Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Desjardins Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

(113 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
66,582
consumers
(1.4 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Just Worst

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by CM Sep 10, 2019
I am a new driver here in Canada, I just arrived here last April 2019. A friend of mine gave me her old Toyota Corolla, and to be able to register this car under my name and to have a licence plate, I need to have car insurance first. So here we go: August 2 - I went to their website to get an online quote. I found the price of premium reasonable so I called their hotline to finalize my quote. Right after my conversation with their agent/staff, they sent me an email asking for the following documentation: Current pictures of the vehicle, VIN and odometer showing the actual mileage, my driver's licence and a copy of Used Vehicle Information Package (UVIP) from Service Ontario. August 9 - I already gathered all the required documents and saved it in a compressed folder (.zip file) and sent it to Uwops@dgig.ca (Underwriting Department). I DID NOT receive any confirmation that they received my email so after a few days, I called them and they did tell me that they received my email and told me to wait up to 14 business days for my application to be processed. August 20 - "Wait up to 14 business days" doesn't mean that it will take exactly 14 days to process, right? So I called them again just to know the status of my application and to my disappointment, the staff said that there was a remark on their system that they couldn't open my file as it was in .zip file. THEY SHOULD'VE RESPOND to my email in the first place and told me that they can't open it so I can resend it individually. BUT THEY DID NOT. It took 11 days before I knew that they can't open my files. So I resent the files that day. I called them several times like every after 3 days to know the status of my application or if they've already seen my email. And they said that the last remark was the same "file couldn't open" meaning they don't bother opening their emails. September 3 - I called AGAIN and the staff said the same thing but this staff assisted me nicely and that's the only time my files got a stamp "received" and told me to wait until 14 business days from the day I resent them. I resent those files on August 20, so today, September 10 is the 14th-day mark. TODAY, September 10 - I called them again and they said that THEY WILL CALL ME after 14 business days from the day they put a stamp on my files. So that would be 14 business days STARTING FROM SEPTEMBER 3! So I have to wait again for at least 2 weeks. I've applied to other companies as well. I'm just so PISSED and DISAPPOINTED with Desjardins. Do NOT engage with them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

WORST INSURANCE COMPANY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by B singh Sep 10, 2019
WORST INSURANCE COMPANY. Told me that my insurance will be cancelled on Aug 22. Before cancelling I talk to an agent and clear everything. Amount due, cancellation date so I can buy a new one but again on Sep 9 they deduct 350 dollars. My original insurance was 296.acc to them and they charge $ 56 2 days. Customer service - they don’t know how to talk, behave rudely, and talk non-sense...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Crystal Sep 08, 2019
I have had ongoing problems with Desjardins since State Farm was bought out by them. From switching locations for my service, to billing me without informing me of withdrawal from my account, to sending me notification and then not withdrawing the amount and sending me phone calls & letters suggesting that I was not submitting payments properly, then cancelling my insurance for no reason ... Well, the reason stated was ‘non-complaisance with payment conditions’ when they were the ones messing up my payment withdrawals, not to mention I had paid the full year in advance and they were cancelling my insurance with 6 months remaining and already paid for. Not professional, scammers. Do not wish the stress I’ve had with this company on anyone.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Desjardins is the worst

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by kaimcv Aug 19, 2019
I had two policies with them. Told me there were no cancellation fees. Increased my premiums MASSIVELY so I went shopping elsewhere. Then had to shell out almost $700 for cancelling my policy. Asked the person on the phone for the math of how they calculated the fee and the response was "the computer just spits out a number" so organized! Never ever going back to this place.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nicki Jul 30, 2019
I tried to get a quote from different companies. Dejardins had the best price for me, so I decided to go with that. They asked me for a lot of documents (which other companies never asked for) and explained that it was because of the area I lived in. I sent everything to them within hours, let them know that it's urgent. I was told it might take a couple of days...It took them 2 weeks!!! My quote was declined because "carfax report is more than a year old", which was not true. During this waiting period, I was calling and emailing them, asking what I could do to make the process go faster. It seemed like my agent didn't even care. I found a different company online, got my quote and purchased insurance within 15 minutes max. No extra pictures or papers required. Dejardins has terrible customer service. If you see bad reviews, trust them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Increase in premium

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nathalie Jul 10, 2019
I have been with Desjardins for over 10 years, and my rates have been dropping steadily when keeping the same car. However, this year when my insurance was up for renewal, my rate went up by a whole 34% for the year. I contacted customer service, and they did not know what to tell me other than the area where I live rating was the cause. I have had zero claims or tickets, but yet they increased my premium by such a large amount instead of dropping! I have now cancelled all my policies from this greedy company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cancellation

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Monica Jul 10, 2019
I haven't been insured with this company for 2 months yet. No email sent to me about my cancellation. Was only concerned for money amount owed. No explanation of why the huge amount is being taken out. Bad customer service. Zero-rating given.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Twisted words

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mama Jun 08, 2019
Untruthful... It took forever to get renewal doc emailed called several times... Realize about 40% increased our auto saving claims on the type of brand in our postal code area... Then changed their excuses to use all non-fault no claim accidents. My words twisted on a report lied I have 5 ACCIDENTS when verified the rep just tried to skip, talk over me.....Very bad experience... Not worth my time, money and energy anymore.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Good until you file a claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by John Jun 02, 2019
I have been with state farm insurance for over three years now which was taken over by dejardins recently. Both home and auto insurance are from desjardins. The rate is good until I had a claim recently. I got rear ended and wasn’t at fault. Customer service was worst than you can think of. Andrew, the assigned adjuster, had only talked to me twice. The first one was when he introduced himself as my adjuster and the second time was when I already complaint for not getting any update about my case. Its gonna take you over 20mins every time to get through their line, and never had really given me the right information about how the process will move forward. You have to constantly call them to get an update. My entire experience with them was more stressful than the accident itself! I dont also feel like I am being represented properly. Worst customer service. I asked to talk to a manager so I could relay my feedback how bad they handled my claim - but NOBODY returned my call! What a shame! Clearly they don’t value their customers. I will never recommend desjardins to any of my friends, and all I can recall from this company is the worst experience I had with them
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

8 year customer

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Yikes in Pickering May 29, 2019
Terrible customer service and would not address my concerns when I called customer service numerous times. Manager encouraged me to look elsewhere for insurance so I took them up on their offer and ended up saving over 400$ per year. Had both autos and home insurance with them; saved on both. Learned later that they had not rated me for many of the discounts that I could have received including winter tires, low KM's driven and they inexplicably had me down as using one of the vehicles for business use- all wrong. Was paying higher than I should have for over 2 years- they could not have cared less. Terrible claims experience too, was willing to ignore that and stay with them, but changed my mind after this last experience
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by John May 25, 2019
Gave them all my information on my driving record and got a premium. Two weeks later my premium goes up to $60 a month because they have apparently found new information that they weren’t aware of. Don’t get insurance from these scum bags
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

NEVER EVER USE THIS COMPANY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by fed up May 21, 2019
We had an accident on April 19, 2019, I can't get any answer from this company what so ever, they want us to take the rental back but they haven't even told us what our truck is worth, they are not returning any calls. We had been with State Farm for over 30 years then they sold to these people and even our agent can't get any info on our claim... We are now being sued by the cleanup company which is supposed to be paid by our insurance but that's not happening either and no one is returning any calls worst service EVER, it has been over a month and no one lets us know what is going on...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cancelled my insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pat May 11, 2019
They cancelled my insurance because of a communication error about the transfer of my plates from Ontario to Quebec. I forwarded them the proof that it was done, and they said: "we didn't get it, there are other forms of communication blah blah blah...." The lady told me to e-mail the proof! Anyway, the customer service is ridiculous, and now I will likely have to pay higher premiums somewhere else because of them. Go somewhere else!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

1 star is too much "horrible"

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bigb May 08, 2019
They are a complete joke, if you have a claim on your car watch out, they will push you to use their preferred garage that has a deal with them. Furthermore, they use a third party appraiser that's hired strictly to low ball you. The ultimate goal is profit at the expense of the customers. Please take my advice and do your homework, the shops in my area refuse to work with them. Ontario government should step-in CROOKS.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Claim experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by sunkara May 06, 2019
Unfortunately, I was involved in an accident on March 29 and I have approached this insurance company to follow the claim procedures. They take forever to come up with a report or disburse the check. It is more than a month now and I don't have a result yet. I advise you not to go with this company EVER
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

dishonest

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ripped off May 05, 2019
After doing hoops to get a bare minimum quote for decals I emailed the adjuster and he refused to give me the minimum $500 he promised and told me to drive out of town and get it done. I told him the quote was just what I got from the nearest decal shop and not the real cost which would be much more. I did not get my $500. As well my $14000 new car with replacement insurance had $11,000 damage but they would not replace it so now I can't even sell it.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Safety and 65% increase!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Raja J Apr 09, 2019
My insurance was cancelled while I was travelling. I received no email or text of this happening. I only found out after coming home and reading my mail. Had I not seen my mail prior to driving I could have hit someone or killed someone with no insurance! When I tried to reinstate my insurance they raised it 65%! They don't care they are putting public safety at risk or see any validity that they are part of the problem by not updating their system.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Buyers beware

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ally Apr 02, 2019
Desjardins Insurance, in general, is horrible. I cannot wait to get away from them. You get what you pay for cheap rates for uneducated, horrible, lazy service. I do not recommend Desjardins insurance to anyone. They just want your money, they don’t even bother to help although they make it seem like it and help with minor things. I have even spoken to people who’ve had their insurance and has gone up yearly for no reason, amongst other issues I’ve heard from others. Please do your research before picking an insurance company. If you’re getting great service and help, it’s worth that little extra money because it’s gonna save you in the long run
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Insurance keeps going up.

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Unsatisfied Mar 18, 2019
I've never had a claim or ticket. Been a customer for 5 years. My insurance goes up every year. I am switching to another company in May.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Worst company Ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cameroking Mar 13, 2019
I have auto insurance with them, my car was hit by another vehicle and damaged, I asked if I could get the insurance payout to my name as it was gonna be around 6500 and most of that was for labour cost, so I told them I wanted to fix the vehicle myself and they said: yes. Two other people told me yes - now they are running me around saying they can't when it's not even their money, it's the other guy's insurance that will be paying on top of that. They wanted to charge the 1000 deductible when it was not my fault. Bunch of losers, thinking they can tell me what to do with my money. And the reason I did not want to take it to the shop is they kept it an extra week before and did a crappy job at fixing it. They better resolve and give me my money or I'm suing them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Tried 2 get Quote and ran away

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Ronz Mar 08, 2019
I tried to get a quote from these guys and I ran away with my life. I am used to dealing with professional insurance agents (like TD). The customer service team was totally unprofessional, intimidating and disrespectful, felt like I was in front of their house begging for something. If the quoting process is this frustrating, I can't imagine how the claim process works. They rudely interrupted me and hung up the call without a proper closing.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Great!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rox Feb 16, 2019
I've been insured with this company for as long as I can remember and they are AMAZING. The customer service is outstanding and they ALWAYS help, no matter what you need. I’ve never once, not ONCE had a poor experience with these people. I was shocked they didn't have a higher rating, I will never go anywhere else. They are 5-star all the way!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Really deceptive agents

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Maximus Feb 15, 2019
They gave me a quote for $1900 and as soon as I signed, the quote was raised to $2880. And then the crazy part was when they told me they don’t remember giving me the quote. And then they got me with a $215 cancellation fee. I don’t recommend this company to anybody out there.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Insurance premium increase

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Steve Feb 13, 2019
They unbelievably contacted me to justify their increases. Below are their communications and my response: The statistics tell the story. There are several factors that impact the premiums Canadian drivers pay today. Here are some facts and stats to help you better understand: Distracted driving has become a widespread problem across Canada; there’s more distraction on the roads than ever. Distracted driving is one of the leading causes of fatal collisions Canada-wide and is responsible for a greater percentage of road fatalities than impaired driving. Drivers who text while driving are 23 times more likely to be involved in a car accident or near-crash situation. While vehicles are technologically more advanced and do a great job of keeping Canadians safe, their high tech components are also more expensive to repair, which contributes to increased claims costs. A simple fender bender now costs thousands of dollars to fix, which was not the case before. 4 tips to help keep your premium down. Even if you have little control over the stats and facts stated above, there are ways to be proactive! Take a look at the tips below to help lower your auto insurance premium. Stay claims and conviction-free. To this day, being a careful and focused driver remains the best way to avoid an accident. Not only can distracted driving compromise your safety and other people’s, but you could also end up getting a ticket or getting into an accident, which both impact auto insurance premiums. Insure all your vehicles with us. The math is simple: the more vehicles you insure with your insurer, the more you save. Reduce coverage on older vehicles. If you own an older car that’s not worth repairing, consider removing the Collision and Comprehensive coverages. Consider a usage-based driving program. Sign up for a usage-based driving program. You could receive an additional discount on your premium for having good driving habits. Get informed! ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ This email is insulting. I don’t have time to rant on about the Ontario insurance industry, which is known for collusion and corruption, but here are some key points to consider before sending messages like this to your clients. 1) Neither my wife nor I are distracted drivers, so why are our premiums increasing for a second consecutive year? Make the offenders pay more. 2) We don’t drive expensive to repair vehicles. Increase premiums for the wealthy who drive expensive cars. 3) We are claims and conviction free, yet we continue to be penalized financially. 4) Why is our home insurance also increasing significantly for the second year consecutively? 4) For what it is worth, I registered a complaint with the Insurance Ombudsman. I certainly hope Desjardins improves their client-retention marketing and communication strategies. We’ll be shopping around for our renewal unless Desjardin significantly improves their offering.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Ruining a Credit

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kt Jan 31, 2019
My credit is ruined! I was with this company for 5 years and last year I had 2 no fault accidents in the entire 5 years of being with them. It took 2 months to get my vehicle fixed, which was very inconvenient living out of the city. At the end of the year, I was told they are cancelling my insurance because of too many claims. Firstly, I was not at fault and secondly, now this is on my record making me look like a bad customer which has now ruined my credit line with other insurances being charged ridiculous prices!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Not worthy of one star

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by NoMoreLies Jan 29, 2019
I have never, in the history of all my insurable (in Ontario) life, ever had to deal with such a deceptive, crooked and dishonest company like Desjardins. Ever since they took over from State Farm I've had nothing but hassles dealing with them. It's brutally clear that they have no intentions of providing the service (the paying customer) that's expected. I will definitely be looking for a new insurance provider pronto. Don't waste your time believing their lies. Look elsewhere!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Giokras Jan 29, 2019
They have ruined my life. Mentally and physically. I had an accident on Dec 29, 2018, still no settlement. The adjuster given to me has been the worst person I have ever dealt with in my life. She ignores my calls, ignores my voicemails, ignores my emails. I am now in contact with the CLO Complaints Liaison Officers. I was not at fault during the accident. They provided me with an offer, a ridiculous offer for my 2010 BMW. They made an odometer reading mistake - they added 50k km to my vehicles odometer and tried to pay me out based on additional 50k. They tried to scam me. Thank god I noticed that scam they tried to make towards me because if I didn’t, I would have lost a lot of money on my car!! ALWAYS CHECK YOUR DOCUMENTS BECAUSE THEY WILL TRY TO SCAM YOU IN ANY WAY THEY CAN. I am now waiting on a settlement amount based on my actual kms. Stay away from this company, stay away, save yourself the anger, the frustration and stress.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Worst Insurance Company ever!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by 12345 Dec 25, 2018
It's been 8 years that I was using this insurance company. Never in 8 years I got into an accident or any claim. In October 2018 I got into an accident at no fault. It was a very minor accident. It took 1 and a half month to fix my car. Finally got my car fixed. After a month I was travelling out of the country and wanted to put my car on storage. And I came to know that this company is about to cancel my policy because they wanted some documents signed from me. And I never received any documents due to Canada post strike. And I called them, I told them I never got any document from you yet, so finally they were like okay, you can download that document online. I was like ok, no problem, I will fill this and send over to you guys. After another week I got a letter saying that they cannot renew my policy because they never got the document. So I was speaking to an agent, I explained her I am going out of the country within 4 days. There is a Canada post strike going, you should be getting that soon. So that agent replied me saying, I am sorry "we are not Canada post, Canada post strike is not our problem". So I said ok, so am I responsible for Canada post strike? This company sucks, the agents have no respect towards a customer. They hang up on you when you demand to speak with a manager. This company is a useless piece of crap. Agents are extremely rude, no respect, no sense of responsibility towards the customers. I would suggest everybody never ever go with this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

STAY AWAY STAY AWAY STAY AWAY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by CharlesJJ Dec 21, 2018
This insurance company now posing as “State Farm” is malicious and god awful. Stay away as far as possible. I had a horrible advisor for claims, who has a short temper and a criminal record; still working for Desjardins. He took over two months to look at my vehicle and I was left without a car for 8 months. He threatened to not pay and cover for ANYTHING (rental, parking, car) due to the fact that I was catching him in his lies and insurance antics. All until I spoke with his manager and stated that I was going to sue them. They will try to exclude things in accidents to save themselves every penny possible. THEY WILL PLAY DUMB AND MAKE THINGS CONFUSING. NEVER TAKE THE FIRST OFFER. Be persistent if you care about your vehicle. Make them pay for everything. Include things that weren’t even a part of the accident to make them pay. They deserve it. I’ve been paying insurance for 10 years and on my first accident they can barely cough up $3000. They ended up paying $36,000 in repair parts + rental car fees + workshop parking + labour because they were too stubborn to believe that my car (a 2016 AUDI A8) was a write-off; initially OFFERING ME A $3000 ESTIMATE. This insurance company DOES NOT follow the forgiveness accident policy that State Farm adopts; and if you are with State Farm, YOUR INSURANCE WILL INCREASE DRAMATICALLY. EVEN IF THE ACCIDENTS WERE NOT YOUR FAULT! STAY AWAY.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Extremely slow claim process.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by tthin Nov 22, 2018
Let's say I could build a whole damn car and total it and build it again and this insurance company still wouldn't have an estimate done. My beloved Subi was involved in an accident and today marks the 40th day and still no estimate done. I would suggest staying away from this insurance company. Absolutely no regard for customers injuries or their property. My best friends got in an accident and had an estimate in under 3 days. This is a damn estimate we are talking about, I'm not even talking about getting my car fixed, a DAMN ESTIMATE!!! Had to give a 1 star because that's how low this scale goes. My poor car deserved better, not to mention, the other driver was found at 100% fault.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?