Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Allstate Auto Insurance Reviews

(117 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
54,816
consumers
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Don't be fooled by Allstate

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by CalWestCustomer Mar 19, 2019
You'll get what you paid for. Try to make a claim, your adjuster will never respond to you within a reasonable time frame. Try to talk to a manager to complain - good luck, they put you on hold and disconnect you after 20 or 30 minutes waiting on the phone. It's a horrible experience dealing with Allstate
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

It increases me by 30%!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Herman D Mar 15, 2019
It is been 2 years as Allstate’s customer. In the meantime, I didn't have any accidents or tickets. I always have a very low premium (Premium for 2 cars $192/m, & housing $41/m), because I have a good driving record for more than 20 years. However, the renewed auto premium will be $255/m, and housing $55/m, the increase is more than 30%. In the next contract year, I will have to pay $900 more than last year! That is too much for me!!! More than this, when I came to talk with one of Allstate business representatives, his attitude is very impatient, he was unwilling to explain any reasons to me, but said: “You can consult other insurance companies online, your premium is already the lowest!” Yes, I know, my premium is low, but that is not Allstate gives me, it is the result of years of careful driving. Is it the reason that my premium should be increased in this way? Is it fair? Under such circumstances, I had to choose to leave Allstate immediately, because that company is probably jealous of a customer who has a low premium and a good record.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very bad experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Madan N Mar 11, 2019
I am really upset with this Company. It cheated me by raising the insurance without any notice and the reason it gave is that I added a new vehicle. When I asked for adding a new vehicle, they did not explain anything to me, but when they deducted money from my credit card, I came to know that they took more money which I had never imagined. I cancelled the policy in time, but they did not cancel it. After two weeks, they cancelled my policy. Even I did not claim the refund as I had already paid money for two more weeks from the termination date. They now send a letter asking for money. I would never refer this Company to anyone in the future.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Bad Services

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by yoraima Mar 11, 2019
The person who answered me via phone left me talking on my own. Very bad services, and very expensive in comparison with others.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Auto Insurance

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Sedon Feb 20, 2019
1) I was given an Adjuster name and they were to contact me within 48hrs. I was not contacted and so, therefore, I had to contact them. 2) I have a rental through insurance. Estimated time for my vehicle to be fixed was on Feb.15/19 and I had to return rental then. Miscommunication error between Allstate and dealership and my vehicle will not be ready on Feb.15/19. I informed Allstate Feb.13/19 about this and that I will not return my rental. I was not advised about any out of pocket charges to me if I don't return the rental. Why should I be charged? Why should I return my rental when my vehicle has not been fixed yet?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

shop elsewhereTOOexpensive

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by lionesspm Jan 24, 2019
Never had a claim, same car, same address, but still 1000.00 more than a competitor. Shop around - you'd rather spend the difference on a vacation. I'm sure, and still, have full insurance. I cannot believe they are still in business.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Johnny Jan 12, 2019
They have no experience and customer service was very rude. I had my car accident and was towed to a facility and they were taking so long to fix it and took my rental away and had me stranded without a car and then told me it was a total loss. Took weeks to get my money to buy another car. Note ..careful with the towing and storage because I was lucky enough to take my car to my favourite shop. They didn’t want to pay the repair shop for towing and storage when they decided to pick up the car. They sent them to court and trying to use a bailiff to pick up the car without paying the repair shop. After speaking to few of my friends and friends of friends, it seems like a routine for them because they leave the cars at storage yards and forget about it and then they have guy in charge of towing and storage, he has a deal with a law company and they send notices and force the individuals to release the cars without paying. The place I go to fix my car tells me he is trying to avoid contact with Allstate insurance period. But when it comes to regular customers insured through Allstate, he has no choice and has to go through all the stress. By the way, I was not charged for towing or storage ..insurance paid the bill after reducing the bill to half, I was really sorry for the tow driver and the company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

zero stars from me

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Terrible company Dec 06, 2018
Terrible customer service, completely unprofessional. We have been with Allstate for 7 years, we have 2 vehicles and our home insurance with them. This past April we had our first claim which wasn’t even our fault ( husband got rear-ended) and the other person involved had some road rage trying to rip our car door open to pull my husband out. There was a witness who saw the whole thing. It is now December and we are just now getting our vehicle fixed, there was a HUGE lack of communication. I had called numerous times leaving numerous messages and nothing returned. Every time you call them it says they aren’t at their desk and to leave a message but they won’t return it. The one and only time she answered, she told me emailing is better and she will get back to emails faster. So when we needed to find something out 'cause no one was ever calling us to update us, we would email. Never got any responses. I’d have to call and speak to a receptionist, who couldn’t always answer my questions. I have an email dating back to early Oct. that has yet to be answered. Anyways, our cause has been in the shop now for a week and a half and we were just informed by the shop that they found more damage for the 2nd time now (they originally told us 4 days), now it won’t be ready till Dec 13 at least. So we called Allstate because we weren’t provided with a rental call from the other person's insurance company even though they claimed full responsibility for the accident.. and of course, they couldn’t get ahold of anyone we needed to speak too. So we happened to be driving by an Allstate location on our way home ( and by the way we are missing out on work as we don’t work close to each other or the same shifts, so one of us is always working less hours a day than we normally would, so we are losing money every day, we don’t have a second vehicle). Anyways, we stopped at the Allstate, after waiting 20 mins to see someone, who turned out to be the manager, we asked a few questions and voiced our concerns on our claims advisor never returning calls or emails, where she pretty much laughed in our faces and told us they don’t need our business. They told us that the other insurance company denied us for a rental care because it was a road rage incident. What doesn’t make sense is that it was their client that had the road rage and like I said earlier, there was a witness. Allstate won’t fight for us for a car. After finding out we pay all this money for our insurance company to do nothing for us and treat us like we did something wrong right from the beginning in April we were frustrated and told them that this is embarrassing and their company is embarrassing. We were asked to leave, which with no hesitation we did. When I got just about out the door, I turned around and asked for the lady's name, she told me her first name then proceed to push me hard, I asked a second time and stated I wanted her last name so I could report her, she never said anything but then pushed me again very hard. We then left. Do not use Allstate as your insurance company, they are very unprofessional and do not treat their clients well nor do they fight for us
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Allstate, untrustfull.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by fpuello Dec 04, 2018
Recently I changed from another insurance provider to Allstate, where they were supposed to offer me a better premium for my auto and home insurance. After discussing with the agent the best options to match and improve what I had with my previous insurance company, we came up to an agreement and I signed a contract for one year. The monthly premium for the auto was $232 and for the home $51. At the time of contract signature, I had to pay first and last month, both for home and auto. After the first month, the automatic debit came up with $253 and $53. When I contacted the customer service rep to find out why the difference, he just told me that the underwriter changed the policy and that there is nothing he can do about it. I also asked about the difference in the home premium and just mentioned that there is a 4% fee for setting up the policy. It is not the difference of $2 in the monthly premium what makes me upset, but the lack of transparency not disclosing hidden fees. I don't like surprises. Now with these increases, I am paying more than I was paying with the previous insurance company. I am very disappointed with this company as they do not honour the agreed contract, but also do not disclose hidden fees. I would not recommend Allstate to anyone and will move away from them forever as soon as I can, without having to pay a penalty. If they trick and lie to you at the time of signing you as a new customer, I don't want to imagine what it will take to make a claim. If you can, look at other options in the market before signing up with Allstate.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Absolute Joke of a Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PissedoffInsured Nov 27, 2018
I wish I had read the numerous negative reviews here before choosing Allstate/Pembridge. We had one claim in our 10-year history with the company and they treated us like absolute garbage. No reply from the adjuster after 3 weeks! No reply from his manager, no reply from anyone. They give us a completely unfair settlement offer as our car was written off and then tell us they can’t do anything and that I have to hire an independent appraiser. Did that, and the appraiser gave a more reasonable value for the car. Then they begin to dispute our appraiser's report and say the report is not relevant. I really wish I could give 0 stars for this company because that is truly what they deserve.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Company

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by shannan Nov 16, 2018
This company is the worst insurance company. I have been dealing with them since August and have nothing but bad experiences. They are ripping me off and are absolutely ridiculous and rude about on top of it. I didn't receive a package with my slips or information. Had to call and ask for it. Then, when it didn't come for another 3 months (where I called every few weeks asking for it), I went in and got treated very poorly. He kept saying, well, what do you want me to ... like, do your job! Then I added another vehicle. Again, a month later, no slips, didn't even receive temporary slips. Had to call and request those too!! Still, have not received any proper slips!! They are extremely rude and unhelpful!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Bad experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ildi Nov 06, 2018
We had an accident on the 3rd of October, today is the 5th of November. Our car is still in front of the house. Nothing happened with it yet. We can’t get hold of the adjuster. The worst experience ever. Our monthly payment went up already at $100 but with our car nothing has happened. If you can back to me, that would be great, thank you.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stay away

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Grenouille Oct 21, 2018
Allstate driver hit me. He was at fault, they are trying to pay only 20%. I had my insurance repair my car, it’s been over 2 months and it will go to attribution, could take another 4 months to settle. They are a terrible company to deal with, stay away
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

UNORGAINIZED

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy customer Sep 05, 2018
These people are unorganized and inconsistent. They don’t know how to do their job properly nor are they accommodating. TERRIBLE.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Money grabber

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Qh Jun 18, 2018
Absolute money grabber. Raises rate by 40% in the 2nd year even though I had no claims.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Careless with your information

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Joe P Apr 11, 2018
The Allstate Insurance agency in Bethlehem, PA prepared a quote for my home and auto policies. It had all the personal information you would expect in such a quote. Then they sent it to the wrong email address. They confirmed this when I called to find out where the emailed quote was. Then they tried to cover by saying it didn't get sent after they had said that it did. I asked for the insurance agent's license number. They would not answer that. Allstate Insurance, careless with your information, careful with theirs.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Unprofessional

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tima Apr 03, 2018
My father, whom I’m a guarantor for, has been driving for 35 years. He has never had a car accident before. This year was his first not at fault accident. Tom C., a person who works at the collision department, offered my father an unreasonable Offer for his vehicle that was involved in the collision. My father refused the offer, but Tom C. still mailed the check. I have been calling him and leaving him messages several times, but Tom C. never returns my phone calls. I left a message to his supervisor and I also didn’t get any response back. Very professional. If anyone has Insurance or is thinking to get insurance with Allstate, I advise you not to. Allstate is there to take your money, when it’s time to pay up, they’re not very good at that.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Unhappy Victim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rwadamsjr Mar 31, 2018
My mother, of whom I am the caregiver, was a passenger in a vehicle during a collision. The driver at fault has Allstate Insurance. Allstate refused to pay her medical bills or injuries due to the driver not having business insurance. What is my 72-year-old Mom supposed to do? The driver was transporting her to a center for the disabled when he collided with an 18 wheeler. The Adjuster for Allstate suggested that we use my insurance with Geico to pay the expenses. Really?? My mom is not on my policy, she can’t drive.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Not in good hands

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by lflhdy Mar 16, 2018
You are not in good hands with Allstate. I have had two experiences with them, one being a client and the other being hit by their client. In my opinion, they would rather pay lawyers than take care of their clients. First, when I was a client I had homeowners and full coverage on two vehicles. My wife was rear-ended and when I called, without even hearing the facts, first sentence was "we are not paying for that". After all the hassle, they finally agreed to pay. When going through the repairs, the car needed a new rear bumper. The difference between a new and refurbished bumper was 2 dollars and they would not pay for the new one. Luckily, I only had the car for 6 months and the dealer stepped up and paid the difference. Second time, my wife was t-boned and suffered injuries. They refused to pay anything, fortunately, I had Geico and they stepped in to pay her first 10,000 in medical. After 31/2 years of fighting with them, their lawyers which are top of the line made sure they had to pay nothing. 50,000 in medical, loss of vehicle, and lots of aggravation. Allstate is good at collecting premiums but will not pay claims.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Poor value and Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bad Product Mar 01, 2018
I was an Allstate Hurontario, Mississauga customer for over 5 years. I had no tickets, no accidents and no claims. This year, they informed me my rates were going up 18 to 20%. Reasons for the increase included population increase, older vehicle, and driving at night. I have now renewed my insurance with another company and I am saving over $1000.00 per year.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible customer servie

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lisa1 Feb 24, 2018
I was in a car accident resulting in the other person at fault. The insurance they had was Allstate. What we thought to be an easy-going situation resulted in a terrible experience. The adjuster we were given was horrible. She had no clue what was going on, she never contacted us for days at a time, she was rude when we made conversation, and she told us personally that we were complaining. What kind of adjuster says this to a client? Aren't you supposed to be helping your client rather than hurting them? As a result of this, I have been left without a vehicle and was forced to be stuck with the damaged car for days after the incident. I hope everyone takes this as a wake up call. Allstate is not the insurance you'd want to back you up. You are not in good hands.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

HORRIBLE SERVICE CHEATS

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by beetle Feb 23, 2018
I was rear-ended by an Allstate customer who tore the bumper off my car. The police came to the scene. It took over 2 weeks for them to accept liability for the damages and I had to go to get the police report in order to get them to act at all. The agent was evasive and rude. I was driving a car that should not have been on the street. They would not give me a rental car until day 15 after the accident. Then the car went into the shop and they gave me a rental for 3 days before taking it away. I had to fight to get them to continue the rental. They had not even been to the shop to see my car and approve the estimate...which was $5000 more than what they wrote out!!! (used second-hand parts and only the bumper - nothing like the lights that were gone, the wheel that was damaged, the rear side panel where the gas cap would no longer close) So now the parts are ordered and again they stop the rental. They did not tell me about this. I find out when I get my credit card bill. I called argued...they resist and are still resisting as I picked up my car and left the rental at the shop for the shop to return. ALLSTATE is a horrible company to deal with. They lie and cheat. This might come to a legal battle that I turn over to an attorney for the rental. No way to do business.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible customer experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy customer Feb 11, 2018
My car went through a puddle and my engine got hydro locked, passenger side inner fender got damaged, 2 lights got damaged and stopped working completely, horn got waterlogged and now tone is really low and both fog light lenses got water in them. They sent the appraiser in and he basically said they'd only cover the engine and nothing else all because my trunk had primer on it (as I had literally just fixed a dent in trunk) and my front bumper wasn't painted (old one had a really bad crack in it so I replaced it with a new unpainted one so my car could pass mvi). They basically said in so many words that my car was a piece of junk so I was lucky to get that out of them. Wouldn't recommend Allstate to anyone as they were very unprofessional about the whole thing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Unfair business practices

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by simona Feb 06, 2018
We had a very disappointing experience with Allstate. It is the first time that an insurance company asked us for a 1-month premium upfront (deposit) only to allow pre-authorized monthly payments. Monthly payments are common practice and should not be perceived as a "privilege". In addition, Allstate should be very clear and transparent that the amount is not refundable if the policy is cancelled in the first few months. Given the termination on short basis, the premium also goes up significantly. The collection of money upfront, it is not only unjustified but also unethical, given that the money is very likely invested by Allstate and earning interest that the customers will never see. I would call that a predatory practice.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stay away

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Feb 03, 2018
Worst price ever for a quote...wanted $541.00 a month just bc added two drivers ages 18 & 21 no accidents good student drivers.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

bad experience

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Demi Q Feb 02, 2018
I had an accident three days ago. My car was damaged. I have called them many times and talked with different people. So far no one called me back. I even have a claim number. That means I still have to wait. My life is very inconvenient without car. Here is what Montreal is. Be careful when you want to choose insurance agency.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jan Jan 27, 2018
The worst experience ever. After a car accident which was not my fault they treated me rude, carelessly, ignoring my phone calls, they did not keep me updated with the entire process. Markham office is a nightmare, I had to deal with the adjuster Karyn J and her manager Kristy S, who were totally ignorant, irresponsible, lacking respect, and customer service. It’s been a month since the accident and I still don’t have my car back due to their carelessness. Run away from them, you are not in the “good hands”.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Mad bc ur not doing ur job

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by GO HELP MY GIRLS MOM Jan 25, 2018
Okay, so listen, my girl’s mom has been stuck at a Dillion’s parking lot for about 4 hours now. She has called multiple times to get help from her insurance company, that would be you, and hasn’t gotten any help yet. She has little ones to get Home and feed and she can’t do that now because she has to wait for your slow freaking company to go help her. I don’t know how you expect people to sign up for your insurance if you’re not going to work quickly and effectively. What an embarrassment to the insurance community.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Ripped off for many years

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by Mike Jan 24, 2018
I have been with Allstate Insurance since 1986. I have always had good service from them. For the last 20 or so years, I have had 6 cars, a utility trailer, 2 motorcycles, and 2 homes insured with Allstate. Of course, they always made sure we were aware of all the perks and discounts that we were receiving by having so many vehicles and our homeowners combined. There was never a reason to look outside of Allstate for insurance. I just figured with multiple policies, discounts, etc., that Allstate was the company for me. Boy was I wrong. I just looked into switching to Travelers insurance and I saved almost $3000/year just for the vehicles. That is unbelievable. I figured that I could save a few hundred dollars but $3000? No wonder Allstate provided us with such good service - THEY WERE RIPPING US OFF FOR OVER 20 YEARS. It really does not pay to be a loyal consumer these days. I would not recommend Allstate to anybody. Shame on you Allstate. Let the consumer beware.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

0

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Linda B Jan 19, 2018
It's a good thing I only had a claim for a windshield god forbid not a fire, jeez. I called my Allstate office to report a windshield claim and she gave me an 800 number which I called. After being on hold for over 15 minutes (see what I mean by just a windshield) a guy told me that their system was down and somebody would call me back. 24 hours later still no phone call return (see again what I mean by just a windshield not a fire) and with a 1000 deductible thank god I found a windshield much much cheaper which means they would not have paid a dime so Allstate kiss my behind I will pass the word around how much of a scam you are just like the other insurance companies you are insured for everything EXCEPT what happens to you.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?