Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Meloche Monnex (TD Insurance) Auto Insurance Reviews

(161 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
78,033
consumers
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Best to Worst

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ask May 06, 2019
Have been using TD Auto Insurance for 15 years continuously even with the higher cost simply because of the quality of service and efficiency communication. In past months, probably, there has been a change of how TD insurance operates with quality and efficiency gone down to the lowest levels. For the first time in 15 years, I am actively looking elsewhere.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Insurance Documents

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by usman Apr 27, 2019
Its been 6 months now, I am waiting for the Pink slip. I called several times, they send me just a piece of paper which states that my policy will be automatically renewed by Oct 2018. Multiple calls and complaints but no results. I mean how hard it is to send a piece of paper. I have insurance for the last 4 years. My payments are never late. But that's really disappointing service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible company.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JC Apr 24, 2019
Terrible company. I have used TD Meloche Monnex for 4 years for my car insurance and after doing some research I found out I was paying extremely more than what I should have been ($1300 more). Each new term my premium would increase (I have never been in an accident) and when I would call to ask why they would give me some nonsense excuse. Not to mention trying to contact someone would take at least an hour. Yesterday I was put on hold for 2 hours and 56 minutes (I have proof). I've never been so disappointed with a company in my life. So unless you want to spend half of your day waiting on hold to speak to a representative, OR don't mind paying way more than you should be paying...don't use TD Meloche Monnex. Just read the reviews, they don't lie! ps. Thank you to the representative who cancelled my policy for me and completely understood my frustrations with the company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Too slow to answer calls.

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by TDinsuranceEXclient Apr 02, 2019
I wanted my name off my ex-husband's insurance (yes I wanted independence) and was placed on hold for 47mins the first time I called. They told me I was not a named insured and was not listed as a driver. My ex-husband was mad because he told me that he tried to take my name off but they wouldn't because we both had to sign papers stating the vehicle isn't mine and yet I'm the one using it. Doesn't make sense! My ex-husband still tells me I'm in the policy so I call again and here I am on hold for another 46mins and counting. Why is it so hard to get a hold of a customer service rep or an advisor for TD Meloche? As a single new mom to an infant, and breastfeeding, you'd all know my time is so limited that to just get my name off, one would think this should be so easy!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

An experience from hell

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bkhidhir Mar 29, 2019
Nothing was harder in life than getting a hold of my adjuster. Resolving my fairly simple claim took 3 months. Not only did she never pick up, reply to her voicemails and read her emails, but she would also take weeks at a time to follow up. And, when she would be completely oblivious to how much I've been struggling to try to get her attention and taking Ubers every day from work. When she went on vacation and there was no replacement for her to take care of my claim. Her manager never ever picks up or replies to his voicemails either. Before she left for vacation she didn't tell me that I had the option of not writing off my car which is not fair and pressured me to sign a write off form in 3 hours as she's on vacation the next day for a month. I could have lost a brand new car because of an unfair estimate and she acted completely non-challenge about that. Whenever I'd call other adjusters, while she's away, they give me completely different answers to the same questions. When I called Service they forgot to tell me I'd lose collision coverage even though I asked and asked. This resulted in my having to pay off my loan after I've also had to pay out of pocket to fix the car as a result of them not explaining to me that I wouldn't be getting the cheque and instead the cheque goes directly to my lienholder. Took me maybe 5 phone calls to change my address on file. After, they finally started giving me answers they had the audacity to ask for a letter from my bank, that the bank said was highly unusual. This is also after they already confirmed, they were mailing out the cheque ... This experience was so horribly inexplicably bad that it could drive someone to insanity and alcoholism. Stay away from these people.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Stay away from them

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by unhappy Mar 18, 2019
Worst customer service ever, no one on his desk and always leaving useless voicemails, by the end, nobody will call you back. Three adjustors were working on the same claim at the same time, which makes it confusing who to deal with. They are just bad and have internal communication issues with their managers, so they will let you waiting for long till they will reach their supervisors to resolve claim's issues. They asked to return the rental car before closing the claim and before getting the car refund, I did so because I wanted to get rid of them and the claim asap but it still not fair.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Avoids paying claims

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Alisha Feb 27, 2019
First of all...stay far away from this company! We had a small accident a few weeks ago that caused minor surface damage to the rear of our vehicle. We got our own repair estimate for $2500. We took it to their guys so that we could file our claim. We waited over THREE WEEKS for them to get back to us after numerous follow-ups, only to find out work hadn't even started on our vehicle. The repair shop blamed the insurance company for not sending paperwork, and TD Meloche blamed the repair shop for being backed-up with work. We, finally, escalated it to a manager. Got a call back the next day to tell us that the vehicle was considered a write-off. We're still waiting to find out our settlement offer, apparently, there is no one we can speak to on it, and we just have to keep waiting for some indefinite time. We bought our vehicle just three years ago for $11K. And they're writing it off for approx. $3k of damage? Why even have insurance if they can just choose to write it off for whatever they want and not repair it when you file a claim. This has been a complete nightmare I wouldn't wish to anyone. Oh...and we had no rental vehicle coverage on our policy, so all this time have been down a vehicle which I understand was our choice not to take it. But you also don't expect an insurance company to take three weeks just to START processing your claim. I tried to ask for a rental vehicle at this point but of course, the answer was no.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Poor service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by QuickHit Feb 13, 2019
I was with Meloche Monnex for 35 years without incident! I had a bad year after my father's death and wound up with 4 tickets. Meloche sent me a letter cancelling my insurance and only giving me a few days to make alternate arrangements. When I asked for an extension, they declined. After treating me so badly they had the audacity to ask me to return to them when my tickets cleared. I would not ever recommend this company to anybody and would never again use them myself. I had 2 vehicles insured plus my home insurance. I pulled all my insurance and went elsewhere. It turns out Meloche is not very honest. They claim to be cheap and I found much better deals elsewhere even with tickets.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

It's a popularity game.

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Done Feb 06, 2019
Let me say first and foremost that their customer service is 2nd to none, but this insurance broker is for groups only. It's completely worthless for average individuals. I've been with them well over a decade, my group was dropped, and my rates were jacked up ever since. Despite no claims or speeding tickets for well over a decade, my rates kept increasing. They will get creative with packaging products (i.e. lower deductible, Grand touring, blah blah blah) claiming it's free, but your premiums will keep going up. It's difficult to remove the extra products since they are grouped together "free", removing them yields little to no savings. Great customer service (you pay for it I suppose), absolutely overpriced insurance product for the average person.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Fool you once? No!

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Skip TD Feb 04, 2019
Insurance provided by this company is truly a money-for-nothing scam. They won't explain the reason for things and just use the same stock phrases over and over again instead of (and to avoid) giving you actual explanations. Some reps want to help, but there's always more than one involved and eventually another one will undo this. You might save a bit of money in the short term, but in the long term, it will cost you a lot more. So take your time and money somewhere else.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Excellent service

 
(4.8 out of 5 stars)
by Pleased Jan 25, 2019
I was rear-ended on a Friday in November. It was my first accident, so I was nervous about reporting and insurance procedure. The process that TD Insurance has in place cradled me from my first report to them to completion of repairs. I was guided along and felt well looked after throughout. When I reported to the police collision centre, I was given a TD Meloche Monnex Insurance instruction sheet. I called the TD Insurance number on the sheet and a pleasant professional took down my details. It did take 50 minutes on hold waiting to get a rep; that was the only negative though. On Monday a personable and highly competent claims adjuster called me and fully explained the course of action as well as patiently answered all of my questions about repairs, a rental car and possible effects on my policy (none). Her kind attitude and words reassured and comforted me during this stressful time. During the repair process, the adjuster stayed in touch with me by email; I was kept in the loop. I chose to go to one of the repair facilities that was accredited by TD Insurance, so all paperwork and expenses were handled directly between TD Insurance and the repair facility. In a week I had my car back; it looked as good as new. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy and smooth the process was, a sign of excellent organization and coordination behind the scenes. Kudos to TD Insurance for their staff and also for their excellent process. The proof of an insurance company’s quality and value is in their service. TD Insurance deserves a rating of 10 out of 10. I recommend TD Insurance to everyone for their Insurance needs.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Worst. Customer. Service. Ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TDsucks101 Jan 23, 2019
Never use them. I called in regards to my upcoming renewal and was told it was not processed yet. I was also told my payment date would be pushed back to reflect their late release of my paperwork. 2 and a half weeks later I received my paperwork, informing me the payment date was the same. I called in to see about pushing it back and was informed it was locked in THE DAY I CALLED to inquire about my payment. I was unable to secure the payment on the scheduled date but cancelled my policy due to their poor customer service anyway. They admitted their fault and offered reimbursement for the NSF fees. I was promised it would be deposited the following Monday. Monday came, no deposit. I called back and was informed that they had actually mailed cheques out. Nearly 2 weeks later, I'm still waiting. I call today to be told it would be a 2 to 3 week process to cancel the cheques and deposit the money directly. They also owe me $180 from my policy cancellation, but I'm not holding my breath on that.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Une très mauvaise expérience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Expérience au Québec Jan 21, 2019
Je suis désolée, mais je ne parle que le français. Cependant, j'espère que mon message sera lu et compras. Faites jamais affaires avec TD Assurance Meloche Monnex!!! Tout est beau jusqu'au moment où vous avez un dommage réclamé. Surtout lorsque vous êtes un nouveau client et surtout lorsque votre voiture est un peu vieille. Depuis deux semaines, je me bats à sauver notre voiture de ces fripons. C'est l'enfer! J'ai osé de demander le rapport de l'estimateur sur lequel ils avez basé leur décision de jeter notre voiture. Il était plain de niaiseries, de fausses informations et de manque de détails. De plus, ils aiment faire des offres au téléphone qui diffèrent significativement de ce qui est envoyé par écrit après. Avant d'accepter m'importe quoi d'eaux, il faut bien lire. Ils sont capable de s'obstiner même pour des montants qui ne sont pas significatifs pour la poche de la classe moyenne! Canada est plaine de bonnes compagnies d'assurance. Si j'avais lu vos commentaires avant d'embarquer avec cette compagnie, j'aurais sauvé beacoups de temps, de l'argent et surtout notre voiture. Elle aurait était réparée, si j'avais choisi une autre compagnie d'assurance. Avec ce commentaire, j'espère fortement d'avoir aidé au moins à une personne de choisir sa compagnie d'assurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

thieves

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ali Dec 09, 2018
The same thing happened with me. I can't remember her last name, she offered me Ryerson rates..what is the deal with this place..it's like they have some string operation going on under their group rates. I bet even the CEO is in on it. I would say cut your losses, I gave up on getting my money back months ago.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Suspicious

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Roberts Dec 06, 2018
I had a quote with TD Meloche Monnex a few days ago. The quote took 40 minutes because system issues. After this time I was told that since I did not graduate from a university or college, I cannot insure with them. Then they transferred me. An hour later a manager calls me from a private number, says if I email him $500, I can use McMaster rates. I emailed him 3 days ago but no callback. I called back and asked to speak to him and the guy said the manager is not in the office. I lost my money please help.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Be Careful what they quote u!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by CPA Dec 05, 2018
1. When I replied to the email that I got the Insurance confirmation from asking to change something, I never got any reply! The confirmation was only a table including the basic information only in their own terminology and did not have any clarification of anything in detail on top of that it had wrong information about the lessee! 2. When I later called and asked to send me a copy of the terms and conditions or the contract that I am signing in order to commit financially, I was told that the system doesn’t do that and that I have to accept everything we talked about verbally and I should not see what is excluded in the contract and on top of that if I cancel, mid-term or even when the mail comes to see the contract, I will be paying one month cancellation fee and the agents didn’t care about anything and he said he’ll be happy helping me cancel right now before the policy starts. I have asked for a manager and the manager just simply repeated what he said and then told me this is the rule here, it’s only a verbal quotation, this is how things work in this company! This is neither ethical nor professional. I am very disappointed with a big company like this behaving in such a bad scammy way!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Would recommend to anyone

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by ms.elle.b Dec 05, 2018
I've been with TD insurance for about 10 years in two different provinces and have had to call often for policy changes, address changes, adding and removing vehicles etc. I have never had a bad experience with their employees, they're always professional and knowledgeable both on the phone and via e-mail. I have also had to claim three different vehicle incidents - two not at fault, one at fault and one being a total write-off. While never pleasant, the experiences were about as smooth and hassle-free as they can be.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

TD-The biggest liar in Toronto

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by sara210 Nov 09, 2018
TD insurance is the biggest liar in Toronto. Stay away from them if possible. They can constantly increase your quote and charge extra when activating/setting up your account. I have to stuck with them for a year, and won't stay with them afterward. PLEASE PAY ATTENTION TO YOUR BILL , ESPECIALLY FOR NEW CUSTOMERS USING TD ADVANTAGE APP. THEY WILL CHARGE EXTRA AND STEAL YOUR MONEY. We just relocated to Toronto a month ago, and shopped around for auto insurance. It seemed that TD insurance can provide us the reasonable rate so far since we had been staying with TD insurance for a few years outside Ontario and have a clean driving record. So we asked them to send a hard copy of the quote. When the mail arrived, the quote was around $150 higher than the one we quoted on the phone. So I called back, one of the agents told me that her co-worker made a mistake on our previous quote (lower rate). Excuse me! I said I thought your guys are professionals and asked to talk with her supervisor. The agent asked me to hold on, it turned out that she hanged out my phone. She was so rude that I tried to complain about what happened to me with their supervisor's phone line on their website. Nobody answered my phone and asked to leave a voice message. I did, there was no response from them since it has been almost a month. I kept shopping around because of TD insurance unreliability, their quote (the higher one) was still the reasonable one we can get, because we can get some group discount. For the sake of money, I went back and called them to activate our account early in the morning. Since unpleasant experience on quote, I double checked our premium, coverage (including download TD advantage App for 5% discount) before activating. So I preferred the payment by credit card, which is the only option for full payment. And I asked the agent repeated how much he will charge on credit card. The amount of payment was the exact number as the higher rate. So I gave him my husband's credit card information. It's done. And I asked him to send a temporary insurance file to us. Due to the post office being on strike, we need to get our car registration and switch licence plate in a week. I still didn't trust them, when my husband got off from work and called them in the evening to check how much they charge from credit card. Okay, it's the same amount as the quote. To our surprise, I got the official document of Auto insurance this afternoon, they charged us more than $100. So I was so confused that I called them to ask what is going on. It took a while for an agent to figure out the problem. They didn't give us a 5% discount when we downloaded TD advantage App. Jesus Christ! We agreed with using this App. They even sent us an email and asked us to download App with PIN. What's wrong with these people? If you don't provide us the discount, why did you ask us to download the App? They thought we didn't know the amount they charged extra. Unfortunately, I kept every record from them, it can be traceable. I read so many bad reviews about this App, I gave up on this App. I don't want to install it or have any issue with them. So be it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

bad customer experience

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by London Oct 29, 2018
So after 40 minutes on the waiting line, I got transferred to a third party vendor that captured my info and told me that somebody from TD insurance will contact me tomorrow after 11 am. I had by accident hung up and had to call again (another 40 minutes of waiting time). This time the new agent told me it takes 1-2 business days to be contacted. Nice, inconsistent message to the customers.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Terrible experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Stupid to believe TD insurance Oct 23, 2018
I have had no claims no tickets I even went along with their TD my Advantage app, and scored great on it. When my renewal for the first year came up, even though I had enough KM and enough length of time using the app, the discount wasn't applied as they changed the conditions of when to qualify. I continued to use the app for a full year after, surprise: I now qualify for the discount. With my great driving scores and having no accidents or tickets (nothing), they have decided that the risk has increased for an unknown reason and they basically increased my premium so that after the discount I ended up at the same previous insurance premium. Now I am stuck with the app because if I cancel the app, I will have a much higher premium than what I always had in the previous years. I realized how stupid I was when I believed their lies. Don't install the app, it's a trap and you won't be able to get out of it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible Customer Service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by kh.siavash Oct 17, 2018
Terrible Customer Service, very long wait time. Also, I had TD MyAdvantage app on my phone for more than a year and drove a lot more than 1000 km, which is the min requirement, but after a year they did not give me my 22% discount, which shows on my app. They told me that I have not driven 1000 km, which I did. The app simply works if you have a certain setting set on your phone, otherwise won't work properly and will not record all your trips.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Terrible Customer Service

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Tired of poor customer service Oct 09, 2018
This company is extremely hard to get on the phone! You must stay on the phone for periods of over 30 minutes or so while they continue to shout advertisements for their products at you. Because of this, I have decided not to do any more business with TD! The ONLY good thing is they are not that expensive.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very easy to deal with

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kev Oct 03, 2018
Totalled my leased 2015 Corvette Z51, it was almost a 6 figure car and only took about a month and a bit to receive my claim. Didn't even realized the coverage I had (full replacement cost value and grand touring package), they could've lied and told me I didn't have either of those and could've gotten away with it. They set me up right away with a rental vehicle because of the grand touring package and guided me through the whole situation. They were very good at keeping me up to date with emails and occasional phone calls. The only problem was if I missed any of their calls or needed to ask a question, the wait time was over an hour hold over the phone... When I first crashed my vehicle, I was for sure expecting to pay the rest of the vehicle out of my pocket, but in the end, the vehicle always paid off and I received close to $40,000!! I was so worried too when I read the reviews dealing with TD, because of such negative reviews and low ratings. I realized realistically people that had good experiences don't post good reviews because they already got what they want, it's only the people that had a bad experience and want to bash on the company that will take the time to rant about it.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Increase the premium by 15%

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by dwhwang Sep 03, 2018
I had no accident and no claims for the past 15 years and they jacked up the premium by 15% without valid reasons. They asked me to use the application that should give me some discount, but it was all scam at the end. I am terminating the plan. Terrible experience.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poorly managed

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Gicder Jul 27, 2018
I had 2 cars insured by this company, one of them is 1997, and when I insured them, they said everything covered but now my car got stolen, they said they can’t do anything about it. Because it doesn’t cover an old car, I had to get additional extra coverage for the old car. ( The thing is I had to tell them to give me extra coverage, not knowing if things like that existed.) It is stupid that they don’t let you know that. When things like this happen, you don’t know what to do about it. For this company, make sure what is covered and what is not
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Cancellation fee

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Julia Jul 23, 2018
I got insurance from TD because I got a “discount” from work. They told me it will be 375$ Canadian and I thought that’s a fair price because I’m a very young driver with no experience and I have a brand new financed car. I couldn’t afford the insurance, so I went to RBC and they gave me car insurance for 170$!!! I can’t believe I got ripped off like this. Also, they charge a CRAZY cancellation fee of 470$!! Which I was not informed about and they claim that the insurance is for one year which I was not informed about EVER. Shame on them for this ripoff!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Mixed Experience

 
(3.5 out of 5 stars)
by Jul 10, 2018
I agree with the comments about slow telephone service. But, my encounters have generally been positive over the past 15 years. Except...for their changing the terms of my house insurance without clear, unambiguous notice. Read your documents.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Insurance Premiums

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DontbuyTDinsurance Jul 09, 2018
After being with TD for 7 years and having multiple cars and home insurance policies with them, they increased my insurance premiums 28% from the first year with no changes (i.e. no accidents, tickets etc).
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Edmonton gal Jul 06, 2018
Was in a no-fault claim. Car wrote off because they valued car incorrectly comparing to the wrong vehicle. After three days told to return rental per 'my' policy, even though other insurance covered it. No car for months, as a result, lost a job, missed mortgage payment, no access to the grocery store as live 35 minutes from town. 2 months isolated without transportation. TD would not advocate for me or cover me and this was after 30 years of paying into car insurance with no claims.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

a little weird

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by fraudsters Jun 24, 2018
I had a quote done by someone who was a new hire. The price was really high under Ryerson, so I decided not to go with it. Then the guy called me back from a blocked number and said the manager approved for lower rates if I answer some questions about McMaster. All I had to do was pay $500. This really weirded me out, so I decided not to trust it. TD to me is selling my information. Even the manager's name he gave me was weird, shady. I am like that is so shady I ain't getting myself into that.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?