Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Meloche Monnex (TD Insurance) Auto Insurance Reviews

(148 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
69,397
consumers
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

thieves

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ali Dec 09, 2018
The same thing happened with me. I can't remember her last name, she offered me Ryerson rates..what is the deal with this place..it's like they have some string operation going on under their group rates. I bet even the CEO is in on it. I would say cut your losses, I gave up on getting my money back months ago.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Suspicious

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Roberts Dec 06, 2018
I had a quote with TD Meloche Monnex a few days ago. The quote took 40 minutes because system issues. After this time I was told that since I did not graduate from a university or college, I cannot insure with them. Then they transferred me. An hour later a manager calls me from a private number, says if I email him $500, I can use McMaster rates. I emailed him 3 days ago but no callback. I called back and asked to speak to him and the guy said the manager is not in the office. I lost my money please help.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Be Careful what they quote u!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by CPA Dec 05, 2018
1. When I replied to the email that I got the Insurance confirmation from asking to change something, I never got any reply! The confirmation was only a table including the basic information only in their own terminology and did not have any clarification of anything in detail on top of that it had wrong information about the lessee! 2. When I later called and asked to send me a copy of the terms and conditions or the contract that I am signing in order to commit financially, I was told that the system doesn’t do that and that I have to accept everything we talked about verbally and I should not see what is excluded in the contract and on top of that if I cancel, mid-term or even when the mail comes to see the contract, I will be paying one month cancellation fee and the agents didn’t care about anything and he said he’ll be happy helping me cancel right now before the policy starts. I have asked for a manager and the manager just simply repeated what he said and then told me this is the rule here, it’s only a verbal quotation, this is how things work in this company! This is neither ethical nor professional. I am very disappointed with a big company like this behaving in such a bad scammy way!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Would recommend to anyone

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by ms.elle.b Dec 05, 2018
I've been with TD insurance for about 10 years in two different provinces and have had to call often for policy changes, address changes, adding and removing vehicles etc. I have never had a bad experience with their employees, they're always professional and knowledgeable both on the phone and via e-mail. I have also had to claim three different vehicle incidents - two not at fault, one at fault and one being a total write-off. While never pleasant, the experiences were about as smooth and hassle-free as they can be.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

TD-The biggest liar in Toronto

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by sara210 Nov 09, 2018
TD insurance is the biggest liar in Toronto. Stay away from them if possible. They can constantly increase your quote and charge extra when activating/setting up your account. I have to stuck with them for a year, and won't stay with them afterward. PLEASE PAY ATTENTION TO YOUR BILL , ESPECIALLY FOR NEW CUSTOMERS USING TD ADVANTAGE APP. THEY WILL CHARGE EXTRA AND STEAL YOUR MONEY. We just relocated to Toronto a month ago, and shopped around for auto insurance. It seemed that TD insurance can provide us the reasonable rate so far since we had been staying with TD insurance for a few years outside Ontario and have a clean driving record. So we asked them to send a hard copy of the quote. When the mail arrived, the quote was around $150 higher than the one we quoted on the phone. So I called back, one of the agents told me that her co-worker made a mistake on our previous quote (lower rate). Excuse me! I said I thought your guys are professionals and asked to talk with her supervisor. The agent asked me to hold on, it turned out that she hanged out my phone. She was so rude that I tried to complain about what happened to me with their supervisor's phone line on their website. Nobody answered my phone and asked to leave a voice message. I did, there was no response from them since it has been almost a month. I kept shopping around because of TD insurance unreliability, their quote (the higher one) was still the reasonable one we can get, because we can get some group discount. For the sake of money, I went back and called them to activate our account early in the morning. Since unpleasant experience on quote, I double checked our premium, coverage (including download TD advantage App for 5% discount) before activating. So I preferred the payment by credit card, which is the only option for full payment. And I asked the agent repeated how much he will charge on credit card. The amount of payment was the exact number as the higher rate. So I gave him my husband's credit card information. It's done. And I asked him to send a temporary insurance file to us. Due to the post office being on strike, we need to get our car registration and switch licence plate in a week. I still didn't trust them, when my husband got off from work and called them in the evening to check how much they charge from credit card. Okay, it's the same amount as the quote. To our surprise, I got the official document of Auto insurance this afternoon, they charged us more than $100. So I was so confused that I called them to ask what is going on. It took a while for an agent to figure out the problem. They didn't give us a 5% discount when we downloaded TD advantage App. Jesus Christ! We agreed with using this App. They even sent us an email and asked us to download App with PIN. What's wrong with these people? If you don't provide us the discount, why did you ask us to download the App? They thought we didn't know the amount they charged extra. Unfortunately, I kept every record from them, it can be traceable. I read so many bad reviews about this App, I gave up on this App. I don't want to install it or have any issue with them. So be it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

bad customer experience

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by London Oct 29, 2018
So after 40 minutes on the waiting line, I got transferred to a third party vendor that captured my info and told me that somebody from TD insurance will contact me tomorrow after 11 am. I had by accident hung up and had to call again (another 40 minutes of waiting time). This time the new agent told me it takes 1-2 business days to be contacted. Nice, inconsistent message to the customers.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Stupid to believe TD insurance Oct 23, 2018
I have had no claims no tickets I even went along with their TD my Advantage app, and scored great on it. When my renewal for the first year came up, even though I had enough KM and enough length of time using the app, the discount wasn't applied as they changed the conditions of when to qualify. I continued to use the app for a full year after, surprise: I now qualify for the discount. With my great driving scores and having no accidents or tickets (nothing), they have decided that the risk has increased for an unknown reason and they basically increased my premium so that after the discount I ended up at the same previous insurance premium. Now I am stuck with the app because if I cancel the app, I will have a much higher premium than what I always had in the previous years. I realized how stupid I was when I believed their lies. Don't install the app, it's a trap and you won't be able to get out of it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Terrible Customer Service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by kh.siavash Oct 17, 2018
Terrible Customer Service, very long wait time. Also, I had TD MyAdvantage app on my phone for more than a year and drove a lot more than 1000 km, which is the min requirement, but after a year they did not give me my 22% discount, which shows on my app. They told me that I have not driven 1000 km, which I did. The app simply works if you have a certain setting set on your phone, otherwise won't work properly and will not record all your trips.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible Customer Service

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Tired of poor customer service Oct 09, 2018
This company is extremely hard to get on the phone! You must stay on the phone for periods of over 30 minutes or so while they continue to shout advertisements for their products at you. Because of this, I have decided not to do any more business with TD! The ONLY good thing is they are not that expensive.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Very easy to deal with

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kev Oct 03, 2018
Totalled my leased 2015 Corvette Z51, it was almost a 6 figure car and only took about a month and a bit to receive my claim. Didn't even realized the coverage I had (full replacement cost value and grand touring package), they could've lied and told me I didn't have either of those and could've gotten away with it. They set me up right away with a rental vehicle because of the grand touring package and guided me through the whole situation. They were very good at keeping me up to date with emails and occasional phone calls. The only problem was if I missed any of their calls or needed to ask a question, the wait time was over an hour hold over the phone... When I first crashed my vehicle, I was for sure expecting to pay the rest of the vehicle out of my pocket, but in the end, the vehicle always paid off and I received close to $40,000!! I was so worried too when I read the reviews dealing with TD, because of such negative reviews and low ratings. I realized realistically people that had good experiences don't post good reviews because they already got what they want, it's only the people that had a bad experience and want to bash on the company that will take the time to rant about it.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Increase the premium by 15%

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by dwhwang Sep 03, 2018
I had no accident and no claims for the past 15 years and they jacked up the premium by 15% without valid reasons. They asked me to use the application that should give me some discount, but it was all scam at the end. I am terminating the plan. Terrible experience.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Poorly managed

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Gicder Jul 27, 2018
I had 2 cars insured by this company, one of them is 1997, and when I insured them, they said everything covered but now my car got stolen, they said they can’t do anything about it. Because it doesn’t cover an old car, I had to get additional extra coverage for the old car. ( The thing is I had to tell them to give me extra coverage, not knowing if things like that existed.) It is stupid that they don’t let you know that. When things like this happen, you don’t know what to do about it. For this company, make sure what is covered and what is not
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cancellation fee

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Julia Jul 23, 2018
I got insurance from TD because I got a “discount” from work. They told me it will be 375$ Canadian and I thought that’s a fair price because I’m a very young driver with no experience and I have a brand new financed car. I couldn’t afford the insurance, so I went to RBC and they gave me car insurance for 170$!!! I can’t believe I got ripped off like this. Also, they charge a CRAZY cancellation fee of 470$!! Which I was not informed about and they claim that the insurance is for one year which I was not informed about EVER. Shame on them for this ripoff!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Mixed Experience

 
(3.5 out of 5 stars)
by Jul 10, 2018
I agree with the comments about slow telephone service. But, my encounters have generally been positive over the past 15 years. Except...for their changing the terms of my house insurance without clear, unambiguous notice. Read your documents.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Insurance Premiums

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DontbuyTDinsurance Jul 09, 2018
After being with TD for 7 years and having multiple cars and home insurance policies with them, they increased my insurance premiums 28% from the first year with no changes (i.e. no accidents, tickets etc).
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Terrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Edmonton gal Jul 06, 2018
Was in a no-fault claim. Car wrote off because they valued car incorrectly comparing to the wrong vehicle. After three days told to return rental per 'my' policy, even though other insurance covered it. No car for months, as a result, lost a job, missed mortgage payment, no access to the grocery store as live 35 minutes from town. 2 months isolated without transportation. TD would not advocate for me or cover me and this was after 30 years of paying into car insurance with no claims.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

a little weird

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by fraudsters Jun 24, 2018
I had a quote done by someone who was a new hire. The price was really high under Ryerson, so I decided not to go with it. Then the guy called me back from a blocked number and said the manager approved for lower rates if I answer some questions about McMaster. All I had to do was pay $500. This really weirded me out, so I decided not to trust it. TD to me is selling my information. Even the manager's name he gave me was weird, shady. I am like that is so shady I ain't getting myself into that.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Customer service nightmare

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Devan Jun 22, 2018
I got a quote on the phone from Tony at the Halifax office. He was able to find my previous information quickly and provided me with excellent information on the type of policy I would need. When I called back to instate the actual policy, the new agent, Jason was unable to find my information and said that the policy I was offered by Tony was not even a valid policy. He insulted his coworker, Tony, and seemed really immature to deal with. I ended up telling Jason that I had no confidence in his abilities and that I should take my business elsewhere. He responded angrily that it was a good idea. Needless to say that I am taking my business somewhere else.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Easy Customere May 29, 2018
The company said they could only process one transaction per day, and considered the cancellation of an auto renewal 2 months in the future my "one transaction". This is causing a huge headache for picking up my new car and transferring the insurance. Echoing other sentiments on this feed, customer service representatives are no well equipped and can't answer simple questions including "what is the cancellation fee" without a 20-minute hold and conversation with another department. Even if they are a few dollars less than the competition, I strongly advise against this company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Long phone wait

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by CantWait May 29, 2018
This company does not have enough agents on the telephone. Wait sometimes for several hours to talk to someone. (I waited 2.5 hours once then gave up)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

WHAT A WASTE OF TIME!!!

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Worstinsuranceever May 18, 2018
I will NEVER get insurance from them again!! Every time I call, I’m waiting minimum an hour. I’ve had to call MANY times for a rental car that I was told “will be covered until the claim is done”, the rental company was calling every day asking if I was bringing it back. I was charged for another month of insurance and I don’t even have a vehicle anymore due to the accident. Not at all organized and very unprofessional. They need to get their act together.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Terrible Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lily S May 16, 2018
I used to have my properties and cars insured but TD's customer service is so terrible I had to leave. You can't reach anyone! Just out of curiosity I waited on hold (with one of my phones) for their claims department and finally hung up after 4 hours on hold!!! You can't have an insurance company that won't talk to their customers. I tried calling the customer service dept and was told I needed to talk very nicely or they wouldn't deal with me. They also told me there was nothing Customer Service could do because claims was a different dept. They've got to be the worst insurance company out there!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

inefficient and incompetent

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by A_MacKay May 07, 2018
Word of advice. Never use TD Meloche Monnox. Worst customer experience I’ve ever had. I was calling in regards to a small crack in my windshield caused by flying debris during a windstorm. I was originally on hold 20 minutes. I understood the windstorm caused fairly widespread damage which caused them to be very busy, so this was acceptable. The conversation went as expected, and a claim was about to be filed. My last question was “is this going to affect my premiums?”, which to me is a fairly normal question. He responded that he was unauthorized to answer that question. So here I go back to the 1800 number. This wait was over an hour to only find out that it is standard that my premiums will not be affected. A very black and white answer (that the previous person should have been able to answer). I was then transferred 3 more times to the wrong department who said there was no record of my claim being started. Finally, I was transferred back to the original department I was talking to who said that my claim was a click away from being filed. This whole debacle took well over 3 hours for a small crack in my windshield. Takeaway: Rather than having one person who can answer all your questions, they have fragmented their services into various departments that have little to no communication between one another. It seemed as if they didn't even have access to the same information. I felt as if I talked to 5 different companies rather than one. My advice would be to read other reviews and shop around before choosing an insurance company. I wish I had done this before selecting Meloche Monnex
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Profits before people

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by People Helping People May 03, 2018
I just cancelled my insurance today after being with TD for 2 years. They charged me exactly $375.68 for 11 days of coverage when my monthly payments were only $267.84. I never made one claim, I have a clean driving record with no traffic tickets and my only downfall is living in Brampton. I found a cheaper rate with better coverage from Desjardins Insurance. TD has no loyalty and they are competitive only in your first year, so you're better off switching after your year is up. Talking to the service agents on the phone and asking how $375 for 11 days was hilarious... Insurance companies are a scam unless you make a claim or for those that choose to scam them first. If you have a clean record and find a better price somewhere else - be prepared to get stiff-armed by a company that is purely "profits before people".
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cancelled insurance

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by gdf188 Apr 28, 2018
I'm an engineer. Have a home and 3 cars in Ontario. Took contract engineering position in BC. Bought a truck in BC for the 2yr contract and got a BC drivers licence. My wife still lives in the home in Ontario and all the cars are there. I come back once a month for 5 days. MM cancelled the insurance on the cars in my name after 20 yrs because I no longer have an Ontario drivers licence. The agent said I wasn't allowed to drive in Ontario.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Not recommended

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by andro Apr 27, 2018
Their initial response to a claim is helpful and efficient. They will pay invoices from their business partners, such as body shops, quickly and without question, even when, as in one case, the invoice was fraudulent. Their handling of repair claims is satisfactory as far as the policyholder is concerned. The picture changes when they have to make a payment to the policyholder, and it can take months of haggling and even legal threats to reach an acceptable settlement. They drag out their responses, presumably with the intention of wearing down the policyholder, and their staff give the impression that they there to defend the company rather than help the client. Their process for assessing the replacement value of a stolen or totalled car is bizarre. It would be irresponsible to recommend them to anyone.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

HORRIBLE customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by mariam.i Apr 24, 2018
I had been a loyal auto insurance and home insurance customer for 10+ years. I had a recent incident where I got a ticket but otherwise a clean record. TD called to let me know they have declined me for renewal. They said it was a major ticket and they cannot insure me any longer. They wouldn't even discuss the issue. Oh and this is almost a year post the ticket I received and just 2 months before my insurance expires.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

No advantage for MyAdvantage

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Reviewer Apr 14, 2018
I have been with TD Insurance for over 30 years. The drive habit TD My Advantage requires is way beyond what normal rule-abiding drivers would do, even observing the speed limit 100% of the time and turning corners accelerate and decelerate carefully. What is more horrible is that you lose data for no apparent reason. I recently received an email from TD telling me I had not been using my app for a while. But we use the car about 2-3 trips every week! We have 2 drivers and each is required to drive 1000 KM before qualifying. At this rate of losing data, they can easily disqualify us, after we drive as if there was a sword over our heads, scared to be penalized. I have driven for 6 months and I did not know how many KMs I had driven until I was told the accumulated mileage was only 123 KM! What?! I had one trip that exceeded 123 KM alone! But what can you do? The app does NOT even give you the total mileage driven! You are basically putting blind faith on this app and hoping a fair recording. WRONG. I have seen nothing fair so far! The app won't even tell you how many accumulated mileage you have. You have to call in to check! So basically, it's their words vs no words. Then the data saved on my cell phone failed to upload (even though it shows clearly on my cellphone and we have not changed any setting). We had to reinstall the program losing yet another 6 days of mileage, still not sure downloading actually solved the problem! (Until we check in). Good Grief! To be fair, you do receive a 5% discount signing up for the My Advantage program. Expect little more than the 5% you get. Don't let the app discount notes fool you! You won't get it. The anxiety and unhappiness this program brings to our family are making us lose trust in the program and the TD Insurance company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Waited on hold for 3 HOURS!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Miffed Apr 07, 2018
If I could give this company a worse rating than 1 star, I would. Today I waited on hold for a total of 3 hours to talk to someone. Initially, I waited for one hour, then the representative put me on hold again while trying to connect me to an agent and hung up on me. I called back and waited another 2 hours and I got frustrated and hung up. I called back again and finally got through to someone after 5 minutes. Usually, I wouldn't wait this long to talk to someone but I needed to cancel my policy before it renewed. The manager was apologetic and offered $25 gift card for the hassle. That was all they could offer. I suggested that they have a call back feature on their phone line if customers are on hold for more than 5 minutes. They said they would look into it. I've been a customer for a few years complaining about the same issue many times and they have never dealt with this issue. I would not recommend this company.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

0 Stars

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by donottrust Feb 20, 2018
DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY. I got rear-ended and the adjuster said I was at fault. Are you kidding me?! My car is fairly old but has low mileage on it and they said it's a total loss because they "can't find the parts for it" and only offered 6k for the car. IT'S A SCAM.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?