Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Meloche Monnex (TD Insurance) Auto Insurance Reviews

(201 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
82,851
consumers
(1.9 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Hope you like being on hold!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DM Jul 17, 2019
I have been on hold for 30 minutes, with the most annoying 25-second guitar riff repeating over and over and over. I feel that I pay too much for my insurance to spend this much time on hold. At the next opportunity, I will switch to another insurance company, and I will find one that has an automatic call-back system.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Disappointed

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed Jul 17, 2019
After my car accident TD provided excellent customer service, I was very impressed. However, after my claim was closed and I learned I needed to replace the car seat in my car and that TD would pay for it, it was painful trying to get a hold of my representative. She would either not answer my emails or take forever to get back to me. Customers shouldn’t have to chase down their representatives and hound them for answers via email and/or phone. My experience started great and ended with disappointment. Still, haven’t received payment for the new car seat either!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Claim for our BMW X3

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by DR Jul 16, 2019
I recently claimed the damage to our car while I was parked. Called TD insurance and they took good care of my needs from start to finish. My adjuster even called me to follow up if we were happy with the repair of our car. I strongly recommended TD insurance to our family and friends. Thank you so much!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

No one answer phone.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tony Jul 15, 2019
No one answer phone. Calling for a couple of times, hand up after waiting for 30minutes.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Awful

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ollie Jul 15, 2019
It's the second time I have to hang up because I am running out of time. On each occasion, I was placed on hold for over one 1 hour.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Awful customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by casadebt Jul 15, 2019
For the second time, I have been left on hold indefinitely. There is no excuse for this. They advise they are training people to handle customer service but one is left with the feeling that they just don't want you making any enquiries in person. I want to speak to an agent regarding my renewal but based on this lack of interest in my business and lack of respect for my time, I think it's worth looking for an alternative.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very bad customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by biro Jul 15, 2019
Very bad customer service, wait for 58 minutes and no nobody answers you. Almost no communications with them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Phone In Wait Time

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Not Happy!!!! Jul 15, 2019
8:00 am call - Unbelievable - I get in after 20 minutes of waiting and they tell me its the French Branch in Quebec - I called from Ontario, so they transferred me to the Ontario side and 10 minutes in (30 minutes in total now), I am still waiting to talk to a real person...35 minutes now....40 minutes now - as the guy says "Your time is valuable...we will answer your call as soon as possible...We strive for excellence every day - thank you for sharing your comments...please hold for a moment longer...thank you for your understanding". I am at a loss for my understanding...45 minutes now...49 minutes - FINALLY, I get a live person who can't help me and says I need to talk to Customer Service so I am put on hold again...50 minutes & holding....now a different voice comes on to sell the TD Mobile App over & over...bottom line terrible service ! I am being sincere and fair - I give up and will be changing my Insurance provider when my policy runs out. I just wanted some info as to my options to get a windshield stone chip fixed - what if I was in a hospital after a serious car accident and needed advice? (53 minutes and holding) - I get somebody after 54 minutes - guess what I get an agent in Quebec AGAIN and they can't help you if you live in Ontario Ahh!!! Transferred again....55 minutes and holding - the agent came on at 9:02 am - 62 minutes and was really nice but couldn't really help me and wanted to switch me to the Glass Claims department that I had chosen already on the Keypad as an option - avoid this service at all costs unless you have nothing else important in your life to do!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Customer Service is Terrible

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Reshelle Jul 13, 2019
Must agree with everyone's comments so far. I have never seen such terrible customer service. Their agents make up information that they do not have answers to, and you get different information from different people. Have a claim in about stolen car, and they just will not reply to my emails or calls. The adjuster called back once and just never tried again even though I left numerous messages. They have the lowest rates I have experienced, but the price reflects the service you get, unfortunately. Very disappointed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Horrible customer service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by ff Jul 11, 2019
I waited on the phone for 40 min. No one answered despite the recording repeating that they understand my time is valuable. Finally, decided to press 0 to leave a message. Now I find out that they'll return my call within 24 hours.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Be Ware

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TK Jul 10, 2019
I have been waiting on line now for over half an hour and they did not pick up my call. Also, They keep increasing your premium each year without any reason and once you call, they say: market dictates this raise.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Worst Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by cust Jul 10, 2019
Tried to call them five days in a row with wait times over 1.5 hours each time and still unable to get a hold of anyone at this poorly operated company. This is extremely unprofessional and inconsiderate of other people's schedules. I was a loyal customer for over 10 years with a clean driving record to date, yet they increase rates for no apparent reason and/or justification. I'm curious to see where my money is going since they don't even have enough personnel to service their customers who are paying them good money for the mediocre service they offer. I will be cancelling my auto insurance with this company and strongly advise anyone looking for any sort of insurance to stay away from this company. They will rob you of your money and purposely not answer any of your phone calls requesting a simple explanation which you have a LEGAL right to as a customer, given that you're paying for their "non-existent" services.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Zero customer service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Phil Jul 09, 2019
Have been trying to reach them for 3 days, had to hang up every time due to over 40 minutes on hold. Now at 50 minutes on hold and I am going to have to hang up again. The only conversation now will be to cancel.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Wait 2 hours each time

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by amy Jul 09, 2019
What's wrong with TD insurance, I called 3 times this week, each time wait 2 hours, still no one picks up the phone, nobody has more than 2 or 3 hours to wait for a phone call, I gave up each time, my premium increase a lot this year, I need to talk to them. I think I need to change insurance company instead.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Windshield Replacement

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Len Jul 09, 2019
I needed a new windshield for my Ford F-150. I was unable to get in touch with Meloche Monex on Friday before I booked an appointment with repair shop on Monday. On Monday while my truck was in to have the windshield replaced I called Meloche Monnex four times; on hold for over 20 minutes each time. I finally left a message; no call back. I ended up paying for the windshield and now have to find a way to submit the claim. There is no fax number nor is there a claims e-mail address on the website. This is terrible service. I guess I will have to send the claim in the mail.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

WAIT and WAIT and WAIT and...

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by shawn Jul 08, 2019
3rd time calling in this week. Gave up the last 2 times after waiting on hold for over 1.5 hours. Been a loyal customer for over 17 years and never had any issues with these guys. Seems very odd. I need to add a new car to my existing insurance policy. Pretty sure "Sorry officer, They won't Pick Up" won't get me a pass .. TD, assuming you're reading this; If you're going to make your customers wait that long, at least throw on some decent hold music...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Frustrated

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Liney Jul 04, 2019
I've been trying to reach TD Meloche Monnex insurance at least five times in the past two weeks. I've given up after waiting for a very long time I've been with this company for 26 years and have never had issues until now and I need to reach someone regarding my policy... What's going on?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Unprofessional Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Vicky Jul 04, 2019
I’ll start off with what seems to be the common trend, and that is the wait times are extremely long. I’ve been waiting for 2 hours and 20 minutes so far, but typically I’ve waited for an hour. So this is a record. Is there anyone working? They need to hire more people if everyone is really busy. And like others have said, they should tell you what number you are in the queue and call you back when it’s your turn like phone companies do. However, the real reason why I am posting this is because of the unprofessional customer service I have had with the adjusters for my claim. I was in a car accident earlier this year. My adjuster called me and left me a voicemail at 1 pm while I was at work (they have a record of your profession by the way so why would she call me during the way when I’m working?). I tried calling her back and left several voicemails and tried calling the claims department to which said “she’s been trying to get a hold of you. She called you on Monday.” She called me Once. I kept calling for 3 Weeks and when I tried emailing her to ask what’s the current status of my claim, she said “I don’t have info on your policy. You have to contact customer service.” That was completely irrelevant! I was even referred to her supervisor, who was just as impossible to get a hold of. Fortunately, after many calls, during the fourth week after my accident, I got through to a girl in the claims department who was so much help and filed my paperwork, who, by the way, was talking to me from Nova Scotia while I was in Ontario. Towards the end of my claim, my first adjuster finally emailed me to send her my documents, after 4 weeks. Sadly, just as I thought the nightmare was over, something else came up. I had used a rental car after my accident for one month since my car was a write-off and it was included in my insurance policy. I returned the car after and thought everything was fine. Last month, I got a notification that over $1400 has been withdrawn from my Visa. It was taken from the car rental company. I immediately called them after work and get through to a lady in accounting service. She tells me that she had been trying to get a hold of my adjuster from the insurance company and her manager because They Did Not pay the Rental Car... She emailed them saying that if they didn’t pay, she was going to have to take it out from My account and I’d have to deal with the issue. My accident was in January, and I had the accident until the end of February, so for 4 Months, TD Meloche did not pay the rental car company, and now I have to deal with it and wait on the phone to get a money transfer. And by the way, I’m still waiting for my licence plate to get released from the car dump (I did not get to remove it). This is another issue that I get to deal with. I’ve been waiting for 3 hours now since I started writing this review. The only reason I’m still with TD Meloche is because of their low rates and their insurance packages.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

No one answers the phone

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Fed UP Jul 03, 2019
Not sure what has happened, but I am not sure there is anyone working. Twice I have called and waited over an hour and listen to the same terrible tune.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

There is a problem here!

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by OW Jul 02, 2019
So, when a company reports increased earnings and increased the profit of almost 10% for 2018 and can't even have enough people to answer the phone it makes me wonder what kind of service I'd get if I ever had to make a claim. When I consider the percentage of my take-home pay I have to give this company to insure my motorcycles, cars and house I feel robbed when I am put on hold for over 2 hours to simply add a car to my policy. Yes, call one today 1.5 hours then I had to move on to other things. My second attempt now and I am at 52 minutes. Their prices seem fair and the calls go well when you get them, but I have noticed hold times getting longer every time I call. As customers, we have a legal right to access insurance agents and the products we pay for. Look at the number of complaints about hold times, tell me how that isn't restricting our access! I will be calling around for comparable rates with better service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

waiting 3 hours to call them

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Victor Jul 02, 2019
First, I just wanted to call them and try to correct the payment that they mistakenly withdraw from my Moms account. I don't understand why I set up the account with them and they mistakenly deduct the money from my Moms account. Secondly, I waited for more than 3 hours to call them. I do not understand why on this planet there is such company working in this bad way, seems like we are no choice. Sincerely hope there will be a new company to replace them ASAP.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Wait times!!!!!!!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bmci Jun 25, 2019
A total of 3 hours and counting wait time for 2 calls. I have yet to get through even once. They need some kind of system notification to inform you of your position in the queue.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

very long hold

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by drpbajwa Jun 24, 2019
Very poor customer service. If you need them, the system puts you on hold for an hour before an agent comes to talk. The worst experience ever. Prices are high too. I'll go back to my previous insurer.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Crazy call wait times!

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frustrated user Jun 21, 2019
Wow, over 2hrs wait call time! I am not exaggerating! Come on TD, show a little love to your customers - who just keep paying monthly without issue, but when we need to change something - no service!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

CRAZY CALL WAIT TIMES

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PB Jun 13, 2019
I have tried 5 different days and have been left on hold for over 2 hours on multiple occasions!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Unacceptable phone wait times

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dee Jun 12, 2019
I have had waits in excess of 1 hour 20 minutes both yesterday and today to get my calls answered. Their phone answering service provides no indication of how long the wait might be, and they do not do callbacks (it's difficult to understand why they can't provide a better answering service with the technology that's available today ...perhaps a lack of interest in serving their clients well?) Very disappointed that this is the type of service they are offering, and after many years of being with this company, I will be looking for an alternative source for our insurance on renewal.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

No follow up. Empty promises

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frustrated Jun 12, 2019
Spoke with 2 agents. Spent 2 hours with 1st agent setting up the new purchase, and the agent confirmed policy was in place, and provide temporary card through email. Then the agent said she was having some computer trouble and would have to call me back the same day. Never heard from her!! After 1 week, I logged into my account, and to my horror, all the addition that happened ago was all deleted. i.e. no more coverage for my new vehicle. Called 2nd agent after 1 week, and was told that she was not sure why everything was deleted. Then, went through all the questions etc. again. Waste of time. After my vehicle was done, I wanted to update my property insurance but was told by the 2nd agent they are closed, and she PROMISED she would call me back the next day around noon. Next day, I did not get a call from her until almost 5:30 pm, which I was not able to take the call due to the evening commitment. Her reason was she was tied up the whole day. All agents are irresponsible and unreliable! Looking to change insurance company now. Their staff needs proper training!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Horrific customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by L Jun 11, 2019
I, recently, bought auto insurance from TD because they offered a group rate through my university. When I initially spoke with someone on the phone to set up the policy, I was instructed to send proof of my student status via my student email. Apparently, this never went through, and a month later I got a phone call telling me to call them (but not saying why) and then a couple of weeks after that I got two notices in the mail also saying to contact me due to a problem verifying my student status. I had already tried to get in touch a couple of times (since I didn't know what the actual issue was, I did not know how urgent) but the wait times are ridiculously long. Within a week of the date on the letters, I was sent, (which I received on a Friday) the policy was cancelled and they reinstated a new one, and charged me for it, without notifying me of the cancellation or of any details of the new policy. It happened on Wednesday... so they gave me 2 business days before just going ahead and cancelling? I had also tried to call on the Tuesday but waited on hold for a half hour before I had to hang up. When I finally got through to them, I was on hold for a full hour and spoke to them for another hour while they continued to not fix anything and just kept putting me on hold again. After 2 hours I had to hang up because I started work. It's a week later and I still have not been able to get a hold of them again, so I have no idea what my policy is/if I have one. I spoke to a manager originally who was extremely rude and unhelpful, and instead of offering a personal call back to sort things out, he just told me to go back through their 1-800 number. I am furious with TD. They have handled things very poorly and unprofessionally when it should have been a simple matter of just letting me know to resend the email verifying that I am a student. I have honestly never encountered such terrible customer care.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

poor customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by starsky Jun 11, 2019
Poor customer service and long wait times I waited 30 minutes with no answer.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Impossible to reach

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by UnhappyCustomer Jun 08, 2019
It used to be fine, but now I'm stuck not being able to make changes to my existing auto and home policies. I keep dialling and waiting for 30-90 min, but no one picks up the phone. I went online and filled a request, and it was promised to be processed within 2 business days, but it has been a week, and still, nothing happened. My next step will be to file a complaint and reach out to the ombudsman. If that doesn't help, I will attempt to sue in small claims. Obviously, I am going to cancel my policies with TD Meloche Monnex at this point.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?