Home Insurance Reviews

TD Insurance Home Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(180 reviews)
TD Insurance
1.5 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Cheap Home Insurance?

  • Rates from 20+ insurers
  • Stop overpaying today
  • Save over $300 annually

Get an instant quote

Filter

Most helpfull reviews

Poor Communication - A horrible experience

by Brad Fehr on Jun 9, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Had our hot water tank spring a leak in our furnace room. Destroyed numerous collectables and personal property not to mention damaging walls and flooring. It's been over 2 and a half months and have no idea what's going on or if my claim is close to resolution. I called yesterday and expressed my feelings on the complete lack of communication and the challenges I've had reaching my "claims specialist" and was told I would be contacted the next day by someone. Guess what, no call... I'm getting fed up with this... Not sure what to do from here... Maybe call a lawyer?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

A litany of failure

by mark glaisher on Jun 7, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Like others I recently had major damage occur during the Ontario storm.

TD has done nothing, calls and emails are not returned. We were assigned an emergency contractor for repairs, but they never called or came.

My roof is torn open and trees are still down at front and back, pool leaking 4K ltrs a day - no one at TD cares.

Transferred to 3 different claims advisors in 16 days.

The takeaway is that when there is an emergency TD is going to do nothing to help you. Shop elsewhere.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

16 Days since opening claim and unable to talk to claim advisor.

by East Ontario Civilian on Jun 7, 2022
1.3 out of 5 stars

Our house got badly damaged in Mays’ Derecho. I opened a claim the next day since cell towers were damaged. They are so overwhelmed and unorganized that our claim has been assigned and unassigned to multiple agents. I’ve been unable to reach any of those agents after several calls, voicemails and emails. NO ONE has returned my messages. We have questions about our policy that only our representative can give us apparently. I tried escalating our claim and was then transferred to the claims department. I was on hold for 4 hours and 30 minutes then the call got disconnected and hung up on me. I have literally no idea what else to do. I’m so frustrated, we don’t live at home at the moment cause our house was wrecked. I feel absolutely powerless.
If you’re considering TD insurance and your house gets wrecked in a storm along with many others, don’t count on them to do anything for you. It’s been 16 days now and no contact from them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.

Worst customer service ever, worst communication

by Johnny on Jun 2, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Had to contact them for Home insurance. After they promise me something, it end up after 6 months that was a lie and I was asked to pay a cancellation fee or I have to transfer the policy to my new property from another province. The agent passed me back and forth from one agent to another and in the end, they open me another policy without closing the current policy for the property I sold. Very poor communication skills and customer service. I will never use them again. Lucky I had no claim, cause I don't know how they will handle that.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Condo – water damage claim

by Stefan on May 1, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I waited 4 months and then the claim was rejected. Weekly calls and emails go unanswered and no news from the insurer for the entire period.
They said they don't cover damage caused by moisture in the unit when the damage was clearly caused by the AC unit. The company that replaced and regularly maintains the device - I bought a new unit - confirmed that the damage was caused by the AC unit. The damage on the floor also backs that up. Terrible experience and I need a lawyer now.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Hopeless response

by Vishal Sharma on Apr 19, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I just experience a horrible response from TD Auto and Home Insurance. Can't waste more time here but just want to mention that they have a very poor system as I tried an online quote as well as through phone and all my efforts went in vain.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.

Will be looking for other insurance

by Christa d on Mar 28, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

First, they said insurance was less, then, two weeks later it’s higher.
They let us move a payment date up but did not mention they would take a double payment out.
When we said we will go elsewhere their response was - "That’s your choice...."
We have everything with TD.
Super disappointed and thinking about moving everything over to another bank.
Worse customer ever!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Unprofessional associate

by tenzing Dadon on Mar 19, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

So I had several questions regarding my homeowner insurance. Like many of you, I also had little idea of what I'm paying to my insurance and I wanted to know a little bit more in that regard. I talked to Ziauddin (if that's even his real name) on March 19, 2022, at 12:49 pm. He was rude and not helpful at all. I explained that it'll be me and my wife here at the house and I was trying to gather all the information for the future in case of an emergency. While I explained that to him, he kept ignoring my question and trying to revert it to if I want to file a claim at the moment. I respectively told him I just want to know for what I'm paying and he continues to tell me vague answers. He claimed to pull up 62 pages and when I asked what damage is specifically included, he repeatedly told me if it's in the 62 pages, it's in the 62 pages. I do understand that he doesn't want to read it but that eventually became his answer to everything I asked. He should have somewhat knowledge of the standard policy. After all that, I asked if he can connect me to another associate or his supervisor, and when he heard supervisor, he immediately said "NO". I asked him again and he said he doesn't know if there's anyone there. He told me he is not sure if there is a supervisor. He put me through a line but never got picked up.
TD, I hope that you would re-train him not only on the standard understanding of homeowner policy but on professionalism as well. He requires a lot of training in customer service for he is not polite and when he received a little bit more work, his answers were reverting the work back at the customer. Please review the call at 12:49 pm on March 19, 2022, with Ziauddin ( if that's his name).
Honestly, I would give this a zero star if I can but one is the lowest I can give.
At the moment, I'm seriously thinking about changing my homeowner insurance. And I wouldn't mind if I have to pay more as long as I can get the details I needed.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Happy Customer

by SX on Mar 10, 2022
5 out of 5 stars

I spoke with Josh on March 9 and he helped me to get an excellent rate on home insurance. He is very diligent, confirming that the discounts got applied before sending it off. Also friendly and very knowledgeable

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.

Customer service is very bad

by Laura Macedo on Feb 17, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

I called many times for the same issue and the representatives from customer service and WIS Team cut the call when they do not know the solution for an issue or they transfer to the central number without resolving the issue. They did not say goodbye, just cut the conversation. VERY RUDE It looks like it is the culture there because 4 agents did the same because they were not able to fix the issue on the website. They had to be honest and escalate the issue to an instance that could be capable to solve it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo