Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Belairdirect Auto Insurance Reviews

(319 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
166,312
consumers
(1.9 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Avoid at all costs- Scammed

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Scammed Customer Oct 08, 2019
This insurance company is almost criminal in nature. Wrote off a 4-month-old Mazda 3 with 8000kms on the odometer. Personally paid $34,000 for it from the dealer in May 2019 for the car brand new. Belair wrote a cheque for $27,500 claiming that's the best they can offer since the car is now considered pre-owned. This company does nothing but beat around the bush and take advantage of their customers. Their level of customer service is absolutely pathetic. They're scammers point-blank. Spend your money on a reputable insurance company instead of these jokers.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Vehicle Repair

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Duffy Oct 05, 2019
Thank You for being there for me. An unexpected tornado damaged my Nisssan Murano Premium. A quick call to Belairdirect and I was authorized to take my vehicle to the collision center of my choosing which I did. They undertook the repairs and did an excellent job finishing ahead of schedule. Their workmanship was outstanding. Due to my physical limitations, the substitute vehicle I required was not off the shelf and Belairdirect ensured that my specific needs were effectively and promptly addressed. In the end, my vehicle was returned like new and Belairdirect superseded my expectations and outperformed other insurance companies servicing friends vehicles damaged that same day due to the tornado. Many neighbours are switching too Belairdirect. Some are still waiting for their vehicle after 4 months tied up in substandard collision centers and their insurance companies have been doing very little to assist them. Once again - THANK YOU BELAIRDIRECT.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

not as advertised

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by marko p. Oct 05, 2019
I went online to get a quote, the price seemed good, so I called the next evening to finalize, was shocked to find my quote had changed by over 800.00 dollars! Asked representative why the difference in 24 hours, he replied that the price that I had from their web site included a discount if I bundled my house insurance with them. I explained to the representative that I did not ask for home insurance as I already have a good rate, and they should honour their quote, I asked the representative that I want to talk to his supervisor, he replied that there is no supervisor, but they have a customer experience team. I said: let me talk to them. You can't they will call you! Well, a week has gone by and no call or email. Very unprofessional and disappointed in the way this matter was handled.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

0 out of 5 Stars

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ddukes Oct 02, 2019
Worst experience of my life. I was hit by a driver with no licence who ran a red light and totalled my car. Belair denied both my vehicle and medical benefits claims based on a non-existent application they claim I lied on. No application has ever been provided to me. I was told it was a signed document as well as a recorded phone but inquires to their claims department, sales department. And privacy officer revealed neither exists. On top of everything, the medical adjuster's partner in crime lied about interaction with me and accused me of using profane language towards her (which absolutely did not happen) resulting in my paperwork not being submitted on time. She also pre-signed all documents as my legal representative... which she most certainly was not. It took her manager 30 days to contact me and completely brushed off my concerns.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great staff, great service

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by dkw Sep 26, 2019
Great staff, great service. The representative was very friendly and help me with the claim. Everything went smoothly, it took a little bit of time but could not expect anything better regarding the service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Glad I cancelled!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cody Sep 17, 2019
My experience has been awful since the renewal of my insurance. After being a customer of 5 years my insurance was put back to what I was originally paying my 1st year as a customer. After finding cheaper insurance I decided to cancel with BellAir. When I cancelled on Sept 3rd I had a payment going out that night. I was told they are going to still take it but I will receive it back within 5 business days. After not receiving my payment back within 5 days I called again and was told they have a date and it will be back in my account by the 17th. Again after not receiving it by the 17th, I called again 1st time had a rude representative and was hung up. And 2nd time was told again that my money is going to be in my account by Sep 19th. Overall I hate that I wasted 5 years with this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Took my money twice

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mtngal23 Sep 17, 2019
First time in 2018 the girl who charged my premium called and said she never authorized the charge so Belair reversed the money to her without contacting me even though they have the audio recording of her authorizing it they reversed my money to her and my yearly rate. So I repaid my yearly rate and then the following year I went monthly as I knew I would be leaving them. Now at the end of my term, I gave notice and they still pulled out the new higher amount and I have waited over 2 weeks now for my money to be given back to me. No one from the privacy department will own up to what they did stating they would refund anyone calling saying they want the money back even if that party was paid leaving the one like me to chase people in court for the money they took from me. If I could give them a zero star I would. I have never had a late payment and no claims ever with the 8 years or more with them. Beware.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Increase deductible

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Gman Sep 13, 2019
I have several cars insured with Belairdirect. I just received an email from them stating "After careful review of the policy mentioned above and based on new information, the following modifications will be made to the policy as of the effective date indicated above: Increasing your comprehensive deductible from $200 to $1000. Your revised policy will follow shortly." I've never had an issue Canadian Direct (their predecessor) for approx 30 years. With this particular vehicle we've had two claims in 10 years. The claims were 1 windshield replacement and last year the back window blew out when I was replacing a hatch strut. Needless to say with this type of customer service attitude they will be losing my business on all my vehicles. I'll also share this on social media.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Professional

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by squeech Aug 29, 2019
They handled my claim professionally and speedily. I had no problem with them doing my claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

For shame, belaire direct

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by KWhetham Aug 26, 2019
8 days and 1 hour ago, the person who called me promised to get back to me the following day. I was busy at the time but was very interested. Was my business not important enough for a second call? I waited and waited for you to keep your word. Pitiful that you didn't. I'm no longer interested in your services. For shame, Belaire direct.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by amohummed Aug 22, 2019
Belair Direct raised my car insurance by 30% because I moved next door... Literally moved from apt 103 to apt 102 in the same building and I have the same parking spot and driving habits. Worst company ever... I would never buy insurance from them ever. This company is designed to steal your money and provide you with little to no service. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Terrible Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SXH Aug 14, 2019
I have been a client for a while now and I could not believe how much stuff they are making my boyfriend go through. I talk to one girl last week and she stated all they needed was a picture of the vehicle. This guy wants a whole application and it’s going to take over a month?! Are you kidding me? Terrible and poor customer service. Would not recommend to anyone!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stay Away at All Costs

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by chelseaod Aug 09, 2019
We have been a Belair client for years and have never been in an accident. Unfortunately, about 6 weeks ago, we got into our first accident and have had the displeasure of having to go through the Belair claims process. The initial intake process was smooth and relatively painless and the customer service was friendly. That is when things took a terrible turn. After a week and a half, it was determined that the vehicle was a “total loss” meaning it was being written-off and it was determined (wrongfully) by our adjuster that we were “at-fault”, despite the police report stating the opposite (there was an officer on-scene who happened to witness the accident). This is when the nightmare began. First, they rushed to send us an email settlement offer (which we did not receive as it ended up in the junk folder) and terminated our rental vehicle coverage on the same day the settlement was “presented” without notifying us. We learned that the rental car coverage had been terminated 3 days afterwards, only because we called to follow-up on the status of our claim. It was on this call that we were advised that a settlement offer had been made, and had to search through our junk mail to find it. After reviewing the offer it took three emails and three phone calls to our adjuster to FINALLY get a call back on the issue of ‘fault’. Both the police that attended on the scene and at the collision reporting centre agreed that it was the other driver’s fault. However, Belair, when prompted for an explanation, simply said the other driver’s statement was the reason for their determination. Rather than choosing to follow the police report and represent our best interests as their client, they decided to take the other insurance company’s position. We have escalated this to a ‘manager’ and were supposed to get a call back in 24 to 48 hours. We are going on three days now and have yet to receive a call back on this point. With respect to the settlement, the offer was woefully below ‘fair market value’. We have been back and forth over twenty emails now, providing them with comparables for sale in addition to values calculated through both Kelley Blue Book and Canadian Black Book's total loss evaluation tool and have only managed to get them to go from about $2,600 to $3,600 (all comparables are in the $4800-5800 range). We are only asking for $4,600, but they are deciding to dig in their heels over less than $1,000. Finally, I asked them to provide their valuation methodology and comparables. They provided me with a list of 5 "comparables" all of which have between 55,000-65,000 kms more than my vehicle (not to mention one of the vehicles has a manual transmission where ours was an automatic). The moral of this story is that if you are looking for an insurance company that, in the rare instance of an accident which is an understandably very stressful time, will support you and help alleviate some of the stress, do NOT consider Belair as an option. They will add ten times more stress than the initial incident itself and drag out the process and do whatever it takes to pay out as little as possible, hoping that you just give up and accept their low-ball offer out of frustration. Save yourself the stress and aggravation and run as far away from this company as possible. The online reviews do not lie. You are better off paying higher premiums and actually having an insurance company that looks after you and offers superior customer service and a proper payout in the unlikely event of an accident.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Terrible Insurance Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by 1 pissed off customer Aug 09, 2019
The customer service is terrible the people are so disrespectful, I get asked if they can help me with anything else when they never answered the question, and when I told them they weren't listening. And they had to say, "is there anything else I can help you with". Yes, you could listen to me and answer my questions. Also, I called to confirm payment for 7 days straight and was told everytime that the payment went through and I wouldn't be charged any charges then a week later I get a letter in the mail saying I haven't paid and that I owe them $80 in charges. So don't believe a word they say. Don't waste your time on them at all, just so you know Belair this is literally the first review I've ever written, so you should feel special that you've annoyed me so much that I decided to type all this out to you and your further clients.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Renewal Scam

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by bs021 Aug 09, 2019
Switched initially because of cheaper rates. Was a customer for 5 years. Initially paid around 175/month was going lower to 160/month until this year 2019 they bumped it to a nice 220/month! Why are loyal customers who have had 0 claims, tickets and accidents, treated in this way? I wrote them an email asking them why I am punished and that I will be looking for a new provider if there is no explanation. All I got back was an auto-reply stating my renewal policy will be cancelled on my renewal date. This shows you the disregard they take to customers. No explanation, no trying to win you back, no matching better rates. This business is a scam.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Your $$ not good here

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Turbuka Aug 01, 2019
I got my cancellation notice today from Belair. "A driver in your household does not qualify, based on their record" turns out it was my ex who moved out in 2016. Not even: "Would you consider a new policy, for yourself?" All I got under the law we don't call, we just send a letter. Oh and I was reminded that I was put on notice way ahead of D day.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Liar

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nora Jul 30, 2019
I had a car and home insurance with Belairdirect, customer service was awful and no respect for the client. When you talk to them and ask for a discount, they answer that they aren't a grocery store. They increase insurance without any reason. Please don't go for them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Insurance claim.

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by david Jul 26, 2019
First time for any type of insurance claim, and it was a very pleasant experience. The contractors employees detailed to carry out the work showed real professionalism.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

False Advertising

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by slj03 Jul 25, 2019
The rates they advertise through Google Ads are misleading. Many hidden fees and they've applied discounts that don't exist.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Poor customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disgusted customer Jul 17, 2019
My first and only accident I ever had was three years ago! My premiums went up I accepted that. Since then my premiums came down and I was excited thinking I was doing fine, I never had not even a speeding ticket and now my Insurance was up for renewal my premium jumped from $175.00 to $257.00 without even an explanation as to why it has gone up, the sales representative can't even tell me why my premiums went all she did was talk a bunch of bull.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

I feel robbed!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Siguimars Jul 03, 2019
Last year I decided to try out Belairdirect as the quote seemed reasonable at the time. I had absolutely no claims throughout the year, not even a ticket. When I called, they even praised my driving record. However, I just received my renewal documents and my car insurance went up 37%! My home insurance went up another 20%! Feeling robbed right now and quite honestly surprised this is allowed by law. Needless to say, I will not be renewing with them... I would give them - 0 stars if I could.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Worst Experience of my life

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anthony B Jun 18, 2019
Great at accepting premiums poor service when you need them. I had minor cosmetic damage and a punctured tire after we got hit while stopped at a red light and were found at 0 fault. Then the claims process started and Belair has used every underhanded trick in the book to try and settle with us for a low ball offer even though I believe the other driver's insurance company will make them whole at the end of the day. They have bullied my girlfriend, threatened to salvage her car before we agreed to a settlement, consistently changed the price they are offering, refuse to complete a full estimate of the damage, bait and switch the value of the offers. When calculating the price they use comparable vehicles that are 6 months old. After I ran CARFAX reports on the vehicles I found a bunch had previous accidents, were used as rentals and commercial vehicles and even had smaller engines and manual transmissions, along with almost double the kilometers driven. Basically, the cheapest vehicle you could find and still call it almost a comparable car. Luckily, we had just bought a second vehicle and are able to get by on one car. I can see how someone without that option can be highly pressured and pushed into taken a minimal settlement as this has dragged on for almost 6 weeks now and we had to return the rental that was provided a few days after the accident. Stay away from the Belair as one day you may need them and they will not be there.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Claim experience

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Irina Jun 12, 2019
Very good customer service. Was quick claim processing and fair settlement value. Also was the quick payout. I had a very knowledgeable adjuster. Thank you.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Automerit feels like scam.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sad-customer Jun 09, 2019
Had a tough experience in getting automerit to work. Was told that it'll reduce the premium down the line, but since I couldn't get it to work, they increased previously agreed premium from $375 to $407 without any notification and when contacting customer care, I was told that some discount was taken off since I didn't use the app. Feeling cheated and helpless. Waiting to change the provider once this expires. - Poor customer service experience - Email never gets responded - Took weeks of calling customer care to get the automerit section to appear on the app. - Once it did, the app doesn't record trips properly even after turning off battery optimization (Android) and drains battery drastically. - Overall, disappointing experience to me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Expensive

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by MANITOBA Jun 03, 2019
I was previously insured with Belair in Ontario, paid $131 monthly full coverage, I moved to Alberta and my monthly payment was now $352. I have been with the company for 7 years, I have a perfect driving record and find it crazy expensive. Fast forward 3 months of being covered in Alberta, I moved to Manitoba so naturally, I switched my license and insurance. I now pay $128 monthly. I called Belair to cancel my insurance and they charged me a $250 cancellation fee. I moved, I did not just switch companies. I was told if I moved provinces that I would not be subject to cancellation fees but was obviously lied to. I wasn't offered a break or anything she was just like well this is what it is. So overall not impressed with the company but again, who likes insurance companies...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Claim Experience

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by ferncesca May 31, 2019
I was in a car accident call my insurance Belairdirect . They responded quickly we had our car in for repair the same day. They were prompt to get the claim going, called us with updates to let us know where things were. I found them very professional, and easy to reach and talk to. Would not hesitate to recommend Belairdirect Insurance to anyone.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst ever insurance!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by laszlo May 24, 2019
When my windshield cracked due to a truck kicking up rocks, I had to run around to get my windshield replaced by their people instead able to do it at the closest windshield repair service. And on top of it, I had to pay $300. Why have insurance? When I went with another company when my insurance expired, Belairdirect still wanted me to pay for their insurance, saying that it is still in force! Obviously, if I did not pay for the renewal, I am NOT insured by them, and therefore I am not obligated to pay them! I would never deal with them again or can recommend them to anybody!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

DONT GO WITH BELAIR DIRECT

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SIMPSON May 23, 2019
Just awful. If you have a claim, you'll regret going with them. I had a total loss and once they provide you with an offer, they take away your rental vehicle even though you don't have any transportation...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Incompetence

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dave G May 18, 2019
Do not use this company. I applied for home and auto insurance two months before my previous policy expired. I was told that they, (Belairdirect) in order to start the process of setting up an account, needed my banking information. I explained that I didn't want to do this and I was told that they couldn't offer me a policy until I did. I told them that they better not withdraw from my account and that I would make my payment via online banking. Guess what, they withdrew the full amount 6 weeks before they were supposed to and didn't heed my warning. I then phoned them back and cancelled my policy. Then to top it off, they just withdrew more money from my account after I cancelled. This company, in my opinion, is very incompetent.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Best ever

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chris May 16, 2019
Staff are well trained, courteous, and have a concern for client health and well being.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?