Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Aviva Auto Insurance Reviews

(289 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
156,206
consumers
(1.4 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Worst Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by chahal May 07, 2019
Very bad experience with them. Facing issues after two years of animal impact claim for myself which was no fault, but now that claim is shown in my wife licence, as unknown, which increases our premium for a new policy. I don't know what to do now? Stay away from AVIVA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Worst Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ananda May 06, 2019
My auto and home insurance were with RBC for 18 years and they changed it to AVIVA. AVIVA ask me to fill a form and keep rejecting to renew if I don't fill it right and also demand to pay a full annual premium up front. Being with RBC for that long, I didn't like their attitude and changed my insurance to another company for a better premium. They charged a monthly premium. I do not recommend Aviva insurance.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Car Insurance Renewal

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by rhonda May 03, 2019
I was a with RBC - Aviva until I was fired today as a client when they refused to renew my insurance. They cited I missed some information on the application paperwork that they had received AND instead of calling me or worse emailing me to call them, they sent a letter which I got just yesterday to which I called them at 8 this am, and then after making me redo the paperwork again over the phone they refused my renewal, because they said my insurance expired at midnight - unbelievable!!! Even though they had ALL my information on file already, otherwise why would they have insured me for all these years? This, after having NO claims, NO speeding tickets and a flawless driving record for 25+ years. WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Thank you insureye and posters

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sakensun Apr 28, 2019
I was just informed we have been randomly chosen to reapply and thanks to what I have read we will be looking elsewhere. I’m sure there are other companies willing to insure 3 cars for someone who has never had a ticket or claim or missed a payment in 26 years. It also seems to me that we were “randomly picked” because our 16-year-old daughter just received her learners permit. And although there it is not supposed to affect your insurance as a parent, this is their way of increasing your premiums.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Laura H Apr 25, 2019
Could not be more upset with Aviva Insurance, I had 2 policies with them; 1 policy which had a vehicle and another policy which has a vehicle and a house. Aviva automatically renewed my insurance policy for the house and 1 vehicle in November for another year and then when my second policy came up for renewal in December they made me fill out a bunch of bogus paperwork to renew that separate policy. I have friends that work in the insurance industry and said that Aviva was re-evaluating me as a customer because my premiums were not high enough (this would have been ok if they just raised it but the fact they made me reapply for one policy and not the other with the most non-user friendly paperwork to fill out ...) we all know how the economy works..... I ended having to get different insurance for my one vehicle and they were going to charge over $500 to cancel my home and auto with them because they just renewed it automatically the month before. My recommendation is to get a broker and tell them to not even look twice at AVIVA. The worse kind of customer service experience I have ever encountered. DO NOT CHOOSE AVIVA!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Aviva/ RBC awful companies

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lina Apr 24, 2019
I would rate them a 0 if I could. I was sent a registered letter stating that my car insurance would not be renewed because I didn’t send some forms in. I had no idea what they were talking about as I did not get any forms. I called RBC/ Aviva and I explained to them I did not get any forms. Basically, they didn’t seem to care at all and stated if I did not receive them, then they would have had returned mail. Wow, that’s not necessarily true. I have been a customer for 7 years and I get treated like this. Awful, just awful! Today I cancelled my property insurance with them as I do not want to give these companies a penny more as they obviously do not care about their customers. They proceed to charge me $176 to cancel the insurance- are you kidding me??? Pure thieves!!! Do not go with RBC/AVIVA insurance - they don’t care about their customers, they are not trustworthy and they are thieves - overcharging. My new insurance company is much better, better rates and coverage and guess what they value their customers.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Just Don't Trust

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rono Apr 16, 2019
I'm a 50-year male that has been driving for 35 years and never had one claim...and never so much have got a speeding ticket. I was with Dalton Timmis insurance happily, until they got purchase by Aviva. First I was sent the ridiculous 5 pages of forms to be completed and sent back...despite them already have all the information already. Fine...whatever...I complete it and send it back, only to be informed that my rates have gone up and they want the entire year paid in advance, instead of month to month. Again...I have never even got a speeding ticket in my life...zero accidents or claims. Then...to top it off...after I informed them, that I will be taking my business elsewhere, they sent me an email saying I needed to complete the attached cancellation form. Begrudgingly I opened the attachment and instead of a cancellation form, they had sent me someone else's insurance forms. I'm sure that person would love to know that his personal information is being sent out to strangers. I'm not sure if they are just trying to run their company into the ground or drive business elsewhere...but in either case..it's working.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Garbage Aviva company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Michael Apr 15, 2019
Aviva should change their name to Garbage company. It's not only me, but many of my knowns had the worst experience. Note it whenever you need a claim you will get nothing. This company is the best in refusing claims. Never get this insurance.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

RBC/Aviva terrible service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Upset Apr 14, 2019
I received the 5-page form by registered mail to renew my auto insurance with Aviva. I’ve been with RBC insurance for 19 years. I have one month to return the form. After reading comments on this forum, I called RBC and spent over an hour filling form, so as to avoid problems. Who knows what algorithm triggered this? This is an awful way to do business. I called a broker and provided them with the same information for a quote. I’ve had it with dealing with an insurance company that treats me so shabbily. I called them last fall to get a quote on a new trailer. I wanted to sell my existing one and buy a new one. In mid-policy, they cancelled my trailer insurance while I was on the phone. I got it back, but it took hours on the phone. I promptly sold my trailer and did not replace it. I find that Aviva is very fickle and unpredictable. I’m hoping that the broker comes up with something reasonable. I would like to never need to deal directly with insurance companies again.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

STAY AWAY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Alli P Apr 10, 2019
Absolute garbage company. Got my notification in the mail for my renewal. Come to find out they increased my premiums for home and auto insurance. After 6 years with them, this is how they treat my husband and I. He had 1 minor traffic ticket and they tried to blame it on that. Normal insurance companies decrease your rates over time. Not RBC Aviva... Not a chance. The representative then informs me that they applied to whomever to be able to increase everyone's premiums... they increased it alright... They got approved to increase their premiums by 20%!! This is absolutely absurd. My car insurance increased by almost $100 and my tenant insurance increased by $20! Unreal. It's almost criminal how they're allowed to get away with this. Ever since they partnered up with Aviva everything has gone to crap. Stay away from them. Save your money and go elsewhere.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Not renewing my car policy

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dadara Apr 03, 2019
Stay away from Aviva. Terrible experience. Been insured with RBC for 10+ years never had any problems. Since they merged with Aviva been horrible. This year got 5 pages long application to fill out by certain date and been told if they don't receive by the due date my insurance wouldn't be renewed. Sent all the documents on time and still got mail back telling that they won't renew my policy because I didn't send documents on time. Called them and when they realized it wasn't my mistake they were trying to find another excuse not to renew and they said to me even if you send all the documents on time we can't renew because some info is missing. The real reason for not renewing our policy is the at fault accident that I had in November 2018 and as soon as you make a claim they are trying to get rid of you. We do have accidents forgiveness for the first time as they said but that is a real lie. Never heard from anyone that insurance won't renew your policy because not filling the application properly. This is just a stupid excuse that they use. First of all, I have never done this before usually, broker fill all the necessary info so if I didn't do it properly they should offer some help because I'm not the broker and this shouldn't be the reason for not renewing my policy. Please do not go with them if you need any kind of insurance they are horrible awful customer care, not getting anything for being a loyal customer it is disaster. So rude, instead of trying to keep you as a customer they are telling me to look elsewhere for insurance. Rbc you made the biggest mistake for selling your company to Aviva. They are not professional insurance company. Terrible I will advise anyone that I know to stay away from them and hopefully, they will be out of business soon. I would rate them 0 stars. They shouldn't exist at all.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Crooks ....buyer beware!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TM Apr 03, 2019
Beware, this is how they boost bottom line by denying legitimate claims...the extreme delays in hope that policyholder loses interest or gets frustrated and walks away. Quick to sign up and consistent with pulling monthly premiums however if you ever have a claim they will delay and delay and treat you like a criminal. Six (6) months after filing a claim (hit by a driver who ran a red light) and we are no closer to a resolve and they have not provided a cent towards the $1800 put out for rental (did I mention they continued to take out full premium although there was no car on the road due to their adjuster writing off). They are known for their delay tactics (first thing lawyer told us when we mentioned who the provider was). Make sure you tell all your friends and family to stay clear of this provider for both auto and home insurance based on all the really BAD reviews for both services. Not investing in proper due diligence prior to signing on was my first mistake with these crooks!! They don't even deserve a 1 star should be -5!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stay away from Aviva

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by 2tonyandterry Mar 25, 2019
Worst experience ever trying to deal with this company. Took 3 weeks to settle a claim when my wife got hit (not her fault). They refused to listen to our complaints and basically told us to like it or lump it. Insurance premiums were raised over 200$ a year for no reason at all as our driving records are squeaky clean. I'd prefer the charges of going without insurance than dealing with this company ever again. There is NO customer care whatsoever
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Find another provider

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kirby Mar 19, 2019
One of the many caught in the Aviva Alberta Exodus. Not prepared to go through the hoops they have demanded for renewal, nor switch from monthly to annual upfront payment on less than a month's notice, nor risk them denying me insurance for missing an item on their form if not filled in to their satisfaction. Would require me being on hold with them yet again to get data that only they have as it was never released to me anyways! In calling around for quotes, other providers have confirmed that Aviva started with low rates then realized the claims rate in AB and are getting out. Have landed at The Personal for a similar rate.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bmac Mar 13, 2019
Have a claim open now, about a stolen car... They treat you as a criminal, it’s already been 6 months and it is still under investigation... The adjuster, investigator, and claims department are very rude and awful. I really like my broker, but as for Aviva insurance, it’s crap and not worth the extra money for full coverage if your car's used... Would not recommend to anyone... I wouldn’t even give one star if there was an option
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Disgusted

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kellyd Mar 12, 2019
We just received their standard registered letter, requiring us to complete a new application, which they may or not approve, and then we must pay our entire premium up front. We have been with RBC, which is now underwritten by Aviva, for over 10 years. No claims, never a late payment, loyal customers and this is what we get in return. After a conversation with RBC, I was advised that Aviva is requiring all premiums are to be made upfront for EVERY Aviva customer in Alberta and a couple of other provinces due to the amount of defaulted payments. Apparently, they don't look at you as an individual, but as an Albertan! Unbelievable. This looks really bad for RBC as well.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Insurance canceled NO REASON?

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by A Mar 07, 2019
Been with them for 2 years, just got a letter after winter saying they are cancelling my bike insurance. THAT'S AWESOME, BIKE SEASON IS JUST AROUND THE CORNER! UNBELIEVABLE. Don't waste your money!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

AVIVA, a horror story.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frank Mar 05, 2019
For anyone that has auto insurance from Aviva Canada, I strongly suggest you find a new provider and for anyone who is contemplating using them for insurance to stay well clear of them. They are a horror story and only want your money and will find any excuse to avoid payouts. Here is my horror story. I have had them for over 10 years as my auto insurance provider and dutifully paid the premiums on time, every time, even when I heard others had cheaper premiums with other companies. Stupid me. On July 2018 I was involved in an auto collision. The other driver was at fault and was charged with careless driving by the police officer. It was my bad luck that he also had Aviva insurance. I reported the accident in same day. Aviva quickly wrote off the vehicle, even though the damage did not seem that extensive, and lowballed me on the payout. Less than half of what I paid 2 years prior. I argued that I had done some major repair work on it 6 months prior and should be at least partially compensated for that as well. According to Aviva that is apparently where I committed a sin. It seems we cannot question being ripped off by them. After 1 month of no definitive answers from them, in frustration, I cancelled my multiple auto and property policies with Aviva. They lost a total of $6,600 annual premiums because of their unprofessional approach. And really for a mere $12,000 claim. That appeared to have been my second mistake. I believe that they thought it was now payback for cancelling my policies. They took over 6 months to make a case that the work was not done as detailed in the receipts I provided. They put me through phone and an in-person interrogation (the Gestapo could not have done a better job). The end result was that they declined my claim including the car rental I used for 1 week after the accident. While it may be true that the auto shop cheated me on the work done in the bills, they should have simply declined the receipts and maintained their original offer, low as it was. Talk about adding salt to a wound. I have now retained a lawyer and proceeding with legal action against Aviva. Stay away from this scam of a company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by verdecal Mar 04, 2019
I was sent a form to fill out, (they gave me a week) 5 business days to fill it out and mail it back. I had to say goodbye (loyal 9-year customer with no record of any issues or accidents with them). Customer service was horrible and I just had to leave. I found out later that their rating was at an all-time low and the company was in some financial turmoil. So not only did I drop the auto insurance I also dropped my home and cottage insurance as well. I would suggest staying away from this insurance company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

20% increase April 2019

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by garytown Mar 03, 2019
Well after 25 years with them, no claims on anything, now retired, 6000 km a year driving, now was hit with a 20% increase for no reason. GOODBYE!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Not friendly people!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Gerald Mar 01, 2019
I was hit by an Aviva customer and the whole claim experience was very bad, they just don't like claims related calls, everyone kept pushing you to the next person and the worse was the assigned adjuster, she only picks the phone when she feels like and never returned my voicemails when I asked why the detail in replying my email. She said I just send it 4 hrs before so it was too late, generally not a good experience, I would never use them and won't recommend them.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Run run run

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ohcananada Feb 27, 2019
Their premiums might seem more affordable but do yourself a favour and pay the extra $100+ if you must. Aviva has to be the worst insurance company in the world. First, they do not like paying out for damages, blame you for an accident that is no fault of yours, even if you have a solid proof. Their lawyers are scammers, who make up stories to get you thrown off during interviews. They undervalue your property threatened you to comply with their policy though you are in the right. I had an accident where I suffered a concussion, physical injuries, developed anxiety & depression but they are claiming my injuries are from other sources though there is nothing in my medical file stating I had these issues prior. I wasn't at fault for the accident yet they blame it all on me. This company is a crook company that should not be in operation. I have a 1 star to Aviva because I cannot go any lower.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

It's time to say goodbye ...

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Girl from Milton ON Feb 27, 2019
It is so sad, but I decided to leave RBC Insurance after being a loyal customer for almost 20 years. The price hike in 2019 is unacceptable, I have a perfect driving record, no claims on my house insurance. I was told by two different RBC agents, that the price increase on my policy was because my new 2018 car doesn't have Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB), REALLY!!?? I spoke to a few different, reputable Insurance companies and they were laughing, they told me, they never heard about an increase in premium for not having AEB installed on the car. Well, I was a loyal customer, but RBC/AVIVA is not, so it's time for me to look for a new Insurance Company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

AVIVA is the worst

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chippy Feb 26, 2019
I had both Auto and House policy with AVIVA for over 15 years. My rates increased last year. This year I got the notice that I was selected randomly to reapply for my policy renewal via email from my broker? I asked my broker why and they said AVIVA are randomly reevaluating auto policies in Alberta. You have to reapply and AVIVA will decide if you will even get a policy or not, plus you have to pay entire years policy, no monthly plan. I got the six-page form by registered mail today, just like starting from scratch, they already have all this information. I am a -15 grid rating driver, which is the best rating. I am the type of driver that AVIVA should be providing policies for since I am the lowest risk. Being treated like crap doesn't work for me, bye bye AVIVA. I also have a home policy which is getting switched to another insurance provider. AVIVA is the only company I know that doesn't want your business. Avoid them like the plague! I would rate AVIVA lower than one if I could.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

39% increase from 2018

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by DFG Feb 25, 2019
We are retired. No accidents. No tickets. Have been customers of RBC Insurance and (now Aviva) for the past 35 years. We live in a low-risk community and drive a Hyundai and a Ford. How can they possibly justify an increase of both our auto and home insurance by 39%?! We hate change but NO WAY we will be assaulted by this corporate greed. Shop around folks.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Zero Stars

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by QueenK Feb 23, 2019
This company is absolutely awful. They are the first company that I used for my car insurance and when they were under RBC, they were great but the minute they switched to Aviva, they were absolutely horrible. They more than tripled my policy amount over two years then suddenly cancelled my entire policy without a word. Not even one claim or at-fault accident on my file. They are absolutely disgusting and the worst. I hate this company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

APPLICATION & FULL PAYMENT??!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shocked Feb 22, 2019
I just got a registered letter from Aviva stating I had to submit a "WRITTEN APPLICATION FOR REVIEW AND ACCEPTANCE". Without this form, my policy would not be renewed. Also, FULL PAYMENT must be made if accepted. I spoke to an agent 2 weeks prior to receiving this notice and there was no mention of this ridiculousness. He updated my existing insurance with my new details and I got my pink slip in the mail. Today, I called them again to find out why I was getting such a letter and the rep. indicated that I was picked randomly and this is a NEW LAW in ALBERTA - which I think he said to get me off the phone #fakenews. I will be filing a complaint and will start looking elsewhere for auto insurance. I have a clean driving recording & have been driving for 15 years. This does not add up - they are up to something.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Worst service insurance ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by raymond_n Feb 22, 2019
Do yourself a big favour and avoid Aviva at all costs. Unacceptable customer service, insane wait times to speak to advisors. Some we have documented 78 minutes wait time to speak to an advisor. Insulting and actually disgusting how we were treated, even got hung up on a few times. Yes, they actually hung up and said: we are now closed, goodbye. Really the worst experience with an insurance provider ever. They just make up the rules as they go. You have been warned folks, the reviews are true. Simply do not even try!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

100% Unprofessional!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Say no to Tyrants Feb 20, 2019
Do yourself a big favour and avoid Aviva at all costs. Unacceptable customer service, insane wait times to speak to advisors. Some we have documented 78 minutes wait time to speak to an advisor. Insulting and actually disgusting how we were treated, even got hung up on a few times. Yes, they actually hung up and said: we are now closed, goodbye. THEN my wife's 2004 Chevy Tahoe was stolen and we were treated like criminals. They stated that the vehicle's ignition wasn't compromised the usual way that their appraiser is used to seeing. Not my problem. We were treated as suspects and were victimized worse by Aviva. They even had the nerve to ask for bank records, income tax files, even phone records couldn't believe it. We ended up settling for way below replacement value after 7 months of going back and forth. They make 1 offer and if you don't like it, too bad. We got $4100 to replace our Tahoe and had to spend $7500 to obtain a comparable vehicle. Really the worst experience with an insurance provider ever. They just make up the rules as they go. You have been warned folks, the reviews are true.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

worst service ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by BrowneyZ Feb 20, 2019
They kept me waiting 52 min but no response. I was very much disappointed. Will never use Aviva service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?