Independent Home Insurance Reviews

BCAA Home Insurance Reviews

(32 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
29,775
consumers
(2.1 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Stay away!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Westcoastguy Apr 29, 2019
Please don't use BCAA for you insurance needs. You can never quit your policy. It's a nightmare process. They will charge you 10% of your total yearly insurance as a cancellation fee. I never had a claim and was a full paying customer for 7 years! Ouch
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

GO SOMEWHERE ELSE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by carasndr Jan 16, 2019
I don't normally leave reviews but this company NEEDS to be held accountable for their shady underhanded business. They have ZERO issues being cavalier about your home and your investment and your peace of mind and future. I believe this company is very quickly becoming scam artists. We chose BCAA for our home insurance in 2016. Seemed easy and the price was fair... at first. They kept requesting our signatures on the original paperwork (something we did at least twice) and still claimed they never received, even though we mailed it twice (which is what we were told had to happen as they needed the originals). There was an issue with nonpayment for 1 month, which is fair enough. The only way we were notified was by a registered letter telling us we were going to have our policy cancelled. NO PHONE CALL, NO EMAIL. Fast forward to current date, we phoned to get a copy of our insurance policy and were told there was no policy in place - there were notes on the account but the person who answered the phone did not say anything about it being lapsed, WHICH IT WAS, just wanted to get off the phone ASAP. Phoned back again a week later and got a different person who informed us the policy had lapsed at the beginning of 2018 BECAUSE OF NO SIGNATURES!?!?!?! Again, a supposed registered letter was stated to have been sent. AGAIN, NO PHONE CALL, NO EMAIL followup, just leave you high and dry and do the bare minimum. No home insurance for an entire YEAR due to BCAA. Applied to get reinstated and now we have to jump through hoops. Quoted a yearly price DOUBLE than what we had been paying initially. Told we were declined because according to them it had been cancelled 3 TIMES?!?!?! AT NO POINT WERE WE MADE AWARE OF THIS. Here's the kicker, they only had ONE contact phone number. My partner and I have 2 different phone numbers and they did not even have MY NUMBER ON FILE and I am on the title to the house. I would think this would be baseline information that you NEED in order to provide insurance. This company is not out to provide a service for their customers. They are looking for angles and not taking accountability for the service they need to provide. I hope very soon we demand our government take action on insurance companies like this much like they had to do in Alberta years ago because how we were treated needs to be ILLEGAL.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Nightmare!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nightmare Apr 19, 2018
Denied a claim after leaving me waiting with water damage and unusable bedroom for a week. Said they wouldn't cover it after all as it was slow vs. fast leakage from a broken toilet - with no evidence. Said it was an exclusion that no one had ever told me about - when I got the policy or when I made the claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Disappointed with BCAA

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anne Mar 27, 2018
I had been a customer of BCAA for 25 years. The past 3 years my home insurance has increased immensely. I decided to compare with another company. To my surprise, I could get more coverage for $850.00 less! Wow! Don't let BCAA fool you with their discounts, it's a scam in my eyes. I also received excellent personal service at the new insurance company unlike standing in a line-up feeling like I was just a number. It pays to look at other options!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

BCAA SUCKS

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Feb 23, 2018
Dear potential customer for BCAA. Don't do it!! Do not buy home insurance from these crooks. Our home on the island burned down due to a power failure/surge. We have complied with all requests for interviews and meetings with adjustors and management and lawyers only to have our claim dismissed with no merit,despite the fact we were insured by BCAA. These people are more than happy to take your money but do not deliver! Steer clear!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

Extensive water damage, denied

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by cindy86@telus.net Jan 13, 2018
I have been with BCAA for 27 years and never had a claim. Last year I put in a claim for water damage and in the ceiling that bubbled up under the paint. They denied my no written follow up, no inspection for where the water came from. Pretty disappointed overall, especially when the adjuster made a big point about how he would be at church.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible Service - Stay Clear

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by nick Aug 21, 2017
Even after overpaying for home insurance and in spite of giving advanced notice they charged me an additional $62 for some trumped up reasons. Would not recommend this company to anyone. Overpriced, poor customer service (Jennifer G. offered no support), very little empathy. Stay clear!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

ClaimsPro the Problem

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by sneltrain Jul 24, 2017
I had a sewage backup flood in November - December while away from home for 9 weeks. Christmas weekend December 24 - 25, 2016 I reported the claim. CanStar Restoration arrived and did some damage control but their team missed a significant part of the damage in walls and floors and subfloors. This is being dealt with by BCAA afresh to address the extent of the damage. More on that when I know result but I have spent $1000's to fix the full extent of the damage myself. CLAIMSPRO adjuster Ms A.D. did not give me any information in writing or provide forms, processes, contact information. When I went up the line to her manager, Mr. J.L. I got no help. I was seriously ill so not dealing with the situation effectively. On July 18th, approx., I engaged the assistance of the Vice President of ClaimsPro (found name and number on Google) and by Friday that week, the insurance payout cheque was in my hands. That day I learned via email comment from MS A.D. on July 22, 2017 that there was a BCAA representative assigned to my Claim who would "cut the cheque". Today, July 24, I phoned BCAA for advice on the extensive (missed) damage and was informed that the BCAA rep should have been involved by ClaimsPro, engaging me in the information loop with my (unknown) BCAA claim examiner. Had I known she existed, I'd have met with her and got my questions and concerns dealt with. Instead, several months of serious distress, no communication, nothing in writing, no answers, and serious financial costs associated with waiting several months for a cheque that should have been released in April 2017 latest. With information about what to do about the "missed" sewage damage.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by BarbieGirl May 30, 2017
We have had home insurance with BCAA for 8 years with no claims. 1) They increase premiums so much every year I am now pay almost DOUBLE what our policy started at. 2) I am trying to cancel my insurance with BCAA as we are moving out of province. BCAA is demanding (over the phone) an early cancellation fee and will not send us anything in writing. The rep has only advised us we can pay her over the phone or in person at their office. We have repeatedly asked for something in writing and to speak with a Supervisor and have not received a call. I will never use BCAA again!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

Terrible

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Dissatisfied in BC Apr 05, 2017
Have been with BCCA insurance for over 40 years and had one small claim in 1976 which was very well handled. Now we have a claim for water damage and they are awful. Sloooowwwwww. I wish they would get on with it. Been without a kitchen for 4 months.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Veterans insurance cancelled

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Chico Mar 30, 2017
Canadian Veteran permanently disabled with PTSD since 2006, with symptoms that include significant memory and concentration loss. I was late renewing my home insurance in 2010 and again in 2017 which was an oversight due to my medical condition. They sent a registered letter advising me my insurance was cancelled and would not let me make the payment within 30 days of the renewal date to continue with my home insurance plan as it was the second time in 7 years. BCAA is aware of my mental health condition and the reason for missing the renewal date but remained unwilling to let me continue with my insurance coverage or renewal. I did find another company but without the discounts for membership, it is costing me about $300 dollars more a year home insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

BCAA is garbage

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by B Jan 23, 2017
Overpriced useless hacks. I signed up using their online signup feature, had them for three years. Thought I was getting a decent rate, but then went to a competitor recommended by a co-worker and got $70/year cheaper for way more coverage. BCAA kept spamming me to become a member, and when I asked how much it would save me, they said $50. But it would cost $70 for membership. Lastly when I called them to discuss renewal the guy was asking me questions about my condo that I had already filled out in the online forms and I knew that they had (like what year it had been built!) - very discouraging to see that either they hire inexperienced people who can't read forms or they don't transfer information in their system well. I will never recommend BCAA to anyone - shop around, there are better alternatives out there.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

BCAA renewal without consent

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Under Duress Jan 12, 2017
BCAA has renewed my home insurance without my consent. I told them that I did not consent and I want them to stop. Their answer was "you owe about $40 for the 15 days of coverage". I asked the agent to show me where in the policy gives them authority to renew my insurance without my consent she was unable to give me any explanation or written details. I asked another agent this time they said it is on pg 64. I asked them again to show it to me and they were unable to show any specific paragraph that would give them the right to renew the policy without my consent and that they can force me to pay them. At the end they tried to intimidate me by saying if you pay the $40 they will not put me on the list of cancellation for non payment. I'm going to escalate this issue.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Worst Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anyone but BCAA Dec 02, 2016
We have experienced the worst customer service from a BCAA representative. Melanie C. was absolutely horrible to deal with while trying to negotiate our home insurance. She was rude, extremely condescending, absolutely lacking in professionalism and decorum. Our story is similar to many; inexcusably let our insurance lapse while away and when it was realized we were told BCAA would no longer be able to carry our insurance. Which is fine, it's their policy to cancel for non payment and really, it's not a big deal, we managed to get insurance immediately for the same cost. However, it was the manner in which it was handled by Ms. C. Being BCAA clients for over 10 years, Ms. C. clearly enjoyed giving the bad news and took the opportunity to belittle us with insults in a condescending tone unnecessary for any situation. I have and will continue to make friends and family aware and suggest they use anyone but BCAA. Sad, as we were so pleased with them and has recommended them over the 10-12 years we were with them. I would suggest this representative either be trained in customer service, take an anger management class or be relieved of her duties.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst of customer service ever

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Judy Sep 28, 2016
I have been a BCAA member for about a year and purchased their home insurance on the top of my condo insurance. I was away for about three months and my insurance expired in between. I am a first home buyer and I am new to the whole insurance system. I was not aware that insurance cancelled because of non-payment is a huge deal here in Canada. I simply thought this is something I purchase on a voluntary base and if I do not renew or make payment, it just expired. However, I called BCAA yesterday to buy a new home insurance(3 months after my insurance expired). Firstly, they treat me like some sort of criminal, asking me all kinds of personal questions. Then they just told me that they refuse to provide me insurance in the future (He even said, Permanently..) I was shocked by their attitude and how they made a decision based on a few questions. During my absence, my house was occupied by a very close friend and my boyfriend only, my deductible limit is very high as well and I do not understand how a company could treat a member like this. I am just gonna cancel my membership and "permanently" I am gonna purchase anything from them anymore. (I am not even allowed to in this case..)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

Add'l Living Expense clause

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by RichmondBC Aug 05, 2016
BCAA was awesome few years ago... when ClaimsPro was not the their 3rd party adjuster company. I don't recall being this frustrated when I had similar claim few years back (flooding that requires laminate flooring to be replaced throughout the house). Their contractor has found our main floor (which is our access to kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom) to be "unsafe" due to accident prone while the main floor and stairs are being replaced but they still find it "liveable". The policy states that they will cover living expense when "unfit for occupancy". Which becomes debatable... after numerous battles with both ClaimsPro and BCAA directly, they concluded that being unsafe is still fit for occupancy. I was advised to use my common sense that if construction site (house) is unsafe, to use my judgement to be cautious... even if I have small kids. They've stated that if I were to fix my damage on my own, I'd be careful not be in any sort of accident. Then I wondered isn't it the reason why we take insurance? So we have a peace of mind in not harming ourselves during claim renovation... hence the clause for 'additional living expense' for when 'unfit for occupancy'? This is really dumb. I'd like to formally complaint to BCAA and BBB for this part of the policy to be clarified. I don't understand the logic.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

don't be a chump

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by BCAAsucks May 18, 2016
I have had home and car insurance with BCAA for a few years now. They claimed if you became a member, you would receive yearly discounts on home/car and also have full BCAA membership. My first year was okay after they kept raising the insurance amounts while they were discounting my BCAA membership to zero (so no actual discounts on insurance in any way). But I felt I had the security of BCAA and all that entails. I am currently on the roadside with my car that has broken down (new vehicle issue), I called BCAA roadside service - which is completely awful- on hold for 20 minutes, automated message talking about how everyone should use website vs. calling and talking to someone - that helps in an emergency. An agent comes on, I give info, she tells me my membership is not good for Roadside Assistance! I responded with what are you talking about? The agent that signed me up assured me that my discounted membership gave me all the benefits of BCAA including roadside. If I don't have that, the only thing you guys are good for...what does my membership get me? Agent response: discount off movies and some cheaper hotels. Don't be fooled, this company is one of the worst, their online, telephone services are junk. Customer service is absolutely the worst. And their policies are worthless. Work with a smaller company that needs and wants your business. Once these guys have your money, you're treated like a chump!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Are you a condo unit tenant? Remember that neither your condominium corporations' policy nor your landlord's insurance policy protects you as a tenant (3rd part liability, contents, etc.). If you do not have your own insurance policy, get your condominium insurance quote today.
 

Expensive - very poor service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by trione Feb 05, 2016
Last year I took out trip interrupt insurance and when I needed to use it, I got no help from BCAA and had to pay out of my pocket. So I now buy my medical and trip insurance elsewhere. You increased my house insurance by $200 and when I checked around, I found you were $200 higher than anyone else. So now I buy my home insurance elsewhere. Seems my membership premium has taken a big jump and I cancelled the RV coverage, but looks like I am still being charged for it. They claim to be a BC company but they have sold out your travel to Priceline, an American company and when I compare against going direct, I find they are the same price or much higher and they still list some items in U.S. Dollars. I bought a new car which has a five (5) year roadside coverage. The list goes on and as I said in the message I never received a reply to, I can’t think of one reason to keep my membership. Someone finally phoned me and the one comment that sticks out is "he wasn't concerned about me renewing my membership"! So after 10 years, I am not renewing.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by BCAA customer Feb 04, 2016
My wife and I had our apartment damaged by water and were put into a new home for 7 months. Had a 3rd party insurance company (ClaimsPro) involved. BCAA was awful from the very beginning. No one ever contacted us directly, everything went thru ClaimsPro. Took months to get reimbursed. We would have to put down hundreds, even thousands of our own money and wait months to get it back, no matter how often we reached out to them. The customer service was terrible. Deadlines were never met. No matter how many complaints were made with the adjuster or the manager, nothing improved throughout the process. The claim is coming to an end in a couple weeks and I can't be happier to not have to deal with BCAA again.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

Be aware of policy review !!

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy BCAA member Jul 23, 2015
Being a member of BCAA for many years, you have built trust in their insurance policies. Sure their home insurance premiums were very competitive 3 years ago as I was told by a competitive insurance broker in person. However, every year when I went to the BCAA office for home insurance renewal, the staff would assessed the policy for savings. Not true, the staff always found discrepancies in previous policies and increased the premiums. My last home insurance premium was just increased by $ 200.00. So if you are happy with current premium, renew the policy online and do not go in for an office renewal.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

My experience with BCAA

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Previous BCAA customer Jun 04, 2014
I used BCAA home insurance for over 20 years with one claim. The one claim involved faulty toilet tanks that cracked. When this happened BCAAs contractor quickly had this cleaned up and eventually repaired. No complaints there. However my reduced premiums immediately went to full price as I had made a claim despite them being part of a class action suit against the tank manufacturer. I was asked to take time to meet with their law firm and sign papers etc. On the second round of papers signing i asked if my premium payment discounts would be rebated as the company will get funds from this suit as the tank company was taking responsibility for the defect and I was told "No" . Many years later we purchase rental and rural property which was deemed to high of risk even though we were loyal customers for over 20 yrs. I will never deal with them again. Coast Capitol has been very good and gladly accepted our business.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that Ontarians pay, on average, $47/month in homeowners insurance? Looking to change your home insurance or simply want ensure that you do not overpay? Our home insurance quotes are among the most competitive.
 

They increase your premium

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by NOBCAA Dec 07, 2013
I have had BCAA home insurance since 2009. Perhaps they used the old bait and switch technique getting me in with a low premium and each year increasing the premium for no reason other than them ripping me off. They are now charging me over 50% more per year than they were in 2009, they have the same old excuses, that I don't believe. I have never had a claim. My advise to you....stay away from BCAA home insurance, they willl increase your premium each year !!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Azaelea Jul 11, 2012
very friendly knowledgeable staff phoned ahead they had everything set up for me so my stop in office was quick, the formal package was mailed to me quickly and efficient, everything offered was easily understood and explained, no pushy upsales
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

N/A

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jean Paul Jul 03, 2012
Fast efficient service. Makes one feel that they really care
0 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Joyce Jun 28, 2012
I recently had a flood and had to move out for 78 weeks. I found the insurance company average when it came to service but S_L_O_W to respond to calls, slow to reimbursement of money I put out (I am not a bank for BCAA) and slow to get things done
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Households in Alberta pay, on average, approximately $60/month in homeowners’ insurance costs. We can help to push these costs even further down. Get a house insurance quote today to start saving today. Rates start at $20/month.
 

discounts

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tr Jun 04, 2012
They offer a discount for membership and multiple insurance products with same provider
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by SamD Jun 01, 2012
Because BCAA self-insures, its rates are based upon local issues -- not national or world-wide disasters. The personnel with whom I've dealt are efficient and knowledgeable. With a major claim following a break-in several years ago, the adjusters were most helpful, directing us to the places we needed to go to replace items or to seek evaluations etc. of items which were stolen.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Canadians pay, on average, approximately $20 per month in tenants insurance. Do you rent or plan to rent a property and want to reduce insurance costs? We will help you get a cheap tenant insurance quote today.
 

N/A

 
(2.8 out of 5 stars)
by Larita May 24, 2012
felt threatened after 2nd claim of breakin that further insurance would not be an option if this claim was pursued
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Edyth May 18, 2012
We have never had a claim and with consistent discounts some of the annual increases have been substantial. Any dealing or renewals have been pleasant.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Looking to save on home insurance? Get our cheap home insurance quote and start saving on home insurance! You will be surprised by how much you can save while getting more extensive coverage.
 

N/A

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Fidel May 08, 2012
I have my road side assistance membership with BCAA and I trusted them to give me a discount on my home insurance because I was a member for many years without looking elsewhere...... and boy was I wrong. I tell you, I will never do that again. I went to an insurance broker and he saved me 250 right off the bat to go with other insurer.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?