Independent Home Insurance Reviews

RBC Insurance Home Insurance Reviews

(57 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
30,740
consumers
(1.7 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Very poor service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Dave Mar 20, 2019
You always talk to a robot and they make you wait 45 min. And they can t call to let me know the payment didn't pass because they didn't have the right card number. They hung up the phone and don't call back. So frustrating.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Avoid RBC like the plague

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by doctort Mar 18, 2019
I had a quote for house insurance. I made it clear that there is knob and tube wiring in the house on the initial call ( which I understand was recorded). Had the insurance for a few months. RBC sent a house inspector to look at the house due to its age. Was surprised to receive a call saying that I had lied to RBC and I was committing fraud. I told them to listen to the original recording but was told he did not have access to it. Was then told that I should cancel the insurance myself rather than have it cancelled for me because it would make me look like a liar and I will find it difficult to get insurance in the future. I did this because I didn't really want further trouble. I also made a complaint about the attitude of this worker. The 'complaints department' also said that they 'do not record all calls' and will not be able to verify my statement. I can understand if they admit that they have made a mistake and say that they will no longer provide coverage for the house. What I cannot accept is being called a liar and a fraud for their mistake. I will never have anything to do with RBC again for anything. They have the worst customer service amongst big banks.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

House not covered

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Andrea Mar 17, 2019
We had a couple of large snow storms and then some warm weather. We have a large deck on the second level of our vacation home. The snow melted and leaked in under our door sills and then caused water damage to the drywall in the basement, the carpet and exterior walls. The stone on the front of our house must be removed as there is water structural damage to the house. RBC/Aviva has been giving us the run-around for 6 weeks now. We have been passed from to 3 different people and had 2 adjusters over to meet our contractor. No recent communication with us. Our contractor is telling us we are only getting covered for 18000 and then we have a 2000 deductible. Our total claim is 38000. We can't believe how awful it is to get someone on the phone or communicate with us. We were told the first person went on maternity leave, the second one not sure why he’s gone and now this 3rd person. After this is done, we will be leaving this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Never get insurance here!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Upset newbie Jan 23, 2019
They will decide to terminate your insurance halfway through the year for a bogus reason the underwriter decides to pick in December. They will give you time until the beginning of January to find new insurance. They do not care that it’s Xmas and New Years, they have deemed they have given you enough time to get new insurance. This company has made a brand new homeowner know what to not look for in a home insurance company! They will not work with you at every chance they get.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

30 Years with RBC

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by shaw.a Jan 23, 2019
RBC AVIVA PARTNERSHIP - BAD MOVE. I have been with RBC for almost 30 years, I have 3 houses & 4 vehicles insured through RBC, so I am speaking from experience. Up until RBC changed from being an insurance company to being an agent & using Aviva Canada, the service provided to me by RBC was second to none. Since Aviva took over I had two no-fault car accidents in quick succession.1. Delay on my car being fixed due to the adjuster going on vacation & 2. giving my chiropractor grief over reports that they had lost & denial of treatment until finding out Aviva was in the wrong. Whenever I spoke with the Aviva adjuster she was very condescending & I made a complaint on this matter but heard no more on the matter. YOU WOULD THINK THAT WAS BAD ENOUGH BUT THE BOMBSHELL!!! In June of 2017, my neighbour had to have their water mains supply line repaired. The local city engineer, who was dealing with the repair, advised me to check to see that I had insurance coverage for this type of repair. I called RBC insurance on this matter. I was told that I did not have coverage & they could not give me coverage. No further advice was given. In April 2018 my insurance was renewed. In October 2018 I received a notice from the city water services that I had 14 days to have my water mains supply line repaired as it was leaking. If I did not complete the repair within the specified 14 days, my water would be turned off. I immediately called RBC insurance to see if I was covered for this repair, giving them in great detail, also explaining the urgency of the repair. I was advised that they would send an adjuster around to deal with the repair. The following day a regular plumber came, who was unable not help me with my repair, in fact, I had to explain the problem to him. He told me his boss would get back to me. To cut a long story short I had no further calls from Aviva about helping me with my repair. I ended up having to arrange for the repair to be done at a cost to me of $10,000. Eventually, I was told by Aviva that my claim was denied even though they had sent around the wrong trades. How is this possible to make a true assessment without knowing exactly what was wrong? I decided to contact RBC insurance to help me with my concerns about not getting support with my repair, even though I had specifically asked about coverage back in June 2017. They told me that yes, I do not have coverage but if I wanted coverage for any further such repair, they could now give me coverage??? I asked them, why did they not give me coverage back in June of 2017 when I specifically asked for coverage or when it came available. I asked for my claim to be appealed based on this fact that they record all phone calls and my call could be verified. After many calls & a lot of time on my behalf, they told me that they could not help me further with this claim. RBC, you are supposed to support & advise the customer on the difficult minefield of insurance, which you do promote in your adverts. Why did you not take responsibility for first denying coverage & then being able to offer coverage to me when it was too late. Throughout my ordeal I was having to repeat myself, spend hours on the phone chasing support that was not forthcoming & was promised to get callbacks from Aviva, nobody taking accountability for empty promises. If this is what you call service, I feel you give me no option to find the service that you used to give me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Do not trust this company

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Lisa Jan 18, 2019
RBC charged the wrong credit card, although they had two current ones on file that they recently used. They refused to take payment over the phone as I wanted to make sure I had insurance. Then they cancelled my policy. However, after reading these reviews, I am relieved I am insured elsewhere as it looks like dealing with them on claims is horrible. Do not trust this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

RBC a big disappointment

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Refwidow Jan 12, 2019
I was gainfully employed within the Alberta Oil and Gas sector for many years. July 2016, I had serious medical issues arise and unfortunately had my contract terminated by the Oil company I contracted for. Have always carried both Home Protection as well as Loan Protection with the RBC for any products in which we owned RBC collections starting the phone calls when things started to fall behind. I spoke to them about possibly increasing our line of credit as we had been living off savings. They declined as they told me I had no income, so, therefore, was a bad risk. Mortgage, 2 CC and a line of credit were all perfectly wonderful when my credit was A1 but when I was unable to work, RBC started with the non-stop "harassment". Only after getting into a knockout, drag-out screaming match with an RBC collections representative, telling me perhaps consider bankruptcy, did she accidentally slip the question, "Didn't you ever think about having insurance?" did it finally click. I had insurance on all outstanding items and yet, NO-ONE within RBC bothered to mention anything to me each and every time they decided to call demanding payment schedules. After I approached RBC insurance directly (different arm versus collections that don't speak to each other) was I told, that in fact yes, I had coverage with RBC Home and Loan Protection. Fast forward to jumping through each and every hoop both RBC and their Canada Life organizations put before me...finally, August 2018 was I approved. Both my Mortgage and Line of credit are being paid. Because I had outstanding arrears on my CC's, I submitted a claim for both of those as well. RBC third-party insurance paid off the majority of one CC but then RBC tells me that I, in fact, had no coverage on the second CC. I have asked them repeatedly to produce the RBC document that an individual signs when they decline coverage. Still today, no one within the RBC can produce this document. I have always carried insurance on each and every item in which I received from RBC, but this CC, somehow was not covered? I received a letter from RBC demanding payment in full for my Line of Credit. Once again, I contacted RBC insurance to ensure that the insurance premiums were being forwarded to my outstanding balance and was assured that the payment was, in fact, being paid in the 30th of each month as long as my disability was still ongoing. RBC insurance advised that they would contact the collections department that the payments were now being paid by my loan protection insurance. Yesterday, my hubby and I attended a funeral for a family member. My phone went off during the sombre drive to the small town it was taking place in. A "bailiff" was contacting me to find out when I would be home to serve me papers on behalf of the RBC. Today, I was served documents from a lawyer representing RBC foreclosing on my home for the full outstanding mortgage amount of $182 k along with the Outstanding Line of Credit balance of $44k. Any monies in which I deposited to my RBC account to pay towards arrears of my mortgage were "grabbed" by RBC to put towards the outstanding unsecured CC in which they will not recognize as their screw-up. This is right next door to criminal behaviour by the RBC machine as they want me off their insurance books. As long as the medical professionals continue to support my disability, my insurance, yes, owned by RBC has to pay out. My medical specialist actually had to write RBC insurance and RBC collections a letter banning them from contacting me as their treatment towards me was a serious deterrent in my recovery process. I would warn everyone against RBC insurance as they play by their own rules and unfortunately, most of us just can't play the game.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Worst border on criminal

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by thomp Dec 21, 2018
I had a fire claim, it took them almost a year and they did nothing. They told me they could give me the money and I could do the work but they held back 25 %. When almost all the work was completed, I called and said I wanted the additional funds. They said it is over a year and the claim had expired. This is a total lie. In Ontario, we have two years to complete a claim. I could go on and on but in short, this RBC insurance company are scum. When I cancelled the policy, I paid a premium $117 for December 1. Cancelled on the December 9th and got a $19 refund. In other words, they can do anything to screw you around and you can't cancel without a penalty.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Threatening if you complain

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Zero repairs Nov 26, 2018
4 months ago put a claim and zero work has begun. Even for safety purposes reasons, RBC is nickel and diming me. Gas line may rupture - still will not repair. Century West, who is supposed to be doing the work in 4 months, have spoken to them 3 times I initiate the calls. The insurance adjuster said if I didn't like what Century West was doing, they would have to pay me out. Just found out there is no claim amount yet, so how do they pay me out?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

The WORST Customer Care !!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jsleal Nov 15, 2018
I have a Home insurance premium coming out of an account for my daughters RESP !!! To make matters worse, I sold the property 4 years ago and RBC knows that. They want to see proof of insurance for my new home and then they will "investigate to see if I qualify for a refund". No renewal to sign...just keep taking the cash! Nobody with an ounce of authority has ever reached out to me from there. I have to do all of the calling !! I'm moving our investments out and to another bank. If you need insurance, stay as far away from RBC as possible. If this is how they handle a problem, just imagine how they handle everything else.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

STAY AWAY FROM RBC!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Joey N Nov 02, 2018
Absolutely the worst customer service I have ever experienced. RBC as an organization does not value its customers on an individual basis, nor does it value its retention of loyal customers. RBC unexpectedly cancelled my home and auto insurance policies, only to demand the remainder of each policy to be paid up front. This tactic is unethical and should be illegal. My banking, mortgage, investments and all insurance products were with RBC, all will now be changed due to their poor customer service and the countless hours on hold waiting to speak with a careless call centre.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Never Again, worst treatment

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by shana Sep 27, 2018
My bad, missed a payment due to Credit card charge. But no mercy, they said they had a change in June to regulations that I was not informed to Cancel for NO payment and NOT reinstate even after I have paid. Then they want to quote a new policy and Jack up my rate as a non-pay Cancel customer over the roof and take full payment for the next 3 years at the beginning of a year. I will agree to that as I have to take some responsibility as well. Shady scam artists do this kind of business, I pleaded as I have all services investments with RBC! DON'T get caught in low initial rates, it may not cover all your perils properly.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Forced to "voluntarily" cancel

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tricked Aug 22, 2018
This tale falls primarily on RBC who outsources their underwriting to Aviva but also Aviva for being cold. I had a property that was a primary residence and insured. I had to move back to my home province and was to be living with my parents until I found a new place. A lot of insurers require a primary residence insured in order to insure a rental property, that's fine. However, when speaking with RBC employees/customer service, on multiple occasions with three employees, they all said as long as I took out tenant insurance on my parents home, even if I don't need it, it should be fine. This was my plan. Then I called to go forward with the quote, and when they reach out to the underwriter for approval (which they required for this but I was not aware of the potential ramifications), I was not only told I could not do it but also told I need to cancel my CURRENT home insurance policy (effective 15 days) so it showed voluntarily cancelled, or the underwriter would force the cancellation and that would be shown on insurance records. Would not even let me digest the 180 degree turn that just took place. If it's that easy for them to rush you and get you to have a 15-day window to scour for another insurance provider after giving you only positive information, then I'd second-guess having them as an insurance provider. Say what you want to hear, and then "oh turns out we can't do that", imagine trying to get a claim. Jesus.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Horrible Customer Service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy Customer Jul 27, 2018
I had damage from a wind storm (July 2nd) and I'm still waiting to see what's going on (July 27). I call and leave voicemails and according to their "I'll call you back within one business day" is never honoured. I'm so frustrated with them. I didn't know that Aviva were the underwriters. They won't keep me updated on anything. I'm the one with the hole in my house. I want to call and change my insurance company but I can't even get ahold of anybody from RBC. I've even emailed them...it's so frustrating.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Borderline Criminal

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by HELPING EACH OTHER Jul 23, 2018
I have been trying to have RBC insurance come to my home which suffered damage May 4, 2018 (it is presently July 23rd). I have since repaired the roof myself awaiting their appointed “assessor”. I have paid them for years and never ever called, if I had, I’d have realized they don’t give a crap about their customers. My neighbours all have had repairs provided by their insurance companies (some the next day!), I feel so dumb for being with RBC.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Horrible Customer service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Terry Jul 05, 2018
I have been trying to get ahold of them to cancel my policy. My premiums doubled in 2 years (never had a claim). Anyways, after many days of trying to get ahold of them, I did (waited 2 hours on hold), then it took the representative another 45 minutes to process my request (Mostly on hold again). Terrible in every way possible. Way to go, RBC...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by ndunsdon May 28, 2018
I do everything with RBC...some fraudulent purchases were made on my visa in 2017 and I missed a payment as a result. I called and had the issue rectified. At the same time, I provided updated information along with an updated mailing address. RBC insurance failed to update the information I provided. They subsequently sent my mail to the WRONG address. No phone calls, no emails...nothing, just 1 piece of mail to the wrong mailing address. It actually wasn't even a former address...now RBC insurance won't insure me because of their mistake! Now my credit score is reflected as a result and my premiums have gone up with my alternate insurance company...Horrible. Never ever use them...I'm even considering leaving RBC because of it.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

RBC /Aviva - bad service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mare123 Feb 08, 2018
When RBC decided to change over my home insurance policy to Aviva, I was charged double on one month payment. I sent an email to Aviva and they said they couldn't handle my complaint because I was still with RBC until March. Then I contacted RBC who said they couldn't handle my complaint because they didn't have policy information for me on file, and I was given a number to call which ended up being RBC Insurance's number. Apparently, RBC charged me for the month of the insurance (i.e. Feb 1 for the month of Feb.), and Aviva charges me for the month in advance (i.e. Feb 1 for the month of Mar) ,so there is an overlap of two payments in one month. There was absolutely no communication about this from RBC until I spoke to the really nice customer service person on the phone this morning. Shame on you, RBC - this move has damaged your reputation and made your customers irate. Hope it was worth it!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cancelling property insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by alexander Nov 28, 2017
This place is the worst company if you have a deceased person that lived alone and have property insurance with RBC...they wanted me to fax the death certificate and will...okay, I will ask how many of you have a fax at home...so they said I could email the documents but that took a few more calls to them and it still is not canceled ...is this how RBC makes all the profit by delaying to get more money from the DECEASED estate ...RBC Fail!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Longtime Customer BYE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Longtime Customer no longer Oct 12, 2017
Our family had been a loyal RBC insurance customer for over 12 years. We unfortunately had a house fire and someone break into the uninhabited house the next day to steal all of our electronics. This was then treated as 2 separate claims. Through the claims process and before moving back into our house RBC/Aviva sent us letters that they were not going to renew our insurance when it came due because we had reached 2 claims in a given amount of years. They would renew our auto policies however now other companies have a more competitive rate based on multi discounts. We are no longer clients.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Insurance insanity

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Ali Jun 08, 2017
Had claim free home insurance for 20 years. Premium increased this year by 16%, so I called to find out why. After going through grilling about things that no longer existed when the house was built such as oil tanks, we went onto new metal roof and furnace which are supposed to lower the premium. It turns out the premium would be going even higher because the metal roof costs more to replace. Needless to say, I am shopping for a new insurance. This would have been a zero star review but since the rep was polite and only doing her job I didn't feel right to rate her low. The problem is not the employee, it's the company. So for those of you proud of installing home improvements that should lower your premiums, beware.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Customer service doesn't exist

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Thomas G. May 20, 2017
After 7 years without any claims i got a 30% increase on the insurance premium! Customer service does not exist, i insisted on e-mail contact, got asked twice for a phone number, haven't heard anything after that. No explanation for the increase. If there was a zero star rating, i would have chosen that. Next renewal i will be customer somewhere else! Stay away from this insurance!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Paul May 01, 2017
I've called twice to obtain quotes on two different homes and both times the customer service has been nothing but frustrating. From long waiting times to staff that don't seem to want your business it was nothing short of aggravating. Do yourself a favor and don't bother wasting your time to obtain a quote from them…
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Ten weeks after tornado, some Riberdy Road homes still in need of repairs...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Windsor Star Nov 04, 2016
WINDSOR STAR Some of the of roofs, siding and porches wrecked in just four seconds when a tornado touched down on Riberdy Road Aug. 24 remain unfixed 10 weeks later, and resident Greg Tremblay says he’s had enough.

“We’re just being ignored,” he said Friday at his bungalow, where the yellow siding and insulation is ripped away, the front porch roof is long gone and the house roof is covered in a big, flapping tarp.

“Everybody’s houses still have tarps on them and it’s getting close to three months now,” he said, pointing to six homes — including his own — in the 3200 block. One home is still not habitable.

When it rains outside, it rains inside Tremblay’s home, he said, describing how the water drips down his interior walls. He said his insurance company has paid out about $15,000 for emergency housing and such casualties as destroyed possessions and a ruined backyard shed. But at least $40,000 of repair work remains undone, he said.

“I’ve been complaining with them for a long time: When are you going to get it done? When are you going to get it done?,” Tremblay added. He said the only reply he gets is “I don’t know.”

One confusion he dealt with after the tornado is that his home insurer, RBC Insurance, was recently purchased by another insurer Aviva Canada, so he feels like he’s dealing with two companies.

A spokesman for RBC Insurance, Gopal Bansal, said he couldn’t discuss Tremblay’s complaint due to confidentiality rules. “We empathize with our clients who have been impacted by the extreme weather events in the Windsor area,” he said in an emailed statement. read more at windsorstar.com
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrific Customer Service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by V. Fairey Oct 25, 2016
Had both home and auto for the last year, as well as in the past with RBC. Moved my car to another province as I was planning to move there in next year but wanted to move the car earlier for a variety of reasons. Still have home and all ties in Ontario. Also moved my personal items out of my house as there was a proposal for a conditional sale and I was planning to be away from the province/country for a period of time and could not necessarily return to move my items. When I called to inquire about car received no less than 4 different pieces of conflicting information regarding the process. Finally got someone who seemed to know what she was talking about on the line, got issue resolved. Then called back later to confirm that car transfer was complete and reached someone at the call centre that could not even speak English correctly, was then transferred to someone else who became rude and abrupt with me regarding my house. Interrogating me then not listening to the full explanation of the situation. Cut me off then declared that house was vacant and insurance would be void. Then when I started questioning the issue she put me on hold to 'speak with a supervisor' and came back to confirm her assumption that I was now suddenly uninsurable. Once I became upset and said I would not insure with RBC any longer was again put on hold and then told that I had two weeks to sort out my insurance. Then today went online only to discover than my insurance has been cut off 10 days earlier than I was told. So I am still pending obtaining new house insurance and they have left my property uninsured, no explanation, no phone call or email, nothing. As I am currently out of the country on a trip pretty hard to resolve. Most unethical company, worst customer service and call centre is clearly outsourced overseas to agents that are not knowledgeable and cannot have a clear conversation in English. Have already written to complaint centre with zero attempt to resolve my issue. Will never return to RBC insurance despite having plans to purchase another property, another car, and open a business. Stay away they will leave you high and dry, I can't imagine how horrible trying to file a claim will be.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

horrible experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lexie89 Oct 13, 2016
I bought renter's insurance through RBC for one year while I was living in my condo. A year after I moved out I was receiving phone calls from a collection agency that I owed 50$. RBC completely failed to notify that I have an outstanding balance which I would've gladly paid but instead of contacting me first, they decided to contact a collection agency first. Now I have to fear of having my credit score being affected over a 50$ balance. RBC saw that their mails were being returned back to them as my address has changed and did not bother to contact me via e-mail/ phone me first before sending me to a 3rd party collection agency. It was a horrible experience to get everything sorted out and horrible customer service trying to resolve this problem. They couldn't even provide me with the collection agency's contact information so I could pay my outstanding balance but they sure had their contact information when they sent me to them in the first place. Now I'm currently trying to buy a townhome and hope that my credit score wasn't affected by this experience. And I definitely won't be getting my home insurance with RBC with my new home.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

HomeProtector will do harm

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Betteroffdead Oct 12, 2016
0 Star rating. When I purchased my home I was required by RBC to have HomeProtector Insurance in the event of illness or death it would guarantee the payments would be covered. This was to protect the bank and me from any perils arising from injury or death. Many years later I was involved in a very bad accident which left me disabled for a 6 year period of recovery. RBC HomeProtector began making mortgage payments after 60 days of proof of claim. Every 3 or 4 months the payments just stop, pending a review of a doctors report. Every single missed payment event was recorded as if I missed the payments. Eventually the insurance would retro-pay any missed payments but the recorded missed payments just added up and up. When contacting RBC, they would always blame the insurance underwriter for the problem and when contacting the underwriter, they would blame RBC. I still continued to receive the impact of the missed payments on my credit report. Each and every doctors report clearly noted this was a "Chronic" condition, meaning Forever... Claim review is supposed to have people who specialize in clarifying doctors correspondence yet they clearly don't understand what "Chronic" means. At one point a weekly motrgage payment had been missed for over 5 months straight! Pending doctors report under review. RBC handed the file over to Gowlings legal while a claim was still active and ongoing. Insurance finally payed some arrears less 2 months within a day, while Gowlings were coming after my home. I had to make regular payments to Gowlings while trying to go back to work before my doctor allowed me to. This was a horrible situation! I am an engineer and had to be professional at all times while dealing with excruciating pain, vomiting, and also taking very high doses of Fentanyl and oxycocet for breakthrough pain. I have made every possible effort to return to work and been completely honest to report my work activity to RBC insurance. I have paid every cent to Gowlings and RBC while my mortgage was in limbo. There was complete incompetence by RBC collections management, RBC Insurance representatives, Underwriters review personnel. So what was I buying for many years paying premiums. They did much more harm than good. They put me in peril directly. Now my credit report looks like dart board, but I was protected. Did I neglect to mention my mortgage payment weekly was less than 200 bucks? We shall see what a provincial court judge thinks of this predatory way of doing business.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

fire damage

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by broke and homeless Aug 29, 2016
We have dealt with RBC for both home and auto. On March we had a fire contained to one second floor room (which was a crap show with the fire dept and a 3 man crew)...but anyway, the demo was done by a company RBC picked... They did more damage to the house than necessary and now after 2 times trying to buy out, which we refused, they say the damage is more than our 'elite' policy and the difference is to come out of our pocket... They wait so long to do the demo that mold had taken over everything, the new fridge was contaminated by rotten food. We ended up losing everything. The replacement value clause will only pay part, they take of 20% then 40% of the contents, which were almost all new... as it is right now, it looks like we're going to be homeless since we had put all our saving into the house... never again
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

unethical practices

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shaking my head in disbelief Aug 10, 2016
Changed insurance providers for home insurance because I changed auto insurance provider. I canceled the policy but after several months premiums were still being taken off my credit card. Called to straighten the problem out and they said they needed my deceased wife's signature. I offered a death certificate since a signature was not possible. They refused so I had no choice but to put a stop payment on them. After much negotiation, they agreed to cancel the policy if I saw a lawyer and had him do the change in ownership. I had this done which toke time but before I could complete this they cancelled the policy and demanded immediate payment of several more months of premiums. I didn't pay since they actually owed me money. They turned in the account for collections and now refuse to talk to me. Nice bunch! I would rate them at -3 stars if I could.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Insurance cancelled

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by abs Jul 26, 2016
We were away for several months and during this period the automatic payments through my credit card failed after fraudulent activity on the credit card led to a change of payment. I found a collectors' notice for non-payment on return. They sent a registered letter about non-payment which went back, contacted home phone # and made no attempt to email. After taking payments for 6 years with no claims - they decided to cancel and refused to reinstate. Horrible experience !!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?