Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Intact Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

(220 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
117,475
consumers
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Betterment Clause

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Bill Jun 13, 2019
I was told I only had to pay my Deductable ($500.00) as the vandalization to my vehicle was a no-fault claim. Along came the quote for repairs, I was informed that because new parts had to be installed, I would need to pay the Betterment clause portion, an additional $1,500.00. Insurance advised me that my vehicle was now in better condition than before the vandalization. Vehicle after repairs run the same as before, and looked the same, and didn't increase the trade in value. Total rip off!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Good luck

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Girly May 24, 2019
I was in a car accident & was injured, they refused to pay for my Physiotherapy. I’ve been in an accident before with another company & they covered my Physio expenses for the future also. Definitely, way better car insurance companies out there!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great customer service

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by awan May 23, 2019
I'm insured with intact insurance for almost a year. I had an accident a couple months ago. Intact insurance customer service is very helpful. I got a car rental while my car was getting repair. The adjuster at intact insurance was very helpful and I pick the bodyshop and my car was repaired very professionally. Great job great customer service. I'm satisfied and thank you intact insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

EXCELLENT!!!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Joanne H May 05, 2019
I have my insurance with Intact and recently someone backed into my car ripping the bumper and broke the lamp cover for the signal on the front. The person who hit it was 100%. The adjuster was awesome...I had a rental car for 3 days while my car was repaired. My premiums are excellent and highly recommend them!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

WORST INSURANCE COMPANY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by WES May 03, 2019
I hope this message can help as many people as possible know that this company will find any excuse not to ever fix your car and pay the least possible amount. There was a big piece of metal that doesn't fit under the car in the middle of the highway. This piece hit the center of my car and swerved to the right side of the car where I drove over it with both my tires. When I went out, my foglight was broken, the car was scratched from the front center to the right side and all the way to the back. When they went to inspect, they refused to fix the foglight because it looked "Dirty" and refused to fix the scratches because they looked "Dirty" and ended up paying only 106$ to change my tires that were used only 1 winter! They refuse to believe any damages were caused by that incident, basically telling me I'm a liar indirectly. Now I have to pay 450$ extra from my pocket to fix all these problems that were caused by the metal piece in the middle of the highway. They did nothing for me, didn't even compromise and asked me to return my rental car before my car even gets ready or marking the claim as complete. I didn't even get the 106$ yet! Now I have no car, no check from them, spending more on uber, waiting to figure out what will happen to my car after these damages. Don't use their insurance. Overpriced and won't cover you.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Insurance raise by 27%

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by AdelDimitri Apr 25, 2019
The best evaluation should be 0 out of 5. The worst ever Insurance company to my opinion, after the first insurance of 2 years that was a satisfactory amount they increased 27% the insurance amount without any reclamation requested. The discount also of 25% mentioned all days on TV is worthless, you cannot even reach 10% while riding a bicycle not a car. A way to get you and the year later they are more expensive than the other insurances. The broker refused to communicate with Intact and asked me it's my responsibility. Very impolite request.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Beware Intact paperless renew

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ted Apr 24, 2019
The one page notice directs you to create an online account with a PIN provided by Intact. After two unsuccessful attempts to log on with their PIN, the form sat until our automatic renewal date, assuming the cost would be similar to last year. I found out thru my credit card account that Intact had raised our rates over 20% ...for no reason... no claims/tickets/late payments/etc...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

I recommend Intact

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jue C Apr 18, 2019
I had a bad accident (not at my fault) in January 2019. Since then, Intact gave me big support. My brand new Acura was fixed the same as before, and my adjusters informed me all the steps. Maybe all the insurers are not as lucky as me, but I have to say that Intact saved my life, all the adjusters helped me back to track. Thank you guys for your hard work.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Auto Claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SCREWED BY INTACT Apr 08, 2019
My son was T-boned at an intersection when he had a green turning arrow that turned yellow on his way through the intersection. The Third Party claimed she had a green light and two vehicles went through the intersection before she entered. Vehicles could have gone through the intersection from my sons side where he had a left turning arrow and the through traffic had a full green to proceed straight, however, on the Third Party side of the intersection all lights were RED!!! The car in front of the Third Party turned onto the ramp before the intersection and did not proceed through the intersection. The Third Party and witness were sitting privately together in the witness vehicle before the RCMP took the witness statement and this was confirmed by Intact. The witness stated that the Third Party had a full green light HOWEVER Intact sent me an email stating the witness stated to Intact "he looked at the traffic light AFTER he heard the accident noise and realized what happened in front of him". My sons statement to the RCMP was he had a green arrow that turned yellow on his way through the intersection, therefore by the time the accident happened and the witness realizing what just happened in front of him and looked at the light after, enough time had passed for the light to turn green on the Third Party side. The witness couldn't confirm the Third Party statement about two vehicles going through the intersection before her. Intact confirming the witness look at the light after the accident and the witness couldn't confirm the Third Party statement about the two vehicles and Intact didn't even ask questions to the Third Party about where the two vehicles were which she was talking about, Intact knowing the car in front of the Third Party turned onto the ramp before the intersection. Even with this evidence and more not explained here, Intact found my son fully responsible for the accident.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Intact Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MS Apr 05, 2019
As a high school student, and having Intact Insurance as my first insurance company has been the worst experiences by far. I was with them since I was 16 years old, paying $211 a month for my insurance, I am now 18 and all of a sudden they have without telling me or without sending a package in the mail have increased my monthly payment up to $343, in addition to this I have never received a speeding ticket nor have I been in an accident that was my fault. To make things even better I have not reviewed an insurance slip and have been driving without a proper insurance slip for a month now and they have not done anything to send me out a new one. When speaking on the phone to multiple insurance brokers I was told as an insurance company they have the right to increase insurance rates, how does an insurance company without notifying their customer to increase someone’s rate by $132 a month! This works out to be $4116 a year for insurance!! The worst part of it all in order to cancel, I must first cancel and then they give you the amount you must pay to leave.. intact insurance has been the biggest scam.. not sure how they can do this to a high school student who works a part-time job.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Intacts screwed me.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Thisisnotcool Mar 21, 2019
After the accident, I was not informed with proper information. After I cancelled the policy, I was still paying auto insurance when I had no vehicle and when I realized and stopped the payment, they slapped me with cancellation for not paying the bill.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Very bad experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sahar.s Mar 20, 2019
They are not responsive at all. They are the worst insurance I have ever tried. Not recommended at all.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible, Horrible Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kate1227 Mar 12, 2019
I don't know where to even begin. We were in a car accident that should have been a simple claim. It took 1.5 weeks to have the vehicle looked at. Once we heard something, they wanted to repair the vehicle for $7500 when the vehicle was only worth a maximum of $8200. The $7500 was an ESTIMATE and therefore the true damage was unknown. When we received the information, we instantly requested that it be escalated to look into a total loss. We explained our loss of confidence. From Feb 20, 2019 - March 6, 2019, we got the run-around - told that it was under review. On March 4 in particular, we called for an update (up until this point we had NEVER received a call from Intact; we have ALWAYS had to call for an update) and were told we would receive 3 pieces of information via email by Tuesday. Our broker also called and confirmed this. By the 6 of course, just like the reps' soul - our inbox was empty. I finally lost it! I called them and was told that we were refusing repairs and the rental would be done the next day (never received a call before this saying: we have done the review, here are our findings, based on our findings this is our decision...). It wasn't until I SPELLED out the neglect and bad faith in an email and CC'd the president of Intact until someone actually heard me. I came to learn that after all this time, not one person had requested an autosource to determine the actual cash value of our vehicle, but they were so quick to tell me my vehicle was worth $9600 - with no proof?! We also learned from a phone call from the owner of the wreckers that they were told on Feb 20 to order parts and start repairs (ILLEGALLY WITHOUT THE CLIENTS CONSENT)!!! In the end, we got what we fought for (though we never should have fought). A manager advised that there wasn't anything special being done on our case. Our vehicle was well within the parameters of a total loss (OMG). I was then told that I had until Monday to empty my old vehicle. I told them I would go on Saturday - which they told me was fine. Only to show up at the wreckers that are closed on weekends and no access to my vehicle (I live an hour from the wreckers) and no one will return my calls/emails now! We could certainly SUE Intact on bad faith with handling our claim. The neglect, etc. If I wasn't so exhausted from fighting for what is right for 5 weeks, I would be suing them. Thank you Intact for the mental stress that you caused my family through an already stressful time. I will NEVER EVER EVER EVER be going with Intact again. As soon as my policy is up, I'm out of here. My family, my fiance's family and all of our friends (and as far as I can spread the word) will NEVER use Intact. Horrible. Horrible.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Intact Insurance Sucks!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by maria Mar 07, 2019
Intact insurance worked closely with their preferred body shop to deny repair to most of the damage from my accident claim. Even though the OTHER VEHICLE was 100% at fault!!! I was the one screwed over. I was returned with an unsafe vehicle that shouldn't be driven. The only way I found out was when I backed my truck up and turned the wheel - the tire ground against the wheel well. I returned to the body shop only to be told the wheel well need adjusting. Part of their big repair, the impact crushed the bumper in and damaged the wheel and tire, all the plastic shrouds and trim also damaged. They replaced everything visible and cosmetic, but upper control arm, the important part, that allows you to steer and affects the handling, performance and safety of the vehicle. That they don't fix!!! The only reason I found that was I went to a reputable shop and they within 15 min. found it and they never did a front end alignment either, not possible with that damage!! My front driver side wheel was shoved back 1 1/2" and tires were not aligned. When I contacted Intact, they refused to repair it, they said I probably damaged it from a pothole, he says they damage very easily from a pothole!!! Wow!!! So it didn't bend from a 5,000 lb vehicle smashing into me at 50 kmh? Just brutal!! They suck and so does their preferred lying body shop. Never trust them, they are a team, their #1 job is to not pay!! They changed one tire giving me unmatched tires, never fixed the CD player that jammed my CD and broke from the impact, the lousy horrible Bondi and paint job, I could have done it better, the bad customer service, it was a horrible nightmare, eventually I took my truck to another shop and had them fix and I paid again. So, as long as you're paying, Intact is there, you have a claim, they're gone!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stand up to them!

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Bruce Mar 03, 2019
In 2002 my Lexus book price was $75,000. Now in Feb. 2019 Intact does not want to pay $3,200 for an accident claim and instead calls it a total write off! They want to convince me that the actual value of this car which is in perfect condition except now missing a corner of the front bumper should be put in the junkyard and tagged as a salvage vehicle. To make attempt to prove their point, they supplied me with a single comparable rusted out car on sale in Kijiji that had over 400,000 km on the odometer! My car has 200,000 km. They seem to try every trick to not pay a fair price and save themselves a few dollars. With a little research, I have lots of comparable car sales that can prove the current value is well over $5000 and this car is not a write-off. My advice to others is don't allow the insurance companies to lie to you. Challenge them and go the next step which is contacting their Ombudsman to settle.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

nightmare

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Luba Mar 03, 2019
Had a guy blow a red light and slam into us. We were maybe 10 feet away on a 4 lane main road and he was coming out of a small side street. Been with Intact for over 10 years, no claims since I started driving in 1977, have the home, auto and commercial policies with them. Called from the accident scene (it was Sunday) and talked to a nice customer service guy. Told me my adjuster would call me within 36 hours (fair enough). Nothing. I call and only get voice mail. I call back and talk to Customer service...for an hour. He took all the information, the police report number, the details, EVERYTHING and said he would have forwarded it to her so that she would have it on her desk when she got in. 11 days after the accident and several emails to her and pictures I took at the scene, I finally get hold of her. I had to do all the running around and paperwork, no returned emails...this was a truck we had just bought for our business and only had it for 11 days. Yes, it was used but in amazing shape and not cheap. It was through a dealership, not a used lot. They did a commercial safety on it, replaced brakes, and brake lines, went over it with a fine tooth comb and it was in perfect order when we drove it off the lot. We were told that it would take 9 days to fix it. ...over 30 days later it was still in the body shop. From the front impact, the driver's side fender was damaged, the hood, the condenser in front of the rad was damaged, the windshield was cracked, which they approved because they were obviously visible. We noticed (at the scene) that something was dripping by the passenger side front wheel and when looking underneath it, you could see fluid coming out of the brake line. When we drove it (it was still marginally driveable) to the body shop, the truck was trying to pull you into the ditch, so you had to really lean on the steering wheel to keep it on the road. When driving, the whole steering wheel had 'play' in it, meaning it could be 'wiggled' side to side and the wheels did not turn in that direction unless you really put pressure on it. When you started the vehicle up after the collision, there is a loud rattling noise that carries on for a few minutes coming from inside the dashboard. We pointed all that out to the body shop and when the appraiser from Intact came to look at it, he said that the leaking brake line was not due to the accident, the alignment that was totally out of whack had nothing to do with the accident but because it was a used vehicle, it was a maintenance issue, and he could not hear the rattling noise because by the time he got to the body shop, they had already taken off the condenser and the vehicle could not be started without ruining the turbo (it is a 2500 Dodge mega cab 4x4 Diesel). He is not trying to tell me the noise I hear is the diesel engine because it sounds different from a gas engine.!!! He also noted that the truck had been used as a plow truck because he could see the plow hookups...what he is referring to is the 2 tow hooks that are standard on all Dodge trucks, it is where you can hookup chains or a tow truck to pull you out of the ditch. They are factory installed on all trucks !!! Plow hookups are holes that are drilled into the frame for the plow hookups to be mounted and then sit under the truck near or slightly behind the rad. Goes to show you what he knows. I ended up taking the truck back to the dealership for an appraisal and the same mechanic and his supervisor looked at the brake line issue and compared it to the work order for getting the safety on the truck. They gave me a detailed rundown and explanation of the leak, and said that it was consistent with a collision such as ours...in writing (they service and safety our provincial police vehicle, ambulances etc, they know what they are doing), now the appraiser says that the moisture we see on the brake line is not caused by jamming the brakes to avoid the accident, but that it was WD40 the dealership sprayed on the clip for the brake line. He also says the alignment has nothing to do with a front/side angled collision, it is a maintenance issue. Intact cancelled the rental TWICE saying they thought the vehicle was already fixed. They did not call the body shop to see if the vehicle was done, they just cancelled the rental...on a Friday evening just minutes before their office closes. They gave me a rental truck BUT I still had to hire my COMPETITION to service my clients that I have a contract with because I need to pull a trailer with pallets of product and you are not allowed to pull a trailer with a rental. Went to the Client Care Dept and made a complaint that they would investigate and address and get back to me within 10 days...That was Dec, just before Christmas...nothing, I again had to email them and give them a deadline in a strongly worded email. Feb. 28, I get a letter from them full of misinformation about the issues I am having, saying that I was complaining about a transmission leak???, nope, that never happened, saying that it was a plow truck... saying that I said the steering wheel leaked ??? nope, never did that, the steering damper, yes, it needed to be replaced, at my cost because apparently in a front end collision, a steering damper cannot be damaged...according to them. A 5-page letter with their 'finding' that is so badly written and full of blatant spelling errors and lies, it is a joke. I am still fighting this and will take it to the Ombudsman and the Better Business Bureau and the Financial Consure Agency, which is run by the government of Canada. My insurance renews in April and I am dumping this piece of garbage company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Avoid at all cost

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by vince Feb 26, 2019
1: Made me choose a garage without suggesting one or explaining to me that if I choose a garage and have issues with the repairs, they will not be helping me. Now over 1000$ of additional damage because of bad repairs, they won't do anything for me. 2: a year later, try to cut my insurance because I moved out of province, won't understand that the camper van stays parked where it always has been, stays plated Quebec and won't be driven outside of there. Lady refused to transfer me to her supervisor. I had to call another office and then another office where they finally transferred me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

goodbye Intact

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by weeokwan Feb 15, 2019
I loved this company until this year's renewal time when my premium was increased by $290/annum with no explanation whatsoever. When I asked, the answer was All insurance companies have been hit and this is the reason. I don't buy it when I am consistently getting quotes that are much cheaper. After 7+ years I wish Intact cared more about retaining their loyal customers than they do. I have even brought customers to them over the years. I'm so done with this increase.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Awful

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bad insurance Feb 12, 2019
My car is a total loss. Took 3 weeks to tell me that then the money was supposed to be direct deposited in my bank, 6 days later still not there. Then they told me to get out of the rental, I said: not without the money to buy a car. Then they issued a cheque Wednesday, supposedly sent it by courier Thursday. It's now Tuesday of the next week, no money, nobody can give you tracking information. This company has awful employees and service. I won't be renewing. FYI the total is not my fault either.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

My Drivers Discount

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by bhgrant Feb 11, 2019
I have been very happy with Intact 'till this summer when they offered me a chance to lower my car insurance. I just plugged a device into my car and it monitored my driving. Everything went well until we started leaving one car in our garage while we spent many weeks and months at our cottage. We kept getting emails telling us to plug our car device in. I finally called explaining what was happening. They said the car had to be driven. Soooo, I had to get my daughter to drive the car out of the garage, around the block and park it every week so our discount would not be lowered. What a joke!!!! On top of this when the car sits for a week or two, they lower my discount amount available. What is the logic in this? I called My discount and they tell me to call my broker. I call the broker and he tells me to call My discount. This is useless. It has caused me more hassle than the money I can save. Do not use My Drivers discount unless you will be driving your vehicle all the time.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Charged AFTER Cancellation!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ashlynn Feb 06, 2019
The rate I was paying from 2017-2018 was $270 as I was a new driver with my G2 license. From 2018-2019 they decreased my rate to $239 a month, as I got my G license and proved to be a good driver! I received my renewal package at the beginning of January 2019 for the 2019-2020 year, and my rate went up to $290 a month. I was confused as to why there was a $50 increase monthly as I have not changed my address, I’ve never been in an accident and have never received any kind of ticket. I called Intact to see if they could explain to me why there was an increase and I was hung up on and when I finally was able to talk to someone, I was told that everyone’s rate was increasing, but by $50 dollars a month, which I found to be quite ridiculous. After this, I found a new auto insurance and cancelled my insurance with Intact. While cancelling my insurance I asked the broker “will I be charged for the month of February?” His response was “No, your last effective coverage date by Intact is January 31”. Tuesday, February 5, I saw Intact charged my account $290!! Straight away I tried calling, as I was explaining the issue to a broker, I was hung up on again! I decided to call my bank and put a stop payment so that Intact isn’t able to take any more money out of my account and I was refunded my $290 from the bank! Intact is a disgrace of an insurance company, they rob people and when you try and talk to someone, you get the runaround or hung up on! Do NOT give these thieves your money, there are way better companies out there with way better rates AND customer service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Horrified

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Not Loyal Anymore Feb 04, 2019
20 years with no claims with Intact and my insurance is $70 higher than all other insurance companies I have been quoted by recently. You would think that with a loyal customer for 20 years, a clean driving record, the rates would be lowered. Not a chance. So I ask how to get reduced. I have the My driving discount device installed for the past 7 weeks. I drive very well and they dock you if you accelerate at 12km per hour, or break at 13km per hour. Even worse, if you drive home and hit 12:02 am when you pull up from work. So the possible 25% that they say a driver would get, lie. So 7 weeks and I am down to 13% and they think I want to keep this in there. Every week the percent drops, even if it's at 12km per hour. Like seriously, HAS ANY OF THEM ACTUALLY DRIVEN WITH IT PROPERLY TO FIND THAT THE LOW SPEED CAN BECOME DANGEROUS??? I can't turn a corner without feeling like a 100-year-old driver, who should be off the road. I get usually 2 docks a week and they are minimal at 12 or 13km. Yet in 7 weeks. YES, 7 WEEKS, I am already down to 13%. This March you have lost a 20-year loyal customer. NO MORE WILL I DEAL WITH YOU. NO RENEWAL.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

DO NOT GO WITH INTACT

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tom Jan 31, 2019
The worst company in Canada is INTACT INSURANCE!! I've told the insurance agent by phone to cancel renew insurance before due. I have now been charged the new rates even when I don't have Intact anymore. They are so DISGUSTING!!...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

GOODBYE INTACT.

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by gspearman Jan 29, 2019
WOW... INTACT, you might want to look at these reviews. My experience with CDI was wonderful (probably because I made one windshield claim 8 yrs ago). When Belairdirect took over, the rates began to inflate & now you guys have become the most expensive private insurance company. Your loyalty to long term customers obviously doesn’t exist. This past year (2018) I received my policy on my vehicle & the increase of 10% WAS NOT a nice surprise, the fact that you took away my windshield coverage was totally unacceptable. In 15+ years of coverage, we have had 2 claims on windshields & that’s it. This is how this company rewards the GOOD DRIVERS. They are willing to give up two auto policies & a home insurance policy for a possible but not yet $900 windshield replacement. Fingers crossed ...no stone cracks yet.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

My Driving Discount

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DB Jan 23, 2019
Enrolled in my driving discount and it is a complete joke. I have no data on my phone as I cannot afford it and I was ensured that the device would be a reliable way to track my driving. I have now gone through 3 devices that have been 'dead'. Upon calling tech support I was finally told after 5 months of fighting with my device, my vehicle was incompatible. Seriously? This should not be an issue due to the variety of vehicles on the road. There are so many different vehicles of different makes, models etc. you should not have this issue with this sort of device. The tech support kept telling me "well, it is a voluntary program.." - well, duh. I enrolled for cheaper insurance! That is what your company promised me. That is why I switched insurance brokers in the first place! Not to mention with my other insurance company I was with Intact as well and they were charging me 200 something a month for my insurance. I went to my new company who put me through Intact. Intact charges me 194...173 with enrollment with my driving discount. Of course, I'm going to enroll, it's cheaper. So they hook you with that promise then screw you over.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

can't cancel car insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by amaddaughter Jan 23, 2019
Unbelievable service ….Our Father passed away the end of Dec 2018. This company won't let us cancel his car insurance...we have provided his death certificate and bill of sale showing his van has been sold...still not good enough for them...they want a copy of his will (which is none of their business) or a letter from a lawyer (yes, at our cost)...I guess I might have to bring his ashes and pour them on their desk ...or get the press involved ..Beware even if you're dead, they will still try to rip you off
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

car insurance

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sharon Dec 19, 2018
On Nov. 2, I had a mishap of a deer colliding with my car. I called Intact Insurance on Nov. 3. It was Sunday. This girl, who by the way, was incredibly helpful and nice, made an appointment for me in Calgary on Tuesday, Nov. 6. I showed at the appointment. Someone walked around my car and checked off damage, and sent me back inside to talk to an agent. That took all of 10 mins and she sent me into a room where Enterprise Car Rentals was set up. They took all my info and sent me on my way with a brand new car, and NO worries. Every second day or so my agent sent me an e-mail keeping me up to date on the progress of my repairs. I was told that my car would be ready on Dec 6-7. I got a call on Nov. 29, saying my car was all cleared to come back. I had told them that I would be out of town that weekend. Because I was all packed and ready to leave within an hour, the agent extended my rental car until Monday the 3rd. At no extra cost to me. My car came back to me looking like it did when I purchased it. I paid only my $500 deductible. I had ZERO worries or stress, the whole time my car was in the shop being repaired. I had amazing service, excellent people on my side helping me, and I am 100% satisfied. I would in a heartbeat recommend Intact Insurance. Thanks, guys, for making this an excellent experience.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Overpaying

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by nothappy Dec 17, 2018
I got into a fender bender in January because of icy roads. My car was totalled and the other vehicle had no damage to it. Now I am paying over $3000 in insurance and they bill me every 2 weeks for another $500 payment since January!!! Like why am I paying this? I lost count of how much I spent on insurance this year but this company is crap. Highly recommend NOT going with this company
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Huge Rate Increase

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Crash27 Dec 15, 2018
I have been with Intact for over 5 years and I have both auto/homeowner and I have been paying around $100 a month forever and they just sent my new policy renewal and now it's $150?? I had 1 minor speeding ticket, so I knew my rates would go up a few bucks but $600 a year more?? This is unacceptable. If they do not lower my rate, I will be going to another insurance company. Nice way to treat your loyal longtime customers with 0 claims.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Ripped Off

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Intact Sucks Dec 14, 2018
Intact is the worst insurance company in Canada. Their customer service is atrocious. Make sure you read the fine print. Because there seem to be different clauses that only work out in their favour. I had a vehicle written off. They compare 10 vehicles chosen by them. Nothing near anything acceptable. All high mileage and some were damaged vehicles. When I looked at the current price for replacements, they were ALL 4K above their price. Beware. Insurance companies are there to take, not give. Intact says theirs better than all the rest. NOPE. 13 years with them. One claim. Screwed over equals buh-bye Intact. A big 0 stars.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?