Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Belairdirect Auto Insurance Reviews

(295 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
151,139
consumers
(1.9 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Claim experience

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Irina Jun 12, 2019
Very good customer service. Was quick claim processing and fair settlement value. Also was the quick payout. I had a very knowledgeable adjuster. Thank you.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Automerit feels like scam.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sad-customer Jun 09, 2019
Had a tough experience in getting automerit to work. Was told that it'll reduce the premium down the line, but since I couldn't get it to work, they increased previously agreed premium from $375 to $407 without any notification and when contacting customer care, I was told that some discount was taken off since I didn't use the app. Feeling cheated and helpless. Waiting to change the provider once this expires. - Poor customer service experience - Email never gets responded - Took weeks of calling customer care to get the automerit section to appear on the app. - Once it did, the app doesn't record trips properly even after turning off battery optimization (Android) and drains battery drastically. - Overall, disappointing experience to me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Expensive

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by MANITOBA Jun 03, 2019
I was previously insured with Belair in Ontario, paid $131 monthly full coverage, I moved to Alberta and my monthly payment was now $352. I have been with the company for 7 years, I have a perfect driving record and find it crazy expensive. Fast forward 3 months of being covered in Alberta, I moved to Manitoba so naturally, I switched my license and insurance. I now pay $128 monthly. I called Belair to cancel my insurance and they charged me a $250 cancellation fee. I moved, I did not just switch companies. I was told if I moved provinces that I would not be subject to cancellation fees but was obviously lied to. I wasn't offered a break or anything she was just like well this is what it is. So overall not impressed with the company but again, who likes insurance companies...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Claim Experience

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by ferncesca May 31, 2019
I was in a car accident call my insurance Belairdirect . They responded quickly we had our car in for repair the same day. They were prompt to get the claim going, called us with updates to let us know where things were. I found them very professional, and easy to reach and talk to. Would not hesitate to recommend Belairdirect Insurance to anyone.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst ever insurance!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by laszlo May 24, 2019
When my windshield cracked due to a truck kicking up rocks, I had to run around to get my windshield replaced by their people instead able to do it at the closest windshield repair service. And on top of it, I had to pay $300. Why have insurance? When I went with another company when my insurance expired, Belairdirect still wanted me to pay for their insurance, saying that it is still in force! Obviously, if I did not pay for the renewal, I am NOT insured by them, and therefore I am not obligated to pay them! I would never deal with them again or can recommend them to anybody!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

DONT GO WITH BELAIR DIRECT

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SIMPSON May 23, 2019
Just awful. If you have a claim, you'll regret going with them. I had a total loss and once they provide you with an offer, they take away your rental vehicle even though you don't have any transportation...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Incompetence

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dave G May 18, 2019
Do not use this company. I applied for home and auto insurance two months before my previous policy expired. I was told that they, (Belairdirect) in order to start the process of setting up an account, needed my banking information. I explained that I didn't want to do this and I was told that they couldn't offer me a policy until I did. I told them that they better not withdraw from my account and that I would make my payment via online banking. Guess what, they withdrew the full amount 6 weeks before they were supposed to and didn't heed my warning. I then phoned them back and cancelled my policy. Then to top it off, they just withdrew more money from my account after I cancelled. This company, in my opinion, is very incompetent.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Best ever

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chris May 16, 2019
Staff are well trained, courteous, and have a concern for client health and well being.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Unprepared

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Too talL May 10, 2019
I believe Belair should be more informed of what the facilities they send clients to are capable of and what care these facilities take with vehicles. My truck went in for a front bumper and came out with a scratch across the tailgate. A better screening process of these facilities would be more beneficial for Belair and it's clients.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brian Apr 25, 2019
The quotes are too high and when I cancelled, they said I owe them money and try to put me in the collection agency! Never would I tell anyone to use ever!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Car Insurance experience

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Grateful Senior Apr 18, 2019
Belair's adjustor handled my claim in a clear, calm, reassuring manner, reducing the stress I felt after 'hit and run' damage to my new Lexus. Coverage included a rental car which was most helpful given the time it took to repair the car.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

You won't believe this!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Confused Apr 11, 2019
I have been driving 30+ years and other than a windshield, I've never made a claim - ever. I have been with Belair for about 3 years. Walking back to my truck after my son's soccer game this week, I noticed someone had taken out my sideview mirror (2017 Toyota Tundra truck). On Monday I called Belair, they gave me a claim number, told me where to take my truck (they would forward my information) and away we go. The total estimate (after part and labour) was $290 and my deductible was $300 so I emailed the rep from Belair to say I would pay for it all myself. (Now it gets weird). 2 days later they phone me and tell me I have to get a claim number from ICBC and send them (Belair) a copy of a police report. They then say since I don't have extended coverage through ICBC the deductible is $750, but they are willing to pay their $300 deductible as part of that, so I would only have to pay $450. I asked the rep why I would go file a police report, get a new claim number from ICBC, scan it all and send it to them, then pay them $450? My quote (for everything) was $290) His answer was that he had begun to work on my file and that "the wheels were in motion" and that I should "follow through until the end." Otherwise, I'm not acting in good faith. What??? Also, I had to go through ICBC because they did not really cover the "hit and run" of a parked car in the traditional way - they work with ICBC. None and I mean none of what they were saying made sense! This was a 30-minute phone call that bordered on harassment! I will tell this story to everyone I know as this goes well beyond the lines of bizarre!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great communication

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cherry 7 Jazz Apr 05, 2019
I was originally concerned because they were one of the better-priced insurance companies we found, so my concern is that I would potentially experience poor customer service - but not at all. We have had to do a window chip claim which was quick and easy. Then when someone else dented the side of our car, we had to go into a body shop. Even though I had to deal with a claims agent, repair shop, and a car rental company, it felt like dealing with just one company. Everyone I interacted with was friendly, respectful, and effective at their job. Expectations were clearly communicated so I knew what I had to pay for (or not pay for), what information they required from me, how much time it would take to complete repairs, and how the drop off/pick up would occur. The coordination of the insurance company with their partnered businesses is amazing and left me stress-free through the process. We also had an instance where we wanted to understand the transfer of insurance to a rental car when we were going on vacation. The rep we spoke with was extremely helpful and clear. They were able to process our request and update the information for us promptly so we had what we needed in time for our trip. Glad we checked and glad we added the extra $ for the added driver on our rental insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Rates went up 50% in two years

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bob Mar 30, 2019
My car insurance rates virtually doubled in the two years I have had my current car. No claims, no accidents, no changes to my policy. Phoned to discuss and they admitted that they had gone up a lot but hoped they would level off in the next few years. Unbelievable!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Claims Service

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by S.B. Mar 28, 2019
When calling for updates any service agent that answers are able to call up my file and answer my questions immediately. No being put on hold and listening to annoying music.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Belairdirect is a CONMAN

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by duo Mar 28, 2019
Never buy insurance from Belairdirect, because it is a cheat conman company. This company is not trustable at all. I did answer all questions online, and I got a quote; and then upon phoning, the conman increased the quote. When I asked why, she gave me a reason that was not true. I challenged, and then she would not answer my question. The reps are conmen, and they are fully trained in how to fool prospective customers. Never buy insurance from Belairdirect. This is a cheat and conman company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Took weeks to process my claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by John Doe Mar 22, 2019
This was with an adjuster from the St. Laurent location. The other party was at fault, but they still took 2 weeks to get a rental. I had to follow up almost every day, they told me they had to wait for a call back from someone from the police station. I called myself and they told me that was nonsense, they call a certain line directly and that THEY KNOW THIS. To top it off, they let me know about the rental on a Friday afternoon. I went in on Saturday to pick up the rental and it turns out I needed to take a credit card with me because Belair didn't call ahead for me. I didn't have a credit card on me and I had to wait until Monday afternoon, I also wasted $20 on Uber.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Juices customers on 2nd year

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Zack Mar 16, 2019
I do NOT recommend Belair under any circumstances. No one wants to deal with insurance companies more than they need to. Wasting hours on the phone isn't fun. Belair sent me an email after one year of coverage, reasonably priced, saying that my new term would come up soon. I had to log into to see the changes. I logged in and rates were increasing 28% (in one year) for a 36-year-old married woman with a perfect driving record and no claims. (My car is a 2017 Chevy) This is bad business. I gave them a chance to explain and they put me on hold and wasted more of my time before giving me a response that had nothing to do with me. (Other people's claims caused my rate to go up.) Don't get involved with this company, it practices bad business.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Aaron Mar 13, 2019
Someone hit my brother's car, Belairdirect wanted him to fix at their recommended body shop. The body shop has taken almost 5 months to fix it. Still not done yet. First, the insurance said they will cover the car rental whatever time that body shop take to repair if my brother agrees to fix the car there, now they take their words back and want my brother to pay for the car rental because the $limit ran out.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Quick & Easy

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by 739beng Mar 13, 2019
New to Belairdirect, 15 years with a previous insurance provider, great driving record, no claims, rates creeping up each year, this year huge increase. Decided to shop around, Belairdirect quote online was quick and easy, surprised the actual premium is very close to the online quote. Great customer service, Agent on the phone was knowledgeable and processed auto and home with one call. In that honeymoon period, but so far I recommend Belairdirect to anyone looking to save!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Claim Process

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by pouyagh Mar 03, 2019
It was my first experience having to deal with an insurance claim and the process was fairly convenient. However, since many people are like me, first-time accidents, it would be better to break things down further for the likes of us and assure we are given the information that reduces the stress of having to deal with this unwanted incident. The reason for mentioning this is because at first call, I was told I don't have a rental coverage for my car and I was panicking to get a car and get on with my life, and later when the claim was processed I was told that my rental has been arranged by my insurance because I wasn't at fault which was a big relief. In summary, I would have expected to have this information first hand.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Misleading Quotes

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Misled Feb 25, 2019
Belair will give you a quote, looks reasonable, then all of a sudden changes the quoted price which is much more money when the customer had already signed up for one-year insurance. Why don't they check everything with regards to customer's background? Of course, they will not do it, they want the customer's money. It's like the customer being pawned and for that, the customer has to suffer and keep paying until the contract expires. These insurance companies have so much greed that they only think of their bottom line. Paging Better Business Bureau! Can you please look into the corrupt practices of these insurance companies.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Excellent Insurer but read on.

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Stewie Feb 15, 2019
Experience with Belair has been excellent. I've been with them for about 10 years and had three not-at-faults during that time. In each case, they have been great. They need to tighten up on their approved body shops, however. My last experience was rather negative compared to the first two. The body shop took an immediate appraisal then delayed taking the car in for 3 weeks. It then took more than 4 weeks to repair the car while they "waited for parts to arrive" - they had three weeks to pre-order and didn't. The repair shop was also a bit shy in updating me. Only when I gave them an ultimatum that I couldn't pick up the car for another week if they delayed again because I would be overseas, did they finally get their act together and deliver. The final job appears to have been done to a good standard, from outer inspection. The car was cleaned inside and out nicely. The itemized bill had a few head-scratchers on it that Belair should look more closely at as they review the suitability of their repair partners. Bottom line: Belair is very good as an insurer but if you're unlucky enough to need their services, choose your repair shop wisely because it makes the difference between a good experience and a bad one.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Afterservice

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Matt Feb 14, 2019
My insurance cost rose by 74% because of a claim and before the renewal date even though I have accident forgiveness on my policy
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor quality

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by GrumpyVeteran Feb 14, 2019
Their premiums are much too high; and, if you run into an issue, they claim they cannot help you at all! My husband got into a serious accident (non-auto) and money was tight. Instead of delaying the payment, they made it bounce so they could then come after you for the full annual amount! Seriously! I have since found a much better insurance at a 1/3 of the cost Belair was charging me! They are not as good as they claim to be!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Auto insurance increase

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dave Feb 14, 2019
I have been with Belairdirect insurance for several years without any claims. I just received my renewal and they have incorporated a 60% rate increase. This is outrageous and I will be removing all my business from Belair. If ICBC has been characterized as a dumpster fire, I'm not sure what words to use for Belair
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Insurance experience

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Gord S Feb 08, 2019
I've been driving in excessive of 55 years and have had several insurance companies but for quality, informing the customer and customer service they are the best. Their employees are very well informed and treat me like I'm the most important person.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Excellent Service

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by intheattic Feb 07, 2019
All around excellent service for a recent claim. Fast, efficient resolution. Pleasant staff. Everyone can complain about insurance rates overall. Belairdirect is competitively priced.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Read this and think twice

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by James T K Jan 21, 2019
Been with Belair for 5 years. This past summer 2018 I had a comprehensive claim as I was hit by a flying tire from another driver, who got charged $5000 in damage to my new 2017 Ram truck. The insurance was handled by Intact, who is the underwriter for Belairdirect. Firstly, they tried delaying the process because of a $5 per day difference in towing company charges for storage. Finally, I intervened and got that settled because they wanted to sue the towing company while my truck was in their compound and not at the dealer getting fixed, which could take weeks in the court system. After that, they were great (Intact Adjuster) and fixed my vehicle, no problems. Come Renewal of all things, they hiked my rates up by 30% and even though I still had a 22% discount using their automerit program, it was a huge increase. I called with my concerns of the rate hike even though I wasn't at fault but still had a claim. They offered a further 5% for my wife if she used automerit. I said ok, no problem. The guy on the phone was courteous and helpful and said he would get that done. A week later I get a letter telling me my wife doesn't qualify for the automerit program and rates won't change. I then called Cooperators Group and was offered a rate 35% less than Belair, and I told them I had the claim etc, they did a background check to verify and still honoured the rate $600 less than Belairdirect. Suffice to say, I cancelled my renewal with Belairdirect. Any claim and they hike the rates up on you. And I should say they didn't hike the rate up on my Ram truck that had the claim, they just applied it to my older 2012 Camry! Trying to say the claim wasn't due to the truck.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Big company with good loyalty

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by tiamo2019 Jan 19, 2019
We have been using BelairDirect auto insurance for about 15 years and can say pretty satisfied with their service and pricing. Their accident forgiveness is fantastic. Despite two major accidents, our rates stayed steady and slowly dropped. Some people are impressed with how low our rates been going. Having a big company with their vast resources available in case something wrong is assuring. At times we had to negotiate the rate and ask for ways to save. Agents were always courteous and helpful for the most part. I wished to get home insurance with them but their rates were high despite being a long time customer.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?