Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Aviva Auto Insurance Reviews

(376 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
202,934
consumers
(1.3 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Terrible Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Raven K Sep 08, 2020
I received a price quote for my auto and home in May for my July 17 renewal. I accepted the quote and paid in full on or before the due date. About 2 weeks later, I get another bill from them for $11.00 which they said was a COVID adjustment. No big deal. Then, a full month after my renewal, I get yet another bill from them for $122.00. There was no explanation, just said renewal (adjusted). I called and they explained that for me to get a COVID rebate (wow, $36 for 3 months), they had reduced my mileage to 1,000 km. and then, after the COVID period was over, they had to manually re-adjust to my normal mileage of 5000 km. The COVID rebate ended June 21, my policy renewed in July. Furthermore, when they send out the renewal in May, they knew the COVID rebate expired before my renewal. I pointed out to them that they quoted me one rate then charged me another, even wrote a letter to their ombudsman asking for a pro-rata refund because I don't want to do business with a company that operates like this. I was told too bad. I'm stuck with them for almost another year. DON'T DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY! That's my advice and hopefully, it will prevent anyone else from having to go through the same situation I've had to deal with.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

AVOID

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Goodbye Aviva Sep 01, 2020
Terrible claim experience! An adjuster refused to visit a shop - thought we had a choice of where to get our vehicles repaired. Apparently NOT! Customer service lied to me about sending out emails to get COVID relief! Rates went up under COVID! The most expensive company as well, so we will shop around. Goodbye Aviva.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Please avoid for your own good

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sandra Aug 16, 2020
Avoid avoid avoid! I used PC insurance and somehow the broker signed me up on Aviva. From day 1, it was one issue after another. From them missing my banking details (I set up auto-deposit) which I don't even know how it became possible since I provided a void check so no payment was withdrawn the first month. When someone called me she tried to patronize me claiming how they are going to be waving aside the NFS charge for me which I instantly reminded her that it can't be my fault when they had a void check and still managed to miss a number, this led to them rating my payment again and it went up from 254 to 274 and them billing me for 3 months claiming I needed to pay in advance. I should have cancelled the damned thing at that point. Upgrades my car 5 months down the line, called to get a quote and got a ridiculous amount in the $700 so I asked for it to be cancelled. The agent told me I'd either get a refund check or instructions on how to pay if I'm found owing, I figured I was going to get a refund since I paid in advance of one month and still had some days left in the month from my last payment. But nope, instead, I got a mail telling me they will be billing $266 directly from my bank. I wondered why that amount and why instead of getting their banking details as the agent claimed I was going to be billed directly. I called and spoke to an agent who claimed they'd review and get back to me within 2 days. I never heard from any agent no Aviva till they took my money some days ago. Please avoid this company, either their agents aren't knowledgeable or they outrightly lie to meet their sales target. They don't care about their customers and are only interested in taking and taking from you.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Don't get this insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kungpao Aug 05, 2020
Terrible company after being with this insurance for 3 years they increase my insurance by 100%. I cancelled my policy and then two weeks after, they were still deducting from my account!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stay away from this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ninja Jul 31, 2020
Dishonest company. They issued us boat insurance 3 weeks ago, pulled money out of our account, and today our broker calls us and tells us that we aren't covered because the boat is old. Aviva actually went ahead and verbally added a clause in our contract with our broker saying that they want a water survey. Sorry, that's not binding. The contract was signed 3 weeks ago and all requirements and pictures were accepted. Scummy practices.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Worst insurance in Canada.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Amodp Jul 24, 2020
Nightmare company. Even reaching out to CEO did not help to settle the claim smoothly. Very unprofessional staff with lots of errors in paperwork. Stay away or even boycott this low-grade Aviva insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible experience!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brenda Jul 18, 2020
My motor home was hit in April 2020. It is July 2020 and Aviva still cannot get it together with the other insurance provider. I provided a letter from the other insurance company saying it was their customer's 100 percent fault. Now Aviva wants me to see a notary at my cost to get documents signed. They have been awful to deal with. I am cancelling my insurance after 7 years and I have contacted a lawyer to all with Aviva. It’s taken up to much of my time for an accident that was not my fault!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Poor Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SRSH Jun 19, 2020
Today, I called them to see if they would refund me for 4 months keeping my car in the garage and not using it (due to the pandemic), as the other insurance providers do (many publicly have announced that). After a very long waiting time on the line, the agent declined any consideration in this matter. I will definitely not be renewing my contract with them anymore.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

back-stabbing criminals

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by screwed Jun 16, 2020
10 years of flawless claims history and then had one minor accident. I had accident forgiveness so instead, they just lapse your policy on renewal and then put lies on you CEL to add insult to injury. Do not use the criminals they are the worst of the worst and super deceitful.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

My Ride

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Deasmumhan Jun 09, 2020
My Vehicle was hit 3 times in 4 years. The first time the driver stayed and all information were exchanged, he admitted FULL fault to me and the police. The second time the driver took off, the third time AVIVA refused to cover it (surprise) I had to pay for it. I was not in my vehicle any of the times it was hit by another driver making it NO FAULT of mine. Then a rock hit my windscreen and I had to have it replaced. This year in 2020 AVIVA sent me a letter cancelling my insurance due to "4 events in 4 years" now remember event one the driver stayed, event two the driver ran, event three AVIVA refused to pay, and event four was a rock. I have never had a ticket and have been driving for 20 years, also have NEVER had an AT FAULT accident. Also during event number two the hit and run where the driver fled, the garage that AVIVA insisted that I go to cause an additional 1400.00 in damages to my vehicle. I called their Ombudsperson who naturally sided with AVIVA and I had to pay to repair the 1400.00 in damages out of my own pocket. We had (I say "had" as I am in the process of cancelling) my vehicle, my wife's vehicle and my house insurance with AVIVA - Count yourself very lucky AVIVA that lawyers are so expensive and that you are simply not worth the headache because if I had the time and the energy I would sue them. You treat your customers like garbage. But boy do you guys like to make sure to collect your premiums. Sure like to break your contracts though. Dishonest, lying company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Beware. Don't use Aviva.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TyC Jun 08, 2020
Terrible experience. I called the first time (2 weeks ago) and was told the other guy's insurance was the only one I needed to contact since his insurance was going to pay for my damages... Now they tell me that I need to go through my insurance and they will contact his insurance... Called again and the customer service is brutal... It took 2 hours being on hold and then the call drops and get no callback. Every number they give me to call back makes me go through the options and put on hold for a minimum of 20 minutes every time. My car was damaged and the other person's insurance company was going to cover it. I don't know why it is so difficult to get this taken care of. I had my policy number, the other guy's policy number, a quote for a new glass... everything. All information was available and nothing is being taken care of. Why am I paying when I have to do all the work?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Accident forgiveness “NOT”

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chow M Apr 26, 2020
I am a female 61 years old never had an accident in my life haven’t had a ticket in more than 25 years. Two years ago on an icy rainy night, I literally hit a wall my car just slid! No damage to the wall no other cars involved but 10 thousand dollars to my car... I had accident forgiveness so one year after the accident my insurance went up Approximately 300 dollars? Year 2 after the accident my insurance has gone up an additional 600 dollars so in 2 years $9 hundred dollars? Where is the accident forgiveness? This is totally unacceptable and my agent keeps saying “well you had an accident” yes BUT I had accident forgiveness so how does that work? I work from home therefore it’s pleasure driving only. I park it in a garage it has onstar onboard snow tires in the winter BUT years of being a loyal customer I dinged $600 this 2020 renewal?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very bad customer service.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rizvi Apr 15, 2020
Very bad customer service. I have 3 insurance from this company and I'm cancelling all policies only for bad customer service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Check your yearly increases

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by John Apr 08, 2020
My insurance went from $1100 to $1600 (approx.) in one year, no accidents, no tickets. I continue to be retired. The only difference was I am now a year older 67 and now 68. My wife has a similar story to tell $1000 to $1300 (approx.). Didn't notice until it was too late, I am angry with myself and OTIP. The Government's expectation is that the insurance rate should increase between 0 to 4% for the 2019-2020 season.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Bad Faith Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Outrage Apr 06, 2020
My husband was in an accident with an illegally parked vehicle with no markings and it totalled our vehicle and my husband is the superman so he crawled away and Aviva said he was at fault under the FDR sec170.1 but I did more research and found sec170.2 and he is not at fault but they wouldn’t budge so took it to the ombudsman and he pretty much said prove it... So we got the officer to write something and he did kinda (joke) that wasn’t good enough so we posted online and a witness came forward and that wasn’t good enough then we found out there is a second page to the accident report that shows the t/p over the white line parked and that still wasn’t good enough. I wish I could find a lawyer to make an example out of Aviva, RBC and the OPP!!! I would give them all the money they got and only take enough to buy another vehicle that’s how much I hate them! If my son and I were in the vehicle we would be dead! Ongoing since December 17-2019 and they are the most expensive! I would not recommend ever!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Claims

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sady Apr 03, 2020
Every month they deduct payment from account very fast no questions ask! But whenever you have claim it took ages! This is my last year for you guys...
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cancelled

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Lisa C Mar 17, 2020
I have been with Aviva for 5+ years and I have had no tickets with only 1 not at fault accident 3 years ago. Our family was going through a really rough time last year and three of my payments bounced, but I always called back the next day to pay. Because this happened 3 times throughout the year ( always paid the next day) they cancelled my policy through the mail. When asked if I could just pay the remaining all upfront they said no, you need to find another company. I’m left with now paying double for my insurance at another company. The way I was talked to and treated I felt very inhuman, not cared for or understood. They treat you like a number, not a human who may be going through a difficult time. Very disappointing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Always a disaster

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MS Mar 11, 2020
Multiple claims with this company, they basically don't give anything. A simple example: I had to fight with them only to get them to send a towing to pick up the car that wasn't safe to drive. Then again for many other things. Avoid at all costs, what good is an unreliable insurance company when you need it? The only thing they're good at is taking money out of your account.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Do not trust this “insurance”!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Never AVIVA Mar 07, 2020
Run as far as you can from this company. Do not waste your money... this company should get zero stars. Phoned them needing a tow. Claims representative told me my basic plan would cover the first 300 km of the tow. Anything over that and I would be responsible for it. No problem. But, without any contact at all, this rip off crew says “nope, you get the bill”. Unbelievable. The customer service representative is obviously trained to say you are covered for anything, then they just say nope after and do not honour their contract.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Don’t!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by I was a fool. Feb 28, 2020
I didn’t listen to the reviews and that was a huge mistake. Should be zero stars. Think you’ll save money with AVIVA? You won’t. Customer service representative tells you one thing and approves you for a tow, then a year later AVIVA sends a bill saying they won’t cover it. But not to you. Nope, you’ll get your first inkling when you get a letter from a collection agency. Total rip-off company. Do not insure with them! Protect yourself from being abused. Better to have no insurance then AVIVA.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The WORST company in Canada

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by A Really Angry Feb 27, 2020
I bought a truck and got the replacement insurance from AVIVA. After 3 years of driving, I got a broken windshield. I put a claim for the deductible. However, I am so disappointment during the process. Even the broker helps me to contact with them, they used any lies to deny my claim. Such as they changed their policy year ago. The deductible is not that much, but I finally get the lessons-you can't trust this company anymore. So far, I bought another vehicle, and the broker suggested me to purchase the replacement insurance from AVIVA, you guys definitely my answer-NO!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

WORST Auto Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cara Feb 26, 2020
If I could give them a rating of MINUS 5, I would. Their service is absolutely TERRIBLE! My car was involved in no-fault accident and it took Aviva 4 MONTHS to settle the claim. They refused to fix my car... yet the amount of time & money they wasted on storage fess & car rental fees could have been used to fix my car... with money left over! They're unbelievably slow and if you don't call to follow up on your claim they'll literally never contact you. My adjuster said she'll call me back on multiple occasions and never did! I'm so pissed that I wasted money on Aviva. They are a garbage company. Don't waste your time and money going with Aviva. All this time I've been spending $2500 for just ONE car with only ONE driver (myself) and for what? Their garbage service? This claim could have been easily settled in a month and it has dragged on for 4 months... they make a stressful situation even MORE stressful! Do yourself a favour and stay away from Aviva.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worse experience of my life!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JS Feb 09, 2020
Aviva uses delay and escapes tactics to get out of paying you. They request a phenomenal amount of doctor's notes and Medical documentation. If you try to go it on your own then forget about it, they will make you feel crazy and dismiss you. You NEED a lawyer to back you up if you want them to treat you half fairly. Even then the lawyer's aid will have a hard time getting them to pick up the phone and even the lawyer will have troubles. They will wait the full 30 days to pay you OR present you with a request for FURTHER documentation and make you wait for another 30 days and THEN once you sent it in they will legally have another 30 days to acknowledge that they received the paperwork. Get a good lawyer if you want your entitled benefit money, whether you are a customer or a victim of one of their customers and you have no insurance.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Aviva keeps your accident!

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by liz Jan 27, 2020
If you had a car accident in the past, BEWARE! Aviva Insurance goes back NINE YEARS, do you believe that. Most other insurance companies go back 6 years than its no longer on your file, BUT NOT AVIVA, they go back 9 years before you no longer have that accident report against you...
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

STAY AWAY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kaitlyn Jan 15, 2020
Was in a not at fault accident and had to send them the highway traffic act and dashcam video and was still called at fault until the other party's insurance saw the video and took full fault. The woman dealing with my case was so rude. When I had issues with how it was all being handled and the rental car I was told by their manager that "if I didn't like the rental car a bus pass could always be supplied." I have never had such a horrible experience with a company, let alone one I'm spending $4000+ at a year. When my year is up (which can't come fast enough) I'm getting away from this corrupted company forever!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Awful company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Don't use Aviva Dec 20, 2019
Been a customer for over 3 years, spent almost $5000 with them to insure my truck. No accidents, no claims, always paid monthly on time, 9-star driver rating. Receive letter (which is registered for some reason) without thanking me for being a customer saying your renewal will expire, you will have to fill out a form otherwise we will not renew you, and you will have to pay an annual lump sum. The quote was an extra $600/year. No thank you - will not use again and would urge others not to either.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Beware

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tony m Dec 18, 2019
This company is unprofessional and very manipulative and dishonest. They will use any dirty tactic in the book to avoid paying your claim. I was with them for a long time and when I put in my claim they used dishonesty and a lack of professionalism to deny my claim.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Crazy price increase

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Markian Dec 16, 2019
How Aviva (RBC) stays in business I have no idea? They jacked up my rates 67% for my house and 47% for my cars. I have had no claims ever. Very polite service representatives who could not explain the price increase nor would they offer anyone more senior who could. I quickly changed companies after years with RBC.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Capitalism at it's finest

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nognlite Dec 11, 2019
This company is the most disgusting, money-grabbing, a capitalistic company I have ever dealt with. My daughter gets in a multi-vehicle accident where the vehicle behind her was smashed into by a distracted driver and forced into her but is found 50% at fault for hitting the vehicle in front because they were moving and she was too close. How do I know this? She was told this 30 seconds into the claim call. Nice way to start the call. Your rates are going to go up. In the next 5 min of the call, they have already written the car off and were ready to send her a cheque. All she had to do was accept their finalization of the claim. The car still sitting in a heap outside the ambulance. No police report and the adjuster not even looking at the car. That's dodgy to start with. We are now in week three. They offered half the deductible and $300 for tires of a $1200 winter tire package. $300 dollars for rubber. That's $66 per tire before tax. LOL, not in Canada! They want my daughter to provide a breakdown of the cost of tires or 2-3 quotes from online. Uh, no. That's your job. Oh wait, you didn't even look at the car, so you wouldn't know. That is sheer laziness and incompetent. At this point, we are waiting for the Claims Manager to explain to me the fault in accidents. This should be interesting. My mortgage is coming due in the next month! Stay away from Aviva, especially as a new driver. Cheap insurance means a cheaper service.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

1 star is far too many

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Yarbles Dec 02, 2019
If you have an automobile claim be prepared for Aviva to offer you 50% of the value of comparable vehicles. I thought that the idea of having an insurance policy was so that you would be put back into the position you were in at the time of the loss. This is not so in the case with Aviva who offered me far less for my written-off vehicle (100% not my fault) than I could actually replace it for. The net result being I am now without a vehicle and I'm in a dispute with Aviva which I'm certain will not be resolved any time soon. I would not recommend Aviva to anybody, in fact, I've warned many people about my thoroughly unpleasant experience with Aviva.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?