020
Their waiting time on the phone is insane!!! Then at one point, it will say if you want us to call back please press 1 and you won't lose your spot we will call back within this minute to these minutes (ex. 39 to 47mins). Trust me you won't get a call on time! They will call you back after 1 hour and when you answer they will put you back on hold for another hour!!! What is the point of asking to call back?? I do not suggest this company at all they do many mistakes as well. Overall they are irresponsible!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Auto 2020 Jun 17, 2020
Miss information from the agent forced me to cancel and look for another auto insurance provider because I can't add back my son to my policy even though he was insured with RBC before and after he got his tickets and for years. The agent told me I can add him back to the policy when he comes back from abroad. It was very disappointing after all these years dealing with RBC :(
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Explore other options!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chester Jun 15, 2020
Initial rates are reasonable, but once you become their client, they just keep increasing premiums without any explanation and waiting to speak to someone at their call center is also brutal. I highly recommend going elsewhere!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor customer service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by DR May 26, 2020
The person who updated my coverage for a new vehicle had me on the phone for nearly 2 hours, didn't send the insurance policy to the dealership and made some careless mistakes. She did try to sell me on a bunch of other products I didn't need or want though.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Poor Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by elapid May 20, 2020
I had a stone chip in my windscreen within days of purchasing my new car, a Subaru Crosscheck. I had called the phone number on the liability card to enquire about whether I would have to pay a deductible or not if I made a claim to repair this stone chip. I was passed to three different customer services representatives, berated for calling the incorrect number (despite this number being on the liability card), and apparently annoyed the last of these customer service representatives because she became exasperated that I would not just make a claim without knowing whether or not a deductible was involved. This last customer service representative put me on hold for over 45 minutes. Unbeknown to me, this then put me into afterhours and your afterhours customer service representative could not help me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

No Help During Covid-19

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mac Apr 15, 2020
RBC Insurance has only offered a 4% discount on my auto premium during my temporary layoff due to Covid-19. I have never been late on a payment or made a claim, and my driving record is perfect. The agent was less than helpful. They claim to provide support during this difficult time, REALLY?!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

RBC-AVIVA Covid19

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Milesaway Apr 15, 2020
We called RBC customer service and waited for 2 hours before somebody picks up our calls. Due to the current situation right now we heard that another insurance company is giving a discount because we are not using our vehicle as we are working from home for almost a month now. RBC Insurance did not help at all. What they offered is to suspend the insurance and therefore you cannot use your vehicle at all. What kind of service they have. How can you not use your car especially this kind of situation, of course, we need to go out at least once a month to buy groceries but that is in your nearby area. We are only asking for a discount. It is so frustrating.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The worst experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Myla Apr 02, 2020
We have both auto and home insurance with RBC. Every year the principal payments go up without any reasons for that. We didn't have any claims, the same car, the same house. After almost 2 hours on the phone with a representative, they didn't give me any option to put payments down or to explain why I should pay more. In addition to that, they told me that because of the mistake they did in our application the price will go up again next year. That's unbelievable. I will definitely go to another instance company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Awful

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Damdy Feb 27, 2020
Refuse to stop billing me even though I haven't been insured with them in months. Everywhere from claims to just basic customer support was an awful and aggravating experience. When I made a claim someone had hit and run me (another person was caught minutes after) labelled it as my fault and closed the case without notifying me. Fighting the case is almost impossible they claim not to have an ombudsman. Even paying for repairs they refused to let me get my car repaired anywhere but a one particular body shop chain. They are known and have experienced them raising prices mid-term without notifying you. It is not uncommon to be misbilled, double-charged etc... and they will claim that nothing of the sort happened to have to fight tooth and nail to get your money back. They wanted a 3000$ cancellation fee. Wouldn't trust this company if my life depended on it I urge everyone to STAY AWAY FROM RBC/AVIVA INSURANCE!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

RBC insurance for car rental

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy RBC customer Feb 05, 2020
RBC/Aviva will find their way to decline your claim, so you can't rely on them and have peace of mind. Mine was declined only because my rental cost was reimbursed by another insurance company as a replacement transportation because my own vehicle was hit and damaged, even though that company did not insure my replacement vehicle. So never rely on RBC credit card insurance coverage. It's not worth the paper their certificate is written on.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

No forgiveness

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by zeesum Jan 09, 2020
My insurance was being charged to my credit card which was compromised. RBC charged me with an NSF. This was not my fault - 11 years of regular, timely payments and they couldn't overlook this one-time issue that wasn't my fault. Never dealing with RBC again.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

A nightmare to deal with

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rico Dec 19, 2019
I obtained a quote online that seemed to fit my budget. When I called and gave my quote number I was asked the provide all the information all over again. After providing all the information and answering literally 25 questions I was put on hold. I came back and answered another round of questions, placed on hold again. they requested I sent over documents of previous insurance and I did while being placed on hold again so they could review. I answered another round of questions and was placed on hold again. After being on the phone for an hour and twenty minutes I was informed that unfortunately, I would need to submit a paper application where I would need to explain the answers to the questions they had asked me, that it would take 3 weeks to process and then I would receive another quote! I literally laughed at the representative and told him he was insane if he thought I would go to all that trouble just to get a quote. If they wanted me to jump through all those hoops just to get a quote, imagine the nightmare that must be trying to file a claim with them. I hung up, called a different company, had a 10 min phone call with the agent and was insured within the hour and for a lower rate. I will never EVER do business with RBC insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Cancelled without notification

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JDPS Dec 11, 2019
I changed my address a few months back, and at that time was notified that payments were switching to annual lump sum vs monthly payments. I wasn't overly pleased with that but told them that it was fine. I just received a call from my financing company saying the insurance company notified them that my policy was cancelled. When I called RBC/Aviva insurance, they said I never paid, and I've been driving without insurance for 2 months now. I had given them consent to take the lump sum from my account back in September (same as they had been charging me monthly before), yet they didn't charge me, then cancelled my policy without any attempt to phone or email. When I asked for the policy to be reinstated, they quoted me my old price, then on the same phone call said that the premium was actually 50% more than the quote they had given me minutes prior. When I asked why they said that was just what the quote was. On top of that, they wanted me to back-pay for the two months that I was apparently without insurance. I've had 1 speeding ticket in my life (4 years ago) and never been in an accident in which I was at fault.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Premium goes up and up...

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by GogaR Nov 08, 2019
Every time you change your car the bump your premium. Doesn't matter if you change to a smaller or a larger vehicle, the most base model or fully loaded, active safety or not, cheaper by thousands or more expensive. Absolute nonsense.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Avoid RBC save your sanity

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dori Oct 04, 2019
We have been a loyal customer for years. They like to make a lot of mistakes. I made an inquiry for my brother in law for an auto quote. It was clear to the agent that the phone call was an inquiry. She put my brother in law on our insurance policy. After fighting and going back and forth they realize the agent was WRONG for putting him there. We had to prove he did not resign with us and he found another company to go with. We were blamed and told we purposely put him on our policy which we DID NOT and it was an inquiry quote. We still had to pay $100 extra on our monthly insurance. They gave us a $13 discount for the “in convince”. Now this recent incident got me furious. We were charged double payments. Now we cancelled our insurance thinking of switching but changed our minds about the new company we wanted to be with. We were uninsured for 2 weeks. Now our renewal is for August/September. Took off the insurance aug 14, reinstated it August 25. Upon being reinstated the representative told us that THEY will be collecting payment in 2 days (August 28) and be prepared to make a payment. We agreed and we were prepared for the payment. 3 days went by after the payment was “supposed” to come out of the account. THEY PAYMENT DID NOT COME OUT. We called back RBC and the representative said they payment is due September 30 of $338. (Nothing more nothing less) Shortly after we got out new renewal papers. On the payment schedule, I’ve notice June had 2 payments. (June 1 and June 30) We went away to Orlando last week of September/October. As of September, 30 RBC insurance took our $676 out of our account! While on vacation. Do you know the frustration they just caused us! And they claimed we owed them?!? Are you serious? Went back and forth numerous representatives that day. Representatives did not want us to talk to the supervisor. Kept giving us the runaround. Finally got a callback today. And clearly, nothing was resolved. The supervisor did not want to do anything. Did not want to investigate the situation nor wanted to hear the recording of what was conversed with us. We told the supervisor that’s false information they were giving us. And all she said was “oh well they will be retrained or they will lose their job” - how the fuck does that help? No representative told us double payment was coming out at all! Was not told anything. RBC told us that it “was too close” to take out payment. So why were we not aware of this? They just assumed. The money was in the account. No email, no letter no phone call. NOTHING just take take take money. DO NOT GO WITH RBC!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

worst insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy Sep 23, 2019
So disappointed. Have been a loyal customer for years. Not one claim or missed payment. Now I have to reapply and submit my full yearly premium. Disappointed royal bank is not stopping this. So not cool to loyal customers. Looking for insurance today that treats their customer with value.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Charlatans and con artists

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Coyote Sep 21, 2019
They want everyone on higher upfront premiums and will lie and cheat to get you there. I had RBC Auto Insurance for five years. This year they sent me a letter requesting updated information. I phoned them and went through every section of the paperwork with one of their representatives to make sure it was completed to their satisfaction, then scanned and emailed it to them. They cancelled my auto insurance without notifying me, so when I found out, I phoned them and they claimed the paperwork had been incomplete. They never bothered to notify me of this despite having email, phone, and home addresses for me. I tried to renew with them, whereupon their operator informed me that they would no longer be accepting monthly payments on new applications. They refused to make any sort of accommodation for me despite their blatant mishandling of my information.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Not good stay away.

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by LJ Sep 11, 2019
Short and simple. This is all the negative stereotype of an insurance company rolled into one. They have no empathy towards customers. They make a lot of decision that negatively impacts the customer. Then penalizes them for wanting to cancel midterm. So on top of a premium increase for no reason. They also charge a cancellation fee for moving to a cheaper company. Just laughable!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Worst company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Laura E Aug 30, 2019
Absolutely the worst company ever. They take more than two months to insure you. It shouldn’t take that so long. Please, do not Insure your car with Rbc! It one of the worst companies out there! They take as long as they please. The customer service is terrible. No one is there to help you, you wait 2 hours to speak to an agent!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

EXPERIENCE MADE ME CRAZY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by commonproblem Aug 29, 2019
I feel I have to advise of an unacceptable situation with RBC insurance agents who were representing AVIVA.. It all started with the documents sent by AVIVA requesting a totally new application for auto insurance on our three vehicles. We felt the information was already on file with RBC and seemed redundant to redo the form. We did fill out the pages that were relevant to us and scanned them to AVIVA. To our surprise we get a letter by Royal Mail stating that some info was missing; items were highlighted for our convenience. The letter arrived on FRIDAY, August 2nd, of the long weekend. To our surprise, it stated that we will have no coverage if the form is not returned prior to Aug 5th, which was a start holiday by the way. Why not a phone call or an email since the matter was time-sensitive? We immediately phoned the RBC number and were advised we could fix and scan the corrected pages back to AVIVA. Also to check on Saturday to ensure they received it. Please note at no time were we told to send all five pages. Called Saturday morning and were advised the forms were received but one box was not correct so please redo and scan THE PAGE; again no mention of sending five. He said since they received it before Aug 5th, we would get 14 days coverage while our forms were processed. Tuesday we phoned just to make sure all was okay but due to call volumes we chose not to wait for hours and to call Wednesday. Imagine our surprise when we were told there was no coverage and we would have to start from scratch; as if we had not been customers for almost twenty years. The supposed licensed agent said we did not send in the five pages so it had become a legal issue. Nothing could be done and we would have to wait for 30 days for our application to be processed. We were treated terribly and I felt the agents were very condescending in their tone and the fact they kept repeating the same phrases; probably reading from a script. We were lucky that we found another company that was more than willing to help us out and they did it with professionalism and speed. They also gave us a better price even though RBC brags they offer the best deals.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Terrible people

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Amer Bo Aug 09, 2019
My insurance recently went from 167 to 262. I called to check why the rates went up by 60% and was told all the rates nationwide went up. When I pushed for more answers they said the discounts I had no longer applied. They wouldn’t drop my rate down a dollar to keep me on. I don’t know how they’re still an insurance company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Absolutely Horrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brian Aug 02, 2019
Do not deal with RBC Insurance / Aviva Insurance. Ownership and/or structural changes of Aviva has changed and have made this a terrible insurance company. This year, all clients were forced to fill out paperwork by hand to renew their auto insurance. Terms on the paperwork were confusing and to make sure everything was completed correctly, I had to go to into office location to fill out. The receptionist at the office was complaining about how there were too many phone calls and how that was annoying. It takes a long time for agents to meet with you. Calling the company, I have been on hold for a very long time. After going through the hassle of all the paperwork, Aviva sent me changes to policy upon renewal with $0 for collision and comprehensive. Absolutely ridiculous and unacceptable.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

RBC wake up

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nicmac Jul 30, 2019
RBC Insurance is underwritten by AVIVA. Been with Royal bank and Insurance for 20+ years. I received a letter today from AVIVA saying I needed to apply for my renewal and had to pay the premium in full in 45 days!!! Who has $5000 plus sitting around? Since it is RBC I deal with and they are not helping... I will be moving ALL my business from RBC and I have a lot of business with them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Disgusting Rates

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Annoyed2019 Jul 22, 2019
I've just received my new Policy for September 2019 to September 2020 and my insurance increased through Aviva by $43 a month from $121 to $164. I have not had an accident, a speeding ticket, not even a cracked windshield in over 7 years. I asked the rep on the phone how my insurance can jump $43 a month for not costing the company a cent and they dared to tell me my policy rates are not just based on my driving, but the drivers located in my area where I reside. If Aviva has paid out a lot of money in claims in the Oshawa area, it impacts my rates also.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

RBC Aviva Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by gofung Jul 15, 2019
Been with RBC insurance since 2009, my family and I had no complaints during the time before they were sold to Aviva. They cancelled my father's insurance saying that the car was out of date, they weren't able to insurance the car. For my own claim happened 2018, I got hit by a cube-van and took me a while for them to process my claim, I ended up forcing myself to go back to work before I fully recover from the injury. Finally, I just called in for cancelling my auto policy because I sold my car and going on vacation, the person who answered my call had no idea what he's talking about. I knew I have to pay a cancellation fee on that but I asked him how to calculate the fees, and he got out of words by telling me there was no way he can tell me, it generates on the computer. That's totally non-sense human program the damn software to allow the computer to calculate the math. The last thing the guy on the phone with was totally unprofessional, he confuses himself when I asked him if I need my policy cancel on the specific date. From this point, I will not come back with the insurance company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Big theaft company in Canada

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Augustino Jul 10, 2019
After 2-year finish agreement calls me and asks to make the payment! Now RBC sold to Aviva sure after the bad history with clients ... They do that with 3 from my friend they try to rob them after a couple of years. This is disgusting. RBC Aviva your are in the blacklist for all my live & friends & relative.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

RBC agent hung up phone

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by RBC customer screwed. Jul 02, 2019
I have been with RBC insurance for home and auto for about 3 a year. Each year without any reason they raised my rates despite no claims. Last year they made some dumb excuse that there was a fire in Alberta, so my Montreal rates had to go up. Today, when I asked when is the excuse now they hung up! After arguing that they gave me a 2 $ /YEAR DISCOUNT! AVIVA / RBC insurance is finished for me!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

50% rate hike for no reason

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by rowbear Jul 01, 2019
Been with RBC for a long while. Aviva comes in and suddenly crap is happening. Out of nowhere a rate hike of 50%. Nothing, I mean nothing has changed. No explanation that made sense was given. I have a Ram 1500 and the agent said that the underwriters viewed my area and because there are so many Rams with claims in my area that my rate would increase. I'm supposed to just accept that? Obviously, there is something behind the scenes going on. I'm shopping around now, but what a letdown. Just when you're comfortable, someone has to come along and disrupt your comfort. Taking away discounts is another issue altogether. They don't care about customers. Guaranteed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Worst ever customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by wku Jun 27, 2019
This has to be the worst ever customer service department I've ever had to deal with or even imagined existed. My insurance was abruptly cancelled because of "material change risk" I was told because of some phantom "two at fault accidents in the past six years". Now consider this .. I've gone to every length to prove to there people after days of waiting half hour to one and a half hour on the phone to speak to someone. After all of that and their so-called escalation, absolutely nothing has budged even though I have all the proof that I have no at fault claims in my history of driving. Now I'm left with no insurance and cancellation on my record that will take forever to go away. Moving to RBC insurance has to be one of my worst mistakes and it's very regrettable indeed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?