Car Insurance Reviews

Allstate Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(179 reviews)
Allstate
1.4 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Cheap Car Insurance?

  • Rates from 20+ insurers
  • Stop overpaying today
  • Save over $500 annually

Get an instant quote

Filter

Most helpfull reviews

Got a new car

by Lisa McArthur on Apr 20, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Got a new car after being with Allstate for 6 years I requested a date to be withdrawn out of my account. They choose 2 days before the date I choose and now every month my insurance bounces they refused to change it because it's a new policy. Cancelled and went somewhere else for half the amount and they are charging me 2x my monthly amount only having the policy for less than a month. Total rip-off! Don't go with these guys!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

The worst insurance

by Abushaza on Apr 11, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I cancelled my insurance due to their broker mistakes and when I called the company the agents were so rude and didn't listen to my claim and inform me the broker is quit and we are not responsible and nobody can help me! I don't recommend guys just a good name with zero quality!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Just run. Don't choose Allstate

by dkepka on Apr 9, 2021
1.3 out of 5 stars

I have a claim with them and every time I deal with them it's painful. They might be cheaper in the first year or whatever but the premiums will rise fast and the stress and HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE is not worth it.

Had a claim for our car. Hit a deer. It took months to settle. A lot of passing the buck and no one answering our calls. The "preferred" body shop was beyond terrible. It took us threatening lawyers and taking legal action for them to finally move our car to a good shop and get it repaired. Stress, headache and terrible customer service.

Have many more examples but there is limited space.

RUN! RUN! RUN away as fast as you can. If you choose Allstate you get what you deserve... which is a terrible experience.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

I'm in Good Hands

by In_Good_Hands on Apr 7, 2021
5 out of 5 stars

It's been over 20 years with Allstate and have to say that they're not the cheapest but in my opinion the best insurance company I've dealt with. Prior to that I was switching between companies thanks to an insurance broker who recommended a company named Halifax insurance only for them to close shop after I paid for a full year.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Claims Adjuster

by Unknown on Mar 30, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Acacia D is the worst person who can speak with. She is super rude and might even hang the phone up on you and she has done that. If you get in touch with her just ask someone else to assist you for a better answer which I did and the results were positive.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Cancellation Fee

by S. Stirling on Mar 19, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Cancelled my policy two days after signing up as I found several other options for way, waaaaay cheaper. They are charging me $225 to cancel! After 2 days!
I was told if I had called within 24 hours, they might have been able to waive the fee. But, I did call within 24 hours. Unfortunately, they clearly don't have enough staff on hand as I was on hold for over an hour and had to leave for work. So was I supposed to miss a day of work to cancel on time?
Not that I would have known about this 24-hour window. I wasn't told anything about a cancellation fee when I signed up. NOTHING. And on top of that, the paperwork and temporary pink slip they were supposed to email me was never sent to me.
So thank you TD, for robbing me of over $200 that I don't have for a made-up fee you surprise people with. Big business at it's best.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.

Crooks charging admin fees

by J.K. Jolliffe on Mar 19, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Times are difficult enough right now, so when you find another broker/ a cheaper insurance price, you consider not renewing. I had paid cash for the entire year of my car insurance policy with Allstate, and just before the year ended I notified my broker's office not once but THREE times that I would not be renewing. Every time I told them I got more upset saying, what don't you understand? Anyways, I recently got a call from a damn collection agency, saying ALLSTATE CANADA had sent a bill for something like $140.00+ for non-payment of Admin fees!! Are you joking? ADMIN FEES because I left after the end of my policy?!!? That is criminal & it really ticked me off. Allstate, you are crooks trying to swindle extra money from clients, & even worse when people are struggling financially right now due to Covid. SHAME ON YOU

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrible service

by Stefffdev on Jan 28, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Incredibly dissatisfied & disappointed with the service their representative Brittany had provided me with. My vehicle had gone into the shop & I was given a rental in the meantime. Due to the incorrect parts for my vehicle being received and ordered, I had gone over the rental agreement coverage. I had contacted her Friday (this passed Friday) as my coverage was up on Saturday. Left a message asking for a call back to explain what was happening... I have yet to receive a phone call. And today I’m charged with a bill of approx 200$ as the problem is yet to be rectified. The garage to my knowledge had spoken to her regarding coverage & I wouldn’t be paying a single cent as it wasn’t my error. What kind of rep, ignores your call & doesn’t call you back. If these are the types of people they have working at Allstate, bless their souls and good luck. I will be looking elsewhere for auto insurance and WILL NOT BE staying with them. Brittney has 0 customer service skills and very unprofessional.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poor Service on Accident Claim

by Ben on Jan 4, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I car T-boned in an intersection by someone who ran a red light. I had two witnesses I've never met at the intersection who both saw what happened and corroborated my account. My claims holder at Allstate sent me one email and a letter in my mail hiking my premiums up by 58%. I've tried to get a hold of her with 10 emails and 5 phone calls over the course of 2 weeks. She responded to one email. Neither of my witnesses have been contacted. The incident has not been looked into so far as I can tell, though it's hard to tell anything because the agent won't return a simple email. I will never use Allstate again.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.

Worst insurance ever

by Bruce on Nov 23, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

Agent says there's some discrepancy regarding my rates. Raises them during Covid without warning or merit. It took hours to reach anyone here

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo