Independent Home Insurance Reviews

State Farm Home Insurance Reviews

(39 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
21,198
consumers
(3.1 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Dodgy State Farm

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by will Oct 22, 2018
State Farm is not "like a good neighbor...". It denied my claim for very extensive water damage caused by a shut-off ball valve leak. SF claimed the valve was old, failed because it probably was turned on and off too much and that it probably was installed incorrectly. All of these assumptions are inaccurate. Also, SF denied the claim because, according to their agents, in the fine print of its policy, it states SF does not cover most plumbing failure damages unless caused by freezing. It would cover, however, damage from a leaking old water heater, which is a case of inconsistent logic. Certainly many houses have plumbing that fails and causes damage, and obviously, owners buy insurance to cover such losses. Yet, when expected by trusting, naive clients -- this is not covered by SF. The agents refused the claim based on an analysis of the valve that SF had done by another company it hired. This was not exactly an independent analysis since State Farm hired and paid the company. And, not surprisingly, it received a report that benefited SF. The heavy duty brass ball shutoff valve in question was installed in the insulated attic of a house where it was protected from disturbances. The valve probably had never been turned off and on since installation about 10-13 years ago. It was not a particularly old valve; ball valves are very reliable and last a long time. It was installed correctly and did not leak at all. The leak probably began during the freezing cold winter when the valve froze enough to cause the valve seam to separate. Close examination of the valve reveals an uneven separation of part of the valve seal in the main body of the valve, below the handle system, that was probably caused by freezing water. The resulting very slow, drop by drop leak was not evident until a small portion of the ceiling drywall below the leak finally separated. By then, water had spread into walls. Nonetheless, State Farm did not seem to consider the uneven split valve seal seam at all and conveniently ignored this evidence to deny the claim. Bottom line, do not buy State Farm house insurance if you expect to be covered for common plumbing leak damages. There is clearly no point in buying expensive insurance if the insurer denies claims based on a policy that fine print excludes coverage of issues that consumers reasonably expect are covered. I plan to cancel my State Farm policies in the near future. I only wish I had done more research on the company and seen the numerous, well-deserved, one-star reviews. If I had, I never would have given them my money.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

They are outrageous!

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Awful Oct 06, 2018
We are 2 disabled seniors who rented a home from their insured. The house had a defective roof, mold & rodents. It is now 4 years since my husband was rushed to the hospital due to mold exposure. We paid out of pocket for temporary housing and mold testing. We cooperated with their adjusters to remediate the problem. We used our retirement account to pay for all this. They used our mold tests, stored the mold & rat infested furnishings that took their pack of attorneys (at least 5 at a time...they run in a posse), their salvage co(9), but no $ for a claim. They give you reckless rhetoric why you should not get paid. They should not be responsible for medications because you are out of the environment. So what you inhaled toxic molds! Clean your rodent stained furniture and retire. We tried. They like you on your knees begging them for a few dollars. How do they sleep at night? We lost everything we owned...not one dime from them. 4 years later...We lost our income from our retirement fund. They wrote us (only because we filed a complaint with the Dept of Ins) that there are significant differences.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Search Elsewhere for coverage

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Doctor Sep 06, 2018
They changed underwriters and everything I had covered was no longer covered...and they increased the rate. When I contacted them to cancel, they told me there would be financial penalties. If they had changed underwriters and the coverage had remained the same, it would not have been horrible. It was deplorable behaviour from a company I had been a loyal customer to for 20 years. I strongly advise people to search elsewhere for coverage.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Don't trust StateFarm

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by AngryCustomer Sep 23, 2017
Terrible customer service! They tried to raise our premium saying that we called in to make a claim when we never filed one (only called to enquire about claim process), on top of that we were never reimbursed for any claim whatsoever, so no idea how they could even come up with that statement! Disgusting company, deceiving policies, and awful customer service. Please don't give these scammers your business.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Dissatisfied.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Vilma Aug 02, 2017
I'd give no star if there's an option for that. They don't care about their customers. They're only good at taking money from your pocket, if there's a problem, they don't deal with it right away. It's been 2 months now, & they aren't making any moves yet... we kept calling them but they kept passing us into another agent. & some agents are rude & don't have any patience, slow & worst service ever! & they actually don't know what they're doing... our neighbours' gazebo lifted off & then it hit our window... they're supposed to speak for us 'cause we are paying them... all they said was "neighbours don't want to pay"... It's their responsibility to speak for us 'cause we are their clients.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

57 mins to file a claim stress

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed Jul 24, 2017
Very stressful interrogation. Asked over and over to give a statement. In order to make a claim, I had to give them consent to collect and share my personal info...to relevant people and including to offer us general services and product. Basement flooded, very stressful and they are using the call as a marketing tool. We have been with state Farm for over 30 years for all insurance. After today, I am shopping around. They can let me know in 1 business day...Thank God this didn't happen on Friday if we are covered. State Farm ...like a bad neighbour
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

STATE FARM ARE CRIMINALS

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Used and Abused by State Farm May 09, 2017
Thanks State Farm for taking my money my 20 years and turning your back the one time i needed you! I've been a client of State Farm for all of my insurance needs for 19 years. Life, auto, home insurance, never made a claim until recently. My sump pump stopped working over night and flooded my basement. We called in the morning and they sent someone right away. We signed the paperwork to get the basement dried out and our ruined items sorted and organized to properly file the claim. It was a wonderful experience....EXCEPT 5 days after the flood State Farm called us and said we had no coverage. A sump pump needs a special plan for coverage. Interesting that my insurance agent never asked any questions about us having a sump pump when we got our insurance so I had no coverage. I was also stuck with the bill for thousands of dollars to the emergency clean up company. Only after 4 weeks and many many calls later did I get them to pay the emergency bill for the people they sent to my house. But I am now responsible to replace the thousands of dollars of my personal belongings the were destroyed in the flood. Thanks for nothing criminals!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Horrible company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Horribleinsurance Jan 04, 2017
Customer service sucks. They don't explain anything to you. I called to cancel and not once did anyone mention how much money I apparently owed. There rude people who talk to you like your dumb Go with td insurance. Much better
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Insurance Company!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Joshua Jan 27, 2016
Jan 2015 my home had a water line break in our main floor bathroom toilet which flooded the partial main floor and leaked down the ceiling of the basement and walls and floor etc you can imagine and we had just finished a two year project of updating the main floor and basement. We called our State Farm insurance broker George R. and he called in the claim to State Farm and then the service master people came and removed the water, contents and did a remediation. We had to call State Farm back several times to have them send a adjuster to estimate the damage. We tried to communicate with the adjuster many times by phone and email but had no reply and then we waited approx 2-3 months before we heard from our adjuster and when we heard back she told us to go and find a contractor and submit some quotes to State Farm and they would review them. I must admit I was expecting State Farm to take care of the claim and not put these responsibilities on me since this was out of my ability but State Farm was adiment that they would do nothing to assist with contractors but would only see if the quotes were cheap enough to proceed eventually we found a contractor and this pissed service master off because they were expecting the work to be given to them. The work started in may due to these delays and the amount of work put on us to find a contractor and pick out replacement parts we had to do everything to get things started. The original estimate from State Farm came in around $20,000.00 which I knew was not correct so each time we moved into the project I had to spend several hours going over the quote from State Farm to make sure the amounts covered the cost, this went on until the job was completed, I was responsible for overseeing the entire project from start to finish as well as begging State Farm for money to pay the contractors I even tried to get help from our insurance broker George R. and he was of no help at all. Another problem we had was that the mortgage company held back 10% of every cheque that was sent to me and I had to carry the cost on my own. We submitted a bill to State Farm for my time and my families time for the past year and they did not care that we had done all this work as a general contractor to oversee, scrutinize, source out contractors for various parts of the work to be done, communicate with State Farm which they were very slow to respond, book and arrange the work schedules and to recheck and make sure the work was done with the money allowed. The total cost in the end has come to around 75,000.00 plus other cost for other items and personal effects and now we are being told our time and management was worthless by our claims people Brendon S. and his manager Allison. Please keep in mind with State Farm you must be ready to do all of this work and oversee every detail rite to the end and then wait and hope you did not miss anything because it is all on your shoulders right to the end. Reviews of this type do not contain the arrogance and ongoing abuse that was put on me and my family and expressed to me during many calls for help as a consumer and policy holder I hope this will help you be careful when looking towards State Farm for coverage and help. As the cost to you will be in the tens of thousands of dollars out of your pocket for time and money while trying to keep your own job and manage the rest. State Farm is a horrible insurance company to deal with and will not recommend them or work with them in the future.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

fire claim, 100% loss

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Amybaby May 15, 2015
We had a fire September 2006. I was 5m pregnant, and I went to emerg to get checked out (we werent home at the time, but coming home to it was a shock) My insurance sales guy met us at the hospital, made sure we were ok, asked us if we needed a hotel for the night, and had us come to the office at 8am the next day for a cheque to cover immediate expenses. they handled everything so well, they hired out a company to deal with the clean up etc, and took care of all the permits for the city for demo/rebuild. our adjuster could have been more sympathetic, but of course she deals with the every day and we were super emotional! they have a great partnership with the Brick to get us all our belongings with no hassle and at a great price too, so not to waste our contents money. they were an amazing company to deal with and I have no horror story :)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Homeless for almost 3 years

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by peteganong@outlook.com Mar 17, 2015
This is way too involved for 1000 words. I will try to state facts. Paraphrase. March 2003 .Had a full, 7 year old , 200 gallon oil barrel rupture outside my stone basement walls and pour into my clay basement. Called SF and they brought in an environmental engineering company to remediate Started digging before I left for my federal government job in the arctic. When I returned home after my 4 month tour I was devastated to find that the house still smelled and that they had free poured cement into the basement to cover over the oil to "lessen the likelihood to human exposure". This cement was poured with an 8 inch difference in grade from one corner to the opposite far corner of the basement. With thicknesses between .02m to .3m and hollow spots. The water heater was cemented around!!! With no drain tiles, drainage or headroom . Got a lawyer, got a settlement for damages devaluing my house with a a clause that if the sight, smell etc of oil reappeared within 6 years,they would be responsible to address it. 2006, 3 years later while I was out west working the smell got so bad the wife had to go to her mothers. Had a young friend , who needed a place to stay, there to protect belongings and keep an eye on the dog tethered outside. He had to spray the basement daily with a hose to send the oil to the pump so that it seemed bearable.. called SF and they sent the very same people that covered over the "1st" 200 gallon spill to investigate. They say they cleaned everything up the 1st time. There was black weathered oil in the basement and sump but that was ignored. It was said To be a completely new spill that may or may not have happened when a frozen pipe burst, or a release from my mismanagement ,or something released an unknown amount of oil. A new spill, a new claim. I new better. I argued that they were responsible by agreement to clean up the oil that had resurfaced during the spring rainy season from under the free poured cement basement. They would not consider it and I had to move to our family hunting cabin in the woods with no running water or electricity. Even after I relented and opened a new claim they provided no support. I tell the bank I would not pay for a house I could not live in. (they never foreclosed even after 888 days of non payment, why would they, the house was useless to them too). They, SF, hire a different environmental engineering company to remediate the "2nd" spill . I would not allow the 1st crew on my property. Long story short. They had to tare down my house and garage to get at the "weathered oil" left behind from the 1st 200 gallon spill that was covered over with cement in my absence back in 2003. This is 2009 and they dig down something like 6m all over the double lot property to get at the old oil. meanwhile I am in the woods in a 24x24 shell of a cabin with no support. I finally get paid for the house and some additional living expenses. It has been proven the house was uninhabitable back in 2006. They should not have done that to my wife and I so I personally start legal action on them. On going to this day March 17th 2015. I have caught there representatives lying under oath at discovery, have there log notes proving they new of the cover up, etc etc. All of the costs for the house, garage, mortgage, additional expenses etc was covered from the 1st claim. They said they reopened the first claim to ensure I had enough coverage, kindness of there heart sort of thing. So the "1st" spill of 200 gallons cost $38,000 and as far as the "2nd" a drip in the line, it was over $300,000 as far as I can tell because they will not release the actual numbers to me although they say I hired these people. The suit goes on. It could happen to you. The agent that sold me the policy did not even know what the $10000 land allowance was for or represented on that same policy he sold me. He denied knowing I was homeless yet I have many emails directly to him stating so. The adjuster that over saw the 2003 remediation stated at discovery that he thought the house should still have been liveable even with 200 gallons of fuel in the basement. He could not read charts well enough to say what way was north even with a picture of an arrow with a capital N in the middle of it. He didn't even know what weathered oil means although it is written in many reports supplied to him. Lied about not knowing an engineer when there are many emails between himself and that engineer. The adjuster assigned to the "2nd" spill new even less. How to read charts, what weathered oil is (actually after hours of cross examination I got him to say he understood what it was), absolutely devious. I truly could go on and on and I have the proof and will write a book when this court nightmare is over in lord knows how many years. I have lost everything. My land in town is not fit to rebuild on and I now have made a home in the old camp, have electricity and will carry on. Beware of your good neighbour, they are truly a wolf in sheeps' clothing. There contracts are not worth the paper they are written on, Shame shame shame.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Horrible customer service.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Michelle Feb 27, 2015
I will start with the facts. They are, about a year ago I had some missed payments. I had had my identity stolen and was having some issues with payments. I sorted it out, and did not have another missed payment until January. There were some extenuating circumstances to that one. I received a replacement credit card in December, days before Christmas. Same card number, different expiry date. With the craziness of Christmas, it simply did not occur to me that I needed to call to update the info. By Boxing day, I was deathly ill with the flu. I am asthmatic, so when I say deathly ill, I mean deathly ill. I did not get out of bed for nearly a month. All of my mail went unopened until the end of the month. Which is when I realized that my January payment had bounced because of not updating the info, I immediately called and made the payment. I also asked the girl I was talking to, to prepay February, right then. She stated that she had and that it went through. I then called the credit card company, I specifically asked if both payments from State Farm were showing as gone through. I received an unequivocal yes, both payments had gone through. We now get to near the end of February. I get a call from State Farm saying that I need to sign a form for the "new" credit card. I sent my son (I am disabled and have mobility issues) with a signed note that authorized the use of the card in the hopes it would be sufficient. State Farm sent back a form, saying that the note was not. I got another call, one that was just to confirm that I had received the form and to inform me that it needed to be returned immediately. I was discussing this with the person on the phone when suddenly I was passed to someone else and told that my insurance was cancelled. This was the first indication to me that anything might be wrong. I did not, in February, receive a phone call or letter, as, apparently, the office did not put through the prepayment for February. (The fact that that the credit card company confirmed that it had is a whole other issue I am taking up with them). Because I have had my identity stolen, the credit card company has instructions to not let any payments go through with out my prior consent, and as they had confirmed that 2 payments had gone through, they did not have the needed consent for a February payment.) The agent, Louise D. was not willing to even listen to the sequence of events as I understood them. At no time was I asked for a payment, which I could have authorized immediately. After 20 years of being a loyal customer, with not a single claim ever made, I was very rudely shut down and told I wouldn't be dealt with anymore. Also, as I understand it, by law I am supposed to receive written notice that my insurance is being cancelled. Although I did receive a letter in January, I made the payment and was told everything was fine, so I have not received anything from February, which is against the law. The insurance office is claiming that the January letter is sufficient, in which case they should not have taken my January payment or that they need to send me something for February. (As advised to me by a lawyer.). My advise is to stay far, far away from State Farm. They are not the good neighbour that is there, they are that bad neighbour who makes your life a nightmare.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Zero satisfaction . ZERO STARS

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mark Sep 23, 2014
The worst experience ever .. they kept cheating the system to save money. They have the worst contracrors that caused more damage and they didnt want to take any responsibility. They said "Go sue tge contractor" .. be ware of this company and better off . Do t go there .. zero zero zero ..
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Positive experience

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by omerj May 21, 2012
Great and friendly customer service when applying and renewing policy. So far no experience with claims, but I have heard positive - which is why I went with them.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by rm Apr 20, 2012
premiums were too high, hard to get a hold of
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

N/A

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pat Apr 18, 2012
had a flood. with one call they had a crew to my house fast. no problem talking to agents and received replacement items very fast
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Elyse Apr 17, 2012
Poor communication, don't explain coverages well , non competitive rates
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

N/A

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Elaine Apr 08, 2012
Haven't had to enter any claims as of yet. However, the staff is very helpful in making sure our coverage is always evaluated and made sure that we are receiving the best value
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cattivo Apr 07, 2012
I had hail damage and they did the siding in a very timely manner.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

N/A

 
(4.2 out of 5 stars)
by Tricia Apr 07, 2012
They have been very professional. I have been with them for over 30 years, and don't think I would change unless their service changed dramatically.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(3.5 out of 5 stars)
by walter Apr 06, 2012
great at getting to speak with someone right away
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

N/A

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Life coach Apr 03, 2012
They were very prompt and handled my claim accordingly
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by chuck Apr 01, 2012
Anytime I have had to contact my Insurance company, they provided me exactly what I had requested in a timely fashion.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

N/A

 
(4.8 out of 5 stars)
by cgully Apr 01, 2012
we had a flood and they responded very quickly, no issues, no problems. Very helpful in getting it all taken care
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Tycoon Mar 29, 2012
I am very happy with State Farm. They are very friendly and give me valuable advice, whenever I have asked. They settled my claim quickly though I beleive they are more expensive then some others.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

N/A

 
(3.8 out of 5 stars)
by Joe Mar 27, 2012
doesn't come to my home,I always drop into the office.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Adam Mar 19, 2012
Rate is very competitive and dealing directly with agent is very beneficial.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

N/A

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Keef Mar 18, 2012
Easy to deal with, courteous. Competitive rates.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chris Mar 15, 2012
I signed up with statefarm and have not dealt with them since. It would be nice to do a follow up, maybe tell me about new products.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

N/A

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by lauriel Feb 28, 2012
Personable,experienced and knowledgable.....
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Want to save on home insurance?
Customize your policy
Save up to $200 per year
Can be purchased online
State Farm Home Insurance
39 reviews
5 Darkstar
(11)
4 Darkstar
(11)
3 Darkstar
(4)
2 Darkstar
(2)
1 Darkstar
(11)
Most helpfull reviews