Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Intact Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

(276 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
145,173
consumers
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Injury claims department

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JAY Jun 17, 2020
I was in an accident (not my fault) lots of out of pocket expenses and have to fight to get reimbursed. I sent pics, including prescriptions with names and AB2 info. Called Intact and they told me, yes all looked at and approved....no money... So 2 weeks later, I called and they told - still are not reviewed... Then I keep calling and checking in... Then Intact needs more info ex.. who is the cast and crutches for? WELL... Cast, crutches all prescription have a name on them and AB 2 shows leg fracture. Just dumb on their part. For your information, they only cover 165$ of extra medical expenses!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

To bad I can’t give a 0 star

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Adam R May 25, 2020
What a joke, my first accident/claims experience with any insurance company and I can’t imagine it going any worse, wish they would spend less money on their commercials and more on customer service training! Avoid!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Bait and switch! 2x Premiums

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ontario Apr 15, 2020
I have a 20-year driving history with NO accidents or claims. They quoted me an amazing home + auto rate, contingent on my switching my license to a local Ontario license (I recently moved to the province for work). I purchased my vehicle, switched my license but when I went to start my insurance, my premiums were OVER DOUBLE! When I pressed them for details they said 'oh you were given a "rough quote", your actual payments may differ'. I expected a small variation, not 2x! I have spoken with at least 5 different people at Intact to try to clarify the issue, providing additional documentation, etc. and they refuse to change my rates. Their customer service response is slow, taking at least a day or two to get back to me. Worse, they have an absolutely awful cancellation policy where they don't refund you all your money (probably because they can't stand by their product and want to lock you into their substandard, expensive service). I would absolutely not use this company again, very disappointed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Raises rates during pandemic

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by APitt Apr 10, 2020
So vehicle insurance is up for its yearly renewal during a pandemic. We were not driving anyways and didn't expect a decrease in premiums. So when we got the renewal to our shock, they increased premiums by 46 percent. I called the customer service to find out why the increase, since no accidents, violations and been with them for years. The representative was rude and gave a lame excuse about them raising rates due to the number of claims they received from everyone this past year. The representative also tried to state will not find new insurance or one that will take monthly payments right now. Hung up and called my broker. Advised broker they needed to find new coverage. The broker stated the same items the representative advised over the phone. I outright ask her if she gets a higher commission from Intact and how much of the brokerage firm that is under does Intact own. She tried to talk around it. I stated that much. I knew from past experience if a broker makes more from a company they will only push that companies product. I advised her to watch me. In twenty-five minutes new broker, new insurances cheaper rates than have been paying this previous year, monthly payments and more coverage. Stop using Intact and their brokers, especially when the firm is owned at a 50 percent share by Intact. It is about their bottom line. Not about their customers.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Vehicle Colision Claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DisgustedwithIntact Mar 24, 2020
I recently had a collision claim with Intact, it took 3 months to settle and they settled unfairly. The claims adjuster was rude on the phone, the manager failed to provide a proper review and when I disputed the decision because their insured driver lied and refused to provide evidence, they tried to blame me for a false accusation of violating the Alberta Traffic Safety Act which was not accurate. I hope that during this time of uncertainty that Intact chooses wisely who they hire to provide fair and equitable claims based on facts not word of mouth. Worst insurance company. I definitely will not be giving them my business in the future.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Not up front

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Patty Mar 14, 2020
I bought car insurance with Intact Insurance. I had to pay upfront and did not offer a payment schedule. Then after renewing for the second year, they wanted to charge me an extra 100$ for not downloading an app. I feel so demeaned. I argued several times but they just kept sending me bills. Never get insurance with them ever again!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

claim against intact

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by hattie Mar 10, 2020
Since I've been trying to deal fairly with intact, I've been given poor resolution, unfair return for my vehicle, no money's for lost wages, poor and limited health benefits for injuries and pain. I wouldn't have this company as my insurance provider ever again.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Had a total loss claim

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by intactblows Mar 08, 2020
My car was a total loss and I was not at fault. Took 1 month after car getting quoted for them to give an offer, (after I called wondering what was going on) - they had system glitches. Anyway, they offered me the low side of car value. and I tried to negotiate. Once they give you an offer they cut off your rental car, even though they caused a 2-week delay by not being organized, and I have unlimited rental car coverage as it was not at fault. Customer service was rude. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Keep away

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by George 1950 Mar 01, 2020
I'm a senior, 70 y.o. I'm with this company for 9 years now and it was a terrible mistake. 9 years ago I had a fender bender claim (small accident on parking). As a retired person I drive occasionally 2011 Dodge, no tickets. Last year I was paying $150/month. This February 1st I didn't get any renewal notice with new premiums (they switched to paperless). I checked deduction from my account - payment jumped from $150 to $220! Incredible increase with no reason. I'm just wondering how much money I lost trusting them and being a loyal customer.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

My stolen car

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Judee Feb 24, 2020
My car was stolen on December 13 /2019 once I notice my car was missing I called the police and made a report then call the Intact insurance, we stared a claim. I provided all the necessary documents and mailed the 2 keys I had to them. After a month I still did not hear anything from the insurance in which I started to call them to find out what is going on, they started giving me the run around by telling me the agent would call me back with 24 to 48 hours, and they would not call back at all! I continue to call until a few weeks after someone call me back and wanted to do a follow up about the incident again, once that conversation has been done she told me that she would forward my claim to the adjuster department and it is safe to say that you can start looking for a new car. I waited and waited after 2 months pass by still no answers or any news as to what's going on with my claim. I started calling back and still no one who tells me anything valid at all. I was very disappointed and disturb about the whole thing so I decided to tell them I will take legal action the minute I said that I was able to speak with the claim agent and she told me that my claim is higher than her pay grade and that all she can tell me, it been over 70 days now and I still have not to be compensated for my car. On February 21 another agent call and said that my field has been transferred to him and the only how to move forward with the claim is to have an interview with me that would last for 2 hours and during that period the conversation would be recorded to protect them, this is when I concluded that Intact insurance does not pay me when working on my claim but have been looking for ways to run away from their responsibilities. I just want to be compensated and let it been known to the public about this company and what it really stands for, they are a fraudulent company that only steals from clients and they do not want to pay you any money at all.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

PLEASE BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by intact Feb 10, 2020
PLEASE BEWARE, USE THEM AT YOUR OWN RISK. A broker recommended intact insurance due to the quote. We decided to go ahead with it. Intact left file pending for a good couple weeks. 4 times I went to Service Ontario to obtain a sticker renewal and I was not able to. The broker contacted Intact several times and they had excuses. Finally, they resolved it due to leaving my file pending. It was until after the first month we noticed an increase. They said oh you cannot get winter tire discount. I said why I have winters for all my vehicles. Then they said you have to have a receipt. So I went and purchased brand new winter tires. Provided them with the receipt and still, it was enough for them to give me the discount. They would not take pictures of cars or anything. Then the second month we noticed an additional increase. I contacted the broker again. The broker contacted them and they came back to say that the monthly increases were because I am supposed to have an app on my phone. I said for what. They want to monitor your driving, how often you brake, where are you going, how fast you drive etc.. I said I never authorized any of that. Even at the beginning of when we got the policy, I said no to that. So their excuse was they increased me because I didn't want the app. my policy, by the way, jumped 150dollars a month more to almost 500 dollars. After several months of all of that, we decided to cancel them and go with another person where we are saving 200 dollars a month. It is illegal for an insurance company to increase your rates without notification.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Worse company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Doug Feb 06, 2020
My father had passed in Dec 2019 I went to my local broker to cancel the policy that was up for renewal in Jan 2020. The cancellation went through with a confirmed letter in plenty of time. However, when Feb rolled around the payments continued to come out. When I went to my broker they informed me that Intac would repay the amount but it would take 2-3 weeks to process. This is both finally hard on my mother and stressful. Yet the insurance company offered little to no consideration to my family
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

STAY AWAY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by B. W. Feb 03, 2020
Insurance claim on an 8-month-old vehicle. They are trying to force me to use "preferred shop" so they can use aftermarket and/or used parts. I told them I wanted it repaired at the jeep dealer and they would only approve 1/2 the estimated amount now after several phone calls and emails they still have not replied to me or my broker. I already have a call into my previous insurance company who was only slightly more. God forbid it had been a serious claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

RIPOFFS/THIEVES

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rav Feb 01, 2020
I had insurance with these thieves for 2 years. Luckily never made any claims, who knows how much pain I would have gone through if I had to claim after reading the reviews here. OK, let me tell my story here: I bought insurance for my 2 cars and home with Intact. WITHIN 3 months they increased my premium $30/month, then in the next 3 months went up another $30/month, YET another $30/month in another 3 months. Within 9 months(that's is after I bought the insurance for a YEAR) they increased my premium $90/month(this is EVEN before it renewed)... Never had any accident/claim before or after I bought insurance from these thieves! I called up and asked them WHY, here is the answer they gave me (laugh if you feel like): IF THE SAME MAKE AND MODEL AS MY VEHICLE gets into an accident, they would increase the premium for ANYONE insured with that same make and model of the vehicle!!! I asked them if I can cancel the insurance... they said I have to pay 2 months premium as PENALTY!... So I decided to stay until it expires.... then when the renewal was coming up I called up and see if they can reduce my premium... Guess what they were going to increase the premium even $100 a month MORE upon the renewal WHICH THEY NEVER EVEN would have told me IF I didn't call them up... then... they PRETENDED like they are concerned and asked all my records (with they already HAVE)... and gave me a renewal quote for $5/month more than I paid previously. Another reason they gave me for the increase in premium is that INFLATION! Can this be believed? WHAT the inflation of the economy is 300% a year!? STAY AWAY from them! Get insurance ELSEWHERE!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Sorry to have went to INTACT

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by No words Jan 29, 2020
My car caught fire I know it's only been 12 days but I'm getting the run around no one has contacted me to even send an adjuster when I call its same story your adjuster will call you back he is on the phone. But never calls I call the claims department and they give me a ridiculous story that they were calling my old house phone which is funny because the company never had a house phone on my file because I have a cell phone. My car caught fire in Ontario and I live in Quebec I've literally been stranded at friends till I get this sorted out because I don't have transportation back and forth when they do decide to come. Like is there anyone I can contact that is above my adjuster like his boss that would help me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

STAY AWAY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by baptista Jan 24, 2020
Car insurance is to give you peace of mind knowing that you will be taken care of if the need arises. It was the exact opposite when our vehicle was stolen from our driveway 3 months ago. We have e-mailed, called and provided all the information we could to help with the settlement. In return, we have been ignored and even made to feel like we are the criminal. When they do respond it's only to say they are working and we were told at one point there was a possibility we would not receive any compensation. We've called the support line to see if anyone else could help but was told only the person assigned to the case could deal with us. We were told the caseworker was sick or on vacation but never available. We were so happy when we received a phone call that the vehicle was found in December as part of a huge criminal investigation. The police reports were sent in immediately but again no further action. It's a month later and we are already out thousands of dollars and still no end. We have been making payments for 3 months on a vehicle that we don't have, the rental car coverage has expired so we now are paying out of pocket so we can at least we can get to work. What I would like to know is how it is possible that companies like this are allowed to take advantage of people with no consequences. Something needs to be done about this, every review I've read is similar, this a criminal.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

HORRIBLE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JD Jan 10, 2020
I have been receiving letters about a false claim, and I have been trying to contact them about this only to get ignored every single day, I call many times. I have sent emails, left voicemails, as this issue seems to be time-sensitive according to the letter. For some reason, I am told I can only deal with this through a specific agent that sent the letter, and they are just not responding to anything! They are purposely ignoring me so that my rates automatically go up over this claim. Do they get some kind of commission for this? I don't know. This claim doesn't actually exist though!!! Absolutely ridiculous, completely untrustworthy. Do yourselves a favour and PLEASE go elsewhere.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

very very bad

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nidel Jan 04, 2020
I called them 10 time to reenroll me for my drive discount program but I got no respond
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible and dissapointing

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Zolich Dec 23, 2019
The worst and unprofessional insurance. Not helpful at all. Not only they charge huge money but also never help and care about customers. Had to call them 4 times to solve my issue where I was charged $659 extra but never helped me at the end they connected to irrelevant departments where they said you called wrong department and I had to repeat to calls. Finally gave up calling and wasting time. Please never recommended there are thousands of insurances with excellent customer service and care. Never consider this one!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Terrible claim experience

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by v17 Dec 18, 2019
WORST company I've ever had to deal with. The mistakes and excuses given are like nothing I've ever heard before. After a week of waiting for their adjustor which was pointless because the estimate wasn't even accurate. I was told my car was at the body shop and getting fixed and I would get a call when it is ready. 10 days later I get a call thinking my car should be ready, only to learn its a loss, they won't fix it, return the rental in 1 business day. Their adjustor missed stuff because he didn't put the car on a hoist because "the battery was dead". For 10 days I thought my car was being fixed so I took no action to look into other options, I was informed no one contacted me because there was a "clerical error, and my claims representative was sick and in training a few days". Had to argue to have the rental longer as I was blindsided due to their mistakes, extending the rental should have just been offered at the very least! I was offered money for my car that couldn't get me something equivalent as the kms were low and the car was in great condition. So the day I found out this news I left work to get a second opinion on the damage of my car to find out the company towed it an hour away the same day they called me to give me the news but didn't inform me or even mention the car would be moved. The excuse this time was "that was a mistake". Its never-ending difficulties and they do nothing to accommodate, just give excuses and make the client suffer for it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

They are very unhelpful

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by sydz Dec 13, 2019
My car was towed by Lyons auto, Mississauga after an accident. They started repairing without getting my permission. Intact didn't help me to get my car out of there. Maybe their people were getting some special benefit from these crooks.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Claim settlement

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Gyplat Dec 10, 2019
Hi, I have had a claim open for the past 5 years. Which I have been trying to settle for that many years. Intact keeps asking my lawyers for the same info over and over and over and over again to try and delay the process of settlement. They obviously don’t care how much of a life effect it has on the former clients. They just don’t care. They are just trying to get out of paying. Because that last what they do.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Bad Business practises

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by left in the cold in Ontario Nov 21, 2019
I had an accident that was not our fault. The vehicle was a total loss. They reduced our vehicles value. Then took away our Rental. Once they give you an offer they can take your rental away. It has now been a fight to get anything from them. Going on 5 weeks and they are not getting back to me. Strongly advise finding another insurer as Intact is not there for you when you need them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Good service but too expensive

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jean Nov 06, 2019
Had a commercial insurance policy with Intact and had a small claim. The service was OK and the repair was done which I paid for. Intact then quadrupled my monthly rate. It was pretty outrageous so I'm currently hunting for another insurance company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Bad company.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Angry Consumer Oct 29, 2019
Bad company. Avoid using them. I'm insured through them, the only thing I changed on my policy is I moved from Leduc to Spruce Grove. They raised my insurance from 2216 a year to over 2700, just cause I moved. I called another insurance company and they quoted me 2100. Once my penalty for cancelling is lower I am gone.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

scammers

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by P Marco Oct 28, 2019
They will recommend a body shop they do business with and do a lousy job. You should stay away, I will not renew my insurance with this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Intact rips you off easily

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by LS Oct 24, 2019
I have a false car theft claim on my record. I was never informed by Intact. I found out through another insurance company. I called my broker who knew nothing about it. I called the Claims Department for 2 weeks and spoke to 7 different agents. The claims department said they had to investigate which would take 3 months. I told Intact that my policy was due and they said they would contact me before the due date guess what? They contacted me on the due date which was too late to switch to another company because of the false claim other insurance companies quoted me with high premiums. So I am forced to stay with them for another year. In the meantime, I have filed a complaint against Intact for mistreating, misleading, defrauding me to stay with them. They also increased my policy from $ 538 to $ 682 for no reason. Please don't join Intact!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Intact Insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Norma T Oct 11, 2019
Intact classified me as a high risk because I had 2 no-fault claims in one year... one claim was over a deer running out in front of me and the other was for hail damage a month or 2 later... like I had any control of this... they left me high and dry with no insurance on my Motorhome... I'm not impressed, I was with Intact giving them $10,000 to $12,000 a year for insurance for many many years... and I've never had an accident only no-fault... I don't understand how this is allowed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Expensive+ "Cancellation Fee"!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Uber1 Sep 25, 2019
Outrageous abuse. This Intact Insurance for Uber drivers is extremely expensive. If at any point you decide to cancel, they will even charge you a "Cancellation Fee"!!! Also, be aware that Intact share your personal information with the Police, in case you miss a monthly payment. Extremely abusive monopoly and invasion of privacy. They need to be sued collectively to reimburse for so many abuses!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Repair

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Toyota Tundra Sep 22, 2019
I have an accident 06-2017 when my car was parked. I was sent to Intact body shop and got a bad repair on top (09-2019). It is not repaired and my car is destroyed. Now they want to repair without an estimate. But in the end, we will meet in court!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?