Life Insurance Reviews

Manulife Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(71 reviews)
Manulife
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Manulife is the worst company

by Aaaaa on Dec 16, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Manulife insurance is the absolute worst. It’s just one big ping pong game to them. I went to go make a claim back in September and was informed I have to wait 60 days before I can make a claim (that was their first lie of many). I phone back 60 days later and they tell me off for not making the claim sooner. I then get all my forms filled out and send them in. I weekly call them for an update and they said they have everything just waiting for medical info from my doctor so I ask them to fax the form to my doctor again. Long story short they wasted a month of my time just to tell me they haven’t received any of my forms. So I asked them then why would you tell me you have received everything. It has been over three months since my accident and they have put me back at square one telling me they have no information on my claim what’s so ever. Manulife is the worst insurance company and the fact it’s come to the point of needing a lawyer is ridiculous. The emotional trauma and stress they put on you are out of this world. Not to mention my mom passed in March and her work went through Manulife and whenever I call Manulife for an update on my mortgage protection claim...for some reason every time I have to tell them my mom is gone. I have yet to figure out why they do this cruel thing but again the emotional stress they put on you. All I have to say is any other insurance company would be better then Manulife

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Never Ever!

by RSH on Jan 17, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

I want to share my experience. Maybe somebody was more lucky than I was, so they have an opportunity to correct me. The majority in this forum as I can see by the feedback have similar experience as I had. In a nutshell I learned by experience that Manual Life and their brokers in Canada Protection plan (CPP) provided the worst imaginable customer service I have ever experienced so far. I contacted Manual Life customer service with a simple question regarding my policy. Instead of giving me a professional answer I was given a run around for 4 weeks between Customer Service in Manual life and CPP. The only reason I was eventually contacted by somebody was my intention to engage the National Media . Nobody cares about the customer after the policy sold by the brokers. Staff is not qualified to answer any questions. The policy has a lot of gray areas and hidden strings attached. I beg everybody - to stay away from Manual Life as far as you can and never ever deal with this so-called Insurance Company.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Triple term life price!

by Gd on Oct 29, 2017
2 out of 5 stars

Awful way of rewarding your long-term life insurance clients after 10 years. My payment has instantly tripled. Yet if I cancel and take the same term life again I'm only paying half! Unbelievable negligence especially when no one bothers to call to offer me the best options. Customer loyalty needs to be established in this section of Manulife services. This not only feels like plain robbery. No logical sense of client appreciation. If I could I'd rate zero. Just staying the truth after being a client of ten years.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

Worst Customer Service

by cora on Oct 12, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

Trying to upgrade my existing life insurance policy and can't get even a phone call back after 4 weeks of trying and leaving numerous messages. Finally sent a complaint to the email address and the response was automatic saying a ticket was started and they would contact me. Guess what. I am still waiting for one call back or response after weeks of leaving messages. Don't deal with Manulife if you have any other option.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Avoid them!

by Scott on Sep 28, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

I owned policy and paid 6 months in advance. They never tell you that when you redeem your policy early (person passed away) you do NOT get your money back if you pay in advance! Don't pay in advance! Pay monthly! They are horrible.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Excellent service and value

by eagleye on Mar 12, 2017
5 out of 5 stars

I've had three experiences on the claims side with Manulife. Two were of their life insurance policies and one was with their group employer short-term and long term disability coverage. In all three cases, I was not the claimant as such. With the two life insurance claims, I was the executor and administrator of two separate estates where the deceased was life insured by Manulife.

In both life insurance death benefits claims cases, Manulife's claims dept representatives were helpful, efficient and professional in their work. In both cases the death benefits were paid in full, expeditiously and without any delays or obstacles.

In the case of the short and long term disability case, it involved one of our company's employees. There again, Manulife's service was exemplary.

In a sense, am surprised by some of the negative reviews; however, it is more likely that one would be more motivated to place a negative review when feeling to be short-changed than a positive review for just receiving the expected. Thinking back I did have a terrible experience with one of the bank-owned insurance companies who did everything to deny a valid and fully documented travel medical emergency claim to the point that they eventually succeeded in frustrating the claim.

That case, not with Manulife but one of the bank-owned insurance companies, involved a medical emergency during a Carribean cruise. Despite having all the documentation, diagnosis, treatment, etc. they insisted on interviewing that attending physician whose personal contact information was unavailable due to privacy rules of the cruise liner. Apparently, they knew about that privacy rule of the cruise liner and used that knowledge to zap the customer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.

Rip-off company

by Brit on Jun 21, 2016
1 out of 5 stars

Look elsewhere if you are interested in obtaining life insurance.
They will "double" your premium with two weeks notice if not less.
If you ask questions they will give you "sugar-coated" answers.
This company has absolutely no regard for its customers.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

cannot be trusted

by krtdussome on Feb 28, 2016
1 out of 5 stars

My father purchased several Manufacturer Life policies in the 1950s, forgot about them after the 1970s more or less and did not know they demutualized in 1999 which means even a simple policy for $1,000 back in the day realized 160,000 shares by 2007 when he passed away. A few years later I discovered evidence of yet another two policies. Manulife refuses to provide any information about one of the policies - as though it conveniently never existed and in regards to the other they have told me my father purchased it in the US rather than Canada like the other ones he had when he was not even able to cross the border into the USA in the early 50s let alone qualify to purchase life insurance there. The experience has been a real eye opener for me. If anyone has had a similar experience or can recommend help with the situation, I would most appreciate it. So much for consumer protection. I don't see anyone doing anything about the old, unclaimed policies.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

insurance cancelation

by Ron on Aug 5, 2014
1 out of 5 stars

Everyone be aware that when your policy expires they will automatically renew it at a much much higher rate. My agent phoned me to ask if I wanted to renew my policy as it was coming to its end....10 years. I asked him what the new rate will be, he said he did not know but its much higher. I said I would not likely renew. He did not remind me the contract stated its an automatic renewal unless you contact Manulife. As a result I did not notice for several months they were with drawing from my acct. a 600% increase in rates, which they will not refund.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.

N/A

by Anonymous on Apr 11, 2012
4.5 out of 5 stars

When my husband passed away last year, both insurance companies were prompt with settling this matter. I found the customer service from both Manulife and Great West exceptional.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo