Car Insurance Reviews

Aviva Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(432 reviews)
Aviva
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Cheap Car Insurance?

  • Rates from 20+ insurers
  • Stop overpaying today
  • Save over $500 annually

Get an instant quote

Filter

Most helpfull reviews

Accessability

by Aviva on Aug 1, 2022
1.7 out of 5 stars

Extremely difficult to communicate. Kept on hold for very long waits. Did not return calls. Unable to leave a message. Communication is extremely poor.
Even the associated garage validates their poor rating.
I will definitely not recommend Aviva to anyone.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Customer satisfaction

by Disappointed on Jul 27, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Aviva's insurance rate is terribly low and rightfully so. Customer service is very bad. Very difficult to contact an agent. The agent does not return the message. Communication between customer and agent is terribly difficult.
I strongly do not recommend Aviva Insurance company.
They used to be good a few years and I would have given them a 4-star rating but have slid down to 1 star as far as I’m concerned.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Possibly the worst customer service

by MariaAbou on Jul 26, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

They are clearly not trained in customer service. I explained my situation to someone, but they couldn't help so they transferred me to someone else who answers me with "but who are you?? I don't even know who you are" after I gave the first person my policy number and name.
Giving attitude on the line, cutting me off when I speak. Transfers me to my broker which was transferred to home insurance instead of car insurance. Also, if your car is older than 3 years, too bad you get used or aftermarket parts, no OEM parts (which was never mentioned). They're also arguing about changing 1 tire to a different brand than the rest, instead of changing the front 2. The most half-assed company. I had a claim with them in 2018 and when I returned the car (it was a lease) I had to pay $1000 because the bumper wasn't aligned properly.
The least professional company I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with. After my accident, a lot of people warned me about Aviva, and I will be switching company once my claim is done. After 10 years, good riddance. So disappointed.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.

10 months & still don’t have my car

by CarolynGibs on Jul 19, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Insurance CO’s obligation is to return your vehicle to its pre-accident condition. Does Aviva know?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Terrible service

by Sid on Jul 15, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Absolutely terrible service from Aviva. Go anywhere else for your insurance needs. When they owe you $, good luck getting anything. Good luck even getting a response. It's been a month since I received any communication from my adjuster. It feels like they have stolen my car and disappeared now.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

The Aviva Ombudsman's Office Just Called to Hear Himself Speak

by Insurance Should Indemnify! on Jun 17, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

We had a dispute about part of our claim settlement.

The Aviva Ombudsman's Office called. He admitted he didn't review our emails/calls beforehand and it was very clear he knew very little about the actual claim and kept bringing up things that weren't a part of the actual claim dispute but in a very condescending way.

When we explained what happened, he kept implying we were wrong because that's not Aviva's process. He just didn't listen, was totally unprepared and said he is helping us but wouldn't actually help us but argue semantics over words he didn't know the meaning of. (It was frustrating listening to him try to be condescending about diction when he didn't have to understand the vocabulary he was using and just kept repeating himself.)

We just wanted to get to the disputed part of the claim but he just wanted to talk about random things that weren't an issue. At first, I thought maybe he was new and just didn't know what he was doing. Everyone needs to start somewhere, right? We asked to speak to someone who would listen. He flat out refused to transfer the call but, despite what he'd say in his many monologues, he wouldn't help. I looked him up, wondering how someone could be such a bad listener and so unhelpful in his position. This guy has a senior position in the company and wouldn't help. This is his job! I don't believe this is a fair practice.

From my experience, the Aviva Ombudsman behaved unethically in this instance by not providing the support they're supposed to provide customers and refusing to transfer the call to someone who didn't want to argue.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

Still A No Show

by SWOntarioGuy on May 30, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

So, I had a collision back in March 2019. I didn't want a claim as it was minor scratches; my car still runs fine. After going to the collision reporting center, they made a claim automatically for me despite me telling them I wasn't going through insurance. That happened right in the collision reporting center, be careful! The next day I'm contacted by a claims adjuster. He was very friendly. I told him I didn't want a claim but he said that now that they know about the collision and the claim has been opened, he can't close it and that it will impact my policy anyway. So since I was already going to get screwed, I thought I might as well go through with the claim. Well, after some back and forth, the claims adjuster, as well as the "recommended" body shop, screwed up after I took my car in for an estimate. I gave them the claims number and called my insurance adjuster on it. I was very polite as well as the "recommended" body shop. I told him that he needs to look into the issue and get back to me. That was 36 months ago. I haven't heard from him since. I still check my e-mail for updates, I'm still driving around in a damaged car. OH! I've also paid more in additional premium over the past 3 years than the estimate from the body shop to fix my damn car, yet Aviva has paid out $0 on the claim. So, they've made their money back from me.... on a claim that they never paid out on. Cool stuff.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Lots of delays, but surprisingly, AVIVA didn’t leave me stranded

by v37skylar on May 28, 2022
3.3 out of 5 stars

As many of you know, there’s been unprecedented delays with claims and getting parts in. My family runs a body shop, so naturally, I chose to have my car repaired there.

My claims adjuster, Tristan, was great from beginning to end, although there were delays on their end that didn’t allow us to get started as soon as we wanted to. It took 2 weeks to obtain approval to proceed with the repair. As a result, we were unable to order the parts on time and I had to wait 5 months for them to come in.

I only had $1500 of rental coverage, which equates to about 40 days with an economy vehicle. I was then advised that there was an exception and all I had to do was provide an invoice proving that parts are on backorder. AVIVA covered close to $6000 in rental charges. This alone was a big deal to me as I have read several horror stories where insurance companies left struggling Canadians stranded. Please exercise your rights.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Terrible services

by Parminder on May 23, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

No one paid attention to their clients neither the broker nor my claim advisor. My claim is resolved after almost 6 months and my broker never replied to me. They really provide terrible services.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.

Auto claim insurance

by Hanif kanji on May 21, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

This company is the worst company I have ever experienced they really harassed me with my auto claim. First of all, they took a whole month to just take my claim on top of it they lied to me they said your car since it has high mileage it will be written off, but they took another month just to find out if they should write it off or repair it. My car was totally totaled from the front end also all the wiring harness and fuse box were burnout but instead of sanding it to salvage they repaid a salvage vehicle and made it active. At first, they told me the repairs will cost me $4000 I ended up paying $10500, this is one of the worst companies to deal with! Please, find a better company. Aviva is a liar and thief when comes to an auto insurance claim.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo