Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Meloche Monnex (TD Insurance) Auto Insurance Reviews

(279 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
101,211
consumers
(1.8 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

What is with the hold time?

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bri Jun 03, 2020
They called and left a message with zero details as to what it was regarding, and didn't leave a direct number to call them back at. Get to listen to the most annoying 4-second loop of music for another hour! I just signed up a few days ago and already regret it. So frustrating.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Absolutely Horrible

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by abhinav May 30, 2020
They have been fooling me to use the app and now they're saying they don't see the data so can't apply the discount, I wish I didn't renew it. I would have got better rates. No tickets/no accidents, 22% of the app gone.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Impossible to reach

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by CPACA May 28, 2020
As I write this I’ve been on hold for 68 minutes. No excuse for this. People are not driving or buying cars. Did they lay off people? Disgusting.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Poor Client Retention

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Spencer S May 25, 2020
I am young and work in the insurance industry. I am my 3rd year of being insured with no accidents, yet premiums went up on renewal. The logic behind their pricing methodology makes no sense to retain customers. Most providers would absorb any market increases for no/low-risk clients to show that the value loyalty and as there is no justification, yet the chose to increase rates anyhow. In terms of pricing for COVID, they are providing reduced rates which is great of them, however, the mandate came into effect late May and is only effective after that point in time. Most insurers would backdate this premium rebate to the date where people were no longer commuting, April 1st unless there were claims made within that period of time. While they do offer very competitive rates right off the bat, the company seriously lacks any client retention initiative.... and if you have to pay a little more for another insurer you will probably profit off of it with rate reductions for a good record in the long run.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Never sign up with TD

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Saba May 19, 2020
Seriously a fraud company! I changed my address recently and I am the same postal code and still raised up the policy from 415 to 690 ...no accident no claims history at all and still jacked up the premium. Customer service rating would literally be in negative. Kept hanging up, had to call numerous times to get hold of one person. The company is trying to make their money back due to COVID 19 situation by charging ridiculous hike up on their auto insurance premium!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

What customer service?!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tina Apr 14, 2020
Waited an hour on hold. Finally filled out for an auto quote online but there was a "glitch" when I submitted the form. I'm worried about what kind of service exists if I were to have a claim or a billing problem. I guess this isn't the insurance provider for me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Insurance advisor amazing

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Evylania Mar 07, 2020
Hello, I had to call TD today as my payment for my premium did not go through so I was at risk to have my policy terminated unless I paid what was left to pay (over 2.5K). I could not afford that and had missed the payment as I did not get paid and just paid for my permanent residency so I was left dry... The insurance advisor, did everything he could to get me back on track and now everything has been settled. I can't thank him enough for how good he was and how amazing of a customer service experience he delivered. Thank you again.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Terribly

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by td Feb 09, 2020
Their customer service is terrible, it's so hard to get anyone on the phone. Updating your insurance takes 30+ days on their app/website. They've multi-charged us a few times and the only way to fix it, IF you catch it, is they'll charge slightly less per month for the rest of the year to make up the difference. Horrible. The one claim I've had in 30 years, they dropped the ball massively, didn't pay the damages for like 6 months. It took forever and so many calls to finally resolve. The last straw for me was that they'd stopped mailing updated insurance papers every year, so I was walking around with a 3-year-old insurance paper in my wallet and no way to get updated ones (unless I want to sit on hold for hours). I couldn't rent a van because their app was also down and I had no proof of insurance. Thank god I wasn't pulled over by the cops. I struggle to imagine any way they could be more negligent.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Online quote can be misleading

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Lizhen G Feb 06, 2020
The online quote may not be trusted because of a 'glitch' in the system. The quote may be generated assuming a customer qualifies for a multi-line discount even when it doesn't apply to her. 45 days guaranteed of the quote means nothing. So you may be in for a surprise when you are ready to purchase a policy, finding that the price is much higher than what was originally quoted. In my case, the call center agent could not explain the reason for the price discrepancy. When I asked to speak with her supervisor, she said matter of factly that she could not transfer my call. If you find yourself in the same situation, do not sign a contract out of time pressure or frustration. Shop around. There is a way to file a complaint and escalate the issue.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Seamless

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by bmk Feb 06, 2020
After the accident, and reporting it to the police. I was unsure about how the claims process would go. Now that it is done, I can tell you it could not have gone smoother. The newly built site in Oakville was warm and welcoming. We were assessed and out the door with a rental in less than 30 minutes. The staff was approachable, informed and kind. When I returned to pick up my car, we were pleased to see the repair was done almost like brand new. Leaving the lot, I thought to myself, this how auto insurance claims should always be handled.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

DO NOT INSURE TRUCKS

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jessy Jan 28, 2020
I was told that using my truck in any way makes my insurance null and void as that means that I need commercial insurance. So, when I had an accident and I was NOT AT work or doing any work at all then I was told that they found out I use my truck to move furniture for my business back and forth from my storage. When the accident happened they DID NOT PAY OUT ANYTHING and told the other person to SUE ME! Most terrible company ever! After they cancelled me they told me to get insurance elsewhere and then still continued to take money out of my account!!! What kind of scam is this... I paid collision insurance for years and they don't want to pay... Then they told me if I want to stop the 150 dollars coming out of my account then I have to send an email with my new insurance pink slips and then when I did they told me I had to cancel it by sending the pink slips as this disorganized group don't know how to open an email. Do not insure a truck with this company!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Good service but claims is...

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by ilime Jan 02, 2020
When I call TD, yes there is a wait, especially during the mornings. I usually avoid calling them between 9-1 because it's REALLY hard to reach anyone. Generally speaking, the service has always been good for me but from time to time, certain representatives get lazy and they want to finish the call asap so they don't help you to the best of their abilities. One representative asked me a bunch of questions and tried his hardest to give me the lowest rate possible by applying all the discounts (he actually spent a long time with me over the phone and sounded very nice and caring). Claims: I had one claim for vehicle damage. I never claimed accident benefit so I can't comment on accident benefit. For vehicle damage, my adjuster wasn't very friendly. I thought he was mean and I felt a bit bullied at times. After the accident, I was very emotionally vulnerable and had a hard time sleeping and eating. On the plus side, my adjuster would respond to calls and emails very quickly (usually within the day). He would also follow-up with me constantly and make sure my file went through. I just didn't like his anger towards me. I was always nice to him over the phone and I always sent him the documentation he needed to move the file along. Other than his attitude, it wasn't terrible. I just can't rate my claims experience 3/5 or higher because he did upset me a lot during certain phone calls.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Run away!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JULLIAN Dec 04, 2019
No one will call you back after you called and left so many messages, you only got voicemail after you wasting the whole week!! Absolutely worst service!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Worst service ever!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MG Dec 04, 2019
Worst insurance company! I had an accident and took over a week nobody responded to me, everyone you call was voicemail and they never got back to you! Why there is someone still insured with them?
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst customer service ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Craig Dec 04, 2019
I waited two and a half hours to speak to an agent upon purchasing a new vehicle. I tried again the next day, this time waiting over three hours before finally giving up. It was such a bad experience that I simply switched insurers. I then wrote a complaint letter to the company and received no response. They simply don't care about their customers.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Very Low Quality Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Express Nov 08, 2019
I would recommend switching to another company. TD Meloche Monnex - Auto Insurance has a very low-quality service. The claim adjuster did not receive or reply to my so many calls and voice messages. I would give them no star in my review if I could.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Absolute garbage

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Appalled and disgusted Oct 28, 2019
I really wish I would have read the reviews before I purchased insurance from this company. I had an accident with a car that I owned for 6 months. First accident first time dealing with an insurance adjuster, what a horrible experience. Wait times to talk to someone are ridiculous 1-2 hours even more. I left for two weeks every single day telling my adjuster how important it was that she call me back. I didn't get a call back until I filed a complaint with the manager. My brand new car that was in the accident they fixed it with used parts from a scrapped vehicle 2 years older than my own. The car does not feel the same as before the accident. Customer service skills are disgusting! The absolute worst insurance company I have ever dealt with! Needless to say, I cancelled my policy.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

So Frustrating

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Will Change Companies Oct 24, 2019
Like others, I have been on hold with TDMM for well over an hour listening to the same three-second loop of music. Their customer service in that department is lacking. Recently though, I have gotten to speak to someone with much shorter wait times. Currently dealing with an adjuster for a not-at-fault claim. She will not return my calls or respond to my emails (three voicemails and three emails requesting a call over the course of this claim, zero responses). Then, she had the audacity to send me an email with a form letter component saying they strive for "legendary customer service" and to let them know if I have any questions. I have questions, she just won't answer them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TDconjobs Oct 18, 2019
Today I was simply calling in to inquire about a quote for a new car I am considering purchasing. I was put on hold for nearly 20 minutes and transferred to a very foreign-sounding man. He began threatening me that if I switched my address to Burlington, I would be charged extremely more. This is after a 10+ year completely clean driving record and moving to Canada’s safest city. I then asked to be transferred back to TD Melosh Monnex and left the phone on his desk instead of transferring me. I am finding a new car insurance provider along with my family. These are a bunch of people trying to sell you on higher instances plans. Figure it out professionalism, integrity and ethics TD.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Terrible customer service.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Amish D Oct 10, 2019
Claim 1. Auto repair - authorized (and recommended repair shop) made multiple errors in repair. I had to go back 3 times, no support from TDMM. Claim 2. Auto repair - adjuster delayed, and then disappeared. 4 calls to customer service (45-75min hold time per call), over a 4week period, to find out adjuster left the company and no one else was assigned. By now, 1 year had expired and they would no longer fulfill the claim. Claim 3. Home Insurance. Concerns that TDMM may have changed my policy without approval. Called 4 times (with lengthy wait times) over 2 months to get more info - was told a manager would call me back with details. No call received. Finally, I called back a 5th time and got a supervisor on the phone. Claim still in process, Regardless of the outcome, will be leaving TDMM this fall. They exemplify the stereotypical insurance company with processes designed to decrease their financial obligations.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

truly disgusting experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Franz Oct 09, 2019
I had a claim that I called and cancelled as I found a more cost-effective alternative elsewhere. It was with utter shock I received an mail nearly 2 years later stating I owed over $700 in unpaid insurance. All my attempts to reason with TD fell on deaf ears. I provided documents showing I had active insurance elsewhere and even went as far as contacting my phone provider to get records of prior conversations I had. I wrote TD multiple times with no success. This has left me with rising deductibles with my current insurance. It truly is pathetic that companies will do anything to reap people of hard-earned income. I will do everything in my power to dissuade anyone thinking of doing business with TD to think twice, the experience is just not worth your hassle
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Unprofessional

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by FMM Oct 07, 2019
I sent in an appraisal that they say they "needed". I followed up a week later and they said they have to review it and get back to me and that I shouldn't expect them to accept the full amount of my appraisal... So what is the point of getting an appraisal if they won't even honour it? On top of it all, my average wait time is 45 - 60 mins to get through to them. I will be spending my afternoon shopping for a better company, this company is a joke!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

90 minutes and counting

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Is anyone out there Sep 12, 2019
TD Insurance. Existing customer. So far today is 90 minutes wait time and counting. Hung up the other day after 40 min. Are they still in business or have they just completely given up on customer service? How are new customers getting through? Seriously, this is horrible. How are claims getting through? At least put a radio station to listen while on hold instead of that annoying dingle.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Shocking hold times

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Long Hold Times Sep 12, 2019
I tried repeatedly to ask a very basic question about a potential vehicle purchase. These guys do not generally answer the phone. You are told by a robot that "we are experiencing higher than usual call volume." Then you hear a guitar riff. This has been going on since July. I sent an e-mail in late August explaining I needed to speak to someone but the wait times were incredible. They called me back two weeks later. I had to return their call, hold, talk to someone who then put me on hold to transfer a second person, hold and finally talk to a third person. There is virtually no customer service. I renewed my policy in July and am locked in till next summer. This is unfortunate. I hope I never actually have a claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Disgusting Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by rw Sep 10, 2019
I have never experienced a more frustrating customer experience than the one I am having with TD Meloche Monnex. I was hoping to give them a zero rating, but the lowest number of stars is one. I have tried reaching them several times over a 2-3 week period with no luck. I am now in the process of cancelling 3 auto policies, 1 house policy and 1 business policy. They are pathetic, sadly no one there will care.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

They Don't Answer the Phone

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by RM Sep 10, 2019
You can't get through to them to ask them any questions. They leave you hanging and you can't get through to ask questions. Good value for the money, but totally NOT accessible; especially when you need them. They really need to fix their "Call Centre" CRM program! That's their biggest downfall.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Never answer the phone

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frustrated Sep 09, 2019
I had an important question about my auto policy. Called numerous times but no one ever answers. First time was on hold for over 53 minutes before I hung up. Called multiple calls well over 30 minutes on hold before hanging up. Never got through. Complained online with no response. I cannot imagine if you had to make a claim or had an injury. Seeking a new insurance company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Worst Car Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ea Sep 09, 2019
Had a claim in April with no deductible. Got a call in September that they want to collect 450$ deductible, asked why what happened they said that I must pay it like it or not. I asked the manager but I was told that I won't have a deductible and she didn't care and said if I don't pay it that they will send it to collections. That is the service you will get if you sign car/home insurance with them. STAY AWAY!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

On hold forever too

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mike Sep 06, 2019
I was on hold for 45 minutes before I had to hang up so that I could get back to work. What is going on?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

B. A. D

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Joseph Sep 06, 2019
Never had a claim before. Did not know what's it like to be in pain, if your insurance company, don't answer your call, leaving 100 voice mail. Even supervisor doesn't exist. The best answer was - if I did not go to work I wouldn't have an accident, so people please don't drive a car, don't go to work, period. Are you for real an adjuster or joker, or whatever they just hired you to bully people?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?