Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Aviva Auto Insurance Reviews

(271 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
146,025
consumers
(1.4 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Find another provider

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kirby Mar 19, 2019
One of the many caught in the Aviva Alberta Exodus. Not prepared to go through the hoops they have demanded for renewal, nor switch from monthly to annual upfront payment on less than a month's notice, nor risk them denying me insurance for missing an item on their form if not filled in to their satisfaction. Would require me being on hold with them yet again to get data that only they have as it was never released to me anyways! In calling around for quotes, other providers have confirmed that Aviva started with low rates then realized the claims rate in AB and are getting out. Have landed at The Personal for a similar rate.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Worst insurance ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bmac Mar 13, 2019
Have a claim open now, about a stolen car... They treat you as a criminal, it’s already been 6 months and it is still under investigation... The adjuster, investigator, and claims department are very rude and awful. I really like my broker, but as for Aviva insurance, it’s crap and not worth the extra money for full coverage if your car's used... Would not recommend to anyone... I wouldn’t even give one star if there was an option
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Disgusted

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kellyd Mar 12, 2019
We just received their standard registered letter, requiring us to complete a new application, which they may or not approve, and then we must pay our entire premium up front. We have been with RBC, which is now underwritten by Aviva, for over 10 years. No claims, never a late payment, loyal customers and this is what we get in return. After a conversation with RBC, I was advised that Aviva is requiring all premiums are to be made upfront for EVERY Aviva customer in Alberta and a couple of other provinces due to the amount of defaulted payments. Apparently, they don't look at you as an individual, but as an Albertan! Unbelievable. This looks really bad for RBC as well.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

AVIVA, a horror story.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frank Mar 05, 2019
For anyone that has auto insurance from Aviva Canada, I strongly suggest you find a new provider and for anyone who is contemplating using them for insurance to stay well clear of them. They are a horror story and only want your money and will find any excuse to avoid payouts. Here is my horror story. I have had them for over 10 years as my auto insurance provider and dutifully paid the premiums on time, every time, even when I heard others had cheaper premiums with other companies. Stupid me. On July 2018 I was involved in an auto collision. The other driver was at fault and was charged with careless driving by the police officer. It was my bad luck that he also had Aviva insurance. I reported the accident in same day. Aviva quickly wrote off the vehicle, even though the damage did not seem that extensive, and lowballed me on the payout. Less than half of what I paid 2 years prior. I argued that I had done some major repair work on it 6 months prior and should be at least partially compensated for that as well. According to Aviva that is apparently where I committed a sin. It seems we cannot question being ripped off by them. After 1 month of no definitive answers from them, in frustration, I cancelled my multiple auto and property policies with Aviva. They lost a total of $6,600 annual premiums because of their unprofessional approach. And really for a mere $12,000 claim. That appeared to have been my second mistake. I believe that they thought it was now payback for cancelling my policies. They took over 6 months to make a case that the work was not done as detailed in the receipts I provided. They put me through phone and an in-person interrogation (the Gestapo could not have done a better job). The end result was that they declined my claim including the car rental I used for 1 week after the accident. While it may be true that the auto shop cheated me on the work done in the bills, they should have simply declined the receipts and maintained their original offer, low as it was. Talk about adding salt to a wound. I have now retained a lawyer and proceeding with legal action against Aviva. Stay away from this scam of a company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by verdecal Mar 04, 2019
I was sent a form to fill out, (they gave me a week) 5 business days to fill it out and mail it back. I had to say goodbye (loyal 9-year customer with no record of any issues or accidents with them). Customer service was horrible and I just had to leave. I found out later that their rating was at an all-time low and the company was in some financial turmoil. So not only did I drop the auto insurance I also dropped my home and cottage insurance as well. I would suggest staying away from this insurance company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

20% increase April 2019

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by garytown Mar 03, 2019
Well after 25 years with them, no claims on anything, now retired, 6000 km a year driving, now was hit with a 20% increase for no reason. GOODBYE!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

It's time to say goodbye ...

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Girl from Milton ON Feb 27, 2019
It is so sad, but I decided to leave RBC Insurance after being a loyal customer for almost 20 years. The price hike in 2019 is unacceptable, I have a perfect driving record, no claims on my house insurance. I was told by two different RBC agents, that the price increase on my policy was because my new 2018 car doesn't have Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB), REALLY!!?? I spoke to a few different, reputable Insurance companies and they were laughing, they told me, they never heard about an increase in premium for not having AEB installed on the car. Well, I was a loyal customer, but RBC/AVIVA is not, so it's time for me to look for a new Insurance Company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Zero Stars

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by QueenK Feb 23, 2019
This company is absolutely awful. They are the first company that I used for my car insurance and when they were under RBC, they were great but the minute they switched to Aviva, they were absolutely horrible. They more than tripled my policy amount over two years then suddenly cancelled my entire policy without a word. Not even one claim or at-fault accident on my file. They are absolutely disgusting and the worst. I hate this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

APPLICATION & FULL PAYMENT??!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shocked Feb 22, 2019
I just got a registered letter from Aviva stating I had to submit a "WRITTEN APPLICATION FOR REVIEW AND ACCEPTANCE". Without this form, my policy would not be renewed. Also, FULL PAYMENT must be made if accepted. I spoke to an agent 2 weeks prior to receiving this notice and there was no mention of this ridiculousness. He updated my existing insurance with my new details and I got my pink slip in the mail. Today, I called them again to find out why I was getting such a letter and the rep. indicated that I was picked randomly and this is a NEW LAW in ALBERTA - which I think he said to get me off the phone #fakenews. I will be filing a complaint and will start looking elsewhere for auto insurance. I have a clean driving recording & have been driving for 15 years. This does not add up - they are up to something.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Worst service insurance ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by raymond_n Feb 22, 2019
Do yourself a big favour and avoid Aviva at all costs. Unacceptable customer service, insane wait times to speak to advisors. Some we have documented 78 minutes wait time to speak to an advisor. Insulting and actually disgusting how we were treated, even got hung up on a few times. Yes, they actually hung up and said: we are now closed, goodbye. Really the worst experience with an insurance provider ever. They just make up the rules as they go. You have been warned folks, the reviews are true. Simply do not even try!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

100% Unprofessional!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Say no to Tyrants Feb 20, 2019
Do yourself a big favour and avoid Aviva at all costs. Unacceptable customer service, insane wait times to speak to advisors. Some we have documented 78 minutes wait time to speak to an advisor. Insulting and actually disgusting how we were treated, even got hung up on a few times. Yes, they actually hung up and said: we are now closed, goodbye. THEN my wife's 2004 Chevy Tahoe was stolen and we were treated like criminals. They stated that the vehicle's ignition wasn't compromised the usual way that their appraiser is used to seeing. Not my problem. We were treated as suspects and were victimized worse by Aviva. They even had the nerve to ask for bank records, income tax files, even phone records couldn't believe it. We ended up settling for way below replacement value after 7 months of going back and forth. They make 1 offer and if you don't like it, too bad. We got $4100 to replace our Tahoe and had to spend $7500 to obtain a comparable vehicle. Really the worst experience with an insurance provider ever. They just make up the rules as they go. You have been warned folks, the reviews are true.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

worst service ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by BrowneyZ Feb 20, 2019
They kept me waiting 52 min but no response. I was very much disappointed. Will never use Aviva service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Unimaginable

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brutal Feb 19, 2019
Worst customer experience I have ever had. Voicemails and emails went unanswered for weeks at a time. As soon as I am up for renewal, I am willing to pay another company more so it doesn’t go into the pockets of Aviva!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Purge of good drivers.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jim Feb 15, 2019
Disgusted by this company. They must be purging good safe drivers. 5 pages of info they already have.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

biggest joke of a company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Joy Feb 15, 2019
I was in an accident in December 2018. An accident that was NOT my fault. I was seriously injured and still have not returned to work and will be unable to return to my health care aide position for some time due to an arm injury leaving me unable to do any heavy lifting moving etc. Aviva has given me the biggest runaround to college disability and I still have not received any money to this day (February 14/19). Every time I contact them, I wait a week for a response where I get another excuse as to what I need to fix etc. I have asked questions to try to complete stuff once with no mistakes. I am then sent back for this or that or told they did not receive items even when I can clearly see the mail was delivered. Do not use this company because if you are ever in need of their support for an accident you did not cause, they will screw you and leave you to either work when you're unable or be completely screwed on your financial responsibilities.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

What gives

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by was loyal Feb 15, 2019
Over 30 years with Aviva. NO claims, NO accidents, never a payment missed. On renewal, premium increased by $600.00 for no cause at all. Left for a better Co. Wish them well.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

WORST COMPANY EVER!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TRISHA Feb 13, 2019
I have been insured with RBC for years and didn't have any issue! I've been driving for more than 10 yrs and for the first time my insurance was cancelled! I received an email on Oct. 30, 2018, regarding a missed payment for Oct.15, 2018 and a note on the bottom to disregard the email if payment has been made. I could've disregarded the email but rather replied informing them of an online payment made Oct. 17, 2019. I didn't receive any calls, nor email assuming everything is okay. I have been trying to contact them since the day I moved to the new address as I wanted to get home insurance. Called several times and on hold for 40mins-1h. One day I decided to press the key that corresponds to the sales department. My call was answered in less than two mins. The agent was unable to give me a quote as I have an existing car insurance and someone will give me a callback. I provided him with my new address so they would have an idea. Anyhow, I called back in Dec. 2018 to get a home insurance quote as no one ever called or emailed me! This is the day I was informed that my car insurance was cancelled effective Nov. 20, 2018, as late fees $40 were not included on that payment I have made online! The 2 registered emails were mailed and returned. Yet they had sent me my $150 refund through same mail! Hello?? All I hear is computer generated! Yes, blame it on the computer! Insurance cancelled >> computer generated! What's the point of having employees if everything is generated by a computer?? They didn't even bother trying to take that $40 on my bank account that obviously I will call them if I had just made a payment! I drive my kids to school not knowing I no longer have a car insurance! MY CAR INSURANCE HAS MORE THAN DOUBLED JUST BECAUSE OF $40? It's already a struggle for a single parent to make ends meet then THANKS TO AVIVA FOR ADDING UP TO MY PROBLEMS!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Do not use this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Acknowledgeable Feb 10, 2019
I have been with RBC / Aviva for 20+ years and 11+ years without a claim, had house, car and motorcycle coverage with them. Never missed or have been late with a payment. My premium has gone up consistently, ...this year a whopping 20+%. I had the same reapplication problems as others, which was ridiculous. I know that the price indexes have not been increasing at the same rate as insurance premiums, and insurance profit levels seem to be consistently amazing, compared to other profit industries. The insurance industry seems to be very concerned with policyholder credibility and misrepresentation, yet not so much with their own. Allowing any profit industry to set its own rates on anything that is mandatory by law is irresponsible. This needs to change!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

So impressed.

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Scottyk Feb 10, 2019
From start to finish my experience with Aviva was such a pleasure. I had an accident on January 24. Aviva contacted me the very next day to collect information, and connect me to my adjuster. The adjuster came out within 2 days of the accident to see the vehicle. Within 1 week of the accident, I was told the vehicle was a total write-off. 2 weeks after my accident, I have already received a check that completely replaced the brand new value of my totalled car plus some under the New Car Warranty program. Aviva was very courteous to me through all the interactions I had and were patient in answering all my questions. I actually had not realized that Aviva had such bad reviews when I had switched to them a year ago. I was a little panicked after the accident when I was looking for other peoples' experiences in dealing with Aviva so I could know what to expect. I am already in a brand new vehicle only 2 weeks post accident. I think that is an incredible service. Thank you, Aviva.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Aviva...Don't use ..Period

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Noviva Feb 07, 2019
Have been insured with this company for many years, without claims! Just received a "registered letter" from them this morning requesting, sorry, demanding, that I apply to renew my auto insurance with a 5-page "inquisition application form". Apparently, this company is purging or firing good clients. Why would anyone even consider renewing with them with this kind of attitude?? Don't use Aviva or even get a quote from them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

5 page form

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ross Feb 03, 2019
Our daughter received the five-page form. Then we just received our form this week. Wow, will not spend my time filling that out. Screw them
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Form

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Darren Feb 03, 2019
Same as everybody else, these forms are nonsense! If you pose a question that says “if so”, a blank response means NO! I just resent my forms back in! Apparently, they cancelled my insurance on Jan.24th, the same day as they mailed the letter! But they did take my monthly payment out, oh and the auto reply says that they will respond in 2-4 weeks! RBC needs to find a new insurer!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Insurance Renewal Process

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pissed Albertan Jan 29, 2019
I too had the same experience of many posted here. After 12 years of continued insurance and no missed payment, my auto insurance lapsed/expired because they deemed my application to be incomplete and I did not receive the reply from them in time to correct the issues. Had I NOT returned the application, I can understand the renewal not occurring, however, my application was returned in plenty of time in a status which I thought was complete. I left a couple questions blank as they were not applicable to my situation and I was supposed to mark them as N/A. Rather than accepting the application as returned, and calling to confirm the answers, my application was sent back. At this time Aviva is saying it could be up to 4 weeks before my application is processed and I am with insurance again...and this is IF I am approved. How do they expect people to go up to 4 weeks without auto insurance - and if a new vehicle owner calls to get insurance on a new car - how does Aviva expect them to drive their car home??? This is absolutely ridiculous and unacceptable. I WILL be moving my auto insurance from them - and will be looking at moving all my other insurance away from them as well.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

No reason rate increase

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by woodlodgeslw Jan 27, 2019
After over 30 years of being insured with RBC, in which my rate had declined every year since 2001, Aviva took over the RBC insurance work and my rate increased within two months by $20 a month for no reason (no tickets, no violations, no claims) and no explanation. Went to another company and my rate dropped by $35 from what it had been with RBC ($55 a month from the Aviva rate).
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Aviva general insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rude customer service Jan 24, 2019
The rudest people I have ever dealt with. Very demanding and money hungry. I can't believe they allow people like that own Aviva General Insurance Company and work for it. You will never see a happy ending destroying so many peoples' patients, time and reputation.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

DO NOT USE AVIVA

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by GibCare Jan 23, 2019
Similar to a previous review, we were sent out the five-page "application" to renew our auto insurance after being loyal costumers for over 15 years with ZERO claims. This five-page application was difficult to even understand what they were asking. Upon calling Aviva for help, they were very rude and stated the form was "straightforward". They offered little guidance. We also received this form just prior to our policy expiring. We thought they were updating our information for the file only to find out they were cancelling our insurance with four days notice. We rushed our "application" overnight mail to Ontario (which cost $48) to be told it was not received in time and that we did not have insurance as of today. The customer service representative basically told me that they are no longer wanting to service Alberta. They did nothing to help us despite putting us through all this stress and added work to reapply for an existing policy (which we have had for over 15 years). Once we asked to speak to a manager, we were advised it would be put in for a request and it would take 5 days to return our call. We were also advised SHOULD they renew our policy, we would need to pay the entire amount upfront (we have paid monthly for 15 years and never, not once, defaulted on a payment). They have the WORST customer service I have ever experienced. Happy to take my business elsewhere and would advise any to check around before ever using Aviva home and auto insurance.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Scam Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy Customer Jan 16, 2019
Aviva sent a registered letter at the end of November during the postal strike wanting us to reapply for auto insurance after we had been with them for 9 years. The forms were received just before Christmas, which were 5 pages of jargon I didn't even understand. We filled them out and sent them back, they didn't receive them until January 14th...our policy expired on the 12th. When I finally got ahold of someone after 45 minutes of being on hold 3 separate times, they told me that I did not fill out the forms correctly and they would mail them back to me to fix. I told them I can't go without insurance and asked if I could have a grace period. They said no and absolutely refused to help me. Then told me if I wanted to stay with them that it would be up to 5 weeks with no insurance before it is sorted out. Their exact words were "well, if you need insurance today, then go somewhere else". All the agents I spoke with refused to let me talk to a manager and said they would put in a note on my file for one to call in roughly 5 business days. On top of all this, I have made monthly payments with them for 9 years, not once did I miss a payment. They said that because I lapsed I am deemed a "threat" for non-payment and they want a credit card number for full payment before they even reviewed a so-called new policy. My driving record is spotless, I have zero claims and this is how they treat a customer. These people need to be reported to the BBB. What a scam to jack rates. Horrible Company. Thankfully, I was able to get insurance with another company with better benefits and customer service. DO NOT USE AVIVA.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

renewal application

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Avivasucks Jan 16, 2019
Received a letter in November to renew my auto insurance. This was during Canada Post strike. I mailed it back, I called one week before my expiry of my current policy to see if they had received. They had not but the advisor assured me they would give an extension because of the Canada post strikes. They received my application the day of my expiry and did not process it because it was too late (even though I had been told there was a two business day leeway because of the postal strike.) Trying to speak to a manager took several phone calls and waited on hold for 1 hour 45 min when I finally did. Was told it was my fault and there was nothing they would do. Had to scramble find auto insurance elsewhere even though I’ve been with RBC Aviva for 7 years. Now my home insurance (which was automatically renewed) is with them and if I wanted to cancel, they will charge me 90% of the premium. So disgusted with the terrible customer service. This practice is so unethical. They basically made it impossible for me to renew my auto insurance. In October their media relations person said that they were making accommodations due to the postal strike. They would be offering digital documents when available and be couriering time-sensitive documents. This was a total lie. None of these options were given to me. When I called a week before expiry, there should have been an option offered to me. Instead, I was lied to about an extension. So frustrating.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Bunch of Crooks

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Blackwatch09 Jan 15, 2019
I've been with RBC (Aviva) Insurance for 10 years and with RBC for 20 years. They sent me that dreaded letter too at the beginning of December stating that I would have to reapply for my insurance and must pay the year's premium upfront, which left me struggling to get other quotes. I eventually caved and filled out the paperwork, with pen and paper, and mailed in the letter on December 28 (my policy was up for renewal on January 7). Jan 7 was a Monday and the policy expired 12:01 AM that morning with the previous week being the holidays and they were closed! When I got ahold of them that morning, the operator informed me that they had not received the letter. I neglected to send the letter tracked and as soon as I answered that the operator told me that I was out of luck and they would not be renewing my policy. I was paying $1600/year for 2 vehicles with one claim 5 years old. They quoted me almost $7000/year for a new quote after cancelling my policy and everywhere else won't offer a premium under $2700/year. Who does that?? There's got to be something that the government can do to put a leash on this company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

I too got "the letter"

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Richard Jan 15, 2019
I, along with thousands of other Ontarians, have been sent the "5-page demand letter" from Aviva. They requested that I re-apply for exact same coverage I've had for 24 years without issue. I've never had an accident claim, nor a ticket. I've read the hundreds of comments from others in the same scenario. Aviva is sending out overly complicated forms that regular consumers would not know how to complete. They are asking for information that they have had for years. They give an arbitrary deadline to complete and mail back. After reading the reviews online, I decided not to take the chance and spent hours with my broker filing these out in every single detail possible. My broker sent them directly, and I also sent a hard copy via registered mail to the address provided in their letter. Aviva rejected my broker's application 3 TIMES! They also redirected the registered letter. On my brokers 4th attempt Aviva demanded a detailed explanation of why I owned 2 vehicles, demanded I put my nephew on my insurance (16 yr old that is only a G1 driver in driving school) and demanded a copy of friend's license that I lent my vehicle to ONE TIME (she even lives in a different town). They also had entered a claim on my vehicle as Third Party Liable - no claim on my record without my knowledge, with no communication with me. This should be illegal. This is a predatory practice by Aviva to all good drivers in Ontario. Everyone is saying the same story. If you qualified for accident forgiveness, expect the same letter. Not a single person I know has been able to successfully renew their policy. It's a clear "bait and switch". Aviva has refused to respond to me, or to anyone else in the same situation. Aviva must honour their "accident forgiveness" advertisement that they used to sign up their clients. They must reimburse those who they've cancelled with this fraudulent tactic.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?