Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Belairdirect Auto Insurance Reviews

(309 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
159,943
consumers
(1.9 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Worst Company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by amohummed Aug 22, 2019
Belair Direct raised my car insurance by 30% because I moved next door... Literally moved from apt 103 to apt 102 in the same building and I have the same parking spot and driving habits. Worst company ever... I would never buy insurance from them ever. This company is designed to steal your money and provide you with little to no service. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Terrible Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SXH Aug 14, 2019
I have been a client for a while now and I could not believe how much stuff they are making my boyfriend go through. I talk to one girl last week and she stated all they needed was a picture of the vehicle. This guy wants a whole application and it’s going to take over a month?! Are you kidding me? Terrible and poor customer service. Would not recommend to anyone!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stay Away at All Costs

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by chelseaod Aug 09, 2019
We have been a Belair client for years and have never been in an accident. Unfortunately, about 6 weeks ago, we got into our first accident and have had the displeasure of having to go through the Belair claims process. The initial intake process was smooth and relatively painless and the customer service was friendly. That is when things took a terrible turn. After a week and a half, it was determined that the vehicle was a “total loss” meaning it was being written-off and it was determined (wrongfully) by our adjuster that we were “at-fault”, despite the police report stating the opposite (there was an officer on-scene who happened to witness the accident). This is when the nightmare began. First, they rushed to send us an email settlement offer (which we did not receive as it ended up in the junk folder) and terminated our rental vehicle coverage on the same day the settlement was “presented” without notifying us. We learned that the rental car coverage had been terminated 3 days afterwards, only because we called to follow-up on the status of our claim. It was on this call that we were advised that a settlement offer had been made, and had to search through our junk mail to find it. After reviewing the offer it took three emails and three phone calls to our adjuster to FINALLY get a call back on the issue of ‘fault’. Both the police that attended on the scene and at the collision reporting centre agreed that it was the other driver’s fault. However, Belair, when prompted for an explanation, simply said the other driver’s statement was the reason for their determination. Rather than choosing to follow the police report and represent our best interests as their client, they decided to take the other insurance company’s position. We have escalated this to a ‘manager’ and were supposed to get a call back in 24 to 48 hours. We are going on three days now and have yet to receive a call back on this point. With respect to the settlement, the offer was woefully below ‘fair market value’. We have been back and forth over twenty emails now, providing them with comparables for sale in addition to values calculated through both Kelley Blue Book and Canadian Black Book's total loss evaluation tool and have only managed to get them to go from about $2,600 to $3,600 (all comparables are in the $4800-5800 range). We are only asking for $4,600, but they are deciding to dig in their heels over less than $1,000. Finally, I asked them to provide their valuation methodology and comparables. They provided me with a list of 5 "comparables" all of which have between 55,000-65,000 kms more than my vehicle (not to mention one of the vehicles has a manual transmission where ours was an automatic). The moral of this story is that if you are looking for an insurance company that, in the rare instance of an accident which is an understandably very stressful time, will support you and help alleviate some of the stress, do NOT consider Belair as an option. They will add ten times more stress than the initial incident itself and drag out the process and do whatever it takes to pay out as little as possible, hoping that you just give up and accept their low-ball offer out of frustration. Save yourself the stress and aggravation and run as far away from this company as possible. The online reviews do not lie. You are better off paying higher premiums and actually having an insurance company that looks after you and offers superior customer service and a proper payout in the unlikely event of an accident.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Terrible Insurance Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by 1 pissed off customer Aug 09, 2019
The customer service is terrible the people are so disrespectful, I get asked if they can help me with anything else when they never answered the question, and when I told them they weren't listening. And they had to say, "is there anything else I can help you with". Yes, you could listen to me and answer my questions. Also, I called to confirm payment for 7 days straight and was told everytime that the payment went through and I wouldn't be charged any charges then a week later I get a letter in the mail saying I haven't paid and that I owe them $80 in charges. So don't believe a word they say. Don't waste your time on them at all, just so you know Belair this is literally the first review I've ever written, so you should feel special that you've annoyed me so much that I decided to type all this out to you and your further clients.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Renewal Scam

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by bs021 Aug 09, 2019
Switched initially because of cheaper rates. Was a customer for 5 years. Initially paid around 175/month was going lower to 160/month until this year 2019 they bumped it to a nice 220/month! Why are loyal customers who have had 0 claims, tickets and accidents, treated in this way? I wrote them an email asking them why I am punished and that I will be looking for a new provider if there is no explanation. All I got back was an auto-reply stating my renewal policy will be cancelled on my renewal date. This shows you the disregard they take to customers. No explanation, no trying to win you back, no matching better rates. This business is a scam.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Your $$ not good here

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Turbuka Aug 01, 2019
I got my cancellation notice today from Belair. "A driver in your household does not qualify, based on their record" turns out it was my ex who moved out in 2016. Not even: "Would you consider a new policy, for yourself?" All I got under the law we don't call, we just send a letter. Oh and I was reminded that I was put on notice way ahead of D day.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Liar

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nora Jul 30, 2019
I had a car and home insurance with Belairdirect, customer service was awful and no respect for the client. When you talk to them and ask for a discount, they answer that they aren't a grocery store. They increase insurance without any reason. Please don't go for them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Insurance claim.

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by david Jul 26, 2019
First time for any type of insurance claim, and it was a very pleasant experience. The contractors employees detailed to carry out the work showed real professionalism.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

False Advertising

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by slj03 Jul 25, 2019
The rates they advertise through Google Ads are misleading. Many hidden fees and they've applied discounts that don't exist.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Poor customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disgusted customer Jul 17, 2019
My first and only accident I ever had was three years ago! My premiums went up I accepted that. Since then my premiums came down and I was excited thinking I was doing fine, I never had not even a speeding ticket and now my Insurance was up for renewal my premium jumped from $175.00 to $257.00 without even an explanation as to why it has gone up, the sales representative can't even tell me why my premiums went all she did was talk a bunch of bull.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

I feel robbed!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Siguimars Jul 03, 2019
Last year I decided to try out Belairdirect as the quote seemed reasonable at the time. I had absolutely no claims throughout the year, not even a ticket. When I called, they even praised my driving record. However, I just received my renewal documents and my car insurance went up 37%! My home insurance went up another 20%! Feeling robbed right now and quite honestly surprised this is allowed by law. Needless to say, I will not be renewing with them... I would give them - 0 stars if I could.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Worst Experience of my life

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anthony B Jun 18, 2019
Great at accepting premiums poor service when you need them. I had minor cosmetic damage and a punctured tire after we got hit while stopped at a red light and were found at 0 fault. Then the claims process started and Belair has used every underhanded trick in the book to try and settle with us for a low ball offer even though I believe the other driver's insurance company will make them whole at the end of the day. They have bullied my girlfriend, threatened to salvage her car before we agreed to a settlement, consistently changed the price they are offering, refuse to complete a full estimate of the damage, bait and switch the value of the offers. When calculating the price they use comparable vehicles that are 6 months old. After I ran CARFAX reports on the vehicles I found a bunch had previous accidents, were used as rentals and commercial vehicles and even had smaller engines and manual transmissions, along with almost double the kilometers driven. Basically, the cheapest vehicle you could find and still call it almost a comparable car. Luckily, we had just bought a second vehicle and are able to get by on one car. I can see how someone without that option can be highly pressured and pushed into taken a minimal settlement as this has dragged on for almost 6 weeks now and we had to return the rental that was provided a few days after the accident. Stay away from the Belair as one day you may need them and they will not be there.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Claim experience

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Irina Jun 12, 2019
Very good customer service. Was quick claim processing and fair settlement value. Also was the quick payout. I had a very knowledgeable adjuster. Thank you.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Automerit feels like scam.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sad-customer Jun 09, 2019
Had a tough experience in getting automerit to work. Was told that it'll reduce the premium down the line, but since I couldn't get it to work, they increased previously agreed premium from $375 to $407 without any notification and when contacting customer care, I was told that some discount was taken off since I didn't use the app. Feeling cheated and helpless. Waiting to change the provider once this expires. - Poor customer service experience - Email never gets responded - Took weeks of calling customer care to get the automerit section to appear on the app. - Once it did, the app doesn't record trips properly even after turning off battery optimization (Android) and drains battery drastically. - Overall, disappointing experience to me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Expensive

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by MANITOBA Jun 03, 2019
I was previously insured with Belair in Ontario, paid $131 monthly full coverage, I moved to Alberta and my monthly payment was now $352. I have been with the company for 7 years, I have a perfect driving record and find it crazy expensive. Fast forward 3 months of being covered in Alberta, I moved to Manitoba so naturally, I switched my license and insurance. I now pay $128 monthly. I called Belair to cancel my insurance and they charged me a $250 cancellation fee. I moved, I did not just switch companies. I was told if I moved provinces that I would not be subject to cancellation fees but was obviously lied to. I wasn't offered a break or anything she was just like well this is what it is. So overall not impressed with the company but again, who likes insurance companies...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Claim Experience

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by ferncesca May 31, 2019
I was in a car accident call my insurance Belairdirect . They responded quickly we had our car in for repair the same day. They were prompt to get the claim going, called us with updates to let us know where things were. I found them very professional, and easy to reach and talk to. Would not hesitate to recommend Belairdirect Insurance to anyone.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst ever insurance!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by laszlo May 24, 2019
When my windshield cracked due to a truck kicking up rocks, I had to run around to get my windshield replaced by their people instead able to do it at the closest windshield repair service. And on top of it, I had to pay $300. Why have insurance? When I went with another company when my insurance expired, Belairdirect still wanted me to pay for their insurance, saying that it is still in force! Obviously, if I did not pay for the renewal, I am NOT insured by them, and therefore I am not obligated to pay them! I would never deal with them again or can recommend them to anybody!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

DONT GO WITH BELAIR DIRECT

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SIMPSON May 23, 2019
Just awful. If you have a claim, you'll regret going with them. I had a total loss and once they provide you with an offer, they take away your rental vehicle even though you don't have any transportation...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Incompetence

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dave G May 18, 2019
Do not use this company. I applied for home and auto insurance two months before my previous policy expired. I was told that they, (Belairdirect) in order to start the process of setting up an account, needed my banking information. I explained that I didn't want to do this and I was told that they couldn't offer me a policy until I did. I told them that they better not withdraw from my account and that I would make my payment via online banking. Guess what, they withdrew the full amount 6 weeks before they were supposed to and didn't heed my warning. I then phoned them back and cancelled my policy. Then to top it off, they just withdrew more money from my account after I cancelled. This company, in my opinion, is very incompetent.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Best ever

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chris May 16, 2019
Staff are well trained, courteous, and have a concern for client health and well being.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Unprepared

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Too talL May 10, 2019
I believe Belair should be more informed of what the facilities they send clients to are capable of and what care these facilities take with vehicles. My truck went in for a front bumper and came out with a scratch across the tailgate. A better screening process of these facilities would be more beneficial for Belair and it's clients.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brian Apr 25, 2019
The quotes are too high and when I cancelled, they said I owe them money and try to put me in the collection agency! Never would I tell anyone to use ever!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Car Insurance experience

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Grateful Senior Apr 18, 2019
Belair's adjustor handled my claim in a clear, calm, reassuring manner, reducing the stress I felt after 'hit and run' damage to my new Lexus. Coverage included a rental car which was most helpful given the time it took to repair the car.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

You won't believe this!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Confused Apr 11, 2019
I have been driving 30+ years and other than a windshield, I've never made a claim - ever. I have been with Belair for about 3 years. Walking back to my truck after my son's soccer game this week, I noticed someone had taken out my sideview mirror (2017 Toyota Tundra truck). On Monday I called Belair, they gave me a claim number, told me where to take my truck (they would forward my information) and away we go. The total estimate (after part and labour) was $290 and my deductible was $300 so I emailed the rep from Belair to say I would pay for it all myself. (Now it gets weird). 2 days later they phone me and tell me I have to get a claim number from ICBC and send them (Belair) a copy of a police report. They then say since I don't have extended coverage through ICBC the deductible is $750, but they are willing to pay their $300 deductible as part of that, so I would only have to pay $450. I asked the rep why I would go file a police report, get a new claim number from ICBC, scan it all and send it to them, then pay them $450? My quote (for everything) was $290) His answer was that he had begun to work on my file and that "the wheels were in motion" and that I should "follow through until the end." Otherwise, I'm not acting in good faith. What??? Also, I had to go through ICBC because they did not really cover the "hit and run" of a parked car in the traditional way - they work with ICBC. None and I mean none of what they were saying made sense! This was a 30-minute phone call that bordered on harassment! I will tell this story to everyone I know as this goes well beyond the lines of bizarre!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great communication

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cherry 7 Jazz Apr 05, 2019
I was originally concerned because they were one of the better-priced insurance companies we found, so my concern is that I would potentially experience poor customer service - but not at all. We have had to do a window chip claim which was quick and easy. Then when someone else dented the side of our car, we had to go into a body shop. Even though I had to deal with a claims agent, repair shop, and a car rental company, it felt like dealing with just one company. Everyone I interacted with was friendly, respectful, and effective at their job. Expectations were clearly communicated so I knew what I had to pay for (or not pay for), what information they required from me, how much time it would take to complete repairs, and how the drop off/pick up would occur. The coordination of the insurance company with their partnered businesses is amazing and left me stress-free through the process. We also had an instance where we wanted to understand the transfer of insurance to a rental car when we were going on vacation. The rep we spoke with was extremely helpful and clear. They were able to process our request and update the information for us promptly so we had what we needed in time for our trip. Glad we checked and glad we added the extra $ for the added driver on our rental insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Rates went up 50% in two years

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bob Mar 30, 2019
My car insurance rates virtually doubled in the two years I have had my current car. No claims, no accidents, no changes to my policy. Phoned to discuss and they admitted that they had gone up a lot but hoped they would level off in the next few years. Unbelievable!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Claims Service

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by S.B. Mar 28, 2019
When calling for updates any service agent that answers are able to call up my file and answer my questions immediately. No being put on hold and listening to annoying music.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Belairdirect is a CONMAN

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by duo Mar 28, 2019
Never buy insurance from Belairdirect, because it is a cheat conman company. This company is not trustable at all. I did answer all questions online, and I got a quote; and then upon phoning, the conman increased the quote. When I asked why, she gave me a reason that was not true. I challenged, and then she would not answer my question. The reps are conmen, and they are fully trained in how to fool prospective customers. Never buy insurance from Belairdirect. This is a cheat and conman company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Took weeks to process my claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by John Doe Mar 22, 2019
This was with an adjuster from the St. Laurent location. The other party was at fault, but they still took 2 weeks to get a rental. I had to follow up almost every day, they told me they had to wait for a call back from someone from the police station. I called myself and they told me that was nonsense, they call a certain line directly and that THEY KNOW THIS. To top it off, they let me know about the rental on a Friday afternoon. I went in on Saturday to pick up the rental and it turns out I needed to take a credit card with me because Belair didn't call ahead for me. I didn't have a credit card on me and I had to wait until Monday afternoon, I also wasted $20 on Uber.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Juices customers on 2nd year

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Zack Mar 16, 2019
I do NOT recommend Belair under any circumstances. No one wants to deal with insurance companies more than they need to. Wasting hours on the phone isn't fun. Belair sent me an email after one year of coverage, reasonably priced, saying that my new term would come up soon. I had to log into to see the changes. I logged in and rates were increasing 28% (in one year) for a 36-year-old married woman with a perfect driving record and no claims. (My car is a 2017 Chevy) This is bad business. I gave them a chance to explain and they put me on hold and wasted more of my time before giving me a response that had nothing to do with me. (Other people's claims caused my rate to go up.) Don't get involved with this company, it practices bad business.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?