Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Belairdirect Auto Insurance Reviews

(281 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
144,225
consumers
(1.8 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

You won't believe this!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Confused Apr 11, 2019
I have been driving 30+ years and other than a windshield, I've never made a claim - ever. I have been with Belair for about 3 years. Walking back to my truck after my son's soccer game this week, I noticed someone had taken out my sideview mirror (2017 Toyota Tundra truck). On Monday I called Belair, they gave me a claim number, told me where to take my truck (they would forward my information) and away we go. The total estimate (after part and labour) was $290 and my deductible was $300 so I emailed the rep from Belair to say I would pay for it all myself. (Now it gets weird). 2 days later they phone me and tell me I have to get a claim number from ICBC and send them (Belair) a copy of a police report. They then say since I don't have extended coverage through ICBC the deductible is $750, but they are willing to pay their $300 deductible as part of that, so I would only have to pay $450. I asked the rep why I would go file a police report, get a new claim number from ICBC, scan it all and send it to them, then pay them $450? My quote (for everything) was $290) His answer was that he had begun to work on my file and that "the wheels were in motion" and that I should "follow through until the end." Otherwise, I'm not acting in good faith. What??? Also, I had to go through ICBC because they did not really cover the "hit and run" of a parked car in the traditional way - they work with ICBC. None and I mean none of what they were saying made sense! This was a 30-minute phone call that bordered on harassment! I will tell this story to everyone I know as this goes well beyond the lines of bizarre!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Great communication

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cherry 7 Jazz Apr 05, 2019
I was originally concerned because they were one of the better-priced insurance companies we found, so my concern is that I would potentially experience poor customer service - but not at all. We have had to do a window chip claim which was quick and easy. Then when someone else dented the side of our car, we had to go into a body shop. Even though I had to deal with a claims agent, repair shop, and a car rental company, it felt like dealing with just one company. Everyone I interacted with was friendly, respectful, and effective at their job. Expectations were clearly communicated so I knew what I had to pay for (or not pay for), what information they required from me, how much time it would take to complete repairs, and how the drop off/pick up would occur. The coordination of the insurance company with their partnered businesses is amazing and left me stress-free through the process. We also had an instance where we wanted to understand the transfer of insurance to a rental car when we were going on vacation. The rep we spoke with was extremely helpful and clear. They were able to process our request and update the information for us promptly so we had what we needed in time for our trip. Glad we checked and glad we added the extra $ for the added driver on our rental insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Belairdirect is a CONMAN

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by duo Mar 28, 2019
Never buy insurance from Belairdirect, because it is a cheat conman company. This company is not trustable at all. I did answer all questions online, and I got a quote; and then upon phoning, the conman increased the quote. When I asked why, she gave me a reason that was not true. I challenged, and then she would not answer my question. The reps are conmen, and they are fully trained in how to fool prospective customers. Never buy insurance from Belairdirect. This is a cheat and conman company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Took weeks to process my claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by John Doe Mar 22, 2019
This was with an adjuster from the St. Laurent location. The other party was at fault, but they still took 2 weeks to get a rental. I had to follow up almost every day, they told me they had to wait for a call back from someone from the police station. I called myself and they told me that was nonsense, they call a certain line directly and that THEY KNOW THIS. To top it off, they let me know about the rental on a Friday afternoon. I went in on Saturday to pick up the rental and it turns out I needed to take a credit card with me because Belair didn't call ahead for me. I didn't have a credit card on me and I had to wait until Monday afternoon, I also wasted $20 on Uber.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Juices customers on 2nd year

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Zack Mar 16, 2019
I do NOT recommend Belair under any circumstances. No one wants to deal with insurance companies more than they need to. Wasting hours on the phone isn't fun. Belair sent me an email after one year of coverage, reasonably priced, saying that my new term would come up soon. I had to log into to see the changes. I logged in and rates were increasing 28% (in one year) for a 36-year-old married woman with a perfect driving record and no claims. (My car is a 2017 Chevy) This is bad business. I gave them a chance to explain and they put me on hold and wasted more of my time before giving me a response that had nothing to do with me. (Other people's claims caused my rate to go up.) Don't get involved with this company, it practices bad business.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Worst insurance ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Aaron Mar 13, 2019
Someone hit my brother's car, Belairdirect wanted him to fix at their recommended body shop. The body shop has taken almost 5 months to fix it. Still not done yet. First, the insurance said they will cover the car rental whatever time that body shop take to repair if my brother agrees to fix the car there, now they take their words back and want my brother to pay for the car rental because the $limit ran out.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Quick & Easy

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by 739beng Mar 13, 2019
New to Belairdirect, 15 years with a previous insurance provider, great driving record, no claims, rates creeping up each year, this year huge increase. Decided to shop around, Belairdirect quote online was quick and easy, surprised the actual premium is very close to the online quote. Great customer service, Agent on the phone was knowledgeable and processed auto and home with one call. In that honeymoon period, but so far I recommend Belairdirect to anyone looking to save!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Claim Process

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by pouyagh Mar 03, 2019
It was my first experience having to deal with an insurance claim and the process was fairly convenient. However, since many people are like me, first-time accidents, it would be better to break things down further for the likes of us and assure we are given the information that reduces the stress of having to deal with this unwanted incident. The reason for mentioning this is because at first call, I was told I don't have a rental coverage for my car and I was panicking to get a car and get on with my life, and later when the claim was processed I was told that my rental has been arranged by my insurance because I wasn't at fault which was a big relief. In summary, I would have expected to have this information first hand.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Excellent Insurer but read on.

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Stewie Feb 15, 2019
Experience with Belair has been excellent. I've been with them for about 10 years and had three not-at-faults during that time. In each case, they have been great. They need to tighten up on their approved body shops, however. My last experience was rather negative compared to the first two. The body shop took an immediate appraisal then delayed taking the car in for 3 weeks. It then took more than 4 weeks to repair the car while they "waited for parts to arrive" - they had three weeks to pre-order and didn't. The repair shop was also a bit shy in updating me. Only when I gave them an ultimatum that I couldn't pick up the car for another week if they delayed again because I would be overseas, did they finally get their act together and deliver. The final job appears to have been done to a good standard, from outer inspection. The car was cleaned inside and out nicely. The itemized bill had a few head-scratchers on it that Belair should look more closely at as they review the suitability of their repair partners. Bottom line: Belair is very good as an insurer but if you're unlucky enough to need their services, choose your repair shop wisely because it makes the difference between a good experience and a bad one.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Afterservice

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Matt Feb 14, 2019
My insurance cost rose by 74% because of a claim and before the renewal date even though I have accident forgiveness on my policy
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor quality

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by GrumpyVeteran Feb 14, 2019
Their premiums are much too high; and, if you run into an issue, they claim they cannot help you at all! My husband got into a serious accident (non-auto) and money was tight. Instead of delaying the payment, they made it bounce so they could then come after you for the full annual amount! Seriously! I have since found a much better insurance at a 1/3 of the cost Belair was charging me! They are not as good as they claim to be!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Auto insurance increase

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dave Feb 14, 2019
I have been with Belairdirect insurance for several years without any claims. I just received my renewal and they have incorporated a 60% rate increase. This is outrageous and I will be removing all my business from Belair. If ICBC has been characterized as a dumpster fire, I'm not sure what words to use for Belair
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Insurance experience

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Gord S Feb 08, 2019
I've been driving in excessive of 55 years and have had several insurance companies but for quality, informing the customer and customer service they are the best. Their employees are very well informed and treat me like I'm the most important person.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Excellent Service

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by intheattic Feb 07, 2019
All around excellent service for a recent claim. Fast, efficient resolution. Pleasant staff. Everyone can complain about insurance rates overall. Belairdirect is competitively priced.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Read this and think twice

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by James T K Jan 21, 2019
Been with Belair for 5 years. This past summer 2018 I had a comprehensive claim as I was hit by a flying tire from another driver, who got charged $5000 in damage to my new 2017 Ram truck. The insurance was handled by Intact, who is the underwriter for Belairdirect. Firstly, they tried delaying the process because of a $5 per day difference in towing company charges for storage. Finally, I intervened and got that settled because they wanted to sue the towing company while my truck was in their compound and not at the dealer getting fixed, which could take weeks in the court system. After that, they were great (Intact Adjuster) and fixed my vehicle, no problems. Come Renewal of all things, they hiked my rates up by 30% and even though I still had a 22% discount using their automerit program, it was a huge increase. I called with my concerns of the rate hike even though I wasn't at fault but still had a claim. They offered a further 5% for my wife if she used automerit. I said ok, no problem. The guy on the phone was courteous and helpful and said he would get that done. A week later I get a letter telling me my wife doesn't qualify for the automerit program and rates won't change. I then called Cooperators Group and was offered a rate 35% less than Belair, and I told them I had the claim etc, they did a background check to verify and still honoured the rate $600 less than Belairdirect. Suffice to say, I cancelled my renewal with Belairdirect. Any claim and they hike the rates up on you. And I should say they didn't hike the rate up on my Ram truck that had the claim, they just applied it to my older 2012 Camry! Trying to say the claim wasn't due to the truck.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Big company with good loyalty

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by tiamo2019 Jan 19, 2019
We have been using BelairDirect auto insurance for about 15 years and can say pretty satisfied with their service and pricing. Their accident forgiveness is fantastic. Despite two major accidents, our rates stayed steady and slowly dropped. Some people are impressed with how low our rates been going. Having a big company with their vast resources available in case something wrong is assuring. At times we had to negotiate the rate and ask for ways to save. Agents were always courteous and helpful for the most part. I wished to get home insurance with them but their rates were high despite being a long time customer.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

My Belair claim experience

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Scott Jan 19, 2019
I had my 2007 Mazdaspeed 6 insured with Belair, I loved that car. A small parking lot fender bender and they decided it wasn't economical to repair. Ok, I can deal with that, I'm a grown man, time for a change! Just had to deal with the claim... Called and started it off fine, arranged to get it towed the next day but no one showed up... After I finally got in contact with the towing company, two weeks later, it came to light that Belair had given them the wrong phone number for me, but also the wrong address by about 500km! The people working the phones in about 6 how call centers were very helpful as they bounced my call to the closest one to me. They got my car towed away the same day. A month and a half after the accident I finally got paid off for the car and could start looking for something new to drive. I never knew that dealing with insurance would be such a stressor and pain. If I ever come back to Belair, it will have been my last choice.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Avoid this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Joe Jan 16, 2019
I have been with them for over 3 years, no claim whatsoever and no tickets. This year when the renewal of both my car and house insurance came, they had increased both of them by 23%. When I called, they were not able to provide any explanation and said that this was due to inflation! Really! A 23% inflation rate!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Avoid this company!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Alagory Jan 14, 2019
Overpriced insurance and once they lock you in, they'll jack up the costs and treat you like a number. Belairdirect doesn't care about the customer, they just care about signing you up for a year and taking your money.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Belairdirect = mauvais service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Christopher Jan 09, 2019
Un service plutot ordinaire, la personne s'occupant de mon dossier ne ma jamais rappeler. J'ai du les appeler à chaque fois pour avoir la moindre avancement dans mon dossier. Cela a pris 2 mois pour negocier avec le Locateur, mais meme si 3 evaluateurs leur donnaient raison Belair a quant meme accepeter de me faire perdre plusieurs milliers de dollards qui iront a la méga compagnie et non leur client. Très deçu de leur actions et de la Directrice du Service Réclamation.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

These guys are a big joke!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kaan Jan 08, 2019
I got my policy done with these guys on December 24, 2018. They did almost everything wrong on my policy such as my bank account etc. Plus they quoted me more than $6k for my 2019 Toyota Corolla (the car itself is $20500). I wanted to cancel my policy and they charged me just to cancel my policy $650!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Cancelled ins. with no letter

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ashley Jan 07, 2019
Belair is the worst insurance company we’ve ever had. According to them, we are not allowed to switch or have too many vehicles in our possession. They wanted us to send copies of our ownerships as we did and apparently they didn’t get them the first few times, then they did. Now they're saying because we have had too many vehicles and whatnot, now they cancelled us without sending out a letter within the 30 days and now they don’t know if they will reinstate us even with sending in the letter. They want us to fill out and sign when they had a copy down there, so, all in all, they don’t know what they are doing down there. My advice is to shop around for a different insurance company
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rounaq Dec 24, 2018
This was the worst experience I’ve ever had with a company. They do not value customer at all and their customer satisfaction guarantee is just for show. My adjuster never returned any of my calls. The customer service representatives were rude and condescending. They give you the run around about everything. I paid out of pocket for the car rental even though it was covered under my policy and they are refusing to refund me back! I wish I never switched insurance companies!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Put a reminder to cancel

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Enough Dec 16, 2018
For the second year running they auto renew my policy at an unfavourable rate without informing me except by a single email received three months beforehand. I never asked to be contacted by email. This leaves you with two choices: pay up or pay a huge cancellation fee. They should not be operating. The insurance itself is OK just the way they operate is ...as everyone else points out...sleazy. Just quit them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Premium Increases

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Paytoomuch Dec 12, 2018
Horrible scam of an insurance company. Do not go with them. Initially, I had good experiences with Belair, for the first car I insured on my own. However, when I got a new car, I was not happy with the premium I was given. However, I was promised by the woman on the phone that as long as I went yet another year accident-free (I had been 10 years accident and ticket free at this point), my premium would decrease. It was based on that information that I decided to stick it out and stay with them, as I felt that staying with the same insurance company would be easier and better off for me in the end. Recently, I got my renewal and was shocked to see that it had gone up substantially. I called, bewildered at the fact that despite another year of being accident and ticket free, I was getting an increase. They assured me that this is how it is for everyone, due to the number of accidents. “Oh,” they said, “you have an amazing driving record! You should join our driving program to receive a discount!” I laughed, saying “if I’m such an amazing driver, why am I paying this insane amount with ten years of no accidents or tickets on my record”. They had no good answer, and it felt amazing the next day when I called to say I am cancelling my insurance with them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Belair = Greed

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Paul Dec 07, 2018
People, please shop for cheaper insurance quotes, Belair's commercials are a joke. I was a client for many years waiting for 2 at-fault accidents to drop off my record. I was so excited to renew my coverage then at renewal time I received a letter from Belair stating: congratulations, your insurance record is finally clear. But instead of lowering my very high $8000/yr coverage ... Belair was "kind" enough to inform me that they won't be raising my rates at this time. It was like a punch in the face. I immediately called to cancel Belair and got insurance quotes up to 60% cheaper from many other companies. Moral of the story...Please shop around and stay away from Belair Insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Sleazy and mediocre service

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tadous Dec 06, 2018
I too had been with Belair for several years and was shocked when I received my renewal which was more than $200 a year more than what I had paid the previous year, in spite of having had no accidents and no claims. The agent explained that this had nothing to do with the calculation of my new premium. I found this absurd and was told that the price hike was due to increased costs and inflation, blah blah blah. I decided to go with a group insurer here in Québec that offered me a similar plan at a much lower price with warm, intelligent people providing the service. The sleaziest bit was a month after I cancelled, 122$ was debited out of my account because of the ''valeur à neuf'' insurance I had agreed to when getting my plan. The agent told me I could cancel it at any time. He didn't tell me that by cancelling early I would be forced to pay the remaining amount on the contract. I had no idea it was a contract. I thought it was just part of my insurance policy. I am a very understanding person, but this company pissed me off.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Worst insurance ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by quentin Dec 06, 2018
Just called my auto insurance (Bellair) to tell them I was about to sell my car tomorrow. I asked what was the insurance cancellation procedure: Answer: I got to pay 182$ of cancellation fees! Client for almost 3 years, never claimed anything and they ask from me 182$ of cancellation fees ??? Pick any insurance company but not Belairdirect.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Still no refund

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PTSD Nov 17, 2018
The worse experience I've ever had with an Insurance company. I cancelled my policy on September 23, 2018. First of all, I was charged $100 for cancellation fees. Then I was told it will take a month for them to process my refund check. I questioned why, when I purchased the policy with a credit card, and why can't they refund the money to my credit card. Today is November 15, 2018, and a dozen or more calls to this incompetent company, I still haven't received a refund. That's 8 days short of two months since I cancelled this policy and still no refund. They keep telling me that Canada Post is to be blamed for the delay. Belairdirect is a farce
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Honorable customer service

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by no thanks Nov 15, 2018
Car burnt down. Honourable customer service agent will not get back to me and everyone who takes my calls says I have to talk to my agent over a month and no callback. I have lost so much
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?