Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

TD Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

(256 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
100,944
consumers
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Misleaded me.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by AJ May 06, 2020
I got my policy in Feb and told them I am going to start my college in May, so they told me, for now, it will 290$ per month and once my college starts I need to give a call they will reduce to 222$ per month but they reduced only 6$ per month according to which is now $284 saying they can't reduce now it can be only done while getting the policy. And if I want to change to another company who is giving me less quote they will charge me around $280 penalty. Pathetic. Not at all professional.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Worst of the worst

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by HT Apr 23, 2020
I have TD insurance home and auto for a year then they sent renew with increase everything 13-14%. I asked them why it increased especially during the COVID-19 outbreak and people not using much cars. The answer was they estimated the cost to repair my car in case an accident would be higher compared last year and cost to rebuild home higher. I asked why the apps TDadvantages predicted discount 23%, why I did not get the discount instead of 13% increased. They said I did not meet 1000km, even I still have 1 month before renewing policy to make up to 1000km. They said no adjustment in even if I make it to 1000km. This company is trying to rip you off even in difficult COVID-19 times. I have shopped around actually found a much better deal, better coverage 25% cheaper both home and car insurance. The way they deal with clients, I would cancel the insurance with them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JD Apr 21, 2020
The worst insurance provider. I have been charged thrice in a month. They cancelled and updated my policy without my concern and then said they tried to reach me but I never got any call. NEVER GET A INSURANCE FROM TD.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Beware of Crooks - Stay Away!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Louis C Apr 15, 2020
They play the waiting game and dodge communications to avoid paying claims! Horrible human beings hired as representatives and "managers" who don't care and seem to be incentivized to rip you off. I had a simple not-at-fault accident and they wasted months of back and forth, switched me to another representative after mine had gone unresponsive for months and now claim the one year is passed and that I will not be paid what I was due. Go anywhere else but here is you want to be "covered"... can't call it coverage if they don't pay!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

now TD Insurance Direct

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ray24 Apr 13, 2020
STAY AWAY FROM THESE GUYS. They are rebranding themselves now probably due to the horrible reputation and numerous lawsuits they have faced in the past.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Absolutely horrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MS Apr 09, 2020
I had a claim for my new truck. It got hit while parked and was totalled. TD did not want to replace the vehicle (even though we paid an extra premium) and forced us to repair it. Repairs took several months and happened to be completed during the peak of the COVID 19 pandemic. Instead of waiting for the situation to get better they decided to cancel the payment extension of our rental and gave us a day to coordinate pick up and drop off of our car and car rental. They had no consideration for us nor the current situation affecting the entire world - not even exceptional circumstances could get TD to implement some decent customer service. So sad.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Claims

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Not impressed Mar 25, 2020
They didn't return calls until I left a message that I was calling a lawyer. No, I have been sent to another claim agent left message to guess what no return.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

AWFUL EXPERIENCE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Customer k Mar 25, 2020
I just got new car insurance from TD auto insurance Canada. I admit to missing one payment and was assured by the representative that my next payment would be deducted on the 21 of March. I put money down and waited for a notification from my bank for the deduction (which never came) I decided to call and let them know the situation. That representative was helpful even though he may have given me the wrong info. Another representative was helpful as well and did her job. However, another guy was the most awful supervisor and very rude. This guy made up his mind not to help out from the beginning. He listens to so many people and fails to understand each customer individually. He charged me the full amount of the insurance and told me there's nothing he can do. He told me to keep quiet whiles he spoke. Such awful awful customer service. Guys, I suggest trying another insurance. Please do not make the same mistake I made.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

worst

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Fadak Mar 05, 2020
My adjuster was extremely uninformed in traffic laws, uninterested in my side of things, EXTREMELY rude, horrible attitude, no communications until I got a hold of her supervisor multiple times, and when she returned my call finally, I swear her attitude was intolerable. My health benefit adjuster failed to communicate or return my emails for WEEKS on end, to let me know how to proceed for reimbursement claims. I would NOT recommend them. Extremely unprofessional and uninformed employees.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Cann't get to talk to smn

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Suge-ma Mar 02, 2020
Unavailable online. On hold forever! Access to site disconnected for no reason!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

TD looks like a scammer

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ChrisS Feb 21, 2020
I am happy I was able to find this site which explains a lot about TD Insurance. So I created a claim five days ago. The adjuster never answers my phone calls and now I understand that this is standard practice for TD Insurance. As I understand it will be wasting time trying to contact TD so I am going to file a claim to "General Insurance OmbudService". Let's see if it works or not
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Fast, easy and hassle free

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Alison C Feb 12, 2020
I recently purchased insurance for my new vehicle and could not be happier than I am with the competitive rates. Note then that, the customer service, friendliness, and professionalism of the staff far exceeded my expectations. I called back with a minor question today. Representative thoroughly explained what the wording on the document meant and answered my questions about acquiring tenant insurance (which I had been meaning to do). Not only did she take extra time to go over every possible product that was available, but she helped me get set up with the coverage I required for our home, she found savings in bundling the package with my vehicle insurance that saved me money on the bundle. The rates were already lower by quite a bit compared to their fellow competitors. My experience, so far, has been outstanding and I can not recommend the company strongly enough for your insurance needs.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Miklo79 Feb 08, 2020
Absolutely terrible experience with TD Insurance. I filed a claim for severe damage to my bumper and undercarriage of the car. I was driving down a dark road late at night (no streetlights) and as another car was about to pass me going the opposite direction. Just as the car passed I was struck by a moving object. I know with 100% certainty that it was a moving object as I saw something moving out of the corner of my eye just before the impact was made. I assumed it was an animal since we do have a lot of incidents like that on that particular road. TD insurance lied to me throughout the process, first telling me that the adjuster would likely be there to take pictures the next day. It ended up taking 4 days. During that time I was stuck paying for a rental car. TD insurance called me on the 4th day after the claim was reported to tell me that they were changing the comprehensive claim to an at-fault accident and claimed I hit a pothole or chunk of ice in the middle of the road. As I mentioned before, this was not possible as I could see in front of me the whole time and whatever hit my car was moving. A pothole would not cause front bumper damage and a piece of ice wouldn’t cause severe damage to the undercarriage of the car. On top of that, the bumper was damaged at the corner of the car providing that whatever struck my car was moving into the path of my car. Additionally, TD insurance tried to quote the claim based on used parts from a scrapyard. I will be cancelling me and my wife’s home and auto insurance immediately and we will never do any business whatsoever with TD as a whole. This company has no integrity and will try to screw you out of any money they can.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

NO

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Richard C Feb 07, 2020
Here was the course of events: 1) Truck received minor fender bender (other persons fault) 2) Took it to TD insurance and was told that not only would the other party cover everything but that they would also cover a rental car while the truck is being fixed. I was given a date to bring the truck back (after parts had been delivered) 3) Brought truck back, was told upon arrival that the parts were not there and that I would have to bring my truck back later. They said they had left a message telling me that the day before. Checked phone, no missed calls, no message. 4) Brought truck back in. This time parts were present, but then they told me that I no longer had a rental car covered. This time I came with my 8-month pregnant wife. I told them that they told me this would be covered on my first visit. They checked in their system and this was written down that they told me this on my initial visit (proof...I call it). But they said "sorry" and that this had changed, and that TD was no longer able to give me a rental car. I was angry, obviously - said some things I don't regret. 6) I went home, again. 6) Then I called the manager, who sorted out the situation the next day. I came back the next day and received a rental car. So, what do we do with all of this? Let's go through the issues: I was told I was going to get a rental car, then they didn't deliver. They said "sorry", but not sorry enough to fix the problem they caused...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

So impressed!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Happy Jan 31, 2020
I was so impressed by the service and convenience! From the moment I called in to notify them of my accident the service was impeccable - within 1/2 an hour I had a claim number, and agent. Within 1 day I had an appointment at the Auto Center (at my convenience) where I brought my vehicle, met my agent, went in to the service bay to discuss the damage, and stepped into my rental (of comparable make and model) all within 20 minutes. I would highly recommend.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Great service always

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Max Jan 28, 2020
I've had a recent fault claim and they have been extra helpful with the process. Not only that, they added accident forgiveness to my policy because it wasn't offered to me the last time I spoke to an agent on the phone and I was eligible. Huge relief! Their claims department was also very prompt and easy to work with. Been with TD for over 10 years and have always been happy with them. Thank you TD.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Quote for Insurance

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by rnglenna Jan 28, 2020
The agent was efficient and quick. It usually takes hours to get a quote and he gave me three competitive quotes in 30 minutes or less. He was polite and courteous and I am so pleased with this service. I will definitely recommend TD!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Go somewhere else

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pissedoff Jan 28, 2020
-10 stars if I could. I was in an accident a few years ago. The car was stopped for at least 5 seconds before being sideswiped. I just found out recently when getting another insurance for another car that TD claimed we were 100% at fault even though dashcam footage says otherwise. We were not told this. TD tried to write off the car for nothing. When we tried to drag on the case to receive more money for it, I guess they just decided we were at fault. Absolute scam of a company. No longer going to be banking with them either.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stay away from TD insurance.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jojo Jan 28, 2020
I have been with TD Insurance for over 10 years. I have involved in an accident in which a dump truck sideswiped my car on the left passenger side. I had filed a claim with TD Insurance. Even though the other driver was at fault, the claim adjuster took a month to get back to me and finalized my claim. The adjuster was terrible and she never answered my phone calls and replied to my emails. Two months after receiving emails and letters saying they have closed my claim, the adjuster sent me another letter saying I am at fault 50% without contacting me or explaining to me how they got to the conclusion. They did not even ask if I have any proof to show that I am not at fault. I called and emailed the adjuster and she never replied to it and just completely ignored me. I would never recommend TD Insurance for anyone and TD Insurance has the worst claim adjusters and they are all terrible.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Worst Adjusters TD Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Muditha Jan 26, 2020
I assigned three adjusters with TD car Insurance. They never answered the phone and didn`t reply at all even though I put so many messages. That means they are cheaters. I also called TD Insurance so many time and they only gave me adjusters' names and numbers. Still, they did nothing for me. Every day, my lunchtime I called them because I don't have a car to use. These days I use public transportation. More than ten days nobody answered me. Please stay away from TD Insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

TD bank is a thief

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TD is horrible Jan 17, 2020
TD is all about money-making, I cancelled my insurance after having it for 3 days. I am a first-time driver and did not know you had to pay cancellation fees, this was never notified to me from the beginning. After I called to cancel, the guy who cancelled just cancelled it and came back saying I had to pay $284. This guy was heartless, their customer service is horrible, I would never go back with them. It is still cheaper for me to pay them and leave cause I've gotten a better deal elsewhere. I'm not surprised that there are so many bad reviews about them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

5 months claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TD INS is Bad Jan 10, 2020
Had a collision claim 5 months ago, Was very bad experience with TD, they tend to prolong the matter intentionally to pay as little as possible, requested to escalate the claim but the internal escalation is not done effectively. I had to contact a lawyer and after he wrote them they resolved the claim and covered all expenses 2 days later. Their operation is no different than a scam artist.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

WORST Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by FL Jan 08, 2020
My car was rear-ended by TD's insured client. The bumper and trunk were broken, but the car is still drive-able and repairable. However, TD gave me a very low price of a total loss, only half of the market value of my car and they wanted to take the car. Same as how TD treated their other customers, they don't answer phone calls or reply to emails. The Ombudsman and Customer Service Department just play Ping-pong. It has been 3 months and a half and it still has not been resolved. I was advised by my friends to go public-call CBC or Global News. This is the worst company I have ever dealt with. So many people complained. It should be closed!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Read reviews before signing up

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by sean Jan 07, 2020
My own experience was on 2 occasions TD insurance made a charge on my account before the agreed-upon date thus leading to an NSF charge from them. On each of those occasions, they on their own suggested a new day for taking out but still, they were inconsistent with the days. What I can't seem to understand is why the inconsistency and if this was pecuiliar to me. Anyways, I am just got a few months left and switching for sure. My fear is I hope when I cancel they don't hit my account again.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Long waiting times

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by John Jan 03, 2020
I just wanted new insurance papers as mine expired, never received them... Therefore, I tried to call without any luck. Even by email, no luck whatsoever.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

WORST Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by cjellis Dec 19, 2019
If there was an option to give TD auto Insurance 0 stars, I would have chosen to do so as I honestly believe that is the best representation of the level of communication, customer service and complete lack of respect for the people who are unlucky enough to have to deal with them. I (thankfully) do not have TD Insurance as my provider but I was T-boned by someone who has TD insurance and my truck was written off, which means I had to deal with TD to get my vehicle fixed/paid out. The entire process from the very get-go was unbelievably painful and drawn out. It took the adjuster 11 days after the accident to even contact me and advise on what the next steps were (even though I had called and left multiple voicemails and e-mails with the TD adjuster working on my claim, starting the day after the accident). When they did finally contact me, they did not acknowledge or show any sign of being apologetic for the frustration I was feeling with being vehicle-less and unable to contact anyone to advise what was going on - though I explicitly advised I was feeling disgruntled (the auto body shop that I had taken my vehicle to advised after I complained that I had been without a vehicle and had no idea how much longer it would last that TD would cover a rental for me.. which was one of the reasons I had asked for an update from TD in the multiple e-mails and voicemails I had left with the adjuster. Had the autobody shop not advised of this, I have no doubt I would not have gotten into a rental because TD is that incompetent and sneaky and obviously did not want to have to pay to have me drive a rental while their employees took their time to mismanage this case). They provided me with a release form and told me to sign it - but the release form had contradicting payout amounts listed on the form in different locations. I asked for the form to be reviewed and revised before I signed it and asked for a breakdown as to how the payout amount was decided as I had multiple aftermarket upgrades on my vehicle and I wanted to ensure that I was being offered a fair amount based on my specific truck, not just a general base model. Long story short, it took over a month for this issue to be resolved. The adjuster continued to ignore voice mails and phone calls. I even called to escalate this issue to the manner, which was also ignored. After over 3 weeks of asking for the breakdown of how the payout was calculated, I was sent a spec sheet on a base model of my truck that had incorrect information listed (said the truck was grey; it is custom painted matte-black. said the rims were 20", they are aftermarket 18" rims; said the truck had cloth interior, it had leather etc. etc.) with absolutely no dollar amounts listed. When I, once again, asked for the breakdown of the costs, the adjuster advised that there was no such document to be able to provide. I asked if there was no breakdown as to how the number was found, how the appraiser could have come up with the payout amount, which was also ignored. I ended up signing the release without being provided any of the information I requested (the adjuster eventually said that I could submit receipts for all of the aftermarket upgrades to TD and they would review them one by one and take them into consideration for the payout but would not guarantee that the price would be adjusted -- for which I asked how it could be expected for a person to keep all of the receipts for aftermarket parts that had been on the truck for years on the off chance that someone else would total the truck and the insurance company would require them to give an appropriate payout... especially as all of the aftermarket upgrades were still ON the truck and the appraiser would have seen them if they had even looked at the vehicle). I ended up signing the release because the entire claims department was obviously incapable of any sort of organization, communication, honestly or customer service. Clearly, as management also ignored communications, it is the culture in the company in general and not just my misfortune to have to deal with 1 incapable individual. When I signed the release, I had to ask 3 times for upper management contact information, as the original manager I had contacted was also clearly just as incapable or unconcerned with mishandled clients. The adjuster replied that he couldn't provide me with management information but that someone would contact me... The manager with whom I had already tried to contact ended up phoning me, even though I explicitly advised that I needed to speak with her manager because part of the issue was with her specifically and that their bosses need to be aware that there are concerns not just with the adjusters, but in their management as well. Overall, the worst customer service I have ever encountered with both employees and management. I have worked in customer service for over 15 years and have never dealt with such unprofessionalism and lack of regard. I will refuse to deal with them ever again and hope that this review will help others avoid getting involved with one of the worst ran and managed companies I've ever experienced. The accident was November 16 and it is currently December 19... and was told to expect my cheque the week of Christmas (which I am imagining will not happen. That cheque should have been couriered directly to me) - so it has been over a month and I am still without reimbursement. Avoid this company at all costs.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by V Dec 12, 2019
I had an accident and it was fault of both vehicles but they only consider my fault and didnt gave me any claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Stay away please!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ado Nov 22, 2019
I was in an accident on October 8th (not my fault ). I was notified that my truck was going to be a write-off. My adjuster contacted me on September 23 with a very low value for my truck. I want to purchase the same truck the same year but they are all $8000 above. What I’m being given. She told me that I had to return the truck. On the 25th I have written her emails after emails phone calls after phone calls and got no response. I live in Calgary and the adjuster is in Toronto and now I’m being left with no rental no truck and no payment! The adjuster never calls back never replied back to my emails. I don’t even know who to complain about what a mess!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Adjuster experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Annoyed user Nov 19, 2019
Know that if you are assigned an adjuster with TD Car insurance then they are most likely going to leave you high and dry. They will most definitely not pick up your calls, respond to your emails even if you really need to get in touch with them or get back to you anytime soon. Be prepared to pay more for car rentals as they will not investigate the issue timely. (Once the issue has been passed down to your leasing company, TD will do nothing for you even if the investigation hasn’t been completed. Not even cover car rentals. They also won’t give you an update or provide you with a status other then “we are investigating” - this for us has gone on for 4 weeks now). You can count on TD car insurance to make a bad situation even worse and mess with your mental and financial wellbeing. Definitely not worth being a client.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Very slow refund process

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by dennis23 Nov 01, 2019
The invoice said 30 days. Customer service says 4-6 weeks. It's been 7 weeks and no refund. Absolutely ridiculous. This company is so unorganized.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?