Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Desjardins Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

(108 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
62,656
consumers
(1.4 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Increase in premium

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nathalie Jul 10, 2019
I have been with Desjardins for over 10 years, and my rates have been dropping steadily when keeping the same car. However, this year when my insurance was up for renewal, my rate went up by a whole 34% for the year. I contacted customer service, and they did not know what to tell me other than the area where I live rating was the cause. I have had zero claims or tickets, but yet they increased my premium by such a large amount instead of dropping! I have now cancelled all my policies from this greedy company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Cancellation

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Monica Jul 10, 2019
I haven't been insured with this company for 2 months yet. No email sent to me about my cancellation. Was only concerned for money amount owed. No explanation of why the huge amount is being taken out. Bad customer service. Zero-rating given.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Twisted words

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mama Jun 08, 2019
Untruthful... It took forever to get renewal doc emailed called several times... Realize about 40% increased our auto saving claims on the type of brand in our postal code area... Then changed their excuses to use all non-fault no claim accidents. My words twisted on a report lied I have 5 ACCIDENTS when verified the rep just tried to skip, talk over me.....Very bad experience... Not worth my time, money and energy anymore.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Good until you file a claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by John Jun 02, 2019
I have been with state farm insurance for over three years now which was taken over by dejardins recently. Both home and auto insurance are from desjardins. The rate is good until I had a claim recently. I got rear ended and wasn’t at fault. Customer service was worst than you can think of. Andrew, the assigned adjuster, had only talked to me twice. The first one was when he introduced himself as my adjuster and the second time was when I already complaint for not getting any update about my case. Its gonna take you over 20mins every time to get through their line, and never had really given me the right information about how the process will move forward. You have to constantly call them to get an update. My entire experience with them was more stressful than the accident itself! I dont also feel like I am being represented properly. Worst customer service. I asked to talk to a manager so I could relay my feedback how bad they handled my claim - but NOBODY returned my call! What a shame! Clearly they don’t value their customers. I will never recommend desjardins to any of my friends, and all I can recall from this company is the worst experience I had with them
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

8 year customer

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Yikes in Pickering May 29, 2019
Terrible customer service and would not address my concerns when I called customer service numerous times. Manager encouraged me to look elsewhere for insurance so I took them up on their offer and ended up saving over 400$ per year. Had both autos and home insurance with them; saved on both. Learned later that they had not rated me for many of the discounts that I could have received including winter tires, low KM's driven and they inexplicably had me down as using one of the vehicles for business use- all wrong. Was paying higher than I should have for over 2 years- they could not have cared less. Terrible claims experience too, was willing to ignore that and stay with them, but changed my mind after this last experience
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Horrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by John May 25, 2019
Gave them all my information on my driving record and got a premium. Two weeks later my premium goes up to $60 a month because they have apparently found new information that they weren’t aware of. Don’t get insurance from these scum bags
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

NEVER EVER USE THIS COMPANY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by fed up May 21, 2019
We had an accident on April 19, 2019, I can't get any answer from this company what so ever, they want us to take the rental back but they haven't even told us what our truck is worth, they are not returning any calls. We had been with State Farm for over 30 years then they sold to these people and even our agent can't get any info on our claim... We are now being sued by the cleanup company which is supposed to be paid by our insurance but that's not happening either and no one is returning any calls worst service EVER, it has been over a month and no one lets us know what is going on...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Cancelled my insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pat May 11, 2019
They cancelled my insurance because of a communication error about the transfer of my plates from Ontario to Quebec. I forwarded them the proof that it was done, and they said: "we didn't get it, there are other forms of communication blah blah blah...." The lady told me to e-mail the proof! Anyway, the customer service is ridiculous, and now I will likely have to pay higher premiums somewhere else because of them. Go somewhere else!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

1 star is too much "horrible"

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bigb May 08, 2019
They are a complete joke, if you have a claim on your car watch out, they will push you to use their preferred garage that has a deal with them. Furthermore, they use a third party appraiser that's hired strictly to low ball you. The ultimate goal is profit at the expense of the customers. Please take my advice and do your homework, the shops in my area refuse to work with them. Ontario government should step-in CROOKS.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Worst Claim experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by sunkara May 06, 2019
Unfortunately, I was involved in an accident on March 29 and I have approached this insurance company to follow the claim procedures. They take forever to come up with a report or disburse the check. It is more than a month now and I don't have a result yet. I advise you not to go with this company EVER
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

dishonest

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ripped off May 05, 2019
After doing hoops to get a bare minimum quote for decals I emailed the adjuster and he refused to give me the minimum $500 he promised and told me to drive out of town and get it done. I told him the quote was just what I got from the nearest decal shop and not the real cost which would be much more. I did not get my $500. As well my $14000 new car with replacement insurance had $11,000 damage but they would not replace it so now I can't even sell it.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Safety and 65% increase!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Raja J Apr 09, 2019
My insurance was cancelled while I was travelling. I received no email or text of this happening. I only found out after coming home and reading my mail. Had I not seen my mail prior to driving I could have hit someone or killed someone with no insurance! When I tried to reinstate my insurance they raised it 65%! They don't care they are putting public safety at risk or see any validity that they are part of the problem by not updating their system.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Buyers beware

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ally Apr 02, 2019
Desjardins Insurance, in general, is horrible. I cannot wait to get away from them. You get what you pay for cheap rates for uneducated, horrible, lazy service. I do not recommend Desjardins insurance to anyone. They just want your money, they don’t even bother to help although they make it seem like it and help with minor things. I have even spoken to people who’ve had their insurance and has gone up yearly for no reason, amongst other issues I’ve heard from others. Please do your research before picking an insurance company. If you’re getting great service and help, it’s worth that little extra money because it’s gonna save you in the long run
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Insurance keeps going up.

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Unsatisfied Mar 18, 2019
I've never had a claim or ticket. Been a customer for 5 years. My insurance goes up every year. I am switching to another company in May.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst company Ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cameroking Mar 13, 2019
I have auto insurance with them, my car was hit by another vehicle and damaged, I asked if I could get the insurance payout to my name as it was gonna be around 6500 and most of that was for labour cost, so I told them I wanted to fix the vehicle myself and they said: yes. Two other people told me yes - now they are running me around saying they can't when it's not even their money, it's the other guy's insurance that will be paying on top of that. They wanted to charge the 1000 deductible when it was not my fault. Bunch of losers, thinking they can tell me what to do with my money. And the reason I did not want to take it to the shop is they kept it an extra week before and did a crappy job at fixing it. They better resolve and give me my money or I'm suing them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Tried 2 get Quote and ran away

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Ronz Mar 08, 2019
I tried to get a quote from these guys and I ran away with my life. I am used to dealing with professional insurance agents (like TD). The customer service team was totally unprofessional, intimidating and disrespectful, felt like I was in front of their house begging for something. If the quoting process is this frustrating, I can't imagine how the claim process works. They rudely interrupted me and hung up the call without a proper closing.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rox Feb 16, 2019
I've been insured with this company for as long as I can remember and they are AMAZING. The customer service is outstanding and they ALWAYS help, no matter what you need. I’ve never once, not ONCE had a poor experience with these people. I was shocked they didn't have a higher rating, I will never go anywhere else. They are 5-star all the way!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Really deceptive agents

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Maximus Feb 15, 2019
They gave me a quote for $1900 and as soon as I signed, the quote was raised to $2880. And then the crazy part was when they told me they don’t remember giving me the quote. And then they got me with a $215 cancellation fee. I don’t recommend this company to anybody out there.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Insurance premium increase

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Steve Feb 13, 2019
They unbelievably contacted me to justify their increases. Below are their communications and my response: The statistics tell the story. There are several factors that impact the premiums Canadian drivers pay today. Here are some facts and stats to help you better understand: Distracted driving has become a widespread problem across Canada; there’s more distraction on the roads than ever. Distracted driving is one of the leading causes of fatal collisions Canada-wide and is responsible for a greater percentage of road fatalities than impaired driving. Drivers who text while driving are 23 times more likely to be involved in a car accident or near-crash situation. While vehicles are technologically more advanced and do a great job of keeping Canadians safe, their high tech components are also more expensive to repair, which contributes to increased claims costs. A simple fender bender now costs thousands of dollars to fix, which was not the case before. 4 tips to help keep your premium down. Even if you have little control over the stats and facts stated above, there are ways to be proactive! Take a look at the tips below to help lower your auto insurance premium. Stay claims and conviction-free. To this day, being a careful and focused driver remains the best way to avoid an accident. Not only can distracted driving compromise your safety and other people’s, but you could also end up getting a ticket or getting into an accident, which both impact auto insurance premiums. Insure all your vehicles with us. The math is simple: the more vehicles you insure with your insurer, the more you save. Reduce coverage on older vehicles. If you own an older car that’s not worth repairing, consider removing the Collision and Comprehensive coverages. Consider a usage-based driving program. Sign up for a usage-based driving program. You could receive an additional discount on your premium for having good driving habits. Get informed! ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ This email is insulting. I don’t have time to rant on about the Ontario insurance industry, which is known for collusion and corruption, but here are some key points to consider before sending messages like this to your clients. 1) Neither my wife nor I are distracted drivers, so why are our premiums increasing for a second consecutive year? Make the offenders pay more. 2) We don’t drive expensive to repair vehicles. Increase premiums for the wealthy who drive expensive cars. 3) We are claims and conviction free, yet we continue to be penalized financially. 4) Why is our home insurance also increasing significantly for the second year consecutively? 4) For what it is worth, I registered a complaint with the Insurance Ombudsman. I certainly hope Desjardins improves their client-retention marketing and communication strategies. We’ll be shopping around for our renewal unless Desjardin significantly improves their offering.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Ruining a Credit

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kt Jan 31, 2019
My credit is ruined! I was with this company for 5 years and last year I had 2 no fault accidents in the entire 5 years of being with them. It took 2 months to get my vehicle fixed, which was very inconvenient living out of the city. At the end of the year, I was told they are cancelling my insurance because of too many claims. Firstly, I was not at fault and secondly, now this is on my record making me look like a bad customer which has now ruined my credit line with other insurances being charged ridiculous prices!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Not worthy of one star

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by NoMoreLies Jan 29, 2019
I have never, in the history of all my insurable (in Ontario) life, ever had to deal with such a deceptive, crooked and dishonest company like Desjardins. Ever since they took over from State Farm I've had nothing but hassles dealing with them. It's brutally clear that they have no intentions of providing the service (the paying customer) that's expected. I will definitely be looking for a new insurance provider pronto. Don't waste your time believing their lies. Look elsewhere!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Worst company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Giokras Jan 29, 2019
They have ruined my life. Mentally and physically. I had an accident on Dec 29, 2018, still no settlement. The adjuster given to me has been the worst person I have ever dealt with in my life. She ignores my calls, ignores my voicemails, ignores my emails. I am now in contact with the CLO Complaints Liaison Officers. I was not at fault during the accident. They provided me with an offer, a ridiculous offer for my 2010 BMW. They made an odometer reading mistake - they added 50k km to my vehicles odometer and tried to pay me out based on additional 50k. They tried to scam me. Thank god I noticed that scam they tried to make towards me because if I didn’t, I would have lost a lot of money on my car!! ALWAYS CHECK YOUR DOCUMENTS BECAUSE THEY WILL TRY TO SCAM YOU IN ANY WAY THEY CAN. I am now waiting on a settlement amount based on my actual kms. Stay away from this company, stay away, save yourself the anger, the frustration and stress.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Insurance Company ever!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by 12345 Dec 25, 2018
It's been 8 years that I was using this insurance company. Never in 8 years I got into an accident or any claim. In October 2018 I got into an accident at no fault. It was a very minor accident. It took 1 and a half month to fix my car. Finally got my car fixed. After a month I was travelling out of the country and wanted to put my car on storage. And I came to know that this company is about to cancel my policy because they wanted some documents signed from me. And I never received any documents due to Canada post strike. And I called them, I told them I never got any document from you yet, so finally they were like okay, you can download that document online. I was like ok, no problem, I will fill this and send over to you guys. After another week I got a letter saying that they cannot renew my policy because they never got the document. So I was speaking to an agent, I explained her I am going out of the country within 4 days. There is a Canada post strike going, you should be getting that soon. So that agent replied me saying, I am sorry "we are not Canada post, Canada post strike is not our problem". So I said ok, so am I responsible for Canada post strike? This company sucks, the agents have no respect towards a customer. They hang up on you when you demand to speak with a manager. This company is a useless piece of crap. Agents are extremely rude, no respect, no sense of responsibility towards the customers. I would suggest everybody never ever go with this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

STAY AWAY STAY AWAY STAY AWAY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by CharlesJJ Dec 21, 2018
This insurance company now posing as “State Farm” is malicious and god awful. Stay away as far as possible. I had a horrible advisor for claims, who has a short temper and a criminal record; still working for Desjardins. He took over two months to look at my vehicle and I was left without a car for 8 months. He threatened to not pay and cover for ANYTHING (rental, parking, car) due to the fact that I was catching him in his lies and insurance antics. All until I spoke with his manager and stated that I was going to sue them. They will try to exclude things in accidents to save themselves every penny possible. THEY WILL PLAY DUMB AND MAKE THINGS CONFUSING. NEVER TAKE THE FIRST OFFER. Be persistent if you care about your vehicle. Make them pay for everything. Include things that weren’t even a part of the accident to make them pay. They deserve it. I’ve been paying insurance for 10 years and on my first accident they can barely cough up $3000. They ended up paying $36,000 in repair parts + rental car fees + workshop parking + labour because they were too stubborn to believe that my car (a 2016 AUDI A8) was a write-off; initially OFFERING ME A $3000 ESTIMATE. This insurance company DOES NOT follow the forgiveness accident policy that State Farm adopts; and if you are with State Farm, YOUR INSURANCE WILL INCREASE DRAMATICALLY. EVEN IF THE ACCIDENTS WERE NOT YOUR FAULT! STAY AWAY.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Extremely slow claim process.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by tthin Nov 22, 2018
Let's say I could build a whole damn car and total it and build it again and this insurance company still wouldn't have an estimate done. My beloved Subi was involved in an accident and today marks the 40th day and still no estimate done. I would suggest staying away from this insurance company. Absolutely no regard for customers injuries or their property. My best friends got in an accident and had an estimate in under 3 days. This is a damn estimate we are talking about, I'm not even talking about getting my car fixed, a DAMN ESTIMATE!!! Had to give a 1 star because that's how low this scale goes. My poor car deserved better, not to mention, the other driver was found at 100% fault.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Nobody cares about your claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kuldeepak Nov 19, 2018
It is almost month for my claim but I have no update. I did complain to the manager but it seems like nobody cares about your claim. Very bad customer service. I will not recommend it to you guys.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Never go with these scammers!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dean Nov 01, 2018
Charge a hefty cancellation fee! More than 1K, just for cancelling auto insurance. Never indicate in advance their insurance is indeed a contract with heavy fees to break! Worst insurance to deal with
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

ABSOLUTELY THE WORST COMPANY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DESPAIR Oct 16, 2018
DESJARDINS - ABSOLUTELY THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER EVER EVER HAD TO DEAL WITH. I was in an accident January 2018 - 10 months later, I am still fighting with them to pay some of the repairs. They keep saying yes, yes we agree to pay a certain amount but yet 10 months later still no money from them. I just got fed up and wanted my truck fixed before winter, so I ended up just paying for repairs myself. I was granted massage therapy and physiotherapy after this accident, which I used up. Now I am fighting with them to simply close my claim so that I can move on and be done with them once and for all. The massage and physiotherapy offices have been trying to get ahold of them for months now too and finalize my claim and to close my file. To make matters worse, I can not get coverage with a new insurance until the claim is CLOSED with Desjardins
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

WORSE INSURANCE EVER

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by despaired Sep 15, 2018
DO NOT GO with these people. Desjardins \ Certas auto insurance is bad bad bad. I swerved my truck off the road due to a very bad snow storm with extremely slippery roads and low visibility. My truck ended up being sandwiched between an ice bank and the side guardrail. My front bumper completely cracked and falling off, front grill pushed in and front tow hook bent. Left bumper completely scraped by the ice bank. When the accident occurred it was very dark out, no street lights. Therefore I could not see all the damages. When I filed my claim online that evening, I failed to report ALL the damages. I had my truck towed to a nearby garage and left it there for the night. I was also injured. Severe whiplash. I couldn't get to the garage to look at my truck until a few days later. Once I saw the actual damages to my truck, I called Desjardins to make an adjustment to my claim and damages. At 1st the adjuster seemed very helpful. But once I received the paperwork via mail, I noticed a very big mistake. The damages in my accident had been split into two separate claims thus charging me two separate 500$ deductibles. I called Desjardins / Certas back to re-explain the situation. Again, the adjuster seemed empathetic and wanting to help. She said the checks were already sent out separately but she would fix the notes to say that all the damages were subject to the same claim and that I would only be liable for one 500$ deductible. She gives me the ok to proceed with the repairs. I then take my truck to a body shop. They give me a quote that exceeded way beyond what Desjardins / Certas paid me for damages. Desjardins / Certas convinced me to send back the original checks they gave me so that they can then start the process over putting all the damages under one claim with only one 500$ deductible. I stupidly comply and send back the checks. Next thing I know, the body shop is telling me the Desjardins / Certas is refusing their appraisal and offering me even less money than before to cover the damages. Needless to say, this accident happened in January 2018, 8 MONTHS LATER, I AM STILL FIGHTING with my Desjardins / Certas to have them cover the entire damages minus the 500$ deductible. To make matters worse, during this gruelling ongoing process they have switched me over to 5 different adjusters. As I said at the top, DESJARDINS \ CERTAS AUTO INSURANCE - WORST COMPANY EVER!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Arrogant /Brainless behavior

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Desjardin Bullying Costumers Sep 13, 2018
I am insured to drive occasionally my sister's and brother-in-law's cars. I am going to move soon to another city, so I gave my car to my sister so she can be the owner, she can sell it or do whatever she wants with it. She wanted to put me on her insurance for this car, so until I move away I can have a car to drive sometimes if I need, but ARROGANT and (I am not saying this to offend this guy) STUPID ( literally stupid I am not kidding) Desjardin representative told me I can't be insured for this car, he is not going to put me in insurance for this car... AND I am still insured for the first two cars????!!!!! HOW???? That made us angry and we found better insurance, much cheaper and I am registered without extra cost. So my advice is don't use Desjardin and keep calling other insurances to check your options.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?