Meloche Monnex (TD Insurance) Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(358 reviews)
Meloche Monnex (TD Insurance)
1.7 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Lower than 1 star

by JoAnne on Dec 15, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

Submitted video evidence when a truck spewed dirt out of the back and cracked in my windshield. They record on my claims experience letter as "other", initially they recorded it as accident, keep in mind the truck was at no time anywhere near my vehicle . Either way, they're causing the value of my car to be depreciated.

After a month and a half of chasing them down trying to fix their mistake, I'm told they can't list all the work that was done, and can only list it as "other - flying objects", like??? They say "We cannot hide information on letters of experience." Isn't that exactly what they're doing by listing it as other???

Run, don't walk, and don't give these criminals your money! They seem to be gouging their customers, I suspect trying to make up for the lawsuits against them for overcharging customers our west and not paying out travel insurance claims... Do a little homework if you're considering choosing them, you'll be glad you did.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Phone service

by Jiyao W on Nov 28, 2020
1.5 out of 5 stars

I recently called their phone service 3 or 4 times. Each time it put me on waiting for a couple of hours until I was disconnected. It's really frustrating. No way to reach them by phone.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

2 hour hold time

by Fad on Jul 29, 2020
3 out of 5 stars

Waited 2 hours on 3 different days with no result. Just wanted to add home and a car to my existing policy so I tried both home and auto lines and I got the same thing

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.

The wait music hunts my dream

by G Durand on Jul 28, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I am a client at TD Meloche Monex for more than 10 years now. It started with my first car when I was 17, got a good price because of their partnership with different Universities and Professional organizations, etc... I also got my home insurance with them now. HOWEVER, it is now impossible to speak to someone. Client service is awful. I don't think they have anyone listening to the phone anymore...They want us to do everything through the App or Website, but sometimes, you just have to speak to someone in order to explain a specific scenario... They should get 0-star review. I had one claim once. I got hit by someone. To be fair, I was happy with the process. For my claim, I was able to speak to someone quickly. The whole investigation process was fast and they sent me to a good car body shop (in eastern Montreal), so I can't say I had a bad experience with the claim. But again, for all other stuff (e.g. explanation on price, modification to policies), getting someone on the phone is a journey! Anyway, this year they increase my insurance rate for about 30% for no reason. Of course, impossible to talk to someone for an explanation... you need to wait for days on the phone... Now the rate is not competitive anymore, I am paying more than what I would from other insurance companies for similar coverage. I decided to move on with a better insurance company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Customer Service

by Keetaboy on Jul 22, 2020
1.5 out of 5 stars

I have been a client with TD Insurance for many years. Up to today, their customer service has been stellar. Trying to update my policy I have been on hold for 2-4 hours with NO success. No information as to why the wait times are so long, etc. I will be looking at another agency, as this is totally unacceptable customer service!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

On Hold Forever

by IK on Jul 20, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I have 3 phones going under 3 different contact numbers and all are looping the same hold music and now it's been 60+ mins of hold time. All I need to do is insure my new vehicle which I can't drive or register. Brutal service!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.

terrible service

by SueT on Jul 18, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

On hold for 2 hours before I finally gave up. Worst service ever. They should be ashamed.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrible waiting time...

by Chris on Jul 17, 2020
2 out of 5 stars

Called them at 6 pm, waited on hold until 8 pm. Their website says they close at 8 pm, so... I guess I should hang up now? The next day, called at 11 am. While I was on hold I had time to do the paperwork for a new car, go get a bank transfer, buy and eat lunch, go back to the dealer and wait. The salesman says he really likes his insurance company, so I drive over there (all while still on hold!) and I have time to get a new insurance policy for my new car. After 3 hours on hold, the call dropped, which was probably my cell phone provider. Today, I've called first thing and here I am writing a review while on hold. All I want is to just cancel all my insurance now, but I can't get a hold of anyone. Just insane. This hold music haunts my dreams.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Never felt so undervalued

by Undervalued Customer on Jul 17, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

It was amazing to me that at a time when accidents and insurance claims, in general, must be at an all-time low, TD still justifies raising auto and home insurance premiums with no explanation. Having the TD My Advantage App is pointless as new rates are always higher and do not illustrate how/if the projected discount shown in the App is considered. But the best part is having failed to reach anyone on the phone in the evenings (two attempts with 30 min waits), I have now been on hold for over 2 hours on a weekday morning. Tying up my phone line, wasting my battery...and no end in sight. Totally defeated right now.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

Waste of time

by AK on Jul 14, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

My car got damaged in Hail in Calgary on June 14. I called them up because I needed some info... I waited for 2 hours and no response! Hence I gave up.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo