Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

TD Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

(215 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
86,035
consumers
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Ridiculously long wait time!!

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Frustrated Sep 18, 2019
I have been with Meloche Monnex for over 20 years. My premium recently went up 20%. I had no claims, no tickets, perfect record. I tried calling the helpline for clarification. It took over 2 hours to finally get through and then was put on hold. Who has time for this? I am switching. Go to find an insurance broker. At least you can reach a real-life knowledgeable professional in good time.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Ridiculous

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bamboozled A Sep 16, 2019
TD insurance repeatedly informs clients that all calls are being recorded for quality reassurance. However, when an issue arises where an employee promises a false claim to a customer. TD insurance states that listening to the audio recording is a waste of time because what the employee said, which was the seller for me getting insurance with them in the first place, was not possible for them. Whatever happened to honouring what an employee states? And to have the audacity to say that they will do a review of the audio and get back to you. But, when they do get back to you, days later I should add. It's to let you know that they didn't even listen to the audio recording because what that employee promised is not doable for them. Whatever, ok. Dealt with that. Now, I call to pay for my next year of insurance, only to find out that my account had been cancelled two days earlier due to an accounting error. Well, that's new. I've been driving for two days, oblivious to the fact that I am driving uninsured. Imagine getting pulled over and learning you don't have valid insurance. Or worse, getting into an accident. It's now Monday afternoon, I call because I haven't been notified that my insurance has been reinstated. I have had no vehicle all weekend, even though I have a perfectly good 2018 Rav 4, full of gas, sitting outside, ready to go. They apologize and say that they appreciate that I had places to go and couldn't use my vehicle - and will be sending out a couple of $25 gift certificates to make up for the inconvenience of not having the insurance I pay for, for almost a week and, consequently, the inability to drive my vehicle. I nearly choked. That has to be the biggest joke I've ever heard. "We're sorry that we made you unknowingly break the law by driving without valid insurance. We're also sorry that you couldn't use your perfectly running vehicle starting Friday when you first found out that we'd made an accounting error and cancelled your vehicle insurance all the way to now, Monday afternoon. But, we are so happy to tell you that you would have been covered should anything had happened during this time. And most importantly, we will be mailing you, valued customer, a couple of $25 gift certificates to make up for this complete inconvenience towards you!" Sound like something you want to go through? Sign up today! (Don't do it!)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

refusal to pay impact victims

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jenn Sep 12, 2019
A TD insured driver ran over my 8 year old on his school crosswalk on Feb 23, 2016 and has not provided daily provision and only a small amount of medial provision for his care. We're a TD mortgage holder and we deal with absolute poverty as TD insurance does not provide daily care for "caretakers" of impact victims under 18 when their drivers run over kids on crosswalks. We are forced to take welfare to survive. TD mortgage has reduced me from General Manager status to "homemaker" on their records, due to caring for my son, and denied me a second mortgage to stop foreclosure on our as TD insurance refuses to proceed with settlement offers 3.5 years. I had to sign with a private lender as we wait for theTD Auto insurance settlement. Seems a little odd that TD Auto insurance hired a lawyer who stated it was "her job" in the hallway to make sure my son does not receive "a cent", A TD mortgage holder is denied financial provision by TD auto insurance of guilty driver and was denied a 2nd mortgage to continuously care for TD auto insurance impact victim. Google does not provide negative stars to click on.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Horrible wait times on phone

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jassy Sep 09, 2019
I'm not sure what is happening but in the last few months every time I've called I've been on hold min 1 hour and longer if I'm switched to another Department. Majority of time when I am transferred, I am on hold first and when I finally get through, they hang up. I was on hold 4 hours being bounced back and forth. They say it takes 5 mins to sign up online and it's impossible. They couldn't even put me through to the right helpdesk until 3 hours into the phone call, then it hung up. May need to switch companies, especially now, that my insurance went up due to moving provinces. Why not hire more employees? The ones you have are friendly and helpful but that's not enough.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Insane wait time

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by sku Sep 05, 2019
Could not get through to speak to someone no matter what I decided to cancel the policy, but that also meant a 2-hour wait on the phone. I was stubborn and held on until I got through!! I was charged a penalty for cancelling after the policy renewed. The fact is, I just could not get through to cancel it! Oh, and the kicker was when I got through to someone and explained that I wanted to cancel. She asked me irrelevant questions and then put me on hold to check something. After another 20 minutes, turns out she put me through to their loyalty department. She proceeded to waste yet more time asking the same irrelevant questions and took another 10 minutes to finally cancel the policy. I have never ever experienced such a wait on the phone with any company. Stay away!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

A literal strain on society

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ontario Sep 05, 2019
I don't understand how their only means of changing/adding a vehicle is by phone. Especially when the wait times are over 3 hours. I literally went on my one-hour lunch break and came back with the same stupid music playing in the background. Like 99% of insurance companies allow the dealership to fax them confirmations, only TD doesn't...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible Service.No management

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Neil Sep 04, 2019
Anyone reading this review, stay away from TD Insurance. Even if you are seeing this as the cheapest insurance for your case. It has been 3 days that I want to do a policy change. Wait time have been 48 Mins, 1 Hr 37 Mins and today 53 Mins and counting. I am not sure how they are still in business with this kind of customer service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Nobody answering phone

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by disgruntled customer Sep 04, 2019
I've been a client of TD Insurance and their predecessors (Monnex/Meloche Monnex) for over 30 years. But will soon be leaving, because they don't have the staff to answer the phone. I tried to add a new car online, and the VIN 'isn't recognized' despite every VIN search website showing me that it's correct. And the online wait is currently at least an hour because that's how long I've been waiting. I was supposed to pick up my new car tonight, but it seems like that won't happen unless I change insurance companies. Past claim experience (8 years ago) was fine!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Just Wow

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TD Sep 04, 2019
Their online calculator wouldn't give me a quote and said to print and fill it in by hand and mail it in (....seriously) or call in. I've been in the phone queue for 2 hours 42 minutes on writing this. Not sure they realize this is 2019? Mail something or wait almost 3 hours not to speak with anyone is unacceptable. I was stubborn to hand on after an hour, 2 was getting silly and now it's just absurd at going on 3 hours. Hanging up.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Worst Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jycr Aug 31, 2019
We phoned in today to request a re-quote regarding our home and auto policy. We waited almost 30mins on the phone to talk to someone who is not even capable of accommodating our inquiries. Waited another 20mins to talk to another representative who has the worst customer service! We’ve been their client for 5 years now and we can’t believe that that is how they treat long-term clients. To cut the story, we found out that our premium even increased this year! We are asking for an explanation as to why is that and this representative just keeps on saying that’s what it shows on their computer screen. What made us really frustrated is how this representative said these exact words: WHO TOLD YOU THAT YOUR PREMIUM WILL DECREASE AS TIME GOES BY? ... and that’s only because we want to have at least something that would explain to us why our premium increased! We have cancelled our policy and have moved on to a different company. We could have stayed and just let go the quoted premium but the trigger point is the WORST CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE with this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible customer service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by No2TD Aug 31, 2019
I've been with TD (Meloche-Monnex) for years. Two years ago I had a claim and I was treated terrifically. Unfortunately, the service with TD has gone down terribly since that time. I've decided to cancel because of the price and service. Yesterday I spent nearly four hours on hold and even used the call back service only to be put on hold for another hour. Today I called at opening 9:00 and have been on hold for over an hour. I would NOT recommend TD insurance!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Crazy wait over the phone

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by E L Aug 30, 2019
I had waited for close to three hours and no one picked up the phone at TD insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible service; useless app

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by StephC Aug 30, 2019
Horrible service. Had to phone in after having been locked up of my online account (why?). Waited forever to get answered by a first-line agent, transferred to a second-line agent, and waited forever again only to end up wasting another more than a half-hour and not even have my case resolved. And that was just to make simple changes to my policy. Imagine having that kind of service after an accident! Cancelled and went elsewhere (while I was waiting on the line with TD, lol). It's also useless to use the online portal; all my modifications were lost and I got locked-out of my account. They probably wanted to have me call back and try to upsell me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Brutal policy service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by bg Aug 29, 2019
I currently have been in the call centre queue for over 3 hours. This is a third attempt to contact TD Insurance regarding a policy issue. I contacted TD Insurance via social media and was advised that the online chat functionality was not working - hence stay on the phone.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Bad experience

 
(1.2 out of 5 stars)
by Benz Aug 29, 2019
Their customer service never replies to your phones. They only fix your car at your centers, not at the dealer. They have a long delay. No update.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Be careful

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TReilly Aug 28, 2019
When I tried to add a second car policy to my existing account it took me over an hour to get a quote and then another 45 mins to add the new policy. Oh and then an hour and a half to resolve a problem that was their fault. They set up two policies for 1 car and then began debiting my bank account twice a month for the same car. What is going on over there.. be careful!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Absurd Wait Times

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by EGD Aug 28, 2019
I've been waiting on hold for over two hours. I called in initially to add a new vehicle to my policy and purchase more insurance. I will now instead be cancelling my policy. I can't even imagine how horrible this would be if I had to make a claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Wait times are atrocious

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by R. G. Aug 26, 2019
Currently on hold for 1 hour 55 minutes to get insurance on a used car for my son... Just to get it home so we can work a bit on it... Still waiting... May have to reevaluate cancelling and getting a new company...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SAM Aug 21, 2019
I have been with TD auto insurance since 2010. Recently, I have been facing lots of difficulties with this auto insurance. Over 1hour and a half waiting to reach a representative of the insurance, often disconnection in the middle of the talk, increasing the premiums with no acceptable reasons, increasing the charges and having so difficulties to contact the insurance to adjust the mistakes they made, poor and discourtesy client services. I am looking for new auto insurance now. Any help will be appreciated.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Stay away

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by disappointed Aug 21, 2019
Terrible experience. I called more than 3 times and spend almost the entire day on hold. No one works here, I even called 1 minute after they open still the same.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst wait times on hold

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by John Aug 08, 2019
I had one claim, small, for lost shingles from a wind storm. I was disconnected several times trying to get a hold of someone. It took over a month to actually get someone to fix the roof, and a week just to get someone to tarp the roof. I am currently on hold and have been for over an hour, just to change my car information. This is the worst firm I have ever had as an insurance company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Terrible phone wait time

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lake Aug 02, 2019
One of the worst phone service wait time. Totally understaffed. Recently I had three phone calls, each 45min. ++ wait. I also tried e-mail, and it takes more than 3 days to get an answer. Personnel is knowledgeable and friendly, no complains.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

terrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by spencer Aug 01, 2019
Such a bad insurance provider. I've been trying to get a hold of them for days, waiting on hold for hours on end every time I call. When they answer, I will definitely cancel my insurance and switch providers. This is absolutely ridiculous. I hope someone from TD sees this and takes a hard look at what is going on here. Seems to me like employees are taking advantage of the company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Auto Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sonal Aug 01, 2019
I had requested an Auto insurance quote online and after that, I contacted the insurance agent. After having all the details the person said he can't process. I have to go through the paper application process which takes 4-6weeks! I mean, really, who has time for all this even if you are one of their loyal customers. From the past 4 years, I am with TD bank and this type of services or response is really disappointed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible wait times

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by mrcashmore Jul 29, 2019
Trying to make changes to auto insurance and the wait times are atrocious. It was 52 minutes the other day, until I had to give up. It's been 32 minutes so far and I called first thing in the morning. I'll be cancelling my insurance once I speak to someone. Their auto rates are astronomical.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Be aware - Its gambling

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by New customer Jul 25, 2019
I was getting a quote for auto and home. I am not an insurance agent so I don't know what question to ask except a few questions on liability and deductible. TD would not email quote for me to look at the details and ask me to decide on quote on the phone. The key thing here to remember is once they issue a policy, you pay the money and they will mail you the details. However, if you find any issue and want to cancel the policy, there is a heavy penalty. When it comes to customer-centric policy, TD is 100 years behind.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

6 Hours on Hold

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Letty Jul 24, 2019
Absolutely terrible wait times for representatives... I spent almost an entire day (6 hours a least) on hold waiting for a representative ... By the time I spoke with someone I was so frustrated I cancelled my policy and switched companies. On top of that, the rates are bad, I saved 80 dollars a month when I switch to the new company!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

AVOID

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by NO MoreTD Jul 18, 2019
I have been with TD for over 20 years. We went from a 2 car family to a 1 car family. They jacked up my rates $ 600.00 per year on 1 car because I do not have a 2 car discount!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

poor customer service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by GW Jul 05, 2019
I am currently on the phone for 2 hours, and yet, this has always been the norm!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Can't call them last 3 weeks.

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Tom H. Jul 05, 2019
I just want to activate my TD Advantage but can't call them last 3 weeks. My records for house and car are all clean but they are trying to raise the payment every year. Each rise is about 5-50%. I must add another driver next 2 weeks and very worry about can't get a hold with them to do this. I am working full time and can't call and wait all times like this. Please!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?