Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Belairdirect Auto Insurance Reviews

(391 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
202,964
consumers
(1.9 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Canceled and still took money

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pissed off Sep 23, 2020
They took one more payment out after i cancelled it a month later, and won't give me my money back. I moved out of the province and went with another company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Car Insurance Increased by 9%

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Paul B Sep 13, 2020
My Albertan Car Insurance renewal premium increased by 9% for 2020-2021 - this when I had no claims in 2019 (minor one in 2018), plus I recently retired (so no driving to work), plus my wife (retired nurse) and I are now on a fixed pensionable income), plus I changed from high risk, downtown condo address with monthly break-ins to a garaged, suburban residential address - and all this when Alberta has suffered severe economic downturn due to collapse in oil price, plus COVID/pandemic economic hardship and massive job losses across Canada... So despite this, my car insurance premium INCREASED by 9%. I phoned to query and wasn't given a satisfactory explanation or justification. I will definitely move insurance companies. Price gouging for seniors nor appreciated.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Don't bother

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed Sep 11, 2020
I get different information every time I call. Now I'm out $200 because I tried to cancel my policy within the renewal period and they took my money anyway and every time I call. They have no idea what I'm talking about. BEWARE.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Fraud

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by R.L. Sep 05, 2020
They are stalling my auto for the past two months when there is none of my fault my car was stolen from the street and all they are doing is nothing! My adjuster is ignoring and blocking my calls. I don’t think anyone keeps a check on the employee's call records. Moreover, the adjuster never called to provide any information. They promise a rental but they don’t provide it and they will stall and stall and cut their monthly payments...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Steep premium increases

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Deniz S Aug 21, 2020
Stayed 4 years for this insurance provider, I chose because they gave me the best price but after 4 years without any accident, claim or any ticket it went to a 70% increase and could take it anymore and I cancelled even though renewal already in place so I have to pay them 186$ admin fee. But still happy see get out of them. My yearly total cost was 1024 / year (2016,) İncreased 1270 a year later, 1460 another year and now asked 1780! Then it was enough for us and we cancelled.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Worst Insurance Company Ever!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Elizabeth A Aug 09, 2020
I sold my car and was charged $186 cancellation fees that I wasn't informed at the start of my policy.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very poor service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pierre Jul 28, 2020
A service representative told me they would call me back never did left me in limbo for three days! I will never do business with them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Do not get this insurance.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Belairdirect Jul 07, 2020
Do not get this insurance! In the recent hailstorm that hit Calgary this June 2020, I was if not first one from the first people that started the claim, the rain was still falling, all the neighbors couldn't believe what was going on and I did my claim right away. Well, today July 7th my car is just going to start getting fix, all my neighbors cars are fixed or claims settled. We have the worst adjuster we had ever dealt with. She never called us, we had to do the entire process by ourselves, she is useless, to the full extent of the word!!! We had to follow up with the entire process, she never called weeks pass and we never hear from her. Every time I had to call the tow company, to get a rental, to tow it to the other repair facility, and so for. Having this adjuster and nothing is the same! In July 2nd we called the call-center to ask about what was going to happen to our rental (because the adjuster didn't do her job at all and nothing was getting done! We did all the calls and followed up, thanks to us the car is getting fix, not the useless adjuster) that 10,000 claims were made is not an excuse, other insurers did by far a better job than this 3 people together. Worst customer service ever. SO in the call center, the lady said "Don't worry honey, I have been doing this for 25 years, I will extend your rental 1 more week. Then the next day at about 4 pm someone called and left a message saying that our rental has to turn back, it was Friday 4 pm, after listening to this we tried to call back but all adjusters were gone. So Monday we called and spoke to our adjuster she was a useless sound like a broken record with no listening skills at all. So we asked to talk to the Manager, he listened and understood that they made a mistake but didn't want to take responsibility for it, what kind of manager do that. Zero management skills at all. So we did return the rental today Monday and had to pay for 2 days out of our pockets for a CALL CENTER REPRESENTATIVE MISTAKE and a useless adjuster and a manager that all she knows to say is "yes, they need some coaching" of course they do and in the meantime, it is costing me money and finally a rude, unprofessional, manager with zero skills! I Can't wait to switch insurance. Get a real insurance company, not this joke.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Fantastic service

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Raheel B Jun 23, 2020
A representative was so professional and knowledgeable that I not only reinstated my insurance but also change my mind of switching over my insurance company for better rates upon my renewal. Thank you for working with the customer's needs and helping me to get back on the road with very good coverage.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Worse company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lorie Jun 20, 2020
I was not impressed with this company at all, every time I would ask them something they would have an excuse and not give a straight answer. Also, they are money grabbers! I got an accident last year with one vehicle and female driver just under 25 and for no reason at all my premium went up to 400 dollars which is insane I have had other companies offer way lower, even with the COVID discount they didn’t offer it to me I had to ask and still waiting didn’t get even though told them I’m not working. Not a company I would recommend at all.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Do not use this company!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dad Jun 12, 2020
Not only did talk all nice and make it sound like I was saving money using them, they cancelled my policy after just one month after reviewing my past driving history rather than reviewing it at the time of purchase. Instead of refunding my money back to me, they held on to it and kept giving excuses as to how they were going to process the refund. They will take your money, but not refund it in the same matter. They never owned up to the mistakes they made, instead tried to turn around and say I was not being honest with them. Then they tried to ask for more money in order for me to continue having valid insurance. They are complete crooks. They should be put out of service after being sued in a class-action lawsuit. In a pandemic and a time of crisis, they continue to steal money from hard-working consumers...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

lousy service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by not me! Jun 12, 2020
I spent over an hour yesterday trying to purchase both house and car insurance. After being placed on hold I was disconnected. The sales representative called back and spent another 10 minutes taking more info from me. In the middle of calculating my premiums, I was told that their computer crashed. So the representative made an appointment to call at a specific hour today. She did not call back. If a company can't service a buyer what a disaster it would be to have a claim. I will not be dealing with this company EVER
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great service!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by WB Jun 11, 2020
Very positive experience renewing my car insurance. Dealt with the agent out of the Edmonton office. She was very enthusiastic, positive and professional. Looked for discounts to lower my insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Covid

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by bag May 26, 2020
I asked them for a COVID discount today (for my mother) and they will only base it on starting moving forward. Nobody knows how long this will last... And who knew from the beginning how long it will last? No one from Belair ever reached out to her. She drives 2,500 km's per year. At the same time, they are trying to upsell her on the very same call: Car accident forgiveness Roadside Assistance Car rental if not her fault???? Calling for COVID discount and they are trying to get more money from a senior citizen during this epidemic?!? Real sad and desperate on their part. They are offering an $18 per month discount. My insurance company sent me a cheque for 25% of my monthly policy and not 1 call was made. Just a letter in the mail with a cheque. I hope Belair is one of those companies that will need a trustee due to this pandemic...all to do with greed. Tomorrow we start looking for a new home and car insurance The best part...they keep $300 for a cancellation fee. STAY AWAY from Belair.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Only Friendly Until Claim

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by DD May 21, 2020
Rates were pretty competitive and customer service was good on the sales side but found very different treatment when I had to make a claim. Zero fault auto claim started with high pressure, low ball offer when they wrote off my truck. When I asked questions about the settlement amount, the adjuster started cancelling my extras, like no extension on my rental car. That was followed by threats of storage fees applied to my wrecked vehicle if I did not settle by a certain date. After being bullied into accepting their offer, they took two weeks to release my claim amount citing COVID delays. I certainly wasn't allowed the same courtesy.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Torture

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Radi H May 13, 2020
The worst insurance company. Horrible customer service, they spelled my name wrong on the pink slip. Requested another pink slip with a correct name. Never got it. Overcharged by $19 for not apparently not downloading the app. But I hate it downloaded, so I called and asked why this is happening they said that I needed to redownload it. So I did and registered all my information AGAIN and was still overcharged the next two months AGAIN by $19. Go with anyone else...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Huge cancellation fees

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ravi.d Apr 15, 2020
Worst customer service... These people either don't care what their customers happy or they just have really bad employees (most of them). I called in to cancel my auto insurance since they kept increasing by premium every month, and the agent asking me again and again "are you sure about it, what do you mean you are not using your car!!!". I mean seriously, what he wants from me, should I beg to cancel my policy, also he was acting like he was high or something... they charged me $185 to cancellation fees. Now if we searched on google, it says max. Up to 10% of the full-year payment. So I did the math, my full-year premium was $1700 and for even $1700, 10% is not $185. And I was in the middle of my year, so half of the premium I've already paid. This is the highest amount of cancellation fees I have ever seen.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Accident Forgiveness is a SCAM

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by PC Apr 13, 2020
I joined Belair during 2016 when they had their big “Accident Forgiveness” campaign. Now, four years later, after my first collision, I find out that accident forgiveness was not added to my policy and no one at any point told me it needed to be added. Then the person on the phone said I could add it with my next car, forgetting that I JUST HAD A COLLISION and am no longer eligible. She made sure to highlight they’re the only Canadian Company offering accident forgiveness, but that doesn’t matter if it can’t actually get it. Once they pay me out for my car I am likely never dealing with them again.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Helpful and Easy

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by RB Apr 10, 2020
I called to cancel insurance on two cars during these times of not working during the virus. It was not a problem and they further reduced the other vehicle because it now is only used for store runs. (Low mileage) Very helpful and easy. Saved me money which is what I need in these times of not working.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Belair Direct claim experience

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by nsalem Mar 26, 2020
Belair adjuster provided an excellent service. She made my claim experience stress free and was very helpful.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Coronavirus

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Belair Mar 23, 2020
They can't even help me during the coronavirus. I asked to get my monthly payment delayed (example: I had 3 payments left on my policy and I wanted to add another month in the end) because I'm not sure of what money I will get obviously. They are useless and careless! I will definitely go to some other company when my insurance is done, useless people. Not happy at all!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Positive Recommendation

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by jimmy Mar 20, 2020
A good job was done with respect to my claim. I hope Belairdirect will keep it up and treat other customers similarly well.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Quick Quote = Waste of time

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Danny of Alberta Mar 17, 2020
I went through the online process to get a quote, no issues found (no accidents, no changes for years etc) even got to the "get your quote" button. However, as soon as you hit that button you are told you have to contact a representative for a quote. Hit the chat option and was told by the person chatting that I have to call the 800 number for a quote but not to worry because "you will still get the online discount by calling" So typical... just another waste of time trying to get an estimated quote... don't bother trying online for a "quick quote". Also, since giving them my email address they contact me all the time for garbage.... still have not been able to get off the mailing list!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Avoid Belairdirect

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Customer review Mar 10, 2020
Worst customer service ever! If you ever have to file a claim, you’d have to quit your job just to make sure anything is done right. It took for almost 3 months for my claim to be resolved. And in the end, I was paid a fraction of my car’s value. I would give them a 0 star if I can.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

scammers

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by 5 hour customer. Mar 07, 2020
Avoid at all costs if at all possible. I have been with them for 5 hours and they've already increased my agreed-upon rate by 1000$! You can cancel if you'd like for a fee of course. SCAM! DO NOT ASSOCIATE WITH THIS COMPANY!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Way overpriced

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by TT from Ottawa Mar 05, 2020
I've made three claims with this company, once for my home, which was NOT paid, and twice for my vehicle, one of which was an at-fault accident. We paid for accident forgiveness, and then we had an at-fault accident and my insurance spiked by about $450 per year. Why am I paying for something and not receiving it? I am sure if I followed up with them, I would get a bunch of excuses about industry standards, blah, blah... but considering for that first claim, I had to shell out an extra $1200 for OM parts when my vehicle was brand new, that blather isn't going to be well-received. The insurance adjuster for that at-fault claim was an absolute incompetent on a power trip. I would be changing insurance companies if I could. But of course, without already having accident forgiveness with another company, we're pretty much screwed for a couple of years.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst experience.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Josh Mar 05, 2020
I’ve dealt with multiple insurance companies, Belairdirect is by far the worst. They will happily take your money but will do everything possible to get out of paying money or simply doing their job. I had an accident in November, got injured and my car was totalled. It’s now March, haven’t gotten a penny. And now they are trying to push off the injury payment to the insurance company I signed up for a month after the accident occurred. The whole time, I am still being told to pay insurance (for a car that isn’t on the road anymore) so that my account stays open in hopes of eventually getting coverage for the damage done to my car. If looking for insurance, Belairdirect is cheap, but don’t follow through with anything committed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

The worst experience ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ET Feb 29, 2020
This company will not do their due diligence when it comes to an accident claim. I was left weeks without knowing what my outcome would be when I got into a minor accident which I later found out only through the other insurer that my claim was going to be 100% my fault even though I had evidence otherwise. Then got dropped, no call, no email nothing. Then when I call I deal with some foreign person who was extremely rude and unprofessional blaming me. If I knew I would have been able to have my claim investigated further I would have gladly done so but because this terrible company screwed me over I never bothered to pursue which was my biggest mistake. Don't ever trust this company with your life they don't care about you and just want your business and nothing more regardless if you are not at fault they blamed you. Better off going with a more reputable company and I'm happy I never have to deal with them ever again. Goodluck if this company is your insurer.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by chaudhry Feb 25, 2020
My vehicle was vandalized, reported and claim initiated. The adjuster took one month to make fraudulent links to assess my claim. I could not verify where she got prices so low that did not exist anywhere. Her Unit manager took over, after I complained included 2 legitimate links and kept 4 previous bogus links and evaluated my claim. When I requested reference to 4 (bogus) links could not justify. Stopped calls and answering to my quires. Claim transferred to another adjuster who is sitting on my file from the last 13 days. Not responding to my calls or emails. Extremely bad service, no regard for customers, Belairdirect is the worst company when you need help.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Belairdirect auto insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by tam99 Feb 25, 2020
I was a newcomer to Canada and was robbed by this company. I didn't know anything but I had 7 years driving experience in the US and they overcharged me for 390$. I did a quote with their competitor and had a fair quote and went with them. Belairdirect charged me a late fee to 535$ which is double my payment. Stay away from this scam.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?