Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(54 reviews)
Manulife
2.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Never Ever!

by RSH on Jan 17, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

I want to share my experience. Maybe somebody was more lucky than I was, so they have an opportunity to correct me. The majority in this forum as I can see by the feedback have similar experience as I had. In a nutshell I learned by experience that Manual Life and their brokers in Canada Protection plan (CPP) provided the worst imaginable customer service I have ever experienced so far. I contacted Manual Life customer service with a simple question regarding my policy. Instead of giving me a professional answer I was given a run around for 4 weeks between Customer Service in Manual life and CPP. The only reason I was eventually contacted by somebody was my intention to engage the National Media . Nobody cares about the customer after the policy sold by the brokers. Staff is not qualified to answer any questions. The policy has a lot of gray areas and hidden strings attached. I beg everybody - to stay away from Manual Life as far as you can and never ever deal with this so-called Insurance Company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

insurance cancelation

by Ron on Aug 5, 2014
1 out of 5 stars

Everyone be aware that when your policy expires they will automatically renew it at a much much higher rate. My agent phoned me to ask if I wanted to renew my policy as it was coming to its end....10 years. I asked him what the new rate will be, he said he did not know but its much higher. I said I would not likely renew. He did not remind me the contract stated its an automatic renewal unless you contact Manulife. As a result I did not notice for several months they were with drawing from my acct. a 600% increase in rates, which they will not refund.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
5 out of 5 stars

Our agent is very thorough in explaining the coverages with us. He's professional, always returns calls promptly if we have questions. The coverage was by far the most economical when I shopped around for coverages. They offer an extensive list of types of insurance that can be truly geared to our specific needs.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
3 out of 5 stars

Agent did not warn me that premiums would increase after 10 years while signing on. This being my first insurance in Canada. Did not continue with this company after that. Moved to RBC

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
2 out of 5 stars

Only dealings we've had have been about getting a broker and we did that by having to phone long distance to their head office and then having to pay for the long distance call ?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
4 out of 5 stars

The agent I dealt with was knowledgeable and was very thorough on our insurance coverage..I trust this company and have dealt with them for many years

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
2.5 out of 5 stars

Purchased whole life policy with an expectation that at about 10 year point, premiums could be paid from the policy. Now been 20+ years and still paying premiums. Not seeing what the salesperson said.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
4 out of 5 stars

I only deal with my representative & he's fantastic. Very helpful and easy to make changes from out of town.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
2 out of 5 stars

Their sales presentation was deceptive. The performance of their whole life policy has been disappointing to say the least.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo