Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Aviva Auto Insurance Reviews

(354 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
187,882
consumers
(1.3 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Worse experience of my life!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JS Feb 09, 2020
Aviva uses delay and escapes tactics to get out of paying you. They request a phenomenal amount of doctor's notes and Medical documentation. If you try to go it on your own then forget about it, they will make you feel crazy and dismiss you. You NEED a lawyer to back you up if you want them to treat you half fairly. Even then the lawyer's aid will have a hard time getting them to pick up the phone and even the lawyer will have troubles. They will wait the full 30 days to pay you OR present you with a request for FURTHER documentation and make you wait for another 30 days and THEN once you sent it in they will legally have another 30 days to acknowledge that they received the paperwork. Get a good lawyer if you want your entitled benefit money, whether you are a customer or a victim of one of their customers and you have no insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Aviva keeps your accident!

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by liz Jan 27, 2020
If you had a car accident in the past, BEWARE! Aviva Insurance goes back NINE YEARS, do you believe that. Most other insurance companies go back 6 years than its no longer on your file, BUT NOT AVIVA, they go back 9 years before you no longer have that accident report against you...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

STAY AWAY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kaitlyn Jan 15, 2020
Was in a not at fault accident and had to send them the highway traffic act and dashcam video and was still called at fault until the other party's insurance saw the video and took full fault. The woman dealing with my case was so rude. When I had issues with how it was all being handled and the rental car I was told by their manager that "if I didn't like the rental car a bus pass could always be supplied." I have never had such a horrible experience with a company, let alone one I'm spending $4000+ at a year. When my year is up (which can't come fast enough) I'm getting away from this corrupted company forever!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Awful company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Don't use Aviva Dec 20, 2019
Been a customer for over 3 years, spent almost $5000 with them to insure my truck. No accidents, no claims, always paid monthly on time, 9-star driver rating. Receive letter (which is registered for some reason) without thanking me for being a customer saying your renewal will expire, you will have to fill out a form otherwise we will not renew you, and you will have to pay an annual lump sum. The quote was an extra $600/year. No thank you - will not use again and would urge others not to either.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Beware

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tony m Dec 18, 2019
This company is unprofessional and very manipulative and dishonest. They will use any dirty tactic in the book to avoid paying your claim. I was with them for a long time and when I put in my claim they used dishonesty and a lack of professionalism to deny my claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Crazy price increase

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Markian Dec 16, 2019
How Aviva (RBC) stays in business I have no idea? They jacked up my rates 67% for my house and 47% for my cars. I have had no claims ever. Very polite service representatives who could not explain the price increase nor would they offer anyone more senior who could. I quickly changed companies after years with RBC.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Capitalism at it's finest

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nognlite Dec 11, 2019
This company is the most disgusting, money-grabbing, a capitalistic company I have ever dealt with. My daughter gets in a multi-vehicle accident where the vehicle behind her was smashed into by a distracted driver and forced into her but is found 50% at fault for hitting the vehicle in front because they were moving and she was too close. How do I know this? She was told this 30 seconds into the claim call. Nice way to start the call. Your rates are going to go up. In the next 5 min of the call, they have already written the car off and were ready to send her a cheque. All she had to do was accept their finalization of the claim. The car still sitting in a heap outside the ambulance. No police report and the adjuster not even looking at the car. That's dodgy to start with. We are now in week three. They offered half the deductible and $300 for tires of a $1200 winter tire package. $300 dollars for rubber. That's $66 per tire before tax. LOL, not in Canada! They want my daughter to provide a breakdown of the cost of tires or 2-3 quotes from online. Uh, no. That's your job. Oh wait, you didn't even look at the car, so you wouldn't know. That is sheer laziness and incompetent. At this point, we are waiting for the Claims Manager to explain to me the fault in accidents. This should be interesting. My mortgage is coming due in the next month! Stay away from Aviva, especially as a new driver. Cheap insurance means a cheaper service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

1 star is far too many

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Yarbles Dec 02, 2019
If you have an automobile claim be prepared for Aviva to offer you 50% of the value of comparable vehicles. I thought that the idea of having an insurance policy was so that you would be put back into the position you were in at the time of the loss. This is not so in the case with Aviva who offered me far less for my written-off vehicle (100% not my fault) than I could actually replace it for. The net result being I am now without a vehicle and I'm in a dispute with Aviva which I'm certain will not be resolved any time soon. I would not recommend Aviva to anybody, in fact, I've warned many people about my thoroughly unpleasant experience with Aviva.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Disappointed

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed Nov 28, 2019
For a very basic claim (of which I was not at fault) this company handling of my claim has been super incompetent. You give your information to them over and over and when you call back, apart from your name and address, nobody knows what's going on because nobody seems to be making notes. Messages to 'dispatch' aren't being taken seriously. Nobody seems to know what's going on. This has been a terrible experience for me and as soon as I can I am going to switch insurance companies.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

They are just awful!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by UpsetJay Nov 18, 2019
They just want every cent you have without caring about the customers they have insured. I was in an accident that was not my fault. My accident was a clear textbook accident and you could identify it on the "Fault Determination Act" for New Brunswick no problem. I am not even an insurance adjuster. When I first spoke with them they told me I was 100 percent at fault. Then I had argued the facts to make my case and she then advised me she would call me back. After not hearing from her for a few days I had called and left a voicemail. She then called me back with the biggest attitude I have ever heard over the phone and said I would be 25% at fault. I don't understand how this would occur so I continued to stand up for myself and when all was said and done she threatened me and said: "Well if you want I can just make you 100% at fault". This is when I lost it and went above her head. But even then it was still a nightmare. I know most insurance companies want your money but this was just ridiculous. I am finally able to leave this company and I am so happy. This is the worst insurance company. What was RBC thinking?! Stay away from this company everyone. Just because you with RBC doesn't mean you need to purchase their insurance as well.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

BEWARE, TOTAL SCAMMERS

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by waltontg Nov 16, 2019
I was a client of RBC insurance for 18 years, then Aviva bought them or into them. Back in 2016 in bad weather, I had the misfortune of sliding on pure ice on the roads and bumping into the car ahead of me when they bumped into the car ahead of them. They had a crack in their plastic bumper, I needed a new grille and front bumper. RBC told me not to worry go get it fixed, nothing will show on your record. 1 FREE CLAIM AWARD. RBC was great alone in 2017 I had a young lady with a G2 for only a week ran into the side of my truck on her way to work at an intersection, as she stated she was speeding and was late for work. After calling Aviva I was told to get a police report and I did, police deemed it no-fault. Aviva told me to take my truck to their shop, I did and was told 4300.00 in repairs, and 500 deductible... I decided to shop around. I got 4 quotes from quality shops, not one single quote was over 3100.00, the cheapest was 2800. When I called the Aviva adjuster I was assigned to she told me they would not cover the repairs unless I went to their shop. So, after telling her it should be my choice where I take my truck, not theirs. She informed me that after reviewing my file they are only going to cover 2600 in repairs unless I go to there shop. This same adjuster told me my premium would not be going up it would stay the same, until I took my truck to my choice of repair shop, soon as she found this out 2 weeks after the fact, all of a sudden she calls me to tell me she has determined this accident was my fault and my Premium would be going up, I was paying 1100.00 a year, with her determination my new premium would be 4856.00 a year! I followed up with many emails and calls, she would ignore me until the day I left her a VM saying I was going above her paygrade. A manager called me a week later, after discussing the facts, he told me there was not much he could do about the adjuster decision. I argued with him until he put a quote specialist on the call, once we had a below paygrade of everyone else on the phone this adjuster/customer service agent asked how I had gone from a 6 star client to a 1 star for a minor accident claim, he told me usually only see that if someone was drinking /driving, speed causing an accident . After this gentleman looked into my file (remember a customer service advisor) he changed my status to a 4 star, with a premium of 2300 a year. But I did not get the last laugh, just recently (guessing I was flagged) my monthly payment kept getting returned happened 4 times in the last year, but each time I would call and ask why they were returning my payment, some sort of PC glitch. Well, this past week I received a registered letter saying my insurance was cancelled due to late payments. I decided to shop around and get away from these crooks! Everywhere I call I'm told I have 2 accidents (one was a gimmie by RBC over 3 yrs ago) plus I have 4 late payments ( not my fault), so now no one will touch me for insurance. Found one company that wants almost 5000 a year and a half upfront. Thank you Aviva!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Never again

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by gpentrelli Nov 15, 2019
After having business with them for 18 years, they decide I was a high-risk driver (because I have 3 accidents in "6 YEARS"), they increase my rate of $200 to $1000 a month. Sorry, but it is ridiculous the insurance company rate the driver for the last 6 years. And the worst is after 18 years, never been late. I NEVER WILL BE BACK WITH THEM
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Scammers!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by michael Nov 07, 2019
I've been with them for 3 years. Last year my bank did a mistake with my credit card and I even didn't know. I received a new card but the payment was already declined for Aviva. I called them and they said that I lost my premium and I need to pay $50 fees for late payment. I sent the proof from the bank and, right... THEY NEVER ACCEPTED. All were AUTO payments! So I did it anyway because I had to drive that day... My luck to call and check for my plates. So I paid the downpayment first and last month and this year, they charged me the last month with the new increased amount!!! The last month was paid already and they charged me again but with the amount from the future policy! Aviva is just scammers! I had 2 Europeans from customer support. They were amazing, old guys. The rest... so sad!! bad service!!! Also, The insurance this year with $470 more for... what? I never had an accident, claim or ticket in 14 years of driving!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Worst customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jtan87 Oct 30, 2019
I’ve had RBC auto insurance (underwritten by Aviva) for at least 6 years now. I chose this because I banked with RBC. Figured there would be some loyalty rewards. Fast forward 6 years to today. I’ve never claimed an accident or anything at all. Not for auto. For home. For life. For anything. I’ve just systematically been paying my premiums. Out of the blue, they tell me my policy will be cancelled 10/01/19 because I never filled out an application that was never received. They let me worry about coverage for days before confirm that I was still covered until they had reviewed my application. Almost a month later, 10/30/19, I get another letter saying I had $1890 past due. This coincidentally is my annual premium amount. I called customer service to inquire what this is about, as for my tenure as a client, I’ve always paid monthly. Auto withdrawals never skipped a beat. Now the guy who takes my call informs me that this is a new law. Everyone in AB must pay annually. I asked, can I maybe pay half now. And half in two weeks when I get paid? Nope. No way around it. Must pay in full by 11/04/19 or my policy is cancelled. Asked if this was regarding some new legislation being passed (given we just had a provincial election not too long ago, and a federal one a few weeks ago). Guy then fesses up, says it’s a new policy Aviva under RBC is enforcing. I ask him then, to see what other policies I have active. And word for word he tells me, “ there are over 25 pages with people with the same last name as yours. And you want me to find you?” At this point, I was shocked. 1. Have you not already pulled my account? 2. If so, do it again. Use my first and last name.DOB, address, number etc. He then repeated himself. And I replied with “so you’re saying that it is beyond you and your scope of work to search for any policies I am currently still paying for? Answer carefully because I know this is recorded”. He then quickly finds the knowledge to search. And abruptly tries to transfer me to someone else. I told him never mind. As he’s been enough help for me today. I end the call and call another insurance. They’re more than happy to help me. They’re more than happy to get my business. All that, and guess what, even saves me $200 annually. I call RBC back to cancel. And this new representative tells me there is a cancellation fee for cancelling midterm. I argue and say, I would love to have had continued my policy. But you’re asking for a large amount of money, and the time frame of less than two weeks is ridiculous. Not to mention, the audacity of strong-arming me do this without any warning or notice. They told me I had to pay for the one month over coverage for the month of October. I was covered it never got width drawn. So I agreed to this payment. But then they tried to tack on a random $283 charge on top of the $167 premium for the month. I asked for a cost break down. On where they’re pulling this cancellation fee. And she told me it’s because I’m cancelling. Ironically, I’m only cancelling because they backed me into a corner. Either I had to fork up over almost $2000 and if I didn’t want to oh that right away then my conciliation prize was the cancellation fee? Not today RBC. I argued a bit more. And they decided to waive the cancellation fee. Long story short, RBC insurance. And Aviva, the underwriter, are crooks through and through. I warn anyone reading this. Beware.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Hope you don't have a problem

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dan Unhappy Oct 21, 2019
Cancelled my policy and they're charging me for the time it took them to do it. When I called to see if they would fix this they told me not a chance. That was my problem. Thanks for all your help and support Aviva. I will never use you again or recommend you to anyone!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Where Did They Go?

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by SWOntarioGuy Oct 21, 2019
I was involved in a minor fender bender back in March. Everyone was so helpful at first. It was an awesome experience I was really impressed... for a while. Then the Aviva claims guy tells me to go to a "recommended" place to have my car checked out and adjusted. He says there's an adjuster there. So I go, they take pictures of my car, I give them my claim number. Everything seems normal from what I understand. Then a week later, the claims guy emails me and says I need to take my car in for pictures. I let him know that I did, to the place he recommends. He says they don't have the pictures and that I need to go back and do it again. I tell him that, no, I went, they took pictures, (the place is a 40-minute drive out of my way) and to figure out what's going on and get back to me ASAP so I know what steps to take next. I haven't heard from him since. This was in May, it's now almost November. They just seemed to abandon me. I don't know, I'll just go fix it myself.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worse service ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JS Oct 08, 2019
I deleted one of my cars by mistake, the engine was broken got it fixed decided to keep the car. The car was uninsured for 3 weeks, called to get it insured again and here is where the problems started. 1. They couldn't offer me full coverage even tho the vehicle was fully cover less than 3 weeks prior. 2. I had to provide personal information DL for my wife and me even tho I have police with Aviva for over 10 years. 3. Double the premiums even tho the car was insured 3 weeks ago. 4. Customer service does NOT UNDERSTAND ENGLISH! 5. Worse company ever! 6.The agent with the heavy Indian accent. 7. Keep trying to sell me add on after repeatedly and angry telling them that I just want everything the same as my existing policy. 8. I really think these people work on commissions because the lady with a heavy Indian accent asked me in a matter of 30 minutes at least 10 times for my Credit card information. Worse service! Canada should really stop outsourcing customer service overseas. It took me 15 min to explain that I have a car that I only use on the weekends. I am sorry but RBC or Aviva whatever you are you need a lot of work to keep my business.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Cancellation

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jmartinez Oct 07, 2019
Their customer service so bad. It took me more than a week for the cancellation of my auto and home insurance policy and my refund. I called them on the phone many times and still unable to process the cancellation and I already faxed to them all the necessary signed documents for the cancellation. They all make so many excuses delaying the cancellation. They are giving me a difficult time and I spoke to several insurance advisors on the phone who are not able to resolve my concern. Now I have to go and see them in person to show them my new auto&home insurance policy from another company for them to process my cancellation. But they could already advise the first time to go in person for quick and sure processing of my cancellation. I experienced really bad customer service. I don't recommend this company to anyone.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Don't go with this company

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by James Oct 03, 2019
They have no problem taking your money but when the time to have a claim put in... I'm at 8 weeks now and still nothing. Keep saying they need more info, have to talk to the appraiser again. They give you the run-around. Not impressed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Terrible customer service.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bryan O Sep 27, 2019
Don't use Aviva insurance. Very unprofessional and terrible customer service! I've been with Aviva insurance for about 6 months now. When I signed up with my visa debit card, just like I did with my last car insurance company, I also pay several other bills without any issue. Well, in August I couldn't figure out why my payment hadn't been taken out on the 16th. So I waited a few days thinking they are just late taking my payment out. So on August 20th, I called to find out why it wasn't taken out yet. The guy says it's against their policy to accept Visa Debit they needed my checking account info. I said that everything was fine, however, I disputed my 50$ NSF fee. Because I had the funds in my account and it was their mistake to not inform me that they don't accept Visa Debit when I started the account. So he said he'd wave the 50$ fee. So in September, I called to give them a change of address and give them my bank info. The agent informed me that my policy would be an extra 500$, which is ridiculous, to begin with, but I agreed. As far as I'm concerned that's a verbal contract. I get my new policy today and it's a 546$ increase. That's an extra 46$ more than I agreed to. Continuing with that 2nd agent, at the end of the call she told me my amount owing for September was 50$ more than usual. Without getting a chance to respond, she hung up. So I called back immediately, realizing the mistake. The first 2 calls I got through to an agent in less than 20 min. I waited an hour before I could speak to the next agent. So, they've obviously flagged my number now. Anyways, I finally talk to an agent and informs me that I still have the NSF fee from August. She tells me they can only way to wave the NSF fee if I show the bank documents. She didn't give me an email address or anything to send the bank documents. Something the first representative should have said to me in August and it would have been dealt with. Being very frustrated now, I asked to speak to a manager to straighten this out. She informs me that she doesn't have a manager available. I said to her I pay good money for your services and it's unprofessional not to have someone to deal with this. She said the only thing she could do is make a note and have her manager call me back. Being a Friday Monday was the soonest I could get a callback. Monday was when my insurance was due. So I ended up paying the 50$ fee. Waited all week for a callback. I had one voicemail that I couldn't understand, which must have been them. So today I got my new policy in the mail with the extra 46$ added to my policy and still having paid the extra 50$ last month. So, I called today to deal with it again. Another one hour wait on hold. As soon as I get an agent, I insisted that I speak to a manager. Apparently, the manager isn't available again. The agent I was speaking to was one of the most condescending people I've ever spoken to. Spoke to him for about 30min. By the end of our conversation, he was literally mocking me. I worked in customer service and sales for a couple of years. I know my rights as a consumer. If it was anyone else besides the insurance company I would be compensated with free services. Which I've done several times in the past! Not to mention I would have been fired on the spot if I talked to anyone like that. If someone knows a good place where I can post this I would really appreciate it. This kind of customers service should not be tolerated.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Premium Theft by Aviva

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by mcadef Sep 25, 2019
I have, soon to be 'had' home and auto insurance with RBC - Aviva Insurance for well over 15 years. In order to jack up their rates, they'll terminate your policy for a made up reason and then re-quote you as a new customer without the long-standing good credit customer 'discounts'. To terminate my existing insurance they sent a letter with a blank form via regular mail to be completed with all my personal information with instructions to send it back by regular mail no later than September 15th. The letter is dated August 13th during prime vacation season when people are away. I received it and called them immediately the next day on September 5th to confirm if this was not a fraudulent request, they validated that it was true. During that same call, I asked if I could complete it online or email it because it contains a lot of personal information. They said no, only new customers can use the online service that I just need to complete it and mail it. I completed the form and put it in the mail that same day, September 5th. With 10 days to go, I didn't think much of it. Today, I received a registered letter that because the form was received by them September 18 they will cancel my insurance when this current policy expires. I can't speak to or guarantee Canada Post and their timelines of delivery. But this is how Aviva chooses to operate in order to terminate your insurance. There is nothing incomplete in the form... it is just 3 days late. And my policy expires in over a month, so there really is no issue. In the same breath they then offer to sign you up as a new customer ...over the phone/online with all that same personal information with a much higher premium. What's most frustrating is that customer service will admit that they see on my file that I called on September 5th and confirm that the context of my call was to validate the form and if I could email or complete it on line. I'm sure all carriers have their issues, but this is simply pure fraud to jack up their premiums/income. The service representatives on the line were sympathetic, they know they can't do anything about it... they're just doing their job.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Terrible Terrible Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by peter Sep 25, 2019
I have the same experience as most other people. After paying premiums for 15 years, my car insurance was cancelled after a no-fault accident and now my house is in cancelled because of a $10,000 flood claim. They downgraded my driving rating to a new driver for a no-fault accident. This company is not accredited by the better business bureau and I'm surprised that RBC associates themselves with such unscrupulous business practices.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

THE WORST COMPANY EVER

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Maddie Sep 18, 2019
Been with them for 3 years (and it is my first time having insurance) I never had a late payment, and haven’t caused an accident. May of 2018 I had someone sideswipe me, who was late getting in the lane, didn’t check their blind spot, didn't even use their blinker... swiped me so hard! My front passenger wheel was ON THE CURB. The police report was made, and I had 3 witnesses. 4 months later I get a letter in the mail saying due to a faulty accident my policy will not be renewed (a few weeks before I got my brand new car and was upgrading to full coverage) I had fought with them as it was nowhere’s near my fault. (The lady had lied in her claim and said I reared ended her when the damage was on the SIDE of my car) After about a month the claim was changed to 50/50 because it involved lane switching? That was the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard when I was clearly beside her when she attempted to switch over in the lane. (It also happen at an intersection, right turning lane, as soon as the right lane opened, I had gotten into the lane. She crossed over a solid white line and hit me) Aviva said that they still can’t renew my policy after it was changed to 50/50 so I had to switch. All of this caused my insurance to sky rocket! Save yourself the headache! They are good when you don’t need anything from them, but the moment you do, they are literally useless. They don’t care about their customers, I felt mistreated and not listen to, and brushed off. I will never have good things to say about them and all my friends and family have been warned, who has also warned others. If I could give zero stars I would. Not even worthy enough to have the one. Now with Customer Service. I was transferred all around before I actually got to the right person. For a while, I never heard back from anyone, and nobody could give me any answers on anything. And Everyone was so unpleasant to speak with besides one gentleman, who I think understood how I was feeling, and he tried his best to renew my policy.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Cancelled - refund slow

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Victoria Sep 18, 2019
After I purchased my insurance for my new car, I asked the agent if there was a cooling-off period for the contract if I had second thoughts the next day, and was assured that would be no problem. Then, I contacted the company the next day to cancel, send the required documents as requested (scanned copies) and was told that the policy would be cancelled immediately. Well, that was around August 23 and it is now September 17 and I have not received a refund. My husband contacted the company today and they said they were putting a "cheque in the mail" today. What horrible service! I'm not at all impressed, and may also pursue this with Consumer Protection BC.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

No appreciation of customers

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ByeAviva Sep 16, 2019
Customer for 6 years (never missed a payment) and now they send a letter saying they may renew me but I must pay the whole year upfront. Already found cheaper insurance and dealing with them on a claim that wasn't my fault was lengthy and hard to get real answers. They don't look after their customers.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Overcharged

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ripped off Sep 12, 2019
Aviva changed my policy premium and financing terms without notifying me and started taking more money out my bank account without an explanation or consent. I would not recommend Aviva for your insurance needs.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

STRESSFULL

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unsatisfied Customer Sep 07, 2019
It was very stressful dealing with this company. So hard to get a hold of them ,they take their time to reply or don't reply at all given that the circumstance is Urgent. The people I dealt with are very unprofessional and rude. They did not pay me the value of my car, ended my rental and refused to extend it , they have no sense of communication and on top of that it took them 6 months to send a check after the fact that I agreed to their settlement. If I could give them 0 stars I definitely would. I would not ever advice any of my friends, family or associates to go with Aviva. Not even my worst enemy!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Get them out of business

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Fedup Sep 06, 2019
A careless driver rammed my car from behind in January 2019. Both cars have deemed a write-off. Because I was driving 50 km away from my home, Aviva has me under investigation. The person who was on their cell phone who rear-ended me has been rewarded with a new car and is back on the road. Its been 9 months and I am still making a monthly payment to the company that I financed my car from and I still have no word from Aviva.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Find any other company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Peterson Sep 05, 2019
For the first year, we paid the full amount upfront. The second year we wanted to do a payment plan which they said they would only do for $800 more. Now you have to pay the full amount upfront and I do not know a lot of people that have 3000$ at the drop of a dime. Furthermore, now we get a threatening letter saying if we don’t apply for insurance because of a random audit, they will just drop the policy. Nice job Aviva. I hope you go under.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Another victim.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bertie Sep 04, 2019
Aviva raised my rates for 3 cars and home from $2100/year to $3360/year and demanded full payment upfront. I have a driving and credit rating that would make a veteran police officer look like a punk kid. Some of us didn't deserve this, life is hard enough.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?