Car Insurance Reviews

Intact Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(405 reviews)
Intact Insurance
1.4 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Cheap Car Insurance?

  • Rates from 20+ insurers
  • Stop overpaying today
  • Save over $500 annually

Get an instant quote

Filter

Most helpfull reviews

Ridiculous

by Jbeauregard on May 6, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

My car was totaled March 8th, and 2 months later, I'm still waiting for the payout to the finance company. To date, FOUR checks have been sent. Apparently they keep getting "lost in the mail", and in the meantime I can't get another vehicle until this loan is cleared.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Pitiful Processing Time

by nocarnomoney on May 1, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Had a total write-off over 6 months ago and still haven't been paid. Completely incompetent. Have had to pay out of pocket for a replacement and still haven't seen any money. Avoid at all costs.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

2 years and still counting for a small vandalism claim

by Bob8009 on Apr 24, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Two years ago, me and 3 or 4 resident on my street got their car vandalized. For myself, it was a little scratch and a hole the size of a hammer head. They originally planned to replace the panel with a hole for a new one and redo the painting where the scratch was... simple right? Nope... when the Assured Automotive first delivered the car, they gave it back to me in worse condition than it was before the incident. I did this little charade 4 times, bringing the car back for them to fix it, but every time the car came back with most of the problems unresolved. I've contacted Intact representative multiple time, they told me multiple times they were tracking, they even sent an assessor to make sure the job was done properly, but we are at the 2 years mark, and they still refuse to send my car somewhere here to be fixed. AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COST!!!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.

The worst company

by Leidy Mercedes on Apr 1, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

They tell you that they are going to collect the payment on a date and they collect it before and then they penalize you for not paying. Customer service is not responding. Please stay away from this company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Penalty for bluetooth

by 5 star driver on Feb 22, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

This app penalizes for hands free and Bluetooth use.

As a person with hearing aids constantly connected I am being punished.

I have 400 km with this and 1 hard stop (slide on ice and sudden catch)
My score is 59.. don't qualify for discount below 60

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Not a good insurance company

by Tenzin on Feb 19, 2024
1.3 out of 5 stars

I just had minor scratch on my from bumper left which happened after contact a cycle rack on a parked car. So i thought i will check with my intact and they said i have to pay $500 from my pocket and the rest, they will take care of...
I dont know how they replaced the front bumper but the bill was more than $2000!!! For what? I was asked to pay $500 which i did but i think its a scam they are running to fool people... I could have replaced the bumper myself for less than $400... but intact made a bill of more than $2000 from which i had to pay $500...this is unacceptable and unethical. I AM LOOKING for other car insurance companies who may not fool me..

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

I switched to Intact from another insurance company and the representative was very effective

by Ralph Lim on Feb 14, 2024
4 out of 5 stars

I talked to a represantative and she was very knowledgeable and patient during the whole process. Although, Intact's price could've been better but it was still lesser than what my current car insurance company was offering.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Highway collision

by David on Feb 13, 2024
5 out of 5 stars

After having a collision on the highway with over $15000 in damage to my vehicle it was considered a total write off. And my experience with my Insurance Company Intact was excellent. The staff was very helpful in every respect. I recommend this company. And I will definitely stay with them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible experience making a claim

by STEPHEN SANTAROSSA on Jan 29, 2024
1.3 out of 5 stars

I was rear-ended. 100% the other guy's fault.
Intact customer for about 20 years.
I wanted to use a collision shop that I had used before and I was comfortable with. (And it is my legal right to use the shop of my choice)
Intact refused to deal with them at all.
They used an estimate from their own preferred shop that (apparently) wasn't planning on fixing everything, or fixing it properly.
In the end, Intact paid half of costs and I am out of pocket $4400.
Will never buy Intact insurance again.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.

Intact's position on tainted fuel

by marcel theroux on Jan 20, 2024
1.7 out of 5 stars

For those of you with comprehensive coverage, please be advised of the following position taken by Intact with respect to motor vehicle damage caused by tainted fuel. According to Intact, such damage is not covered because of the exclusion in the policy that says that it will not pay claims "arising from contamination of property carried in the automobile". While this seems ridiculous to me, Intact has so far refused to budge.
You should check with your broker or Intact itself to confirm that this is Intact's position with respect to your particular policy. You should do this now, before something happens. In my case, the repair costs were over $20,000. The service station that sold the diesel refused to indicate whether there were other reports of damage caused by tainted fuel.
It would be very useful to know the position of the other insurers on this issue.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo