Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

TD Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

(160 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
72,322
consumers
(1.6 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Worst place to get insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Grace Apr 02, 2019
LaTara Bailey-Britton Auto Claims Services | TD Meloche Monnex LaTara. An agent is terrible in terms of communication. TD just wants money from you, they have the worst customer service and empty promises. I am getting my vehicle fix cause I am done waiting for them to do their job right. LaTara Bailey -Britton have no idea what she is supposed to be doing. Awful person to deal with, she has done nothing about my claim, other than empty promises and causing me stress! TD is not the place to get insurance for... Such a terrible company and have no concerns about their customers at all.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Do not get this insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Zxc Mar 27, 2019
Took them 3 months to settle 285 bucks for my missed work. Did not reimburse money that I spent from the clinic. The agent was always missing in action. If this review has zero stars, I will put it instead of one. This insurance will only leave you stressed and frustrated. Stay away. And oh, my rental car was not even 3 weeks. This insurance sucks. Do not get this
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Watch out with these people

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TD Hatred Mar 15, 2019
I got insurance through TD for a car I financed because of the rate they gave me. After about a month I get a call from some guy I could barely understand due to his accent telling me my insurance was being cancelled because of a ticket I had 4 years prior, which I disclosed that to them when I signed up and they said if it's been more than 3 years, it doesn't matter. The guy who cancelled my insurance said it has to be 6 years, so now I have a ding on my driver's record for them cancelling my insurance. I will never go back. They couldn't pay me to get insurance through them again, horrible experience
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Stay Away !!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Completely Unsatisfied Feb 27, 2019
This is simply the worst place to go for insurance. We have been fighting with them since November 2018 and are getting no help from them. It's all about them and they simply don't call back and I wish you lots of luck even trying to find a contact number. I would give them a negative star rating but that is not an option. STAY AWAY because you will not get any customer support but they will mess you over on your claim
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible Experience, Stay Away

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by LBA Feb 22, 2019
Ongoing claim with TD. As a victim, I was treated with lies, and arrogance. Nothing but nightmares. Had such a bad experience with one of the employees. I am glad the conversations were recorded. They do not respect the victims' rights
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Caution!!!! TD auto insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Aaron P Feb 17, 2019
If I could give a 0-star rating I would. Paid $1091 to an account number they gave me. Now they can’t seem to find any payment whatsoever! No calls to tell me my insurance got cancelled 4 months ago without my knowledge. Their services are the worst ever and I would never recommend to anyone, and for anyone that is with this company I’d advise you to change, they don’t care about their customers. No help on their end with this situation at all. Now I’m going to be stuck with a no-insurance ticket, vehicle impound fees. They didn’t try anything to resolve this issue at all!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

adjusters are non-responsive

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by pissed off customer Feb 11, 2019
Was involved in an accident 2 weeks ago. Was assigned an adjuster who doesn't answer his phone. Have left about 13 messages with my adjuster and he hasn't returned a single phone call. I'm now at 2 weeks in and they have left me completely in the dark about my claim. I called this morning to TD insurance and was told that the adjuster had been removed from my case, nobody bothered to inform me. After a 45-minute phone call with a woman who didn't know the answers to any of my questions, I was directed to another woman who was finally able to give me a phone # for the at fault parties insurance company (which just so happened to be TD insurance). Dealing with this insurance company has been more stressful than the actual accident. I wouldn't recommend these people to anyone. All the 1-star reviews are very fitting for the level of representation you can expect at TD insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Terrible service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Roxci Feb 11, 2019
Had tires slashed. They didn’t provide me with a rental, which I’m supposed to get and didn’t pay to fix my vehicles. After a month with no vehicles, I paid for it myself. The adjuster was nasty. Do not buy this insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

TD insurance is scrap

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by LANKA.B Feb 06, 2019
TD insurance is the worst insurance company I ever saw in my life. In 2018 May, I met with an accident and I had a tough time contacting adjuster and his manager. It took 6 months. After a lot of calls and emails, they settled everything. I thought at least after 6 months my hustle is done and now I came to. Now they put me at fault, which was not the same thing they told me when I was talking to them. They messed up everything and I was trying to contact TD and they said adjuster will give me a call in 2 days, which he didn't. So I tried contacting the adjuster who gave me the wrong contact number, which they said is not a big deal and then they said that the adjuster is not working anymore and I have to talk to a manager. The best part now is the manager is not available for a week. I don't know how long it will take now to adjust everything. I don't go to TD and I don't suggest anyone to choose TD for insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Hit and Run claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Daisey3435 Jan 14, 2019
Made a hit and run claim about 4 months ago. Received an e-mail the first month asking for a police report number, emailed back with the information they asked me for. Didn’t hear from TD for 2 months after. When I called to ask for an update, I was told I never gave a report number. After the woman went through her emails and found the one I sent her 2 months prior with the police report number, her response was “Oh, nevermind. I found it, sorry”. 2 months later? This month they have told me I need to “pay out of my own pocket” (direct quote) because they are unable to find a collision report. It took me 30 minutes to receive a collision report from the cops and send it into TD. I have been given the runaround for months, no customer service, no explanation. I was never even given the breakdown on how this claim would be handled. Absolutely disgusted by this insurance company. Do yourself a favour and avoid spending your money here, I know I would’ve.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

WORST COMPANY EVER!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Onepissedofflady Jan 12, 2019
We had a TD customer hit our parked car and it's been a disaster to get it fixed. They never contacted us once. This happened in November, it is now January and no settlement. When we finally got the appraiser here, he was late when my boyfriend needed to leave for work. He didn't call to let us know we had to call him 20 and 5 minutes before he had to leave, he went to the wrong customer's house. That was early December and we heard nothing back. Called back early January and every single person has given us different answers to how we can keep the car and the cost. The money offered was a HUGE lowball for the vehicle and our situation. One of the agents was especially disrespectful and unhelpful. He was rude, arrogant and unprofessional. When we tried to speak to someone to rectify this, he complained we were wasting his time and hung up on us on Friday and from there on no one would even answer our calls, so now we have to wait till Monday to call again. We have waited on hold for a total of over 6 hours with this TERRIBLE COMPANY! This whole company is a JOKE, the staff is crap and pray to Jesus some idiot with their insurance doesn't run into you.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Charlee71 Dec 18, 2018
I am not even a customer and from the experience of a family member will NEVER be a customer. 2 months to decide if a vehicle is to be written off!! Was not informed by the company, was informed by collision mechanic, who had been trying to get ahold of the adjuster for weeks!! NOW trying to get ahold of the adjuster for weeks again!!! I am trying to help this person to get some answers or even try to get TD to answer an email, a phone call for GOD SAKE, send your response snail mail!! Legal action is now going to be taken. What is wrong with you people? Someone has to fight tooth and nail just to be helped? I thank God he was not injured, he would have died by now waiting for your help!! Buyer Beware, they talk a good game to get your money!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

customer service got attitude

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by xi Dec 18, 2018
First time ever in my life...I'm so "impressed" lol. TD insurance customer service speaking out exactly "I'm not WILLING to" help in a call with me, and after they provided wrong information that not only confused me but also gave me a lot of troubles, I called again to verify. Hearing totally different information I got confused, then not letting me ask the representative said: "Do you want my help?" in a tone obviously equal to "If you want then shut up!". Not professional, not helpful, NEVER EVER do your business with TD insurance!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Search for other quotes

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by 7tc3 Dec 08, 2018
Not as transparent as they think they are. Constantly having to do digging in order to get information.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

zero customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mom of 3 Dec 05, 2018
TD Meloche Auto insurance has zero customer service. They have owed me a refund for over 2 years and still waiting. No one answers the phone - no one provides details on why I am still waiting - only a request for a letter that has been delivered to them no less than 4 times. Avoid Avoid Avoid!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

BAD Service & Dishonest Staff

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Steven M. Dec 04, 2018
Do not get insurance with TD. You will regret it. My advisor would not return calls or emails. He also would not let me come to see my car in person. He also refused to send me the repair statement in writing and tried to pressure me into writing off my car and taking a very low payout, all over the phone. After submitting a formal complaint I was finally sent a copy of the repair estimate and it was totally different from what I was told over the phone. After three weeks and a formal complaint, I was finally allowed to see my car again. I was truly shocked at how crooked and poorly run this place is. If I could give a lower rating than 1 star, I would. To make things even worse, when I complained through TD, they admitted I had been treated terribly but did nothing to fix it. Just meaningless apologies from someone over the phone, who does not even work at the location I went to.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Credit to my Credit Card

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by tommysug Nov 22, 2018
Insured with this insurance company for over 5 years. I just recently moved my insurance policy to include my truck and have my "summer car" taken off. This resulted in a credit of $129.95. The notification from TD stated that the refund would be credited to my credit card on 13-Oct-18, keep in mind that I requested this change on 06-Oct-18. The credit did not appear on my credit card, so I contacted them only to be told that the credit won't be given until 6 weeks from the date stated in the notification. I struggle with the fact that the notification stated the credit would be on the 13-Oct and being told by phone that it would be 6 weeks. Had the notification from them, dated 15-Oct, stated that it would have been easier to accept. Six weeks is now up and still no credit, how much money do these people make off the interest for ALL the money they withhold? New insurance company next time.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Amazing customer service

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Anisa Nov 21, 2018
My policy ended with my insurance company, so I called around to different companies to find a lower rate and wasn't getting much luck. I decided to call and get a quote from TD not expecting anything better but I got lucky and the rep I got was very helpful from the jump. She spent an hour on the phone with me working to get me the best possible deal, she went into detail with the contents of the policy and confirmed everything with me. It was my first time renewing a policy, so I didn't know where to begin, she was extremely patient and understanding. It was a great feeling knowing I was talking to someone who had my best interest and wasn't looking to get me off the line. I didn't read the reviews before I called but I can only hope for someone like her every time I call customer service.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Run Away From TD Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brett M Nov 18, 2018
I have been with TD Insurance for over 35 years and never made a claim. Wife had a minor accident in 2016. I recently made a claim due to a trailer becoming detached from my vehicle and struck my truck. It was investigated by Police and found to be a mechanical failure on the trailer hitch. They list it as an "At Fault" accident by me. When I questioned the claims advisor, she berated me saying it is my responsibility to ensure hitch was not defective. I cannot get them to understand it was a "Mechanical Failure". I spent countless hours on the telephone waiting to talk to someone about my claim. Further, they do not call back with voice messages or e-mail. Terrible customer service, with no common sense.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Claim issues

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lindsey Nov 10, 2018
Horrible customer services. Very hard to get ahold of my adjuster. Have called 4 times and left 2 voicemails in the past 3 days. My vehicle was hit, not at all my fault and I’ve had to struggle to find ways to work and live my life for the past week without transportation. No one seems to care to move forward or return my calls. It’s very frustrating especially when the accident isn’t your fault and you're left to do everything on your own. On top of it, they expect me to find a way to move my car from the impound like I have 600$ laying around or a place to park an undrivable damaged car. I don’t have collision insurance on my end but is it not my adjuster job to contact the other party and get things going? Yet, no phone calls back in 3 days and now 9 days past the accident. Ridiculous. Considering leaving this company after this service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Run away from TD 'insurance'

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chris Oct 31, 2018
Run away from TD insurance. I was hit by another car while sitting at a light. Damage was minor (needed a new bumper) but I really should have taken the other driver's advice and just had them pay for it. I thought that going through TD insurance would lessen my hassles but this is where they began. I tried to get through to the claims department, which took more than an hour on hold, and then had my claims adjuster go on vacation with no one taking over. I had to cancel the autobody appointment and have not been able to get in touch with the claims department again (apparently they are always experiencing a 'high volume' of calls whenever I call). When I call to pretend I am buying insurance, I get someone right away but when they take my info and say they will call back with offers to help with my claim I do not receive a call in return. On top of this, they increased my rates! In short, TD appears to have put considerable resources into taking its customers' money (I guess this is where my rate increase is going) but little into doing the service customers are paying for. If you have infinite patience, enjoy being on hold and dealing with people who cannot help you, choose TD. If you want insurance, choose anyone else.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Turn their back on you

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by ScottG Oct 31, 2018
I was a customer for several years, home and auto. Never had a late payment. Came upon tough times, had 2 late payments within a year, and they demanded I pay the entire balance or I would be cancelled. Obviously, I had struggled to pay the 150$ or so, therefore, 1400$ was not about to happen. A few months later I had paid them off, and now they will not give me a new policy. This just goes along with the current TD theme of customers are only measured by what they've done for them lately. Unless you are perfect, not a great place to go. They will not work with you to solve any issues.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Not impressed

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Paige H Oct 23, 2018
First off the customer service is horrible, every time I called I’d be on hold for 1 hour, and then they’d fumble around saying they couldn’t find my policy or my account. They didn’t send me a letter to renew my insurance, so I wasn’t aware if my car was insured or not, someone told me they’d call me back and they never did. Fast forward to when my car was stolen, I opened a claim and they closed it the next day, as my insurance didn’t cover car theft, I guess. So I tried to cancel my insurance, was on hold again, and they fumbled around saying they couldn't find my record, or my policy or anything under my name, I don’t know what database they’re working with but they need to update it. I cancelled it and they said they’d call me back after 5 PM the next day. The next day they call me before 5 PM and leave me a message to call them back. I call back and no one on the line knows why they called me or what to say because they couldn’t find any record of a cancelled policy. These people seem like they have no idea what they are doing, and do not care about their customers at all. They also sent me an email with the title “We are here for you” after they told me my insurance doesn’t cover stolen vehicles. (Way to rub salt in my fresh wounds, TD). Now I’m here without a car or money for it and right now I am more unimpressed by the customer service at TD than I am by the people who stole my car.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Thieves

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pinchas Oct 20, 2018
TD insurance is the absolute worst insurance company that I have ever dealt with. After cancelling our policy, the insurance company continued to dip their hands into our bank and take out money. This week, they completely emptied out our bank account, which was intended for medical supplies, and said they were unable to return the money but would put the extra payment towards our other policy and they would be happy to provide us with a $25 gift card “for our troubles.” How about return the money they fraudulently took out of my bank account?
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Pull your money out of TD

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by biggus Oct 18, 2018
If you have a TD bank account, then take your business to another bank. I have had similar experiences as posted here. No discount on App. The rate went up $190 the next year for no reason. It's as if their Ad agency, the board-room got together and said: "We'll give them the average rate the first year then screw them royally after that". TAKE MY ADVICE. Do not get TD insurance and if you have a TD bank account, switch banks !! I DID (the only way they will learn). TD, get out of the car business and fire your AD and APP agency, we are not suckers.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Corrosion Warranty

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Boomer Oct 18, 2018
Had my Audi repaired by one of their preferred shops, not a great job to boot, had to go back a few times to correct paint match problems, gaps, panel alignments, etc. A few years later, I had a problem with corrosion on the Audi. Went to the Audi dealer to submit a claim, and was advised that my corrosion warranty was null and void, due to a 3rd party had repaired that panel on the vehicle. Be wary of any warranty you have on your car, especially corrosion warranties, if their so-called preferred shops touch your car, instead of the manufacturer approved body shop. The manufacture can, and will, void any applicable warranties on the vehicle. Therefore, the TD guarantee that they give you when going to their shop, is really a moot point. Just take it to the manufacturer's authorized shops, and don't listen to what anyone at TD tells you. After all, you are paying them for a service and paying dearly, so call the dealer/manufacturer, before you commit to just any body shop to repair your vehicle. It is your car at the end of the day. So take it to the right shop, educate yourself before making any decision, and get it fixed right the first time. Who knows your car better than the manufacturer anyways?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible insurence company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mack Oct 17, 2018
Hi all, I sign up for the TD home and auto insurance policy 1 yr ago till today. TD insurance guys increased my insurance $20 more without any clams from me, I didn't even change my addresses. When I called them, 0 customer service, 0 help from them. They said claims in my area is the cause of the increase in insurance. It's the same thing as one rep offered customer world tour, next rep got fired for his false promise. It's same as one did crime and police handcuffed innocent sitting next to him. It's the same thing that one's credit history is screwed up, another friend got mortgage denied. It doesn't make any sense, I wonder who comes up with the most stupid policies on earth. TD you guys are losing business, good customers like all of us, shame on you guys. Very greedy people and shameless liars. Very unhappy and pissed off by TD home and auto insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Horrible insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kelli_q Oct 11, 2018
I was with TD insurance for 16 years and I'd give them a negative review if I could. I have never made a claim or had an accident. I moved to an extremely small town a few months ago and they doubled my renter's insurance premium. They made the claim that there must be a lot of crime in the area. So I went from $30 to $60 a month. I called around for quotes and was getting them in the $15 to $20 a month range, so I cancelled and they decided to raise my auto insurance from $115 to $155. I got quotes for $80 to $100 a month elsewhere, so I cancelled everything with them. Now they owe me a refund and will only tell me that I will get it back sometime in the future. They won't even give me a date. You have to sit on the phone for hours trying to get through to someone. Absolutely horrible customer service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Auto and Home Insurance quote

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by DCP Oct 02, 2018
Terrible customer service. Spent countless hours on the phone each time talking with a different rep. Went over the same information at least seven times. Had I known this earlier, I would not have bothered to go with TD. I have never been treated so badly by other insurance companies in 50 years. Will definitely switch to other companies when it is due.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Customer service sucks

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by sunny Sep 25, 2018
I had a claim last year, someone hit my rear bumper and I called insurance for reporting the accident, it took me an hour to lift my call and it's my first accident, I am not much aware. I ended up calling so many times and every time I call I had to wait for minimum 1 and a half hour to know next step and after so many follow-ups it took more than 1 month to fix and the guys on customer service are so rude. Literally, service sucks and this is a very small one, there are so many other reasons. In the future, I would prefer to rent a car or drive without insurance rather than having TD Insurance. I wish to select 0 stars.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?