Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

TD Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

(182 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
77,363
consumers
(1.6 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

LEFT ME WITH NO MONEY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by upset customer Jun 24, 2019
Wake up this morning to 4 payments withdrawn from my account. Leaving me with barely any money for the rest of my bills let alone to live. Called in waiting on the phone for 45 mins to get through to someone & all I get is "we are looking into this the money will go back in your account" WITH ABSOLUTELY NO TIME FRAME! Reevaluate if you are with them. As soon as that money is back in my account I am out.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Customer Service - ( abuse )

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Frustrated 2019 Jun 18, 2019
I am a customer, of approximately 15+ years. I called them today, for a change to my policy, they did not answer. I have begun to call for other quotes.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

You get hit and they run.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Johhnyah Jun 16, 2019
I was involved in a hit & run accident resulting in my car being unfit for the road. I called the customer service line and was told that I would not hear back from a claims adjuster until Tuesday of next week (it's Friday morning). I was passed back and forth between four customer services representatives that were very RUDE and unknowledgeable. I was told that I would have to pay a $1000.00 deductible and would not be given a rental car as it was not in my policy. However, I called four days prior to adding accident forgiveness as well as the renal services. TD insurance will not provide a rental car and/or wave the deductible as stated in my policy because the policy did not begin for another 27 days? How does that even work? As soon as my vehicle is repaired, I will be cancelling my policy and going elsewhere.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

OMG terrible wait times

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MMH Jun 13, 2019
I have waited for over an hour on three consecutive days in order to try to modify my auto policy (to cancel the coverage for a car I have sold). At this point, I would even be willing to deal with a call centre based in India. Come on TD get your act together... your customer service, or more accurately, your lack of customer service is embarrassing.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Avoid if possible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by AnnoyedCustomer Jun 12, 2019
They have the most pathetic customer service. I called them for a piece of information and tried to get through four times. They kept me hanging on the line every time. I waited and eventually, had to disconnect the line after 20/25 minutes because I had my own works to do. It is sad to see, how these big insurance companies are making tons of money with absolutely zero respect to their customers. Pathetic. I know, they are one of the few insurance companies (which they are taking full advantage of) but stay away from them if you have other options.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Absolutely terrible service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Carily Jun 11, 2019
I have been a customer for years, but after having to file a claim I would never go back. At first I had three different people handling my claim - all told me different information. I showed up for an appointment to fix my car, and the appointment hadn't been made, even though I received a confirmation email. When I had problems with my adjuster, I called the office to ask them to assign me someone new. Not only did they refuse to do that, but they told my adjuster I wanted to switch, making our communication very uncomfortable. I am astounded by how bad they bungled my fairly simple claim. Terrible customer service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Avoid TD insurance at all cost

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jwan Jun 06, 2019
Waited 2 hours and still, no one picks up. TD just want to rip off the current customer and my rate went up 100 after a small collision in a parking lot.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Very poor customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by KS Jun 06, 2019
I have been with TD insurance for 2 months now and I want to say that they have horrible customer service. Before taking the policy, when I used to call them for quotes, the wait times were hardly more than 5 minutes. And now that I am an existing customer, the wait times have increased to approximately 50 - 60 minutes. It's pathetic! I want to cancel my current policy, but they said they will charge me the penalty of approximately 300-400$. I am stuck with them now.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Total Joke, Waited 2 hours +

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by adam Jun 05, 2019
Multiple calls, always next in line. Total joke. Not worth choosing them for their customer service alone. Embarrassing.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Avoid Like Plague

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ewald Jun 04, 2019
I had been with Meloche Monnex for almost 30 years. I stuck with them because back in 1990, Meloche Monnex was the only broker willing to provide reasonably priced auto insurance when I had only a year of driving experience. I moved last month and called to advise of a change address. On the first attempt, I waited an hour without getting through. On the second and third attempts, I waited 45 minutes without getting through. On the fourth attempt, I got through after over an hour. In response to this disgraceful customer service, I demanded that my home and auto policies be cancelled. Only good thing I can say is that management allowed me to cancel without penalties. I'm not sure what TD has done to screw up the business model of Meloche Money, but it is a total disaster. Like a previous reviewer, I went to CAA and ended up saving $300 a year on my home and auto policies.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very poor customer service!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Senior Jun 03, 2019
If I could give a negative rating, I would. Waited on the line for 40 minutes and still no service. Terrible company! Insurance is far too costly. I got the same coverage from CAA for $ 450 less. Now I’m waiting on line to cancel and to get the address to send written cancellation. I’m still on the line waiting...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Dumb Agents

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by dashy Jun 01, 2019
I was dealing with the dumbest person, kept asking the same questions, kept me on hold for over 3 hours, still didn't get the job done. One of the worst customer services experience...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Escalation failure

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jen May 28, 2019
Adjuster kept providing incorrect information which I kept calling out and escalating. After calling out the poor valuation and false data received over and over for 2 months, I emailed the ombudsman who said my complaint could only be escalated by internal staff. It took 2.5 months to get the claim and issues with the adjuster to be taken seriously. In the end, my claim was almost doubled. This goes to show how terrible their original valuation was, how bad their customer service is, and how slow they are at resolving claims.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Incredibly easy experience

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pops Fitzgerald May 24, 2019
I can't believe how seamless dealing with TD Insurance has been. Everyone there seems to be professional and polite. Hardly any bureaucratic BS. Never had to wait to speak with somebody. Just perfect.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

If I could give 0 stars...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kaitlyn May 22, 2019
Absolutly the worst experience of my life, I wanted basic insurance and got lied to on the phone about how much I would pay. On a separate occasion, I got a quote online, called to get insurance, and got offered a WAY higher number that they refused to change even though their website gave me a reasonable price. One time I spent OVER 50 minutes on hold and had to hang up to go to work. Next day I spent 30 minutes, finally reached someone, and he had NO idea how to help me. I cancelled right then and there, but of course not without paying a massive fee. WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

TD auto insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MATT May 15, 2019
I would highly recommend DO NOT go to shop of TD auto centre. I have had a bad experience with one on the west end of Edmonton. The adjuster is relatively new and made mistake on every step of my claim. The customer service is not as good as compared to other TD standards. Everyone talks the same language, insurance adjuster and autobody shop guys. This way your words are against theirs and that way they are not accountable. Insurance and autobody shop are always in the agreement or, at least, in my case, it seemed like they had already decided from before that once the vehicle is ready we will not fix what is left or missed. It felt like as autobody had no say as they are preferred partner and moreover insurance pretty much dictates what should be done.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

rip offs

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Libby May 02, 2019
The call centre people are rude, leave you on hold up Hang up if you ask for a manager
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Contacting TD Insurance

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by roy Apr 30, 2019
For the last 3 days, I have tried to contact TD auto insurance to revise my policy. April 28th message said more than 5 min wait, waited 30 mins - no response. April 29th waiting on line for 40 mins - no response. April 30th waiting 90 mins still no response. I am wondering if TD has any staff.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

15 years

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy Apr 26, 2019
I have been a TD insurance customer for 15 years! Only 8 months ago I cancelled auto insurance didn't need anymore, have decided to buy a used 2000 thought I would check the cost with them, I have one speeding ticket 2 1/2 years ago and one handheld... I still have home insurance with them... And they are refusing me coverage! When I decided to get a vehicle I will take somewhere else as well as home insurance... I work in automotive and every one of my clients will also be referred to another company
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

worst customer service ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by nj Apr 26, 2019
Please choose another company, it's easy to start a policy here, but rip you off when you cancel the policy. The call center people do not help customers at all, they are even worse than machines. Probably call center people should be replaced by robots. useless.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst place to get insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Grace Apr 02, 2019
LaTara Bailey-Britton Auto Claims Services | TD Meloche Monnex LaTara. An agent is terrible in terms of communication. TD just wants money from you, they have the worst customer service and empty promises. I am getting my vehicle fix cause I am done waiting for them to do their job right. LaTara Bailey -Britton have no idea what she is supposed to be doing. Awful person to deal with, she has done nothing about my claim, other than empty promises and causing me stress! TD is not the place to get insurance for... Such a terrible company and have no concerns about their customers at all.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Do not get this insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Zxc Mar 27, 2019
Took them 3 months to settle 285 bucks for my missed work. Did not reimburse money that I spent from the clinic. The agent was always missing in action. If this review has zero stars, I will put it instead of one. This insurance will only leave you stressed and frustrated. Stay away. And oh, my rental car was not even 3 weeks. This insurance sucks. Do not get this
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Watch out with these people

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TD Hatred Mar 15, 2019
I got insurance through TD for a car I financed because of the rate they gave me. After about a month I get a call from some guy I could barely understand due to his accent telling me my insurance was being cancelled because of a ticket I had 4 years prior, which I disclosed that to them when I signed up and they said if it's been more than 3 years, it doesn't matter. The guy who cancelled my insurance said it has to be 6 years, so now I have a ding on my driver's record for them cancelling my insurance. I will never go back. They couldn't pay me to get insurance through them again, horrible experience
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Great Experience

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kenny Mar 01, 2019
I had 4 claims between 2017 and 2018. 1 forgiveness and 3 not-at-fault claims. Adjusters are very professional and repairs were done very smooth. No problem so far.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stay Away !!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Completely Unsatisfied Feb 27, 2019
This is simply the worst place to go for insurance. We have been fighting with them since November 2018 and are getting no help from them. It's all about them and they simply don't call back and I wish you lots of luck even trying to find a contact number. I would give them a negative star rating but that is not an option. STAY AWAY because you will not get any customer support but they will mess you over on your claim
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Voice record's missing...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Angel.L Feb 25, 2019
Called and cancelled my auto policy in November for a car I was selling, seemed like there was no problem cancelling the plan because we had no payment come out after that call... Then my Husband called in January to set up his car and they wanted to talk to me so I answered for them to ask me if I wanted to reset up my car insurance on our old car. I told the lady we had called back in November to cancel on that car so why would I want to reinstate it again? Then she tells me that they never, actually, cancelled it even though they never tried taking the payments since that call in November? So I told that lady to go over the voice records and she said she'd have to get back to me ... never heard a thing till the other day, which I was in an appoint mentioned so I couldn't answer... Then today I get a letter saying I owe $614 and they are terminating me? So I called them again and this lady tells me there's only a recording from last month (my husbands call for his car) and that there wasn't a call in November and that I have to pay the outstanding fee! Soon convenient huh? Will never tell anyone to go with TD again!!! So here I am three months pregnant and pissed as heck. Was about to set up our brand new car under them and so glad they showed me their true colours before hand! Worst company ever!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible Experience, Stay Away

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by LBA Feb 22, 2019
Ongoing claim with TD. As a victim, I was treated with lies, and arrogance. Nothing but nightmares. Had such a bad experience with one of the employees. I am glad the conversations were recorded. They do not respect the victims' rights
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Caution!!!! TD auto insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Aaron P Feb 17, 2019
If I could give a 0-star rating I would. Paid $1091 to an account number they gave me. Now they can’t seem to find any payment whatsoever! No calls to tell me my insurance got cancelled 4 months ago without my knowledge. Their services are the worst ever and I would never recommend to anyone, and for anyone that is with this company I’d advise you to change, they don’t care about their customers. No help on their end with this situation at all. Now I’m going to be stuck with a no-insurance ticket, vehicle impound fees. They didn’t try anything to resolve this issue at all!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

adjusters are non-responsive

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by pissed off customer Feb 11, 2019
Was involved in an accident 2 weeks ago. Was assigned an adjuster who doesn't answer his phone. Have left about 13 messages with my adjuster and he hasn't returned a single phone call. I'm now at 2 weeks in and they have left me completely in the dark about my claim. I called this morning to TD insurance and was told that the adjuster had been removed from my case, nobody bothered to inform me. After a 45-minute phone call with a woman who didn't know the answers to any of my questions, I was directed to another woman who was finally able to give me a phone # for the at fault parties insurance company (which just so happened to be TD insurance). Dealing with this insurance company has been more stressful than the actual accident. I wouldn't recommend these people to anyone. All the 1-star reviews are very fitting for the level of representation you can expect at TD insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Terrible service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Roxci Feb 11, 2019
Had tires slashed. They didn’t provide me with a rental, which I’m supposed to get and didn’t pay to fix my vehicles. After a month with no vehicles, I paid for it myself. The adjuster was nasty. Do not buy this insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?